DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Kamo et al. (20160327780).
Re claim 1, Kamo et al. teaches for example in fig. 1a, an objective optical system comprising: a front group (L1, L2, L3); an aperture stop (S); and a rear group (L4, L5, L6) in order from an object side (fig. 1a), wherein the front group includes a first lens (L1) having a negative refractive power (para. 0156) with a concave surface facing an image side (fig. 1a; para. 0156), a meniscus-shaped (fig. 1a; para. 0156) second lens (L2) having a negative refractive power (para. 0156) with a convex surface facing the image side (fig. 1a; para. 0156), and a third lens (L3) having a positive refractive power (para. 0156), the rear group includes a fourth lens (L4) having a positive refractive power (para. 0156) and a fifth lens (L5) having a positive refractive power (para. 0156), the fifth lens is a cemented lens (fig. 1a; para. 0156), and the following Conditional Expression is satisfied: 2.38<f3/f5<20 (para. 0156) where: f3 is a focal length of the third lens, and f5 is a focal length of the fifth lens.
Re claim 3, Kamo et al. further teaches for example in fig. 1a, the following Conditional Expression is satisfied: 0.8<|g2/g1|<2.6 (para. 0156) where: g1 is a focal length of the front group, and g2 is a focal length of the rear group.
Re claim 4, Kamo et al. further teaches for example in fig. 1a, the following Conditional Expression is satisfied: 1.0<|g1/f|<4.0 (para. 0156) where: g1 is a focal length of the front group, and f is an overall focal length of the objective optical system.
Re claim 5, Kamo et al. further teaches for example in fig. 1a, the following Conditional Expression is satisfied: f2/f1<100 (para. 0156) where: f2 is a focal length of the second lens, and f1 is a focal length of the first lens.
Re claim 7, Kamo et al. further teaches for example in fig. 1a, an image pickup apparatus comprising: an objective optical system; and an imager disposed on an image plane, wherein the imager has an image pickup surface and converts an image formed on the image pickup surface by the objective optical system into an electrical signal, and the objective optical system is the objective optical system (para. 0122, abstract).
Re claim 8, Kamo et al. further teaches for example in fig. 1a, an endoscope comprising the image pickup apparatus (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamo et al. (20160327780).
Re claim 2, Kamo et al. teaches for example in fig. 1a, the lens moves along an optical axis for focus adjustment of the objective optical system (abstract).
But, the instant prior art of record fails to explicitly teach the lens that is movable is the fifth lens.
However, due to the nature of optics, the process of lens design includes manipulation of variables such as moving lens groups, the number of lenses, focal lengths of lenses and lens groups, the placement of apertures, the surface types of the lenses, the refractive powers of the lenses, the surface parameters of the lens surfaces, the spacings between the lenses, the center thicknesses of the lenses, the index of refraction of the lenses, the lens surface radii, the material of construction of the lenses, and other shape concerns in order to make a lens system meet its particular utility. This manipulation would normally be considered routine experimentation since the results are well known optics equations at the time the invention was filed (unless the particular range of values meets secondary, specific considerations). Further the court has determined that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to vary the cited limitation, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Furthermore, this would provide an image forming optical system where zoom and focus are used, as taught by Kamo et al. (para. 0005).
Re claim 6, supra claim 1.
But, the instant prior art of record fails to explicitly teach satisfying all of the claimed numerical expressions.
However, due to the nature of optics, the process of lens design includes manipulation of variables such as moving lens groups, the number of lenses, focal lengths of lenses and lens groups, the placement of apertures, the surface types of the lenses, the refractive powers of the lenses, the surface parameters of the lens surfaces, the spacings between the lenses, the center thicknesses of the lenses, the index of refraction of the lenses, the lens surface radii, the material of construction of the lenses, and other shape concerns in order to make a lens system meet its particular utility. This manipulation would normally be considered routine experimentation since the results are well known optics equations at the time the invention was filed (unless the particular range of values meets secondary, specific considerations). Further the court has determined that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to vary the cited limitation, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art, In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955). Furthermore, this would provide an image forming optical system where zoom and focus are used, as taught by Kamo et al. (para. 0005).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10-16-25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Re applicant’s arguments on p. 5-7, wherein the applicant argues that the prior art does not disclose or suggest a structure which satisfies Conditional Expression (1) as recited in amended independent claim 1, in which 2.38≤f3/f5<20 (where f3 is a focal length of the third lens, and f5 is a focal length of the fifth lens), have been considered, but are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument states that “f5 corresponds to a focal length of a cemented lens composed of the fifth lens L5 and the sixth lens L6 (f5 = 4.8838)”. However, prior art Kamo et al. (20160327780) explicitly teaches the focal length of the fifth lens L5 is f5=2.13 (para. 0156), and therefore teaches the claimed limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Joseph P Martinez/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 11-3-25