Notice to Applicant
The following is a Final Office action to Application Serial Number 18/314,542, filed on May 9, 2023. In response to Examiner’s Office Action of May 19, 2025, Applicant, on August 19, 2025, amended claims 1, 8, and 15. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application and have been rejected below.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments are acknowledged.
The 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections are hereby amended pursuant to applicants’ amendments. Updated 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections have been applied to amended claims. Please refer to the § 103 rejection for further explanation and rationale.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 19, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive and/or are moot in view of the revised rejections. Applicant’s arguments will be addressed herein below in the order in which they appear in the response filed August 19, 2025.
On Pg. 15-16 of the Remarks, regarding 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections. Applicant states cited prior art references fail to disclose or suggest the features of amended claim language. In response, new ground(s) of rejection is made necessitated by amendment see MPEP 706.07a where Greenfield is now applied for Claims 1, 8 and 15. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims has been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Priority
The Examiner has noted this Application is a Continuation of Application 16/714,316 filed December 13, 2019.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amin et al., US Publication No. 20130132140 A1, [hereinafter Amin], in view of Greenfield et al, US Patent No. 10198521B2, [hereinafter Greenfield], and in view of Edecker et al, US Publication No. 20190163687A1, [hereinafter Edecker].
Regarding Claim 1,
Amin teaches
A method comprising: generating, for display within a graphical user interface of a mobile device, a digital map of an area corresponding to a location of the mobile device and depicting one or more visual location indicators (Amin Par. 28-“Accordingly, system 100 can use data provided by an on-demand service system, data provided by other components of the mobile computing device, and information provided by a user in order to present user interface features and functionality for enabling the user to request an on-demand service. The user interface features can be specific to the location or region that the computing device is located in, so that region-specific information can be provided to the user. System 100 can also adjust the user interface features, including the content displayed as part of the user interface features, based on other user selections.”; Par. 73-75-“The home page user interface 300 a can also include a map that illustrates at least a portion of the region in which the user's current location or pickup location is located in. The map can include a graphic pin 313 that indicates the user's current location or pickup location. In some implementations, the home page user interface 300 a can also include a feature (proximate to or as part of the graphic pin 313) that indicates an estimated time of arrival 330 of an available service provider having a vehicle of the selected type, and a request selection feature 340 to enable the user to request the transport service using the selected vehicle type. The estimated time of arrival 330 can dynamically be altered in response to the user changing the selection by moving the slider feature 322 along the path 321…For example, based on the selected vehicle type and determined region, one or more graphic vehicle indicators 315 (if any) can be dynamically provided on the map to indicate to the user the current/real-time locations and movements of the service providers having the selected vehicle type. The graphic vehicle indicators 315 can indicate to the user that the driver is currently available to service the user and is within the region or portion of the region in which the user's current location or pickup location is located in. In the example illustrated in FIG. 3C, the user has selected Sedan vehicles as the vehicle type in which he or she would like to potentially request a transport service. The map can display graphic vehicle indicators 315 that visually represent Sedan vehicles that are near the current location or pickup location of the user. If the user changes the vehicle selection using the multistate selection feature 320 to select SUVs, the graphic vehicle indicators 315 of the Sedans can be removed from the map and one or more graphic vehicle indicators 315 (if any) of SUVs can be provided on the map.”);
providing, for display together with the digital map within the graphical user interface of the mobile device, the information panel,… (Amin Fig. 3C-D, 7B; Par. 62-63;. 65-“FIG. 3B illustrates a summary panel that can be displayed to the user by the on-demand service application. Depending on implementation, the summary panel 360 can be provided independently of the multistate selection feature 320 or be provided concurrently with the multistate selection feature 320. The summary panel 360 can provide region-specific information that also corresponds to the service option selection made by the user on the multistate selection feature 320. The summary panel 360 can include a plurality of sections 361, 363, 365 that each include dynamically provided content that is region-specific and selection-specific”);
detecting an update to the information depicted within the digital map by detecting a change to the one or more visual location indicators; (Amin Par. 74-76; Par. 91-92-“ FIG. 3H illustrates another example of a user interface feature that can be displayed by an on-demand service application. In some examples, the user interface 395 can be displayed by the on-demand service application in response to a user interacting with a previously displayed user interface (e.g., such as the user interfaces 300 a, 300 b, 350 a, 350 b, 380, 500 of FIG. 5A, etc.) The user interface 395 displays a full screen (or close to full screen) view of an expanded map 396 that provides information about the user's location (marked by a graphic pin, such as the graphic pin 313 of FIG. 3C) as well as one or more graphic vehicle indicators that are dynamically provided on the map 396 to indicate the current/real-time locations and movements of the available service providers.)
and based on detecting the change to the one or more visual location indicators within the digital map, modifying the information panel within the graphical user interface… (Amin Par. 76- 77-“ In one implementation, one or more graphic vehicle indicators 315 can move on the map corresponding to the real-time and real-life movements of the service providers' vehicles relative to the user's current location or pickup location. The movements of the graphic vehicle indicators 315 can be determined using provider data (e.g., via provider information 177 transmitted by the transport service system in FIG. 1) that includes GPS data of the drivers' vehicles… In this manner, real-time vehicle movements and locations can be correlated to maps of streets and roads so that the graphic vehicle indicators 315 can be displayed to the user. In addition, by map-fitting the GPS points with the known geolocations of streets, the transport service system can correct for inconsistencies and smooth out lines between GPS points so that the corresponding graphic vehicle indicators 315 can be accurately displayed on a map to the user on the user's computing device (e.g., on user interface 300a).”)
