CTFR 18/314,415 CTFR 81950 DETAILED ACTION Response to Amendment Claims 1-20 are currently pending. The previous objection to claim 19 is withdrawn. The amended claims do not overcome the previously stated 102 and 103 rejections. Therefore, upon further consideration, claims 1-20 are rejected under the following 112, 102, and 103 rejections. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “fuel stack” in lines 5, 11, and 12 should be changed to “fuel cell stack” . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “fuel stack” in lines 9, 10, and 12 should be changed to “fuel cell stack” . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 4 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: claims 4 and 13 do not further limit claims 1 and 10, respectively because claims 1 and 10 already recite a terminal-compression plate that includes openings for fuel, air, and coolant which are working fluids . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. With respect to independent claims 1 and 10, it is unclear how “the terminal-compression plate functions as a compression plate that is configured to generate a uniform compression in the fuel cell stack”. The “terminal-compression plate” is construed as a single plate and therefore a single plate cannot generate a uniform compression in the fuel cell stack because two plates are required to generate a compression in the fuel cell stack. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Itou et al (US 2021/0043961) . Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 9, 10, 13, 14, 16, and 18, Itou et al discloses a fuel cell stack “100” (fuel cell system) comprising: a dry end unit “105”; a wet end unit “12a”, “104”, “102” configured to receive fuel, air, and coolant from auxiliary machine unit “200” which supplies oxidant gas, fuel gas, and cooling water, the wet end unit comprising a terminal plate “102” (terminal-compression plate), an insulator “104” (insulator plate), and an end plate “12a” (base plate); and a plurality of unit cells “106” (fuel cells) arranged in a fuel cell stack, the plurality of unit cells disposed between the dry end unit and the wet end unit, wherein each of the plurality of unit cells includes a perimeter area that surrounds the plurality of unit cells, wherein the end plate “12a” is provided with supply holes that allow an oxidant gas, a fuel gas, and cooling water and the terminal plate “102” inherently also includes openings for uniform entry and exit of the fuel, the air, and the coolant in order to supply fuel, air, and coolant to the fuel cell stack, wherein the terminal plate “102” is capable of functioning as a compression plate that is configured to generate a uniform compression in the fuel cell stack based upon the springs “109” generating a uniform compression in the fuel cell stack and a terminal plate that is configured to collect a generated electrical charge from the fuel cell stack; wherein the end plate (base plate) is configured to uniformly compress the plurality of unit cells through the insulator and the terminal plate; wherein the terminal plate inherently provides for passage of an oxidant gas, a fuel gas, and a cooling water (working fluid) based upon the supply holes & discharge holes shown in end plate “12a”; wherein the terminal plate includes one or more bolt hole provision “102” configured for a bus bar clamping; wherein the insulator inherently gives passage to a plurality of supply holes & discharge holes (manifolds) and contains no metallic inserts based upon the supply holes & discharge holes shown in end plate “12a”; and wherein a plurality of supply holes & discharge holes (manifolds) are configured for a uniform entry and exit of fuel gas, oxidant gas (air), and cooling water (coolant), to the plurality of unit cells ([0039]-[0042] and Figs. 2-4) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 4, 7, 9, 10, 13, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Kaneko et al (US 2021/0036344) . Regarding claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 10, 13, 16, and 18, Kaneko et al discloses a fuel cell module (fuel cell system) comprising: a dry end unit “51”; a wet end unit “50”, “60”, “7” configured to receive fuel, air, and coolant, the wet end unit comprising a terminal plate “7” (terminal-compression plate), an insulating plate “60” (insulator plate), and an end plate “50” (base plate); and a plurality of unit cells “40” (fuel cells) arranged in a fuel cell stack, the plurality of fuel cells disposed between the dry end unit and the wet end unit, wherein each of the plurality of unit cells includes a perimeter area that surrounds the plurality of unit cells, wherein the terminal plate includes through holes “701”-“706” (openings) for uniform entry and exit of the fuel, the air, and the coolant, wherein the terminal plate is capable of functioning as a compression plate that is configured to generate a uniform compression in the fuel cell stack based upon the springs “59” generating a uniform compression in the fuel cell stack and a terminal plate that is configured to collect a generated electrical charge from the fuel cell stack; wherein the end plate (base plate) is configured to uniformly compress the plurality of unit cells through the insulating plate and the terminal plate; wherein the terminal plate provides for passage of an oxidant gas, a fuel gas, and a cooling medium (working fluid); wherein the insulating plate gives passage to a plurality of through holes “601” to “606” (manifolds) and contains no metallic inserts; and wherein the plurality of through holes (manifolds) are configured for a uniform entry and exit of fuel gas, oxidant gas (air), and cooling medium (coolant), to the plurality of unit cells ([0038]-[0044],[0056] and Figs. 1 and 2) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itou et al (US 2021/0043961) in view of Yamaura (US 2012/0034545). The Itou reference is applied to claims 1 and 10 for reasons stated above . However, Itou et al does not expressly teach a plurality of manifolds, wherein each of the plurality of manifolds is configured to bolt to the base plate (claims 2 and 11). Yamaura discloses conduits (manifolds) for supplying and discharging fuel gas, oxidizing gas, and coolant that are configured to bolt to an end plate “36” ([0037] and Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Itou fuel cell stack to include a plurality of manifolds, wherein each of the plurality of manifolds is configured to bolt to the base plate in order to increase the reliability of the connection between a conduit and an end plate portion of a fuel cell stack and to inhibit interference between the end plate internal manifold and the bolts for connecting the conduit to the end plate ([0008],[0010]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 3, 8, 12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itou et al (US 2021/0043961) in view of Raiser et al (US 2005/0260479). The Itou reference is applied to claims 1, 10, and 18 for reasons stated above . However, Itou et al does not expressly teach an insulator plate that is isolated from a working fluid within the fuel cell system (claims 3 and 12); and a plurality of manifolds that are sealed to the terminal-compression plate utilizing one or more push in place seals (claims 8 and 17); a plurality of manifolds comprising a plurality of grooves for push in place seal placement (claim 19). Raiser et al discloses an isolator plate “38” (insulator plate) that is isolated from a working fluid “42” within a fuel cell assembly “20” (fuel cell system) and a plurality of manifolds “30” that are sealed to a terminal plate “40” & “48” utilizing one or more push in place seals “46”; and a plurality of grooves for the push in place seals ([0015]-[0017] and Fig. 3B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Itou fuel cell stack to include an insulator plate that is isolated from a working fluid within the fuel cell system; a plurality of manifolds that are sealed to the terminal plate utilizing one or more push in place seals; and a plurality of grooves for the push in place seals in order to provide a fuel cell assembly with terminal plate that is protected from corrosion and/or the corrosion process is inhibited ([0005]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itou et al (US 2021/0043961) in view of Mazza et al (US 2004/0137299). The Itou reference is applied to claims 1 and 10 for reasons stated above . However, Itou et al does not expressly teach terminal-compression plate comprising an electroless nickel plated aluminum alloy (claims 6 and 15). Mazza et al discloses a current collector plate (terminal-compression plate) comprising a metal plate made of a metal such as aluminum alloy that is plated with an electrically conductive coating such as electroless nickel ([0091]-[0093]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Itou fuel cell stack to include terminal plate comprising an electroless nickel plated aluminum alloy in order to utilize aluminum that is a good electrical conductor and is lightweight and relatively inexpensive and to also utilize an electrically conductive coating that exhibits high electrical conductivity and low contact resistivity ([0091],[0093]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Itou et al (US 2021/0043961) in view of Yamaura (US 2012/0034545), Raiser et al (US 2005/0260479), and Mazza et al (US 2004/0137299) . Regarding claim 20, Itou et al discloses a fuel cell stack “100” (fuel cell apparatus) comprising: a dry end unit “105”; a wet end unit “”12a”, “104”, “102” configured to receive fuel, air, and coolant from auxiliary machine unit “200”, the wet end unit comprising a terminal plate “102” (terminal-compression plate), an insulator “104” (insulator plate), and an end plate “12a” (base plate); a plurality of unit cells “106” (fuel cells) disposed between the dry end unit and the wet end unit, wherein each of the plurality of unit cells