DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant Arguments/REMARKS correspondence filed 11/25/2025.
Claims 1 & 3-15 are pending and rejected.
Response to arguments start on pg. 37.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, & 3-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fard et al (WO2020150333A1) in view of Sachs et al (US20200259896A1) in further view of 3GPP TS 28.531 v16.6.0 Management and orchestration; Provisioning (2020-08) (hereinafter “3GPP”).
Regarding claim 1 (and method claim 14), Fard teaches a transport network slice control device ([00209]-[00210], [00215]-[00217], TSN application function (TSN AF) acting as a controller function within the 5GS, which collects and maintains TSN/virtual bridge related information and coordinates TSN-related control and management), the transport network slice control device comprising:
a first interface configured to communicate with a transport network slice management entity of a mobile network ([0061], [0095], [00107], [00147], [0210], [00252]-[00253], [00260], [00277], discloses that an application function (TSN AF) communicated with core network functions includes the SMF, PCF, and NEF, via service based interfaces, thereby providing an interface configured to communicate with slice management entities; in particular, the TSN AF interacts with 5GC network functions or via the NEF, and SRP information exchanged between SMF and PCF over the N7 interface and delivered between SMF and AF through the NEF; further teaching that SMF and PCF perform slice-aware session and policy control using S-NSSAI and slice selection policies, evidencing that these entities constitute transport network slice management entities); and
a memory storing instructions ([00209]-[00210], [00215]-[00217], describes AF/SMF/UPF/UE as functional network nodes performing control management operations, and AF performing conversion/mapping/registration actions—processor and memory through structural support for AF/network node implementation); and
at least a processor in communication with the memory, the first interface, and the second interface, the at least processor configured ([00209]-[00210], [00215]-[00217], describes AF/SMF/UPF/UE as functional network nodes performing control management operations, and AF performing conversion/mapping/registration actions—processor and memory through structural support for AF/network node implementation), upon execution of the instructions, to perform one or both of the following steps:
communicate, via the first interface, network slice control and management information with the transport network slice management entity of the mobile network ([00191], [00207], [00216], [00245], [00260], discloses communication of slice control and management information between AF, SMF, PCF, NEF including slice identifiers QoS flow requests, policy rules and session information mapped from TSN SRP messages to slice associated PDU sessions; for example N2 SM information includes S-NSSAI and session parameters, and the SMF maps SRP information to QoS flow requests provided to the PCF and exchanges URSP and policy information containing S-NSSAI and DNN to trigger slice-specific session establishment or modification; these exchanges constitute communication of network slice control and management information with slice-management entities via the disclosed interfaces); or
But Fard fails to teach a second interface configured to communicate with a Time Sensitive Network (TSN) control plane entity of a TSN-based Transport Network (TN);
upon execution of the instructions, to perform one or both of the following steps: communicate, via the second interface, network slice control and management information required by the TSN network, with the TSN control plane entity of the TSN-based TN.
However, Sachs teaches a second interface configured to communicate with a Time Sensitive Network (TSN) control plane entity of a TSN-based Transport Network (TN) ([[1227], [1247], [1261]-[1263], 1429]-[1430], [1439]-[1440], discloses TSN control plane entities, includes a CNC and CUC, that manage TSN stream configuration, scheduling, and resource allocation within the TSN network and exchange stream requirements and configuration information for TSN communications; further teaches that the CNC sends transmission schedules and TSN configuration information to a TSN interface (UE or gateway) and receives responses related to resource allocation—interface configured to communicate with the TSN control plane entity; discloses that configuration messages from CNC or CUC are forwarded via the 5G Control Plane to network nodes (gNB or AMF) to configure TSN features and resources, representing communication of TSN control and management information required for TSN operation; teaches a second interface configured to communicate with a TSN control plane entity and to exchange network slice control and management information with that entity)).
