Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments on filed 08/21/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1-6 and 8-19 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No 20200356699 hereinafter Sastry in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170055109 hereinafter Van have been fully considered. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-6 and 8-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over U.S. Publication No 20200356699 hereinafter Sastry in view of U.S. Publication
No. 20170055109 hereinafter Van, and further in view of U.S. Publication No. 20140137193 hereinafter Inoue.
As per claim 1 Sastry discloses:
An electronic device (Fig. 1) comprising:
at least a first electronic module (para 0018 "The first SoC die 105 may
include a plurality of SoC components (e.g., component A 110, component B
115, and component C 120) communicatively coupled any one or more of each
other or off-die components (e.g., component D 195 of the second SoC die) via
an interconnect endpoint 125.");
a secure element (para 0018 "The interconnect endpoint 125 may include
a security component 130, a component facing transceiver 155, a security interconnect 160, and a interconnect packager 165.");
a router configured to transmit first data between the first module and a
second module (para 0019 "The component facing transceiver 155 may be
arranged (e.g., configured, designed, manufactured, structured, etc.) to send or
receive component messages to components (e.g., component A 110,
component B 115, component C 120, or component D 195)." Para 0020 "The
security interconnect 160 may be arranged to connect the messaging pipeline of
the component facing transceiver 155 and the interconnect packager 165 to the
security component 130. The security interconnect 160 may conform to a
standard interface of the security component 130. During operation, a component
message received from the component facing transceiver 155 or from the
interconnect 170 at the interconnect packager 165 may be passed to the security
component 130 to respectively encrypt or decrypt the message before continuing
on to its destination.")
wherein the electronic device is configured to verify, via an authentication
method, whether or not the third module is authorized to access the first data that is being transmitted between the first electronic module and the second module
(para 0019 discloses "The component facing transceiver 155 may be arranged
(e.g., configured, designed, manufactured, structured, etc.) to send or receive
component messages to components (e.g., e.g., component A 110, component
B 115, component C 120, or component D 195). "paragraph 0020 "The security
interconnect 160 may be arranged to connect the messaging pipeline of the
component facing transceiver 155 and the interconnect packager 165 to the
security component 130. The security interconnect 160 may conform to a
standard interface of the security component 130. During operation, a component
message received from the component facing transceiver 155 or from the
interconnect 170 at the interconnect packager 165 may be passed to the security
component 130 to respectively encrypt or decrypt the message before continuing
on to its destination. In an example, an interconnect message header analyzer
may be present in the security component 130, the security interconnect 160, or
elsewhere in the interconnect endpoint 125 to read an interconnect message
header and determine if it is an encrypted message and cause the security
component 130 to decrypt or authenticate the message if it is an encrypted
message." para 0029 "FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a data flow in a
system 200 for a security plugin for an SoC platform, according to an
embodiment. The components of the system 200 may be implemented by the
components discussed above with respect to FIG. 1. The system 200 may
include an initiator component 205, an interconnect endpoint 210 with a security
component 215, an SoC fabric including an interconnect 220, another
interconnect endpoint 225 with security component 230, and a destination
component 235. The solid arrows denote the message flow within the boundary
of an interconnect endpoint and an SoC component." para 0030 "As illustrated,
the initiator component 205 transmits a message to the interconnect
endpoint 210 that services the initiator component. The interconnect
endpoint 205 may pass the message to its security component 215 to secure the
message, creating a secured message. The secured message may be returned
to the interconnect endpoint to be wrapped into an interconnect message. The
interconnect message may be transmitted, via the interconnect 220, to the
interconnect endpoint 225. The interconnect endpoint 225 reads a header of the
interconnect message and determines that it is a secured message. In response
to this determination, the interconnect endpoint 225 forwards the secured
portions of the interconnect message to its security component 230. In an
example, the security component 230 may negotiate with the security
component 215 to obtain the session key for this transaction at this time.
