DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on July 13, 2026 for the application filed May 09, 2023. Claims 1 and 11 are currently amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US2021/0377840A1) in view of Ho et al. (KR100564753B1) and Adjakple et al. (US2023/0199607A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhu teaches a method of processing a packet in a protocol entity of a node in a communications system, comprising: receiving the packet from a first peer node; performing a first set of functions on the packet based on destination information of the packet; comparing a destination of the packet with an identity of the node (Paragraph [0006]: According to a first aspect, a communication method is provided. The method includes: receiving, by a first entity in one or more adaptation layer entities of a network node, a data packet that is delivered by a protocol layer entity of a lower protocol layer and that includes an adaptation layer header and an adaptation layer payload; determining, by the first entity, whether the network node is a destination node to which the data packet is routed at an adaptation layer; and processing, by the first entity, the data packet based on a determining result. Paragraph [0007]: The first entity is located on a receive side of the network node. Paragraph [0008]: According to the method provided in the first aspect, whether the network node is the destination node of the routing at the adaptation layer directly affects a subsequent data packet processing process. Therefore, the network node processes the data packet based on the determining result of whether the network node is the destination node of the routing at the adaptation layer, to correctly process the data packet. Paragraph [0239]: When the data packet is the data PDU, after the first entity of the network node stores the data packet in the buffer of the Adapt layer, the network node may further perform an action in any one of the implementation 1 to the implementation 3. In this case, the network node may be an access IAB node, a donor node, or a donor-DU. Paragraph [0207]: According to the method provided in Embodiment 1, whether the network node is the destination node of the routing at the Adapt layer directly affects a subsequent data packet processing process. Therefore, according to the method provided in Embodiment 1, the network node processes the data packet based on the determining result of whether the network node is the destination node to which the data packet is routed at the Adapt layer, to correctly process the data packet, thereby avoiding an error in the data packet processing process.)
in response to the destination of the packet matching the identity of the node, performing a second set of functions on the packet based on flow identifier information (Paragraph [0055]: In a possible implementation, before the adding, by a first entity of a network node, an adaptation layer header to the data packet, the method further includes: performing, by the first entity of the network node, header compression on the data packet. In this possible implementation, the first entity of the network node performs the header compression on the data packet. Paragraph [0162]: The Adapt layer has one or more of the following capabilities: adding, to a data packet, routing information (Routing info) that can be identified by a wireless backhaul node; performing routing selection based on the routing information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node; adding, to the data packet, identification information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node and that is related to a quality of service (QoS) requirement; performing QoS mapping on a plurality of links including the wireless backhaul node for the data packet; adding data packet type indication information to the data packet; and sending flow control feedback information to a node having a flow control capability. Paragraph [0166]: The identification information related to the QoS requirement may be a QoS flow identifier (QFI) of the terminal, an identifier of the RB of the terminal, a differentiated services code point (DSCP), a flow label in a header of an IP data packet of internet protocol version 6 (IPv6), and the like.)
and in response to the destination of the packet not matching the identity of the node, transmitting a copy of the packet to a second peer node (Paragraph [0017]: In a possible implementation, the determining result is that the network node is not the destination node to which the data packet is routed at the adaptation layer, and the processing, by the first entity of the network node, the data packet based on a determining result includes: delivering, by the first entity of the network node, the data packet to a third entity, where the third entity is a protocol layer entity of a protocol layer of a wireless backhaul interface or a protocol layer entity of a lower protocol layer of the adaptation layer. Paragraph [0018]: The third entity in the first aspect is located on a transmit side of the network node. Paragraph [0036]: According to the method provided in the third aspect, the third entity of the network node delivers the data packet to the fourth entity through the second service differentiation channel corresponding to the next-hop node of the data packet, so that it can be ensured that the data packet is correctly transmitted to the next-hop node of the data packet.)
Zhu does not explicitly teach wherein the second set of functions comprises: security processing
However, Ho teaches wherein the second set of functions comprises: security processing (Page 7, Paragraph 6: 2 is a flowchart illustrating an operation of an IP security protocol processing apparatus of FIG. 1. Referring to FIG. 2, when a packet is received through a network, the packet classification engine 111 performs different processing according to the destination IP address of the packet (S110). If the destination IP address of the packet matches the router's own address, the packet examines the value of the protocol field of the packet as inbound IP traffic (S120). If the value of the protocol field is AH or ESP, this packet indicates that the packet is being encrypted or authenticated through the IPSec protocol. For this packet, an input IPSec processing unit (which is present in the IPSec engine 120 for application of the IPSec protocol) 114, the packet is delivered (S130 to S140). The input IPSec processing unit 114 of the IPSec engine 120 performs authentication and encryption processing on the packet by using a key possessed by a predetermined router and an authentication and encryption algorithm possessed by the authentication and encryption information storage unit 113 ( S150). If the destination IP address of the packet is not the router's own address, the packet is outbound IP traffic.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the second set of functions comprises: security processing, as taught by Ho in the system of Zhu, so that authentication and encryption processing can be performed on the packet (Ho: Page 7, Paragraph 6).
The combination of Zhu and Ho does not explicitly teach in response to the destination of the packet matching the identity of the node, performing functions on the packet based on flow identifier information in a unified protocol entity.
