DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to applicant’s amendment of claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 10-13 filed on 07/01/2026. Claims 2, 6, and 14-20 have been canceled. Claims 21-29 are newly submitted claims. Accordingly, claims 1, 3-5, 7-13, and 21-29 remain pending and are claims addressed and examined below.
Applicant’s amendments to ¶ 0058, ¶ 0060, and ¶ 0061 of the specification have overcome the objections previously set forth in the office action mailed on 04/01/2026.
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1-2 and 12 have overcome the 35 USC 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Office actioned mailed 04/01/2026.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 07/01/2026. These drawings are acceptable and overcome the drawing objection previously set forth in the Office actioned mailed 04/01/2026
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, and 9-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-11, 21-22, 25, 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US-20210320324-A1) in view of Choi et al. ( US-20160276658-A1).
With regards to claim 1, Wang teaches a solid-state battery cell (¶ 0045), comprising: a cathode current collector and a cathode on the cathode current collector (¶ 0045). In ¶ 0049 and Fig. 3. Wang teaches a third electrolyte layer that may be present between the bulk electrolyte and the cathode. Wang teaches this third electrolyte layer as a cathode interface layer that may reduce interfacial resistance between the cathode and the electrolyte layer (¶ 0049). This cathode interface layer reads on the interface film on the cathode. Wang teaches a solid-state electrolyte on or over the interface film (¶ 0049 and Fig. 3). Wang also teaches that the electrolyte may comprise an anode interface layer that may comprise a metal oxide and can be transformed into a good or excellent Li-ion conductor after lithiation and thermal annealing during device fabrication (¶ 0047). This material is a lithiophilic material as metal oxides are capable of attracting lithium ions. Thus, the anode interfaced layer taught by Wang reads on the lithiophilic layer on or over the solid-state electrolyte. Wang teaches that the lithiophilic layer (anode interface layer) may comprise a metal oxide that may be transformed into lithium aluminate (¶ 0062). This reads on the lithophilic layer comprising a metal aluminate and an elemental main group metal. The lithiophilic layer comprising a metal aluminosilicate or metal fluoride is an optional limitation given the context of the claim.
Wang does not specifically teach that the lithiophilic layer is configured to uniformly nucleate lithium during a charge process and to maintain a lithium reservoir during charge process and the lithophilic layer being operable as a moisture barrier protecting the solid-state electrolyte from ambient moisture ingress. In ¶ 0035 of the instant specification, applicant discloses that having a thickness of, e.g., 50 Å serves to uniformly nucleate lithium (e.g., to form an anode during charging) and maintain a lithium reservoir during the discharge process that eases the nucleation during further charge cycles. In ¶ 0009, Wang teaches that the lithiophilic layer (anode interface layer) may have a thickness of less than 500 Å (50 nm). The thickness of 50 Å falls within the range taught by Wang. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As Wang teaches the substantially the same material as the claimed invention in the same thickness as the claimed invention, the lithiophilic layer taught by Wang will also serves to uniformly nucleate lithium during a charge process and to maintain a lithium reservoir during the discharge process. The lithiophilic layer taught by Wang will also inherently be operable as a moisture barrier protecting the solid- state electrolyte from ambient moisture ingress as a material is inseparable from its properties. NOTE: Where … the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, the PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on “inherency” under 35 USC § 102, on “prima facie obviousness” under 35 USC § 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same, and its fairness is evidenced by the PTO’s inability to manufacture products or to obtain and compare prior art products. In re Best, 562 F2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433-4 (CCPA 1977). Wang also teaches an anode current collector on or over the lithiophilic layer (¶ 0045 and Fig. 3). Fig. 3 is shown below:
Wang teaches that the cathode interface layer (interface film) may comprise an aluminate that is generally compatible with the bulk electrolyte (¶ 0011). In ¶ 0017, Wang teaches that the bulk electrolyte may comprise carbon-doped lithium phosphorus oxynitride. Wang also teaches that the cathode interface layer may include alumina (Al2O3) and an elemental early transition metal such as titanium (¶ 0011). However, Wang does not specifically teach the cathode interface layer comprises lithium aluminate, lithium titanate, a lithium silicon oxynitride or lithium titanium nitride.