However, in an example, the session key negotiation may occur at any time
between the receipt of the request to secure the component message by the
security component 215 and the session key negotiation may be initiated by the
security component 215." para 0031 "In an example, the interconnect
endpoint 210 and 225 are on the same SoC die (e.g., performing intra-chip
communications). In an example, the interconnect endpoint 210 and 225 are not
on the same SoC die (e.g., performing inter-chip communications). By securing
the SoC component communications as illustrated in FIG. 2, malicious actors
may be thwarted by denying them access to the messages as they move on the
SoC interconnect 220. Further, any SoC components may be used without
regard to which or a plurality of security configurations were selected by the SoC
designers." Fig. 7, para 0044 At operation 730, the encrypted message may be
transmitted across the interconnect. In an example, every message transmitted
from the bus endpoint is encrypted by the security component. In an example,
every message traversing a bus to which the bus endpoint is a terminus is
encrypted by respective security components in endpoints of the bus. Thus, the
entire interconnect consists of secured communications." Which means every
message must be decrypted and authenticated (see paragraphs 0020 and
0023)."
Sastry does not disclose:
a third module different from a first electronic module
a router coupled to the secure element and configured to transmit first
data between the first electronic module and a second module that is different
from the third module
wherein the third module is neither a source nor an intended recipient of the first data
in response to a request by the third module to access the first data, wherein the router is configured to provide the third module access to the first data in response to verifying that the third module is authorized to access the first data and to deny the third module access to the first data in response to failing to verify that the third module is authorized to access the first data, and
wherein the router is configured to transmit the first data between the first electronic module and the second module independently of the request by the third module.
Van discloses:
a third module different from a first electronic module (Fig. 2, element 206
and elements 208, 212 and Fig. 3, elements App1 and App2)
a router coupled to the secure element (Fig. 2, elements s202 and 210)
and configured to transmit first data between the first electronic module
and a second module that is different from the third module (para 0043 "In
particular, FIG. 3 illustrates the NFC router (NFC ROUTER) 202, the device host
(DEVICE HOST) 206, and the secure elements (SE1) 210 and (SE2) 212. Both
of the secure elements 210, 212 for example store a PPSE (proximity payment
system environment) application. Furthermore, the secure element 210 for
example stores NFC transaction applications APP1 and APP2, and the secure
element 212 for example stores NFC transaction applications APP2 and APP3."
Fig. 4, para 0047 The method for example comprises operations 401 to 404
for generating a global list of available NFC applications, and an operation 405 in
which the list of available applications is supplied to an NFC terminal in response
to a new RF message. The data for forming the global list of available NFC
transaction applications is for example collected by the NFC router 202 in
response to a command from the device host 206, and incorporates data
retrieved from each secure element, and optionally from other sources." Para
0074 "Alternatively, if the list 220 includes more than one NFC transaction
application capable of handling the RF transaction, then the NFC router 202 for
example responds to the NFC terminal with a message including the NFC
identifiers of the available transaction applications that can handle the NFC
transaction. For example, the NFC terminal transmits a SELECT PPSE
command to the NFC router, and the NFC router responds directly to the NFC
terminal by transmitting a list of NFC payment applications available in the
secure elements. If there is only one NFC transaction application that is
compatible with the NFC terminal, the NFC terminal for example selects this NFC
transaction application. Alternatively, if there is more than one transaction
application that is compatible with the NFC terminal, then the NFC terminal for
example selects the application having the highest priority, which is for example
the application highest on the PPSE list. The NFC router 202 then for example
sends a new RF message to the selected transaction application, which is routed
by the NFC router 202 to the secure element storing the NFC transaction
application.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic
device of Sastry to include a third module different from a first electronic module,
a router coupled to the secure element and configured to transmit first data
between the first electronic module and a second module that is different from
the third module, as taught by Van.
The motivation would have been to secure communicate between a
secure element and other electronic modules.
Sastry in view of Vandoes not disclose:
wherein the third module is neither a source nor an intended recipient of the first data
in response to a request by the third module to access the first data, wherein the router is configured to provide the third module access to the first data in response to verifying that the third module is authorized to access the first data and to deny the third module access to the first data in response to failing to verify that the third module is authorized to access the first data, and
wherein the router is configured to transmit the first data between the first electronic module and the second module independently of the request by the third module
Inoue discloses:
wherein the third module is neither a source nor an intended recipient of the first data (para 0281 “As described above, according to the first embodiment, when a session for transferring contents data between a first terminal (the terminal 10aa) and a second terminal (the terminal 10db) has been established, the transmitter/receiver 51 of the management system 50 accepts a request to join the session from a third terminal (the terminal 10cd).”)