upon execution of the instructions, to perform one or both of the following steps: communicate, via the second interface, network slice control and management information required by the TSN network, with the TSN control plane entity of the TSN-based TN ([[1227], [1247], [1261]-[1263], 1429]-[1430], [1439]-[1440], discloses TSN control plane entities, includes a CNC and CUC, that manage TSN stream configuration, scheduling, and resource allocation within the TSN network and exchange stream requirements and configuration information for TSN communications; further teaches that the CNC sends transmission schedules and TSN configuration information to a TSN interface (UE or gateway) and receives responses related to resource allocation—interface configured to communicate with the TSN control plane entity; discloses that configuration messages from CNC or CUC are forwarded via the 5G Control Plane to network nodes (gNB or AMF) to configure TSN features and resources, representing communication of TSN control and management information required for TSN operation; teaches a second interface configured to communicate with a TSN control plane entity and to exchange network slice control and management information with that entity).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the TSN/5GS interworking and TSN virtual bridge control-plane framework of Fard with the TSN schedule negotiation and time-aware radio resource coordination techniques of Sachs, because both references are directed to the same problem of enabling end-to-end deterministic communication when a 5G system integrates into a TSN network. Fard teaches enhancing the 5GS to act as a TSN bridge, where an AF collects 5GS virtual bridge information (bridge identity, port identities, delay, topology, and capabilities) and registers/updates that information to a TSN Central Network Controller (CNC) via TSN-defined interfaces, and performs mapping between TSN parameters and 5GS QoS profiles (e.g. [00209]-[00217]. Sachs further teaches that a TSN CNC/CUC can compute transmission schedules (e.g. cycle time and gate control list per traffic class) and treat the 5G system as a TSN switch, sending schedule information to the 5G core (e.g. AMF), which translates TSN requirements into QoS flows, time windows and periodicity and coordinates with the gNB for admission and radio resource reservation (e.g. [1253]-[1258], [1265]-[1269]). Combining these teachings provides a system in which the 5GS/AF provides TSN bridge capability/topology information to the CNC while also supporting CNC-driven deterministic scheduling by translating TSN stream requirements into 5G QoS and radio scheduling parameters, thereby improving TSN-5G interoperability and ensuring bounded latency and jitter across the integrated TSN/5GS transport.
Regarding claim 3 (and claim 8), Fard teaches the transport network slice control device, the network slice management information comprising one or more of:
a TSN-TN slice instance policy information ([0093]-[0097], [00100]-[00107], network slice management framework including AMF, SMF, NSSF and slice instance selection mechanisms; communication of network slice control and management information, including S-NSSAI identification, slice instance selection, Slice-specific PDU session establishment, mapping between slice instance ID and network function));
a TSN-TN slice instance configuration information ([0084], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0098]-[00103], [00105], [00107], exchange use of network slice control and management information, including S-NSSAI identifiers for slice instances, mapping between slice instance IDs and network functions, network slice selection policy, requested and allowed NSSAI procedures for slice instances; this information constitutes network slice control and management information because it governs slice instance selection, slice-specific NF selection, and slice based session establishment, consistent with the applicant’s definition of slice lifecycle and slice control information; such slice identifiers and slice selection information are required by the TSN control plane to perform slice-aware scheduling and resource allocation on a per-slice basis);
a TSN-TN slice instance run action ([0084], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0098]-[00103], [00105], [00107], exchange use of network slice control and management information, including S-NSSAI identifiers for slice instances, mapping between slice instance IDs and network functions, network slice selection policy, requested and allowed NSSAI procedures for slice instances; this information constitutes network slice control and management information because it governs slice instance selection, slice-specific NF selection, and slice based session establishment, consistent with the applicant’s definition of slice lifecycle and slice control information; such slice identifiers and slice selection information are required by the TSN control plane to perform slice-aware scheduling and resource allocation on a per-slice basis).;
a TSN-TN slice instance decommissioning action ([0084], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0098]-[00103], [00105], [00107], exchange use of network slice control and management information, including S-NSSAI identifiers for slice instances, mapping between slice instance IDs and network functions, network slice selection policy, requested and allowed NSSAI procedures for slice instances; this information constitutes network slice control and management information because it governs slice instance selection, slice-specific NF selection, and slice based session establishment, consistent with the applicant’s definition of slice lifecycle and slice control information; such slice identifiers and slice selection information are required by the TSN control plane to perform slice-aware scheduling and resource allocation on a per-slice basis).;
a soft TSN slice instance capability ([00210]-[00212], [00215]-[00217], explicitly discusses reporting bridge/port identities, delay, propagation delay, port capabilities, topology discovery objects and Qcc-defined parameters—i.e. capability exposure and reporting from UPF/UE[Wingdings font/0xE0]SMF[Wingdings font/0xE0]AF[Wingdings font/0xE0]CNC); or
a hard TSN slice instance capability ([00210]-[00212], [00215]-[00217], explicitly discusses reporting bridge/port identities, delay, propagation delay, port capabilities, topology discovery objects and Qcc-defined parameters—i.e. capability exposure and reporting from UPF/UE[Wingdings font/0xE0]SMF[Wingdings font/0xE0]AF[Wingdings font/0xE0]CNC).
