DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed on 12/02/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-30 are pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 17, 22-23 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Tang et al. (US 2023/0345543 A1), hereinafter “TANG”.
Regarding claim 1, TANG teaches, ‘A first equipment (UE) for wireless communications,
comprising:’ (Paragraph [0148], The network 1300 may include a UE 1302, which may include any mobile or non-mobile computing device designed to communicate with a RAN 1304 via an over-the-air connection):
‘one or more memories storing processor-executable code;’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 is a block diagram illustrating components… able to read instructions from a machine-readable or computer-readable medium… and perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein. FIG. 15… one or more memory/storage devices 1520. Paragraph [0196], the memory of processors 1510, the memory/storage devices 1520… are examples of computer-readable and machine-readable media [storing instructions]);
‘and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to:’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15… hardware resources 1500 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510, one or more memory/storage devices 1520… each of which may be communicatively coupled via a bus 1540. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software, a program, an application…, or other executable code for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘receive, from a network entity, a downlink message at the first UE;’ (Paragraph [0039], there is a delay between UL grant transmission at gNB side and UL grant reception at UE side. Paragraph [0189], A UE reception may be established by and via the antenna panels 1426…, receive a transmission from the AN 1404);
‘receive a first level of interference at the first UE, wherein the first level of interference is based at least in part on an uplink message transmitted from a second UE and wherein the first level of interference at least partially overlaps in time with the downlink message;’ (Paragraph [0149], In some embodiments, the network 1300 may include a plurality of UEs coupled directly with one another via a sidelink interface. The UEs… communicate using physical sidelink channels. Paragraph [0040], the distance between UE and TRP1, and the distance between UE and TRP2, is different… But if the TA difference is large, then separate TA values are needed for different TRPs. (Note: Sidelink/uplink transmissions occurring simultaneously with DL reception necessitates two TAs to prevent loss of synchronization/interference));
‘and transmit, to the network entity, assistance information associated with a timing adjustment determined by the first UE based at least in part on the first level of interference,’ (Paragraph [0103], Option 2: UE reports this TA timer failure to network, e.g., by MAC CE or RRC message. Paragraph [0223], Example 5 may include UE, once two TAs are enabled for a single cell and one TA timer expires, reports TA failure to network. (Note: The report of TA failure/mismatch is the assistance information indicating a need for adjustment)),
‘wherein the timing adjustment is associated with one or more uplink messages to be transmitted from the second UE.’ (Paragraph [0076], If the second TA value is derived according to
RACH procedure… network needs to adjust UE's TA dynamically using TA command MAC CE. Paragraph [0111], Considering the scenario of UL multi-DCI for multi-TRP operation, TA indication can be included in DCI or derived from DCI. (Note: The adjustment is applied to the PUSCH or sidelink uplink timing to ensure alignment)).
Regarding claim 17, TANG teaches, ‘A network entity for wireless communications, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0161], The RAN 1304 is communicatively coupled to CN 1320 that includes network elements to provide various functions):
‘one or more memories storing processor-executable code;’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 1500 including… one or more memory/storage devices 1520. Paragraph [0196], the memory of processors 1510, the memory/storage devices 1520…
are examples of computer-readable and machine-readable media [storing instructions]);
‘and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:’ (Paragraph [0192], hardware resources 1500 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510, one or more memory/storage devices 1520… each of which may be communicatively coupled via a bus 1540. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘transmit, to a first user equipment (UE), a downlink message,’ (Paragraph [0039], there is a delay between UL grant transmission at gNB side and UL grant reception at UE side. Paragraph [0214], identifying, at 1901, that a serving cell associated with the base station belongs to two timing advance groups (TAGs)… and transmitting, at 1903, the IE to a user equipment (UE)),
‘wherein a first level of interference is associated with the downlink message, the first level of interference based at least in part on an uplink message transmitted from a second UE;’ (Paragraph [0040], the distance between UE and TRP2, is different… But if the TA difference is large, then separate TA values are needed for different TRPs. Paragraph [0149], the network 1300 may include a plurality of UEs coupled directly with one another via a sidelink interface. The UEs… communicate using physical sidelink channels);
‘and receive assistance information associated with a timing adjustment determined by the first UE based at least in part on the first level of interference,’ (Paragraph [0103], Option 2: UE reports this TA timer failure to network, e.g., by MAC CE or RRC message. Paragraph [0081], it's still possible adjust TA by sending TA command MAC CE. And UE can report the TA value, if configured by network),
‘wherein the timing adjustment is associated with one or more uplink message to be transmitted from the second UE.’ (Paragraph [0076], If the second TA value is derived according to RACH procedure… network needs to adjust UE's TA dynamically using TA command MAC CE. Paragraph [0111], TA indication can be included in DCI or derived from DCI).
