Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding an elastic return means, applicant argues that “pneumatic cylinders are not equivalents of the claimed elastic spring means, which are "adapted to keep the portion 5b in the open configuration, or in the closed configuration, unless a pushing action is exerted on it from the outside." Specification, Page 3, In. 29-31. See, also, Specification, Page 4, In. 3-6. In contrast, the pneumatic cylinders of Dietrich alternate between biasing the two portions in the open configuration and the biasing the two portions in the closed configuration.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant has not provided a convincing argument for their allegation that “pneumatic cylinders are not equivalents of the claimed elastic spring means.” The examiner maintains that pneumatic cylinders are equivalents of the claimed elastic spring means by virtue of being able to perform the recited function of “facilitating the transition from said open configuration to said closed configuration and vice versa”. Note that “facilitating” is a broad limitation. Applicant cites their specification that states that “advantageously, the container 1 also includes an elastic return means 8 adapted to keep the portion 5b in the open configuration, or in the closed configuration, unless a pushing action is exerted on it from the outside.” (Page 3; lines 29-31). The examiner notes that this statement is merely describing how the elastic means is adapted to function, it is not a specific and limiting definition for an elastic means. Moreover, it is noted that the elastic return means of Dietrich (i.e., the elastic return means being the pneumatic cylinders 139, 140) are also capable of performing the same function of being adapted to keep the portion 5b in the open configuration, or in the closed configuration, unless a pushing action is exerted on it from the outside, the pushing action exerted on it from the outside being the push by the pneumatic force, which is from the outside. Note that the specification merely describes how the elastic return means is going to be adapted. By no means it gives a specific and limiting definition of the elastic return means. Arguendo, even if it did, the elastic return means of Dietrich would still be able to perform the disclosed function. Also note that the claim itself gives a specific function to be performed by the elastic return means, and Dietrich is clearly able to perform the recited function of “facilitating the transition from said open configuration to said closed configuration and vice versa.”
Claim interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “elastic return means” in claim 1, “containment element” in claim 5, “hinge means” in claim 8.
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 8, and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities: change “at least one of said two portions” to “at least one of said at least two portions” to fix the antecedent basis issue and also match the recitation in claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 7, 8, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 depends from claim 6. Claim 6 has been canceled. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 7 are indefinite and unclear.
Claim 8 depends from claim 6. Claim 6 has been canceled. Therefore, the metes and bounds of claim 8 are indefinite and unclear.
Claim 13 is incomprehensible. Claim 13 recites “the elastic return means that permanently biases the at least one of said two portions in the open configuration.” Claim 13 starts by defining the elastic return means by reciting “the elastic return means that […].”, but fails to finish the sentence. Claim 13 also has an inherent conflict because it recites “elastic return means” which clearly is means for returning, but then it recites permanently biasing. It is not clear how to interpret permanently biasing by an elastic return means. Claim 13 also recites the function of “permanently biases.” It is not clear if the elastic return means, merely by virtue of being an elastic return means, would perform the function or if there are other structures or characteristics needed to perform the function. Hence, the metes and bounds of claim 13 are indefinite and unclear.
Any and all claims rejected herein under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, if rejected with art below under sections 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103, are rejected as best understood.
Claim 10 is rejected due to their dependency from a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 8, 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dietrich (EP 2 829 382).
With regard to claim 1, Dietrich discloses a container (135, 136, see Fig. 2) for heating plates (129) for butt welding pipes ([0005]), comprising one or more walls forming at least one receptacle for containing a heating plate (see [0038] disclosing that “in the waiting position, the insulating strips 137, 138 are pressed against the two side surfaces of the heating element 129 by applying appropriate pressure to the pneumatic cylinders 139, 140 in order to thermally insulate them”. Also see Fig. 2); an insulation surrounding said receptacle and adapted to thermally insulate said receptacle from the surrounding environment (137, 138); said one or more walls having at least one opening allowing the insertion/extraction of said heating plate into/from said receptacle (Fig. 2, [0038]); at least two portions (see 135 and 136, or 137 and 138, or their combination in Fig. 2) forming said receptacle and said opening, and an elastic return means (the elastic return means are the pneumatic cylinders 139, 140. See the 112(f) above which allows the equivalents of the means) which interacts with at least one of said at least two portions, facilitating the transition from said open configuration to said closed configuration and vice versa (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 2, Dietrich further discloses that said insulation is directly or indirectly coupled to an internal surface of said walls (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 3, Dietrich further discloses that said insulation is directly or indirectly coupled to an outer surface of said walls (Fig. 2. See the 112(b) rejection regarding “associated” and note that in Dietrich, said insulation means is associated with an outer surface of said walls by virtue of them being connected to each other and as a unit performing the functions disclosed by Dietrich).
