DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment and remarks dated 8/18/2026 have been considered. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections. The objections to claims 1, 8, and 15 are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to such claims.
Response to Arguments
On page 11 of Applicant’s Amendment and remarks, with respect to the “Statement of Substance of Interview”, for clarity of record, the telephone interview was between Applicant’s representative Jay Yeon Baek (Reg. No 78,258) and examiner Michael Lee. Supervisory Patent Examiner Rivas was not present at such interview.
On page 12 of Applicant’s 8/18/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that as amended, the prior art of record does not teach the following limitations:
Applicant’s arguments on pages 13-14 provide further explanation for why the POTHULA and VIRKAR references specifically do not teach these amended limitations.
Applicant’s arguments are persuasive. The previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn. However, new rejections necessitated by Applicant’s amendments in view of the POTHULA, HASSANZADEH, and VIRKAR references are provided herein.
On pages 14-15 of Applicant’s 8/18/2026 Amendment and remarks, with respect to the rejections of claims 2-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103, Applicant argues that such claims should be allowed for the same reasons as claim 1.
The examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reasons set forth with respect to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20210174257 A1, hereinafter referenced as POTHULA, in view of US 20230025754 A1, hereinafter referenced as HASSANZADEH, and further in view of US 20190156927 A1, hereinafter referenced as VIRKAR.
Regarding Claim 1
POTHULA discloses:
A method, comprising: (POTHULA, para. 0110: “FIG. 5 is a diagram that illustrates an exemplary computing system 1000 by which embodiments of the present technique may be implemented. Various portions of systems and methods described herein, may include or be executed on one or more computer systems similar to computing system 1000.”)
providing … a respective data conversion module for deployment in the client node, the data conversion module when installed on the client node configured to generate a set of components, the set of components including at least a pre-assessment tool and a data conversion model for performing one or more conversion operations on client data associated with the client node; (POTHULA, para. 0018: “To mitigate some of these challenges, and in some embodiments all of them and others, some embodiments determine, and dynamically re-assess during run time (or a single time during model design), the relevance of data (e.g., some or all) upon which inputs to the federated machine learning model are based (e.g., the inputs themselves, or parameters of engineered features that are inputs to the model) to the performance (e.g., accuracy, precision, or F2 score) federated machine learning model or to suitability of that model or sub-models (e.g., at different federated processes) to transfer learning. Relevance may be determined with a variety of measures, including various statistical tests like T-student, Chi square, Mahalanobis distance, Shapley values, local interpretable model-agnostic explanations (LIME), cross-entropy, and the like, to assess the relevance of inputs to the federated machine learning model to performance or transfer learning.”;
POTHULA, para. 0024: “A variety of different computing architectures are contemplated. Controller 12 is shown in a software-as-a-service (SaaS) configuration, but in some cases, some or all of the different nodes 17 may have a local instance operating in a distributed fashion.”
POTHULA, para. 0037: “In some embodiments, the datasets 14 may go through an ingestion process in the nodes 17, which in some cases, may be different processes in different nodes (e.g., data may be binned differently, like on a weekly or monthly basis, and data may be updated differently), where some of the following functions may take place: data and schema drift may be controlled, file headers may be checked, version numbers may be added to incoming files, data may be routed into clean/error queues, data files may be archived in their raw format, error records may be cleaned, column types may be changed from string to specific data types, incremental data may be processed, data normalization may be done through primary surrogate keys added, de-duplication, referential integrity may be checked, data quality may be checked (DQM) through value thresholds and value format, client specific column names may be formed, data may be encoded in dimensional star schema, column names may be changed from user specific to domain specific, extension tables as key value stores may be added for user specific attributes, data may be changed from dimensional star schema to denormalized flat table, and granularity of data may be adjusted for events, customer-product pairs, and customers.”
