DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. TW 112113178, filed on 04/07/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/05/2024 and 03/04/2024 were filed after the mailing date of the 06/06/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Prior Art Disclaimer
The prior art applied in this Office Action includes foreign patent documents that were originally published in languages other than English. Machine-generated translations of these documents were utilized to assess their relevance and content.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: a title that reflects the inventive concept of this particular charging device and liquid cooled cable, that separates it from other charging devices and liquid cooled cables.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1–2, 6–18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEMRLE et al. (US 12296703 B2), in view of ZANG et al. (CN 108461204 A), and further in view of NEUMANN (US 20200350098 A1), XU et al. (CN 210516261 U), and BEIMDIECK et al. (US 10109395 B2).
Regarding Claims 1 and 11, HEMRLE discloses a liquid cooled cable having a gun end and a station end, comprising a first insulating tube, having a first channel (see col. 1, ll. 50–52: “the outer fluid space is used for the fluid to flow from a charging post towards the end connector, and back through the inner fluid volume.” — HEMRLE’s cable has one end connected to the charging post (station end) and one end connected to the charging connector (gun end); FIG. 2A — charging connector 1 at one end of the liquid cooled charging cable 2 extending toward the charge post at the other end; and col. 7, ll. 55–61: “The inner fluid channel 6 is enclosed by a tight sheath 10, which at the same time divides the inner fluid channel 6 from the outer fluid channel 7.” — HEMRLE’s tight sheath 10 enclosing the inner fluid channel reads on the first insulating tube having a first channel).
HEMRLE further discloses a sheath (see col. 7, ll. 61–63: “The outer fluid channel 7 again is enclosed by an outer sheath 11 surrounding the entire cable 2.” — HEMRLE’s outer sheath 11 enclosing the cable reads on the sheath).
Furthermore, HEMRLE discloses a charging station, comprising a cooling module, comprising a liquid inlet and a liquid outlet, the liquid inlet being connected to the station end of the liquid cooled cable and communicating to the first channel, and a charging module (see col. 9, ll. 1–20: “The coolant fluid flows first along the whole length of the charging cable 2 through the outer fluid channel 7 of the cable 2 … the outer fluid channel 7 provides a supply path for the coolant fluid, while the inner fluid channel 6 provides a return path for the coolant fluid.” — HEMRLE’s charge post with cooling unit supplying coolant through the outer fluid channel reads on the charging station with a cooling module whose liquid inlet communicates to the first channel).
HEMRLE is silent to a second insulating tube, having a second channel and a braided copper mesh, the second channel being located in the braided copper mesh; a tape, covering the first insulating tube and the second insulating tube; a filler, located in the tape and filled between the first insulating tube and the second insulating tube; a charging gun, connected to the gun end of the liquid cooled cable and comprising a gun connector and a first liquid return channel, the gun connector being electrically connected to the braided copper mesh, and the first liquid return channel communicating to the first channel and the second channel; a station connector, comprising a second liquid return channel and a connection part, one end of the second liquid return channel communicating to the second channel, and the connection part being connected to the station end of the liquid cooled cable and electrically connected to the braided copper mesh; and a communicating pipe, two ends of the communicating pipe respectively communicating to the other end of the second liquid return channel and the liquid outlet of the cooling module.
ZANG discloses a second insulating tube, having a second channel and a braided copper mesh, the second channel being located in the braided copper mesh (see ¶[0013]: “… the conductor portion of this invention includes a flexible conductor and a protective mesh. The inner coolant tube is embedded in the center of the flexible conductor, and the flexible conductor is embedded inside the protective mesh ... The protective mesh is a tin-plated copper wire braided mesh. The inner coolant tube is a polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE) tube.” — ZANG’s inner coolant tube (201) enclosed within the protective mesh (203) reads on the second insulating tube having a second channel located within the braided copper mesh).