However, Adjakple teaches in response to the destination of the packet matching the identity of the node, performing functions on the packet based on flow identifier information in a unified protocol entity (Paragraph [0098]: The performing of intra-device packet routing actions based on a first RaLAP address and a first RaLTP identity, or an upper layer protocol identity may further include: determining the first RaLTP identity as the identity in the Tunnel End point ID (TEID) field of this packet header; determining the first RaLAP address and the RaLAP path identity as the address and path identity in the destination field of this packet header; selecting from the plurality of entries for control of inter-device packet routing, control of intra-device packet routing, control of QoS for transfer of a packet from ingress link RaLAP and RaLTP to upper layer or local link, the entry with its RaLAP address corresponds to the first RaLAP address, and its RaLTP identity corresponds to the first RaLTP identity; selecting the upper layer protocol identity in the selected entry. Paragraph [0116]: Intra-node routing may include the following: differentiating traffic to be delivered to upper layers from traffic to be delivered to egress link; or demultiplexing of bearers, e.g., demultiplexing of traffic mapped to the same SL RLC channel, but designated to different upper layer protocol entities for example PDCP entities within the same node. Paragraph [0117]: Support for QoS requirements may include the following: Multiplexing of bearers into RLC channels e.g., determining upper layer protocol entities for e.g. PDCP entities whose traffics are to be mapped to the same SL RLC channel, e.g., determination of upper layer protocol identity for e.g. PDCP entity identity for packet multiplexing and including such an identity into the RaLAP header. Paragraph [0207]: With reference to FIG. 35 , at step 241, receive RaLAP PDU. At step 242, then determining whether destination field of the RaLAP PDU matches the RaLAP address of the node upon receiving the RaLAP Data PDU from lower layer (e.g., ingress RaL RLC channel). may At step 243, determining that RaLAP includes RaLTP functions. At step 244, perform bearer demultiplexing (intra-node routing) according to demultiplexing (intra-node routing) disclosed herein, to select the upper layer protocol entity the RaLAP SDU should be delivered to. Also see paragraph [0096], [0144].)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide in response to the destination of the packet matching the identity of the node, performing functions on the packet based on flow identifier information in a unified protocol entity, as taught by Adjakple in the combined system of Zhu and Ho, so that an inter-device packet routing protocol for packet routing between the first device and a second device, and an intra-device packet routing protocol for packet routing to or from data link upper layer protocols can be configured between source and destination nodes (Adjakple: Paragraphs [0088], [0098], [0116], [0117], [0207]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Zhu further teaches wherein the first set of functions comprises duplicate detection and discarding (Paragraph [0356]: Optionally, for a transmit side of the network node, if the Adapt layer receives, from a lower protocol layer (for example, an RLC layer), a sending success acknowledgment indication for a data packet (an Adapt PDU, an Adapt SDU, or an RLC SDU), the Adapt layer may discard the data packet according to the indication, to clean up buffer space. Paragraph [0357]: In this optional method, when there is a buffer at the Adapt layer, the Adapt layer may be enabled to effectively perform buffer management and discard a data packet that does not need to be buffered. For example, after receiving an RLC status report fed back from a receive side of a node communicating with the network node, an RLC layer entity on the transmit side of the network node may send, based on data packet acknowledgment (ACK) information indicated in the RLC status report, a sending success acknowledgment indication to an upper protocol layer, namely, the Adapt layer; and the Adapt layer discards a data packet according to the indication, to clean up buffer space.)
identifying a next hop in a route (Paragraph [0018]: The third entity in the first aspect is located on a transmit side of the network node. Paragraph [0036]: According to the method provided in the third aspect, the third entity of the network node delivers the data packet to the fourth entity through the second service differentiation channel corresponding to the next-hop node of the data packet, so that it can be ensured that the data packet is correctly transmitted to the next-hop node of the data packet. Paragraph [0040]: In this possible implementation, the third entity of the network node may determine the next-hop node and/or the second service differentiation channel for delivering the data packet, to ensure that the third entity correctly delivers the data packet to the lower protocol layer. Paragraph [0194]: Routing information: This field is used to indicate routing information of the Adapt PDU. For example, the routing information may include an identifier of a destination node that receives the Adapt PDU, and may further include an identifier of a source node that sends the Adapt PDU. Paragraph [0376]: Optionally, referring to FIG. 17, the network node further includes a determining unit 1704, where the determining unit 1704 is configured to determine a next-hop node of the data packet, and the processing unit 1703 is further configured to deliver, to the third entity, information used to indicate the next-hop node.)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Zhu further teaches wherein the second set of functions comprises delivery to an upper protocol layer (Paragraph [0362]: An embodiment of this application further provides a network node (denoted as a network node 170). As shown in FIG. 17, the network node includes: Paragraph [0363]: an obtaining unit 1701, configured to receive a data packet delivered by a protocol layer entity of a lower protocol layer of an adaptation layer of the network node, Paragraph [0364]: a judging unit 1702, configured to determine whether the network node is a destination node to which the data packet is routed at the adaptation layer; Paragraph [0365]: a processing unit 1703, configured to process the data packet based on a determining result. Paragraph [0366]: Optionally, the determining result is that the network node is the destination node to which the data packet is routed at the adaptation layer; and Paragraph [0367]: the processing unit 1703 is specifically configured to deliver the adaptation layer payload of the data packet to a second entity, where the second entity is a protocol layer entity of a protocol layer of an F1 interface or a protocol layer entity of an upper protocol layer of the adaptation layer.)
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Zhu further teaches wherein the second set of functions further comprises flow identification (Paragraph [0162]: The Adapt layer has one or more of the following capabilities: adding, to a data packet, routing information (Routing info) that can be identified by a wireless backhaul node; performing routing selection based on the routing information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node; adding, to the data packet, identification information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node and that is related to a quality of service (QoS) requirement; performing QoS mapping on a plurality of links including the wireless backhaul node for the data packet; adding data packet type indication information to the data packet; and sending flow control feedback information to a node having a flow control capability. Paragraph [0166]: The identification information related to the QoS requirement may be a QoS flow identifier (QFI) of the terminal, an identifier of the RB of the terminal, a differentiated services code point (DSCP), a flow label in a header of an IP data packet of internet protocol version 6 (IPv6), and the like.)