Examiner’s Note: the local instance of software on each node 17 (corresponding to a recited “client node”) includes software to perform data conversions such as “column types may be changed from string to specific data types” or “data may be changed from dimensional star schema to denormalized flat table” (corresponding to recited “data conversion model”), which each instance is installed at the local client node, and where the logic for assessing data relevance corresponds to the recited “pre-assessment tool” and the logic for performing data conversions corresponds to the recited “data conversion model for providing one or more conversion operations on client data associated with the client node”)
providing, to each client node, a base model to the client node for training by the client node using the client data; (POTHULA, para. 0025: “In some embodiments, the computing environment 10 may include multiple datasets (e.g. event records) 14 of multiple nodes 17 (e.g., computing systems with constraints on data sharing) of a federated machine learning model 19. The nodes 17 may have sub-models 15 that take as inputs or training data input from datasets 14 and form a federated machine learning model pipeline (or other topology, like a tree structure in an ensemble model that merges branches at node 17′) that operates in service of node 17′, which may use the outputs of the federated machine learning model 19 to determine to effect various actions via the action-channel servers 16. In some embodiments, the controller 12 may implement the processes described below to mitigate some of the challenges with federated learning in real time complex event processing, e.g., by coordinating among the sub-models 15 to configure and dynamically adjust the federated machine learning model 19.”;
POTHULA, para. 0040: “the sub-models 15 are trained on the respective datasets 14, e.g., in distinct optimizations, like stochastic gradient descent, simulated annealing, genetic optimizations, or the like, in distinct greedy optimizations relative to the other sub-models, e.g., at different times, on different data sets.”
Examiner’s Note: the sub-models 15 of each node 17 correspond to the recited “base model”, where each sub-model is trained on the local “respective dataset 14” (corresponding to recited “client data”), and where the controller 12 configures and adjusts the different components of the federated learning model, including providing the sub-models 15 to each node)
receiving, from the pre-assessment tool on each client node, statistics and abstract information describing the client data for the client node, wherein the statistics and abstract information … excludes actual values of the one or more data fields; (POTHULA, para. 0018: “To mitigate some of these challenges, and in some embodiments all of them and others, some embodiments determine, and dynamically re-assess during run time (or a single time during model design), the relevance of data (e.g., some or all) upon which inputs to the federated machine learning model are based (e.g., the inputs themselves, or parameters of engineered features that are inputs to the model) to the performance (e.g., accuracy, precision, or F2 score) federated machine learning model or to suitability of that model or sub-models (e.g., at different federated processes) to transfer learning. Relevance may be determined with a variety of measures, including various statistical tests like T-student, Chi square, Mahalanobis distance, Shapley values, local interpretable model-agnostic explanations (LIME), cross-entropy, and the like, to assess the relevance of inputs to the federated machine learning model to performance or transfer learning.”;
POTHULA, para. 0025: “In some embodiments, the controller 12 may implement the processes described below to mitigate some of the challenges with federated learning in real time complex event processing, e.g., by coordinating among the sub-models 15 to configure and dynamically adjust the federated machine learning model 19.”;
POTHULA, para. 0027: “In some embodiments, the entities may pre-process and filter their information in a data federation to allow knowledge to be shared with other entities without compromising user privacy and enable complementary knowledge to be transferred in the network. In some cases, the datasets 14 have the properties discussed above that make some other forms of federated learning difficult, e.g., heterogenous update frequencies, schemas, granularity, ETL processes, etc., and the datasets 14 in some cases are not shared between the nodes 17 (e.g., in part or in whole).”;
Examiner’s Note: the controller 12 receives the assessment of inputs to the federated machine learning model (corresponding to received “statistics and abstract information describing the client data for the client node”, where such information excludes actual values as taught by POTHULA)
wherein the conversion logic includes instructions for converting values of the client data for one or more data fields to match a target schema for training the base model; (POTHULA, para. 0037: “In some embodiments, the datasets 14 may go through an ingestion process in the nodes 17, which in some cases, may be different processes in different nodes (e.g., data may be binned differently, like on a weekly or monthly basis, and data may be updated differently), where some of the following functions may take place: data and schema drift may be controlled, file headers may be checked, version numbers may be added to incoming files, data may be routed into clean/error queues, data files may be archived in their raw format, error records may be cleaned, column types may be changed from string to specific data types, incremental data may be processed, data normalization may be done through primary surrogate keys added, de-duplication, referential integrity may be checked, data quality may be checked (DQM) through value thresholds and value format, client specific column names may be formed, data may be encoded in dimensional star schema, column names may be changed from user specific to domain specific, extension tables as key value stores may be added for user specific attributes, data may be changed from dimensional star schema to denormalized flat table, and granularity of data may be adjusted for events, customer-product pairs, and customers.”