ZANG further discloses a charging gun, connected to the gun end of the liquid cooled cable and comprising a gun connector and a first liquid return channel, the gun connector being electrically connected to the braided copper mesh, and the first liquid return channel communicating to the first channel and the second channel (see ¶[0043]: “The coolant enters the cooling water channel 204 of the cooling water inner tube 201 inside the flexible conductor 2 through the inlet quick connector 7, the cable electrode inlet 401 of the cable electrode 4, and the hollow part inside the liquid-cooled terminal 5. Due to pressure, it returns along the annular outer coolant channel 205 between the insulating electrode sleeve 3 and the conductor.” — ZANG’s liquid-cooled terminal 5 reads on the gun connector connected to the gun end, whose hollow interior communicates coolant between the inner coolant channel 204 (first channel) and the outer coolant channel 205 (second channel); and ¶[0013]: “The protective mesh is a tin-plated copper wire braided mesh.” — the gun connector (liquid-cooled terminal 5) terminates the protective mesh 203 (braided copper mesh), establishing the electrical connection between the gun connector and the braided copper mesh).
Furthermore, ZANG discloses a station connector, comprising a second liquid return channel and a connection part, one end of the second liquid return channel communicating to the second channel, and the connection part being connected to the station end of the liquid cooled cable and electrically connected to the braided copper mesh (see ¶[0042]: “the cable electrode inlet 401 is connected to the internal coolant channel 204 of the inner coolant pipe 201, and the cable electrode outlet 403 is connected to the external coolant channel 205. The conductor portion is electrically crimped into the inner part of the electrode conduit 404 in a semi-circular manner.” — ZANG’s cable electrode 4, with its outlet 403 connected to the outer coolant channel 205 (second channel) and conductor portion electrically crimped into the electrode conduit 404, reads on the station connector having a second liquid return channel with one end communicating to the second channel and a connection part electrically connected to the braided copper mesh).
A PHOSITA would incorporate ZANG’s braided copper mesh conductor structure with internal coolant channel into HEMRLE’s inner/outer fluid channel cable architecture to enable increased current carrying capacity without increasing cable volume.
ZANG is silent to a tape, covering the first insulating tube and the second insulating tube; a filler, located in the tape and filled between the first insulating tube and the second insulating tube; and a communicating pipe, two ends of the communicating pipe respectively communicating to the other end of the second liquid return channel and the liquid outlet of the cooling module.
NEUMANN discloses a tape, covering the first insulating tube and the second insulating tube (see ¶[0027]: “a tape wrapping is positioned between the tube for conveying of a cooling fluid and the power conductor. The tape wrapping serves as protection for the tube and for the power conductor.”).
A PHOSITA would incorporate NEUMANN’s tape wrapping into the combined cable assembly to protect the coolant tube and conductor from mechanical damage and fluid ingress. The limitation that HEMRLE’s outer sheath 11 covers NEUMANN’s tape is inherent to the combined structure.
NEUMANN is silent to a filler, located in the tape and filled between the first insulating tube and the second insulating tube; and a communicating pipe, two ends of the communicating pipe respectively communicating to the other end of the second liquid return channel and the liquid outlet of the cooling module.
XU discloses a filler, located in the tape and filled between the first insulating tube and the second insulating tube (see ¶[0037]: “a filler 13 for fastening is provided between the insulating outer sheath and the signal line, PE line and support frame, so as to fasten the wire cores inside the insulating outer sheath; specifically, the filler can be a filler material with the same filling function, such as polypropylene.” — XU’s filler fastening the wire cores within the surrounding sheath reads on the filler located in the tape and filled between the first and second insulating tubes).
A PHOSITA would incorporate XU’s filler element into the combined cable assembly to fasten the tube bundle within the tape wrapping and prevent displacement during cable flexion.
XU is silent to a communicating pipe, two ends of the communicating pipe respectively communicating to the other end of the second liquid return channel and the liquid outlet of the cooling module.
