Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 3-5, filed 03/18/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-16 under U.S.C. 102(a)(1), 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gangadhar in view of Carney (WO 2022026002 A1) and as evidenced by Stephen (GB 2541082 A), see pertaining rejection(s) below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gangadhar (EP 3643363 A1) in view of Carney (WO 2022026002 A1) and as evidenced by Stephen (GB 2541082 A).
Regarding claim 1, Gangadhar discloses a respirator assembly (Gangadhar Figure 1; 104-1, 112, 110, 114, 118, 108-1) comprising:
connector comprising a connector base and a connector column (Figure 1 below; connector base and connector column);
wherein the connector column comprises an inner and outer surface (Figure 1 below; where the connector column has an inner and outer surface);
and wherein the connector column defines connector threading on an outer surface of the connector column (Figure 1 below; connector threading on the outer surface of the connector column);
an adaptor comprising an adaptor base and an adaptor column (Figure 1 below; adapter, Figure 2 below; adaptor base/column);
wherein the adaptor column comprises an inner and outer surface (Figure 2 below; where there is an inner and outer surface of the adaptor column);
wherein the adaptor column defines adaptor threading on an inner surface of the adaptor column (Figure 2; adaptor threading that is on the inner surface of the adaptor column);
wherein connector threading and the adaptor threading are configured to fit together such that the connector and the adaptor are operably engaged (Figure 1 below; all the parts fit together to be engaged with each other);
and a respirator cartridge comprising a housing defining a fitment portion configured to receive the adaptor column such that the respirator cartridge and the adaptor are operably engaged (Figure 1 below; where the housing has a fitment portion that connects with the adaptor and the respirator cartridge is also connected, making them all engaged).
Gangadhar fails to disclose wherein one or more of the connector threading and the adaptor threading comprise bayonet threads.
Carney discloses a patient interface wherein:
wherein one or more of the connector threading and the adaptor threading comprise bayonet threads (Figure 3 below; where there is an adaptor with an adaptor column defining adaptor threading on the inner side that is bayonet threading (threads) ‘252’ that connects to the connector with bayonet threading (threads) ‘254’).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respirator assembly of Gangadhar by including bayonet threading as the threading on the inner surface of a connector as taught by Carney, since, it allows for removable interlocking components that can seal the facepiece together with translational and rotational constraint (Carney [00106]).
Additionally, it would have been readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the bayonet threading would provide a frictional benefit, because as evidenced by Stephen (GB 2541082 A), conventional bayonet coupling relies on a combination of friction and resilience (strength) to hold the two parts of the coupling against each other (Stephen Description [027]).
Figure 1: Figure 1 of Gangadhar.
Figure 2: Figure 3 of Gangadhar.
Figure 3: Figure 22 of Carney.
Regarding claim 2, modified Gangadhar further discloses the respirator assembly of claim 1, wherein one or more of the connector threading and the adaptor threading comprise includes the bayonet threads having a ramp angle transverse with the connector threading (Figure 3 above; where the connector and the adaptor comprise bayonet threading that connect to each other and Carney [00102]; where the adaptor ‘202’ (of Figure 3 above), and the connector ‘214’, where the holding torque and compression force can be adjusted by tuning the angle of the bayonet ramp – there is a ramp angle traverse with the connector threading because of the reciprocating bayonet threads on each piece, and they define an angle between them that can be adjusted to change the torque and compression force of the sealing of the facepiece assembly).
Regarding claim 3, modified Gangadhar further discloses the respirator assembly of claim 1, wherein the connector threading and the adaptor threading define one or more ramp angles between them when the adaptor and the connector are operably engaged (Figure 3 above; where the connector and the adaptor comprise bayonet threading that connect to each other and Carney [00102]; where the adaptor ‘202’ (of Figure 3 above), and the connector ‘214’, where the holding torque and compression force can be adjusted by tuning the angle of the bayonet ramp- thereby defining one or more ramp angles between them when the adaptor and the connector are operably engaged).