in response to a request by the third module to access the first data, wherein the router is configured to provide the third module access to the first data in response to verifying that the third module is authorized to access the first data and to deny the third module access to the first data in response to failing to verify that the third module is authorized to access the first data (para 0281 “When the first terminal (the terminal 10aa) starts a session with a joining restriction with the second terminal (the terminal 10db), the management system 50 registers joining authentication information that is entered from the first terminal. When the running session is a session with a joining restriction, the joining determination unit 63 of the management system 50 causes the third terminal to enter joining authorization information. When the joining authentication information from the first terminal and the joining authentication information from the third terminal match or the session have no joining restriction, the joining determination unit 63 of the management system 50 allows the third terminal to join the session.”), and
wherein the router is configured to transmit the first data between the first electronic module and the second module independently of the request by the third module (para 0281 “As described above, according to the first embodiment, when a session for transferring contents data between a first terminal (the terminal 10aa) and a second terminal (the terminal 10db) has been established, the transmitter/receiver 51 of the management system 50 accepts a request to join the session from a third terminal (the terminal 10cd).” Applicant’s specification as filed on paragraph 0075 and Fig. 4, discloses “ At a step 405 (block “Comm START”), successive to step 404, a communication starts. The communication may be a communication internal to device 403 or an external communication between device 403 and another electronic device. In practice, router 401 starts receiving data DATA4 from a communication between a first module and a second module. First module is part of electronic device 403, and second module can be an internal module of electronical device 403 or a device that is external to device 403. According to an example, communication can be a communication between two modules of device 403, a communication between a module of device 403 and an external device, or even a communication between the secure element 402 and another module of device 403 or an external device.” Inoue further discloses the transfer system of Fig. 1 can be a PC screen sharing system or a mobile phone communication system (Fig. 37, paragraph 0317 and 0318) which indicates the system could be implemented within a single system.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic
device of Sastry in view of Van to include wherein the third module is neither a source nor an intended recipient of the first data, in response to a request by the third module to access the first data, wherein the router is configured to provide the third module access to the first data in response to verifying that the third module is authorized to access the first data and to deny the third module access to the first data in response to failing to verify that the third module is authorized to access the first data, and wherein the router is configured to transmit the first data between the first electronic module and the second module independently of the request by the third module, as taught by Inoue.
The motivation would have been to easily and appropriately restricting terminals that can join communications and allowing only specific terminals to join the communications, thereby improving the communication security (Inoue paragraph 0009).
As per claim 2, Sastry in view of Van and Inoue discloses:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the secure element or the router
is configured to store the first data during implementation of the authentication
method (Sastry para 0042 and 0050)
and while the first data is being transmitted between the first electronic module and the second module (Inoue Fig. 4, element 50, 5000 and 5003 and Fig. 7, para 0127 “In the non-volatile storage unit 5000, a terminal management DB 5003 consisting of a terminal management table shown in FIG. 7 is developed. FIG. 7 is a schematic view of a terminal management table. In the terminal management table, the terminal ID of each terminal 10 is managed in association with a terminal name, the operation state of the terminal 10, the state of communication with another terminal, joining authentication information (PIN code), the date and time at which the management system 50 received login request information, and the IP address of the terminal 10.” Though Sastry in view of Van discloses storing first data, Inoue discloses to store the first data during implementation of the authentication method and while the first data is being transmitted between the first electronic module and the second module. The motivation would have been to easily and appropriately restricting terminals that can join communications and allowing only specific terminals to join the communications, thereby improving the communication security (Inoue paragraph 0009)).
As per claim 3, Sastry in view of Van and Inoue discloses:
The device according to claim 2, wherein the first data are partially
visible for the third module when stored (Sastry para 0034 and 0042).
As per claim 4, Sastry in view of Van and Inoue discloses:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the router is configured to
implement the authentication method (Sastry Fig. 2, para 0020, 0034, and 0045).
As per claim 5, Sastry in view of Van and Inoue discloses:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the secure element is configured
to implement the authentication method (Sastry para 0020).
As per claim 6, Sastry in view of Van and Inoue discloses:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the authentication method is
configured to authenticate the third module, and the first module, the second
module or a user of the device (Sastry Fig. 2, para 0020, 0034, and 0045).
As per claim 8, Sastry in view of Van and Inoue discloses:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the router is configured to
implement a series of rules concerning a security policy of communications of the
device (Sastry para 0022, 0025 and 0028).