BEIMDIECK discloses a communicating pipe, two ends of the communicating pipe respectively communicating to the other end of the second liquid return channel and the liquid outlet of the cooling module (see col. 3, ll. 62–64: “The connection unit 2 can be connected to a cooling unit 23 of the charging column 8 via the fluid connecting pieces 18, 18’.” — BEIMDIECK’s fluid connecting pieces 18, 18’ routing the return coolant from the connection unit to the cooling unit read on the communicating pipe connecting the station connector’s second liquid return channel to the cooling module’s liquid outlet).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate ZANG's braided copper mesh conductor structure with internal coolant channel into HEMRLE's inner/outer fluid channel cable architecture, and to further combine with NEUMANN's tape wrapping, XU's filler element, and BEIMDIECK's connection unit interface and communicating pipe, to integrate the electrical and fluidic connections at the station end in a single compact housing, thereby reducing the time required for connecting such a cable.
Regarding Claims 2 and 14, HEMRLE is silent to two first insulating tubes and two second insulating tubes.
ZANG discloses two first insulating tubes and two second insulating tubes (see ¶[0021]: “This invention relates to a flexible conductor suitable for high-power charging piles using DC+ and DC- parallel cooling liquid-cooled cables ... safely carrying a current of 600 amperes without increasing the overall size.” — ZANG’s DC+/DC– parallel cooling architecture, with two sets of protective mesh conductors and internal coolant channels, reads on two first insulating tubes and two second insulating tubes)
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to implement ZANG’s dual-cable (DC+/DC–) architecture within HEMRLE’s cable structure to accommodate the standard two-polarity DC fast-charging circuit, achieving increased current capacity in a compact cable form factor.
Regarding Claim 6, HEMRLE is silent to a station connector body, the second liquid return channel being located in the station connector body, and the connection part communicating to one end of the second liquid return channel and being electrically connected to the braided copper mesh; an adapting part, communicating to the other end of the second liquid return channel and communicating to the communicating pipe; a station connection part, connected to the station connector body and electrically connected to the charging module; and a cover plate, connected to the station connector body and covering the second liquid return channel.
BEIMDIECK discloses a station connector body, the second liquid return channel being located in the station connector body, and the connection part communicating to one end of the second liquid return channel and being electrically connected to the braided copper mesh. (see col. 3, ll. 26–28: “The connection unit 2 has a box-shaped housing 9 that, in turn, has three openings, a cable connecting opening 10, a fluid inlet opening 11 and a fluid outlet opening 12.” — BEIMDIECK’s housing 9 with fluid inlet and outlet openings reads on the station connector body with its openings forming the second liquid return channel; and col. 3, ll. 41–43: “The fluid outlet opening 12 contains an electric contact element 19 that, inside the housing 9, is connected to the copper cores 20 of the cable 16 by a crimp sleeve 21.” — BEIMDIECK’s contact element 19 positioned inside the housing at the fluid outlet opening communicates to one end of the second liquid return channel, and is electrically connected to the copper cores (braided copper mesh)).
BEIMDIECK further discloses an adapting part, communicating to the other end of the second liquid return channel and communicating to the communicating pipe (see col. 3, ll. 62–64: “The connection unit 2 can be connected to a cooling unit 23 of the charging column 8 via the fluid connecting pieces 18, 18’.” — BEIMDIECK’s fluid connecting piece 18’ routing the heated return fluid from the housing to the cooling unit reads on the adapting part communicating to the other end of the second liquid return channel).
Furthermore, BEIMDIECK discloses a station connection part, connected to the station connector body and electrically connected to the charging module (see col. 3, ll. 51–54: “The contact element 19 has an external thread (not shown) and, by means thereof, can be connected, in combination with a nut, for the purpose of electrical interfacing, to a conductor bar 22.” — BEIMDIECK’s conductor bar 22 connected to contact element 19 reads on the station connection part providing electrical connection to the charging module).
BEIMDIECK further discloses a cover plate, connected to the station connector body and covering the second liquid return channel (see col. 2, ll. 46–49: “the fluid-cooled electric cable described above projects into the cable connecting opening. The cable connecting opening is closed in a media-tight manner by a screwed cable gland.” — BEIMDIECK’s screwed cable gland 17 closing the cable connecting opening in a media-tight manner reads on the cover plate connected to the station connector body and covering the second liquid return channel).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to apply BEIMDIECK’s compact connection unit architecture to the station end of HEMRLE’s liquid-cooled charging cable to integrate the electrical and fluidic station-end connections in a single housing, thereby reducing the time required for connecting such a cable.
