Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1: claims 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, 15, and 69 in the reply filed on 01/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 16-17, 21, 25, 27, 34-35, 38-39, 43, 45-47, 52, 57-59, 62, 65, and 67 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/22/2026.
Status of the Claims
Claim 69 has been added by Applicant. Claims 3-5, 8-9, 12-14, 18-20, 22-24, 26, 28-33, 36-37, 40-42, 44, 47, 49-52, 54-56, 60-61, 63-64, 66 and 68 are canceled. Claims 1-2, 6-7, 10-11, 15, and 69 are pending and are examined herein.
Priority
This application, filed 05/08/2023, claims benefit of 63/339,703, filed 05/09/2022. This benefit is acknowledged and the claims examined herein are treated as having an effective filing date of 05/09/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed 11/02/2023 is acknowledged and has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 1, if the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. In order words, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02 II. In this case, claim 1 recites “for removing one or more bound detection agent from a stained biological sample or surface”. This is considered an intended use that does not impart any structural difference to the composition to differentiate the claimed composition from the composition in the prior art described herein.
Further, claims 2 and 15 are directed to limit the intended use of the claimed composition and, therefore, fail to meaningfully limit independent claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 7, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by WO 2020/097509 A1, “METHODS AND COMPOSITIONS FOR MESSENGER RNA PURIFICATION” (published 05/14/2020, referred to herein as Abysalh).
Regarding claim 1, as discussed above, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02 II. In this case, claim 1 recites “for removing one or more bound detection agent from a stained biological sample or surface”. This is considered an intended use that does not impart any structural difference to the composition to differentiate the claimed composition from the composition in the prior art described herein.
Regarding claims 1, 6, 7, and 10, Abysalh teaches a buffer composition comprising a denaturing salt and a reducing agent (para. 0005, lines 3-4). Abysalh teaches that the denaturing salt is guanidine thiocyanate (para. 0010, line 1) and the reducing agent is THPP (para. 0012, lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Abysalh teaches GTC at 5 M and THPP at 15 mM. THPP has a molar mass of 208.23 g/mol, which results in a buffer with 3.12 mg/mL THPP.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 69 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abysalh.
Regarding claim 69, Abysalh teaches a composition with a GTC concentration of about 2.5 M (para. 0011, lines 1-2) and a DTT concentration range of between 5 mM and 50 mM.
However, Abysalh does not specifically teach THPP at a concentration range of 5 – 50 mM.
Abysalh does teach that DTT or THPP can be used as the reducing agent in the buffer (para. 0012).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the buffer with a concentration range of 5-50 mM DTT by substituting DTT with THPP, as taught by Abysalh. Doing so is considered to be a mere simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See MPEP 2143(I)(B)). Abysalh teaches that DTT and THPP are interchangeable as the reducing agent in the buffer composition (para. 0012). THPP has a molar mass of 208.23 g/mol; therefore, a range of 5-50 mM results in a range of about 1-10 mg/mL, which contains the claimed concentration of about 5 mg/mL.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/C.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1677
/BAO-THUY L NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1677 March 5, 2026