Regarding claim 4, modified Gangadhar further discloses the respirator assembly of claim 3.
Gangadhar discloses the respirator assembly comprising:
50 degrees (30-50 degrees in [0039] col. 12 lines 13-18, in relation to the angle A1 defined by the tapered end ‘502’ with respect to the bottom surface ‘505’ of the adaptor piece of Figure 5a).
Gangadhar fails to disclose wherein one or more ramp angles are fifty degrees.
Carney discloses a respirator assembly comprising:
one or more ramp angles (Carney [00102]; where the connector ‘214’ and the adaptor ‘202’ provide bayonet features that are ramped and complimentary providing tightening and locking behavior).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respirator assembly of Gangadhar by including ramp angles of the bayonet threading as taught by Carney and maintaining the angle at 50 degrees as taught by Gangadhar, since, torque and compression force can be adjusted by tuning the angle of the bayonet ramp of the threads (Carney [00102]), and because the angle provided by Gangadhar helps to restrict the anti-clockwise rotation (accidental loosening) of the adaptor in relation to the piece connecting to it (Gangadhar [0039] col. 12 lines 4-10).
Regarding claim 5, modified Gangadhar further discloses the respirator assembly of claim 1, further comprising a gasket disposed between the adaptor and the respirator cartridge, wherein the adaptor column further defines a lip on the outer surface of the adaptor column, and wherein the gasket is configured to be operably engaged with the lip of the adaptor column (Figure 1 above; gasket is between adaptor and the respirator cartridge, the gasket is configured to be with the adaptor column, where the lip (Figure 2 above; where there is a lip on the outer surface of the adaptor column), helps to be operably engaged with the gasket by connecting and keeping the gasket held within the lip of the adaptor column).
Regarding claim 6, modified Gangadhar further discloses the respirator assembly of claim 1, wherein the respirator cartridge is configured to receive one or more filters within the housing (Gangadhar [0045] col 14. Lines 11-13; respirator cartridge includes one or more filter elements; filter elements are in the housing as seen by Figure 1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Gangadhar further discloses the respirator assembly of claim 1, wherein the respirator assembly is configured to be operably engaged with a facepiece (Figure 1 above; where the respirator assembly is all connected together into the facepiece).
Regarding claim 8, Gangadhar discloses a respirator (Gangadhar Figure 1; 104-1, 112, 110, 114, 118, 108-1) comprising:
a respirator assembly comprising: a connector comprising a connector base and a connector column (Figure 1 above; connector base and connector column);
wherein the connector column comprises an inner and outer surface (Figure 1 above; where the connector column has an inner and outer surface);
and wherein the connector column defines connector threading on an outer surface of the connector column (Figure 1 above; connector threading on the outer surface of the connector column);
an adaptor comprising an adaptor base and an adaptor column (Figure 1 above; adapter, Figure 2 below; adaptor base/column);
wherein the adaptor column comprises an inner and outer surface (Figure 2 above; where there is an inner and outer surface of the adaptor column);
wherein the adaptor column defines adaptor threading on an inner surface of the adaptor column (Figure 2; adaptor threading on an inner surface of the adaptor column);
wherein connector threading and the adaptor threading are configured to fit together such that the connector and the adaptor are operably engaged (Figure 1 above; all the parts fit together to be engaged with each other);
and a respirator cartridge comprising a housing defining a fitment portion configured to receive the adaptor column such that the respirator cartridge and the adaptor are operably engaged (Figure 1 above; where the housing has a fitment portion that connects with the adaptor and the respirator cartridge is also connected, making them all engaged);
and a facepiece configured to be attached to a face of a user (Figure 1 above; the facepiece is for attaching to the face of a user);
the facepiece comprising one or more attachment slots configured to receive the respirator assembly (Figure 1 above; the connector piece, if you removed it, would contain an attachment slot, along with the connector piece itself is an attachment slot that is configured to receive the rest of the respirator assembly).