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Zhu further teaches wherein the packet comprises a source identity (Paragraph [0156]: The Adapt layer header may include routing information (which may also be referred to as routing-related information of the Adapt layer) and/or RB-related information of a terminal to which the data packet belongs, and may further include Adapt PDU type indication information, where the Adapt PDU type indication information is used to indicate whether a type of the Adapt PDU is a control PDU or a data PDU. Paragraph [0194]: Routing information: This field is used to indicate routing information of the Adapt PDU. For example, the routing information may include an identifier of a destination node that receives the Adapt PDU, and may further include an identifier of a source node that sends the Adapt PDU.)
a destination identity (Paragraph [0157]: The routing information may be an identifier of a destination node of a routing at the Adapt layer, or an identifier of a cell served by a destination node of a routing at the Adapt layer, or an identifier of a transmission path at the Adapt layer. The destination node of the routing at the Adapt layer is the last node of the routing at the Adapt layer.)
a flow identifier (Paragraph [0162]: The Adapt layer has one or more of the following capabilities: adding, to a data packet, routing information (Routing info) that can be identified by a wireless backhaul node; performing routing selection based on the routing information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node; adding, to the data packet, identification information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node and that is related to a quality of service (QoS) requirement; performing QoS mapping on a plurality of links including the wireless backhaul node for the data packet; adding data packet type indication information to the data packet; and sending flow control feedback information to a node having a flow control capability. Paragraph [0166]: The identification information related to the QoS requirement may be a QoS flow identifier (QFI) of the terminal, an identifier of the RB of the terminal, a differentiated services code point (DSCP), a flow label in a header of an IP data packet of internet protocol version 6 (IPv6), and the like.)
and an upper layer protocol data unit (PDU) (Paragraph [0156]: The Adapt layer header may include routing information (which may also be referred to as routing-related information of the Adapt layer) and/or RB-related information of a terminal to which the data packet belongs, and may further include Adapt PDU type indication information, where the Adapt PDU type indication information is used to indicate whether a type of the Adapt PDU is a control PDU or a data PDU. Paragraph [0367]: the processing unit 1703 is specifically configured to deliver the adaptation layer payload of the data packet to a second entity, where the second entity is a protocol layer entity of a protocol layer of an F1 interface or a protocol layer entity of an upper protocol layer of the adaptation layer. Paragraph [0371]: the processing unit 1703 is specifically configured to deliver the data packet to a third entity, where the third entity is a protocol layer entity of a protocol layer of a wireless backhaul interface or a protocol layer entity of a lower protocol layer of the adaptation layer.)
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches he method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Zhu further teaches wherein types of upper layer PDUs supported by the packet include; a PDU of an RRC protocol; a PDU of an F1 application protocol (F1AP) (Paragraph [0057]: The network node includes: an obtaining unit, configured to receive a data packet from a fifth entity, where the fifth entity is a protocol layer entity of a protocol layer of an F1 interface or a protocol layer entity of an upper protocol layer of an adaptation layer, and the data packet is a data packet including an adaptation layer payload; an adding unit, configured to add an adaptation layer header to the data packet; Paragraph [0165]: The data packet type indication information may be used to indicate that content encapsulated at the Adapt layer includes any one or more of the following types: user plane data of the terminal, an RRC message of the terminal, an RRC message of the IAB node, a control layer application message (for example, an F1AP message) on an interface between the IAB node and the donor node (or the donor-CU or a CU-CP), a flow control feedback message generated by the IAB node, a header compression feedback message generated by the IAB node, a data PDU of the Adapt layer, a control PDU of the Adapt layer, and the like.)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Zhu further teaches wherein the flow identifier information includes a QoS flow identifier corresponding to a data flow of a control-plane transmission (Paragraph [0152]: The PDU of the Adapt layer may be classified into a control PDU of the Adapt layer and a data PDU of the Adapt layer. In the data PDU of the Adapt layer, an Adapt layer payload includes user plane data and/or control plane signaling. In the control PDU of the Adapt layer, an Adapt layer payload includes Adapt layer feedback information, for example, flow control feedback information, header compression feedback information, or other feedback information or control information generated by the Adapt layer. The control PDU that is of the Adapt layer and that includes the header compression feedback information may be referred to as a header compression status report. The control PDU that is of the Adapt layer and that includes the flow control feedback information may be referred to as a flow control status report. Paragraph [0162]: The Adapt layer has one or more of the following capabilities: adding, to a data packet, routing information (Routing info) that can be identified by a wireless backhaul node; performing routing selection based on the routing information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node; adding, to the data packet, identification information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node and that is related to a quality of service (QoS) requirement; performing QoS mapping on a plurality of links including the wireless backhaul node for the data packet; adding data packet type indication information to the data packet; and sending flow control feedback information to a node having a flow control capability. Paragraph [0166]: The identification information related to the QoS requirement may be a QoS flow identifier (QFI) of the terminal, an identifier of the RB of the terminal, a differentiated services code point (DSCP), a flow label in a header of an IP data packet of internet protocol version 6 (IPv6), and the like.)