Amin teaches overlay map display features and the following feature is expounded upon by Greenfield:
determining, based on a number of visual location indicators depicted within the digital map and further based on a vertical resolution of the mobile device, a first overlaying position defining a first size of an information panel presenting information associated with transportation requests: (Greenfield Abstract; Col 14; Col 17- The method begins with receiving 403 a plurality of user-defined locations (e.g., start and stop destinations, or a point of interest set) from a client. These locations can be selected by the user, for example, using check boxes next to the desired locations indicated in the Places panel of the GUI 201 a. Alternatively, the GUI 201 a can be configured to allow the user to enter a series of locations using one or more text entry fields (e.g., start location field, a plurality of intermediate location fields, and a stop location field). The locations can be arbitrary and the order of selection is insignificant (e.g., either the start or end location may be selected first, and subsequent routing requests my replace one or both of the start or end locations); Col 38- The <size> tag is a simple tag and child of the <ScreenOverlay> element; it has no child tags. The <size> tag is used to indicate the width and height of the overlay image based on the screen size. Use of the size tag is best illustrated by example. To force the image to maintain its native height, width, and aspect ratio, set the values to zero: <size x=“0” y=“0” xunits=“fraction” yunits=“fraction”/>. To force the image to retain its horizontal dimension, but to take up 20% of the vertical screen space: <size x=“0” y=“0.2” xunits=“fraction” yunits=“fraction”/>. To force the image to resize to 100 px by 500 px: <size x=“100” y=“500” xunits=“pixels” yunits=“pixels”/>.”).
…by placing the information panel in the first overlaying position (Greenfield Col. 26- As previously explained, KML is an XML schema for defining geospatial markup. Main elements of one embodiment include: folders, placemarks (geospatially located icons with labels and an associated description), lines, polygons, image overlays (geospatially oriented images overlayed on top of a base map), screen overlays (screen-aligned images, not geospatially oriented), and network links.)
Amin is directed to transport display interaction and analysis. Greenfield improves upon the display analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon interface display of Amin, as taught by Greenfield, by utilizing additional map display analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Amin with the motivation of allowing a greater degree of flexibility, utility, and information . (Greenfield Abstract).
Amin in view of Greenfield teach overlay map display features and the following feature is expounded upon by Edecker:
…, modifying the information panel within the graphical user interface by placing the information panel in a second overlaying position defining a second size of the information panel according to the information depicted in the digital map in response to the update, wherein the second size is different from the first size. (Edecker Par. 21- “In an embodiment, the disclosed system provides for layers or overlays, which can be conceptualized as processes that overlay the map like virtual sheets and can be switched on, combined or altered, or shut off.; Par. 95; Par. 138-139- FIG. 29 illustrates the above-described schema graphically. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 29, the set of standard tool positions consists of four sections, which are populated in the order shown. In this embodiment, all sections are centered relative to corresponding window boundary. For browser-based implementations of the disclosed system, the number of tools in the vertical (left and right) sections may vary from 2 to 5 depending on display horizontal resolution, aspect ratio and current size of browser window. Similarly, horizontal (bottom and top) sections may contain 2 or more tools. For tablet-tailored full screen implementations of the disclosed system, the number of tools in vertical sections can equal to 2 or 3 depending on resolution and aspect ratio, while the number of tools in horizontal sections is greater or equal then 2.; Par. 146-147; Par. 151; Par. 175; Par. 325-In the formula above, the <display-resolution> and <display-size> variables are set to values measured based on either the vertical or horizontal side of the display. Put another way, the disclosed system in one embodiment computes the altitude by using a full-screen projection of a real-world object onto a computer display surface, as it would be viewed by a user when the object is located far behind the plane of the display surface.; Par. 146- “The sizes of all interface elements depend on horizontal display resolution. They can be determined by the zoom factor Z of the unified scale of display resolutions, which is also used by the Navigator Tool for computing of the mapping of perceived altitude above the ground onto city map imagery of various resolutions.”; Par. 158; Par. 218-220 “In one embodiment, bookmarked destinations are indicated on the map via dashed outlines (frames) and accompanying destination labels. Destination labels are active map objects, which are used to select and zoom to current destination and/or edit destination name. They are usually located at the top right corner of the destination frame. Nevertheless, label screen coordinates, dimensions and font size are calculated dynamically at run-time depending on the map zoom level and the destination frame position within the map window to make sure destination names are readable and do not overlap. Different label sizes may be used at different viewing altitudes in order to improve map readability.; Par. 240; Par. 562-569- The disclosed system remedies many of these problems. IN various embodiments, the disclosed system enables comparing informational windows by either displaying them as opening side by side or by enabling the user to quickly toggle informational windows “in place,” as will be described in more detail below. In a first embodiment, the disclosed system enables side-by-side comparisons but requires that the system constrain itself by screen space. In a second embodiment, in which the disclosed system enables toggling between windows, advantages can be realized from the fact that there are no space limitations and the user does not need to constantly shift gaze between windows during comparison. As a result, in one embodiment, the disclosed system displays informational windows having identical or nearly identical layouts, such that titles, pictures, and the like are always in the same position of the window. In this embodiment, comparing information by toggling windows in place becomes very convenient, since each informational field within a window, such as, for example, working hours or pricing, etc., always stays at the same screen position regardless of actual content. (510) In one embodiment, the disclosed system enables several search layers to be displayed over the map at the same time, where each search layer includes locations of a specific subcategory. In this embodiment, the disclosed system only enables the comparison of map elements within a single category, since users typically would not want to compare among a plurality of categories. Of course, the disclosed system enables the user to switch between search layers to compare and select locations of different subcategories in a concurrent manner. Thus, in various embodiments, the disclosed system enables the user to work with several lists simultaneously (e.g., one list per search layer), and quickly switch between these lists in the various categories.”; Par. 549 )
Amin and Greenfield are directed to transport display interaction and analysis. Edecker improves upon the display analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon interface display of Amin in view of Greenfield, as taught by Edecker, by utilizing additional map display analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Amin in view of Greenfield with the motivation of enabling a user to easily navigate a graphical user environment.. (Edecker Par. 3).