POTHULA, para. 0038: “In some embodiments, the sub-models 15 are configured to ingest data from a dataset 14, which in some cases may include tokens, telemetry data, risk data, third-party data, social data, and customer data. The datasets 14 may be input as a batch or a stream into an extract, transform, and load (ETL) pipeline, which may load the data in a standardized, normalized, validated, and cleansed format in data store.”;
Examiner’s Note: POTHULA discloses an ETL pipeline that standardizes, normalizes, cleans, and validates data (see instant specification, para. 0006, which similar describes an ETL model that converts client data into a common data model), and where for example “column names may be changed from user specific to domain specific” to convert column names specific to a particular client entity to the domain utilized by the federated machine-learning model 19)
providing, to each client node, the conversion logic to the data conversion model of the client node, the data conversion model executing at the client node to convert the client data to the target schema using the conversion logic; (POTHULA, para. 0025: “In some embodiments, the computing environment 10 may include multiple datasets (e.g. event records) 14 of multiple nodes 17 (e.g., computing systems with constraints on data sharing) of a federated machine learning model 19. The nodes 17 may have sub-models 15 that take as inputs or training data input from datasets 14 and form a federated machine learning model pipeline (or other topology, like a tree structure in an ensemble model that merges branches at node 17′) that operates in service of node 17′, which may use the outputs of the federated machine learning model 19 to determine to effect various actions via the action-channel servers 16. In some embodiments, the controller 12 may implement the processes described below to mitigate some of the challenges with federated learning in real time complex event processing, e.g., by coordinating among the sub-models 15 to configure and dynamically adjust the federated machine learning model 19.”;
POTHULA, para. 0040: “the sub-models 15 are trained on the respective datasets 14, e.g., in distinct optimizations, like stochastic gradient descent, simulated annealing, genetic optimizations, or the like, in distinct greedy optimizations relative to the other sub-models, e.g., at different times, on different data sets.”
Examiner’s Note: the controller 12 implements the conversion logic (of paras. 0037-0038 of POTHULA), and provides the software to the individual nodes 17 in order for such nodes to convert respective datasets 14 to a format that can be ingested by the local sub-model 15 (corresponding to recited “target schema”))
receiving, from each client node, trained parameters of the base model from the client node, (POTHULA, para. 0025: “The controller 12 may include a data atlas 18 and an artificial intelligence (AI) atlas 20. The data atlas 18 may be configured to ingest third-party machine learning models (or other forms of AI models), like sub-models that constitute a federated machine learning model. In some cases, each of those sub-models may specify a model architecture (like a network of perceptrons in a neural network, such as a directed graph indicating which perceptron's outputs feed into which perceptron's inputs, or other types of models discussed below), model parameters in a trained or untrained state (e.g., weights and biases of the perceptrons), and hyperparameters of the model. In some cases, sub-models may be obtained from a plurality or all (e.g., more than 2, 3, 20, or 50) different entities.”;
Examiner’s Note: Controller 12 ingests (corresponding to recited “receives”) the sub-models 15 from each node 17, where each sub-model includes the trained weights and biases (corresponding to recited “trained parameters of the base model”))
wherein the parameters of the base model are trained using converted values by executing the data conversion model to perform one or more conversion operations using the conversion logic. (POTHULA, para. 0037: “In some embodiments, the datasets 14 may go through an ingestion process in the nodes 17, which in some cases, may be different processes in different nodes (e.g., data may be binned differently, like on a weekly or monthly basis, and data may be updated differently), where some of the following functions may take place: data and schema drift may be controlled, file headers may be checked, version numbers may be added to incoming files, data may be routed into clean/error queues, data files may be archived in their raw format, error records may be cleaned, column types may be changed from string to specific data types, incremental data may be processed, data normalization may be done through primary surrogate keys added, de-duplication, referential integrity may be checked, data quality may be checked (DQM) through value thresholds and value format, client specific column names may be formed, data may be encoded in dimensional star schema, column names may be changed from user specific to domain specific, extension tables as key value stores may be added for user specific attributes, data may be changed from dimensional star schema to denormalized flat table, and granularity of data may be adjusted for events, customer-product pairs, and customers.”