a TSN-TN slice instance creation request ([0093]-[0097], [00100]-[00107], discloses TSN-TN slice instance lifecycle management, including slice-aware control of transport network resources);
a TSN-TN slice instance creation response ([0093]-[0097], [00100]-[00107], discloses TSN-TN slice instance lifecycle management, including slice-aware control of transport network resources)
But Fard fails to teach
a TSN-TN network slice requirement information;
a TSN-TN slice instance state information;
However, Sachs teaches a TSN-TN network slice requirement information ([0744], [0774], [0793]-[0797], [0810], [0812], The application function (AF) in the 5Gs is used as an interface towards the CNC in the TSN network; The Application Function (AF)…could announce topology and accept a time schedule from the CNC and translate it into meaningful parameters for the 5GS; the 5GS AF is seen as the potential interface for the 5GS to interact with TSN control plane functions (i.e. CNC and CUC); AF could implement the interface that signals redundancy support towards the CNC and accepts redundant path computations from it);
a TSN-TN slice instance state information ([0798], [1257]-[1259], [1267]-[1269], The join request/response model (CUC[Wingdings font/0xE0]CNC join request; CNC returns success failures), plus AMF[Wingdings font/0xDF][Wingdings font/0xE0]gNB accept/decline response and translation back to CNC/CUC).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the TSN/5GS interworking and TSN virtual bridge control-plane framework of Fard with the TSN schedule negotiation and time-aware radio resource coordination techniques of Sachs, because both references are directed to the same problem of enabling end-to-end deterministic communication when a 5G system integrates into a TSN network. Fard teaches enhancing the 5GS to act as a TSN bridge, where an AF collects 5GS virtual bridge information (bridge identity, port identities, delay, topology, and capabilities) and registers/updates that information to a TSN Central Network Controller (CNC) via TSN-defined interfaces, and performs mapping between TSN parameters and 5GS QoS profiles (e.g. [00209]-[00217]. Sachs further teaches that a TSN CNC/CUC can compute transmission schedules (e.g. cycle time and gate control list per traffic class) and treat the 5G system as a TSN switch, sending schedule information to the 5G core (e.g. AMF), which translates TSN requirements into QoS flows, time windows and periodicity and coordinates with the gNB for admission and radio resource reservation (e.g. [1253]-[1258], [1265]-[1269]). Combining these teachings provides a system in which the 5GS/AF provides TSN bridge capability/topology information to the CNC while also supporting CNC-driven deterministic scheduling by translating TSN stream requirements into 5G QoS and radio scheduling parameters, thereby improving TSN-5G interoperability and ensuring bounded latency and jitter across the integrated TSN/5GS transport.
Regarding claim 4, Fard fails to teach the transport network slice control device further configured to perform one or both of:
receive, via the first interface, updated TN slice information or updated TN slice resource provision from the transport slice management entity of the mobile network ([00189], [00200], [00260]-[00264] [00267], [00291], discloses that slice associated session and transport resources are dynamically controlled through interactions among slice management entities and network nodes; including policy updates and session modification signaling that provide updated slice configuration and resource provisioning information the SMF and related entities; teaches that subscription data and policy updates are delivered to the SMF and trigger PDU session modification and resource reconfiguration procedures, evidencing receipt of updated slice information and transport resource provisioning from slice management entities via service based interfaces; configuration messages and resource reservation information for TSN streams are delivered from network control entities to network nodes to modify PDU sessions and configure network resources for TSN operation); or
send, via the second interface to the TSN control plane entity, the updated TN slice information or the updated TN slice resource provision.