Regarding Claim 2, Claim 9 and Claim 16,Amin in view of Greenfield in further view of Edecker teach The method of claim 1, wherein providing the information panel for display in the first overlaying position comprises: ,..., The system of claim 8, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to provide the information panel for display in the first overlaying position by,... and The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15, further comprising instructions that, when executed by the computing device, cause the computing device to provide the information panel for display in the first overlaying position by:,...
generating the information panel in the first size based on an amount of information depicted within the digital map; and providing the information panel for display overlaid over a first portion of the digital map based on the amount of information depicted within the digital map. (Amin –Fig 3C-D; Par. 79-80“ As illustrated in FIG. 3D, the summary user interface 350 a can overlay the previously displayed user interface feature, such as the home page user interface 300 a, so that a portion of the previously displayed user interface feature can be continued to be displayed to the user. For example, the summary user interface 350 a can include a summary panel 360 that is displayed over the previously displayed user interface feature, such as the home page user interface 300 a. In some examples, the summary panel 360 can be presented concurrently with the multistate selection feature 320. In other variations, a semi-transparent shading 370 can overlay a portion of the previously displayed user interface feature so that the user can continue to view information provided on portions of the previously displayed user interface.”);
Regarding Claim 3, Claim 10, and Claim 17, Amin in view of Greenfield in further view of Edecker teach The method of claim 1,..., The system of claim 8,..., and The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15,…
Amin teaches overlay map display features and the following feature is expounded upon by Greenfield:
further comprising: generating the information panel to include a plurality of transportation modality indicator tabs that correspond to different transportation modalities; and determining the first overlaying position according to a number of visual location indicators that correspond to a transportation modality indicator tab of the plurality of transportation modality indicator tabs. (Greenfield Abstract; Col 14; Col 17- The method begins with receiving 403 a plurality of user-defined locations (e.g., start and stop destinations, or a point of interest set) from a client. These locations can be selected by the user, for example, using check boxes next to the desired locations indicated in the Places panel of the GUI 201 a. Alternatively, the GUI 201 a can be configured to allow the user to enter a series of locations using one or more text entry fields (e.g., start location field, a plurality of intermediate location fields, and a stop location field). The locations can be arbitrary and the order of selection is insignificant (e.g., either the start or end location may be selected first, and subsequent routing requests my replace one or both of the start or end locations); Col 38- The <size> tag is a simple tag and child of the <ScreenOverlay> element; it has no child tags. The <size> tag is used to indicate the width and height of the overlay image based on the screen size. Use of the size tag is best illustrated by example. To force the image to maintain its native height, width, and aspect ratio, set the values to zero: <size x=“0” y=“0” xunits=“fraction” yunits=“fraction”/>. To force the image to retain its horizontal dimension, but to take up 20% of the vertical screen space: <size x=“0” y=“0.2” xunits=“fraction” yunits=“fraction”/>. To force the image to resize to 100 px by 500 px: <size x=“100” y=“500” xunits=“pixels” yunits=“pixels”/>.”).
Amin is directed to transport display interaction and analysis. Greenfield improves upon the display analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon interface display of Amin, as taught by Greenfield, by utilizing additional map display analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Amin with the motivation of allowing a greater degree of flexibility, utility, and information . (Greenfield Abstract).
Regarding Claim 4, Claim 11, and Claim 18, Amin in view of Greenfield in further view of Edecker teach The method of claim 1,..., The system of claim 8,..., and The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15,…
determining, based on a change in the number of visual location indicators depicted within the digital map, the second overlaying position for the information panel; modifying a size of the information panel to fit the second overlaying position (Amin Par. 92-93- For example, if the user interface 380 of FIG. 3G is presented to the user and the user provides an input to cause the map to be expanded, the map can expand from a first size (e.g., from the window size in FIG. 3G) to a second size (e.g., to the size in FIG. 3H). In this manner, the user can see a full view of the general region, such as where the user is, the nearby service providers, etc., before committing to request the service. In some variations, a graphical transition can be provided to show the transition between the map in a previously displayed user interface to the expanded map 396 in the user interface 395.”; Fig. 3G”);
and modifying a location of the information panel to overlay a different portion of the digital map within the graphical user interface based on the change in an amount of information depicted within the digital map according to the second overlaying position. (Amin – Par. 122-“ Still further, a graphical transition can include a visual expansion (from a first size to a second larger size, for example) of a feature on a user interface and/or a visual reduction of a feature. Referring to FIGS. 3C and 3H, for example, an input by a user to expand the map that is displayed with the user interface 300 a of FIG. 3C can cause a visual expansion of the map from the manner displayed in the user interface 300 a to a full size image of the map as displayed in the user interface 395 of FIG. 3H. Similarly, a user input selecting the reduce feature 397 of the user interface 395 can cause a visual reduction from the full size image of the map 396 to the previous size of the previous user interface feature. In some variations, the pull down menus can be semi-transparent to continue to display the overlaid portions of the user interface feature in the background.”).