POTHULA, para. 0038: “In some embodiments, the sub-models 15 are configured to ingest data from a dataset 14, which in some cases may include tokens, telemetry data, risk data, third-party data, social data, and customer data. The datasets 14 may be input as a batch or a stream into an extract, transform, and load (ETL) pipeline, which may load the data in a standardized, normalized, validated, and cleansed format in data store.”;
Examiner’s Note: POTHULA discloses an ETL pipeline that standardizes, normalizes, cleans, and validates data (see instant specification, para. 0006, which similar describes an ETL model that converts client data into a common data model), and where for example “column names may be changed from user specific to domain specific” to convert column names specific to a particular client entity to the domain utilized by the federated machine-learning model 19, such that this converted data is used to train the individual sub-models 15)
However, POTHULA fails to explicitly teach:
… from a server to each client node in a set of client nodes …
wherein the statistics and abstract information includes metadata on one or more data fields of the client data or statistics of the client data
generating, at the server, conversion logic based on the received statistics and abstract information on the client data for the client node without access to the actual values of the one or more data fields
aggregating the trained parameters of the base model received from the set of client nodes to form a trained master model.
However, in a related field of endeavor (federated learning, see para. 0030), HASSANZADEH teaches and makes obvious:
providing from a server to each client node in a set of client nodes a respective data conversion module for deployment in the client node, … (HASSANZADEH, para. 0022: “Aspects of the present disclosure provide systems, methods, apparatus, and computer-readable storage media that support secure training of machine learning (ML) models that preserve privacy in untrusted environments using distributed executable file packages. To illustrate, executable file packages may be distributed to a server of a cloud services provider and to one or more clients that agree to participate in training of an ML model. The executable file packages may include configuration files, homomorphic encryption (HE) libraries, ML libraries, pre-processing libraries, operating systems, scripts, other files, and the like that enable homomorphic encryption of data for ML model training controlled by a server that is otherwise configured for non-secure (e.g., based on non-encrypted data) client-specific ML model training. The secure ML model training may be used to train a diagnosis prediction model that predicts a diagnosis based on client-specific medical data of a patent. Because medical data may be private and confidential to the various clients (e.g., medical institutions), based on customer preferences, business or government regulations, or the like, medical institutions may not be willing to share client data for use in training a client-specific diagnosis prediction model or a global diagnosis prediction model. In order to train a diagnosis prediction model using client data while maintaining data privacy, the executable file packages may cause clients to share encrypted client data, and the server to aggregate the encrypted client data to train a diagnosis prediction model.”;
Examiner’s Note: the POTHULA-HASSANZADEH combination now provides the conversion logic of POTHULA to the client nodes of POTHULA from the server/controller as taught by HASSANZADEH, for example, as part of the pre-processing libraries)
generating, at the server, conversion logic … (HASSANZADEH, para. 0022: “Aspects of the present disclosure provide systems, methods, apparatus, and computer-readable storage media that support secure training of machine learning (ML) models that preserve privacy in untrusted environments using distributed executable file packages. To illustrate, executable file packages may be distributed to a server of a cloud services provider and to one or more clients that agree to participate in training of an ML model. The executable file packages may include configuration files, homomorphic encryption (HE) libraries, ML libraries, pre-processing libraries, operating systems, scripts, other files, and the like that enable homomorphic encryption of data for ML model training controlled by a server that is otherwise configured for non-secure (e.g., based on non-encrypted data) client-specific ML model training. The secure ML model training may be used to train a diagnosis prediction model that predicts a diagnosis based on client-specific medical data of a patent. Because medical data may be private and confidential to the various clients (e.g., medical institutions), based on customer preferences, business or government regulations, or the like, medical institutions may not be willing to share client data for use in training a client-specific diagnosis prediction model or a global diagnosis prediction model. In order to train a diagnosis prediction model using client data while maintaining data privacy, the executable file packages may cause clients to share encrypted client data, and the server to aggregate the encrypted client data to train a diagnosis prediction model.”;
Examiner’s Note: the POTHULA-HASSANZADEH combination now generates the conversion logic for each client node at the server)
aggregating the trained parameters of the base model received from the set of client nodes to form a trained master model. (HASSANZADEH, para. 0038: “After receiving the encrypted data 170 and 172 and the public keys 146 and 156 from the client devices 140 and 150, respectively, the executable file package 110 may cause the server 102 to aggregate the received encrypted data to construct an ML model (e.g., a global ML model) for use by the client devices 140 and 150.”;
Examiner’s Note: the POTHULA-HASSANZADEH combination now explicitly has the server/controller perform aggregation of sub-models to form a global machine learning model as taught by HASSANZADEH)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of POTHULA with HASSANZADEH as explained above. As disclosed by HASSANZADEH, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so “[b]ecause medical data and patient data may be private and confidential to the various clients (e.g., medical institutions), based on customer preferences, business or government regulations, or the like” and so HASSANZADEH’s techniques of maintaining the privacy of client data would be beneficial. (para. 0005). As further disclosed by HASSANZADEH, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because servers and other cloud-based processing devices often have a larger amount of computational resources. (para. 0002).