As per claim 9, Sastry in view of Van and Inoue discloses:
The device according to claim 8, wherein the secure element is configured
to transmit the series of rules to the router (Sastry para 022 "A policy may
embody these goals and be applied to the characteristics of the cryptographic
engines to select an appropriate engine. Example goals may include cost, die
size, power consumption, data throughput, cryptographic strength, etc. For
example, a variety of cryptographic engines may implement AES. AES
implementations may conform to bandwidth requirements, such as greater than
ten gigabits per second (Gbps) for high performing implementation that will
generally use a large die size or draw significant power, greater than 100
megabits per second (Mbps) for medium performing implementation which may
have a smaller die size or consume less power than the high performing
implementation, and about one Mbps for a small (e.g., about 10,000 gates) die
size implementation. Thus, if SoC specification calls for an encryption bandwidth
of one Gbps, an implementation matching that throughput may be instantiated by
the SoC integrators with a medium performing AES block." Para 0023 The
library of cryptographic engines may also include engines that perform other
security operations, such as hash functions, integrity engines (e.g., message
authentication code (MAC) engine), or public key operations (Rivest-Shamir-
Adleman cryptosystem (RSA), elliptic curve cryptography (ECC), etc.) These
classifications may be used to select the cryptographic engine or the integrity
engine to meet design goals of the SoC designers.").
As per claim 10, Sastry in view of Van and Inoue discloses:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the second module is part of the
electronic device (Sastry Fig. 1).
As per claim 11, Sastry discloses:
A system comprising: a first electronic device comprising a first module, a
third module, and a router; (para 0031, In an example, the interconnect endpoint
210 and 225 are not on the same SoC die (e.g., performing inter-chip
communications).")
wherein the first electronic device is configured to verify, via an
authentication method, whether the third module is authorized to access first data
that is being transmitted between the first module and the second module via the
router. (para 0019 discloses "The component facing transceiver 155 may be
arranged (e.g., configured, designed, manufactured, structured, etc.) to send or
receive component messages to components (e.g., e.g., component A 110,
component B 115, component C 120, or component D 195). "paragraph 0020
"The security interconnect 160 may be arranged to connect the messaging
pipeline of the component facing transceiver 155 and the interconnect
packager 165 to the security component 130. The security interconnect 160 may
conform to a standard interface of the security component 130. During operation,
a component message received from the component facing transceiver 155 or
from the interconnect 170 at the interconnect packager 165 may be passed to
the security component 130 to respectively encrypt or decrypt the message
before continuing on to its destination. In an example, an interconnect message
header analyzer may be present in the security component 130, the security
interconnect 160, or elsewhere in the interconnect endpoint 125 to read an
interconnect message header and determine if it is an encrypted message and
cause the security component 130 to decrypt or authenticate the message if it is
an encrypted message." para 0029 "FIG. 2 illustrates an example of a data flow
in a system 200 for a security plugin for an SoC platform, according to an
embodiment. The components of the system 200 may be implemented by the
components discussed above with respect to FIG. 1. The system 200 may
include an initiator component 205, an interconnect endpoint 210 with a security
component 215, an SoC fabric including an interconnect 220, another
interconnect endpoint 225 with security component 230, and a destination
component 235. The solid arrows denote the message flow within the boundary
of an interconnect endpoint and an SoC component." para 0030 "As illustrated,
the initiator component 205 transmits a message to the interconnect
endpoint 210 that services the initiator component. The interconnect
endpoint 205 may pass the message to its security component 215 to secure the
message, creating a secured message. The secured message may be returned
to the interconnect endpoint to be wrapped into an interconnect message. The
interconnect message may be transmitted, via the interconnect 220, to the
interconnect endpoint 225. The interconnect endpoint 225 reads a header of the
interconnect message and determines that it is a secured message. In response
to this determination, the interconnect endpoint 225 forwards the secured
portions of the interconnect message to its security component 230. In an
example, the security component 230 may negotiate with the security
component 215 to obtain the session key for this transaction at this time.
