Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strand et al (US 20210093993; hereinafter Strand).
As regarding claim 1, Strand discloses the claimed invention for a method of removing carbon dioxide from a reaction mixture in a reactor ([0011]-[0021], [0042]-[0044], [0129]-[0229]; claim 27; figs. 1, 3 and 15-16), comprising: providing a feed (1504) comprising reactants to a reactor that is a catalytic reactor comprising a vessel (figs. 15-16), wherein an inside volume of the vessel comprises a first region having a fixed bed of catalyst (1501; [0199], [0226]; claim 27) and a second region having a moving bed of sorbent ([0200], [0293]) separated from the first region by a perforated partition ([0080] and [0083] – guide plates; figs. 1 and 15); performing in the reactor via the catalyst a reaction of the reactants giving products of the reaction, the products comprising a first product and carbon dioxide; sorbing carbon dioxide in the reactor by the sorbent (CaO, MgO and NaO; [0229]), thereby removing carbon dioxide from a reaction mixture comprising the reactants and the products in the reactor; moving sorbent having sorbed carbon dioxide from the reactor via lift gas through an outlet conduit to a sorbent regeneration vessel (1201); heating the sorbent in the sorbent regeneration vessel to remove sorbed carbon dioxide giving regenerated sorbent having less sorbed carbon dioxide than the sorbent entering the sorbent regeneration vessel from the reactor; moving the regenerated sorbent from the sorbent regeneration vessel via lift gas through an inlet conduit to the reactor as sorbent introduced to the reactor (821; 1203; [0187]); and discharging an effluent (figs. 15-16; no number) comprising at least one of the products from the reactor ([0198]).
As regarding claim 2, Strand discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Strand discloses the claimed invention for wherein the perforated partition restricts introduction of the catalyst from the first region (1501) into the second region (1502) and restricts introduction of sorbent from the second region into the first region, and wherein the perforated partition permits flow of the reaction mixture between the first region and the second region, and wherein the reaction is an equilibrium-limited reaction ([0083], [0117]-[0118]).
As regarding claim 3, Strand discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Strand discloses the claimed invention for wherein the reactor is a steam methane reformer ([0193]), wherein the catalyst comprises reforming catalyst, wherein the feed comprises steam and natural gas ([0041], [0254]) comprising methane, wherein the reactants comprise steam and methane, and wherein the products comprise the first product comprising hydrogen gas, a second product comprising carbon monoxide, and the carbon dioxide ([0193]-[0200]).
As regarding claim 4, Strand discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Strand discloses the claimed invention for wherein: the reactor comprises a water-gas shift reactor ([0194]), the catalyst comprises shift catalyst, the reactants comprise carbon monoxide and water vapor, and the first product comprises hydrogen gas ([0223]-[0225]); or the reactor comprises a dimethyl ether (DME) synthesis reactor, the reactants comprises carbon monoxide and hydrogen gas, and the first product comprises DME.
As regarding claim 5, Strand discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Strand discloses the claimed invention for wherein the catalyst does not contact the sorbent, and wherein heating the sorbent in the sorbent regeneration vessel to remove sorbed carbon dioxide comprises desorbing carbon dioxide from the sorbent in the sorbent regeneration vessel (abstract, [0199] and [0208]-[0210]).
As regarding claim 6, Strand discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Strand discloses the claimed invention for wherein moving sorbent having sorbed carbon dioxide from the reactor and moving regenerated sorbent to the reactor is a continuous operation giving the moving bed of sorbent in the reactor at same time the feed is provided to the reactor, the reaction via the catalyst is occurring in the reactor, and the effluent is discharged from the reactor ([0011]-[0021], [0042]-[0044], [0129]-[0229]), wherein the sorbent is not regenerated in the reactor, and wherein regenerating the sorbent via heating the sorbent in the sorbent regeneration vessel does not interrupt operation of the reactor ([0199] and [0208]-[0210]).
As regarding claim 7, Strand discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Strand discloses the claimed invention for promoting flow of the reaction mixture between the first region and the second region via guide plates in the reactor, wherein the carbon dioxide as a product is a byproduct ([0199], [0208]-[0210] and figs. 15-16).
As regarding claim 8, Strand discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Strand discloses the claimed invention for wherein the sorbent comprises sorbent particles ([0071], [0081], [0116] and [0224]-[0225]), wherein moving the sorbent having sorbed carbon dioxide from the reactor comprises an outlet two-phase flow of gas and sorbent particles through the outlet conduit to the sorbent regeneration vessel, and wherein moving the regenerated sorbent from the sorbent regeneration vessel comprises an inlet two-phase flow of lift gas and sorbent particles through the inlet conduit toward the reactor ([0198]-[0199] and [0221]).
As regarding claim 10, Strand discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Strand discloses the claimed invention for wherein the outlet two-phase flow comprises a first two-phase flow and a second two-phase flow, the first two-phase flow through the outlet conduit between the reactor and an outlet hopper disposed along the outlet conduit, and the second two-phase flow through the outlet conduit between the outlet hopper and the sorbent regeneration vessel, wherein the gas in the first two-phase flow comprises the reaction mixture comprising the first product discharged from the reactor with the sorbent, and wherein the gas in the second two-phase flow comprises lift gas introduced into the outlet conduit between the outlet hopper and the sorbent regeneration vessel, and wherein the method comprises removing the gas comprising the reaction mixture from the first two-phase flow via the outlet hopper and discharging the gas comprising the reaction mixture from the outlet hopper to combine with the effluent ([0199], [0208]-[0210] and figs. 15-16).
As regarding claim 11, Strand discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Strand discloses the claimed invention for heating the feed in a heat exchanger with the effluent, or heating the feed in a heat exchanger with carbon dioxide discharged from the sorbent regeneration vessel ([0199], [0208]-[0210] and figs. 15-16), or heating the feed in a first heat exchanger with the effluent and in a second heat exchanger with carbon dioxide discharged from the sorbent regeneration vessel.
As regarding claim 12, Strand discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Strand discloses the claimed invention for wherein the vessel comprises a cylindrical vessel (fig. 8), wherein the perforated partition comprises a perforated cylindrical partition (fig. 6), and wherein: the first region is a radial center portion of the inside volume and the second region is an annular portion of the inside volume radially around the first region; or the second region is a radial center portion of the inside volume and the first region is an annular portion of the inside volume radially around the second region (figs. 6 and 15).
Claims 13-20 are likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those outlined with respect to claims 1-12 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strand et al (US 20210093993; hereinafter Strand).
As regarding claim 9, Strand discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Strand discloses the claimed invention except for flowing the inlet two-phase flow to the reactor through an inlet hopper vessel disposed along the inlet conduit, and removing lift gas from the inlet two-phase flow via the inlet hopper vessel, and wherein the effluent comprises unreacted reactants. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide flowing the inlet two-phase flow to the reactor through an inlet hopper vessel disposed along the inlet conduit, and removing lift gas from the inlet two-phase flow via the inlet hopper vessel, and wherein the effluent comprises unreacted reactants in order to enhance process of removing carbon dioxide performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Strand (fig. 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/11/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remark argues that Strand fails to disclose or teach a perforated partition separating these regions that restricts movement of catalyst and sorbent between them while allowing gas flow.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Annotated fig. 6 (above) and [0080] – “The strainer plates 3 have the property of retaining the solid sorbent within each moving bed 7 but gas is able to pass through the strainer plates 3” of Strand clearly disclose or teach a perforated partition separating these regions that restricts movement of catalyst and sorbent between them while allowing gas flow.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773