However, POTHULA and HASSANZADEH fail to explicitly teach:
wherein the statistics and abstract information includes metadata on one or more data fields of the client data or statistics of the client data
… based on the received statistics and abstract information on the client data for the client node
However, in a related field of endeavor (managing large amounts of data, including data with privacy concerns and regulations such as medical data, see paras. 0003-0005), VIRKAR teaches and makes obvious:
wherein the statistics and abstract information includes metadata on one or more data fields of the client data or statistics of the client data (VIRKAR, para. 0007: “ The computer system may include a plurality of data converters executed by the processing resources, each data converter configured to convert the obtained data from a corresponding data adaptor in the respective data format to a common data format including metadata based on the obtained data. The computer system may include a data repository for storing data in the common data format.”
VIRKAR, para. 0090: “In an aspect, metadata describing data may be referred to as first metadata and data tags that describe metadata may be referred to as second metadata.”;
VIRKAR, para. 0102: “In block 1030, the method 1000 may include converting the obtained data from a corresponding data adaptor in the respective data format to a common data format including first metadata based on the obtained data. In an aspect, for example, the data converters 4 may convert the obtained data from a corresponding data adaptor in the respective data format to a common data format including the first metadata based on the obtained data.”;
Examiner’s Note: VIRKAR discloses converting data from one data format to a common data format based on obtained data, including first metadata that describes the stored data; the POTHULA-HASSANZADEH-VIRKAR combination now modifies the federated learning system of POTHULA so that only metadata is sent from the client to the server to further protect client data, where actual access to client data is not required as explained by POTHULA and HASSANZADEH)
based on the received statistics and abstract information on the client data for the client node (VIRKAR, para. 0007: “ The computer system may include a plurality of data converters executed by the processing resources, each data converter configured to convert the obtained data from a corresponding data adaptor in the respective data format to a common data format including metadata based on the obtained data. The computer system may include a data repository for storing data in the common data format.”
VIRKAR, para. 0090: “In an aspect, metadata describing data may be referred to as first metadata and data tags that describe metadata may be referred to as second metadata.”;
VIRKAR, para. 0102: “In block 1030, the method 1000 may include converting the obtained data from a corresponding data adaptor in the respective data format to a common data format including first metadata based on the obtained data. In an aspect, for example, the data converters 4 may convert the obtained data from a corresponding data adaptor in the respective data format to a common data format including the first metadata based on the obtained data.”;
Examiner’s Note: the POTHULA-HASSANZADEH-VIRKAR combination now modifies the federated learning system of POTHULA so that the data conversion teachings of POTHULA (paras. 0037-0038) now convert data, including metadata such as column types, to a common format based on such metadata, as taught by VIRKAR, where actual access to client data is not required as explained by POTHULA and HASSANZADEH, and where conversion logic is generated at the server (as taught by HASSANZADEH) based on the common format of VIRKAR)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of POTHULA with HASSANZADEH and VIRKAR as explained above. As disclosed by VIRKAR, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to “support medical research” and provide medical researchers with access to data across systems that are “not compatible with each other.” (paras. 0004-0005).