Regarding Claim 7, HEMRLE is silent to a second ferrule, having one end connected to the connection part and the other end connected to the braided copper mesh.
BEIMDIECK discloses a second ferrule, having one end connected to the connection part and the other end connected to the braided copper mesh. (see col. 3, ll. 41–43: “the connection between the fluid-cooled electric cable and the contact element is realized by a crimp sleeve. The crimp sleeve also enables the copper conductor of the cable to be connected to the contact element of the fluid outlet opening in a media-tight manner.” — BEIMDIECK’s crimp sleeve 21 connecting the contact element (connection part) to the copper cores (braided copper mesh) in a media-tight manner reads on the ferrule connecting the connection part to the braided copper mesh).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to employ a crimp ferrule to connect the station connector connection part to the braided copper mesh in a media-tight manner, following BEIMDIECK’s teaching that a crimp sleeve enables both electrical connection and fluid-tight sealing at the cable-connector interface, thereby providing a compact connection possibility for a fluid-cooled electric cable.
Regarding Claim 8, HEMRLE is silent to a second crimping member and two second anti-leakage rings, wherein one of the second anti-leakage rings is sleeved outside the braided copper mesh and located at a joint between the second ferrule and the braided copper mesh, the other second anti-leakage ring is sleeved on the connection part, and the second crimping member is sleeved on the braided copper mesh, the connection part and the two second anti-leakage rings.
BEIMDIECK discloses a second crimping member (see col. 3, ll. 41–43: “the connection between the fluid-cooled electric cable and the contact element is realized by a crimp sleeve. The crimp sleeve also enables the copper conductor of the cable to be connected to the contact element of the fluid outlet opening in a media-tight manner.”).
BEIMDIECK is silent to two second anti-leakage rings, wherein one of the second anti-leakage rings is sleeved outside the braided copper mesh and located at a joint between the second ferrule and the braided copper mesh, the other second anti-leakage ring is sleeved on the connection part, and the second crimping member is sleeved on the braided copper mesh, the connection part and the two second anti-leakage rings.
Official notice is hereby taken that use of sealing rings at crimped connector joints in fluid-handling assemblies to prevent leakage is well-known design practice for a PHOSITA in this field.
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to employ BEIMDIECK’s crimp sleeve as the second crimping member in HEMRLE’s liquid-cooled charging cable assembly, and to add sealing rings at the joints between the ferrule, braided copper mesh, and connection part, to prevent coolant leakage at those interfaces.
Regarding Claims 9 and 17, HEMRLE is silent to the braided copper mesh being a double-layer braided structure or a multi-layer braided structure.
ZANG discloses the braided copper mesh (see ¶[0003]: “the protective mesh (203) is a tin-plated copper wire braided mesh).
ZANG does not explicitly disclose the braided copper mesh being a double-layer braided structure or a multi-layer braided structure.
Official notice is hereby taken that double-layer and multi-layer braided mesh structures are well-known conductor configurations in high-current cable manufacturing.
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA implementing a braided copper mesh conductor to recognize that double-layer and multi-layer braided structures are standard manufacturing configurations for increasing current capacity and mesh density.
Regarding Claims 10 and 18, HEMRLE is silent to the braided copper mesh having a braiding density ranging from 70% to 90%.
ZANG discloses the braided copper mesh (see ¶[0003]: “the protective mesh (203) is a tin-plated copper wire braided mesh).
ZANG does not explicitly disclose the braided copper mesh having a braiding density ranging from 70% to 90%.
Official notice is hereby taken that braiding densities in the 70% to 90% range are conventional specifications for protective braided mesh conductors in power cable applications.
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to recognize that a braiding density of 70% to 90% is a standard, well-known parameter range for braided conductors used in high-current cables, representing a finite set of design parameters optimized for conductivity, flexibility, and coverage.
