DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 05/08/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 3-11 remain(s) pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the Claims are responsive to the rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 02/09/2026, hereinafter NFOA.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 (formerly claim 2) under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE; Seung Won et al. US 20210084980 A1, hereinafter Lee, in view of JIANG; Zhenlong et al. US 20220175045 A1, hereinafter Jiang, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Specifically, the applicant’s argument that the Jiang was commonly owned and thereby fails to qualify as prior art, is accurate. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made over Lee in view of CAMPITELLI; Gennaro et al. US 20220007710 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of CAMPITELLI; Gennaro et al. US 20220007710 A1, hereinafter Campitelli. The references is/are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because the references is/are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (aerosol generation devices); or the references is/are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (producing/providing a heating element). MPEP2141.01(a) I.
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses (Fig. 1-8) a heating component (110) configured to be inserted into and vaporize an aerosol-forming medium, the heating component comprising:
a shell (111), provided with a cavity (“hollow” [0055]);
a heating medium (“ferromagnetic substance” [0057]) filled in the cavity and configured for heating in an alternating magnetic field [0057]; and
a temperature control element (115) accommodated in the cavity and configured to measure a temperature [0066-0068].
Lee fails to explicitly state that the temperature control element comprises at least one of a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) element, a negative temperature coefficient (NTC) element, or a thermocouple. Instead, Lee is silent about the type of temperature control element.
Campitelli discloses (Fig. 1-2) a heating component comprising:
a shell (210), provided with a cavity (depicted as a hollow tube); and
a temperature control element (“thermocouple”) accommodated in the cavity and configured to measure a temperature [0329];
wherein the temperature control element comprises at least one of a positive temperature coefficient (PTC) element, a negative temperature coefficient (NTC) element, or a thermocouple ([0329] indicates a thermocouple).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (thermocouple) for another (generic temperature control element), and the results of the substitution (measuring the temperature) would have been predictable. Because both Lee and Campitelli teach temperature control elements, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute a thermocouple for the generic temperature control element to achieve the predictable result of measuring the temperature.
To further clarify the modification, the generic box (115) of Lee is replaced by the thermocouple of Campitelli.
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses (Fig. 1-8) the heating medium comprises a ferromagnetic material (“ferromagnetic substance” [0057]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses (Fig. 1-8) an electronic vaporization device (100), comprising: the heating component of claim 1 (110); and a power supply component (140) electrically connected to the heating component and configured to supply power to the heating component [0033-0034].
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Campitelli, in view of QI; ZUQIANG et al. US 20230189401 A1, hereinafter Qi. The references is/are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because the references is/are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (aerosol generation devices); or the references is/are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (producing/providing a heating element). MPEP2141.01(a) I.
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 1 except fails to explicitly state that the heating component further comprising: two leads electrically connected to the temperature control element, wherein the temperature control element comprises a threaded section and a straight line section connected to each other, the straight line section extending through a middle of the threaded section and being connected to one of the leads, and an end portion of the threaded section being connected to the other lead. Instead, Lee is silent regarding the structure of temperature control element.
Qi discloses (Fig. 1-7) a heating component comprising:
a shell (3), provided with a cavity (31); and
a temperature control element (2) accommodated in the cavity and configured to measure a temperature [0026];
wherein the heating component further comprising: two leads (23, 24) electrically connected to the temperature control element [0033-0034],
wherein the temperature control element comprises a threaded section (21) and a straight line section (22) connected to each other, the straight line section extending through a middle of the threaded section and being connected to one of the leads, and an end portion of the threaded section being connected to the other lead [0033-0034].
One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (temperature control element) for another (generic temperature control element), and the results of the substitution (measuring the temperature) would have been predictable. Because both Lee and Qi teach temperature control elements, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the specific temperature control element for the generic temperature control element to achieve the predictable result of measuring the temperature.
To further clarify the modification, the generic box (115) of Lee is replaced by the leads/wires (2) and associated supporting structures (1-5) of Qi.
Regarding claim 4, Qi discloses (Fig. 1-7) further comprising: a flange structure (5) fixed to the shell, the flange structure having an avoidance hole (511) for the leads to pass through [0040].
Regarding claim 5, the modified device of Lee/Qi discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 4.
Qi further discloses (Fig. 1-7) the flange structure (5) comprises ceramic [0039], or wherein the flange structure comprises plastic, and the flange structure is adhered to the shell by an adhesive.
The modified device of Lee/Qi fails to explicitly state that the flange structure is fixed to the shell by welding. Instead, Le and or Qi are silent to how the structure are adhered, but does state that they are indeed adhered [0040].
Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production (See MPEP 2113 I.). Therefore, as the welding process as claimed does not provide a structural difference in the product, adherence between components is all that is required to meet the bounds of the claim limitation. Stated another way, Qi discloses the flange structure is fixed to the shell and thereby reads upon the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 6, Qi discloses (Fig. 1-7) the shell comprises a first main body (331) and a second main body (3) provided with the cavity, the first main body is fixed to an end portion (33) of the second main body, an outer diameter of the first main body is less than an outer diameter of the second main body ([0037] states that (331) is inserted into (3) thereby stating that the outer diameter of (331) is smaller than in inner diameter of (3)), and the flange structure is fixed to an end (32) of the second main body away from the first main body [0040].
Regarding claim 7, Qi discloses (Fig. 1-7) the first main body (331) is conical (depicted as conical) and the second main body (3) is in a shape of a hollow cylinder (depicted as a hollow cylinder).
Regarding claim 8, Qi discloses (Fig. 1-7) the first main body (331) comprises ceramic or metal, and the second main body comprises ceramic (3) [0029].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Campitelli, in view of FURSA; Oleg et al. US 20190182909 A1, hereinafter Fursa. The references is/are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because the references is/are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (aerosol generation devices); or the references is/are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (producing/providing a heating element). MPEP2141.01(a) I.
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 1 except fails to explicitly state that the heating medium is granular or powder. Instead, Lee fails to disclose the type/structure of the heating medium. Lee further states that the heating medium (“ferromagnetic substance”) is “in the heating element” [0057].
Fursa discloses (Fig. 1) a heating component (30) configured to be inserted into and vaporize an aerosol-forming medium, the heating component comprising:
a heating medium (“ferromagnetic materials” [0122]) filled in the cavity and configured for heating in an alternating magnetic field (Abstract);
wherein the heating medium is granular or powder ([0018, 0122] states powder).
One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (ferromagnetic powder) for another (generic ferromagnetic material), and the results of the substitution (heating in an alternating magnetic field) would have been predictable. Because both Lee and Fursa teach heating components for vaporizing an aerosol, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute ferromagnetic powder for the generic ferromagnetic material to achieve the predictable result of heating in an alternating magnetic field.
Contact Information
/MATTHEW WIBLIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3745