DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection based on new references Achamola (US 2017/0339627 A1) and Tronc ("Systems, Methods and Computer Program Products for Mobility Management in Hybrid Satellite/Terrestrial Wireless Communications Systems", WO 2007/047370 A2, pub. date 2007-04-26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 11-13, and 21-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachanandani ("Automatic IMSI Switch for International Roaming", EP 2 586 224 B1, pub. date 5-27-2015) in view of Achamola (US 2017/0339627 A1), and further in view of Tronc ("Systems, Methods and Computer Program Products for Mobility Management in Hybrid Satellite/Terrestrial Wireless Communications Systems", WO 2007/047370 A2, pub. date 2007-04-26).
Regarding claim 1, Sachanandani teaches a method comprising:
receiving public land mobile networks (PLMNs) available to the UE at a subscriber identification modul (SIM) of the UE ([0034], “mobile station MS (~mobile station - UE) tries to latch on to available networks based on the content of the elementary files EFLOCI, EFFPLMN and EFPLMN, wherein EFFPLMN is received and stored in a SIM card of the mobile station MS (~mobile station - UE); [0035], “Therefore, the MS (~mobile station -UE) updates (~receives from) the file EF FPLMN (~available PLMN networks) on the SIM card with the MCC-MNC of the foreign networks, which are in this embodiment the MNOs of Singapore, such as "25F5XX25F5XXFFFFFFFFFFFF", wherein XX is the MNC of any Singapore MNO”, equivalent to par. 9 of Applicant’s published disclosure stating, “SIM, receives from the UE, PLMNs available to the UE”; [0048], “MS (~UE) updates (~receives from) the EFFPLMN file on the SIM card”, wherein the EFFPLMN (~PLMN networks available to the UE) is received from the MS (~UE)); [0005], “Roaming behavior is for example defined in telecom standards and is controlled for example by data stored on the subscriber identity module (SIM) card, in suitable files present on the SIM such as EFLOCI file, EFPLMNSel, EFFPLMN, etc.”);
determining the PLMN available is a second PLMN that is a forbidden PLMN (FPLMN) maintained by the SIM ([0035], “Therefore, the MS updates (~requires determining the (available) forbidden PLMN (FPLMN) is maintained by the SIM) the file EF FPLMN (~PLMN available is a forbidden PLMN (FPLMN)) on the SIM card (~maintained by the SIM) with the MCC-MNC of the foreign networks, which are in this embodiment the MNOs of Singapore, such as "25F5XX25F5XXFFFFFFFFFFFF", wherein XX is the MNC of any Singapore MNO”; [0037], “SIM application has a trigger of file update event set on the EF FPLMN file (~requires determining the (available) FPLMN is maintained by the SIM). Once the application receives this event, it checks the MCC content of the EF FPLMN file, and more precisely if the EF FPLMN file comprises any non-home MCC (~requires determining the (available) FPLMN is maintained by the SIM). It checks whether there is any MCC different from the home country MCC. This consists in the given example, to check whether among the MCC present in the EF FPLMN file, there is an MCC besides the India MCC, i.e. besides 404/405”);
in response to determining the PLMN is the second PLMN, removing the second PLMN from the FPLMN maintained by the SIM ([0035-0039], “MS updates the file EF FPLMN on the SIM card with the MCC-MNC of the foreign networks, which are in this embodiment the MNOs of Singapore ... A file update event is used by the application so as it detects (~in response to determining) that the file EFFPLMN has been updated (~update of FPLMN indicates that the PLMN that was updated with is FPLMN) ... If it is the case it ... clears EFFPLMN file with "FF ... FF"”); and
refreshing the SIM and causing the UE to acquire the second PLMN removed from the FPLMN maintained by the SIM ([0039], “clears EFFPLMN file with "
FF ... FF". It then updates the EFPLMNSel file if it is required by an operator with the
corresponding International PLMN list”, wherein the removed EFFPLMN file (~PLMN from the FPLMN maintained by the SIM) is now part of EFPLMNSel file update; [0040-0041], “It then updates the EF App IMSI Status (AIS) into "01" and executes the proactive SIM command RE-FRESH mode 03 (SIM INITIALISATION) which requests the MS to carry out a SIM initialization according to GSM 11.11. This command also makes it possible to restart a card session by initializing the SIM. As the IMSI is switched from the Home IMSI to the Roaming IMSI, the MS searches for available net-works. The MNO in Singapore which now has a tie up with Roaming IMSI Circle, is able to authenticate and provide its services to the subscriber”).