Regarding claim 22, TANG teaches, the network entity of claim 17, TANG further teaches, ‘wherein to receive the assistance information, the one or more processors are operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:’ (Paragraph [0192], hardware resources 1500 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510, one or more memory/storage devices 1520. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to
perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘receive an indication of a value associated with the timing adjustment for the second UE,’ (Paragraph [0081], it's still possible adjust TA by sending TA command MAC CE. And UE can report the TA value, if configured by network [and then network can adjust UE’s TA based on that value]),
‘wherein the assistance information comprises the indication.’ (Paragraph [0103], Option 2: UE reports this TA timer failure to network, e.g., by MAC CE or RRC message. Paragraph [0111], TA indication can be included in DCI or derived from DCI).
Regarding claim 23, TANG teaches, the network entity of claim 17, TANG further teaches, ‘wherein to receive the assistance information, the one or more processors are operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 1500 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘receive an indication of a timing report,’ (Paragraph [0073], UE can calculate the downlink timing difference of them, i.e., ΔT. Paragraph [0103], Option 2: UE reports this TA timer failure to
network, e.g., by MAC CE or RRC message),
‘wherein the timing report comprises an indication of a difference between timing associated with reception of the downlink message by the first UE’ (Paragraph [0039], there is a delay between UL grant transmission at gNB side and UL grant reception at UE side. Paragraph [0073], UE can calculate the downlink timing difference of them, i.e., ΔT)
‘and timing associated with reception of the first level of interference by the first UE,’ (Paragraph [0149], the network 1300 may include a plurality of UEs coupled directly with one another via a sidelink interface… The UEs… communicate using physical sidelink channels [Note: Interference is inherent in these overlapping timing scenarios described in ¶[0040]]),
‘wherein the assistance information comprises the timing report.’ (Paragraph [0081], it's still possible adjust TA by sending TA command MAC CE. And UE can report the TA value [timing report], if configured by network).
Regarding claim 28, TANG teaches, the network entity of claim 17, TANG further teaches, ‘wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:’ (Paragraph [0192], hardware resources 1500 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510, one or more memory/storage devices 1520. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘transmit, to the first UE, a control message comprising an indication of a threshold associated with interference at the first UE.’ (FIG. 18 and Paragraph [0244], identifying that a serving cell associated with the base station belongs to two timing advance groups (TAGs)… and transmitting the IE to a user equipment (UE). [Paragraph [0073], Optionally a maximum difference between first TA and second TA can be configured by network [the network entity], and if the difference between first TA and second TA exceeds this maximum value, the second TA is considered as not valid. Paragraph [0040], the distance between UE and TRP1, and the distance between UE and TRP2, is different… But if the TA difference is large, then separate TA values are needed for different TRPs [to avoid interference/misalignment]).
Regarding claim 29, TANG teaches, ‘A method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:’ (Paragraph [0212], FIG. 17. The process may relate to a method to be performed by a user equipment (UE)):
‘receiving, from a network entity, a downlink message at the first UE;’ (Paragraphs [0039], there is a delay between UL grant transmission at gNB side and UL grant reception at UE side);
‘receiving a first level of interference at the first UE, wherein the first level of interference is based at least in part on an uplink message transmitted from a second UE’ (Paragraph [0149], the network 1300 may include a plurality of UEs coupled directly with one another via a sidelink interface. The UEs… communicate using physical sidelink channels. Paragraph [0040], if the TA difference is large, then separate TA values are needed for different TRPs [to avoid interference/misalignment])
‘and wherein the first level of interference at least partially overlaps in time with the downlink message;’ (Paragraph [0039], according to the distance between UE and gNB, there is a delay… From gNB point of view, the scheduled delay [difference between DL reception and UL transmission] is fixed. Paragraph [0073], UE can calculate the downlink timing difference of them, i.e., ΔT);
‘and transmitting, to the network entity, assistance information associated with a timing adjustment determined by the first UE based at least in part on the first level of interference,’ (Paragraph [0103], Option 2: UE reports this TA timer failure to network, e.g., by MAC CE or RRC message. Paragraph [0081], it's still possible adjust TA by sending TA command MAC CE. And UE can report the TA value, if configured by network),
‘wherein the timing adjustment is associated with one or more uplink messages to be transmitted from the second UE.’ (Paragraph [0076], If the second TA value is derived according to
RACH procedure… network needs to adjust UE's TA dynamically using TA command MAC CE. Paragraph [0111], TA indication can be included in DCI or derived from DCI).