Regarding Claim 2
POTHULA, HASSANZADEH, and VIRKAR disclose the method of claim 1 as explained above. POTHULA further teaches and makes obvious:
wherein conversion logic generated for a first client node in the set of client nodes is different from conversion logic generated for a second client node. (POTHULA, para. 0037: “In some embodiments, the datasets 14 may go through an ingestion process in the nodes 17, which in some cases, may be different processes in different nodes (e.g., data may be binned differently, like on a weekly or monthly basis, and data may be updated differently), where some of the following functions may take place: data and schema drift may be controlled, file headers may be checked, version numbers may be added to incoming files, data may be routed into clean/error queues, data files may be archived in their raw format, error records may be cleaned, column types may be changed from string to specific data types, incremental data may be processed, data normalization may be done through primary surrogate keys added, de-duplication, referential integrity may be checked, data quality may be checked (DQM) through value thresholds and value format, client specific column names may be formed, data may be encoded in dimensional star schema, column names may be changed from user specific to domain specific, extension tables as key value stores may be added for user specific attributes, data may be changed from dimensional star schema to denormalized flat table, and granularity of data may be adjusted for events, customer-product pairs, and customers.”;
Examiner’s Note: POTHULA discloses that the data conversion process for each node 17 may be different, and therefore the conversion logic for a first node and a second node will be different if the underlying data in each node is different (e.g., if the data is binned differently))
Regarding Claim 3
POTHULA, HASSANZADEH, and VIRKAR disclose the method of claim 1 as explained above. POTHULA further teaches and makes obvious:
wherein the conversion logic includes logic for one or a combination of data field conversion, a conversion of measurements, a value bucketing conversion, and vocabulary conversion from a first vocabulary to a second vocabulary. (POTHULA, para. 0037: “In some embodiments, the datasets 14 may go through an ingestion process in the nodes 17, which in some cases, may be different processes in different nodes (e.g., data may be binned differently, like on a weekly or monthly basis, and data may be updated differently), where some of the following functions may take place: data and schema drift may be controlled, file headers may be checked, version numbers may be added to incoming files, data may be routed into clean/error queues, data files may be archived in their raw format, error records may be cleaned, column types may be changed from string to specific data types, incremental data may be processed, data normalization may be done through primary surrogate keys added, de-duplication, referential integrity may be checked, data quality may be checked (DQM) through value thresholds and value format, client specific column names may be formed, data may be encoded in dimensional star schema, column names may be changed from user specific to domain specific, extension tables as key value stores may be added for user specific attributes, data may be changed from dimensional star schema to denormalized flat table, and granularity of data may be adjusted for events, customer-product pairs, and customers.”;
Examiner’s Note: POTHULA discloses that “column names may be changed from user specific to domain specific” which corresponds to the recited “data field conversion” option, where the broadest reasonable interpretation of this limitation only requires one of the alternative options in this limitation to be present)
Regarding Claim 4
POTHULA, HASSANZADEH, and VIRKAR disclose the method of claim 1 as explained above. POTHULA further teaches and makes obvious:
the statistics and abstract information received from a client node including one or a combination of metadata on data fields of the client data or statistics on values of the client data, without exposing actual values of the client data. (POTHULA, para. 0018: “To mitigate some of these challenges, and in some embodiments all of them and others, some embodiments determine, and dynamically re-assess during run time (or a single time during model design), the relevance of data (e.g., some or all) upon which inputs to the federated machine learning model are based (e.g., the inputs themselves, or parameters of engineered features that are inputs to the model) to the performance (e.g., accuracy, precision, or F2 score) federated machine learning model or to suitability of that model or sub-models (e.g., at different federated processes) to transfer learning. Relevance may be determined with a variety of measures, including various statistical tests like T-student, Chi square, Mahalanobis distance, Shapley values, local interpretable model-agnostic explanations (LIME), cross-entropy, and the like, to assess the relevance of inputs to the federated machine learning model to performance or transfer learning.”;
POTHULA, para. 0021: “In some incarnations, federated learning is a distributed machine learning framework that allows a collective model to be constructed from data that is distributed across (and in some cases, not shared between) data owners. In some cases, data may be scattered across different organizations and may not be easily integrated under many legal and practical constraints. Federated transfer learning (FTL) may be used to improve statistical models under a data federation that allow knowledge to be shared without compromising user privacy and facilitate complementary knowledge to be transferred in the network. As a result, a target-domain party (e.g., one without access to the data of some or all of the participants in the federated machine learning model) may build more flexible and powerful models by leveraging rich labels from a source-domain party.”;
POTHULA, para. 0027: “In some embodiments, the entities may pre-process and filter their information in a data federation to allow knowledge to be shared with other entities without compromising user privacy and enable complementary knowledge to be transferred in the network. In some cases, the datasets 14 have the properties discussed above that make some other forms of federated learning difficult, e.g., heterogenous update frequencies, schemas, granularity, ETL processes, etc., and the datasets 14 in some cases are not shared between the nodes 17 (e.g., in part or in whole).”;
Examiner’s Note: POTHULA discloses assessing the relevance of data, including statistical tests of data (corresponding to recited “statistics on values of the client data”) without actually sharing the client data to avoid comprising user privacy)
Regarding Claim 7
POTHULA, HASSANZADEH, and VIRKAR disclose the method of claim 1 as explained above. POTHULA further teaches and makes obvious:
further comprising combining the trained parameters of the base models from the set of client nodes to form a trained master model. (POTHULA, para. 0020: “ Some embodiments include a federated learning platform that can be used by multiple entities that do not wish to share raw data (e.g., different businesses or other enterprises) to collaborate mutually and build robust models. Data sharing may be achieved either by building a meta-model from the sub-models each party (e.g. an enterprise) builds so that only model parameters are transferred or by using encryption techniques to allow safe communications in between different parties.”;
Examiner’s Note: the combined “meta-model” built from the sub-models corresponds to the trained “trained master model”)
Regarding Claim 8
POTHULA teaches:
A non-transitory computer readable medium comprising stored instructions, the stored instructions when executed by at least one processor of one or more computing devices, cause the one or more computing devices to: (POTHULA, para. 0007: “Some aspects include a tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a data processing apparatus, cause the data processing apparatus to perform operations including the above-mentioned process.”)
