DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to claims filed on 12/23/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending for evaluation.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 12/23/2025 has been entered. Claims 1, 5, 11, 14, 16, 18, and 20 have been amended; Claims 1-20 remain pending for evaluation. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings and Claims have overcome each and every objection and §112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed on 09/24/2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 14-15, filed 12/23/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) and Claim 11 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bao et al. (US 2023/0318781).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini et al. (US 2024/0283604, previously presented), Abedini hereinafter in view of Bao et al. (US 2023/0318781), Bao hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 1, Abedini teaches a method, comprising (Fig. 10, Para. [0175-0177]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]):
transmitting, by a radio access network node comprising a processor to a user equipment, a transmission mode configuration (Fig. 3B, element 384; Para. [0088-0110]; Fig. 10, step 1010; Para. [0175-0176] – [0175] FIG. 10 illustrates an example method 1000 of wireless communication, according to aspects of the disclosure. In an aspect, method 1000 may be performed by a network node (e.g., a base station, a TRP, a cell, a CU, a DU, or the like). [0176] At 1010, the network node transmits, to a network entity (e.g., a UE or location server), at least one configuration indicating one or more time occasions during which the network node will refrain from transmission of downlink transmissions, reception of uplink transmissions, or both. In an aspect, operation 1010 may be performed by the one or more WWAN transceivers 350, the one or more short-range wireless transceivers 360, the one or more network transceivers 380, the one or more processors 384, memory 386, and/or positioning component 388, any or all of which may be considered means for performing this operation; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183])
The examiner interprets “at least one configuration indicating one or more time occasions during which the network node will refrain from transmission of downlink transmissions, reception of uplink transmissions, or both” as transmission mode configurations.
comprising at least one partial transmission off mode function indication indicative of at least one transmission function that is to be active during at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 10, steps 1010 and 1020; Para. [0176-0177] – [0176] At 1010, the network node transmits, to a network entity (e.g., a UE or location server), at least one configuration indicating one or more time occasions during which the network node will refrain from transmission of downlink transmissions, reception of uplink transmissions, or both… [0177] At 1020, the network node refrains from transmission of DL-PRS, reception of UL-PRS (e.g., SRS), or both based on the one or more time occasions. In an aspect, operation 1020 may be performed by the one or more WWAN transceivers 350, the one or more short-range wireless transceivers 360, the one or more network transceivers 380, the one or more processors 384, memory 386, and/or positioning component 388, any or all of which may be considered means for performing this operation; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]);
The examiner interprets “time occasions during which the network node will refrain from transmission of downlink transmissions, reception of uplink transmissions, or both” as partial transmission off mode functions indication.
The examiner interprets “time occasions during which the network node will refrain from transmission of downlink transmissions, reception of uplink transmissions, or both” as implicitly containing “at least one transmission function that is to be active because the configuration distinguishes between functions that are turned off (downlink transmissions/uplink transmissions), and by implication, those that may remain active.
and operating, by the radio access network node, at least one of the at least one transmission function during at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 10, step 1020; Para. [0177] – At 1020, the network node refrains from transmission of DL-PRS, reception of UL-PRS (e.g., SRS), or both based on the one or more time occasions. In an aspect, operation 1020 may be performed by the one or more WWAN transceivers 350, the one or more short-range wireless transceivers 360, the one or more network transceivers 380, the one or more processors 384, memory 386, and/or positioning component 388, any or all of which may be considered means for performing this operation; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]).
The examiner interprets Fig. 10, step 1020 and Para. [0177] as the network node actively refrains from DL/UL transmissions, thus controlling operation of the indicated functions according to the configuration.
Yet, Abedini does not expressly teach wherein traffic directed to the user equipment is associated with at least one traffic characteristic; and based on the at least one traffic characteristic being determined to correspond to the traffic directed to the user equipment being critical traffic, operating, by the radio access network node, at least one of the at least one transmission function during at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period.
However, Bao teaches
wherein traffic directed to the user equipment is associated with at least one traffic characteristic (Fig. 4, steps 430, 435, and 440; Para. [0072-0076] - [0073] In some aspects, UE 420 may determine whether to skip or enter a measurement gap based at least in part on one or more rules specified by stored configuration information. The rules may include rules that specify which traffic types have a higher priority than other traffic types. The rules may also specify whether to skip a measurement gap based at least in part on a result of comparing traffic types for a measurement gap conflict. In some aspects, BS 410 may configure UE 420 with the rules. As shown by reference number 430, BS 410 may determine the rules. BS 410 may determine rules for traffic types, such as types of data communications and/or types of reference signals. BS 410 may also determine rules based at least in part on whether reference signals are aperiodic, semi-persistent, or periodic. As shown by reference number 435, BS 410 may transmit the rules to UE 420. BS 410 may transmit the rules in one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages. UE 420 may store the rules as part of stored configuration information. In some aspects, UE 420 already has stored configuration information that specifies one or more rules. For example, UE 420 may be preconfigured with one or more rules before entering operation. [0074] As shown by reference number 440, UE 420 may determine whether to enter a scheduled measurement gap or skip the measurement gap based at least in part on the rules. This may involve comparing a type of data communications and a priority rule, and/or comparing a type of reference signal and the priority rule. UE 420 may determine whether to enter or skip the measurement gap based at least in part on a result of one or more of the comparisons; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0071]; Fig. 4, Para. [0072-0076]; Fig. 5, Para. [0077-0081]; Fig. 6, Para. [0082-0092]; Fig. 7, Para. [0094-0104]; Fig. 8, Para. [0105-0115]; Fig. 9, Para. [0116-0156])
and based on the at least one traffic characteristic being determined to correspond to the traffic directed to the user equipment being critical traffic, operating, by the radio access network node, at least one of the at least one transmission function during at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 5, Example 500; Para. [0077-0081] - [0079] Example 500 in FIG. 5 shows a DRX cycle with periods when the UE is DRX active. A measurement gap may be scheduled during a DRX active time or during a DRX off time. PRS is measured within a measurement gap and it may be beneficial to schedule the measurement gap within the DRX off time. [0080] …In some aspects, the UE may follow rules to dynamically control the measurement gap. That is, the UE may enter or skip the measurement gap based at least in part on a priority of the data communications and/or a priority of the reference signals to be measured during the measurement gap. As a result, the UE dynamically selects an appropriate action, which preserves data communications and/or an accurate location of the UE; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0071]; Fig. 4, Para. [0072-0076]; Fig. 5, Para. [0077-0081]; Fig. 6, Para. [0082-0092]; Fig. 7, Para. [0094-0104]; Fig. 8, Para. [0105-0115]; Fig. 9, Para. [0116-0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abedini’s invention of configuring and controlling time occasions for muting downlink and/or uplink transmission in wireless communication (Abedini Para. 0006]) with Bao’s invention of “techniques and apparatuses for dynamically controlling a measurement gap” (Bao Para. [0002]) because Bao’s invention provides techniques where “a UE may dynamically control a measurement gap,” wherein “the UE may enter the measurement gap to take measurements when appropriate, or skip the measurement gap to transmit or receive data communications when appropriate,” and thereby “the network improves location management of the UE while not losing data communications that may have a higher priority than reference signal measurements” (Bao Para. [0066]).
