CTFR 18/314,244 CTFR 88119 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments Applicant’s amendments, filed 02/25/2026, with respect to the 103 rejection(s) of independent claims 1 and 15 under Kuethe (US 3776363; hereinafter: “Kuethe ‘363 “) in view of Kuethe et al. (US 3578264, hereinafter: “Kuethe ‘264 “) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been overcome. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kuethe (US 3776363; hereinafter: “Kuethe ‘363 “) in view of Kuethe et al. (US 3578264, hereinafter: “Kuethe ‘264 “) and Kray et al. (US 20170226865, hereinafter: “Kray”) for independent Claim 1 and Kuethe (US 3776363; hereinafter: “Kuethe ‘363 “) in view of Kuethe et al. (US 3578264, hereinafter: “Kuethe ‘264 “) and in further view of Routier (US 20110200442) and Kray et al. (US 20170226865, hereinafter: “Kray”) for independent Claim 15. Kray teaches a gas turbine engine comprising an airfoil (100) having noise reducing features [0003, 0038]. Kray teaches the noise reducing features can be applied the airfoils of “fan blades, rotor blades, stator vanes, ducted fan blades, unducted fan blades, struts, vanes, nacelle inlets, open rotor propulsion systems, wind-turbine blades, propellers impellers, diffuser vanes, and/or return channel vanes. More specifically, the disclosed embodiments may apply to any airfoil, or aerodynamic surface,” [0014]. In addition, Kray teaches the airfoils for a turbofan engine, wherein the airfoil is part of a fan (18 fan section) having fan blades (20) rotatable about a longitudinal centerline (12) and fan guide vanes (82) not rotatable about the longitudinal centerline [0016-0025] (Fig. 1-2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify airfoil of Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 by utilizing it for fan blades and fan guide vanes as taught by Kray for the purpose of providing noise reduction. Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/25/2026, with respect to 112b rejection of 3-6, 9-10 and 17-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 112b rejection of 3-6, 9-10 and 17-20 has been overcome. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 4-7, 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuethe (US 3776363; hereinafter: “Kuethe ‘363 “) in view of Kuethe et al. (US 3578264, hereinafter: “Kuethe ‘264 “) and Kray et al. (US 20170226865, hereinafter: “Kray”) . In reference to Claim 1 Kuethe ‘363 discloses: An airfoil (10) for a turbofan engine (Col. 3, ll. 33-43), the airfoil comprising: a first contoured sidewall (22), a second contoured sidewall (21), a leading edge (leading edge shown in Fig. 1), and a trailing edge (19), each extending in a spanwise direction defined between a root and a tip portion of the airfoil (root and span in spanwise direction as shown in Fig. 2), wherein the first contoured sidewall and the second contoured sidewall define an outer surface of the airfoil (outer surface of pressure side and suction side as shown in Fig. 1); and a plurality of protrusions (20, 20A), each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions having a curvilinear shape (Fig. 4) and extending outwardly from the outer surface along at least one of the first contoured sidewall or the second contoured sidewall, wherein the plurality of protrusions (20) is defined downstream from a mid-point of a chord length of the airfoil and terminates upstream of the trailing edge (as shown in Fig. 2), wherein the first contoured sidewall corresponds to a pressure sidewall (22, Fig. 1) of the airfoil and the second contoured sidewall (21, Fig. 1) corresponds to a suction sidewall of the airfoil, and wherein the airfoil further comprises a first pressure sidewall protrusion and a second pressure sidewall protrusion (20, 20A) extending outwardly from the pressure sidewall and a first suction sidewall protrusion and a second suction sidewall protrusion extending outwardly from the suction sidewall (“Such streamwise vortices are preferably formed by suitable vortex generating elements 20, positioned on both the upper and lower surfaces 21 and 22 of the sound producing element, although it is within the scope of my invention to utilize generators selectively on either of such surfaces or alternatively on such surfaces,” Col. 3, ll. 58-65; Fig. 1-6). Kuethe ‘363 discloses the plurality of protrusions (20, 20A) as disclosed by Kuethe ‘264 may be used in place of the protrusions (20, 20A). (“They may be positive as shown in FIG. 4 or negative as shown in FIG. 5, and preferably extend in an array of elements 20 along straight transverse regions and are oriented generally parallel to each other. FIG. 2 illustrates such an array in which all of the elements 20 are parallel to each other. However, V-shaped or zig-zag element arrays as disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 