Regarding Claim 12, HEMRLE is silent to the liquid cooled cable further comprising a charging gun, the charging gun comprising a gun connector and a first liquid return channel, the gun connector being electrically connected to the braided copper mesh, and the first liquid return channel communicating to the first channel and the second channel.
ZANG discloses the liquid cooled cable further comprising a charging gun, the charging gun comprising a gun connector and a first liquid return channel, the gun connector being electrically connected to the braided copper mesh, and the first liquid return channel communicating to the first channel and the second channel (see ¶[0043]: “The coolant enters the cooling water channel 204 of the cooling water inner tube 201 inside the flexible conductor 2 through the inlet quick connector 7, the cable electrode inlet 401 of the cable electrode 4, and the hollow part inside the liquid-cooled terminal 5. Due to pressure, it returns along the annular outer coolant channel 205 between the insulating electrode sleeve 3 and the conductor.” — ZANG’s liquid-cooled terminal 5 reads on the gun connector connected to the gun end, whose hollow interior communicates coolant between the inner coolant channel 204 (first channel) and the outer coolant channel 205 (second channel. The gun connector (liquid-cooled terminal 5) terminates the protective mesh 203 (braided copper mesh), establishing the electrical connection between the gun connector and the braided copper mesh).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate ZANG’s braided copper mesh conductor structure with internal coolant channel into HEMRLE’s inner/outer fluid channel cable architecture to enable increased current carrying capacity without increasing cable volume.
Regarding Claim 13, HEMRLE is silent to the liquid cooled cable further comprising a station connector, the station connector comprising a second liquid return channel and a connection part, one end of the second liquid return channel communicating to the second channel, and the connection part being electrically connected to the braided copper mesh.
ZANG discloses the liquid cooled cable further comprising a station connector, the station connector comprising a second liquid return channel and a connection part, one end of the second liquid return channel communicating to the second channel, and the connection part being electrically connected to the braided copper mesh (see ¶[0042]: “the cable electrode inlet 401 is connected to the internal coolant channel 204 of the inner coolant pipe 201, and the cable electrode outlet 403 is connected to the external coolant channel 205. The conductor portion is electrically crimped into the inner part of the electrode conduit 404 in a semi-circular manner.” — ZANG’s cable electrode 4, with its outlet 403 connected to the outer coolant channel 205 (second channel) and conductor portion electrically crimped into the electrode conduit 404, reads on the station connector having a second liquid return channel with one end communicating to the second channel and a connection part electrically connected to the braided copper mesh).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate ZANG’s braided copper mesh conductor structure with internal coolant channel into HEMRLE’s inner/outer fluid channel cable architecture to enable increased current carrying capacity without increasing cable volume.
Regarding Claim 15, HEMRLE is silent to the liquid cooled cable further comprising a charging gun, the charging gun comprising two gun connectors and two first liquid return channels, each of the gun connectors being electrically connected to one of the braided copper meshes, and each of first liquid return channels communicating to one of the first channels and one of the second channels.
ZANG discloses the liquid cooled cable further comprising a charging gun, the charging gun comprising two gun connectors and two first liquid return channels, each of the gun connectors being electrically connected to one of the braided copper meshes, and each of first liquid return channels communicating to one of the first channels and one of the second channels (see ¶[0021]: “This invention relates to a flexible conductor suitable for high-power charging piles using DC+ and DC- parallel cooling liquid-cooled cables ... safely carrying a current of 600 amperes without increasing the overall size.” — ZANG’s DC+/DC– parallel cooling architecture, each cable with its own liquid-cooled terminal 5 (gun connector) and return channel, reads on two gun connectors and two first liquid return channels; and ¶[0043]: “The coolant enters the cooling water channel 204 of the cooling water inner tube 201 inside the flexible conductor 2 through the inlet quick connector 7, the cable electrode inlet 401 of the cable electrode 4, and the hollow part inside the liquid-cooled terminal 5. Due to pressure, it returns along the annular outer coolant channel 205 between the insulating electrode sleeve 3 and the conductor.” — each liquid-cooled terminal 5 communicates coolant between the inner coolant channel 204 (first channel) and the outer coolant channel 205 (second channel), reading on each first liquid return channel communicating to one of the first channels and one of the second channels. Each gun connector (liquid-cooled terminal 5) terminates one of the protective meshes 203, reading on each gun connector being electrically connected to one of the braided copper meshes).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to implement ZANG’s dual-cable (DC+/DC–) architecture within HEMRLE’s cable structure to accommodate the standard DC+ and DC– two-polarity fast-charging circuit in a compact cable form factor.