Regarding claim 11, Zhu teaches a method of processing a service data unit (SDU) in a protocol entity of a node in a communications system, comprising: receiving the SDU from an upper protocol layer; wherein the SDU is associated with flow identifier information (Paragraph [0150]: In a communications network, a data unit exchanged between peer protocol layer entities of different nodes is a PDU. A protocol layer transfers a PDU of the protocol layer to an adjacent lower protocol layer by using a service access point (SAP) (which may also be referred. to as a service interface) provided by the lower protocol layer to the protocol layer, and the lower protocol layer indirectly exchanges the PDU of the protocol layer. The PDU of the protocol layer is used as an SDU of the lower protocol layer. Paragraph [0151]: For example, for a protocol layer, if a data packet received by the protocol layer does not include a protocol layer header of the protocol layer, the data packet may be considered as an SDU of the protocol layer; or if a data packet received by the protocol layer includes a protocol layer header of the protocol layer, the data packet may be considered as a PDU of the protocol layer. For example, for an Adapt layer, if a data packet received by the Adapt layer does not include an Adapt layer header, the data packet may be considered as an SDU of the Adapt layer; or if a data packet received by the Adapt layer includes an Adapt layer header, the data packet may be considered as a PDU of the Adapt layer. Paragraph [0162]: The Adapt layer has one or more of the following capabilities: adding, to a data packet, routing information (Routing info) that can be identified by a wireless backhaul node; performing routing selection based on the routing information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node; adding, to the data packet, identification information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node and that is related to a quality of service (QoS) requirement; performing QoS mapping on a plurality of links including the wireless backhaul node for the data packet; adding data packet type indication information to the data packet; and sending flow control feedback information to a node having a flow control capability. Paragraph [0166]: The identification information related to the QoS requirement may be a QoS flow identifier (QFI) of the terminal, an identifier of the RB of the terminal, a differentiated services code point (DSCP), a flow label in a header of an IP data packet of internet protocol version 6 (IPv6), and the like. Paragraph [0371]: The processing unit 1703 is specifically configured to deliver the data packet to a third entity, where the third entity is a protocol layer entity of a protocol layer of a wireless backhaul interface or a protocol layer entity of a lower protocol layer of the adaptation layer.)
performing a second set of functions on the SDU to generate a protocol data unit (PDU) of the protocol entity based on the flow identifier information (Paragraph [0055]: In a possible implementation, before the adding, by a first entity of a network node, an adaptation layer header to the data packet, the method further includes: performing, by the first entity of the network node, header compression on the data packet. In this possible implementation, the first entity of the network node performs the header compression on the data packet. Paragraph [0162]: The Adapt layer has one or more of the following capabilities: adding, to a data packet, routing information (Routing info) that can be identified by a wireless backhaul node; performing routing selection based on the routing information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node; adding, to the data packet, identification information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node and that is related to a quality of service (QoS) requirement; performing QoS mapping on a plurality of links including the wireless backhaul node for the data packet; adding data packet type indication information to the data packet; and sending flow control feedback information to a node having a flow control capability. Paragraph [0166]: The identification information related to the QoS requirement may be a QoS flow identifier (QFI) of the terminal, an identifier of the RB of the terminal, a differentiated services code point (DSCP), a flow label in a header of an IP data packet of internet protocol version 6 (IPv6), and the like.)
wherein the PDU comprises destination information of a packet; performing a first set of functions on the PDU based on the destination information; and transmitting the packet to a peer node, wherein the peer node is a next hop determined by the performing the first set of functions on the packet, and wherein the packet comprises at least the PDU. (Paragraph [0030]: In a possible implementation, the determining, by the first entity of the network node, whether the network node is a destination node to which the data packet is routed at an adaptation layer includes: determining, by the first entity of the network node, whether the network node is the destination node to which the data packet is routed at the adaptation layer based on one or more of routing information in the adaptation layer header of the data packet, whether the adaptation layer header of the data packet includes the routing information, or whether the data packet is the control PDU. Paragraph [0036]: According to the method provided in the third aspect, the third entity of the network node delivers the data packet to the fourth entity through the second service differentiation channel corresponding to the next-hop node of the data packet, so that it can be ensured that the data packet is correctly transmitted to the next-hop node of the data packet. Paragraph [0207]: According to the method provided in Embodiment 1, whether the network node is the destination node of the routing at the Adapt layer directly affects a subsequent data packet processing process. Therefore, according to the method provided in Embodiment 1, the network node processes the data packet based on the determining result of whether the network node is the destination node to which the data packet is routed at the Adapt layer, to correctly process the data packet, thereby avoiding an error in the data packet processing process. Paragraph [0376]: Optionally, referring to FIG. 17, the network node further includes a determining unit 1704, where the determining unit 1704 is configured to determine a next-hop node of the data packet, and the processing unit 1703 is further configured to deliver, to the third entity, information used to indicate the next-hop node;)
Zhu does not explicitly teach wherein the second set of functions comprises: security processing
However, Ho teaches wherein the second set of functions comprises: security processing (Page 7, Paragraph 6: 2 is a flowchart illustrating an operation of an IP security protocol processing apparatus of FIG. 1. Referring to FIG. 2, when a packet is received through a network, the packet classification engine 111 performs different processing according to the destination IP address of the packet (S110). If the destination IP address of the packet matches the router's own address, the packet examines the value of the protocol field of the packet as inbound IP traffic (S120). If the value of the protocol field is AH or ESP, this packet indicates that the packet is being encrypted or authenticated through the IPSec protocol. For this packet, an input IPSec processing unit (which is present in the IPSec engine 120 for application of the IPSec protocol) 114, the packet is delivered (S130 to S140). The input IPSec processing unit 114 of the IPSec engine 120 performs authentication and encryption processing on the packet by using a key possessed by a predetermined router and an authentication and encryption algorithm possessed by the authentication and encryption information storage unit 113 ( S150). If the destination IP address of the packet is not the router's own address, the packet is outbound IP traffic.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the second set of functions comprises: security processing, as taught by Ho in the system of Zhu, so that authentication and encryption processing can be performed on the packet (Ho: Page 7, Paragraph 6).
The combination of Zhu and Ho does not explicitly teach performing functions based on the flow identifier information in a unified protocol entity.