Sachanandani does not explicitly teach determining user equipment (UE) has lost acquisition of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) and the PLMN available is the only PLMN available.
However, Achamola teaches determining user equipment (UE) has lost acquisition of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) ([0024], “UE subsequently loses connection with the PLMN, the UE may enter an out-of-service (OOS) state and attempt to acquire a PLMN from which service may be obtained”) and an only PLMN available ([0050], “UE 115 may determine if there is a PLMN available for the UE 115 to connect to utilizing PLMN scan windows described with respect to FIGS. 3A, 3B, or 3C”; [0030], “If a PLMN is found, then the UE 115 may operate in either a connected mode and actively communicate with the PLMN to obtain service”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Achamola with the teaching of Sachanandani in order to allow UE to optimize background network searches and manage battery consumption when it loses coverage and has no alternative option.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the first PLMN is a terrestrial network of a mobile network operator (MNO) and the second PLMN is a non-terrestrial network of the MNO.
However, Tronc teaches wherein a first PLMN is a terrestrial network of a mobile network operator (MNO) and a second PLMN is a non-terrestrial network of the MNO (pg. 19, line 22 - pg. 20, line 2, “In a hybrid satellite/terrestrial system ... intra-PLMN handover functionality is supported in both networks”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tronc with the teaching of Sachanandani as modified by Achamola in order to maintain seamless session and service continuity as a user or device moves out of ground-based cell coverage into remote, rural, or oceanic areas.
Regarding claim 2, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view of Tronc teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the second PLMN when on a the FPLMN list cannot be acquired by the UE (Sachanandani [0029], “EFFPLMN file contains a coding for forbidden PLMNs. It is read by the MS as part of the SJM initialization procedure and indicates PLMNs which the MS shall not automatically attempt to access (~cannot be acquired). Thus, this file only contains data on India circles of MNO (which means circles of MNO forbidden in India”).
Regarding claim 4, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view of Tronc teaches the method of claim 2.
The combination of Sachanandani and Achamola does not explicitly teach wherein the second PLMN is a satellite PLMN.
However, Tronc further teaches wherein the PLMN is a satellite PLMN (pg. 19, line 22 - pg. 20, line 2, “In a hybrid satellite/terrestrial system ... intra-PLMN handover functionality is supported in both networks”).
. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tronc with the teaching of Sachanandani as modified by Achamola in order to provide a ubiquitous coverage, enhanced network resilience, service continuity for mobility, rapid deployment, scalability, and efficient multicast/broadcast.
Regarding claim 5, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view of Tronc teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the UE is not currently connected to a PLMN (Sachanandani [0033-0034], “In a first step, the mobile station is switched on. Then, the mobile station MS tries to latch on to available networks based on the content of the elementary files EFLOCI, EFFPLMN and EF PLMN”, wherein the mobile station (~UE) is switched on and tries to latch on to a network indicates that the mobile station (~UE) is not currently connected to a PLMN).
Regarding claim 6, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view of Tronc teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the SIM is a SIM card (Sachanandani [0031], “SIM card”).
Regarding claim 7, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view of Tronc teaches the method of claim 1,
wherein the second PLMN is removed by clearing the FPLMN (Sachanandani [0039], “clears EFFPLMN file with "FF ... FF"”).