Regarding Claim 2, Abedini in view of Bao teaches Claim 1.
wherein the at least one transmission function comprises at least one of: a sounding reference signal function, a reference signal function, a downlink control information format function, a demodulation reference signal function, or a traffic function (Para. [0142, 0156]; Para. [0159] - Note that while FIGS. 9A to 9C illustrate examples of the interaction between a cell's DTX cycle and DL-PRS transmissions, as will be appreciated, the DTX cycle may instead be a DRX cycle and the DL-PRS transmissions may instead be SRS receptions; Fig. 9C, Para. [0163] - Where the base station provides its cell DTX/DRX configuration(s) to the location server, the base station may also indicate to the location server whether its PRS transmissions will be muted following (according to) its DTX/DRX configuration. For example, the base station may indicate that for partial overlaps between DL-PRS and DTX OFF time (as shown in FIG. 9B), the base station will still transmit the DL-PRS, but for full overlaps between DL-PRS and DTX OFF time (as shown in FIG. 9C), the base station will mute (not transmit) the DL-PRS; Para. [0165] - With respect to the support of dynamic and/or semi-persistent muting patterns, for the PRS transmitted by a serving base station, the base station can directly and dynamically notify the UE about its muting pattern(s). More specifically, the base station may support multiple different muting patterns and select one of them as appropriate (e.g., based on coordination with other base stations, channel conditions, as requested by the location server, etc.). The base station may therefore preconfigure the UE with all possible (or relevant to the particular UE) muting patterns for the base station via RRC signaling and then indicate adaptation, activation, deactivation, and/or switching of the muting pattern via L1 (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)), L2 (e.g., MAC control element (MAC-CE)), or L3 (e.g., RRC) signaling. The dynamic indication can refer to (e.g., include an identifier of) one the preconfigured patterns; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 10, Para. [0175-0177]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]).
The examiner interprets a Dl-PRS (downlink-Positioning Reference Signal) as a reference signal function.
Regarding Claim 3, Abedini in view of Bao teaches Claim 1.
Abedini further teaches
wherein the at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period coincides with a configured discontinuous transmission off period (Fig. 9C, Para. [0163] - Where the base station provides its cell DTX/DRX configuration(s) to the location server, the base station may also indicate to the location server whether its PRS transmissions will be muted following (according to) its DTX/DRX configuration. For example, the base station may indicate that for partial overlaps between DL-PRS and DTX OFF time (as shown in FIG. 9B), the base station will still transmit the DL-PRS, but for full overlaps between DL-PRS and DTX OFF time (as shown in FIG. 9C), the base station will mute (not transmit) the DL-PRS; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 10, Para. [0175-0177]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]).
Regarding Claim 4, Abedini in view of Bao teaches Claim 1.
Abedini further teaches
wherein the at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period is at least partially noncoincidental with a configured discontinuous transmission off period (Fig. 9B, Para. [0158] - As shown in FIG. 9B, in a partial-overlap relationship of DL-PRS and DTX ON time, a scheduled DL-PRS occasion 910 partially overlaps with a DTX ON time window 920. One portion of the DL-PRS occasion 910 overlaps with a portion of the DTX ON time window 920 and another portion of the DL-PRS occasion 910 overlaps with a portion of a DTX OFF time window 940. As shown in FIG. 9C, a zero-overlap relationship of DL-PRS and DTX ON time, a scheduled DL-PRS occasion 910 does not overlap at all with a DTX ON time window 920, and instead fully overlaps with a DTX OFF time window 940; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 10, Para. [0175-0177]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]).
The examiner interprets Fig. 9B and Para. [0158] as the DL-PRS occasion (and the subsequently the transmission off period of the DL-PRS) partially coincides with a configured DTX off period.
Regarding Claim 6, Abedini in view of Bao teaches Claim 1.
Abedini further teaches
wherein the transmission mode configuration comprises an off mode period indication indicative of a period parameter corresponding to the at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 10, step 1010; Para. [0176] – At 1010, the network node transmits, to a network entity (e.g., a UE or location server), at least one configuration indicating one or more time occasions during which the network node will refrain from transmission of downlink transmissions, reception of uplink transmissions, or both; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]).
The examiner interprets “time occasions during which the network node will refrain from transmission of downlink transmissions, reception of uplink transmissions, or both” as “an off mode period indication indicative of a period parameter.”
Regarding Claim 7, Abedini in view of Bao teaches Claim 1.
Abedini further teaches
wherein the at least one partial transmission off mode function indication is a first partial transmission off mode function indication, wherein the at least one transmission function that is to be active during the at least one partial transmission off mode period is a first transmission function, wherein the at least one partial transmission off mode period is a first partial transmission off mode period, and wherein the transmission mode configuration comprises a second partial transmission off mode function indication indicative of a second transmission function that is to be active during a second off mode period (Para. [0165] - With respect to the support of dynamic and/or semi-persistent muting patterns, for the PRS transmitted by a serving base station, the base station can directly and dynamically notify the UE about its muting pattern(s). More specifically, the base station may support multiple different muting patterns and select one of them as appropriate (e.g., based on coordination with other base stations, channel conditions, as requested by the location server, etc.). The base station may therefore preconfigure the UE with all possible (or relevant to the particular UE) muting patterns for the base station via RRC signaling and then indicate adaptation, activation, deactivation, and/or switching of the muting pattern via L1 (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)), L2 (e.g., MAC control element (MAC-CE)), or L3 (e.g., RRC) signaling. The dynamic indication can refer to (e.g., include an identifier of) one the preconfigured patterns; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 10, Para. [0175-0177]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]).
The examiner interprets Para. [0165] as the base station may support multiple muting patterns for PRS, preconfigure the UE with these patterns, and indicate activation, deactivation, or switching between them. A first muting pattern corresponds to a first transmission function active during a first off mode period, and a second muting pattern corresponds to a second transmission function active during a second off mode period.
Regarding Claim 8, Abedini in view of Bao teaches Claim 7.
Abedini further teaches
wherein the transmission mode configuration comprises a first off mode period indication indicative of a first period parameter value corresponding to the first partial transmission off mode period, and wherein the transmission mode configuration comprises a second off mode period indication indicative of a second period parameter value corresponding to the second partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 10, step 1010; Para. [0176] – At 1010, the network node transmits, to a network entity (e.g., a UE or location server), at least one configuration indicating one or more time occasions during which the network node will refrain from transmission of downlink transmissions, reception of uplink transmissions, or both; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 10, Para. [0175-0177]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]).
Examiner’s Note: Para. [0165] was cited to teach the subject matter of Claim 7, namely multiple muting patterns corresponding to different off mode functions. Para. [0176] further teaches Claim 8 by disclosing that the network node transmits configuration information indicating specific time occasions when transmissions are muted, thereby corresponding to the first and second off mode period indications with respective period parameter values.
Regarding Claim 9, Abedini in view of Bao teaches Claim 8.
Abedini further teaches
wherein the first period parameter value is a first duration corresponding to the first partial transmission off mode period, and wherein the second period parameter value is a second duration corresponding to the second partial transmission off mode period (Para. [0167] - In some cases, instead of an explicit indication of the muting pattern that will be used in a cell, the indication can be implicitly provided by another parameter (e.g., the cell DTX/DRX configuration or a UE's C-DRX). That is, where the cell DTX/DRX configuration is provided to the UE (or an extended C-DRX configuration that includes restrictions corresponding to times during which the cell will not be transmitting and/or receiving), the UE may determine based on the configuration(s) that DL-PRS will be muted/canceled within the associated cell inactive period; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 10, Para. [0175-0177]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]).
Examiner’s Note: Para. [0167] teaches the limitation by disclosing that DTX or extended C-DRX configurations define inactive periods of specific durations, from which the UE determines that the first and second period parameter values corresponding to the first and second partial transmission off mode periods.
Regarding Claim 10, Abedini in view of Bao teaches Claim 1.
Abedini further teaches
wherein the at least one partial transmission off mode function indication comprises a partial transmission off mode index corresponding to the at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period, and the method further comprising (Para. [0165] - With respect to the support of dynamic and/or semi-persistent muting patterns, for the PRS transmitted by a serving base station, the base station can directly and dynamically notify the UE about its muting pattern(s). More specifically, the base station may support multiple different muting patterns and select one of them as appropriate (e.g., based on coordination with other base stations, channel conditions, as requested by the location server, etc.). The base station may therefore preconfigure the UE with all possible (or relevant to the particular UE) muting patterns for the base station via RRC signaling and then indicate adaptation, activation, deactivation, and/or switching of the muting pattern via L1 (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)), L2 (e.g., MAC control element (MAC-CE)), or L3 (e.g., RRC) signaling. The dynamic indication can refer to (e.g., include an identifier of) one the preconfigured patterns; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 10, Para. [0175-0177]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]):
transmitting, by the radio access network node to the user equipment, the partial transmission off mode index to be indicative, to the user equipment, of the operating of the at least one of the at least one transmission function during the at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period (Para. [0165] - With respect to the support of dynamic and/or semi-persistent muting patterns, for the PRS transmitted by a serving base station, the base station can directly and dynamically notify the UE about its muting pattern(s). More specifically, the base station may support multiple different muting patterns and select one of them as appropriate (e.g., based on coordination with other base stations, channel conditions, as requested by the location server, etc.). The base station may therefore preconfigure the UE with all possible (or relevant to the particular UE) muting patterns for the base station via RRC signaling and then indicate adaptation, activation, deactivation, and/or switching of the muting pattern via L1 (e.g., downlink control information (DCI)), L2 (e.g., MAC control element (MAC-CE)), or L3 (e.g., RRC) signaling. The dynamic indication can refer to (e.g., include an identifier of) one the preconfigured patterns; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 10, Para. [0175-0177]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]).