However, Adjakple teaches performing functions based on the flow identifier information in a unified protocol entity (Paragraph [0098]: The performing of intra-device packet routing actions based on a first RaLAP address and a first RaLTP identity, or an upper layer protocol identity may further include: determining the first RaLTP identity as the identity in the Tunnel End point ID (TEID) field of this packet header; determining the first RaLAP address and the RaLAP path identity as the address and path identity in the destination field of this packet header; selecting from the plurality of entries for control of inter-device packet routing, control of intra-device packet routing, control of QoS for transfer of a packet from ingress link RaLAP and RaLTP to upper layer or local link, the entry with its RaLAP address corresponds to the first RaLAP address, and its RaLTP identity corresponds to the first RaLTP identity; selecting the upper layer protocol identity in the selected entry. Paragraph [0116]: Intra-node routing may include the following: differentiating traffic to be delivered to upper layers from traffic to be delivered to egress link; or demultiplexing of bearers, e.g., demultiplexing of traffic mapped to the same SL RLC channel, but designated to different upper layer protocol entities for example PDCP entities within the same node. Paragraph [0117]: Support for QoS requirements may include the following: Multiplexing of bearers into RLC channels e.g., determining upper layer protocol entities for e.g. PDCP entities whose traffics are to be mapped to the same SL RLC channel, e.g., determination of upper layer protocol identity for e.g. PDCP entity identity for packet multiplexing and including such an identity into the RaLAP header. Paragraph [0207]: With reference to FIG. 35 , at step 241, receive RaLAP PDU. At step 242, then determining whether destination field of the RaLAP PDU matches the RaLAP address of the node upon receiving the RaLAP Data PDU from lower layer (e.g., ingress RaL RLC channel). may At step 243, determining that RaLAP includes RaLTP functions. At step 244, perform bearer demultiplexing (intra-node routing) according to demultiplexing (intra-node routing) disclosed herein, to select the upper layer protocol entity the RaLAP SDU should be delivered to.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide performing functions based on the flow identifier information in a unified protocol entity, as taught by Adjakple in the combined system of Zhu and Ho, so that an inter-device packet routing protocol for packet routing between the first device and a second device, and an intra-device packet routing protocol for packet routing to or from data link upper layer protocols can be configured between source and destination nodes (Adjakple: Paragraphs [0088], [0098], [0116], [0117], [0207]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Zhu further teaches wherein the flow identifier is a QoS flow identifier (Paragraph [0152]: The PDU of the Adapt layer may be classified into a control PDU of the Adapt layer and a data PDU of the Adapt layer. In the data PDU of the Adapt layer, an Adapt layer payload includes user plane data and/or control plane signaling. In the control PDU of the Adapt layer, an Adapt layer payload includes Adapt layer feedback information, for example, flow control feedback information, header compression feedback information, or other feedback information or control information generated by the Adapt layer. The control PDU that is of the Adapt layer and that includes the header compression feedback information may be referred to as a header compression status report. The control PDU that is of the Adapt layer and that includes the flow control feedback information may be referred to as a flow control status report. Paragraph [0162]: The Adapt layer has one or more of the following capabilities: adding, to a data packet, routing information (Routing info) that can be identified by a wireless backhaul node; performing routing selection based on the routing information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node; adding, to the data packet, identification information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node and that is related to a quality of service (QoS) requirement; performing QoS mapping on a plurality of links including the wireless backhaul node for the data packet; adding data packet type indication information to the data packet; and sending flow control feedback information to a node having a flow control capability. Paragraph [0166]: The identification information related to the QoS requirement may be a QoS flow identifier (QFI) of the terminal, an identifier of the RB of the terminal, a differentiated services code point (DSCP), a flow label in a header of an IP data packet of internet protocol version 6 (IPv6), and the like.)
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Zhu further teaches wherein the flow identifier corresponds to a control protocol (Paragraph [0152]: The PDU of the Adapt layer may be classified into a control PDU of the Adapt layer and a data PDU of the Adapt layer. In the data PDU of the Adapt layer, an Adapt layer payload includes user plane data and/or control plane signaling. In the control PDU of the Adapt layer, an Adapt layer payload includes Adapt layer feedback information, for example, flow control feedback information, header compression feedback information, or other feedback information or control information generated by the Adapt layer. The control PDU that is of the Adapt layer and that includes the header compression feedback information may be referred to as a header compression status report. The control PDU that is of the Adapt layer and that includes the flow control feedback information may be referred to as a flow control status report. Paragraph [0162]: The Adapt layer has one or more of the following capabilities: adding, to a data packet, routing information (Routing info) that can be identified by a wireless backhaul node; performing routing selection based on the routing information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node; adding, to the data packet, identification information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node and that is related to a quality of service (QoS) requirement; performing QoS mapping on a plurality of links including the wireless backhaul node for the data packet; adding data packet type indication information to the data packet; and sending flow control feedback information to a node having a flow control capability. Paragraph [0166]: The identification information related to the QoS requirement may be a QoS flow identifier (QFI) of the terminal, an identifier of the RB of the terminal, a differentiated services code point (DSCP), a flow label in a header of an IP data packet of internet protocol version 6 (IPv6), and the like.)