Carney discloses a respirator assembly comprising:
wherein one or more of the connector threading and the adaptor threading comprise bayonet threads (Figure 3 above; where there is an adaptor with an adaptor column defining adaptor threading on the inner side that is bayonet threading (threads) ‘252’ that connects to the connector with bayonet threading (threads) ‘254’).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respirator assembly of Gangadhar by including bayonet threading as the threading on the inner surface of a connector as taught by Carney, since, it allows for removable interlocking components that can seal the facepiece together with translational and rotational constraint (Carney [00106]).
Additionally, it would have been readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the bayonet threading would provide a frictional benefit, because as evidenced by Stephen (GB 2541082 A), conventional bayonet coupling relies on a combination of friction and resilience (strength) to hold the two parts of the coupling against each other (Stephen Description [027]).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector piece of Gangadhar with the positioning of having the connector separated from the facepiece to be able to further be modifiable with the adaptor pieces in the respirator assembly. Since such a modification would simply involve merely moving the connector to be placed with a base and a column outside of the mask, without changing the operation of the device, a rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04)
Regarding claim 9, modified Gangadhar further discloses the respirator of claim 8, wherein the adaptor threading includes the bayonet threads having a ramp angle transverse with the connector threading (Figure 3 above; where the connector and the adaptor comprise bayonet threading that connect to each other and Carney [00102]; where the adaptor ‘202’ (of Figure 3 above), and the connector ‘214’, where the holding torque and compression force can be adjusted by tuning the angle of the bayonet ramp – there is a ramp angle traverse with the connector threading because of the reciprocating bayonet threads on each piece, and they define an angle between them that can be adjusted to change the torque and compression force of the sealing of the facepiece assembly).
Regarding claim 10, modified Gangadhar further discloses the respirator of claim 8, wherein the connector threading and the adaptor threading define one or more ramp angles between them when the adaptor and the connector are operably engaged. (Figure 3 above; where the connector and the adaptor comprise bayonet threading that connect to each other and Carney [00102]; where the adaptor ‘202’ (of Figure 3 above), and the connector ‘214’, where the holding torque and compression force can be adjusted by tuning the angle of the bayonet ramp- thereby defining one or more ramp angles between them when the adaptor and the connector are operably engaged).
Regarding claim 11, modified Gangadhar further discloses the respirator of claim 10.
Gangadhar discloses the respirator assembly comprising:
50 degrees (30-50 degrees in [0039] col. 12 lines 13-18, in relation to the angle A1 defined by the tapered end ‘502’ with respect to the bottom surface ‘505’ of the adaptor piece of Figure 5a).
Gangadhar fails to disclose wherein one or more ramp angles are fifty degrees.
Carney discloses a respirator assembly comprising:
one or more ramp angles (Carney [00102]; where the connector ‘214’ and the adaptor ‘202’ provide bayonet features that are ramped and complimentary providing tightening and locking behavior).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respirator assembly of Gangadhar by including ramp angles of the bayonet threading as taught by Carney and maintaining the angle at 50 degrees as taught by Gangadhar, since, torque and compression force can be adjusted by tuning the angle of the bayonet ramp of the threads (Carney [00102]), and because the angle provided by Gangadhar helps to restrict the anti-clockwise rotation (accidental loosening) of the adaptor in relation to the piece connecting to it (Gangadhar [0039] col. 12 lines 4-10).
Regarding claim 12, modified Gangadhar further discloses, the respirator of claim 8, further comprising a gasket disposed between the adaptor and the respirator cartridge, wherein the adaptor column further defines a lip on an outer surface of the adaptor column, and wherein the gasket is configured to be operably engaged with the lip of the adaptor column (Figure 1 above; gasket is between adaptor and the respirator cartridge, the gasket is configured to be with the adaptor column, where the lip (Figure 2 above; where there is a lip on the outer surface of the adaptor column), helps to be operably engaged with the gasket by connecting and keeping the gasket held within the lip of the adaptor column).