Regarding claim 30, TANG teaches, ‘A method for wireless communications at a network entity, comprising:’ (Paragraph [0213], method to be performed by a base station):
‘transmitting, to a first user equipment (UE), a downlink message,’ (Paragraph [0244], identifying that a serving cell associated with the base station belongs to two timing advance groups (TAGs)… and transmitting the IE to a user equipment (UE). Paragraph [0039], there is a delay between UL grant transmission at gNB side and UL grant reception at UE side),
‘wherein a first level of interference is associated with the downlink message, the first level of interference based at least in part on an uplink message transmitted from a second UE;’ (Paragraph [0149], the network 1300 may include a plurality of UEs coupled directly with one another via a sidelink interface. The UEs… communicate using physical sidelink channels. Paragraph [0040], the distance between UE and TRP1, and the distance between UE and TRP2, is different… But if the TA difference is large, then separate TA values are needed for different TRPs [to avoid interference/ misalignment]);
‘and receiving assistance information associated with a timing adjustment determined by the first UE based at least in part on the first level of interference,’ (Paragraph [0103], Option 2: UE reports this TA timer failure to network, e.g., by MAC CE or RRC message. Paragraph [0081], it's still possible adjust TA by sending TA command MAC CE. And UE can report the TA value, if configured by network),
‘wherein the timing adjustment is associated with one or more uplink message to be transmitted from the second UE.’ (Paragraph [0076], If the second TA value is derived according to RACH procedure… network needs to adjust UE's TA dynamically using TA command MAC CE. Paragraph [0111], TA indication can be included in DCI or derived from DCI).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG in view of Liu et al. (US 2025/0193818 A1), hereinafter “LIU”.
Regarding claim 2,TANG teaches, the first UE of claim 1, TANG further teaches,
‘wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to:’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 1500 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software, a program, an application, an applet, an app, or other executable code for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘wherein the assistance information…’ (Paragraph [0103], Option 2: UE reports this TA timer failure to network, e.g., by MAC CE or RRC message)…
TANG does not explicitly teach but LIU teaches, ‘compare timing associated with reception of the downlink message to timing associated with reception of the first level of interference,’ (LIU - Paragraph [0036], There will be a time gap between reception of the RS and normal downlink reception timing of UE 222, and which is defined by T0+T1-T3+T2. Paragraph [0045], Then, victim UE 521 can determine the reception timing for the measurement RS as a time period T0+ T1-T3+T2 before its normal reception or detection timing for normal downlink data),
‘…is based at least in part on the comparison.’ (LIU – Paragraph [0049], Accordingly, the aggressor UE 522 can determine the transmission timing of the measurement RS, and the victim UE 511 (interfered UE/measured UE) can determine the receiving timing of the measurement RS accurately, thus effectively improving the performance of the measurement).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LIU with TANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LIU into TANG is that LIU provides a first network node determines reception timing of a Reference Signal (RS). The RS
is transmitted by a second network node at transmission timing. The first network node receives from the second network node the RS according to the reception timing. (See paragraph [0004], LIU)
Claims 3-8, 11-16, 18-20 and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG in view of LIU in view of Lovlekar et al. (US 2020/0260463 A1), hereinafter “LOVLEKAR”.