Regarding Claim 5, Claim 12 and Claim 19, Amin in view of Greenfield in further view of Edecker teach The method of claim 1,..., The system of claim 8,..., and The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15,…
wherein detecting the update to the information depicted within the digital map comprises detecting a change in an amount of information relevant to a user account associated with the mobile device. (Amin –Par. 50-“ In another example, for an on-demand transport service, the summary panel can provide region-specific information, such as the estimated time of arrival for pickup (based on the user's current location or pickup location and the current locations of the available vehicles of the selected type), ; Par. 74- In some examples, the on-demand service application that operates on the user's computing device can communicate with the on-demand service system to receive real-time information about service providers in the determined region of the user. The on-demand service system can continually (periodically) receive data from the computing devices of the service providers (e.g., such as GPS data, driver and vehicle information) in order to determine the current location of the service providers, the speed and direction in which the service provider is moving, whether a service provider is currently providing a transport service (e.g., is currently occupied), etc., and other service provider information. The on-demand service application can receive information about one or more service providers in the vicinity of the user's current location or pickup location in order to provide real-time information to the user.; Par. 29).
Regarding Claim 7, Amin in view of Greenfield in further view of Edecker teach The system of claim 1,...,
wherein the information panel in the first overlaying position depicts a first number of information items and the information panel in the second overlaying position depicts a second number of information items that is different than the first number of information items. (Edecker –Par. 31;Par. 138-“ FIG. 29 illustrates the above-described schema graphically. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 29, the set of standard tool positions consists of four sections, which are populated in the order shown. In this embodiment, all sections are centered relative to corresponding window boundary. For browser-based implementations of the disclosed system, the number of tools in the vertical (left and right) sections may vary from 2 to 5 depending on display horizontal resolution, aspect ratio and current size of browser window. Similarly, horizontal (bottom and top) sections may contain 2 or more tools. For tablet-tailored full screen implementations of the disclosed system, the number of tools in vertical sections can equal to 2 or 3 depending on resolution and aspect ratio, while the number of tools in horizontal sections is greater or equal then 2.”; Par. 95; Par. 125; Par. 146).
Amin and Greenfield are directed to transport display interaction and analysis. Edecker improves upon the display analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon interface display of Amin in view of Greenfield, as taught by Edecker, by utilizing additional map display analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Amin in view of Greenfield with the motivation of enabling a user to easily navigate a graphical user environment.. (Edecker Par. 3).
Regarding Claim 8,
Amin teaches
A system comprising: at least one processor; and a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the system to: generate, for display within a graphical user interface of a mobile device, a digital map of an area corresponding to a location of the mobile device and depicting one or more visual location indicators ; (Amin Par. 25; Par. 28-“Accordingly, system 100 can use data provided by an on-demand service system, data provided by other components of the mobile computing device, and information provided by a user in order to present user interface features and functionality for enabling the user to request an on-demand service. The user interface features can be specific to the location or region that the computing device is located in, so that region-specific information can be provided to the user. System 100 can also adjust the user interface features, including the content displayed as part of the user interface features, based on other user selections.”; Par. 73-75-“The home page user interface 300 a can also include a map that illustrates at least a portion of the region in which the user's current location or pickup location is located in. The map can include a graphic pin 313 that indicates the user's current location or pickup location. In some implementations, the home page user interface 300 a can also include a feature (proximate to or as part of the graphic pin 313) that indicates an estimated time of arrival 330 of an available service provider having a vehicle of the selected type, and a request selection feature 340 to enable the user to request the transport service using the selected vehicle type. The estimated time of arrival 330 can dynamically be altered in response to the user changing the selection by moving the slider feature 322 along the path 321…For example, based on the selected vehicle type and determined region, one or more graphic vehicle indicators 315 (if any) can be dynamically provided on the map to indicate to the user the current/real-time locations and movements of the service providers having the selected vehicle type. The graphic vehicle indicators 315 can indicate to the user that the driver is currently available to service the user and is within the region or portion of the region in which the user's current location or pickup location is located in. In the example illustrated in FIG. 3C, the user has selected Sedan vehicles as the vehicle type in which he or she would like to potentially request a transport service. The map can display graphic vehicle indicators 315 that visually represent Sedan vehicles that are near the current location or pickup location of the user. If the user changes the vehicle selection using the multistate selection feature 320 to select SUVs, the graphic vehicle indicators 315 of the Sedans can be removed from the map and one or more graphic vehicle indicators 315 (if any) of SUVs can be provided on the map.”);
provide, for display together with the digital map within the graphical user interface of the mobile device, the information, … (Amin Fig. 3C-D, 7B; Par. 62-63;. 65-“FIG. 3B illustrates a summary panel that can be displayed to the user by the on-demand service application. Depending on implementation, the summary panel 360 can be provided independently of the multistate selection feature 320 or be provided concurrently with the multistate selection feature 320. The summary panel 360 can provide region-specific information that also corresponds to the service option selection made by the user on the multistate selection feature 320. The summary panel 360 can include a plurality of sections 361, 363, 365 that each include dynamically provided content that is region-specific and selection-specific”);
detect an update to the information depicted within the digital map by detecting a change to the one or more visual location indicators; (Amin Par. 74-76; Par. 91-92-“ FIG. 3H illustrates another example of a user interface feature that can be displayed by an on-demand service application. In some examples, the user interface 395 can be displayed by the on-demand service application in response to a user interacting with a previously displayed user interface (e.g., such as the user interfaces 300 a, 300 b, 350 a, 350 b, 380, 500 of FIG. 5A, etc.) The user interface 395 displays a full screen (or close to full screen) view of an expanded map 396 that provides information about the user's location (marked by a graphic pin, such as the graphic pin 313 of FIG. 3C) as well as one or more graphic vehicle indicators that are dynamically provided on the map 396 to indicate the current/real-time locations and movements of the available service providers.)
and based on detecting the change to the one or more visual location indicators within the digital map, modifying the information panel within the graphical user interface… (Amin Par. 76- 77-“ In one implementation, one or more graphic vehicle indicators 315 can move on the map corresponding to the real-time and real-life movements of the service providers' vehicles relative to the user's current location or pickup location. The movements of the graphic vehicle indicators 315 can be determined using provider data (e.g., via provider information 177 transmitted by the transport service system in FIG. 1) that includes GPS data of the drivers' vehicles… In this manner, real-time vehicle movements and locations can be correlated to maps of streets and roads so that the graphic vehicle indicators 315 can be displayed to the user. In addition, by map-fitting the GPS points with the known geolocations of streets, the transport service system can correct for inconsistencies and smooth out lines between GPS points so that the corresponding graphic vehicle indicators 315 can be accurately displayed on a map to the user on the user's computing device (e.g., on user interface 300a).”)