Regarding claim 13, modified Gangadhar further discloses the respirator of claim 8, wherein the respirator cartridge is configured to receive one or more filters within the housing (Gangadhar [0045] col 14. Lines 11-13; respirator cartridge includes one or more filter elements; filter elements are in the housing as seen by Figure 1).
Regarding claim 16, Gangadhar further discloses a method for using a respirator assembly (Gangadhar [0002-0003], Figures 1-2 above) the method comprising:
attaching, by a connector threading and an adaptor threading, a connector to an adaptor, securing by one or more adaptor protrusions, the adaptor to a respirator cartridge (Figure 1 above; the threaded lines of the figure allow for the connection of all of the respiratory assembly to the facepiece and the adaptor comprises threading (thus attaching and securing) of the connector to the adaptor, there are adaptor protrusions in Figure 2 above, that allow for the securement of the pieces of the adaptor and the respirator cartridge of Figure 1 above to go together);
and inserting, by a base of the connector, the connector into an attachment slot of a facepiece (Figure 1 above; the connector piece, if you removed it, would contain an attachment slot, along with the connector piece itself is an attachment slot that is configured to receive the rest of the respirator assembly, thereby inserting the base of the connector, the connector into an attachment slot of a facepiece).
Gangadhar fails to disclose wherein one or more of the connector threading and the adaptor threading comprise bayonet threads and define one or more ramp angles.
Carney discloses a respirator assembly wherein:
one or more of the connector threading and the adaptor threading comprise bayonet threads including one or more ramp angles transverse with the connector threading (Figure 3 above; where there is an adaptor with an adaptor column defining adaptor threading on the inner side that is bayonet threading (threads) ‘252’ that connects to the connector with bayonet threading (threads) ‘254’ – thereby having transverse angles with each other because they connect together).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connector piece of Gangadhar with the positioning of having the connector separated from the facepiece to be able to further be modifiable with the adaptor pieces in the respirator assembly. Since such a modification would simply involve merely moving the connector to be placed with a base and a column outside of the mask, without changing the operation of the device, a rearrangement of parts is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04)
Additionally, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respirator assembly of Gangadhar by including bayonet threading as the threading on the inner surface of a connector as taught by Carney, since, it allows for removable interlocking components that can seal the facepiece together with translational and rotational constraint (Carney [00106]).
Furthermore, it would have been readily understood by one of ordinary skill in the art that the bayonet threading would provide a frictional benefit, because as evidenced by Stephen (GB 2541082 A), conventional bayonet coupling relies on a combination of friction and resilience (strength) to hold the two parts of the coupling against each other (Stephen Description [027]).
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Gangadhar (EP 2642262 A1) in view of Carney (WO 2022026002 A1), and further in view of Gomez (US 20210106850 A1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Gangadhar further discloses the respirator of claim 8.
Modified Gangadhar is silent to the facepiece further comprising a band configured to secure the facepiece to the face of the user.
Gomez discloses the respirator assembly including a face piece,
wherein the facepiece further comprises a band configured to secure the facepiece to the face of the user (Gomez Figure 1; ‘125’ is the adjustable band to secure the facepiece to the user).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the respirator of modified Gangadhar to include and adjustable band and straps to engage the assembly with the facepiece as taught by Gomez, since, an adjustable band/ straps for a facepiece and respiratory assembly, allows the user’s head/ face to better accommodated and adjusted for operable engagement with a facepiece and respiratory assembly (Gomez [0023]).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Gangadhar in view of Gomez further discloses the respirator of claim 14, wherein the facepiece further comprises one or more straps operably engaged to the band and configured to adjust the facepiece to the face of the user (Gomez Figure 1; there are two straps ‘120’ and ‘115’ that are engaged to the band and configured to adjust the facepiece to the face of a user, Gomez [0023]; explanation of the two straps).
Conclusion
The following prior art were considered but not used on a 35 U.S.C. § 102 or 103 rejection: WO 2023044571 A1, WO 2022077127 A1, US 20220071851 A1.
/AISLINN M JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/BRANDY S LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785