However, in an example, the session key negotiation may occur at any time
between the receipt of the request to secure the component message by the
security component 215 and the session key negotiation may be initiated by the
security component 215." para 0031 "In an example, the interconnect
endpoint 210 and 225 are on the same SoC die (e.g., performing intra-chip
communications). In an example, the interconnect endpoint 210 and 225 are not
on the same SoC die (e.g., performing inter-chip communications). By securing
the SoC component communications as illustrated in FIG. 2, malicious actors
may be thwarted by denying them access to the messages as they move on the
SoC interconnect 220. Further, any SoC components may be used without
regard to which or a plurality of security configurations were selected by the SoC
designers." Fig. 7, para 0044 At operation 730, the encrypted message may be
transmitted across the interconnect. In an example, every message transmitted
from the bus endpoint is encrypted by the security component. In an example,
every message traversing a bus to which the bus endpoint is a terminus is
encrypted by respective security components in endpoints of the bus. Thus, the
entire interconnect consists of secured communications." Which means every
message must be decrypted and authenticated (see paragraphs 0020 and
0023)."
Sastry does not disclose:
a second electronic device different from the first electronic device
wherein the system is configured to receive a request to transmit data between the first module and the second electronic device, the third module being neither a source nor an intended recipient of the data
in response to a request by the third module to access the data:
wherein the system is configured to provide the third module access to the first data in response to verifying that the third module is authorized to access the first data and to deny the third module access to the data in response to failing to verify that the third module is authorized to access the data; and wherein the system is configured to transmit the first data between the first module and the second electronic device independently of the request by the third module
Van discloses:
wherein a second electronic device comprises a second module
(para 0043 "In particular, FIG. 3 illustrates the NFC router (NFC ROUTER) 202,
the device host (DEVICE HOST) 206, and the secure elements (SE1) 210 and
(SE2) 212. Both of the secure elements 210, 212 for example store a PPSE
(proximity payment system environment) application. Furthermore, the secure
element 210 for example stores NFC transaction applications APP1 and APP2,
and the secure element 212 for example stores NFC transaction applications
APP2 and APP3." Fig. 4, para 0047 " The method for example comprises
operations 401 to 404 for generating a global list of available NFC applications,
and an operation 405 in which the list of available applications is supplied to an
NFC terminal in response to a new RF message. The data for forming the global
list of available NFC transaction applications is for example collected by the NFC
router 202 in response to a command from the device host 206, and incorporates
data retrieved from each secure element, and optionally from other sources."
Para 0074 "Alternatively, if the list 220 includes more than one NFC transaction
application capable of handling the RF transaction, then the NFC router 202 for
example responds to the NFC terminal with a message including the NFC
identifiers of the available transaction applications that can handle the NFC
transaction. For example, the NFC terminal transmits a SELECT PPSE
command to the NFC router, and the NFC router responds directly to the NFC
terminal by transmitting a list of NFC payment applications available in the
secure elements. If there is only one NFC transaction application that is
compatible with the NFC terminal, the NFC terminal for example selects this NFC
transaction application. Alternatively, if there is more than one transaction
application that is compatible with the NFC terminal, then the NFC terminal for
example selects the application having the highest priority, which is for example
the application highest on the PPSE list. The NFC router 202 then for example
sends a new RF message to the selected transaction application, which is routed
by the NFC router 202 to the secure element storing the NFC transaction
application.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic
device of Sastry to include a second electronic device different from the
first electronic device, as taught by Van.
The motivation would have been to secure communicate between a
secure element and other electronic modules.
Sastry in view of Van does not disclose:
wherein the system is configured to receive a request to transmit data between the first module and the second electronic device, the third module being neither a source nor an intended recipient of the data
in response to a request by the third module to access the data:
wherein the system is configured to provide the third module access to the first data in response to verifying that the third module is authorized to access the first data and to deny the third module access to the data in response to failing to verify that the third module is authorized to access the data; and
wherein the system is configured to transmit the first data between the first module and the second electronic device independently of the request by the third module
Inoue discloses:
wherein the system is configured to receive a request to transmit data between the first module and the second electronic device, the third module being neither a source nor an intended recipient of the data (para 0281 “As described above, according to the first embodiment, when a session for transferring contents data between a first terminal (the terminal 10aa) and a second terminal (the terminal 10db) has been established, the transmitter/receiver 51 of the management system 50 accepts a request to join the session from a third terminal (the terminal 10cd).”)