3,578,264 may also be used,” Col. 4, ll. 13-20; Kuethe ‘363). Kuethe ‘264 teaches a surface of an airfoil (25) comprising a first sidewall protrusion (60) and a second sidewall protrusion (70) extending outwardly from the airfoil sidewall, wherein the first sidewall protrusion and the second sidewall protrusion each have a different shape (Col. 3, ll. 1-8; Col. 5, ll. 60-72; Fig. 2, 6). Based on the teaching of Kuethe ‘363 and Kuethe ‘264, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of protrusions on the pressure sidewall and the suction sidewall of Kuethe ‘363 by constructing the first pressure sidewall protrusion and the second pressure sidewall protrusion to each have different shape and the first suction sidewall protrusion and the second suction sidewall protrusion to each have different shape as taught by Kuethe ‘264 for the purpose of providing various shapes well-known to provide vortex generation. Kuethe ‘363 the airfoil (10) of a blade or vane for a turbofan engine (Abstract; Col. 1, ll. 6-60; Col. 3, ll. 33-43); however, Kuethe ‘363 is silent on the details of a turbofan engine such as a fan having fan blades rotatable about a longitudinal centerline and fan guide vanes not rotatable about the longitudinal centerline. Kray teaches a gas turbine engine comprising an airfoil (100) having noise reducing features [0003, 0038]. Kray teaches the noise reducing features can be applied the airfoils of “fan blades, rotor blades, stator vanes, ducted fan blades, unducted fan blades, struts, vanes, nacelle inlets, open rotor propulsion systems, wind-turbine blades, propellers impellers, diffuser vanes, and/or return channel vanes. More specifically, the disclosed embodiments may apply to any airfoil, or aerodynamic surface,” [0014]. In addition, Kray teaches the airfoils for a turbofan engine, wherein the airfoil is part of a fan (18 fan section) having fan blades (20) rotatable about a longitudinal centerline (12) and fan guide vanes (82) not rotatable about the longitudinal centerline [0016-0025] (Fig. 1-2). Based on the teaching of Kray and Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify airfoil of Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 by utilizing it for fan blades and fan guide vanes as taught by Kray for the purpose of providing noise reduction features in various applications such as a fan blade and/or fan vanes. In reference to Claim 4 Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 and Kray discloses: The airfoil of claim 1, wherein the plurality of protrusions (20A) includes a first protrusion (a radially outer protrusion 20 as shown in Fig. 2) and a second protrusion (a radially inner protrusion 20 as shown in Fig. 2), wherein the first protrusion is offset (space 32) from the second protrusion in the spanwise direction. In reference to Claim 5 Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 and Kray discloses: The airfoil of claim 1, wherein at least one protrusion (20A) of the plurality of protrusions extends outwardly from the outer surface of the airfoil at a distance that is variable in a chordwise direction (as shown in Fig. 4). In reference to Claim 6 Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 and Kray discloses: The airfoil of claim 1, wherein at least one protrusion of the plurality of protrusions (20A) extends outwardly from the suction sidewall at a distance from the outer surface that is variable in the spanwise direction (as shown in Fig. 4). In reference to Claim 7 Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 and Kray discloses: The airfoil of claim 1, wherein the airfoil is a fan blade (10) (Col. 3, ll. 33-44). (“However, the sound and the fluctuating structural stresses that accompany the generation of the Karman trail at high speeds, such as occurs in flow past high speed propellers, fans, and helicopter blades and the like at near sonic and supersonic speeds, can be of significant amplitudes,” Col. 1, ll. 21-28). In reference to Claim 9 Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 and Kray discloses: The airfoil of claim 1, wherein the plurality of protrusions further comprises at least one angled protrusion disposed closer to a platform of the airfoil than to the tip portion of the airfoil. (“While the spacing number, length, height (or depth) and angle of the inclination of the generators 20 may vary widely, I have found that good results are obtained when the ratio of generator height h.sub.1 (or depth h.sub.2) to boundary layer thickness .delta. is in the order of 0.5, as shown in FIGS. 4 and 5,” Col. 6, ll. 11-32; Fig. 2). In reference to Claim 10 Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 and Kray discloses: The airfoil of claim 1, wherein the plurality of protrusions includes a first protrusion (a radially outer protrusion 20 as shown in Fig. 2) and a second protrusion (a radially inner protrusion 20 as shown in Fig. 2), wherein the first protrusion extends outwardly from the outer surface of the suction sidewall at a first maximum distance (“h1” of the radially outer protrusion 20 as shown in Fig. 2), and the second protrusion extends outwardly from the outer surface of the suction sidewall at a second maximum distance (“h1” of the radially inner protrusion 20 as shown in Fig. 2) as measured from the outer surface . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 11-15 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuethe (US 3776363; hereinafter: “Kuethe ‘363 “) in view of Kuethe et al. (US 3578264, hereinafter: “Kuethe ‘264 “) and in further view of Routier (US 20110200442) and Kray et al. (US 20170226865, hereinafter: “Kray”) . In reference to Claim 15 Kuethe '363 discloses: A turbofan engine comprising an airfoil (10) (Col. 3, ll. 33-43), the airfoil comprising: a first contoured sidewall (22), a second contoured sidewall (21), a leading edge (leading edge shown in Fig. 1), and a trailing edge (19), each extending in a spanwise direction defined between a root and a tip portion of the airfoil (root and span in spanwise direction as shown in Fig. 2), wherein the first contoured sidewall and the second contoured sidewall define an outer surface of the airfoil (outer surface of pressure side and suction side as shown in Fig. 1); and a plurality of protrusions (20, 20A), each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions having a curvilinear shape (Fig. 4) and extending outwardly from the outer surface along at least one of the first contoured sidewall or the second contoured sidewall, wherein the plurality of protrusions (20) is defined downstream from a mid-point of a chord length of the airfoil and terminates upstream of the trailing edge (as shown in Fig. 2), wherein the first contoured sidewall corresponds to a pressure sidewall (22, Fig. 1) of the airfoil and the second contoured sidewall (21, Fig. 1) corresponds to a suction sidewall of the airfoil, and wherein the airfoil further comprises a first pressure sidewall protrusion and a second pressure sidewall protrusion (20, 20A) extending outwardly from the pressure sidewall and a first suction sidewall protrusion and a second suction sidewall protrusion extending outwardly from the suction sidewall (“Such streamwise vortices are preferably formed by suitable vortex generating elements 20, positioned on both the upper and lower surfaces 21 and 22 of the sound producing element, although it is within the scope of my invention to utilize generators selectively on either of such surfaces or alternatively on such surfaces,” Col. 3, ll. 58-65; Fig. 1-6). Kuethe ‘363 discloses the plurality of protrusions (20, 20A) as disclosed by Kuethe ‘264 may be used in place of the protrusions (20, 20A). (“They may be positive as shown in FIG. 4 or negative as shown in FIG. 5, and preferably extend in an array of elements 20 along straight transverse regions and are oriented generally parallel to each other. FIG. 2 illustrates such an array in which all of the elements 20 are parallel to each other. However, V-shaped or zig-zag element arrays as disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 3,578,264 may also be used,” Col. 4, ll. 13-20; Kuethe ‘363). Kuethe ‘264 teaches a surface of an airfoil (25) comprising a first sidewall protrusion (60) and a second sidewall protrusion (70) extending outwardly from the airfoil sidewall, wherein the first sidewall protrusion and the second sidewall protrusion each have a different shape (Col. 3, ll. 1-8; Col. 5, ll. 60-72; Fig. 2, 6). Based on the teaching of Kuethe ‘363 and Kuethe ‘264, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plurality of protrusions on the pressure sidewall and the suction sidewall of Kuethe ‘363 by constructing the first pressure sidewall protrusion and the second pressure sidewall protrusion to each have different shape and the first suction sidewall protrusion and the second suction sidewall protrusion to each have different shape as taught by Kuethe ‘264 for the purpose of providing various shapes well-known to provide vortex generation. Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 discloses the airfoil may be a rotor blade (Col. 3, ll. 33-40) ; however, Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 is silent on the airfoil being coupled to a shaft. Routier teaches a turbofan engine (“The invention relates to a turbine blade, in particular a blade for a moving wheel of a low pressure turbine for an airplane turbojet,” [0001]), comprising: an airfoil ( 11 airfoil of blade ) coupled to a shaft ( 13 rotor disk ) [0017], the airfoil comprising: a first contoured sidewall ( 19 pressure side ), a second contoured sidewall ( 21 suction side ), a leading edge ( 15 leading edge ), and a trailing edge ( 17 trailing edge ), each extending in a spanwise direction defined between a root and a tip portion of the airfoil ( root and tip of the airfoil along the spanwise direction can be seen on Figures 1 and 4 ), wherein the first contoured sidewall and the second contoured sidewall define an outer surface of the airfoil ( outer surfaces of pressure side 19 and suction side 21, Fig. 1-4 ); and a plurality of protrusions ( 25, 27, 28 ) each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions having a curvilinear shape ( curvilinear shape shown on Fig. 2-3 ) and extending outwardly from the outer surface along at least one of the first contoured sidewall or the second contoured sidewall, wherein the plurality of protrusions is defined downstream from a mid-point of a chord length of the airfoil and terminates upstream of the trailing edge (17, Fig. 1-4) [0017-0024]. Based on the teaching of Routier and Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotor blade airfoil of Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 by coupling the airfoil to a shaft as taught by Routier for the purpose of providing details on the shaft driving the airfoil known in the art. Kuethe ‘363 the airfoil (10) of a blade or vane for a turbofan engine (Abstract; Col. 1, ll. 6-60; Col. 3, ll. 33-43); however, Kuethe ‘363 is silent on the details of a turbofan engine such as a fan having fan blades rotatable about a longitudinal centerline and fan guide vanes not rotatable about the longitudinal centerline. Kray teaches a gas turbine engine comprising an airfoil (100) having noise reducing features [0003, 0038]. Kray teaches the noise reducing features can be applied the airfoils of “fan blades, rotor blades, stator vanes, ducted fan blades, unducted fan blades, struts, vanes, nacelle inlets, open rotor propulsion systems, wind-turbine blades, propellers impellers, diffuser vanes, and/or return channel vanes. More specifically, the disclosed embodiments may apply to any airfoil, or aerodynamic surface,” [0014]. In addition, Kray teaches the airfoils for a turbofan engine, wherein the airfoil is part of a fan (18 fan section) having fan blades (20) rotatable about a longitudinal centerline (12) and fan guide vanes (82) not rotatable about the longitudinal centerline [0016-0025] (Fig. 1-2). Based on the teaching of Kray and Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify airfoil of Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 by utilizing it for fan blades and fan guide vanes as taught by Kray for the purpose of providing noise reduction features in various applications such as a fan blade and/or fan vanes. In reference to Claims 3, 11 and 17 Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 and Routier and Kray discloses: The airfoil of claim 1 and 10 and the turbofan engine of Claim 15. Kuethe ‘363 discloses the plurality of protrusions includes a first protrusion and a second protrusion (a plurality of radially located protrusions 20 as shown in Fig. 2). Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 discloses the first pressure sidewall protrusion (a protrusion 20, 20A on pressure side) extends outward from the pressure sidewall a first distance (height of the first pressure sidewall protrusion; Fig. 4) and the second pressure sidewall protrusion (a second protrusion 20, 20A on pressure side) extends outward from the pressure sidewall a second distance (height of the second pressure sidewall protrusion; Fig. 4) that is less than the first distance; and wherein the first suction sidewall protrusion (a protrusion 20, 20A on suction side) extends outward from the suction sidewall a third distance (height of the first suction sidewall protrusion; Fig. 4) and the second suction sidewall protrusion (a second protrusion 20, 20A on suction side) extends outward from the suction sidewall a fourth distance (height of the second suction sidewall protrusion; Fig. 4) that is less than the third distance. In addition, Kuethe ‘363 discloses the length, height and size of the protrusions may vary (“While the spacing number, length, height (or depth) and angle of the inclination of the generators 20 may vary widely, I have found that good results are obtained when the ratio of generator height h.sub.1 (or depth h.sub.2) to boundary layer thickness .delta. is in the order of 0.5, as shown in FIGS. 4 and 5,” Col. 6, ll. 11-16). Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 is silent on the first protrusion is disposed upstream from the second protrusion with respect to a primary airflow across the airfoil. Wherein the first pressure sidewall protrusion extends outward from the pressure sidewall a first distance and the second pressure sidewall protrusion extends outward from the pressure sidewall a second distance that is less than the first distance; and wherein the first suction sidewall protrusion extends outward from the suction sidewall a third distance and the second suction sidewall protrusion extends outward from the suction sidewall a fourth distance that is less than the third distance. Routier teaches: An airfoil ( 11 airfoil of blade ) for a turbofan engine, the airfoil comprising: a first contoured sidewall ( 19 pressure side ), a second contoured sidewall ( 21 suction side ), a leading edge ( 15 leading edge ), and a trailing edge ( 17 trailing edge ), each extending in a spanwise direction defined between a root and a tip portion of the airfoil ( root and tip of the airfoil along the spanwise direction can be seen on Figures 1 and 4 ), wherein the first contoured sidewall and the second contoured sidewall define an outer surface of the airfoil ( outer surfaces of pressure side 19 and suction side 21, Fig. 1-4 ) ; and a plurality of protrusions ( 25, 27, 28 ) each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions having a curvilinear shape (curvilinear shape shown on Fig. 2-3) shown and extending outwardly from the outer surface along at least one of the first contoured sidewall or the second contoured sidewall, wherein the plurality of protrusions is defined downstream from a mid-point of a chord length of the airfoil and terminates upstream of the trailing edge (17, Fig. 1-4) [0017-0024]. In addition, Routier teaches the plurality of protrusions ( 25, 27, 28 ) includes a first protrusion ( 27 , as shown in annotated Figure 1 of Routier ) and a second protrusion ( 28, as shown in annotated Figure 1 of Routier ), wherein the first protrusion is disposed upstream from the second protrusion with respect to a primary airflow ( as shown in annotated Figure 1 of Routier ) across the airfoil. (Fig. 1-4) [0017]. Routier teaches the height of the first protrusion being greater than the height of the second protrusions (Fig. 3). PNG media_image1.png 791 1129 media_image1.png Greyscale Figure 1. Annotated Figure 1 of Routier. Based on the teaching of Routier and Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protrusion (20) of Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 by varying the length of the first protrusion from the second protrusion and having varying heights of the protrusions such that the height of the first protrusion is greater than the height of the second protrusion as taught by Routier for the purpose of “avoid(ing) the boundary layer of the air stream separating from the surface of the blade,” [0001, Routier] . The aforementioned modification would result in the first protrusion being disposed upstream from the second protrusion with respect to a primary airflow across the airfoil and the second distance of the second pressure sidewall protrusion is less than the first distance; and the fourth distance of the second suction sidewall protrusion is less than the third distance of the first suction sidewall protrusion as claimed in Claims 3, 11 and 17. In reference to Claims 12, 13, and 14 Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 and Routier and Kray discloses: The airfoil of claim 10. Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 discloses the plurality of protrusions includes a first protrusion and a second protrusion (a plurality of radially located protrusions 20 as shown in Fig. 2). In addition, Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 discloses the length, height and size of the protrusions may vary (“While the spacing number, length, height (or depth) and angle of the inclination of the generators 20 may vary widely, I have found that good results are obtained when the ratio of generator height h.sub.1 (or depth h.sub.2) to boundary layer thickness .delta. is in the order of 0.5, as shown in FIGS. 4 and 5,” Col. 6, ll. 11-16) Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 is silent on the first maximum distance is greater than the second maximum distance as measured from the outer surface as claimed in Claim 12. Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 is silent on the first maximum distance is less than the second maximum distance as measured from the outer surface as claimed in Claim 13. Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 is silent on the first maximum distance is equal to the second maximum distance as measured from the outer surface as claimed in Claim 14. Routier teaches an airfoil comprising a first contoured sidewall ( 19 pressure side ), a second contoured sidewall ( 21 suction side ) having a plurality of protrusions ( 25, 27, 28 ) each protrusion of the plurality of protrusions having a curvilinear shape (curvilinear shape shown on Fig. 2-3) shown and extending outwardly from the outer surface along at least one of the first contoured sidewall or the second contoured sidewall. Regarding claim 12, 1 st interpretation of Routier teaches the first maximum distance ( 27 ) is greater than the second maximum distance ( 28 ) as measured from the outer surface ( as shown in annotated Figure 3 of Routier ). Regarding claim 13, 2 nd interpretation of Routier teaches the first maximum distance ( 28 ) is less than the second maximum distance ( 27 ) as measured from the outer surface ( as shown in annotated Figure 3 of Routier ). Regarding claim 14, 1 st interpretation of Routier teaches the first maximum distance ( 28 ) is equal to the second maximum distance ( 28 ) as measured from the outer surface ( as shown in annotated Figure 3 of Routier ). Based on the teaching of Routier and Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protrusion (20) of Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 by varying the height of the first protrusion from the second protrusion as taught by Routier for the purpose of “avoid(ing) the boundary layer of the air stream separating from the surface of the blade,” [0001, Routier] . PNG media_image2.png 753 1116 media_image2.png Greyscale Figure 2: Annotated Figure 3 of Routier. In reference to Claim 18 Kuethe ‘363 discloses: The turbofan engine of claim 15, wherein the plurality of protrusions (20A) includes a first protrusion (a radially outer protrusion 20 as shown in Fig. 2) and a second protrusion (a radially inner protrusion 20 as shown in Fig. 2), wherein the first protrusion is offset (space 32) from the second protrusion in the spanwise direction. In reference to Claim 19 Kuethe ‘363 discloses: The turbofan engine of claim 15, wherein at least one protrusion (20A) of the plurality of protrusions extends outwardly from the outer surface of the airfoil at a distance that is variable in a chordwise direction (as shown in Fig. 4). In reference to Claim 20 Kuethe ‘363 discloses: The turbofan engine of claim 15, wherein the plurality of protrusions further comprises at least one angled protrusion disposed closer to a platform of the airfoil than to the tip portion of the airfoil. (“While the spacing number, length, height (or depth) and angle of the inclination of the generators 20 may vary widely, I have found that good results are obtained when the ratio of generator height h.sub.1 (or depth h.sub.2) to boundary layer thickness .delta. is in the order of 0.5, as shown in FIGS. 4 and 5,” Col. 6, ll. 11-32; Fig. 2). In reference to Claims 21 and 22 Kuethe ‘363 as modified by Kuethe ‘264 and Routier and Kray discloses: The turbofan engine of claim 15. Kray teaches the airfoil is part of an unducted fan; and can also be used as the airfoil which is part of a ducted fan. Kray teaches the noise reducing features can be applied the airfoils of “fan blades, rotor blades, stator vanes, ducted fan blades, unducted fan blades , struts, vanes, nacelle inlets, open rotor propulsion systems, wind-turbine blades, propellers impellers, diffuser vanes, and/or return channel vanes. More specifically, the disclosed embodiments may apply to any airfoil, or aerodynamic surface,” [0014]. In addition, Kray teaches the airfoils for a turbofan engine, wherein the airfoil is part of a fan (18 fan section) having fan blades (20) rotatable about a longitudinal centerline (12) and fan guide vanes (82) not rotatable about the longitudinal centerline [0016-0025] (Fig. 1-2). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AYE SU MON HTAY whose telephone number is (571)270-5958. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday, 9:00am-3:00pm PST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Nathan Wiehe can be reached at 571-272-8648. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /AYE S HTAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745 /NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 2 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 3 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 4 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 5 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 6 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 7 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 8 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 9 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 10 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 11 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 12 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 13 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 14 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 15 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 16 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 17 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 18 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 19 Art Unit: 3745 Application/Control Number: 18/314,244 Page 20 Art Unit: 3745