Examiner’s Note: Para. [0165] states that “the base station may support multiple different muting patterns and select one of them as appropriate…”. This teaches that different muting patterns correspond to different off mode functions, and the dynamic indication of which muting pattern is selected operates as the partial transmission off mode index. Further Para. [0165] states that the base station provides multiple muting patterns and uses the dynamic indication to signal which pattern is active.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Bao, and further in view of Salem et al. (US 2015/0282070, previously presented), Salem hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 5, Abedini in view of Bao teaches Claim 1.
Yet, Abedini nor Bao expressly teach analyzing, by the radio access network node, a power supply parameter value with respect to a power supply parameter criterion to result in an analyzed power supply parameter value, wherein determining to operate the at least one of the at least one transmission function during the at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period is further based on the analyzed power supply parameter value being determined to satisfy the power supply parameter criterion.
However, Salem teaches
analyzing, by the radio access network node, a power supply parameter value with respect to a power supply parameter criterion to result in an analyzed power supply parameter value (Para. [0036] - Aspects of this disclosure provide embodiment network architectures for achieving dynamic traffic offloading and TP muting in a virtual radio access network (V-RAN). In some embodiments, a central controller may optimize downlink transmissions over a group of transmit points. User-specific control flows can be offloaded similar to data flows. Flow utility may be calculated based on UL measurements from either the target UE (TUE) or its helping UE (HUE). For a given wideband muting hypothesis, dynamic coordinated multi-point (CoMP) scheduling is performed. Muting hypotheses are compared using a novel energy-aware utility that comprises data/control traffic utilities and muting incentive/turning-on penalties. The muting incentive/turning-on penalties may be expressed as a function of TP power consumption models, an Energy Saving Coefficient (e.g., which may set and/or dynamically manipulated by the network operator), and Soft Loading Ratios based on predicted traffic loads and/or soft UE associations at each TP; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0038]; Fig. 4, Para. [0039-0040]; Fig. 5, Para. [0041-0051]; Fig. 6, Para. [0052]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0053-0060]; Fig. 8, Para. [0061]),
wherein determining to operate the at least one of the at least one transmission function during the at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period is further based on the analyzed power supply parameter value being determined to satisfy the power supply parameter criterion (Para. [0036] - Aspects of this disclosure provide embodiment network architectures for achieving dynamic traffic offloading and TP muting in a virtual radio access network (V-RAN). In some embodiments, a central controller may optimize downlink transmissions over a group of transmit points. User-specific control flows can be offloaded similar to data flows. Flow utility may be calculated based on UL measurements from either the target UE (TUE) or its helping UE (HUE). For a given wideband muting hypothesis, dynamic coordinated multi-point (CoMP) scheduling is performed. Muting hypotheses are compared using a novel energy-aware utility that comprises data/control traffic utilities and muting incentive/turning-on penalties. The muting incentive/turning-on penalties may be expressed as a function of TP power consumption models, an Energy Saving Coefficient (e.g., which may set and/or dynamically manipulated by the network operator), and Soft Loading Ratios based on predicted traffic loads and/or soft UE associations at each TP; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0037-0038]; Fig. 4, Para. [0039-0040]; Fig. 5, Para. [0041-0051]; Fig. 6, Para. [0052]; Fig. 7A-B, Para. [0053-0060]; Fig. 8, Para. [0061]).
Examiner’s Note: Salem Para. [0036] teachings of energy-aware utility, incorporating TP power consumption models, energy saving coefficients, predicted traffic loads, and soft UE association, serves as a threshold criterion for evaluating muting hypotheses (i.e., analyzing “a power supply parameter value with respect to a power supply parameter criterion to result in an analyzed power supply parameter value). Based on this analyzed value, the central controller (i.e., radio access node) determines whether to apply muting or adjust transmissions, which corresponds to operating at least one transmission function during a partial transmission off mode period based on the analyzed power supply parameter satisfying the criteria.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide analyzing, by the radio access network node, a power supply parameter value with respect to a power supply parameter criterion to result in an analyzed power supply parameter value, wherein determining to operate the at least one of the at least one transmission function during the at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period is further based on the analyzed power supply parameter value being determined to satisfy the power supply parameter criterion as taught by Salem, in the combined system of Abedini/Bao, so that it would provide “methods for dynamic traffic offloading and transmit point (TP) muting for energy efficiency in virtual radio access network (V-RAN)” (Salem Para. [0002]) thereby providing techniques that compute “candidate scheduling assignments that mute different combinations of access points” where the candidate scheduling assignments “are evaluated to determine which offers the highest utility” (Salem Para. [0033]).
Claim(s) 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Bao, and in further view of Siomina et al. (US 2013/0040673, previously presented), Siomina hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 11, Abedini in view of Bao teaches Claim 1.
Abedini further teaches
wherein the user equipment is a first user equipment (Figs. 3A-3C, Para. [0107-0110]; See also Para. [0088-0106]; Figs. 1 and 2A-C, Para. [0041-0088]),
wherein the at least one partial transmission off mode function indication is a first partial transmission off mode function indication, wherein the traffic directed to the first user equipment is first traffic (Fig. 10, steps 1010 and 1020; Para. [0176-0177]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]),
transmitting, by the radio access network node to the first user equipment, the first partial transmission off mode indication to be indicative to the first user equipment that the at least one of the at least one transmission function is to be active during the at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period to facilitate the first traffic being transmitted during the at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 10, step 1010; Para. [0175-0176]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]);
Yet, Abedini expressly teach and based on the second traffic being determined to be associated with at least one traffic characteristic corresponding to noncritical traffic, avoiding, by the radio access network node, transmission of the second traffic during the at least one partial transmission off mode period.
However, Bao teaches
and based on the second traffic being determined to be associated with at least one traffic characteristic corresponding to noncritical traffic, avoiding, by the radio access network node, transmission of the second traffic during the at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 5, Example 500; Para. [0077-0081]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0071]; Fig. 4, Para. [0072-0076]; Fig. 5, Para. [0077-0081]; Fig. 6, Para. [0082-0092]; Fig. 7, Para. [0094-0104]; Fig. 8, Para. [0105-0115]; Fig. 9, Para. [0116-0156]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abedini’s invention of configuring and controlling time occasions for muting downlink and/or uplink transmission in wireless communication (Abedini Para. 0006]) with Bao’s invention of “techniques and apparatuses for dynamically controlling a measurement gap” (Bao Para. [0002]) because Bao’s invention provides techniques where “a UE may dynamically control a measurement gap,” wherein “the UE may enter the measurement gap to take measurements when appropriate, or skip the measurement gap to transmit or receive data communications when appropriate,” and thereby “the network improves location management of the UE while not losing data communications that may have a higher priority than reference signal measurements” (Bao Para. [0066]).
Yet, Abedini nor Bao expressly teach wherein the transmission mode configuration further comprises a second partial transmission off mode function indication indicative of the at least one of the at least one transmission function being inactive during the at least one partial transmission off mode period, and wherein the method further comprises, transmitting, by the radio access network node to a second user equipment, the transmission mode configuration, and transmitting, by the radio access network node to the second user equipment, the second partial transmission off mode indication to be indicative to the second user equipment that the at least one of the at least one transmission function is to be inactive during the at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period, wherein traffic directed to the second user equipment is second traffic.