In a similar field of endeavor, Choi teaches a cathode active material for a lithium-ion battery comprising a coating layer that improves the battery’s characteristics (¶ 0035 and ¶ 0038). This coating layer reads on an interface film. In ¶ 0043, similar to Wang, Choi teaches that this coating layer may include alumina (Al2O3). In addition to the alumina, Choi teaches lithium aluminate (LiAlO2) and lithium titanate (Li2TiO3). Choi teaches that the coating layer including these compounds may improve ion conductivity, stabilize a surface structure, and suppress side reactions with the electrolyte (¶ 0044).
Since Wang and Choi both teach alumina as a suitable material for an interface film, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to include compounds such as lithium aluminate and lithium titanate as taught by Choi in the cathode interface layer taught by Wang. This would predictably improve the battery’s characteristics. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.). The interface layer comprising lithium silicon oxynitride or lithium titanium nitride is an optional limitation given the context of the claim.
With regards to claim 3, Wang teaches that the cathode comprises a lithium metal oxide or lithium metal phosphate ( ¶ 0056).
With regards to claim 4, Wang teaches that the low-impedance interface (cathode interface layer) has a thickness of 30-300 Å (3-30 nm) which overlaps with the claimed range of 5-100 Å (¶ 0049). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With regards to claim 5, Wang teaches that the solid-state electrolyte comprises carbon doped lithium phosphorous oxynitride which reads on the electrolyte comprising lithium phosphorus oxynitride (¶ 0043).
With regards to claim 7, Wang teaches that the anode current collector comprises nickel or copper (¶ 0066). The current collector comprising tungsten, titanium, an alloy thereof or a conductive nitride thereof is an optional limitation given the context of the claim.
With regards to claim 8, Wang discloses that the anode current collector has a thickness of 1000-50,000 Å (0.1-5 µm) which overlaps with the claimed range of 1000-10,000 Å (¶ 0066). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With regards to claim 9, Wang teaches that the cathode current collector comprises a metal substrate that may comprise a metal foil (¶ 0015).
With regards to claim 10, Wang teaches that the metal foil comprises stainless steel, aluminum, copper, nickel, inconel, brass, molybdenum or titanium (¶ 0052).
With regards to claim 11, Wang teaches the solid-state battery cell of Claim 10, further comprising first and second barriers on opposite surfaces of the cathode current collector (¶ 0052).
With regards to claim 21, as discussed above, modified Wang teaches that the interface layer comprises lithium aluminate (Choi: ¶ 0043).
With regards to claim 22, as discussed above, modified Wang teaches that the interface layer comprises lithium titanate (Choi: ¶ 0043).
With regards to claim 25, in ¶ 0011, Wang teaches that the interface film (cathode interface layer) may have a thickness of 30-300 Angstroms (3-30 nm). This overlaps with the claimed range of 5-50 Angstroms. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With regards to claim 27, in ¶ 0009, Wang teaches that the lithiophilic layer (anode interface layer) has a thickness of less than 500 Angstroms (50 nm). This overlaps with the claimed range of 5 Angstroms to 1 micrometer. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With regards to claim 28, Wang teaches that the anode may not be present in the solid-state battery (¶ 0046). This reads on the solid-state battery being anode-less battery cell.
With regards to claim 29, Wang teaches that the cathode current collector comprises a metal substrate that may comprise a metal foil such as stainless steel (¶ 0015). This reads on the current collector comprising a stainless-steel foil.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20210320324 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US-20160276658-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Gaben et al. (US 20160013513 A1).
