DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II claims 18-25 and 28-30 in the reply filed on 11/12/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-17, 26-27 are canceled.
Claims 18-25, 28-30 are amended.
Claims 31-41 are new.
Claims 18-25 and 28-41 are examined and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 6/10/2024 and the IDS filed on 9/19/2024 has been considered.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24, 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-23, 25, 28-36, 38-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deogun (US 20250379698 A1 having priority date of Aug 12, 2022) in view of Grant (US20250279865 A1).
Regarding Claim 18, Deogun discloses a user equipment (UE) (see FIG. 20, UE) for wireless communications, comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
receive, from a network entity, at least one control message indicating a first measurement configuration for channel state information measurement via a subband full duplex time interval (see para 273, the base station configures different CSI-RS settings for CSI-RS transmission during SBFD slots/symbols) and a second measurement configuration for channel state information measurement via a non-subband full duplex time interval (see FIG. 20, at step S2010 CSI-RS resource configuration (SFBD specific CSI-RS resource settings #1 (for FD (full duplex) slots); non-SFBD CSI-RS resource settings #2 (for TDD DL slots)), the subband full duplex time interval comprising two or more downlink subbands that are(see para 72, In subband overlapping FD, UL and DL may be configured in a similar way to subband non-overlapping FD, but the different subbands are allowed to overlap in frequency/i.e., representing an overlap in time-frequency domain);
receive, from the network entity, one or more channel state information reference signals via the subband full duplex time interval in accordance with the first measurement configuration or via the non-subband full duplex time interval in accordance with the second measurement configuration (see para 274, at S2012 the UE performs CSI-RS measurement and reporting, the UE can perform the CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on one or more SBFD specific CSI-RS resource settings for SBFD slots/symbols and can perform the CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on one or more TDD specific CSI-RS resource settings for other (legacy) TDD slots/symbols/i.e., representing non-SBFD); and
transmit, to the network entity, a report indicating channel state information that is based at least in part on the one or more channel state information reference signals (see FIG. 20, S2012 perform CSI-RS measurement for setting #1 or setting #2 and the UE performs CSI reporting).
Deogun teaches receiving measurement configuration information for SBFD and non-SBFD for CSI reporting; SBFD downlink subbands that are contiguous and SBFD downlink subbands overlapping in frequency domain.
Deogun does not specify two or more downlink subbands that are non-contiguous.
In the same field of endeavor, Grant teaches this limitation: see paras 92-93, configuring reference signal (RS) resources with a non-contiguous frequency domain resource allocation in OFDM symbol(s) of a carrier configured for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) operation.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Deogun to include SBFD downlink subbands that are non-contiguous, to provide flexibility in the configuration of reference signal resource allocations such as to, for example, match the subband configuration within a subband full duplex system (see Grant, para 93), and since NR is designed to support both contiguous and non-contiguous downlink (DL) subbands for SBFD.
Regarding Claims 19, 32, Deogun discloses: the first measurement configuration indicates a first quantity of antenna ports or a first antenna configuration to use for channel state information measurement via the subband full duplex time interval (see para 276, One or more SBFD specific CSI-RS resource settings for SBFD slots/symbols may indicate which CSI-RS ports are valid (or invalid) for SBFD slots. This may, for example, be indicated as a configuration, per CSI-RS resource, indicating: a list, range, and/or mask of antenna port numbers; and/or a list, range, and/or mask of antenna panels), and the second measurement configuration indicates a second quantity of antenna ports or a second antenna configuration to use for channel state information measurement via the non-subband full duplex time interval (see paras 327-328, techniques for updating DL and/or UL transmission parameters (e.g., codebook parameters, ports, and/or the like) for the transmission and/or reception of data during SBFD slots… the UE may indicate a DL codebook to the base station (e.g., via CSI reports), which is determined for a full set of ports/antenna elements available for CSI-RS in non-SBFD slots/symbols… However, during SBFD slots some of the CSI-RS ports will likely be disabled for data transmission and/or reception (e.g., on the PDSCH and/or PUSCH). There is the potential, therefore, for the transmission parameters for DL data (e.g., on the PDSCH) transmitted by the base station in an SBFD slot to be based on a CSI report that is derived from CSI-RS transmitted in a non-SBFD DL slot/symbol; also see FIG. 29. paras 334-335, the base station configures (e.g., in the CSI report configuration) different (sets of) CSI reports to be provided based on different measurements of CSI-RS transmitted in the same legacy TDD slot. Specifically, one set of CSI-RS resources and associated CSI-RS reports may be configured for use in respect of non-SBFD (legacy TDD DL) slots, and another set of CSI-RS resources and associated CSI-RS reports may be configured for use in respect of SBFD slots. For example, one set of CSI-RS resources (and associated CSI-RS reports) may be for a full antenna set and another set of CSI-RS resources (and associated CSI-RS reports) may be configured for a reduced antenna set. Accordingly, the base station 5 may configure PDSCH transmission parameters for SBFD slots based on CSI reporting in respect of the reduced antenna set and may configure PDSCH transmission parameters for non-SBFD slots based on CSI reporting in respect of the full antenna set).