However, Siomina teaches
wherein the transmission mode configuration further comprises a second partial transmission off mode function indication indicative of the at least one of the at least one transmission function being inactive during the at least one partial transmission off mode period, and wherein the method further comprises (Fig. 7, step 704; Para. [0078] - FIG. 7 illustrates a joint (cooperative) determination method 700, which is implemented at the node 24, for example. Here, the node 24 identifies a plurality of cells 20 (Block 702), e.g., the node 24 may be provisioned with or otherwise receive neighbor list information, or other information indicating related subsets of cells 20. The method continues with the node 24 determining a coordinated set of muting configurations for the plurality of cells 20 (Block 704). Here, "coordinated" implies a complementary determination of muting configurations across the plurality of cells 20--e.g., a common muting sequence but unique reference points, or vice versa, or unique combinations of muting sequence and reference points across the plurality of cells 20. The method further includes sending signaling indicating the determined muting configurations (Block 706). Such signaling may be twofold: e.g., control signaling to the involved base stations 18, to inform them of the muting configurations decided for the cells 20, and assistance data signaling to UEs 14, which may be carried transparently through the base stations 18 to the UEs 14; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081]):
transmitting, by the radio access network node to a second user equipment, the transmission mode configuration (Fig. 7, step 706; Para. [0078] - FIG. 7 illustrates a joint (cooperative) determination method 700, which is implemented at the node 24, for example. Here, the node 24 identifies a plurality of cells 20 (Block 702), e.g., the node 24 may be provisioned with or otherwise receive neighbor list information, or other information indicating related subsets of cells 20. The method continues with the node 24 determining a coordinated set of muting configurations for the plurality of cells 20 (Block 704). Here, "coordinated" implies a complementary determination of muting configurations across the plurality of cells 20--e.g., a common muting sequence but unique reference points, or vice versa, or unique combinations of muting sequence and reference points across the plurality of cells 20. The method further includes sending signaling indicating the determined muting configurations (Block 706). Such signaling may be twofold: e.g., control signaling to the involved base stations 18, to inform them of the muting configurations decided for the cells 20, and assistance data signaling to UEs 14, which may be carried transparently through the base stations 18 to the UEs 14; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081]);
and transmitting, by the radio access network node to the second user equipment, the second partial transmission off mode indication to be indicative to the second user equipment that the at least one of the at least one transmission function is to be inactive during the at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period, wherein traffic directed to the second user equipment is second traffic (Fig. 5, step 504; Para. [0073] - In either case, the method includes muting the reference signals for the cell 20 according to the muting configuration (Block 504). Example details for the processing actions comprising Block 504 include determining whether it is (in general) time to transmit reference signals according to the configured periodicity (Block 504A). If not, reference signal transmission is skipped (Block 504D). If so, the transmitter determines whether muting applies to this particular reference signal transmission (Block 504B). In other words, should the transmitter transmit the reference signals or mute them (which can be understood as a zero power or low power transmission). If this reference signal transmission is a muting occasion according to the configured muting sequence and reference point, then the transmitter mutes the reference signals (Block 504D). If this is not a muting occasion, then the transmitter transmits the reference signals (Block 504C); See also Fig. 2, Para. [0047-0048]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071])
Examiner’s Note: Abedini teaches that a transmission mode configuration includes at least one partial transmission off-mode function indication, i.e., a muting pattern. Siomina teaches that the transmission mode configuration may include multiple muting configurations or muting patterns, e.g., coordinated muting sequences and reference points across different cells. Since different cells serve different UEs, Siomina’s disclosure of muting patterns for different cells maps to muting patterns being transmitted to different UEs, thereby teaching the claimed limitation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the transmission mode configuration further comprises a second partial transmission off mode function indication indicative of the at least one of the at least one transmission function being inactive during the at least one partial transmission off mode period, and wherein the method further comprises, transmitting, by the radio access network node to a second user equipment, the transmission mode configuration, and transmitting, by the radio access network node to the second user equipment, the second partial transmission off mode indication to be indicative to the second user equipment that the at least one of the at least one transmission function is to be inactive during the at least one of the at least one partial transmission off mode period, wherein traffic directed to the second user equipment is second traffic as taught by Siomina, in the combined system of Abedini/Bao, so that it would provide “signaling support associated with the muting of reference signals for interference reduction in wireless communication networks that transmit reference signals” (Siomina Para. [0001]) wherein providing “use of a common muting sequence or reference point across cells, with muting occasions being differentiated between cells through use of different reference points (in the case of a common muting sequence), or through use of different muting sequences (in the case of a common reference point)” thereby simplifying “the signaling needed to control or indicate the muting configuration in use in the cells of interest” and providing “an advantageous basis for propagating muting configurations among cells” (Siomina Para. [0017]).
Regarding Claim 12, Abedini in view of Bao and Siomina teaches Claim 11.
Yet, Abedini nor Bao expressly teach operating the at least one of the at least one transmission function with respect to the first user equipment and excluding operating of the at least one of the at least one transmission function with respect to the second user equipment.
However, Siomina teaches
operating the at least one of the at least one transmission function with respect to the first user equipment and excluding operating of the at least one of the at least one transmission function with respect to the second user equipment (Fig. 7, step 706; Para. [0078]; Fig. 5, step 504; Para. [0072-0073] - [0072] FIG. 5 illustrates a corresponding base station method 500, such as may be carried out by any one or more of the base stations 18 illustrated in FIGS. 2 and 3, for example. The method 500 includes determining a muting configuration for a cell 20 controlled by a base station 18 (Block 502). Here, the muting configuration of the cell 20 is defined at least in part by a muting sequence comprising a pattern for muting reference signals periodically transmitted for the cell 20. As noted, a base station 18 may determine either the muting sequence or the reference point, or both, based on making its own decisions, or based on cooperating with one or more other base stations 18, or based on receiving control signaling from the node 24 or another node in the network 10 that has decided the muting configuration to be used by the base station 18; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081]).
Examiner’s Note: Siomina Para. [0072-0073] teach “operating the at least one of the at least one transmission function” provided to the base station from node 24. Para. [0078] further explains that node 24 can identify coordinated muting configurations across multiple cells, where the coordinated muting configurations may use a common muting sequence with unique reference points, or unique combinations of sequence and reference points, showing that different cells – and thus the UEs served by those cells – can have distinct muting patterns, The first UE follows the muting pattern corresponding to its serving cell and ignores the muting pattern assigned to the second UE in another cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide operating the at least one of the at least one transmission function with respect to the first user equipment and excluding operating of the at least one of the at least one transmission function with respect to the second user equipment as taught by Siomina, in the combined system of Abedini/Bao, so that it would provide “signaling support associated with the muting of reference signals for interference reduction in wireless communication networks that transmit reference signals” (Siomina Para. [0001]) wherein providing “use of a common muting sequence or reference point across cells, with muting occasions being differentiated between cells through use of different reference points (in the case of a common muting sequence), or through use of different muting sequences (in the case of a common reference point)” thereby simplifying “the signaling needed to control or indicate the muting configuration in use in the cells of interest” and providing “an advantageous basis for propagating muting configurations among cells” (Siomina Para. [0017]).
Regarding Claim 13, Abedini in view of Bao and Siomina teaches Claim 11.
Yet, Abedini nor Bao expressly teach wherein the first partial transmission off mode function indication comprises a first partial transmission mode index, and wherein the second partial transmission off mode function indication comprises a second partial transmission mode index.
However, Siomina teaches
wherein the first partial transmission off mode function indication comprises a first partial transmission mode index, and wherein the second partial transmission off mode function indication comprises a second partial transmission mode index. (Fig. 8, step 802; Para. [0080] - FIG. 8 depicts a related scenario, wherein the method 800 is implemented at the node 24, and wherein it is assumed that the base stations 18 decide cell muting configurations, rather than the node 24. As such, the illustrated processing begins with the node 24 determining the muting configuration of one or more cells 20, based on received signaling from the involved base stations 18 (Block 802), where that signaling indicates the muting configurations of the involved cells 20. For example, the signaling comprises messages that include fields or other such information elements that identify the muting sequence and/or reference point to be used by each cell 20; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 7, Para. [0078-0079]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081]; Fig. 9, Para. [0082-0086]; Fig. 10, Para. [0086-0088]; Figs. 11-12, Para. [0089-0127]).