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Zhu further teaches wherein the second set of functions further comprises header compression (Paragraph [0055]: In a possible implementation, before the adding, by a first entity of a network node, an adaptation layer header to the data packet, the method further includes: performing, by the first entity of the network node, header compression on the data packet. In this possible implementation, the first entity of the network node performs the header compression on the data packet.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Zhu further teaches wherein the first set of functions comprises identifying the next hop in a route (Paragraph [0018]: The third entity in the first aspect is located on a transmit side of the network node. Paragraph [0036]: According to the method provided in the third aspect, the third entity of the network node delivers the data packet to the fourth entity through the second service differentiation channel corresponding to the next-hop node of the data packet, so that it can be ensured that the data packet is correctly transmitted to the next-hop node of the data packet. Paragraph [0040]: In this possible implementation, the third entity of the network node may determine the next-hop node and/or the second service differentiation channel for delivering the data packet, to ensure that the third entity correctly delivers the data packet to the lower protocol layer. Paragraph [0194]: Routing information: This field is used to indicate routing information of the Adapt PDU. For example, the routing information may include an identifier of a destination node that receives the Adapt PDU, and may further include an identifier of a source node that sends the Adapt PDU. Paragraph [0376]: Optionally, referring to FIG. 17, the network node further includes a determining unit 1704, where the determining unit 1704 is configured to determine a next-hop node of the data packet, and the processing unit 1703 is further configured to deliver, to the third entity, information used to indicate the next-hop node.)
and identification of an egress transport bearer (Paragraph [0306]: During specific implementation of the manner 1, the third entity of the network node may determine the second service differentiation channel based on a correspondence between a service differentiation channel of an ingress link and a service differentiation channel of an egress link. A service differentiation channel of one ingress link may correspond to one or more service differentiation channels of one or more egress links. Paragraph [0354]: The new Adapt layer routing and forwarding table may include a new uplink Adapt layer routing and forwarding table and/or a new downlink Adapt layer routing and forwarding table. The new bearer mapping relationship may be a new mapping relationship between an RB of a terminal and a service differentiation channel of a new egress link, a new mapping relationship between a service differentiation channel of an ingress link and a service differentiation channel of a new egress link, or the like.)
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Zhu further teaches wherein the packet comprises a header including a source identity (Paragraph [0156]: The Adapt layer header may include routing information (which may also be referred to as routing-related information of the Adapt layer) and/or RB-related information of a terminal to which the data packet belongs, and may further include Adapt PDU type indication information, where the Adapt PDU type indication information is used to indicate whether a type of the Adapt PDU is a control PDU or a data PDU. Paragraph [0194]: Routing information: This field is used to indicate routing information of the Adapt PDU. For example, the routing information may include an identifier of a destination node that receives the Adapt PDU, and may further include an identifier of a source node that sends the Adapt PDU.)
a destination identity (Paragraph [0157]: The routing information may be an identifier of a destination node of a routing at the Adapt layer, or an identifier of a cell served by a destination node of a routing at the Adapt layer, or an identifier of a transmission path at the Adapt layer. The destination node of the routing at the Adapt layer is the last node of the routing at the Adapt layer.)
and a flow identifier (Paragraph [0162]: The Adapt layer has one or more of the following capabilities: adding, to a data packet, routing information (Routing info) that can be identified by a wireless backhaul node; performing routing selection based on the routing information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node; adding, to the data packet, identification information that can be identified by the wireless backhaul node and that is related to a quality of service (QoS) requirement; performing QoS mapping on a plurality of links including the wireless backhaul node for the data packet; adding data packet type indication information to the data packet; and sending flow control feedback information to a node having a flow control capability. Paragraph [0166]: The identification information related to the QoS requirement may be a QoS flow identifier (QFI) of the terminal, an identifier of the RB of the terminal, a differentiated services code point (DSCP), a flow label in a header of an IP data packet of internet protocol version 6 (IPv6), and the like.)
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Zhu further teaches wherein the packet includes an upper layer PDU of the upper layer protocol (Paragraph [0156]: The Adapt layer header may include routing information (which may also be referred to as routing-related information of the Adapt layer) and/or RB-related information of a terminal to which the data packet belongs, and may further include Adapt PDU type indication information, where the Adapt PDU type indication information is used to indicate whether a type of the Adapt PDU is a control PDU or a data PDU. Paragraph [0367]: the processing unit 1703 is specifically configured to deliver the adaptation layer payload of the data packet to a second entity, where the second entity is a protocol layer entity of a protocol layer of an F1 interface or a protocol layer entity of an upper protocol layer of the adaptation layer. Paragraph [0371]: the processing unit 1703 is specifically configured to deliver the data packet to a third entity, where the third entity is a protocol layer entity of a protocol layer of a wireless backhaul interface or a protocol layer entity of a lower protocol layer of the adaptation layer.)
and types of upper layer PDUs supported by the packet include a PDU of an RRC protocol; a PDU of an F1 application protocol (F1AP) (Paragraph [0057]: The network node includes: an obtaining unit, configured to receive a data packet from a fifth entity, where the fifth entity is a protocol layer entity of a protocol layer of an F1 interface or a protocol layer entity of an upper protocol layer of an adaptation layer, and the data packet is a data packet including an adaptation layer payload; an adding unit, configured to add an adaptation layer header to the data packet; Paragraph [0165]: The data packet type indication information may be used to indicate that content encapsulated at the Adapt layer includes any one or more of the following types: user plane data of the terminal, an RRC message of the terminal, an RRC message of the IAB node, a control layer application message (for example, an F1AP message) on an interface between the IAB node and the donor node (or the donor-CU or a CU-CP), a flow control feedback message generated by the IAB node, a header compression feedback message generated by the IAB node, a data PDU of the Adapt layer, a control PDU of the Adapt layer, and the like.)
Claims 7, 8, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. in view of Ho et al. and Adjakple et al., and further in view of Wu et al. (US2023/0413351A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Zhu further teaches wherein types of upper layer PDUs supported by the packet include: a PDU of an RRC protocol; a PDU of an F1AP (see rejection for claim 6);
The combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple does not explicitly teach a PDU of a PC5-RRC protocol.