Regarding Claims 20, 33, Deogun discloses: receiving measurement configuration for SBFD and non-SBFD configurations.
Deogun does not disclose details regarding the TCI and QCL information in the measurement configuration, i.e.: the first measurement configuration indicates a first transmission configuration indicator state associated with channel state information measurement via the subband full duplex time interval and with first quasi co location information associated with the subband full duplex time interval, and the second measurement configuration indicates a second transmission configuration indicator state associated with channel state information measurement via the non- subband full duplex time interval and with second quasi co location information associated with the non-subband full duplex time interval.
Grant discloses this limitation: see paras 42-43: multiple CSI-RS resources are configured as part of a CSI-RS resource set, and measurements are performed based on the resources in the set. A set is constructed by providing a list of CSI-RS resource IDs CSI-RS resource IDs are used is for configuration of transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states which provide the quasi co-location (QCL) sources, e.g., a CSI-RS resource, used for aiding the reception of other signals, e.g., PDSCH, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH); also see TABLEs 4-5.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Deogun to include the TCI and QCL information in the measurement configuration as taught by Grant, for aiding the reception of other signals, e.g., PDSCH, physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) (see Grant, para 43).
Regarding Claims 21, 29, 34 and 40, Deogun discloses: the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to: receive at least one second control message indicating a first reporting configuration for channel state information associated with the subband full duplex time interval and a second reporting configuration for channel state information associated with the non- subband full duplex time interval (see FIG. 20, at step S2010 CSI-RS resource configuration (SFBD specific CSI-RS resource settings #1 (for FD slots); non-SFBD CSI-RS resource settings #1 (for TDD DL slots)), wherein the report is transmitted in accordance with the first reporting configuration or the second reporting configuration (see FIG. 20, S2012 perform CSI-RS measurement for setting #1 or setting #2 and the UE performs CSI reporting).
Regarding Claims 22, 35, Deogun discloses: the first reporting configuration indicates for the UE to measure channel state information reference signals received via the subband full duplex time interval and to refrain from measuring channel state information reference signals received via the non-subband full duplex time interval, the second reporting configuration indicates for the UE to refrain from measuring channel state information reference signals received via the subband full duplex time interval and to measure channel state information reference signals received via the non-subband full duplex time interval, and the one or more channel state information reference signals are measured in accordance with the first reporting configuration or the second reporting configuration (see paras, 286-293, FIG. 23 illustrates a procedure in which the base station configures at least one CSI-RS resource with full set of ports and frequency resources corresponding to a (legacy) TDD DL slot/symbol. In FIG. 23 the CSI-RS resources configured in this way for a (legacy) TDD DL slot/symbol are referred to as TDD DL CSI-RS resources … As seen in FIG. 23, the base station provides CSI-RS configuration information (at S2310). The base station hen indicates to the UE that the CSI-RS resource will not be used for transmission in a specific set of time occasions. As indicated at S2312a the base station may indicate the time occasions as a part of a DCI indication. The DCI may indicate one or more CSI-RS resources in a given CSI resource set, to be deactivated/i.e., refrain from measurement, during the set of time occasions. As indicated at S2312b the base station may indicate (e.g., via RRC configuration signalling/MAC CE/DCI or the like) for which CSI-RS resource transmission is restricted. In this case the UE can determine (as seen at S2314) the associated time occasions based on SBFD time occasions signalling (i.e. the UE 3 can determine that CSI-RS will not be transmitted using one or more CSI-RS resources during a previously configured SBFD slot/symbol). The UE can then perform CSI-RS measurement and CSI reporting (at S2316) taking account of occasions for which transmission using one or more configured CSI-RS resources does not take place. It is possible that the UE may be configured with a plurality of different SBFD configuration (e.g., with different SBFD slot/symbol patterns/timings). In this case the base station can also indicate, for each CSI-RS resource for which transmission is restricted, that the restriction is for a specific SBFD configuration… the base station may also configure two different sets of CSI-RS resources-a first set of CSI-RS resources that will not be used for transmission during SBFD slots and a second set of CSI-RS resources that are only used for transmission during SBFD slots).