in response to a request by the third module to access the data: wherein the system is configured to provide the third module access to the first data in response to verifying that the third module is authorized to access the first data and to deny the third module access to the data in response to failing to verify that the third module is authorized to access the data; (para 0281 “When the first terminal (the terminal 10aa) starts a session with a joining restriction with the second terminal (the terminal 10db), the management system 50 registers joining authentication information that is entered from the first terminal. When the running session is a session with a joining restriction, the joining determination unit 63 of the management system 50 causes the third terminal to enter joining authorization information. When the joining authentication information from the first terminal and the joining authentication information from the third terminal match or the session have no joining restriction, the joining determination unit 63 of the management system 50 allows the third terminal to join the session.”), and
and wherein the system is configured to transmit the first data between the first module and the second electronic device independently of the request by the third module (para 0281 “As described above, according to the first embodiment, when a session for transferring contents data between a first terminal (the terminal 10aa) and a second terminal (the terminal 10db) has been established, the transmitter/receiver 51 of the management system 50 accepts a request to join the session from a third terminal (the terminal 10cd).” Applicant’s specification as filed on paragraph 0075 and Fig. 4, discloses “ At a step 405 (block “Comm START”), successive to step 404, a communication starts. The communication may be a communication internal to device 403 or an external communication between device 403 and another electronic device. In practice, router 401 starts receiving data DATA4 from a communication between a first module and a second module. First module is part of electronic device 403, and second module can be an internal module of electronical device 403 or a device that is external to device 403. According to an example, communication can be a communication between two modules of device 403, a communication between a module of device 403 and an external device, or even a communication between the secure element 402 and another module of device 403 or an external device.” Inoue further discloses the transfer system of Fig. 1 can be a PC screen sharing system or a mobile phone communication system (Fig. 37, paragraph 0317 and 0318) which indicates the system could be implemented within a single system.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic
device of Sastry in view of Van to include wherein the system is configured to receive a request to transmit data between the first module and the second electronic device, the third module being neither a source nor an intended recipient of the data, in response to a request by the third module to access the data: wherein the system is configured to provide the third module access to the first data in response to verifying that the third module is authorized to access the first data and to deny the third module access to the data in response to failing to verify that the third module is authorized to access the data; and wherein the system is configured to transmit the first data between the first module and the second electronic device independently of the request by the third module, as taught by Inoue.
The motivation would have been to easily and appropriately restricting terminals that can join communications and allowing only specific terminals to join the communications, thereby improving the communication security (Inoue paragraph 0009).
As per claim 12, the implementation of the electronic device of claim 1 will
execute the method of claim 1. The claim is analyzed with respect to
claim 1.
As per claim 13, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 2.
As per claim 14, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 3.
As per claim 15, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 4.
As per claim 16, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 5.
As per claim 17, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 7.
As per claim 18, Sastry in view of Van and Inoue discloses:
The method according to claim 12, wherein the authentication method is
implemented by an external server (Sastry para 0047)
As per claim 19, Sastry in view of Van and Inoue discloses:
The method according to claim 12, wherein the authentication method
comprises executing secondary rules (Sastry para 0022, 0025 and 0028).
5. Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Sastry in view Van, and further in view of Inoue, and further in view of U.S. Publication No 20170195884 hereinafter
Kang.
As per claim 7, Sastry in view of Van and Inoue discloses:
The device according to claim 1, wherein the router is configured (Sastry
para 0019 and 0020)
Sastry in view of Van and Inoue does not disclose:
wherein a router is configured to request authorization to be in a secure
mode
Kang discloses:
wherein a router is configured to request authorization to be in a secure
mode (para 0008 "According to an exemplary embodiment of the present
invention, a system-on-chip (SOC) includes a processor core, a memory
connected to the processor core, and an interface unit connected to the
processor core. The memory stores instructions executed by the processor core
to change an operational mode of the SOC from a normal mode to a secure
mode based on a reception of access information for a target site when the
access information is received in the normal mode. A verification step is
performed on the access information in the secure mode." Para 0029 "Referring
to FIG 1, in a method of performing the secure communication in the mobile
system according to exemplary embodiments of the present invention, access
information for a target site (e.g., a website) is received in a normal mode (step
$100), and an operational mode of the mobile system is changed from the
normal mode to a secure mode based on a reception of the access information
(step S200). The access information may include an address and a port number
for accessing the target site. For example, the address may be provided as an
internet protocol (IP) address, a domain name, etc.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic
device of Sastry to include wherein a router is configured to request authorization
to be in a secure mode, as taught by Kang.
The motivation would have been to increased security by properly
validating data in a secure manner.
As per claim 20, the claim is analyzed with respect to claim 7.
Conclusion
/GARY S GRACIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499