However, Wu teaches a PDU of a PC5-RRC protocol (Abstract: According to some embodiments of the disclosure, a method may include: establishing a RRC connection between a first UE and a BS via a second UE, wherein a PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE has been established and an RRC connection between the second UE and the BS has been established; receiving, from either the first UE or the BS at a second UE, a first data; determining a destination of the first data; and transmitting the first data to the destination of the first data in response to the destination of the first data being not the second UE. Paragraph [0012]: According to some other embodiments of the present disclosure, a method may include establishing, at a first user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a base station (BS) via a second UE, wherein a PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE has been established and an RRC connection between the second UE and the BS has been established; encoding upper layer data into a sidelink adaptation layer (SLAP) protocol data unit (PDU); and transmitting the SLAP PDU to the BS, wherein the SLAP PDU may include a header of the SLAP PDU including at least one sub-header and at least one service data unit (SDU).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a PDU of a PC5-RRC protocol, as taught by Wu in the combined system of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple, so that the sidelink adaptation layer protocol data unit (SLAP PDU) can be received based on the PC5-RRC protocol, and can be processed and transmitted to the destination. This will facilitate efficient communication between a remote UE and a base station via a relay UE (Wu: Abstract, Paragraphs [0005], [0006], [0012]).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple does not explicitly teach wherein the node in the communications system is one of a remote UE and a relay UE.
However, Wu teaches wherein the node in the communications system is one of a remote UE and a relay UE (Abstract: According to some embodiments of the disclosure, a method may include: establishing a RRC connection between a first UE and a BS via a second UE, wherein a PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE has been established and an RRC connection between the second UE and the BS has been established; receiving, from either the first UE or the BS at a second UE, a first data; determining a destination of the first data; and transmitting the first data to the destination of the first data in response to the destination of the first data being not the second UE. Paragraph [0005]: A relaying function based on a sidelink may be supported in a communication network. For example, a UE supporting sidelink communication may function as a relay node to extend the coverage of a BS. An out-of-coverage UE may communicate with a BS via a relay UE. In the context of the present disclosure, a UE, which functions as a relay between another UE and a BS, may be referred to a UE-to-network relay or a U2N relay. There is a need for efficiently performing communication in a communication system supporting a U2N relay.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the node in the communications system is one of a remote UE and a relay UE, as taught by Wu in the combined system of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple, so that the sidelink adaptation layer protocol data unit (SLAP PDU) and can be processed and transmitted to the destination. This will facilitate efficient communication between a remote UE and a base station via a relay UE (Wu: Abstract, Paragraphs [0005], [0006], [0012]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Zhu further teaches wherein the packet includes an upper layer PDU of the upper layer protocol, and types of upper layer PDUs supported by the packet include a PDU of an RRC protocol; and a PDU of an F1AP (see rejection for claim 17);
The combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple does not explicitly teach a PDU of a PC5-RRC protocol.
However, Wu teaches a PDU of a PC5-RRC protocol (Abstract: According to some embodiments of the disclosure, a method may include: establishing a RRC connection between a first UE and a BS via a second UE, wherein a PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE has been established and an RRC connection between the second UE and the BS has been established; receiving, from either the first UE or the BS at a second UE, a first data; determining a destination of the first data; and transmitting the first data to the destination of the first data in response to the destination of the first data being not the second UE. Paragraph [0012]: According to some other embodiments of the present disclosure, a method may include establishing, at a first user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) connection with a base station (BS) via a second UE, wherein a PC5 RRC connection between the first UE and the second UE has been established and an RRC connection between the second UE and the BS has been established; encoding upper layer data into a sidelink adaptation layer (SLAP) protocol data unit (PDU); and transmitting the SLAP PDU to the BS, wherein the SLAP PDU may include a header of the SLAP PDU including at least one sub-header and at least one service data unit (SDU).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a PDU of a PC5-RRC protocol, as taught by Wu in the combined system of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple, so that the sidelink adaptation layer protocol data unit (SLAP PDU) can be received based on the PC5-RRC protocol, and can be processed and transmitted to the destination. This will facilitate efficient communication between a remote UE and a base station via a relay UE (Wu: Abstract, Paragraphs [0005], [0006], [0012]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
The combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple does not explicitly teach wherein the node in the communications system is one of a remote UE and a relay UE.
However, Wu teaches wherein the node in the communications system is one of a remote UE and a relay UE (see rejection for claim 8);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the node in the communications system is one of a remote UE and a relay UE, as taught by Wu in the combined system of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple, so that the sidelink adaptation layer protocol data unit (SLAP PDU) and can be processed and transmitted to the destination. This will facilitate efficient communication between a remote UE and a base station via a relay UE (Wu: Abstract, Paragraphs [0005], [0006], [0012]).
Claims 9, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. in view of Ho et al. and Adjakple et al., and further in view of Shimoda et al. (US2024/0260110A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Zhu further teaches wherein the node in the communications system is one of a base station; an integrated access and backhaul node (IAB-node); a distributed unit (DU); a centralized unit (CU) (Paragraph [0098]: In a network including an IAB node (referred to as an IAB network for short below), the IAB node may provide a radio access service for a terminal, and is connected to a donor node through a wireless backhaul link for transmitting service data of a user. For example, the donor node may be a donor base station. The donor node may be briefly referred to as an IAB donor or a DgNB (namely, a donor gNodeB) in the 5G network. The donor node may be a complete entity, or may be in a form in which a centralized unit (CU) (referred to as a donor-CU or a CU for short in this specification) and a distributed unit (DU) (referred to as a donor-DU for short in this specification) are separated, that is, the donor node includes the donor-CU and the donor-DU. In the embodiments of this application and the accompanying drawings, an example in which the donor node includes the donor-CU and the donor-DU is used to describe the method provided in the embodiments of this application.)