Regarding claim 8, Sachanandani teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that when executed by a processor cause the processor to perform operations ([0031], “SIM card” comprises a processor and a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that are executed) comprising:
receiving public land mobile networks (PLMN) available to the UE at a subscriber identification module (SIM) of the UE ([0034], “mobile station MS (~mobile station - UE) tries to latch on to available networks based on the content of the elementary files EFLOCI, EFFPLMN and EFPLMN, wherein EFFPLMN is received and stored in a SIM card of the mobile station MS (~mobile station - UE); [0035], “Therefore, the MS (~mobile statin -UE) updates (~receives from) the file EF FPLMN (~available PLMN networks) on the SIM card with the MCC-MNC of the foreign networks, which are in this embodiment the MNOs of Singapore, such as "25F5XX25F5XXFFFFFFFFFFFF", wherein XX is the MNC of any Singapore MNO”, equivalent to par. 9 of Applicant’s published disclosure stating, “SIM, receives from the UE, PLMNs available to the UE”; [0048], “MS (~UE) updates (~receives from) the EFFPLMN file on the SIM card”, wherein the EFFPLMN (~PLMN networks available to the UE) is received from the MS (~UE)); [0005], “Roaming behavior is for example defined in telecom standards and is controlled for example by data stored on the subscriber identity module (SIM) card, in suitable files present on the SIM such as EFLOCI file, EFPLMNSel, EFFPLMN, etc.”);
determining the PLMN available is a second PLMN that is a forbidden PLMN (FPLMN) maintained by the SIM ([0035], “Therefore, the MS updates (~requires determining the (available) forbidden PLMN (FPLMN) is maintained by the SIM) the file EF FPLMN (~PLMN available is a forbidden PLMN (FPLMN)) on the SIM card (~maintained by the SIM) with the MCC-MNC of the foreign networks, which are in this embodiment the MNOs of Singapore, such as "25F5XX25F5XXFFFFFFFFFFFF", wherein XX is the MNC of any Singapore MNO”; [0037], “SIM application has a trigger of file update event set on the EF FPLMN file (~requires determining the (available) FPLMN is maintained by the SIM). Once the application receives this event, it checks the MCC content of the EF FPLMN file, and more precisely if the EF FPLMN file comprises any non-home MCC (~requires determining the (available) FPLMN is maintained by the SIM). It checks whether there is any MCC different from the home country MCC. This consists in the given example, to check whether among the MCC present in the EF FPLMN file, there is an MCC besides the India MCC, i.e. besides 404/405”);
in response to determining the available PLMN is the second PLMN, removing the second PLMN from the FPLMN maintained by the SIM ([0035-0039], “MS updates the file EF FPLMN on the SIM card with the MCC-MNC of the foreign networks, which are in this embodiment the MNOs of Singapore ... A file update event is used by the application so as it detects (~in response to determining) that the file EFFPLMN has been updated (~update of FPLMN indicates that the PLMN that was updated with is FPLMN) ... If it is the case it ... clears EFFPLMN file with "FF ... FF"”); and
refreshing the SIM and causing the UE to acquire the second PLMN removed from the FPLMN maintained by the SIM ([0039], “clears EFFPLMN file with "FF ... FF". It then updates the EFPLMNSel file if it is required by an operator with the
corresponding International PLMN list”, wherein the removed EFFPLMN file (~PLMN from the FPLMN maintained by the SIM) is now part of EFPLMNSel file update; [0040-0041], “It then updates the EF App IMSI Status (AIS) into "01" and executes the proactive SIM command RE-FRESH mode 03 (SIM INITIALISATION) which requests the MS to carry out a SIM initialization according to GSM 11.11. This command also makes it possible to restart a card session by initializing the SIM. As the IMSI is switched from the Home IMSI to the Roaming IMSI, the MS searches for available net-works. The MNO in Singapore which now has a tie up with Roaming IMSI Circle, is able to authenticate and provide its services to the subscriber”).
Sachanandani does not explicitly teach determining user equipment (UE) has lost acquisition of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) and the PLMN available is the only PLMN available.