Regarding claim 3, TANG and LIU teach, the first UE of claim 2, TANG further teaches,
‘wherein to transmit the assistance Information, the one or more processors are operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to:’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 1500 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510, one or
more memory/storage devices 1520. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software, a program, an application,… or other executable code for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘transmit an indication of a value…’ (Paragraph [0081], If the second TA value is estimated by UE itself… And UE can report the TA value, if configured by network)…
‘wherein the value associated with the timing adjustment…’ (Paragraph [0073], UE can calculate the downlink timing difference… The second TA value = the first TA value + 2ΔT)…
TANG does not explicitly teach but LIU teaches, ‘is based at least in part on the comparison.’ (LIU - Paragraph [0045], Then, victim UE 521 can determine the reception timing for the measurement RS as a time period T0+T1-T3+T2 before its normal reception or detection timing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LIU with TANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LIU into TANG is that LIU provides a first network node determines reception timing of a Reference Signal (RS). The RS
is transmitted by a second network node at transmission timing. The first network node receives from the second network node the RS according to the reception timing. (See paragraph [0004], LIU)
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘…associated with the timing adjustment for the second UE,’ (LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0164], the UE may transmit to the NB a message that includes IDC [in-device-coexistence] assistance information indicating the interfering frequency/subframe number when the interference exceeds a given… threshold),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Regarding claim 4, TANG and LIU teach, the first UE of claim 2, TANG further teaches,
‘wherein to transmit the assistance Information, the one or more processors are operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to:’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 is a block diagram illustrating components… including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘…based at least in part on the comparison.’ (Paragraph [0073], By tracking the two downlink RSs… UE can calculate the downlink timing difference of them i.e., ΔT).
TANG does not explicitly teach but LIU teaches, ‘…wherein the timing report comprises an indication of a difference between the timing associated with the reception of the downlink message’ (LIU – Paragraph [0036], There will be a time gap between reception of the RS and normal downlink reception timing… and which is defined by T0+T1-T3+T2. Paragraph [0045], Then, victim UE 521 can determine the reception timing for the measurement RS as a time period T0+T1-T3+T2 before its normal reception or detection timing for normal downlink data (e.g., PDSCH, PDCCH, etc.).
‘and the timing associated with the reception of the first level of interference…’ (LIU - Paragraph [0046], T3 is transmission delay… between the aggressor UE 522 and the victim UE 521. Paragraph [0043], More specifically, the victim UE 521 determines the reception timing of the measurement RS using at least one of the following parameters: the unidirectional transmission time… cell radius… [and] unidirectional transmission time between victim UE 521… and BS 501)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LIU with TANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LIU into TANG is that LIU provides a first network node determines reception timing of a Reference Signal (RS). The RS
is transmitted by a second network node at transmission timing. The first network node receives from the second network node the RS according to the reception timing. (See paragraph [0004], LIU)
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘transmit an indication of a timing report,…’ (LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0163], The UE may subsequently transmit reports to the NB indicating PC5 frequencies that are affected due to aggression on the Uu link. Paragraph [0164], If IDC [In-device-coexistence] is configured, the UE may transmit to the NB [base station] a message that includes IDC assistance information indicating the interfering frequency/subframe number when the interference exceeds a given (e.g. a specified) threshold)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Regarding claim 5, TANG and LIU teach, the first UE of claim 2, TANG further teaches, ‘wherein to transmit the assistance information, the one or more processors are operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 is a block diagram illustrating components… including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘…wherein the difference is based at least in part on the comparison.’ (Paragraph [0073], Optionally a maximum difference between first TA and second TA can be configured by network, and
if the difference between first TA and second TA exceeds this maximum value, the second TA is considered as not valid).
TANG does not explicitly teach but LIU teaches, ‘…based at least in part on a difference between the timing associated with the reception of the downlink message and the timing associated with the reception of the first level of interference…’ (LIU - Paragraph [0037], …improve the measurement reliability and set forth methods for adjusting the transmitting or receiving timing to obtain higher measurement performance. Paragraph [0036], There will be a time gap between reception of the
RS and normal downlink reception timing of UE 222, and which is defined by T0+T1-T3+T2. Paragraph [0045], Then, victim UE 521 can determine the reception timing for the measurement RS as a time period T0+T1-T3+T2 before its normal reception or detection timing for normal downlink data)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LIU with TANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LIU into TANG is that LIU provides a first network node determines reception timing of a Reference Signal (RS). The RS
is transmitted by a second network node at transmission timing. The first network node receives from the second network node the RS according to the reception timing. (See paragraph [0004], LIU)
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOLEKAR teaches, ‘transmit, to the network entity, the assistance information associated with the timing adjustment…’ (LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0164], If IDC [In-device-coexistence] is configured, the UE may transmit to the NB [base station] a message that includes IDC assistance information indicating the interfering frequency/subframe number when the interference exceeds a given (e.g. a specified) threshold)…