However, Sachs teaches teach the transport network slice control device further configured to perform one or both of:
send, via the second interface to the TSN control plane entity, the updated TN slice information or the updated TN slice resource provision ([1258], AMF translated gNB response to TSN stream-level and provides response to CNC; CNC then response to CUC; ([0744], [0774], [0793]-[0797], [0810], [0812], The application function (AF) in the 5Gs is used as an interface towards the CNC in the TSN network; The Application Function (AF)…could announce topology and accept a time schedule from the CNC and translate it into meaningful parameters for the 5GS; the 5GS AF is seen as the potential interface for the 5GS to interact with TSN control plane functions (i.e. CNC and CUC); AF could implement the interface that signals redundancy support towards the CNC and accepts redundant path computations from it)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the TSN/5GS interworking and TSN virtual bridge control-plane framework of Fard with the TSN schedule negotiation and time-aware radio resource coordination techniques of Sachs, because both references are directed to the same problem of enabling end-to-end deterministic communication when a 5G system integrates into a TSN network. Fard teaches enhancing the 5GS to act as a TSN bridge, where an AF collects 5GS virtual bridge information (bridge identity, port identities, delay, topology, and capabilities) and registers/updates that information to a TSN Central Network Controller (CNC) via TSN-defined interfaces, and performs mapping between TSN parameters and 5GS QoS profiles (e.g. [00209]-[00217]. Sachs further teaches that a TSN CNC/CUC can compute transmission schedules (e.g. cycle time and gate control list per traffic class) and treat the 5G system as a TSN switch, sending schedule information to the 5G core (e.g. AMF), which translates TSN requirements into QoS flows, time windows and periodicity and coordinates with the gNB for admission and radio resource reservation (e.g. [1253]-[1258], [1265]-[1269]). Combining these teachings provides a system in which the 5GS/AF provides TSN bridge capability/topology information to the CNC while also supporting CNC-driven deterministic scheduling by translating TSN stream requirements into 5G QoS and radio scheduling parameters, thereby improving TSN-5G interoperability and ensuring bounded latency and jitter across the integrated TSN/5GS transport.
Regarding claim 5, Fard fails to teach the transport network slice control device, further configured to:
receive, a TN slice isolation requirement from the transport network slice management entity; and
maintain a TN slice isolation over a TSN-based data plane, based on the received TN slice isolation requirement.
However, Sachs teaches the transport network slice control device, further configured to:
receive, a TN slice isolation requirement from the transport network slice management entity ([0739], [0751], [0772], describes TSN determinism via reservations, traffic class separation, and scheduled gating/coexistence of critical vs non-critical traffic—this is the closest to an “isolation requirement” concept); and
maintain a TN slice isolation over a TSN-based data plane, based on the received TN slice isolation requirement ([0772]-[0773], [0751], TSN Qbv time-gated queuing holds back best-effort traffic while allowing prioritized traffic to pass, preventing interference (functional isolation), and explicitly supports coexistence of critical time-aware scheduled traffic and non-TSN lower priority traffic).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the TSN/5GS interworking and TSN virtual bridge control-plane framework of Fard with the TSN schedule negotiation and time-aware radio resource coordination techniques of Sachs, because both references are directed to the same problem of enabling end-to-end deterministic communication when a 5G system integrates into a TSN network. Fard teaches enhancing the 5GS to act as a TSN bridge, where an AF collects 5GS virtual bridge information (bridge identity, port identities, delay, topology, and capabilities) and registers/updates that information to a TSN Central Network Controller (CNC) via TSN-defined interfaces, and performs mapping between TSN parameters and 5GS QoS profiles (e.g. [00209]-[00217]. Sachs further teaches that a TSN CNC/CUC can compute transmission schedules (e.g. cycle time and gate control list per traffic class) and treat the 5G system as a TSN switch, sending schedule information to the 5G core (e.g. AMF), which translates TSN requirements into QoS flows, time windows and periodicity and coordinates with the gNB for admission and radio resource reservation (e.g. [1253]-[1258], [1265]-[1269]). Combining these teachings provides a system in which the 5GS/AF provides TSN bridge capability/topology information to the CNC while also supporting CNC-driven deterministic scheduling by translating TSN stream requirements into 5G QoS and radio scheduling parameters, thereby improving TSN-5G interoperability and ensuring bounded latency and jitter across the integrated TSN/5GS transport.