However, Achamola teaches determining user equipment (UE) has lost acquisition of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) ([0024], “UE subsequently loses connection with the PLMN, the UE may enter an out-of-service (OOS) state and attempt to acquire a PLMN from which service may be obtained”) and an only PLMN available ([0050], “UE 115 may determine if there is a PLMN available for the UE 115 to connect to utilizing PLMN scan windows described with respect to FIGS. 3A, 3B, or 3C”; [0030], “If a PLMN is found, then the UE 115 may operate in either a connected mode and actively communicate with the PLMN to obtain service”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Achamola with the teaching of Sachanandani in order to allow UE to optimize background network searches and manage battery consumption when it loses coverage and has no alternative option.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the first PLMN is a terrestrial network of a mobile network operator (MNO) and the second PLMN is a non-terrestrial network of the MNO.
However, Tronc teaches wherein a first PLMN is a terrestrial network of a mobile network operator (MNO) and a second PLMN is a non-terrestrial network of the MNO (pg. 19, line 22 - pg. 20, line 2, “In a hybrid satellite/terrestrial system ... intra-PLMN handover functionality is supported in both networks”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tronc with the teaching of Sachanandani as modified by Achamola in order to maintain seamless session and service continuity as a user or device moves out of ground-based cell coverage into remote, rural, or oceanic areas.
Regarding claim 9, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view of Tronc teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8,
wherein the second PLMN when on a FPLMN list cannot be acquired by the UE (Sachanandani [0029], “EFFPLMN file contains a coding for forbidden PLMNs. It is read by the MS as part of the SJM initialization procedure and indicates PLMNs which the MS shall not automatically attempt to access (~cannot be acquired). Thus, this file only contains data on India circles of MNO (which means circles of MNO forbidden in India”).
Regarding claim 11, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view of Tronc teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 9.
The combination of Sachanandani and Achamola does not explicitly teach wherein the second PLMN is a satellite PLMN.
However, Tronc further teaches wherein a PLMN is a satellite PLMN (pg. 19, line 22 - pg. 20, line 2, “In a hybrid satellite/terrestrial system ... intra-PLMN handover functionality is supported in both networks”).
. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tronc with the teaching of Sachanandani as modified by Achamola in order to provide a ubiquitous coverage, enhanced network resilience, service continuity for mobility, rapid deployment, scalability, and efficient multicast/broadcast.
Regarding claim 12, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view of Tronc teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8,
wherein the UE is not currently connected to a PLMN (Sachanandani [0033-0034], “In a first step, the mobile station is switched on. Then, the mobile station MS tries to latch on to available networks based on the content of the elementary files EFLOCI, EFFPLMN and EF PLMN”, wherein the mobile station (~UE) is switched on and tries to latch on to a network indicates that the mobile station (~UE) is not currently connected to a PLMN).
Regarding claim 13, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view of Tronc teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8,
wherein the second PLMN is removed by clearing the FPLMN (Sachanandani [0039], “clears EFFPLMN file with "FF ... FF"”).