The remaining limitations of claim 8 correspond to the method of claim 1 and therefore claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 9 depends from claim 8 and claims a non-transitory computer readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 2, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained with respect to claims 2 and 8.
Claim 10 depends from claim 8 and claims a non-transitory computer readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 3, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained with respect to claims 3 and 8.
Claim 11 depends from claim 8 and claims a non-transitory computer readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 4, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained with respect to claims 4 and 8.
Claim 14 depends from claim 8 and claims a non-transitory computer readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 7, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained with respect to claims 7 and 8.
Regarding Claim 15
POTHULA teaches:
A computer system comprising: one or more computer processors; and one or more computer readable mediums storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more computer processors, cause the computer system to: (POTHULA, para. 0007: “Some aspects include a tangible, non-transitory, machine-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a data processing apparatus, cause the data processing apparatus to perform operations including the above-mentioned process.”)
The remaining limitations of claim 15 correspond to the method of claim 1 and therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons explained above with respect to claim 1.
Claim 16 depends from claim 15 and claims a system that corresponds to the method of claim 2, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained with respect to claims 2 and 15.
Claim 17 depends from claim 15 and claims a system that corresponds to the method of claim 3, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained with respect to claims 3 and 15.
Claim 18 depends from claim 15 and claims a system that corresponds to the method of claim 4, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained with respect to claims 4 and 15.
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POTHULA in view of HASSANZADEH and VIRKAR and further in view of US 20200151030 A1, hereinafter referenced as SCHROEDER.
Regarding Claim 5
POTHULA, HASSANZADEH, and VIRKAR disclose the method of claim 1 as explained above. However, POTHULA, HASSANZADEH, and VIRKAR fail to explicitly teach:
the statistics and abstract information for a client node including local vocabulary used to encode one or more values in the client data, and the method further comprising:
generating a mapping from the local vocabulary to a standardized vocabulary; and
providing the mapping to the data conversion module.