With regards to claim 12, modified Wang teaches the solid-state battery cell of claim 1. Wang teaches a solid-state battery stack including the cathode current collector, the cathode, cathode interface film, the solid-state electrolyte and the anode current collector (¶ 0045). Wang does not teach a barrier and/or insulation film encapsulating the cathode current collector, the cathode, the interface film, the solid-state electrolyte and the anode current collector.
In a similar field of endeavor, Gaben teaches a solid-state battery stack comprising a substrate, cathode, solid electrolyte and anode current collector (¶ 0008 - ¶ 0010). Gaben goes on to teach an encapsulating layer that covers the electrode stack (¶ 0055, ¶ 0151 and ¶ 0157). Gaben teaches that the encapsulation serves as a dielectric substance for preventing short circuits (¶ 0055). This encapsulation reads on a barrier and/or insulation film encapsulating the cathode current collector, the cathode, the interface film, the solid-state electrolyte and the anode current collector. Gaben teaches that this encapsulation increases protection of the battery cells from their environment (¶ 0156). In ¶ 0158, Gaben teaches that the encapsulation (barrier) exposes the current collectors which reads on an opening in the barrier exposing the anode current collector.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to include an encapsulation layer encapsulating the electrode stack as taught by Gaben in the battery taught by Wang as this would predictably protect the battery.
Wang teaches that the current collectors comprise terminals at an end or side region (¶ 0016) however, modified Wang does not specifically teach a conductive redistribution layer on the exposed anode current collector, the barrier and/or insulation film, and a first sidewall of the solid-state battery cell. The conductive redistribution layer is interpreted as a conductive layer within the battery stack. Similar to Wang, Gaben also teaches terminals that are placed on the side of the current collectors where they are exposed (¶ 0039). As shown in Fig. 8 below, these terminals are in contact with the barrier and also make up a first side wall (¶ 0039 - ¶ 0040, ¶ 0049 and ¶ 0158 - ¶ 0159). Gaben teaches that the terminals may be double layered with an external tin layer and an inner nickel layer (¶ 0049 and ¶ 0159). In Fig. 8, this inner layer is shown to be in contact with the exposed side of the anode current collector and on the barrier (encapsulation layer) as well as the external terminal which reads on the first side wall of the battery. As shown in Fig. 8 below, this inner layer extends into the opening in the barrier and/or insulation film and positioned on the anode current collector. As nickel is a conductive material, the inner nickel layer taught by Gaben reads on the conductive redistribution layer extending into the opening in the barrier and/or insulation film and positioned on the anode current collector. Gaben teaches that these terminals make it possible to use alternately
positive and negative electrical connections on each of the ends. Fig. 8 is shown below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to substitute the terminal taught by Wang with the terminal taught by Gaben as there are no unexpected results.
Through this modification, modified Wang teaches the solid-state battery cell of claim 1 further comprising a barrier and/or insulation film encapsulating the cathode current collector, the cathode, the interface film, the solid-state electrolyte, and the anode current collector; an opening in the barrier and/or insulation film exposing the anode current collector; and terminal that includes a conductive redistribution layer extending into the opening in the barrier and/or insulation film and positioned on the anode current collector.
With regards to claim 13, Gaben teaches that the first and second terminals are included where the anode and cathode current collectors are visible (¶ 0039). Gaben teaches that the anode and cathode connections are on opposite sides of the stack (¶ 0039). This reads on one of the first and second terminals being electrically connected to the anode current collector, and another one of the first and second terminals being electrically connected to the cathode or the cathode current collector.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20210320324 A1) in view of Choi et al. ( US-20160276658-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Roumi (JP-6961660-B2, translation used for citation).
With regards to claim 23, modified Wang teaches the solid-state battery of claim 1. As discussed earlier, Wang teaches a third electrolyte layer that may be present between the bulk electrolyte and the cathode as the interface film (cathode interface layer) (¶ 0049). Wang discloses silicon oxynitride as a material that prevents migration of atoms or ions from the metal foil into overlying layers (¶ 0053). However, Wang does not teach that the interface film (cathode interface layer) comprises silicon oxynitride.