‘…exceeding a second threshold,…’ (LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0164], If IDC [In-device-coexistence] is configured, the UE may transmit to the NB [base station] a message that includes IDC assistance information indicating the interfering frequency/subframe number when the interference exceeds a given (e.g. a specified) threshold),…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Regarding claims 6 and 27, TANG teaches, the first UE of claim 1, TANG further teaches,
‘wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to:’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 is a block diagram illustrating components… including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘measure the first level of interference, (LOVLEKAR - Paragraph [0163], The NB may also configure another set of measurements, for example BLER, CBR and traffic volume measurements associated with the PC5 communications of the UE. Paragraph [0164], The NB may analyze the Uu and PC5 measurements… such that interference is reduced between the PC5 and Uu links),
‘wherein transmitting the assistance information is based at least in part on the first level of interference exceeding a threshold.’ (LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0164], If IDC [In-device-coexistence] is configured, the UE may transmit to the NB a message that includes IDC assistance information indicating the interfering frequency/subframe number when the interference exceeds a given (e.g. a specified) threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Regarding claim 7 , TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR teach, the first UE of claim 6, TANG further teaches, ‘wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to:’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 is a block diagram illustrating components… including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘receive, from the network entity, control signaling…’ (Paragraph [0066], the two-TA mode configuration can be sent to UE in Handover command when target cell supports 2 TA mode. Paragraph [0128], the network has to configure the association… before the UE triggers RACH… This preconfiguration can be done via broadcast signaling or dedicated signaling)…
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘…comprising an indication of the threshold.’ (LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0163], the NB may also configure another set of measurements… If the UE supports IDC on PC5, the NB may also configure IDC reporting for the UE. Paragraph [0164], If IDC is configured, the UE may transmit to the NB a message that includes IDC assistance information indicating the interfering frequency/subframe number when the interference exceeds a given (e.g. a specified) threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Regarding claim 8, TANG, LIU, and LOVLEKAR teach, the first UE of claim 6,
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘wherein the threshold is based at least in part on one or more parameters at the first UE.’ (LOVLEKAR - Paragraph [0163], The UE may also transmit to the NB a UE capability message indicating whether the UE supports IDC on PC5. Paragraph [0164], the UE may transmit to the NB a message that includes IDC assistance information… when the interference exceeds a given (e.g. a specified) threshold).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Regarding claim 11, TANG teaches, the first UE of claim 1, TANG further teaches, ‘wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the coder to cause the first UE to:’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 is a block diagram illustrating components… including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
TANG does not explicitly teach but LIU teaches, ‘and receive a second level of interference at the first UE based at least in part on the one or more uplink messages transmitted from the second UE,…’ (LIU – Paragraph [0041], The victim UE 521 (first UE or first network node) receives and measures the RS [from the aggressor UE 522]. Paragraph [0054], The aggressor UE 522 transmits the RS for the frame i at the uplink transmission time… in order for the victim UE 521 to receive the RS at the downlink reception time),…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LIU with TANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LIU into TANG is that LIU provides a first network node determines reception timing of a Reference Signal (RS). The RS
is transmitted by a second network node at transmission timing. The first network node receives from the second network node the RS according to the reception timing. (See paragraph [0004], LIU)
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘receive, from the network entity, a second downlink message at the first UE;’ (LOVLEKAR - Paragraph [0008], The first UE may receive second information from the first NB at least in response to transmitting the indication to the first NB, with the second information including reconfiguration parameters. Paragraph [0168], NB 906 may then send the new parameters associated with the reconfigured resources to UE 902. For example, NB 906 may transmit an RRC connection reconfiguration message to UE 902);
‘…wherein the second level of interference is based at least in part on the assistance information.’ (LOVLEKAR - Paragraph [0008], The first UE may then switch to communicating over the Uu link and/or the PC5 link according to the updated resource allocations to reduce interference between the Uu link and the PC5 link in comparison to communications conducted over the PC5 link according to the (initial or original) resource configuration information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Regarding claim 12, TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR teach, the first UE of claim 11,
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘wherein the second level of interference is less than a threshold.’ (LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0008], The first UE may then switch to
communicating over the Uu link and/or the PC5 link according to the updated resource allocations to reduce interference between the Uu link and the PC5 link in comparison to communications conducted over the PC5 link according to the (initial or original) resource configuration information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Regarding claim 13, TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR teach, the first UE of claim 11, TANG further teaches, ‘wherein the downlink message is associated with a first transmission timing,’ (Paragraph [0039], according to the distance between UE and gNB, there is a delay between UL grant transmission at gNB side and UL grant reception at UE side. From gNB point of view, the scheduled delay… is fixed),