Amin teaches overlay map display features and the following feature is expounded upon by Greenfield:
determining, based on a number of visual location indicators depicted within the digital map and further based on a vertical resolution of the mobile device, a first overlaying position defining a first size of an information panel presenting information associated with transportation requests: (Greenfield Abstract; Col 14; Col 17- The method begins with receiving 403 a plurality of user-defined locations (e.g., start and stop destinations, or a point of interest set) from a client. These locations can be selected by the user, for example, using check boxes next to the desired locations indicated in the Places panel of the GUI 201 a. Alternatively, the GUI 201 a can be configured to allow the user to enter a series of locations using one or more text entry fields (e.g., start location field, a plurality of intermediate location fields, and a stop location field). The locations can be arbitrary and the order of selection is insignificant (e.g., either the start or end location may be selected first, and subsequent routing requests my replace one or both of the start or end locations); Col 38- The <size> tag is a simple tag and child of the <ScreenOverlay> element; it has no child tags. The <size> tag is used to indicate the width and height of the overlay image based on the screen size. Use of the size tag is best illustrated by example. To force the image to maintain its native height, width, and aspect ratio, set the values to zero: <size x=“0” y=“0” xunits=“fraction” yunits=“fraction”/>. To force the image to retain its horizontal dimension, but to take up 20% of the vertical screen space: <size x=“0” y=“0.2” xunits=“fraction” yunits=“fraction”/>. To force the image to resize to 100 px by 500 px: <size x=“100” y=“500” xunits=“pixels” yunits=“pixels”/>.”).
…by placing the information panel in the first overlaying position (Greenfield Col. 26- As previously explained, KML is an XML schema for defining geospatial markup. Main elements of one embodiment include: folders, placemarks (geospatially located icons with labels and an associated description), lines, polygons, image overlays (geospatially oriented images overlayed on top of a base map), screen overlays (screen-aligned images, not geospatially oriented), and network links.)
Amin is directed to transport display interaction and analysis. Greenfield improves upon the display analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon interface display of Amin, as taught by Greenfield, by utilizing additional map display analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Amin with the motivation of allowing a greater degree of flexibility, utility, and information . (Greenfield Abstract).
Amin in view of Greenfield teach overlay map display features and the following feature is expounded upon by Edecker:
…, modify the information panel within the graphical user interface by placing the information panel in a second overlaying position defining a second size of the information panel according to the information depicted in the digital map in response to the update, wherein the second size is different from the first size. (Edecker Par. 21- “In an embodiment, the disclosed system provides for layers or overlays, which can be conceptualized as processes that overlay the map like virtual sheets and can be switched on, combined or altered, or shut off.; Par. 95; Par. 138-139- FIG. 29 illustrates the above-described schema graphically. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 29, the set of standard tool positions consists of four sections, which are populated in the order shown. In this embodiment, all sections are centered relative to corresponding window boundary. For browser-based implementations of the disclosed system, the number of tools in the vertical (left and right) sections may vary from 2 to 5 depending on display horizontal resolution, aspect ratio and current size of browser window. Similarly, horizontal (bottom and top) sections may contain 2 or more tools. For tablet-tailored full screen implementations of the disclosed system, the number of tools in vertical sections can equal to 2 or 3 depending on resolution and aspect ratio, while the number of tools in horizontal sections is greater or equal then 2.; Par. 146-147; Par. 151; Par. 175; Par. 325-In the formula above, the <display-resolution> and <display-size> variables are set to values measured based on either the vertical or horizontal side of the display. Put another way, the disclosed system in one embodiment computes the altitude by using a full-screen projection of a real-world object onto a computer display surface, as it would be viewed by a user when the object is located far behind the plane of the display surface; Par. 146- “The sizes of all interface elements depend on horizontal display resolution. They can be determined by the zoom factor Z of the unified scale of display resolutions, which is also used by the Navigator Tool for computing of the mapping of perceived altitude above the ground onto city map imagery of various resolutions.”; Par. 158; Par. 218-220 “In one embodiment, bookmarked destinations are indicated on the map via dashed outlines (frames) and accompanying destination labels. Destination labels are active map objects, which are used to select and zoom to current destination and/or edit destination name. They are usually located at the top right corner of the destination frame. Nevertheless, label screen coordinates, dimensions and font size are calculated dynamically at run-time depending on the map zoom level and the destination frame position within the map window to make sure destination names are readable and do not overlap. Different label sizes may be used at different viewing altitudes in order to improve map readability.; Par. 240; Par. 562-569- The disclosed system remedies many of these problems. IN various embodiments, the disclosed system enables comparing informational windows by either displaying them as opening side by side or by enabling the user to quickly toggle informational windows “in place,” as will be described in more detail below. In a first embodiment, the disclosed system enables side-by-side comparisons but requires that the system constrain itself by screen space. In a second embodiment, in which the disclosed system enables toggling between windows, advantages can be realized from the fact that there are no space limitations and the user does not need to constantly shift gaze between windows during comparison. As a result, in one embodiment, the disclosed system displays informational windows having identical or nearly identical layouts, such that titles, pictures, and the like are always in the same position of the window. In this embodiment, comparing information by toggling windows in place becomes very convenient, since each informational field within a window, such as, for example, working hours or pricing, etc., always stays at the same screen position regardless of actual content. (510) In one embodiment, the disclosed system enables several search layers to be displayed over the map at the same time, where each search layer includes locations of a specific subcategory. In this embodiment, the disclosed system only enables the comparison of map elements within a single category, since users typically would not want to compare among a plurality of categories. Of course, the disclosed system enables the user to switch between search layers to compare and select locations of different subcategories in a concurrent manner. Thus, in various embodiments, the disclosed system enables the user to work with several lists simultaneously (e.g., one list per search layer), and quickly switch between these lists in the various categories.”; Par. 549 )
Amin is directed to transport display interaction and analysis. Edecker improves upon the display analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon interface display of Amin, as taught by Edecker, by utilizing additional map display analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Amin with the motivation of enabling a user to easily navigate a graphical user environment.. (Edecker Par. 3).