Regarding claim 6 (and method claim 15), Fard teaches A Time Sensitive Network (TSN) control plane entity for a TSN-based Transport Network, (TN), the TSN control plane entity comprising:
a memory storing instructions ([00209]-[00210], [00215]-[00217], describes AF/SMF/UPF/UE as functional network nodes performing control management operations, and AF performing conversion/mapping/registration actions—processor and memory through structural support for AF/network node implementation); and at least a processor in communication with the memory ([00209]-[00210], [00215]-[00217], describes AF/SMF/UPF/UE as functional network nodes performing control management operations, and AF performing conversion/mapping/registration actions—processor and memory through structural support for AF/network node implementation), the first interface, and a second interface, the at least processor configured ([00209]-[00210], [00215]-[00217], describes AF/SMF/UPF/UE as functional network nodes performing control management operations, and AF performing conversion/mapping/registration actions—processor and memory through structural support for AF/network node implementation), upon execution of the instructions, to perform one or both of the following steps:
receive, through a transport network slice control device, network slice management information passed from a transport slice management entity of the mobile network (([00209], [00215]-[00217], AF collects/maintains 5GS virtual bridge info/properties and registers/updates to CNC (TSN control plane));
expose capability information of the TSN-based TN to the network slice transport network control device ([00210]-[00212], [00215]-[00217], 5GS virtual bridge/port identities, bridge delay, propagation delay, port capabilities, topology etc., which are the kinds of capabilities exposed to CNC using TSN-defined objects (802.1Qcc/802.1AB)); and
but Fard fails to teach provide the capability information of the TSN-based TN to the network slice transport network control device.
However, Sachs teaches provide the capability information of the TSN-based TN to the network slice transport network control device ([0798], [772], [1258], CNC computes schedule, configures bridges, returns status to CUC, CNC is the locus of TSN knowledge (capabilities/topology/schedules).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the TSN/5GS interworking and TSN virtual bridge control-plane framework of Fard with the TSN schedule negotiation and time-aware radio resource coordination techniques of Sachs, because both references are directed to the same problem of enabling end-to-end deterministic communication when a 5G system integrates into a TSN network. Fard teaches enhancing the 5GS to act as a TSN bridge, where an AF collects 5GS virtual bridge information (bridge identity, port identities, delay, topology, and capabilities) and registers/updates that information to a TSN Central Network Controller (CNC) via TSN-defined interfaces, and performs mapping between TSN parameters and 5GS QoS profiles (e.g. [00209]-[00217]. Sachs further teaches that a TSN CNC/CUC can compute transmission schedules (e.g. cycle time and gate control list per traffic class) and treat the 5G system as a TSN switch, sending schedule information to the 5G core (e.g. AMF), which translates TSN requirements into QoS flows, time windows and periodicity and coordinates with the gNB for admission and radio resource reservation (e.g. [1253]-[1258], [1265]-[1269]). Combining these teachings provides a system in which the 5GS/AF provides TSN bridge capability/topology information to the CNC while also supporting CNC-driven deterministic scheduling by translating TSN stream requirements into 5G QoS and radio scheduling parameters, thereby improving TSN-5G interoperability and ensuring bounded latency and jitter across the integrated TSN/5GS transport.
Regarding claim 7, Fard teaches the TSN control plane entity, wherein the at least one processor further executing the instructions to perform the steps of:
store information in a network slice database ([00215], [00217], discloses the AF/control plane collecting and maintaining (storing) 5GS virtual bridge information, including identities and performance properties, and updating it to CNC);
provide information related to a lifecycle of one or more transport network slice instances to a control plane entity of the TSN-based TN ([00209], [00215], [00217], providing control-plane maintained information (bridge identity/ports/topology/properties updates, to the TSN control plane entity (CNC) and updating it when changed; AF registers 5GS virtual bridge information to CNC via TSN-defined interfaces; CNC maintains bridge capabilities/topology; AF send/updates bridge properties to CNC ‘to create a TSN bridge or update the bridge when the bridge properties are changed)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the TSN/5GS interworking and TSN virtual bridge control-plane framework of Fard with the TSN schedule negotiation and time-aware radio resource coordination techniques of Sachs, because both references are directed to the same problem of enabling end-to-end deterministic communication when a 5G system integrates into a TSN network. Fard teaches enhancing the 5GS to act as a TSN bridge, where an AF collects 5GS virtual bridge information (bridge identity, port identities, delay, topology, and capabilities) and registers/updates that information to a TSN Central Network Controller (CNC) via TSN-defined interfaces, and performs mapping between TSN parameters and 5GS QoS profiles (e.g. [00209]-[00217]. Sachs further teaches that a TSN CNC/CUC can compute transmission schedules (e.g. cycle time and gate control list per traffic class) and treat the 5G system as a TSN switch, sending schedule information to the 5G core (e.g. AMF), which translates TSN requirements into QoS flows, time windows and periodicity and coordinates with the gNB for admission and radio resource reservation (e.g. [1253]-[1258], [1265]-[1269]). Combining these teachings provides a system in which the 5GS/AF provides TSN bridge capability/topology information to the CNC while also supporting CNC-driven deterministic scheduling by translating TSN stream requirements into 5G QoS and radio scheduling parameters, thereby improving TSN-5G interoperability and ensuring bounded latency and jitter across the integrated TSN/5GS transport.