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘and wherein, to receive the second downlink message the one or more processors are operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: receive the second downlink message associated with a second transmission timing,’ (LOVLEKAR - Paragraph [0008], The first UE may receive second information from the first NB at least in response to transmitting the indication… with the second information including reconfiguration parameters associated with updated resource allocations for the Uu link [downlink]),
‘wherein the second transmission timing is based at least in part on the assistance information.’ (LOVLEKAR - Paragraph [0008], The first UE may then switch to communicating over the Uu link [downlink]… according to the updated resource allocations to reduce interference… in comparison to communications conducted… according to the (initial or original) resource configuration information).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Regarding claim 14, TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR teach, the first UE of claim 13, TANG further teaches, ‘wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to:’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 is a block diagram illustrating components… including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
TANG and LIU does not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘receive, from the network entity, a control message indicating the second transmission timing,’ (LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0008], The first UE may receive second information from the first NB… with the second information including reconfiguration parameters associated with updated resource allocations. Paragraph [0168], NB 906 may then send the new parameters associated with the reconfigured resources to UE 902. For example, NB 906 may transmit an RRC connection reconfiguration message to UE 902 with new Uu parameters (932)),
‘wherein receiving the second downlink message is based at least in part on the control message.’ (LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0168], UE 902 and UE 904 may then coordinate and/or inform each other of the newly configured resources via layer 2 and/or layer 3 signaling. Paragraph [0008], The first UE may then switch to communicating over the Uu link… according to the updated resource allocations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Regarding claim 15, TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR teach, the first UE of claim 11, TANG does not explicitly teach but LIU further teaches, ‘wherein a difference between timing associated with the reception of the second downlink message’ (LIU - Paragraph [0037], The various arrangements disclosed herein improve the measurement reliability and set forth methods for adjusting the transmitting or receiving timing to obtain higher measurement performance)
‘and timing associated with the reception of the second level of interference…’ (LIU - Paragraph [0041], The interference or aggressor UE 522 (second UE or second network node) transmits RS for inter-UE interference measurement… The victim UE 521 (first UE or first network node) receives and measures the RS)…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LIU with TANG because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LIU into TANG is that LIU provides a first network node determines reception timing of a Reference Signal (RS). The RS
is transmitted by a second network node at transmission timing. The first network node receives from the second network node the RS according to the reception timing. (See paragraph [0004], LIU)
LIU does not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘…is below a second threshold.’ (LOVLEKAR - Paragraph [0164], The NB may analyze the Uu and PC5 measurements and may schedule PC5 and/or Uu resources (e.g. FDM and/or TDM resources) such that interference is reduced between the PC5 and Uu links).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Regarding claim 16, TANG teaches, the first UE of claim 1, TANG further teaches, ‘wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to:’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 is a block diagram illustrating components… including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘…indicating whether the network entity applied the timing adjustment to the second UE…’ (Paragraph [0076], network needs to adjust UE's TA dynamically using TA command MAC CE)
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘receive, from the network entity, a feedback message…’ (LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0008], The first UE may receive second information from the first NB at least in response to transmitting the indication… with the second information including reconfiguration parameters. Paragraph [0168], NB 906 may then send the new parameters associated with the reconfigured resources to UE 902)…
‘…based at least in part on receiving the assistance information.’ (LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0168], In response to the report(s), the NB 906 may reconfigure the Uu and/or PC5 resources for the UE 902 in order to mitigate the issues that may have arisen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Regarding claim 18, TANG teaches, the network entity of claim 17, TANG further teaches, ‘wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 1500 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510, one or more memory/storage devices 1520. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘receive the uplink message from the second UE according to a first timing advance;’ (Paragraph [0039], there is a delay between UL grant transmission at gNB side and UL grant reception at UE side.
From gNB point of view, the scheduled delay… is fixed. Paragraph [0076], If the second TA value is derived according to RACH procedure… network needs to adjust UE's TA dynamically using TA command MAC CE);
‘and determine whether to apply the timing adjustment to the second UE,’ (Paragraph [0073], Optionally a maximum difference between first TA and second TA can be configured by network, and
if the difference between first TA and second TA exceeds this maximum value, the second TA is considered as not valid [Note: This implies the determination to apply or reject the adjustment]).