includes a perimeter area that surrounds the plurality of unit cells; and wherein the terminal plate is inherently capable of functioning as a compression plate, and wherein the end plate is configured to uniformly compress the plurality of unit cells through the insulator and the terminal plate; wherein the terminal plate inherently provides for passage of an oxidant gas, a fuel gas, and a cooling water (working fluid) based upon the supply holes & discharge holes shown in end plate “12a”; wherein the terminal plate includes one or more bolt hole provision “102” configured for a bus bar clamping; wherein the insulator inherently gives passage to a plurality of supply holes & discharge holes (manifolds) and contains no metallic inserts based upon the supply holes & discharge holes shown in end plate “12a”; and wherein the plurality of supply holes & discharge holes (manifolds) are configured for a uniform entry and exit of the fuel gas, the oxidant gas (air), and the cooling water (coolant), to the plurality of unit cells ([0039]-[0042] and Figs. 2-4). However, Itou et al does not expressly teach each of the plurality of manifolds that is configured to bolt to the base plate. Yamaura discloses conduits (manifolds) for supplying and discharging fuel gas, oxidizing gas, and coolant that is configured to bolt to an end plate “36” ([0037] and Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Itou fuel cell stack to include each of the plurality of manifolds that is configured to bolt to the base plate in order to increase the reliability of the connection between a conduit and the end plate portion of a fuel cell stack and to inhibit interference between the end plate internal manifold and the bolts for connecting the conduit to the end plate ([0008],[0010]). However, Itou et al as modified by Yamaura does not expressly teach an insulator plate that is isolated from a working fluid within the fuel cell system; and a plurality of manifolds that is sealed to the terminal-compression plate utilizing one or more push in place seals. Raiser et al discloses an isolator plate “38” (insulator plate) that is isolated from a working fluid “42” within a fuel cell assembly “20” (fuel cell system) and a plurality of manifolds “30” that are sealed to a terminal plate “40” & “48” utilizing one or more push in place seals “46” ([0015]-[0017] and Fig. 3B). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Itou/Yamaura fuel cell stack to include an insulator plate that is isolated from a working fluid within the fuel cell system; and a plurality of manifolds that are sealed to the terminal plate utilizing one or more push in place seals in order to provide a fuel cell assembly with terminal plates that are protected from corrosion and/or the corrosion process is inhibited ([0005]). However, Itou et al as modified by Yamaura and Raiser et al does not expressly teach terminal-compression plate comprising an electroless nickel plated aluminum alloy. Mazza et al discloses a current collector plate (terminal-compression plate) comprising a metal plate made of a metal such as aluminum alloy that is plated with an electrically conductive coating such as electroless nickel ([0091]-[0093]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the Itou/Yamaura/Raiser fuel cell stack to include terminal plate comprising an electroless nickel plated aluminum alloy in order to utilize aluminum that is a good electrical conductor and is lightweight and relatively inexpensive and to utilize an electrically conductive coating that exhibits high electrical conductivity and low contact resistivity ([0091],[0093]) . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 3/12/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The Applicant argues that “ Itou teaches a fuel stack 100 including a plurality of unit cells 106, a terminal plate 101, an insulator plate 103, and a pressure plate 105 disposed on one side of the plurality of unit cells 106, and a terminal plate 102, an insulator 104, and an end plate 12a disposed at the other end of the plurality of unit cells 106. The pressure plate 105 is biased towards the end plate 12a by springs 109 disposed between the side wall portion 11 and the pressure plate 105. Consequently, the plurality of until cells 106, the terminal plates 101, 102, and the insulators are compressed between the end plate 12a which is fixed to the stack case 10 and the pressure plate 105. (Paragraph [0039)]. The terminal plates 101 and 102 are formed from metal such as copper, aluminum, or an alloy containing such metal or a conductive material such as high-density carbon, while the end plate 12a and the pressure plate 105 are formed from a highly rigid material such as a metal material such as a stainless steel or aluminum alloy. The end plate 12a is provided with supply holes that allow an oxidant gas, a fuel gas, and cooling water to be supplied to the fuel stack 100, and discharge holes that allow oxidant gas, fuel gas, and cooling