Regarding claim 9, Fard teaches the TSN control plane entity, wherein the at least one processor further executing the instructions to perform the steps of:
obtain, from the transport network slice control device, a determined TN performance attribute ([0084], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0098]-[00103], [00105], [00107], exchange use of network slice control and management information, including S-NSSAI identifiers for slice instances, mapping between slice instance IDs and network functions, network slice selection policy, requested and allowed NSSAI procedures for slice instances; this information constitutes network slice control and management information because it governs slice instance selection, slice-specific NF selection, and slice based session establishment, consistent with the applicant’s definition of slice lifecycle and slice control information; such slice identifiers and slice selection information are required by the TSN control plane to perform slice-aware scheduling and resource allocation on a per-slice basis)); and
map, based on the determined TN performance attribute, the received network slice management information from the transport slice management entity to TSN specific performance attributes of the TSN-based TN on a per slice basis ([0084], [0093], [0095]-[0096], [0098]-[00103], [00105], [00107], exchange use of network slice control and management information, including S-NSSAI identifiers for slice instances, mapping between slice instance IDs and network functions, network slice selection policy, requested and allowed NSSAI procedures for slice instances; this information constitutes network slice control and management information because it governs slice instance selection, slice-specific NF selection, and slice based session establishment, consistent with the applicant’s definition of slice lifecycle and slice control information; such slice identifiers and slice selection information are required by the TSN control plane to perform slice-aware scheduling and resource allocation on a per-slice basis)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the TSN/5GS interworking and TSN virtual bridge control-plane framework of Fard with the TSN schedule negotiation and time-aware radio resource coordination techniques of Sachs, because both references are directed to the same problem of enabling end-to-end deterministic communication when a 5G system integrates into a TSN network. Fard teaches enhancing the 5GS to act as a TSN bridge, where an AF collects 5GS virtual bridge information (bridge identity, port identities, delay, topology, and capabilities) and registers/updates that information to a TSN Central Network Controller (CNC) via TSN-defined interfaces, and performs mapping between TSN parameters and 5GS QoS profiles (e.g. [00209]-[00217]. Sachs further teaches that a TSN CNC/CUC can compute transmission schedules (e.g. cycle time and gate control list per traffic class) and treat the 5G system as a TSN switch, sending schedule information to the 5G core (e.g. AMF), which translates TSN requirements into QoS flows, time windows and periodicity and coordinates with the gNB for admission and radio resource reservation (e.g. [1253]-[1258], [1265]-[1269]). Combining these teachings provides a system in which the 5GS/AF provides TSN bridge capability/topology information to the CNC while also supporting CNC-driven deterministic scheduling by translating TSN stream requirements into 5G QoS and radio scheduling parameters, thereby improving TSN-5G interoperability and ensuring bounded latency and jitter across the integrated TSN/5GS transport.