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘wherein the timing adjustment is based at least in part on the assistance information.’ (LOVLEKAR - Paragraph [0168), In response to the report(s) [assistance information], the NB 906 may reconfigure the Uu and/or PC5 resources… in order to mitigate the issues. Paragraph [0008], The first UE may receive second information from the first NB at least in response to transmitting the indication [assistance information]].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Regarding claim 19, TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR teach, the network entity of claim 18, TANG further teaches, ‘wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:’ (Paragraph [0192], hardware resources 1500 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510, one or more memory/storage devices 1520. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘apply the timing adjustment to the second UE based at least in part on a value associated with the timing adjustment,’ (Paragraph [0076], If the second TA value is derived according to RACH procedure… network needs to adjust UE's TA dynamically using TA command MAC CE. Paragraph [0081], it's still possible adjust TA by sending TA command MAC CE. And UE can report the TA value, if configured by network),
‘wherein determining to apply the timing adjustment is based at least in part on the value being less than or equal to a second threshold.’ (Paragraph [0073], Optionally a maximum difference between first TA and second TA can be configured by network, and if the difference between first TA and second TA exceeds this maximum value, the second TA is considered as not valid).
Regarding claim 20, TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR teach, the network entity of claim 19, TANG
further teaches, ‘wherein to apply the timing adjustment, the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 shows a diagrammatic representation of hardware resources 1500 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510, one or more memory/storage devices 1520. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘transmit, to the second UE, a control message indicating a second timing advance,’ (Paragraph
[0076], If the second TA value is derived according to RACH procedure, along with the UE's movement, network needs to adjust UE's TA dynamically using TA command MAC CE. Paragraph [0111], TA indication can be included in DCI or derived from DCI),
‘wherein the second timing advance is based at least in part on the value associated with the timing adjustment;’ (Paragraph [0081], it's still possible adjust TA by sending TA command MAC CE. And UE can report the TA value, if configured by network [Note: network can adjust UE’s TA based on that value]);
‘and receive a second uplink message from the second UE according to the second timing
advance.’ (Paragraph [0039], according to the distance between UE and gNB, there is a delay between UL grant transmission at gNB side and UL grant reception at UE side. From gNB point of view, the scheduled [difference between DL reception and UL transmission] is fixed).
Regarding claim 26, TANG teaches, the network entity of claim 17, TANG further teaches, ‘wherein the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to:’ (Paragraph [0192], hardware resources 1500 including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510, one or more memory/storage devices 1520. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
‘…wherein the second network entity is associated with the uplink message.’ (Paragraph [0040], the distance between UE and TRP1, and the distance between UE and TRP2, is different… separate TA values are needed for different TRPs).
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘transmit, to a second network entity, the assistance information associated with the timing adjustment,’ (LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0168], In response to the report(s), the NB 906 may reconfigure the Uu and/or PC5 resources for the UE 902 in order to mitigate the issues. Paragraph [0165], NB 806 may inform NB 808 (e.g. over an X2 link, which is a communication link established between two base stations) that it (NB 808) may allocate resources to UE 804 (which is in communication with NB 808) for PC5 communications, if the PC5 resources of UE 804 are causing interference… such that interference, caused by PC5 communications… reduced),…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
Claims 9-10, 21 and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANG in view of LIU in view of LOVLEKAR in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0357224 A1), hereinafter “LI”.