Regarding Claim 15,
Amin teaches
A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed by a computing device, cause the computing device to: generate, for display within a graphical user interface of a mobile device, a digital map of an area corresponding to a location of the mobile device and depicting one or more visual location indicators (Amin Par. 25; Par. 28-“Accordingly, system 100 can use data provided by an on-demand service system, data provided by other components of the mobile computing device, and information provided by a user in order to present user interface features and functionality for enabling the user to request an on-demand service. The user interface features can be specific to the location or region that the computing device is located in, so that region-specific information can be provided to the user. System 100 can also adjust the user interface features, including the content displayed as part of the user interface features, based on other user selections.”; Par. 73-75-“The home page user interface 300 a can also include a map that illustrates at least a portion of the region in which the user's current location or pickup location is located in. The map can include a graphic pin 313 that indicates the user's current location or pickup location. In some implementations, the home page user interface 300 a can also include a feature (proximate to or as part of the graphic pin 313) that indicates an estimated time of arrival 330 of an available service provider having a vehicle of the selected type, and a request selection feature 340 to enable the user to request the transport service using the selected vehicle type. The estimated time of arrival 330 can dynamically be altered in response to the user changing the selection by moving the slider feature 322 along the path 321…For example, based on the selected vehicle type and determined region, one or more graphic vehicle indicators 315 (if any) can be dynamically provided on the map to indicate to the user the current/real-time locations and movements of the service providers having the selected vehicle type. The graphic vehicle indicators 315 can indicate to the user that the driver is currently available to service the user and is within the region or portion of the region in which the user's current location or pickup location is located in. In the example illustrated in FIG. 3C, the user has selected Sedan vehicles as the vehicle type in which he or she would like to potentially request a transport service. The map can display graphic vehicle indicators 315 that visually represent Sedan vehicles that are near the current location or pickup location of the user. If the user changes the vehicle selection using the multistate selection feature 320 to select SUVs, the graphic vehicle indicators 315 of the Sedans can be removed from the map and one or more graphic vehicle indicators 315 (if any) of SUVs can be provided on the map.””);
provide, for display together with the digital map within the graphical user interface of the mobile device…(Amin Fig. 3C-D, 7B; Par. 62-63;. 65-“FIG. 3B illustrates a summary panel that can be displayed to the user by the on-demand service application. Depending on implementation, the summary panel 360 can be provided independently of the multistate selection feature 320 or be provided concurrently with the multistate selection feature 320. The summary panel 360 can provide region-specific information that also corresponds to the service option selection made by the user on the multistate selection feature 320. The summary panel 360 can include a plurality of sections 361, 363, 365 that each include dynamically provided content that is region-specific and selection-specific”);
detect an update to the information depicted within the digital map by detecting a change to the one or more visual location indicators ; (Amin Par. 74-76; Par. 91-92-“ FIG. 3H illustrates another example of a user interface feature that can be displayed by an on-demand service application. In some examples, the user interface 395 can be displayed by the on-demand service application in response to a user interacting with a previously displayed user interface (e.g., such as the user interfaces 300 a, 300 b, 350 a, 350 b, 380, 500 of FIG. 5A, etc.) The user interface 395 displays a full screen (or close to full screen) view of an expanded map 396 that provides information about the user's location (marked by a graphic pin, such as the graphic pin 313 of FIG. 3C) as well as one or more graphic vehicle indicators that are dynamically provided on the map 396 to indicate the current/real-time locations and movements of the available service providers.)
and based on detecting the change to the one or more visual location indicators within the digital map, modify the information panel within the graphical user interface… (Amin Par. 76- 77-“ In one implementation, one or more graphic vehicle indicators 315 can move on the map corresponding to the real-time and real-life movements of the service providers' vehicles relative to the user's current location or pickup location. The movements of the graphic vehicle indicators 315 can be determined using provider data (e.g., via provider information 177 transmitted by the transport service system in FIG. 1) that includes GPS data of the drivers' vehicles… In this manner, real-time vehicle movements and locations can be correlated to maps of streets and roads so that the graphic vehicle indicators 315 can be displayed to the user. In addition, by map-fitting the GPS points with the known geolocations of streets, the transport service system can correct for inconsistencies and smooth out lines between GPS points so that the corresponding graphic vehicle indicators 315 can be accurately displayed on a map to the user on the user's computing device (e.g., on user interface 300a).”)
