DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s selection without traverse of invention I (claims 1-13) in the reply filed on 02/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 14-20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/26/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “140” has been used to designate both the “low impedance interface layer” and “the anode current collector (ACC)” in ¶ 0058. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 250a, 250b, and 310. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “low-impedance” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “low-impedance” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the substrate" and “the multi-layer solid-sate electrolyte” on page 2 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purposes of examination, the claim will be interpreted as reciting that “…a substrate…” and “….a multi-layer solid-state electrolyte…”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20210320324 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Wang teaches a solid-state battery cell (¶ 0045), comprising: a cathode current collector and a cathode on the cathode current collector (¶ 0045). In ¶ 0049 and Fig. 3, Wang teaches that the cathode of the battery cell may further include a cathode interface layer that may reduce interfacial resistance between the cathode and the electrolyte layer. This interface layer reads on the low-impedance interface film on the cathode. Wang teaches a solid-state electrolyte on or over the low-impedance interface film (¶ 0049 and Fig. 3). Wang also teaches that the electrolyte may comprise an anode interface layer that may comprise a metal oxide (¶ 0047). This material is a lithiophilic material as metal oxides are capable of attracting lithium ions. This is consistent with the instant specification and the specific material used for the lithiophilic material of dependent claim 6. Thus, the interface layer taught by Wang reads on the lithiophilic layer on or over the solid-state electrolyte. Wang goes on to teach that an anode current collector may be on or over the lithiophilic layer (¶ 0045 and Fig. 3). Fig. 3 is shown below:
With regards to claim 2, Wang teaches that the low-impedance interface film (cathode interface layer) as a third electrolyte layer that is present between the solid electrolyte layer and the cathode (¶ 0049). Wang also teaches that the solid electrolyte layer comprises carbon-doped Lithium phosphorus oxynitride (¶ 0043). Wang teaches that the cathode interface layer may comprise metals such as titanium (¶ 0049). Since the interface layer is in contact with the electrolyte, it reads on the cathode interface layer comprising an oxynitride of lithium and titanium. In ¶ 0049, Wang also teaches that the layer may comprise alumina (aluminum oxide) which reads on an oxide. The cathode interface layer comprising (iii) an oxide of a Group 14, 15 or 16 metal, (iv) a fluoride, oxyfluoride or phosphate of a Group 13, 14 or 15 metal, or (v) an alkali metal borate is an optional limitation that hold no patentable weight given the context of the claim.
With regards to claim 3, Wang teaches that the cathode comprises a lithium metal oxide or a lithium metal phosphate (¶ 0056).
With regards to claim 5, Wang teaches that the solid-state electrolyte layer comprises carbon doped lithium phosphorous oxynitride which reads on the electrolyte comprising lithium phosphorus oxynitride (¶ 0043).
With regards to claim 6, Wang teaches that the lithiophilic layer (anode interface layer) may comprise a metal oxide (¶ 0043). The lithiophilic layer comprising a metal silicate, a metal aluminate, a metal aluminosilicate, a metal fluoride, or an elemental main group metal or metalloid is an optional limitation given the context of the claim.
With regards to claim 7, Wang teaches that the anode current collector comprises nickel or copper (¶ 0066). The current collector comprising titanium or an alloy or conductive nitride thereof however, is an optional limitation given the context of the claim.
With regards to claim 9, Wang teaches that the cathode current collector comprises a metal substrate that may comprise a metal foil (¶ 0015).
With regards to claim 10, Wang teaches that the metal foil comprises stainless steel, aluminum, copper, nickel, inconel, brass, molybdenum or titanium, and the aluminum, copper, nickel, molybdenum or titanium may be alloyed with up to 10% of one or more other elements (¶ 0052).
With regards to claim 11, Wang teaches the solid-state battery cell of Claim 10, further comprising first and second barriers on opposite surfaces of the cathode current collector (¶ 0052), wherein each of the first and second barriers comprises one or more layers of one or more metal nitrides in a thickness effective to prevent migration of atoms or ions from the metal foil (¶ 0053).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20210320324 A1).
With regards to claim 4, Wang teaches that the low-impedance interface (cathode interface layer) has a thickness of 30-300 Å (3-30 nm) which overlaps with the claimed range of 5-100 Å (¶ 0049).In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With regards to claim 8, Wang discloses that the anode current collector has a thickness of 1000-50,000 Å (0.1-5 µm) which overlaps with the claimed range of 1000-10,000 Å (¶ 0066). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20210320324 A1) as applied to claim 1 and in further view of Gaben et al. (US 20160013513 A1).
With regards to claim 12, Wang teaches a solid-state battery, comprising: the solid-state battery cell of Claim 1 (¶ 0002). Wang teaches a solid-state battery stack including the substrate (cathode current collector), the cathode, the multi-layer solid-state electrolyte and the anode current collector (¶ 0045). Wang does not teach a barrier and/or insulation film encapsulating the substrate, the cathode, the multi-layer solid-state electrolyte and the anode current collector.
In a similar field of endeavor, Gaben teaches a solid-state battery stack comprising a substrate, cathode, solid electrolyte and anode current collector (¶ 0008 - ¶ 0010). Gaben goes on to teach an encapsulating layer that covers the electrode stack (¶ 0055, ¶ 0151 and ¶ 0157). Gaben teaches that the encapsulation serves as a dielectric substance for preventing short circuits (¶ 0055). This encapsulation reads on a barrier and/or insulation film encapsulating the substrate, the cathode, the multi-layer solid-state electrolyte and the anode current collector. Gaben teaches that this encapsulation increases protection of the battery cells from their environment (¶ 0156). In ¶ 0158, Gaben teaches that the encapsulation (barrier) exposes the current collectors which reads on an opening in the barrier exposing the anode current collectors.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to include an encapsulation layer as taught by Gaben in the battery taught by Wang as this would predictably protect the battery.
Wang teaches that the current collectors comprise terminals at an end or side region (¶ 0016) however, modified Wang does not specifically teach a conductive redistribution layer on the exposed anode current collector, the barrier and/or insulation film, and a first sidewall of the solid-state battery cell. The conductive redistribution layer is interpreted as a conductive layer within the battery stack. Similar to Wang, Gaben also teaches terminals that are placed on the side of the current collectors where they are exposed (¶ 0039). As shown in Fig. 8 below, these terminals are in contact with the barrier and also make up a first side wall (¶ 0039 - ¶ 0040, ¶ 0049 and ¶ 0158 - ¶ 0159). Gaben teaches that the terminals may be double layered with an external tin layer and an inner nickel layer (¶ 0049 and ¶ 0159). In Fig. 8, this inner layer is shown to be in contact with the exposed side of the anode current collector and on the barrier (encapsulation layer) as well as the external terminal which reads on the first side wall of the battery. As nickel is a conductive material, the inner nickel layer taught by Gaben reads on the conductive redistribution layer on the exposed anode current collector, the barrier and/or insulation film, and a first sidewall of the solid-state battery cell. Gaben teaches that these terminals make it possible to use alternately positive and negative electrical connections
on each of the ends. Fig. 8 is shown below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to substitute the terminal taught by Wang with the terminal taught by Gaben as there are no unexpected results.
With regards to claim 13, Gaben teaches that the first and second terminals are included where the anode and cathode current collectors are visible (¶ 0039). This reads on one electrically connected to the anode current collector, and the other electrically connected to the cathode or the cathode current collector.
Conclusion
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728