Regarding claims 9 and 24, TANG teaches, the first UE of claim 1, TANG further teaches,
‘wherein, to transmit the assistance information, the one or more processors are operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to:’ (Paragraph [0192], FIG. 15 is a block diagram illustrating components… including one or more processors (or processor cores) 1510. Paragraph [0196], Instructions 1550 may comprise software… for causing at least any of the processors 1510 to perform any one or more of the methodologies discussed herein):
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘transmit an indication of one or more parameters associated with the downlink message, the uplink message, or both,…’ (LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0163], the UE may report to the NB which PC5 resources, e.g. which PC5 frequencies over which the UE is conducting SL communications [uplink/peer] with another UE, are affected by the communications that the UE is conducting with the NB over the Uu link [downlink]. Paragraph [0164], the UE may transmit to the NB a message that includes IDC assistance information indicating the interfering frequency/subframe number),…
TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR do not explicitly teach but LI teaches, ‘…wherein the assistance information comprises the one or more parameters.’ (LI – Paragraph [0011], the parameter information comprises at least one of: a number of slots for a data transmission, a number of mini-slots, a number of symbols, a modulation and coding scheme (MCS) indication, a frequency domain resource location. Paragraph [0007], determining a first time domain resource for transmitting data according to first preset information, where the first preset information includes at least one of: indication information
from a base station, a sensing result for a channel and a measurement result for interference).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LI with TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LI into TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR is that LI provides at least one piece of information (the indication information coming from the base station, the sensing result for the channel and the measurement result for interference) determines the first time domain resource for transmitting the data according to the first preset information, requirements of the interference and traffic priority are considered, and requirements transmitted according to requirement adaption of uplink and downlink traffics are satisfied, reducing interference of data transmission, improving the probability of data transmission and ensuring the system performance. (See paragraph [0039], LI)
Regarding claims 10 and 25, TANG, LIU, LOVLEKAR and LI teach, the first UE of claim 9,
TANG and LIU do not explicitly teach but LOVLEKAR teaches, ‘…or any combination
thereof .’(LOVLEKAR – Paragraph [0164], The NB may analyze the Uu and PCS measurements and may schedule PC5 and/or Uu resources (e.g. FDM and/or TDM resources) such that interference is reduced).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LOVLEKAR with TANG and LIU because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LOVLEKAR into TANG and LIU is that LOVLEKAR provides to reduce in-device coexistence issues and/or interference between different radio links associated with the same radio access technology. A first UE may communicate with a first NB over a first radio link, for example over a first NR Uu link. The first UE may subsequently communicate with the second UE over the PC5 link according to the received resource configuration information. (See paragraph [0007], LOVLEKAR)
LIU and LOVLEKAR do not explicitly teach but LI teaches, ‘wherein the one or more parameters
are associated with one or more guard bands, one or more guard symbols, one or more power control parameters,...’(LI – paragraph [0011], Optionally, the parameter information comprises at least one of… power control information; where the parameter information is determined through one piece of DCI or at least two pieces of DCI. Paragraph [0097], …the base station… configures multiple candidate sensing locations or Gap locations or start transmission locations of the candidate PUSCH. Paragraph [0132], For example, the base station schedules a certain UE to perform uplink data transmission… Meanwhile, three candidate Gaps or blank areas in the slot4… The terminal may perform interference measurement from the channel… at the locations of the three candidate Gaps. Paragraph [0220], when a distance between two cells is smaller than a predefined threshold, frequency domain resources of the two cells is non-adjacent, i.e., a guard band is provided between the frequency domain resources of the two cells).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LI with TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LI into TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR is that LI provides at least one piece of information (the indication information coming from the base station, the sensing result for the channel and the measurement result for interference) determines the first time domain resource for transmitting the data according to the first preset information, requirements of the interference and traffic priority are considered, and requirements transmitted according to requirement adaption of uplink and downlink traffics are satisfied, reducing interference of data transmission, improving the probability of data transmission and ensuring the system performance. (See paragraph [0039], LI)
Regarding claim 21, TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR teach, the network entity of claim 18, TANG further teaches, ‘wherein the downlink message is associated with a first transmission timing,’ (Paragraph [0039], there is a delay between UL grant transmission at gNB side and UL grant reception at UE side. From gNB point of view, the scheduled delay… is fixed),
‘…wherein the second transmission timing is based at least in part on a value associated with the timing adjustment.’ (Paragraph [0081], it's still possible adjust TA by sending TA command MAC CE. And UE can report the TA value, if configured by network [and then network can adjust UE’s TA based on that value]).
TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR do not explicitly teach but LI teaches, ‘and the one or more processors are further operable to execute the code to cause the network entity to: transmit a second downlink message according to a second transmission timing,…’ (LI - Paragraphs [0011]-[0012], parameter information is determined through one piece of DCI or at least two pieces of DCI… a second-level DCI in the two pieces of DCI includes at least one of:… an adjusted transmission timing),…
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of LI with TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR because both are in the same/similar field of endeavor. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of LI into TANG, LIU and LOVLEKAR is that LI provides at least one piece of information (the indication information coming from the base station, the sensing result for the channel and the measurement result for interference) determines the first time domain resource for transmitting the data according to the first preset information, requirements of the interference and traffic priority are considered, and requirements transmitted according to requirement adaption of uplink and downlink traffics are satisfied, reducing interference of data transmission, improving the probability of data transmission and ensuring the system performance. (See paragraph [0039], LI)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HAESHIL JESSICA CHOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479