Regarding Claims 23, 36, Deogun discloses: the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the UE to:
receive at least one second control message indicating a reporting configuration for channel state information associated with the subband full duplex time interval and the non- subband full duplex time interval, wherein the channel state information indicated by the report comprises first channel state information associated with the subband full duplex time interval or second channel state information associated with the non-subband full duplex time interval based at least in part on the reporting configuration being for channel state information associated with the subband full duplex time interval and the non-subband full duplex time interval (see para 334, in FIG. 29 (at S2914b), the base station may configure (e.g., in the CSI report configuration) different (sets of) CSI reports to be provided based on different measurements of CSI-RS transmitted in the same legacy TDD slot. Specifically, one set of CSI-RS resources and associated CSI-RS reports may be configured for use in respect of non-SBFD (legacy TDD DL) slots, and another set of CSI-RS resources and associated CSI-RS reports may be configured for use in respect of SBFD slots).
Regarding Claims 25, 28, 38, Deogun discloses: one or more uplink subbands that overlap in a subband full duplex symbol with the two or more downlink subbands in the time domain are located between respective downlink subbands of the two or more downlink subbands in the frequency domain (see para 72, In subband overlapping FD, UL and DL may be configured in a similar way to subband non-overlapping FD, but the different subbands are allowed to overlap in frequency).
Regarding Claim 28, Deogun discloses a network entity (see FIG. 20, RAN node) for wireless communications, comprising: one or more processors; one or more memories coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the one or more memories and executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE).at least one control message indicating a first measurement configuration for channel state information measurement via a subband full duplex time interval (see para 273, the base station configures/i.e., transmits, different CSI-RS settings for CSI-RS transmission during SBFD slots/symbols) and a second measurement configuration for channel state information measurement via a non-subband full duplex time interval (see FIG. 20, at step S2010 CSI-RS resource configuration (SFBD specific CSI-RS resource settings #1 (for full duplex (FD) slots); non-SFBD CSI-RS resource settings #2 (for TDD DL slots)), the subband full duplex time interval comprising two or more downlink subbands that are (see para 72, In subband overlapping FD, UL and DL may be configured in a similar way to subband non-overlapping FD, but the different subbands are allowed to overlap in frequency/i.e., representing an overlap in time-frequency domain);
transmit, to the UE, one or more channel state information reference signals via the subband full duplex time interval or via the non-subband full duplex time interval (see para 274, at S2012 the UE performs CSI-RS measurement and reporting, the UE can perform the CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on one or more SBFD specific CSI-RS resource settings for SBFD slots/symbols and can perform the CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on one or more TDD specific CSI-RS resource settings for other (legacy) TDD slots/symbols/i.e., representing non-SBFD); and
receive, from the UE in accordance with the first measurement configuration or the second measurement configuration, a report indicating channel state information that is based at least in part on the one or more channel state information reference signals (see FIG. 20, S2012 perform CSI-RS measurement for setting #1 or setting #2 and the UE performs CSI reporting).
Deogun teaches receiving measurement configuration information for SBFD and non-SBFD for CSI reporting; SBFD downlink subbands that are contiguous and SBFD downlink subbands overlapping in frequency domain.
Deogun does not specify two or more downlink subbands that are non-contiguous.
In the same field of endeavor, Grant teaches this limitation: see paras 92-93, configuring reference signal (RS) resources with a non-contiguous frequency domain resource allocation in OFDM symbol(s) of a carrier configured for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) operation.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Deogun to include SBFD downlink subbands that are non-contiguous, to provide flexibility in the configuration of reference signal resource allocations such as to, for example, match the subband configuration within a subband full duplex system (see Grant, para 93), and since NR is designed to support both contiguous and non-contiguous downlink (DL) subbands for SBFD.
Regarding Claims 30 and 41, Deogun discloses: the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the network entity to: determine whether the report comprises the first channel state information or the second channel state information based at least in part on whether the one or more channel state information reference signals are transmitted via the subband full duplex time interval or the non-subband full duplex time interval (see FIG. 20, at step S2010 CSI-RS resource configuration (SFBD specific CSI-RS resource settings #1 (for FD slots); non-SFBD CSI-RS resource settings #1 (for TDD DL slots)), and at step S2012 perform CSI-RS measurement for setting #1 or setting #2 and the UE performs CSI reporting; also see FIG. 22. Para 283, at step S2214, the UE performs CSI-RS measurement and reporting, the UE can perform the CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on the set of parameters corresponding to the indicated parameter state, i.e., as illustrated in FIG. 22, step S2210 - state #1 for SBFD CSI report; and state #2 for non-SBFD CSI report)).