Regarding Claim 16, HEMRLE is silent to two station connectors, each of the station connectors comprising a second liquid return channel and a connection part, one end of the second liquid return channel communicating to one of the second channels, and the connection part being electrically connected to one of the braided copper meshes.
ZANG discloses two station connectors, each of the station connectors comprising a second liquid return channel and a connection part, one end of the second liquid return channel communicating to one of the second channels, and the connection part being electrically connected to one of the braided copper meshes (see ¶[0021]: “This invention relates to a flexible conductor suitable for high-power charging piles using DC+ and DC- parallel cooling liquid-cooled cables ... safely carrying a current of 600 amperes without increasing the overall size.” — ZANG’s DC+/DC– parallel cooling architecture establishes two station connectors, one per cable; and ¶[0042]: “the cable electrode inlet 401 is connected to the internal coolant channel 204 of the inner coolant pipe 201, and the cable electrode outlet 403 is connected to the external coolant channel 205. The conductor portion is electrically crimped into the inner part of the electrode conduit 404 in a semi-circular manner.” — each cable electrode 4 has its outlet 403 connected to the outer coolant channel 205 (one of the second channels) and conductor portion electrically crimped into the electrode conduit 404 (one of the braided copper meshes)).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to implement ZANG’s dual-cable (DC+/DC–) architecture within HEMRLE’s cable structure to accommodate the standard DC+ and DC– two-polarity fast-charging circuit in a compact cable form factor.
Claim(s) 3–5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HEMRLE et al. (US 12296703 B2), in view of ZANG et al. (CN 108461204 A), NEUMANN (US 20200350098 A1), XU et al. (CN 210516261 U), BEIMDIECK et al. (US 10109395 B2), and further in view of BORTOLATO et al. (US 12278450 B2) and CANTZ et al. (US 10902977 B2).
Regarding Claim 3, HEMRLE is silent to a gun connector body, the first liquid return channel being located in the gun connector body; a gun connection part, connected to the gun connector body; a first end part, communicating to one end of the first liquid return channel and electrically connected to the braided copper mesh; a second end part, communicating to the other end of the first liquid return channel and communicating to the first channel; and a lid, connected to the gun connector body and covering the first liquid return channel.
BORTOLATO discloses a gun connector body, the first liquid return channel being located in the gun connector body, and a gun connection part, connected to the gun connector body (see col. 7, ll. 21–30: “The first part 5 is made of plastic and is connected to an inner pipe of the charging cable 2 so that the coolant can flow inside the first part 5 ... The first part 5 thus exhibits the fluid channels 4 for the fluid supply and return.” — BORTOLATO’s first part 5, a plastic body carrying fluid channels 4 connected to the charging cable, reads on the gun connector body with the first liquid return channel located therein and the gun connection part connected to it).
BORTOLATO further discloses a first end part, communicating to one end of the first liquid return channel and electrically connected to the braided copper mesh (see col. 7, ll. 33–35: “Each one conductor 3 is electrically and thermally connected to one bus bar 6 and via the bus bar 6 to one contact 8.” — BORTOLATO’s bus bar 6, electrically connecting conductor 3 to contact 8 and positioned within the connector body at the end of the fluid channel, reads on the first end part communicating to one end of the first liquid return channel and electrically connected to the braided copper mesh).