a node of a user plane function (UPF) (Paragraph [0102]: For example, referring to FIG. 1, a parent node of an IAB node 1 is a donor node, the IAB node 1 is a parent node of an IAB node 2 and an IAB node 3, both the IAB node 2 and the IAB node 3 are parent nodes of an IAB node 4, and a parent node of an IAB node 5 is the IAB node 3. An uplink data packet of a terminal may be transmitted to the donor node through one or more IAB nodes, and then the donor node sends the uplink data packet to a mobile gateway device (for example, a user plane function (UPF) network element in a 5G network). After receiving a downlink data packet from the mobile gateway device, the donor node sends the downlink data packet to the terminal through the one or more IAB nodes. There are two available paths for data packet transmission between a terminal 1 and the donor node: the terminal 1→the IAB node 4→the IAB node 3→the IAB node 1→the donor node, and the terminal 1→the IAB node 4→the IAB node 2→the IAB node 1→the donor node. There are three available paths for data packet transmission between a terminal 2 and the donor node: the terminal 2→the IAB node 4→the IAB node 3→the IAB node 1→the donor node, the terminal 2→the IAB node 4→the IAB node 2→the IAB node 1→the donor node, and the terminal 2→the IAB node 5→the IAB node 2→the IAB node 1→the donor node.)
The combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple does not explicitly teach a node of a mobility management function (AMF); and a node of a location management function (LMF).
However, Shimoda teaches a node of a mobility management function (AMF); and a node of a location management function (LMF) (Abstract: A communication system is configured with a central unit and a distributed unit, includes a first base station that operates as a donor for integrated access and backhaul and one or more second base stations that operate as nodes for the integrated access and backhaul, and the central unit performs address configuration for multicasting data from a central unit toward a communication terminal in a backhaul adaptation layer in which data transmitted and received by the communication terminal is routed, on the distributed unit and the second base stations. Paragraph [0248]: An identifier representing the BAP address may be provided. For example, an identifier associated with each of the transmission destination BAP address and/or the next hop BAP address configured from the IAB-donor CU may be provided, or one identifier corresponding to the plurality of transmission destination BAP addresses and/or next hop BAP addresses may be provided. Paragraph [0177]: Each gNB 217 is connected via an NG interface to an AMF/SMF/UPF unit (hereinafter, sometimes referred to as a “5GC unit”) 214 including an access and mobility management function (AMF), a session management function (SMF), or a user plane function (UPF), or the AMF, the SMF, and the UPF. Paragraph [0182]: A location management function (LMF) described in Non Patent Literature 24 (3GPP TS 38.305) may be provided in the 5G communication system. The LMF may be connected to a base station via the AMF as disclosed in Non Patent Literature 25 (3GPP TS 23.273).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a node of a mobility management function (AMF); and a node of a location management function (LMF), as taught by Shimoda in the combined system of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple, so that the AMF and LMF nodes can facilitate effective communication and routing of control and/or user data between other nodes such as base station, UEs, and IAB nodes, perform mobility control, manage a tracking area list (Shimoda: Abstract, Paragraphs [0177], [0178], [0182], [0248]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches the method of claim 11 (see rejection for claim 11);
Zhu further teaches wherein the node in the communications system is one of a base station; an integrated access and backhaul node (IAB-node); a distributed unit (DU); a centralized unit (CU); a node of a user plane function (UPF) (see rejection for claim 9);
The combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple does not explicitly teach a node of a mobility management function (AMF); and a node of a location management function (LMF).
However, Shimoda teaches a node of a mobility management function (AMF); and a node of a location management function (LMF) (see rejection for claim 9);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a node of a mobility management function (AMF); and a node of a location management function (LMF), as taught by Shimoda in the combined system of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple, so that the AMF and LMF nodes can facilitate effective communication and routing of control and/or user data between other nodes such as base station, UEs, and IAB nodes, perform mobility control, manage a tracking area list (Shimoda: Abstract, Paragraphs [0177], [0178], [0182], [0248]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 13, 2026 with respect to claims 1-6, 10-17 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. (US2021/0377840A1) in view of Ho et al. (KR100564753B1); claims 7, 8, 18, 19 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhu et al. in view of Ho et al., and further in view of Wu et al. (U52023/0413351A1) have been fully considered.
Applicant submits that the combination of Zhu and Ho fails to teach the amended limitations of claim 1 which recites in part “a unified protocol entity”. However, Adjakple (US2023/0199607A1) teaches an inter-device packet routing protocol for packet routing between a first device and a second device, and an intra-device packet routing protocol for packet routing to or from data link upper layer protocols can be configured between source and destination nodes, based on quality of service (QoS). The Relay Link Adaptation Protocol (RaLAP) is an inter-device packet routing data link layer, and the Relay Link Tunneling Protocol (RaLTP) is an intra-device packet routing data link layer. Inter-device packet routing is based on determining the first RaLAP address and the RaLAP path identity as the address and path identity in the destination field of the packet header. Adjakple further teaches determining whether destination field of the RaLAP packet matches the RaLAP address of the node (destination node) upon receiving the RaLAP Data packet from lower layer (e.g., ingress RaL RLC channel). If the address matches the destination node, intra-node routing is performed, where the RaLAP includes the RaLTP functions, and further selecting the upper layer protocol entity that the RaLAP packet should be delivered to. Intra-node routing includes differentiating traffic to be delivered to upper layers from traffic to be delivered to egress link. Adjakple thus teaches a unified protocol entity where both the RaLTP and the RaLAP protocols are part of the data link layer protocol in the nodes in the communication path between the multiple nodes such as UEs, base stations, or peer remote UEs. Thus, the combination of Zhu, Ho, and Adjakple teaches claim 1 and similar features in claim 11.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461