Amin teaches overlay map display features and the following feature is expounded upon by Greenfield:
determining, based on a number of visual location indicators depicted within the digital map and further based on a vertical resolution of the mobile device, a first overlaying position defining a first size of an information panel presenting information associated with transportation requests: (Greenfield Abstract; Col 14; Col 17- The method begins with receiving 403 a plurality of user-defined locations (e.g., start and stop destinations, or a point of interest set) from a client. These locations can be selected by the user, for example, using check boxes next to the desired locations indicated in the Places panel of the GUI 201 a. Alternatively, the GUI 201 a can be configured to allow the user to enter a series of locations using one or more text entry fields (e.g., start location field, a plurality of intermediate location fields, and a stop location field). The locations can be arbitrary and the order of selection is insignificant (e.g., either the start or end location may be selected first, and subsequent routing requests my replace one or both of the start or end locations); Col 38- The <size> tag is a simple tag and child of the <ScreenOverlay> element; it has no child tags. The <size> tag is used to indicate the width and height of the overlay image based on the screen size. Use of the size tag is best illustrated by example. To force the image to maintain its native height, width, and aspect ratio, set the values to zero: <size x=“0” y=“0” xunits=“fraction” yunits=“fraction”/>. To force the image to retain its horizontal dimension, but to take up 20% of the vertical screen space: <size x=“0” y=“0.2” xunits=“fraction” yunits=“fraction”/>. To force the image to resize to 100 px by 500 px: <size x=“100” y=“500” xunits=“pixels” yunits=“pixels”/>.”).
…by placing the information panel in the first overlaying position (Greenfield Col. 26- As previously explained, KML is an XML schema for defining geospatial markup. Main elements of one embodiment include: folders, placemarks (geospatially located icons with labels and an associated description), lines, polygons, image overlays (geospatially oriented images overlayed on top of a base map), screen overlays (screen-aligned images, not geospatially oriented), and network links.)
Amin is directed to transport display interaction and analysis. Greenfield improves upon the display analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon interface display of Amin, as taught by Greenfield, by utilizing additional map display analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Amin with the motivation of allowing a greater degree of flexibility, utility, and information . (Greenfield Abstract).
Amin in view of Greenfield teach overlay map display features and the following feature is expounded upon by Edecker:
…, modify the information panel within the graphical user interface by placing the information panel in a second overlaying position defining a second size of the information panel according to the information depicted in the digital map in response to the update, wherein the second size is different from the first size. (Edecker Par. 21- “In an embodiment, the disclosed system provides for layers or overlays, which can be conceptualized as processes that overlay the map like virtual sheets and can be switched on, combined or altered, or shut off.; Par. 95; Par. 138-139- FIG. 29 illustrates the above-described schema graphically. In the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 29, the set of standard tool positions consists of four sections, which are populated in the order shown. In this embodiment, all sections are centered relative to corresponding window boundary. For browser-based implementations of the disclosed system, the number of tools in the vertical (left and right) sections may vary from 2 to 5 depending on display horizontal resolution, aspect ratio and current size of browser window. Similarly, horizontal (bottom and top) sections may contain 2 or more tools. For tablet-tailored full screen implementations of the disclosed system, the number of tools in vertical sections can equal to 2 or 3 depending on resolution and aspect ratio, while the number of tools in horizontal sections is greater or equal then 2.; Par. 146-147; Par. 151; Par. 175; Par. 325-In the formula above, the <display-resolution> and <display-size> variables are set to values measured based on either the vertical or horizontal side of the display. Put another way, the disclosed system in one embodiment computes the altitude by using a full-screen projection of a real-world object onto a computer display surface, as it would be viewed by a user when the object is located far behind the plane of the display surface. Par. 146- “The sizes of all interface elements depend on horizontal display resolution. They can be determined by the zoom factor Z of the unified scale of display resolutions, which is also used by the Navigator Tool for computing of the mapping of perceived altitude above the ground onto city map imagery of various resolutions.”; Par. 158; Par. 218-220 “In one embodiment, bookmarked destinations are indicated on the map via dashed outlines (frames) and accompanying destination labels. Destination labels are active map objects, which are used to select and zoom to current destination and/or edit destination name. They are usually located at the top right corner of the destination frame. Nevertheless, label screen coordinates, dimensions and font size are calculated dynamically at run-time depending on the map zoom level and the destination frame position within the map window to make sure destination names are readable and do not overlap. Different label sizes may be used at different viewing altitudes in order to improve map readability.; Par. 240; Par. 562-569- The disclosed system remedies many of these problems. IN various embodiments, the disclosed system enables comparing informational windows by either displaying them as opening side by side or by enabling the user to quickly toggle informational windows “in place,” as will be described in more detail below. In a first embodiment, the disclosed system enables side-by-side comparisons but requires that the system constrain itself by screen space. In a second embodiment, in which the disclosed system enables toggling between windows, advantages can be realized from the fact that there are no space limitations and the user does not need to constantly shift gaze between windows during comparison. As a result, in one embodiment, the disclosed system displays informational windows having identical or nearly identical layouts, such that titles, pictures, and the like are always in the same position of the window. In this embodiment, comparing information by toggling windows in place becomes very convenient, since each informational field within a window, such as, for example, working hours or pricing, etc., always stays at the same screen position regardless of actual content. (510) In one embodiment, the disclosed system enables several search layers to be displayed over the map at the same time, where each search layer includes locations of a specific subcategory. In this embodiment, the disclosed system only enables the comparison of map elements within a single category, since users typically would not want to compare among a plurality of categories. Of course, the disclosed system enables the user to switch between search layers to compare and select locations of different subcategories in a concurrent manner. Thus, in various embodiments, the disclosed system enables the user to work with several lists simultaneously (e.g., one list per search layer), and quickly switch between these lists in the various categories.”; Par. 549 )
Amin is directed to transport display interaction and analysis. Edecker improves upon the display analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon interface display of Amin, as taught by Edecker, by utilizing additional map display analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Amin with the motivation of enabling a user to easily navigate a graphical user environment.. (Edecker Par. 3).