With regard to claim 4, Dietrich further discloses that said insulation comprises panels made of solid insulating material (137, 138) which reproduce a negative outer shape of said heating plate and cover said walls (Fig. 2).
With regard to claim 7, Dietrich further discloses that at least one of said two portions is movable between an open configuration, in which said portions are mutually spaced apart, and a closed configuration, in which said portions are closed onto each other (see Fig. 2 and [0038]).
With regard to claim 8, Dietrich further discloses hinge means (the hinge means are the pneumatic cylinders 139, 140. See the 112(f) above which allows the equivalents of the means) adapted to allow the rotation of at least one of said two portions with respect to the other portion (Fig. 2. Note that claims 1 and 8 each recite “at least one of said two portions”).
It is noted that the phrase “to allow the rotation of at least one of said two portions with respect to the other portion” is being treated as a statement of the intended use.
With regard to claim 10, Dietrich further discloses a clamping device which is switchable between a locking mode, in which transition from said closed configuration to said open configuration of said container is prevented, and a release mode, in which the transition from said closed configuration to said open configuration of said container and vice versa is allowed (see [0033] and [0038] disclosing 139 and 140 are used to switch between a locked mode where the pneumatic system locks movement and a release mode where the pneumatic system moves).
With regard to claim 11, Dietrich further discloses that the container is integral with other containers and/or supports (each of 102, 103, 104, 105, 106, 107, and 108 is interpreted as support which are integral with the rest of the device shown in Fig. 2 such as 135 and 136).
With regard to claim 13, Dietrich further discloses that the elastic return means that permanently biases the at least one of said two portions in the open configuration (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietrich (EP 2 829 382).
With regard to claim 5:
Dietrich discloses the container of claim 1, as set forth above.
Dietrich does not appear to explicitly disclose that said insulation comprises loose insulating material confined between said walls and containment elements.
However, a careful examination of the specification reveals no criticality for the insulation means comprising loose insulating material confined between said walls and containment elements, nor any reason as to why the container of applicant with the loose insulating material confined between said walls and containment elements would operate any different than the container of Dietrich, and Applicant has not disclosed that the insulating material being loose and confined between said walls and containment elements provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. On the contrary, the specification discloses that “according to alternative embodiments, not shown in the figures, the insulation means that insulate the receptacle 3 is arranged on the outer surface of the walls 2 or is for example constituted by a loose insulating material, confined between containment elements.” ([0041]). Hence the insulating material being loose is considered to be a design choice by the applicant. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Dietrich and Applicant’s invention to perform equally well, because both would perform the same function of insulating.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine the insulating material being loose as claimed with container of Dietrich in order to achieve a desired dimension or configuration, as they are a matter of design choice. Such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dietrich (EP 2 829 382) in view of Lee Nam (KR 101 238 813).
With regard to claim 12:
Dietrich discloses an apparatus for butt welding pipes (see [0027] disclosing “Figure 2 shows a butt welding machine 101”) comprising a first clamp assembly and a second clamp assembly (115, 116, 119, 120), which can engage respectively a first tubular element and a second tubular element to be joined by welding ([0005], [0029], [0030]); a heating plate (129) for welding said ends being adapted to directly or indirectly couple with said welding apparatus; wherein said welding apparatus comprises at least one container for heating plates according to claim 1 for the butt welding of pipes (Fig. 2).
Dietrich does not appear to explicitly disclose a device for milling the ends of said first and second tubular elements.
However, Lee Nam teaches a device for milling the ends of first and second tubular elements (110)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine prior art elements according to known methods, namely adding a device for milling the ends of said first and second tubular elements, to yield predictable results of butt welding pipes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with regard to claim 14, the prior art doesn’t disclose that the elastic return means comprises a spring, and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application, nor any motivation, to modify the prior arts for these deficiencies, because it would require improper hindsight reconstruction, and also it would change the principle operation of the primary reference by making the pneumatic cylinders to be springs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent prior art disclosing similar containers such as US 20150156821.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BEHNOUSH HAGHIGHIAN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745