Furthermore, BORTOLATO discloses a second end part, communicating to the other end of the first liquid return channel and communicating to the first channel (see col. 7, ll. 30–32: “The fluid channels 4 are connected for example by means of gluing with the second part 7 of the charging connector 1.”; and col. 8, ll. 1–6: “The second part 7 further comprises second fluid channels 11 provided within the second part 7 and fluidly and thermally connected to the fluid channels 4 ...” — BORTOLATO’s second part 7 with second fluid channels 11 communicating to the cable’s fluid channels reads on the second end part communicating to the other end of the first liquid return channel and to the first channel).
A PHOSITA would incorporate BORTOLATO’s connector body architecture with internal fluid channels and bus bars into HEMRLE’s liquid-cooled charging cable architecture to maximize heat transfer between contacts and coolant, thereby allowing higher current rates.
BORTOLATO is silent to a lid, connected to the gun connector body and covering the first liquid return channel.
CANTZ discloses a lid, connected to the gun connector body and covering the first liquid return channel (see col. 15, ll. 42–45: “the connector 30 comprises a data port 36 that can serves as an entry point for a data cable (not shown) and is fluidically sealed by a closure 37.” — CANTZ’s closure 37 sealing the port opening in the connector body reads on the lid connected to the gun connector body and covering the first liquid return channel).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to incorporate BORTOLATO’s connector body architecture with internal fluid channels and bus bars into HEMRLE’s liquid-cooled charging cable architecture, and to apply CANTZ’s closure element to seal the gun connector body’s unused port, to prevent coolant from escaping through that opening and maintain the pressure integrity of the liquid cooling circuit.
Regarding Claim 4, HEMRLE is silent to a first ferrule, having one end connected to the first end part and the other end connected to the braided copper mesh.
BEIMDIECK discloses a first ferrule, having one end connected to the first end part and the other end connected to the braided copper mesh (see col. 3, ll. 41–43: “the connection between the fluid-cooled electric cable and the contact element is realized by a crimp sleeve. The crimp sleeve also enables the copper conductor of the cable to be connected to the contact element of the fluid outlet opening in a media-tight manner.” — BEIMDIECK’s crimp sleeve 21 connecting the contact element (end part) to the copper cores (braided copper mesh) in a media-tight manner reads on the ferrule connecting the end part to the braided copper mesh).
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to employ a crimp ferrule to connect the bus bar end part to the braided copper mesh in a media-tight manner, following BEIMDIECK’s teaching that a crimp sleeve enables both electrical connection and fluid-tight sealing at the cable-connector interface, thereby providing a compact connection possibility for a fluid-cooled electric cable.
Regarding Claim 5, HEMRLE is silent to a first crimping member, and two first anti-leakage rings, wherein one of the first anti-leakage rings is sleeved outside the braided copper mesh and located at a joint between the first ferrule and the braided copper mesh, the other first anti-leakage ring is sleeved on the first end part, and the first crimping member is sleeved on the braided copper mesh, the first end part and the two first anti-leakage rings.
BEIMDIECK discloses a first crimping member (see col. 3, ll. 41–43: “the connection between the fluid-cooled electric cable and the contact element is realized by a crimp sleeve. The crimp sleeve also enables the copper conductor of the cable to be connected to the contact element of the fluid outlet opening in a media-tight manner.”).
BEIMDIECK is silent to two first anti-leakage rings, wherein one of the first anti-leakage rings is sleeved outside the braided copper mesh and located at a joint between the first ferrule and the braided copper mesh, the other first anti-leakage ring is sleeved on the first end part, and the first crimping member is sleeved on the braided copper mesh, the first end part and the two first anti-leakage rings.
Official notice is hereby taken that use of sealing rings at crimped connector joints in fluid-handling assemblies to prevent leakage is well-known design practice for a PHOSITA in this field.
It would have been obvious for a PHOSITA to employ BEIMDIECK’s crimp sleeve as the first crimping member in HEMRLE’s liquid-cooled charging cable assembly, and to add sealing rings at the joints between the ferrule, braided copper mesh, and first end part, to prevent coolant leakage at those interfaces.
Conclusion
/D. JOHANN DJANAL-MANN/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859