water to be discharged from the fuel stack 100, i.e., a "wet end unit. Itou also does not disclose that terminal plate 102 includes " openings for uniform entry and exit of the fluids, coolant, and exhaust byproducts. " as recited by the claimed invention. Instead, as discussed above, it is the end plate 12a that is provided with supply holes that allow oxidant gas, fuel gas, and cooling water to be supplied to the fuel cell stack, and discharge holes that allow oxidant gas, fuel gas, and cooling water to be discharged from the fuel stack ". In response, the Office contends that the Itoh terminal plate in combination with the pressure plate “105” and springs “109” is inherently capable of generating a uniform compression in the fuel cell stack. No single plate (terminal-compression plate) is capable of generating a uniform compression in the fuel cell stack. In addition, the Applicant has not provided any factual evidence to show that the Itoh terminal plate cannot function as a compression plate because the term “terminal-compression plate” does not impart any specific structure to the present invention. In order to distinguish over the Itoh terminal plate, the “terminal-compression plate” recited in claims 1, 10, and 20 of the present invention would necessarily require specific structure such as thickness and rigidity that is not taught by Itoh. Further, the Office disagrees that the Itoh terminal plate does not include openings for uniform entry and exit of the fuel, the air, and the coolant because in order for the fuel, air, and coolant to be supplied to the fuel cell stack from the auxiliary machine unit, the terminal plate would necessarily include openings for the fuel, air, and coolant. Any conventional fuel cell stack (such as the fuel cell stack disclosed in the cited Kaneko reference) would necessarily comprise a terminal plate including openings for fuel, air, and coolant. Without these openings, there would be no way to supply fuel, air, and coolant to the fuel cell stack. The Applicant further argues that “ while the terminal plate 7, taught by Kaneko, may function as a terminal plate that is configured to collect a generated electrical charge, Kaneko simply does not disclose that the terminal plate 7 may also function as a compression plate that is configured to generate uniform compression in the fuel stack, as recited by the claimed invention. Instead, the cell stacked body 4 is compressed between the pressure plate 51 and the other end plate 52 via the plurality of springs arranged between the other end plate and the pressure plate 51, which presses the insulating plate 61 toward the end plate 50 on the opposite side using the elastic force of the springs 59 ”. In response, as stated above with respect to Itoh, the Kaneko terminal plate in combination with the end plate “52” and springs “59” also is inherently capable of generating a uniform compression in the fuel cell stack. No single plate (terminal-compression plate) is capable of generating a uniform compression in the fuel cell stack. In addition, the Applicant has not provided any factual evidence to show that the Kaneko terminal plate cannot function as a compression plate because the term “terminal-compression plate” does not impart any specific structure to the present invention. In order to distinguish over the Kaneko terminal plate, the “terminal-compression plate” recited in claims 1, 10, and 20 of the present invention would necessarily require specific structure such as thickness and rigidity that is not taught by Kaneko. Conclusion 07-39 AIA THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TONY S CHUO whose telephone number is (571)272-0717. The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday, 9:00am - 5:30pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jonathan Leong can be reached at 571-270-1292. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /T.S.C/Examiner, Art Unit 1751 /JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 5/27/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 2 Art Unit: 1751 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 3 Art Unit: 1751 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 4 Art Unit: 1751 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 5 Art Unit: 1751 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 6 Art Unit: 1751 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 7 Art Unit: 1751 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 8 Art Unit: 1751 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 9 Art Unit: 1751 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 10 Art Unit: 1751 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 11 Art Unit: 1751 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 12 Art Unit: 1751 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 13 Art Unit: 1751 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 14 Art Unit: 1751 Application/Control Number: 18/314,415 Page 15 Art Unit: 1751