Regarding claim 10, Fard teaches the TSN control plane entity, wherein the at least one processor further executing the instructions to perform the steps of:
receive, from the transport network slice control device, a TN slice isolation requirement received from the network slice transport network management entity of the mobile network ([00209], receiving “requirements/policies” from the 5G control plane and negotiating QoS policies [Wingdings font/0xE0] describes CNC negotiating with PCF through TSN AF generate TSN aware QoS profile and negotiate traffic treatment/QoS policies)); and
maintain a TN slice isolation over a TSN-based data plane, based on the received TN slice isolation requirement ([00213]-[00214], [00219], [00221], selective/segmented operation using VLANs/traffic classes/per-port/per-stream forwarding rules; shows UPF selection based on VLANs/traffic classes and port-pair/traffic-class-aware handling; describes SMF providing packet filer set/filter set forwarding rules back on MAC addresses and TSN system mapping relationship).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the TSN/5GS interworking and TSN virtual bridge control-plane framework of Fard with the TSN schedule negotiation and time-aware radio resource coordination techniques of Sachs, because both references are directed to the same problem of enabling end-to-end deterministic communication when a 5G system integrates into a TSN network. Fard teaches enhancing the 5GS to act as a TSN bridge, where an AF collects 5GS virtual bridge information (bridge identity, port identities, delay, topology, and capabilities) and registers/updates that information to a TSN Central Network Controller (CNC) via TSN-defined interfaces, and performs mapping between TSN parameters and 5GS QoS profiles (e.g. [00209]-[00217]. Sachs further teaches that a TSN CNC/CUC can compute transmission schedules (e.g. cycle time and gate control list per traffic class) and treat the 5G system as a TSN switch, sending schedule information to the 5G core (e.g. AMF), which translates TSN requirements into QoS flows, time windows and periodicity and coordinates with the gNB for admission and radio resource reservation (e.g. [1253]-[1258], [1265]-[1269]). Combining these teachings provides a system in which the 5GS/AF provides TSN bridge capability/topology information to the CNC while also supporting CNC-driven deterministic scheduling by translating TSN stream requirements into 5G QoS and radio scheduling parameters, thereby improving TSN-5G interoperability and ensuring bounded latency and jitter across the integrated TSN/5GS transport.
Regarding claim 11, Fard fails to teach the TSN control plane entity, wherein the TSN control plane entity is based on a network slice aware TSN control plane entity comprising:
a Centralized Network Configuration (CNC) TSN control entity configured to control a TSN TN-Network Slice Sub network Instance (NSSI); or
a Centralized User Configuration (CUC) TSN control configured to pass requirements of a TSN TN-NSSI stream specification to CNC.
However, Sachs teaches the TSN control plane entity, is based on a network slice aware TSN control plane entity comprising:
a Centralized Network Configuration (CNC) TSN control entity configured to control a TSN TN-Network Slice Sub network Instance (NSSI) ([0744, [0793]-[0798], explicitly discloses CNC/CUC as the TSN control plane entities and their relationship; defines TSN centralized/fully centralized models with CNC and CUC; CUC collects requirements and passes them to CNC;CNC configures the network/bridges and schedule); or
a Centralized User Configuration (CUC) TSN control configured to pass requirements of a TSN TN-NSSI stream specification to CNC ([0744, [0793]-[0798], explicitly discloses CNC/CUC as the TSN control plane entities and their relationship; defines TSN centralized/fully centralized models with CNC and CUC; CUC collects requirements and passes them to CNC;CNC configures the network/bridges and schedule).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the TSN/5GS interworking and TSN virtual bridge control-plane framework of Fard with the TSN schedule negotiation and time-aware radio resource coordination techniques of Sachs, because both references are directed to the same problem of enabling end-to-end deterministic communication when a 5G system integrates into a TSN network. Fard teaches enhancing the 5GS to act as a TSN bridge, where an AF collects 5GS virtual bridge information (bridge identity, port identities, delay, topology, and capabilities) and registers/updates that information to a TSN Central Network Controller (CNC) via TSN-defined interfaces, and performs mapping between TSN parameters and 5GS QoS profiles (e.g. [00209]-[00217]. Sachs further teaches that a TSN CNC/CUC can compute transmission schedules (e.g. cycle time and gate control list per traffic class) and treat the 5G system as a TSN switch, sending schedule information to the 5G core (e.g. AMF), which translates TSN requirements into QoS flows, time windows and periodicity and coordinates with the gNB for admission and radio resource reservation (e.g. [1253]-[1258], [1265]-[1269]). Combining these teachings provides a system in which the 5GS/AF provides TSN bridge capability/topology information to the CNC while also supporting CNC-driven deterministic scheduling by translating TSN stream requirements into 5G QoS and radio scheduling parameters, thereby improving TSN-5G interoperability and ensuring bounded latency and jitter across the integrated TSN/5GS transport.