Examiner’s Note: Siomina Para. [0080] teaches that signaling includes information elements identifying the muting sequence and/or reference point for each cell. Each such combination maps to an index for a partial transmission off mode, where one index corresponds to a first cell/UE and another index corresponds to a second cell/UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first partial transmission off mode function indication comprises a first partial transmission mode index, and wherein the second partial transmission off mode function indication comprises a second partial transmission mode index as taught by Siomina, in the combined system of Abedini/Bao, so that it would provide “signaling support associated with the muting of reference signals for interference reduction in wireless communication networks that transmit reference signals” (Siomina Para. [0001]) wherein providing “use of a common muting sequence or reference point across cells, with muting occasions being differentiated between cells through use of different reference points (in the case of a common muting sequence), or through use of different muting sequences (in the case of a common reference point)” thereby simplifying “the signaling needed to control or indicate the muting configuration in use in the cells of interest” and providing “an advantageous basis for propagating muting configurations among cells” (Siomina Para. [0017]).
Regarding Claim 14, Abedini teaches a radio access network node, comprising (Figs. 3A-3C, Para. [0088-0110]):
at least one processor configured to (Fig. 3A, element 332; Para. [0095-0097]; See also Figs. 3B-3C; Para. [0101-0103, 0109])
a transmission mode configuration (Fig. 10, step 1010; Para. [0175-0176]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183])
comprising a first partial transmission off mode function indication that indicates that at least one transmission function that is to be active during at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 10, steps 1010 and 1020; Para. [0176-0177]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183])
transmit, to the first user equipment, the first partial transmission off mode function indication (Fig. 10, step 1010; Para. [0175-0176]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]);
operate, by the radio access network node with respect to the first user equipment, the at least one transmission function during the at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 10, step 1020; Para. [0177]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]);
Yet, Abedini does not expressly teach based on first traffic directed to the first user equipment being associated with at least one critical traffic characteristic, based on second traffic directed to the second user equipment being associated with at least one non-critical traffic characteristic, based on first traffic directed to the first user equipment being associated with at least one critical traffic characteristic, based on second traffic directed to the second user equipment being associated with at least one non-critical traffic characteristic,.
However, Bao teaches
based on first traffic directed to the first user equipment being associated with at least one critical traffic characteristic, (Fig. 5, Example 500; Para. [0077-0081]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0071]; Fig. 4, Para. [0072-0076]; Fig. 5, Para. [0077-0081]; Fig. 6, Para. [0082-0092]; Fig. 7, Para. [0094-0104]; Fig. 8, Para. [0105-0115]; Fig. 9, Para. [0116-0156])
based on second traffic directed to the second user equipment being associated with at least one non-critical traffic characteristic, (Fig. 5, Example 500; Para. [0077-0081]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0071]; Fig. 4, Para. [0072-0076]; Fig. 5, Para. [0077-0081]; Fig. 6, Para. [0082-0092]; Fig. 7, Para. [0094-0104]; Fig. 8, Para. [0105-0115]; Fig. 9, Para. [0116-0156])
based on first traffic directed to the first user equipment being associated with at least one critical traffic characteristic, (Fig. 5, Example 500; Para. [0077-0081]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0071]; Fig. 4, Para. [0072-0076]; Fig. 5, Para. [0077-0081]; Fig. 6, Para. [0082-0092]; Fig. 7, Para. [0094-0104]; Fig. 8, Para. [0105-0115]; Fig. 9, Para. [0116-0156])
based on second traffic directed to the second user equipment being associated with at least one non-critical traffic characteristic, (Fig. 5, Example 500; Para. [0077-0081]; See also Fig. 3, Para. [0067-0071]; Fig. 4, Para. [0072-0076]; Fig. 5, Para. [0077-0081]; Fig. 6, Para. [0082-0092]; Fig. 7, Para. [0094-0104]; Fig. 8, Para. [0105-0115]; Fig. 9, Para. [0116-0156])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abedini’s invention of configuring and controlling time occasions for muting downlink and/or uplink transmission in wireless communication (Abedini Para. 0006]) with Bao’s invention of “techniques and apparatuses for dynamically controlling a measurement gap” (Bao Para. [0002]) because Bao’s invention provides techniques where “a UE may dynamically control a measurement gap,” wherein “the UE may enter the measurement gap to take measurements when appropriate, or skip the measurement gap to transmit or receive data communications when appropriate,” and thereby “the network improves location management of the UE while not losing data communications that may have a higher priority than reference signal measurements” (Bao Para. [0066]).
Yet, Abedini nor Bao expressly teach transmit, to a first user equipment and a second user equipment, and a second partial transmission off mode function indication that indicates that the at least one transmission function is to be inactive during the at least one partial transmission off mode period, transmit, to the second user equipment, the second partial transmission off mode function indication, and exclude, by the radio access network node with respect to the second user equipment, operation of the at least one transmission function during the at least one partial transmission off mode period.
However, Siomina teaches
transmit, to a first user equipment and a second user equipment (Fig. 7, step 704; Para. [0078] - FIG. 7 illustrates a joint (cooperative) determination method 700, which is implemented at the node 24, for example. Here, the node 24 identifies a plurality of cells 20 (Block 702), e.g., the node 24 may be provisioned with or otherwise receive neighbor list information, or other information indicating related subsets of cells 20. The method continues with the node 24 determining a coordinated set of muting configurations for the plurality of cells 20 (Block 704). Here, "coordinated" implies a complementary determination of muting configurations across the plurality of cells 20--e.g., a common muting sequence but unique reference points, or vice versa, or unique combinations of muting sequence and reference points across the plurality of cells 20. The method further includes sending signaling indicating the determined muting configurations (Block 706). Such signaling may be twofold: e.g., control signaling to the involved base stations 18, to inform them of the muting configurations decided for the cells 20, and assistance data signaling to UEs 14, which may be carried transparently through the base stations 18 to the UEs 14; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081]),
and a second partial transmission off mode function indication that indicates that the at least one transmission function is to be inactive during the at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 7, step 704; Para. [0078] - FIG. 7 illustrates a joint (cooperative) determination method 700, which is implemented at the node 24, for example. Here, the node 24 identifies a plurality of cells 20 (Block 702), e.g., the node 24 may be provisioned with or otherwise receive neighbor list information, or other information indicating related subsets of cells 20. The method continues with the node 24 determining a coordinated set of muting configurations for the plurality of cells 20 (Block 704). Here, "coordinated" implies a complementary determination of muting configurations across the plurality of cells 20--e.g., a common muting sequence but unique reference points, or vice versa, or unique combinations of muting sequence and reference points across the plurality of cells 20. The method further includes sending signaling indicating the determined muting configurations (Block 706). Such signaling may be twofold: e.g., control signaling to the involved base stations 18, to inform them of the muting configurations decided for the cells 20, and assistance data signaling to UEs 14, which may be carried transparently through the base stations 18 to the UEs 14; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081]);
transmit, to the second user equipment, the second partial transmission off mode function indication (Fig. 7, step 706; Para. [0078] - FIG. 7 illustrates a joint (cooperative) determination method 700, which is implemented at the node 24, for example. Here, the node 24 identifies a plurality of cells 20 (Block 702), e.g., the node 24 may be provisioned with or otherwise receive neighbor list information, or other information indicating related subsets of cells 20. The method continues with the node 24 determining a coordinated set of muting configurations for the plurality of cells 20 (Block 704). Here, "coordinated" implies a complementary determination of muting configurations across the plurality of cells 20--e.g., a common muting sequence but unique reference points, or vice versa, or unique combinations of muting sequence and reference points across the plurality of cells 20. The method further includes sending signaling indicating the determined muting configurations (Block 706). Such signaling may be twofold: e.g., control signaling to the involved base stations 18, to inform them of the muting configurations decided for the cells 20, and assistance data signaling to UEs 14, which may be carried transparently through the base stations 18 to the UEs 14; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081]);
and exclude, by the radio access network node with respect to the second user equipment, operation of the at least one transmission function during the at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 7, step 706; Para. [0078]; Fig. 5, step 504; Para. [0072-0073] - [0072] FIG. 5 illustrates a corresponding base station method 500, such as may be carried out by any one or more of the base stations 18 illustrated in FIGS. 2 and 3, for example. The method 500 includes determining a muting configuration for a cell 20 controlled by a base station 18 (Block 502). Here, the muting configuration of the cell 20 is defined at least in part by a muting sequence comprising a pattern for muting reference signals periodically transmitted for the cell 20. As noted, a base station 18 may determine either the muting sequence or the reference point, or both, based on making its own decisions, or based on cooperating with one or more other base stations 18, or based on receiving control signaling from the node 24 or another node in the network 10 that has decided the muting configuration to be used by the base station 18; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmit, to a first user equipment and a second user equipment, and a second partial transmission off mode function indication that indicates that the at least one transmission function is to be inactive during the at least one partial transmission off mode period, transmit, to the second user equipment, the second partial transmission off mode function indication, and exclude, by the radio access network node with respect to the second user equipment, operation of the at least one transmission function during the at least one partial transmission off mode period as taught by Siomina, in the combined system of Abedini/Bao, so that it would provide “signaling support associated with the muting of reference signals for interference reduction in wireless communication networks that transmit reference signals” (Siomina Para. [0001]) wherein providing “use of a common muting sequence or reference point across cells, with muting occasions being differentiated between cells through use of different reference points (in the case of a common muting sequence), or through use of different muting sequences (in the case of a common reference point)” thereby simplifying “the signaling needed to control or indicate the muting configuration in use in the cells of interest” and providing “an advantageous basis for propagating muting configurations among cells” (Siomina Para. [0017]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Bao and Siomina as applied to Claim 14 above, and further in view of Qu et al. (US 2012/0176939, previously presented), Qu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 15, Abedini in view of Bao and Siomina teaches Claim 14.