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amin et al., US Publication No. 20130132140 A1, [hereinafter Amin], in view of Greenfield et al, US Patent No. 10198521B2, [hereinafter Greenfield], in further view of Edecker et al, US Publication No. 20190163687A1, [hereinafter Edecker], and in further view of Leary et al, US Publication No. 20210097866 A1, [hereinafter Leary].
Regarding Claim 6, Claim 13 and Claim 20, Amin in view of Greenfield in further view of Edecker teach The method of claim 5,..., The system of claim 12,..., and The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 19,… modifying the information panel within the graphical user interface by placing the information panel in the second overlaying comprises:
modifying a size of the information panel based on the change in amount of information relevant to the user account; (Leary Par. 69-70- In some cases, the AR wayfinder interface 400 can also present changes in the map 406 on the AR wayfinder interface 400. For example, the AR wayfinder interface 400 can update the map 406 to reflect an updated location or state of the user and/or the autonomous vehicle 102. Moreover, the AR wayfinder interface 400 can present an updated information section 408B to provide any new or updated information for the user. For example, the AR wayfinder interface 400 can add or modify an instruction to the user informing the user to follow a pointer in the updated virtual content overlay 404B to find the autonomous vehicle 102. With reference to FIG. 4C, the AR wayfinder interface 400 can continue to change or update content presented in the AR wayfinder interface 400 to reflect changes in state or circumstances (e.g., changes in the user's location, changes in the vehicle's location, changes in the environment, etc.) and/or provide any other information. In FIG. 4C, the user has continued to walk towards the autonomous vehicle 102 and thus the current location of the user has changed. To reflect, or adjust to, the changed location of the user, the AR wayfinder interface 400 can present updated camera view 402C based on a current feed from the camera sensor on the mobile device 170. The updated camera view 402C can depict the current scene captured by the camera sensor (and thus the current scene around the user)”; Par. 110-114) ;
and modifying a location of the information panel to overlay a different portion of the digital map within the graphical user interface based on the change in the amount of information relevant to the user account. (Leary Par. 69-70- In some cases, the AR wayfinder interface 400 can also present changes in the map 406 on the AR wayfinder interface 400. For example, the AR wayfinder interface 400 can update the map 406 to reflect an updated location or state of the user and/or the autonomous vehicle 102. Moreover, the AR wayfinder interface 400 can present an updated information section 408B to provide any new or updated information for the user. For example, the AR wayfinder interface 400 can add or modify an instruction to the user informing the user to follow a pointer in the updated virtual content overlay 404B to find the autonomous vehicle 102. With reference to FIG. 4C, the AR wayfinder interface 400 can continue to change or update content presented in the AR wayfinder interface 400 to reflect changes in state or circumstances (e.g., changes in the user's location, changes in the vehicle's location, changes in the environment, etc.) and/or provide any other information. In FIG. 4C, the user has continued to walk towards the autonomous vehicle 102 and thus the current location of the user has changed. To reflect, or adjust to, the changed location of the user, the AR wayfinder interface 400 can present updated camera view 402C based on a current feed from the camera sensor on the mobile device 170. The updated camera view 402C can depict the current scene captured by the camera sensor (and thus the current scene around the user)”; Par. 110-114)
Amin, Greenfield, Edecker and Leary are directed to display interaction and analysis. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have improve upon interface display of Amin in view of Greenfield in further view of Edecker, as taught by Leary, by utilizing additional map display analysis with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to the teachings of Amin in view of Greenfield in further view of Edecker with the motivation of improving quality and experience. (Leary Par. 127).
Reasons Claims are Patentably Distinguishable from the Prior Art
In regards to Claim 14, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest:
“… place the information in the first overlaying position defining the first size and a first amount of information presented in the information panel based on a number of vehicle modalities of transportation vehicles within the area corresponding to the location of the mobile device”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Publication No. 20160061624 A1 to Newlin et al..- (Abstract-“ Systems and methods are disclosed for generating and displaying a POI data associated with multiple searches on a single digital map. Searches may be activated from pre-set layers within a layer panel. Searches may also be activated by adding custom layers.”; US Publication No. 20190156538 A1 to Mongrain et al..- (Abstract-“ A digital map is displayed via a user interface in a map viewport. The digital map includes various features representing respective entities in a geographic area, each of the features being displayed at a same level of magnification. Geolocated points of interest are determined within the geographic area, and a focal point of the map viewport is determined. For each of indicators, the size of the indicator is varied in accordance with the distance between the geographic location corresponding to the indicator and the geographic location corresponding to the focal point of the map viewport. The indicators then are displayed on the digital map..”;
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Chesiree Walton, whose telephone number is (571) 272-5219. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday to Friday between 8 AM and 5 PM. If any attempt to reach the examiner by telephone is unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Patricia Munson, can be reached at (571) 270-5396. The fax telephone numbers for this group are either (571) 273-8300 or (703) 872-9326 (for official communications including After Final communications labeled “Box AF”).
Another resource that is available to applicants is the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR). Information regarding the status of an application can be obtained from the (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, please feel free to contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Applicants are invited to contact the Office to schedule an in-person interview to discuss and resolve the issues set forth in this Office Action. Although an interview is not required, the Office believes that an interview can be of use to resolve any issues related to a patent application in an efficient and prompt manner.
Sincerely,
/CHESIREE A WALTON/Examiner, Art Unit 3624