Regarding claim 21, Sachanandani teaches a system ([0034], “mobile station MS tries to latch on to available networks based on the content of the elementary files EFLOCI (~Elementary File Location Information), EFFPLMN (~Elementary File Forbidden Public Land Mobile Networks) and EFPLMN (~Elementary File Public Land Mobile Networks)”), comprising:
a memory storing data and instructions ([0034], mobile station MS comprises a memory storing data and instructions); and
a processor executing the stored instructions to perform operations ([0034], mobile station MS comprises a memory storing data and instructions) including:
receive public land mobile networks (PLMNs) available to the UE at a subscriber identification module (SIM) of the UE ([0034], “mobile station MS (~mobile station - UE) tries to latch on to available networks based on the content of the elementary files EFLOCI, EFFPLMN and EFPLMN, wherein EFFPLMN is received and stored in a SIM card of the mobile station MS (~mobile station - UE); [0035], “Therefore, the MS (~mobile station -UE) updates (~receives from) the file EF FPLMN (~available PLMN networks) on the SIM card with the MCC-MNC of the foreign networks, which are in this embodiment the MNOs of Singapore, such as "25F5XX25F5XXFFFFFFFFFFFF", wherein XX is the MNC of any Singapore MNO”, equivalent to par. 9 of Applicant’s published disclosure stating, “SIM, receives from the UE, PLMNs available to the UE”; [0048], “MS (~UE) updates (~receives from) the EFFPLMN file on the SIM card”, wherein the EFFPLMN (~PLMN networks available to the UE) is received from the MS (~UE)); [0005], “Roaming behavior is for example defined in telecom standards and is controlled for example by data stored on the subscriber identity module (SIM) card, in suitable files present on the SIM such as EFLOCI file, EFPLMNSel, EFFPLMN, etc.”);
determine the PLMN available is a second PLMN that is a forbidden PLMN (FPLMN) maintained by the SIM ([0035], “Therefore, the MS updates (~requires determining the (available) forbidden PLMN (FPLMN) is maintained by the SIM) the file EF FPLMN (~PLMN available is a forbidden PLMN (FPLMN)) on the SIM card (~maintained by the SIM) with the MCC-MNC of the foreign networks, which are in this embodiment the MNOs of Singapore, such as "25F5XX25F5XXFFFFFFFFFFFF", wherein XX is the MNC of any Singapore MNO”; [0037], “SIM application has a trigger of file update event set on the EF FPLMN file (~requires determining the (available) FPLMN is maintained by the SIM). Once the application receives this event, it checks the MCC content of the EF FPLMN file, and more precisely if the EF FPLMN file comprises any non-home MCC (~requires determining the (available) FPLMN is maintained by the SIM). It checks whether there is any MCC different from the home country MCC. This consists in the given example, to check whether among the MCC present in the EF FPLMN file, there is an MCC besides the India MCC, i.e. besides 404/405”);
in response to determining the PLMN available is the second PLMN, remove the second PLMN from the FPLMN maintained by the SIM ([0035-0039], “MS updates the file EF FPLMN on the SIM card with the MCC-MNC of the foreign networks, which are in this embodiment the MNOs of Singapore ... A file update event is used by the application so as it detects (~in response to determining) that the file EFFPLMN has been updated (~update of FPLMN indicates that the PLMN that was updated with is FPLMN) ... If it is the case it ... clears EFFPLMN file with "FF ... FF"”); and
refresh the SIM and causing the UE to acquire the second PLMN removed from the FPLMN maintained by the SIM ([0039], “clears EFFPLMN file with "FF ... FF". It then updates the EFPLMNSel file if it is required by an operator with the
corresponding International PLMN list”, wherein the removed EFFPLMN file (~PLMN from the FPLMN maintained by the SIM) is now part of EFPLMNSel file update; [0040-0041], “It then updates the EF App IMSI Status (AIS) into "01" and executes the proactive SIM command RE-FRESH mode 03 (SIM INITIALISATION) which requests the MS to carry out a SIM initialization according to GSM 11.11. This command also makes it possible to restart a card session by initializing the SIM. As the IMSI is switched from the Home IMSI to the Roaming IMSI, the MS searches for available net-works. The MNO in Singapore which now has a tie up with Roaming IMSI Circle, is able to authenticate and provide its services to the subscriber”).
Sachanandani does not explicitly teach determining user equipment (UE) has lost acquisition of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) and the PLMN available is the only PLMN available.
However, Achamola teaches determining user equipment (UE) has lost acquisition of a first public land mobile network (PLMN) ([0024], “UE subsequently loses connection with the PLMN, the UE may enter an out-of-service (OOS) state and attempt to acquire a PLMN from which service may be obtained”) and an only PLMN available ([0050], “UE 115 may determine if there is a PLMN available for the UE 115 to connect to utilizing PLMN scan windows described with respect to FIGS. 3A, 3B, or 3C”; [0030], “If a PLMN is found, then the UE 115 may operate in either a connected mode and actively communicate with the PLMN to obtain service”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Achamola with the teaching of Sachanandani in order to allow UE to optimize background network searches and manage battery consumption when it loses coverage and has no alternative option.