Yet, Abedini, Bao, nor Siomina expressly teach wherein the radio access network node transmits the first partial transmission off mode function indication to the first user equipment according to a first device-specific scrambling code uniquely corresponding to the first user equipment, and wherein the radio access network node transmits the second partial transmission off mode function indication to the second user equipment according to a second device-specific scrambling code uniquely corresponding to the second user equipment.
However, Qu teaches
wherein the radio access network node transmits the first partial transmission off mode function indication to the first user equipment according to a first device-specific scrambling code uniquely corresponding to the first user equipment, and wherein the radio access network node transmits the second partial transmission off mode function indication to the second user equipment according to a second device-specific scrambling code uniquely corresponding to the second user equipment (Fig. 6, step 610; Para. [0062] - The process begins in step 610, wherein the eNodeB transmits the CSI-RS configuration information to the UE. In this embodiment, the CSI-RS configuration information is specific to the UE, although multiple UE may have the same CSI-RS configuration information. It should be noted that in the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 6, the eNodeB transmits legacy CSI-RS information as well as improved CSI-RS information. The CSI-RS configuration information may comprise, for example, the antenna port configuration information, resource element muting configuration information, antenna port groupings configuration information, scrambling code configuration information, and/or the like as discussed above; See also Para. [0056-0057, 0059, 0087]).
Examiner’s Note: Qu Para. [0062] teaches transmitting UE-specific CSI-RS configuration information that includes scrambling code configuration, such that the partial transmission off mode function indication (i.e., resource element muting configuration) is transmitted according to the UE’s device-specific scrambling code. Siomina further teaches that coordinated muting configurations (i.e., partial transmission off mode function indications), are signaled to multiple UEs across different cells, thereby showing transmission of such indications to more than one UE.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the radio access network node transmits the first partial transmission off mode function indication to the first user equipment according to a first device-specific scrambling code uniquely corresponding to the first user equipment, and wherein the radio access network node transmits the second partial transmission off mode function indication to the second user equipment according to a second device-specific scrambling code uniquely corresponding to the second user equipment as taught by Qu, in the combined system of Abedini/Bao/Siomina, so that it would provide the advantage of enabling a UE to receive multiple dedicated reference signal configurations, allowing flexible and tailored control of reference signal patterns and parameters (Qu Para. [0010]).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini/Bao/Siomina as applied to Claim 14 above, and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 2026/0040213), Cheng hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 16, Abedini in view of Bao and Siomina teaches Claim 14.
Yet, Abedini nor Bao expressly teach wherein the first user equipment is a member of a first group of at least one user equipment, and wherein the second user equipment is a member of a second group of at least one user equipment.
However, Siomina teaches
wherein the first user equipment is a member of a first group of at least one user equipment, and wherein the second user equipment is a member of a second group of at least one user equipment (Fig. 7, step 706; Para. [0078]; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081]).
Examiner’s Note: Siomina Para. [0078] teaches that the first UE and the second UE are associated with different cells, and since each cell may serve one or more UEs, this teaches the first UE being a member of a first group and the second UE being a member of a second group.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the first user equipment is a member of a first group of at least one user equipment, and wherein the second user equipment is a member of a second group of at least one user equipment as taught by Siomina, in the combined system of Abedini/Bao, so that it would provide “signaling support associated with the muting of reference signals for interference reduction in wireless communication networks that transmit reference signals” (Siomina Para. [0001]) wherein providing “use of a common muting sequence or reference point across cells, with muting occasions being differentiated between cells through use of different reference points (in the case of a common muting sequence), or through use of different muting sequences (in the case of a common reference point)” thereby simplifying “the signaling needed to control or indicate the muting configuration in use in the cells of interest” and providing “an advantageous basis for propagating muting configurations among cells” (Siomina Para. [0017]).
Yet, Abedini, Bao, nor Siomina expressly teach wherein traffic corresponding to the first group is associated with critical traffic, and wherein traffic corresponding to the second group is associated with noncritical traffic.
However, Cheng teaches
wherein traffic corresponding to the first group is associated with critical traffic, and wherein traffic corresponding to the second group is associated with noncritical traffic (Para. [0030] - During the DRX/DTX OFF duration, different gNB sleep modes can be configured for the UE depending on, for example, the power consumption requirements and/or capabilities of different gNBs (e.g., the serving gNB and potentially neighboring gNBs). The sleep modes can correspond to varying levels of power consumption imposed by the transmission/reception of various types of signals/channels. It is noted that the gNB can configure different sleep modes for different groups of UEs based on various considerations including, e.g., the number of UEs in the cell and the requirements of the various UEs. In some arrangements, the gNB may have knowledge of the requirements/capabilities of neighboring gNBs and their corresponding cell DTX/DRX cycles and sleep modes and perform operations in dependence thereon. For example, a serving cell can direct one or more UEs to switch to a neighboring cell if, for example, the QoS requirements of the UEs are strict and the neighboring cell is operating in a non-sleep mode or a sleep mode that allows high priority traffic Tx/Rx. In another example, if neighboring gNBs are not considered or if no neighboring gNB is better equipped than the serving cell to handle the traffic of one or more UEs, then the serving cell can switch its sleep mode to accommodate these UEs; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0022-0049]; Fig. 3, Para. [0050-0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein traffic corresponding to the first group is associated with critical traffic, and wherein traffic corresponding to the second group is associated with noncritical traffic as taught by Cheng, in the combined system of Abedini/Bao/Siomina, so that it would provide techniques regarding DRX/DTX OFF duration whereby “different gNB sleep modes can be configured for the UE depending on, for example, the power consumption requirements and/or capabilities of different gNBs (e.g., the serving gNB and potentially neighboring gNBs)” (Cheng Para. [0030]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view of Bao, Siomina, and Cheng as applied to Claim 16 above, and further in view of Qu et al. (US 2012/0176939), Qu hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 17, Abedini in view of Bao, Siomina, and Cheng teaches Claim 16.
Yet, Abedini, Bao, Siomina, nor Cheng expressly teach wherein the radio access network node transmits the first partial transmission off mode function indication to the first group of at least one user equipment according to a first group-specific scrambling code uniquely corresponding to the first group of at least one user equipment, and wherein the radio access network node transmits the second partial transmission off mode function indication to the second group of at least one user equipment according to a second group-specific scrambling code uniquely corresponding to the second group of at least one user equipment.
