DETAILED ACTION
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 03 February 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. Patent No. 11,642,530 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 15 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 34 – 37 and 39 – 41 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Naritoku et al. (US PGPUB 2002/0099418 – previously cited) in view of Tweden et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0316478).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 34 – 37 and 39 – 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naritoku et al. (US PGPUB 2002/0099418 – previously cited) in view of Tweden et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0316478).
Regarding claim 34¸ Naritoku teaches a system for modulating the plasticity and/or memory of the autonomic cardiac nervous system comprising a control unit communicatively connected to one or more components for delivering energy to a nerve (e.g. ¶ 76 – 77), wherein the control unit is configured to delivering of energy to a nerve via the one or more components (e.g. ¶ 76). Naritoku does not explicitly recite the target as a nerve or ganglion of the autonomic cardiac nervous system or that delivering energy comprises producing scalable block of efferent projecting axons to the heart.
Tweden teaches it is know to use a neuroregulatory to deliver electrical treatment signals to at least partially down-regulate neural activity on the nerve, including activity that affects heart rate and blood pressure (e.g. ¶ 58 – 59 and 64 – 65). In doing so, the control unit delivers energy comprising a scalable block of vagral fibers, including efferent fibers that project to the heart.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Naritoku with the partial conduction block as taught by Tweden, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of titrating heart rate/blood pressure effect.
Regarding claims 35 – 37, Naritoku discloses one or more electrodes for measuring the activity of the nerve, measure biomarker levels, and stimulating electrodes for applying an electrical stimulus (e.g. ¶ 27 – 29 and 76 – 77).
Regarding claim 39, Naritoku discloses the delivered energy is selected from the group consisting of electrical energy, electromagnetic energy, acoustic energy, and thermal energy (¶ 27 – 29).
Regarding claims 40 – 42, Naritoku discloses the claimed invention except for the evaluation of block efficacy is done manually and/or done in a close looped fashion. Tweden teaches it is known that the evaluation of block efficacy is done manually and/or done in a close looped fashion (e.g. ¶ 38). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Naritoku with the partial conduction block as taught by Tweden, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of titrating heart rate/blood pressure effect.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792