Regarding Claim 31, Deogun discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, at least one control message indicating a first measurement configuration for channel state information measurement via a subband full duplex time interval (see para 273, the base station configures different CSI-RS settings for CSI-RS transmission during SBFD slots/symbols) and a second measurement configuration for channel state information measurement via a non-subband full duplex time interval (see FIG. 20, at step S2010 CSI-RS resource configuration (SFBD specific CSI-RS resource settings #1 (for full duplex (FD) slots); non-SFBD CSI-RS resource settings #2 (for TDD DL slots)),, the subband full duplex time interval comprising two or more downlink subbands that are (see para 72, In subband overlapping FD, UL and DL may be configured in a similar way to subband non-overlapping FD, but the different subbands are allowed to overlap in frequency/i.e., representing an overlap in time-frequency domain);
receiving, from the network entity, one or more channel state information reference signals via the subband full duplex time interval in accordance with the first measurement configuration or via the non-subband full duplex time interval in accordance with the second measurement configuration (see para 274, at S2012 the UE performs CSI-RS measurement and reporting, the UE can perform the CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on one or more SBFD specific CSI-RS resource settings for SBFD slots/symbols and can perform the CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on one or more TDD specific CSI-RS resource settings for other (legacy) TDD slots/symbols/i.e., representing non-SBFD); and
transmitting, to the network entity, a report indicating channel state information that is based at least in part on the one or more channel state information reference signals (see FIG. 20, S2012 perform CSI-RS measurement for setting #1 or setting #2 and the UE performs CSI reporting).
Deogun teaches receiving measurement configuration information for SBFD and non-SBFD for CSI reporting; SBFD downlink subbands that are contiguous and SBFD downlink subbands overlapping in frequency domain.
Deogun does not specify two or more downlink subbands that are non-contiguous.
In the same field of endeavor, Grant teaches this limitation: see paras 92-93, configuring reference signal (RS) resources with a non-contiguous frequency domain resource allocation in OFDM symbol(s) of a carrier configured for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) operation.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Deogun to include SBFD downlink subbands that are non-contiguous, to provide flexibility in the configuration of reference signal resource allocations such as to, for example, match the subband configuration within a subband full duplex system (see Grant, para 93), and since NR is designed to support both contiguous and non-contiguous downlink (DL) subbands for SBFD.
Regarding Claim 39, Deogun discloses a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE).at least one control message indicating a first measurement configuration for channel state information measurement via a subband full duplex time interval (see para 273, the base station configures/i.e., transmits, different CSI-RS settings for CSI-RS transmission during SBFD slots/symbols) and a second measurement configuration for channel state information measurement via a non-subband full duplex time interval (see FIG. 20, at step S2010 CSI-RS resource configuration (SFBD specific CSI-RS resource settings #1 (for full duplex (FD) slots); non-SFBD CSI-RS resource settings #2 (for TDD DL slots)), the subband full duplex time interval comprising two or more downlink subbands that are (see para 72, In subband overlapping FD, UL and DL may be configured in a similar way to subband non-overlapping FD, but the different subbands are allowed to overlap in frequency/i.e., representing an overlap in time-frequency domain);
transmitting, to the UE, one or more channel state information reference signals via the subband full duplex time interval or via the non-subband full duplex time interval (see para 274, at S2012 the UE performs CSI-RS measurement and reporting, the UE can perform the CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on one or more SBFD specific CSI-RS resource settings for SBFD slots/symbols and can perform the CSI-RS measurement and reporting based on one or more TDD specific CSI-RS resource settings for other (legacy) TDD slots/symbols/i.e., representing non-SBFD); and
receiving, from the UE in accordance with the first measurement configuration or the second measurement configuration, a report indicating channel state information that is based at least in part on the one or more channel state information reference signals (see FIG. 20, S2012 perform CSI-RS measurement for setting #1 or setting #2 and the UE performs CSI reporting).
Deogun teaches receiving measurement configuration information for SBFD and non-SBFD for CSI reporting; SBFD downlink subbands that are contiguous and SBFD downlink subbands overlapping in frequency domain.
Deogun does not specify two or more downlink subbands that are non-contiguous.
In the same field of endeavor, Grant teaches this limitation: see paras 92-93, configuring reference signal (RS) resources with a non-contiguous frequency domain resource allocation in OFDM symbol(s) of a carrier configured for sub-band full duplex (SBFD) operation.
It would have been obvious, to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Deogun to include SBFD downlink subbands that are non-contiguous, to provide flexibility in the configuration of reference signal resource allocations such as to, for example, match the subband configuration within a subband full duplex system (see Grant, para 93), and since NR is designed to support both contiguous and non-contiguous downlink (DL) subbands for SBFD.
Conclusion
/DEEPA BELUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472