However, Qu teaches
wherein the radio access network node transmits the first partial transmission off mode function indication to the first group of at least one user equipment according to a first group-specific scrambling code uniquely corresponding to the first group of at least one user equipment, and wherein the radio access network node transmits the second partial transmission off mode function indication to the second group of at least one user equipment according to a second group-specific scrambling code uniquely corresponding to the second group of at least one user equipment (Para. [0086] - In Rel-10, only one CSI-RS configuration (for example, antenna ports pattern, duty cycle and offset) may be informed to a UE, and the scrambling code for CSI-RS is cell-specific. RRM measurement and RLM measurement are based on CRS. Furthermore, the signaling of CSI-RS in Rel-10 is not flexible enough to support more scenarios, such as multiple sites with a single share cell-id, where each site has a group of antennas; See also Para. [0059, 0087]).
The examiner interprets the “cell-specific” scrambling code as a group-specific scrambling code.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the radio access network node transmits the first partial transmission off mode function indication to the first group of at least one user equipment according to a first group-specific scrambling code uniquely corresponding to the first group of at least one user equipment, and wherein the radio access network node transmits the second partial transmission off mode function indication to the second group of at least one user equipment according to a second group-specific scrambling code uniquely corresponding to the second group of at least one user equipment as taught by Qu, in the combined system of Abedini/Bao/Siomina/Cheng, so that it would provide the advantage of enabling a UE to receive multiple dedicated reference signal configurations, allowing flexible and tailored control of reference signal patterns and parameters (Qu Para. [0010]).
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini in view Siomina and Cheng, and further in view of Qu.
Regarding Claim 18, Abedini teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a radio access network node, facilitate performance of operations, comprising (Para. [0035, 0313-0354]):
a transmission mode configuration (Fig. 10, step 1010; Para. [0175-0176]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183])
comprising a first partial transmission off mode function indication indicative of a first transmission function that is to be active during at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 10, steps 1010 and 1020; Para. [0176-0177]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183])
and operating, with respect to the first user equipment, the first transmission function during the at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 10, step 1020; Para. [0177]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]);
and operating, with respect to the second user equipment, the first transmission function and the second transmission function during the at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 10, steps 1010 and 1020; Para. [0176-0177]; See also Fig. 5, Para. [0121-0126]; Fig. 7, Para. [0143-0150]; Fig. 8A-8C, Para. [0151-0156]; Fig. 9A-9C, Para. [0157-0174]; Fig. 11, Para. [0178-0180]; Fig. 12, Para. [0181-0183]).
Examiner’s Note: Abedini Para. [0176] teaches configuring time occasions where the node refrains from downlink and/or uplink transmissions, thereby showing operation with respect to a UE of both a first and second transmission function during a partial transmission off mode period.
Yet, Abedini does not expressly teach transmitting, to a first user equipment and a second user equipment, and a second partial transmission off mode function indication indicative of a second transmission function that is to be active during the at least one partial transmission off mode period, wherein the first user equipment is a member of a first group of at least one user equipment, and wherein the second user equipment is a member of a second group of at least one user equipment, wherein the first user equipment is a member of a first group of at least one user equipment, and wherein the second user equipment is a member of a second group of at least one user equipment, wherein the first user equipment is a member of a first group of at least one user equipment, and wherein the second user equipment is a member of a second group of at least one user equipment, transmitting the first partial transmission off mode function indication to the first group of at least one user equipment, transmitting the second partial transmission off mode function indication to the second group of at least one user equipment, transmitting the second partial transmission off mode function indication to the second group of at least one user equipment, and excluding from operating, with respect to the first user equipment, the second transmission function during the at least one partial transmission off mode period.
However, Siomina teaches
transmitting, to a first user equipment and a second user equipment (Fig. 7, step 704; Para. [0078]; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081]),
and a second partial transmission off mode function indication indicative of a second transmission function that is to be active during the at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 7, step 704; Para. [0078] - FIG. 7 illustrates a joint (cooperative) determination method 700, which is implemented at the node 24, for example. Here, the node 24 identifies a plurality of cells 20 (Block 702), e.g., the node 24 may be provisioned with or otherwise receive neighbor list information, or other information indicating related subsets of cells 20. The method continues with the node 24 determining a coordinated set of muting configurations for the plurality of cells 20 (Block 704). Here, "coordinated" implies a complementary determination of muting configurations across the plurality of cells 20--e.g., a common muting sequence but unique reference points, or vice versa, or unique combinations of muting sequence and reference points across the plurality of cells 20. The method further includes sending signaling indicating the determined muting configurations (Block 706). Such signaling may be twofold: e.g., control signaling to the involved base stations 18, to inform them of the muting configurations decided for the cells 20, and assistance data signaling to UEs 14, which may be carried transparently through the base stations 18 to the UEs 14; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081]);
wherein the first user equipment is a member of a first group of at least one user equipment, and wherein the second user equipment is a member of a second group of at least one user equipment (Fig. 7, step 706; Para. [0078]; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081]);
transmitting the first partial transmission off mode function indication to the first group of at least one user equipment (Fig. 7, step 706; Para. [0078]; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081])
transmitting the second partial transmission off mode function indication to the second group of at least one user equipment (Fig. 7, step 706; Para. [0078]; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081]);
excluding from operating, with respect to the first user equipment, the second transmission function during the at least one partial transmission off mode period (Fig. 7, step 706; Para. [0078]; Fig. 5, step 504; Para. [0072-0073]; See also Para. [0079]; Fig. 4, Para. [0070-0071]; Fig. 6, Para. [0074-0077]; Fig. 8, Para. [0080-0081])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Abedini’s invention of configuring and controlling time occasions for muting downlink and/or uplink transmission in wireless communication (Abedini Para. 0006]) with Siomina’s invention of “signaling support associated with the muting of reference signals for interference reduction in wireless communication networks that transmit reference signals” (Siomina Para. [0001]) because Siomina’s invention provides “use of a common muting sequence or reference point across cells, with muting occasions being differentiated between cells through use of different reference points (in the case of a common muting sequence), or through use of different muting sequences (in the case of a common reference point)” thereby simplifying “the signaling needed to control or indicate the muting configuration in use in the cells of interest” and providing “an advantageous basis for propagating muting configurations among cells” (Siomina Para. [0017]).
Yet, Abedini nor Siomina expressly teach wherein traffic corresponding to the first group is associated with noncritical traffic and wherein traffic corresponding to the second group is associated with critical traffic.
However, Cheng teaches
wherein traffic corresponding to the first group is associated with noncritical traffic and wherein traffic corresponding to the second group is associated with critical traffic (Para. [0030]; See also Figs. 1-2, Para. [0022-0049]; Fig. 3, Para. [0050-0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein traffic corresponding to the first group is associated with noncritical traffic and wherein traffic corresponding to the second group is associated with critical traffic as taught by Cheng, in the combined system of Abedini/Siomina, so that it would provide techniques regarding DRX/DTX OFF duration whereby “different gNB sleep modes can be configured for the UE depending on, for example, the power consumption requirements and/or capabilities of different gNBs (e.g., the serving gNB and potentially neighboring gNBs)” (Cheng Para. [0030]).
Yet, Abedini, Siomina, nor Cheng expressly teach according to a first group-specific scrambling code corresponding to the first group of at least one user equipment and according to a second group-specific scrambling code corresponding to the second group of at least one user equipment.
However, Qu teaches
according to a first group-specific scrambling code corresponding to the first group of at least one user equipment (Para. [0086]; See also Para. [0059, 0087])
according to a second group-specific scrambling code corresponding to the second group of at least one user equipment (Para. [0086]; See also Para. [0059, 0087])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide according to a first group-specific scrambling code corresponding to the first group of at least one user equipment and according to a second group-specific scrambling code corresponding to the second group of at least one user equipment as taught by Qu, in the combined system of Abedini/Siomina/Cheng, so that it would provide the advantage of enabling a UE to receive multiple dedicated reference signal configurations, allowing flexible and tailored control of reference signal patterns and parameters (Qu Para. [0010]).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedini/Siomina/Cheng/Qu as applied to Claim 18 above, and further in view of Jitsukawa et al. (US 2013/0303179, previously presented), Jitsukawa hereinafter.