In a similar field of endeavor, Roumi teaches an electrochemical cell comprising a solid electrolyte layer in physical contact with the surface of the cathode (Page 14). Roumi teaches that the incorporation of a solid electrolyte such as lithium silicon oxynitride (LiSiON) is useful for protecting the cathode surface from unwanted reactions with other components of the electrolyte (Page 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to include lithium silicon oxynitride (LiSiON) as taught by Roumi in the cathode interface layer (third electrolyte layer) taught by Wang. This will predictably prevent unwanted reactions between the cathode and the electrolyte.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20210320324 A1) in view of Choi et al. ( US-20160276658-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Demaray et al.(US-20180006293-A1).
With regards to claim 24, modified Wang teaches the solid-state battery of claim 1. Wang discloses titanium nitride as a material that prevents migration of atoms or ions from the metal foil into overlying layers (¶ 0053). Wang teaches a cathode that comprises lithium (¶ 0056) and an interface film over the lithium containing cathode (¶ 0049). Although Wang teaches that the interface film (cathode interface layer) may include titanium (¶ 0049), Wang does not teach that the interface film (cathode interface layer) comprises lithium titanium nitride.
In a similar field of endeavor, Demaray teaches improved materials for a thin film solid state battery (¶ 0017). Demaray teaches a passivation film stable to lithium such as titanium nitride coated on an anode or collector (¶ 0066). Demaray teaches that lithium is formed on the anode suggesting that the titanium nitride layer may also comprise lithium, making it lithium titanium nitride (¶ 0070). Similar to Wang, Demaray teaches that this titanium nitride layer can be a barrier to lithium ions to protect the substrate on which it is formed while maintaining electrical conductivity on an anode (¶ 0068).
As mentioned earlier, the cathode taught by Wang also comprises lithium and the cathode interface layer that is deposited on top of the cathode layer may comprise titanium (¶ 0056 and ¶ 0049). Wang also teaches titanium nitride as a barrier material (¶ 0053). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to include lithium titanium nitride of the passivation layer taught by Demaray in the interface film (cathode interface layer) taught by Wang as there are no unpredictable results.
Through this modification, the interface film taught by Wang comprises lithium titanium nitride.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 20210320324 A1) in view of Choi et al. (US-20160276658-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Lee at al. (US-20220416307-A1).
With regards to claim 26, modified Wang teaches the solid-state battery cell of claim 1. Wang teaches a lithiophilic layer (anode interface layer) between the bulk electrolyte and the anode current collector (¶ 0013). In ¶ 0046, Wang teaches that the anode may not be present, in which case the anode interface layer may interface with the anode current collector. However, modified Wang does not teach that the lithiophilic layer comprises a metal fluoride.
In a similar field of endeavor, Lee teaches an anode free solid-state battery including a solid electrolyte layer with a cathode disposed on a first surface of the electrolyte and an anode current collector disposed on a second surface of the current collector (¶ 0014 and Fig. 1). Lee also teaches a coating layer disposed between the anode current collector and the solid electrolyte layer (¶ 0014). Lee teaches that this coating layer includes a metal fluoride such as SnF2, ZnF2, and AlF2 (¶ 0014 and ¶ 0016). Lee goes on to teach that the coating layer allows lithium ions migrated from the cathode active material layer to be uniformly deposited between the solid electrolyte layer and the anode current collector and may also inhibit the growth of lithium dendrites and internal short circuits. This coating layer reads on a lithioplic layer. See Fig. 1 below.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to include metal fluorides such as SnF2, ZnF2, and AlF2 as taught by Lee in the lithiophilic layer (anode interface layer) taught by modified Wang. This will predictably allow the flow of lithium ions from the cathode active material layer to be uniformly deposited between the solid electrolyte layer and the anode current collector while also inhibiting the growth of lithium dendrites and internal short circuits.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743