Regarding claim 12, Fard fails to teach the TSN control plane entity, wherein the at least one processor further exceeding the instructions to control one or more of a TSN slice aware operation or a TSN non-TSN slice aware operation.
However, Sachs teaches the TSN control plane entity, wherein the at least one processor further exceeding the instructions to control one or more of a TSN slice aware operation or a TSN non-TSN slice aware operation ([0751], supports CNC controlling TSN feature (i.e. “TSN-aware operation) and also supports coexistence of TSN and non-TSN/best effort traffic; TSN supports multiple traffic classes and coexistence with non-TSN traffic; coexistence of scheduled time-aware traffic and non-TSN lower priority traffic; CNC computes schedules and configures bridges (TSN-aware control)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the TSN/5GS interworking and TSN virtual bridge control-plane framework of Fard with the TSN schedule negotiation and time-aware radio resource coordination techniques of Sachs, because both references are directed to the same problem of enabling end-to-end deterministic communication when a 5G system integrates into a TSN network. Fard teaches enhancing the 5GS to act as a TSN bridge, where an AF collects 5GS virtual bridge information (bridge identity, port identities, delay, topology, and capabilities) and registers/updates that information to a TSN Central Network Controller (CNC) via TSN-defined interfaces, and performs mapping between TSN parameters and 5GS QoS profiles (e.g. [00209]-[00217]. Sachs further teaches that a TSN CNC/CUC can compute transmission schedules (e.g. cycle time and gate control list per traffic class) and treat the 5G system as a TSN switch, sending schedule information to the 5G core (e.g. AMF), which translates TSN requirements into QoS flows, time windows and periodicity and coordinates with the gNB for admission and radio resource reservation (e.g. [1253]-[1258], [1265]-[1269]). Combining these teachings provides a system in which the 5GS/AF provides TSN bridge capability/topology information to the CNC while also supporting CNC-driven deterministic scheduling by translating TSN stream requirements into 5G QoS and radio scheduling parameters, thereby improving TSN-5G interoperability and ensuring bounded latency and jitter across the integrated TSN/5GS transport.
Regarding claim 13, Fard teaches the TSN control plane entity, the TSN control plane entity further comprising a database configured to store, for each TN NSSI resource, one or more of allocation information, resource identification, or mapping information regarding stream performance attributes ([00215], [00217], maintaining/collecting and maintaining virtual bridge properties and relationships (UE ID, bridge ID, UE port ID) and performance attributes (bridge delay etc.).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to combine the TSN/5GS interworking and TSN virtual bridge control-plane framework of Fard with the TSN schedule negotiation and time-aware radio resource coordination techniques of Sachs, because both references are directed to the same problem of enabling end-to-end deterministic communication when a 5G system integrates into a TSN network. Fard teaches enhancing the 5GS to act as a TSN bridge, where an AF collects 5GS virtual bridge information (bridge identity, port identities, delay, topology, and capabilities) and registers/updates that information to a TSN Central Network Controller (CNC) via TSN-defined interfaces, and performs mapping between TSN parameters and 5GS QoS profiles (e.g. [00209]-[00217]. Sachs further teaches that a TSN CNC/CUC can compute transmission schedules (e.g. cycle time and gate control list per traffic class) and treat the 5G system as a TSN switch, sending schedule information to the 5G core (e.g. AMF), which translates TSN requirements into QoS flows, time windows and periodicity and coordinates with the gNB for admission and radio resource reservation (e.g. [1253]-[1258], [1265]-[1269]). Combining these teachings provides a system in which the 5GS/AF provides TSN bridge capability/topology information to the CNC while also supporting CNC-driven deterministic scheduling by translating TSN stream requirements into 5G QoS and radio scheduling parameters, thereby improving TSN-5G interoperability and ensuring bounded latency and jitter across the integrated TSN/5GS transport.
Response to Arguments
First, Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/REMARKS, filed 11/25/2025, with respect to claims 1-5 & 6-13 in regards to 35 USC 101 & 112(b) respectively have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of 1-5 & 6-13 has been withdrawn.
Second, Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 & 3-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ianev et al (US20210014781A1) discloses isolated network slice selection
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419