Regarding Claim 19, Abedini in view of Siomina, Cheng, and Qu teach Claim 18.
Yet, Abedini, Siomina, Cheng, nor Qu teach analyzing a first signal strength corresponding to at least one of the first group of at least one user equipment with respect to a first signal strength criterion to result in an analyzed first signal strength; and based on the analyzed first signal strength being determined to satisfy the first signal strength criterion, determining to transmit the first partial transmission off mode function indication to the first group of at least one user equipment.
However, Jitsukawa teaches
analyzing a first signal strength corresponding to at least one of the first group of at least one user equipment with respect to a first signal strength criterion to result in an analyzed first signal strength (Fig. 9, steps S1 and S2; Para. [0057-0058] - [0057] At S1, the pico UE measures the received power of an RS (Reference Signal) of each of the connected cell and the surrounding cells, and notifies the pico base station 100 of the measurement result as the RSRP. [0058] At S2, the pico base station 100 estimates the state of inter-cell interference in each of pico UEs based on the information on the RSRP of each of the cells notified by each of the pico UEs, and determines whether to issue a muting request based on the estimation result. For example, assuming that the RSRP of the picocell as "RSRP_S" and the RSRP of an adjacent cell as "RSRP_I", a parameter .alpha.=RSRP_S/RSRP_I represents the state of the inter-cell interference in the pico UE. Therefore, a mobile station for which .alpha. becomes smaller than a predetermined threshold (for example, an SINR (Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio) at which the block error rate of the PDCCH becomes 1% when AL=8 with the greatest resistance against interference is applied) is defined as an interfered pico UE. The number of the interfered pico UEs is used as a criterion, and application of muting is requested when the criterion becomes equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold (for example, 1). The criterion is not limited to the number of the interfered pico UEs but may be a ratio of the number of the interfered pico UEs to the total number of the pico UEs; See also Fig. 11, Para. [0064-0072]; Fig. 13, Para. [0097-0116]; Fig. 15, Para. [0106]; Fig. 17, Para. [0126-0132]);
Examiner’s Note: Jitsukawa Para. [0057-0058] teaches that the PICO-UE measures the RSRP of the connected and surrounding cells and reports it to the base station, which corresponds to analyzing a first signal strength of a the first group of at least one UE. Jitsukawa Para. [0057-0058] further teaches that the base station evaluates the reported RSRP against a criterion, such as SINR or a ratio of interfered UEs, thereby mapping to analyzing the signal strength with respect to a first criterion. Based on this comparison, the base station determines interfered UEs, which constitutes the analyzed first signal strength.
and based on the analyzed first signal strength being determined to satisfy the first signal strength criterion, determining to transmit the first partial transmission off mode function indication to the first group of at least one user equipment (Fig. 9, steps S2-S4; Para. [0058] - At S2, the pico base station 100 estimates the state of inter-cell interference in each of pico UEs based on the information on the RSRP of each of the cells notified by each of the pico UEs, and determines whether to issue a muting request based on the estimation result. For example, assuming that the RSRP of the picocell as "RSRP_S" and the RSRP of an adjacent cell as "RSRP_I", a parameter .alpha.=RSRP_S/RSRP_I represents the state of the inter-cell interference in the pico UE. Therefore, a mobile station for which .alpha. becomes smaller than a predetermined threshold (for example, an SINR (Signal to Interference and Noise Ratio) at which the block error rate of the PDCCH becomes 1% when AL=8 with the greatest resistance against interference is applied) is defined as an interfered pico UE. The number of the interfered pico UEs is used as a criterion, and application of muting is requested when the criterion becomes equal to or greater than a predetermined threshold (for example, 1). The criterion is not limited to the number of the interfered pico UEs but may be a ratio of the number of the interfered pico UEs to the total number of the pico UEs; See also Para. [0059-0060, 0061-0070]; Fig. 11, Para. [0064-0072]; Fig. 13, Para. [0097-0116]; Fig. 15, Para. [0106]; Fig. 17, Para. [0126-0132]).
The number of UEs with
α
greater than the threshold is interpreted as the first signal strength criterion.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide analyzing a first signal strength corresponding to at least one of the first group of at least one user equipment with respect to a first signal strength criterion to result in an analyzed first signal strength; and based on the analyzed first signal strength being determined to satisfy the first signal strength criterion, determining to transmit the first partial transmission off mode function indication to the first group of at least one user equipment as taught by Jitsukawa, in the combined system of Abedini/Siomina/Cheng/Qu, so that it would provide a system for coordinating transmission timing between cells so control and data channels can overlap while avoiding interference (Jitsukawa Para. [0010]).
Regarding Claim 20, Abedini in view of Siomina, Cheng, Qu, and Jitsukawa teach Claim 19.
Yet, Abedini, Siomina, Cheng, nor Qu teach analyzing a second signal strength corresponding to at least one of the second group of at least one user equipment with respect to a second signal strength criterion to result in an analyzed second signal strength; and based on the analyzed second signal strength being determined to satisfy the second signal strength criterion, determining to transmit the second partial transmission off mode function indication to the second group of at least one user equipment, wherein satisfaction of the first signal strength criterion corresponds to a determination of a first signal strength value that is higher than a second signal strength value that satisfies the second signal strength criterion.
However, Jitsukawa teaches
analyzing a second signal strength corresponding to at least one of the second group of at least one user equipment with respect to a second signal strength criterion to result in an analyzed second signal strength (Fig. 9, steps S2-S4; Para. [0058]; See also Para. [0059-0060, 0061-0070]; Fig. 11, Para. [0064-0072]; Fig. 13, Para. [0097-0116]; Fig. 15, Para. [0106]; Fig. 17, Para. [0126-0132]);
Jitsukawa Para. [0057] teaches the Pico-UE measures the RSRP of the connected and neighboring cells and reports the measurements to the base station, corresponding to analyzing a second signal strength for at least one UE in the second group.
and based on the analyzed second signal strength being determined to satisfy the second signal strength criterion, determining to transmit the second partial transmission off mode function indication to the second group of at least one user equipment (Fig. 9, steps S2-S4; Para. [0058]; See also Para. [0059-0060, 0061-0070]; Fig. 11, Para. [0064-0072]; Fig. 13, Para. [0097-0116]; Fig. 15, Para. [0106]; Fig. 17, Para. [0126-0132]),
The number of UEs with
α
less than the threshold are interpreted as the second signal strength criterion.
wherein satisfaction of the first signal strength criterion corresponds to a determination of a first signal strength value that is higher than a second signal strength value that satisfies the second signal strength criterion (Fig. 9, steps S2-S4; Para. [0058]; See also Para. [0059-0060, 0061-0070]; Fig. 11, Para. [0064-0072]; Fig. 13, Para. [0097-0116]; Fig. 15, Para. [0106]; Fig. 17, Para. [0126-0132]).
Jitsukawa Para. [0058] teaches that UEs with
α
greater than the threshold corresponds to a first signal strength criterion, while UEs with
α
less than the threshold corresponds to a second signal strength criterion. The first criterion applies to UEs with higher signal strength than the second criterion, directly teaching the claim’s limitation that the first signal strength value is higher than the second signal strength value.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill of the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide analyzing a second signal strength corresponding to at least one of the second group of at least one user equipment with respect to a second signal strength criterion to result in an analyzed second signal strength; and based on the analyzed second signal strength being determined to satisfy the second signal strength criterion, determining to transmit the second partial transmission off mode function indication to the second group of at least one user equipment, wherein satisfaction of the first signal strength criterion corresponds to a determination of a first signal strength value that is higher than a second signal strength value that satisfies the second signal strength criterion as taught by Jitsukawa, in the combined system of Abedini/Siomina/Cheng/Qu, so that it would provide a system for coordinating transmission timing between cells so control and data channels can overlap while avoiding interference (Jitsukawa Para. [0010]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Xu et al. (US 2023/0284320), Figs. 6, 7, 11, and 12 and associated paragraphs.
/R.A.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/Thomas R Cairns/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468