The combination does not explicitly teach wherein the first PLMN is a terrestrial network of a mobile network operator (MNO) and the second PLMN is a non-terrestrial network of the MNO.
However, Tronc teaches wherein a first PLMN is a terrestrial network of a mobile network operator (MNO) and a second PLMN is a non-terrestrial network of the MNO (pg. 19, line 22 - pg. 20, line 2, “In a hybrid satellite/terrestrial system ... intra-PLMN handover functionality is supported in both networks”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tronc with the teaching of Sachanandani as modified by Achamola in order to maintain seamless session and service continuity as a user or device moves out of ground-based cell coverage into remote, rural, or oceanic areas.
Regarding claim 22, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view Tronc of the system of claim 21, wherein the second PLMN when on a FPLMN list cannot be acquired by the UE (Sachanandani [0029], “EFFPLMN file contains a coding for forbidden PLMNs. It is read by the MS as part of the SJM initialization procedure and indicates PLMNs which the MS shall not automatically attempt to access (~cannot be acquired). Thus, this file only contains data on India circles of MNO (which means circles of MNO forbidden in India”).
Regarding claim 23, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view Tronc teaches the system of claim 21, the stored instructions to perform operations including: execute an applet on the SIM of the UE (Sachanandani [0037], “SIM application (~SIM applet - software program executing on a SIM card) has a trigger of file update event set on the EF FPLMN file. Once the application receives this event, it checks the MCC content of the EF FPLMN file, and more precisely if the EF FPLMN file comprises any non-home MCC”).
Regarding claim 24, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view Tronc teaches the system of claim 21.
The combination of Sachanandani and Achamola does not explicitly teach wherein the second PLMN is a satellite PLMN.
However, Tronc further teaches wherein a PLMN is a satellite PLMN (pg. 19, line 22 - pg. 20, line 2, “In a hybrid satellite/terrestrial system ... intra-PLMN handover functionality is supported in both networks”).
. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Tronc with the teaching of Sachanandani as modified by Achamola and Tronc in order to provide a ubiquitous coverage, enhanced network resilience, service continuity for mobility, rapid deployment, scalability, and efficient multicast/broadcast.
Regarding claim 25, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view Tronc teaches the system of claim 21, wherein the UE is not currently connected to a PLMN (Sachanandani [0033-0034], “In a first step, the mobile station is switched on. Then, the mobile station MS tries to latch on to available networks based on the content of the elementary files EFLOCI, EFFPLMN and EF PLMN”, wherein the mobile station (~UE) is switched on and tries to latch on to a network indicates that the mobile station (~UE) is not currently connected to a PLMN).
Regarding claim 26, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view Tronc teaches the system of claim 21, wherein the SIM is a SIM card (Sachanandani [0031], “SIM card”).
Regarding claim 27, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view Tronc teaches the system of claim 21, wherein the second PLMN is removed by clearing the FPLMN (Sachanandani [0039], “clears EFFPLMN file with "FF ... FF"”).
Regarding claim 28, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view Tronc teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: executing an applet on the SIM of the UE (Sachanandani [0037], “SIM application (~SIM applet - software program executing on a SIM card) has a trigger of file update event set on the EF FPLMN file. Once the application receives this event, it checks the MCC content of the EF FPLMN file, and more precisely if the EF FPLMN file comprises any non-home MCC”).
Regarding claim 29, Sachanandani in view of Achamola, and further in view Tronc teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 8, the instructions further comprising: executing an applet on the SIM of the UE (Sachanandani [0037], “SIM application (~SIM applet - software program executing on a SIM card) has a trigger of file update event set on the EF FPLMN file. Once the application receives this event, it checks the MCC content of the EF FPLMN file, and more precisely if the EF FPLMN file comprises any non-home MCC”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER J YI/Examiner, Art Unit 2643
/JINSONG HU/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2643