However, in a related field of endeavor (data and device integration, see para. 0001), SCHROEDER teaches and makes obvious:
the statistics and abstract information for a client node including local vocabulary used to encode one or more values in the client data, and the method further comprising: (SCHROEDER, para. 0003: “In one example method, application-specific vocabularies for each of a plurality of applications are identified at design time, wherein each of the applications is associated with a corresponding vocabulary.”;
Examiner’s Note: the POTHULA-HASSANZADEH-VIRKAR-SCHROEDER combination now modifies the system of POTHULA such that application-specific vocabularies of SCHROEDER are used for the dataset at each client node 17 of POTHULA, such that each application-specific vocabulary is used to organize and understand the data in such dataset)
generating a mapping from the local vocabulary to a standardized vocabulary; and (SCHROEDER, para. 0006: “In some instances, computing the implicit mappings between the first application and the second application includes identifying the first application and the second application to be integrated, identifying the application-specific vocabulary and predefined mapping to the common vocabulary for each of the first application and the second application, and computing the implicit mapping between the vocabularies of the first and second application based on the identified mappings between the identified application-specific vocabulary and the common vocabulary.”;
Examiner’s Note: the POTHULA-HASSANZADEH-VIRKAR-SCHROEDER combination now modifies the system of POTHULA such that application-specific vocabularies of SCHROEDER are mapped to a common vocabulary as in SCHROEDER)
providing the mapping to the data conversion module. (SCHROEDER, para. 0006: “In some instances, computing the implicit mappings between the first application and the second application includes identifying the first application and the second application to be integrated, identifying the application-specific vocabulary and predefined mapping to the common vocabulary for each of the first application and the second application, and computing the implicit mapping between the vocabularies of the first and second application based on the identified mappings between the identified application-specific vocabulary and the common vocabulary.”;
Examiner’s Note: the POTHULA-HASSANZADEH-VIRKAR-SCHROEDER combination now modifies the system of POTHULA such that application-specific vocabularies of SCHROEDER are mapped to a common vocabulary as in SCHROEDER, and then the logic for performing data conversion of POTHULA (see paras. 0037-0038) utilizes such data mapping when converting data to a different format)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of POTHULA with HASSANZADEH, VIRKAR and SCHROEDER as explained above. As disclosed by SCHROEDER, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so because in “order to allow for communication between different systems, a specific 1:1 mapping of terms and syntax must be defined to allow the disparate systems communicate throughout a process.” (para. 0002).
Claim 12 depends from claim 8 and claims a non-transitory computer readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 5, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained with respect to claims 5 and 8.
Claim 19 depends from claim 15 and claims a system that corresponds to the method of claim 5, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained with respect to claims 5 and 15.
Claims 6, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over POTHULA in view of HASSZANZADEH, VIRKAR and further in view of US 20200034351 A1, hereinafter referenced as MATSUGATANI.
Regarding Claim 6
POTHULA, HASSANZADEH, and VIRKAR disclose the method of claim 1 as explained above. However, POTHULA and HASSANZADEH fail to explicitly teach:
receiving, from a client node, an indication that the statistics and abstract information for the client data has been updated;
generating updated conversion logic reflecting the changes to the statistics and abstract information; and
providing the updated conversion logic to the data conversion module of the client node.
However, in a related field of endeavor (managing large amounts of data, including data with privacy concerns and regulations such as medical data, see paras. 0003-0005), VIRKAR teaches and makes obvious:
generating updated conversion logic ... (VIRKAR, para. 0034: “As new external data providers 1 utilize the research management system 100, a simple modification to configure a new data adapter 2 and data converter 4 may be implemented. Once the data adaptor 2 and data converter 4 are changed or updated ... The modification of the data adaptor 2 and/or data converter 4 can happen on the fly and with little or no changes to the underlying processes, procedures or data storage services.”)
providing the updated conversion logic to the data conversion module of the client node. (VIRKAR, para. 0033: “The data converters 4 may be lightweight interfaces that can take a specific data format (e.g., ODM, HL7, CSV or TXT) and convert each transaction record received from the data providers 1 into a standard JSON document. Since external data providers 1 may provide data in different categories of data, the data converters 4 may use JSON as a standard data format.”;
Examiner’s Note: VIRKAR discloses that the data converters 4 are lightweight interfaces; the POTHULA-VIRKAR combination now has the controller 12 of POTHULA implement the conversion logic (of paras. 0037-0038 of POTHULA), and provides the software (including the data converter 4 of VIRKAR) to the individual nodes 17 in order for such nodes to convert respective datasets 14 to a format that can be ingested by the local sub-model 15)
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of POTHULA with HASSANZADEH and VIRKAR as explained above. As disclosed by VIRKAR, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to “support medical research” and provide medical researchers with access to data across systems that are “not compatible with each other.” (paras. 0004-0005).
However, POTHULA, HASSANZADEH, and VIRKAR fail to explicitly teach:
receiving, from a client node, an indication that the statistics and abstract information for the client data has been updated;
... reflecting the changes to the statistics and abstract information; and
However, in a related field of endeavor (collecting and consolidating data, see para. 0008), MATSUGATANI teaches:
receiving, from a client node, an indication that the statistics and abstract information for the client data has been updated; (MATSUGATANI, para. 0013: “In some embodiments, the edge computing module is configured to receive (i) a verification notice from the cloud-based server indicating whether the changed primitive and corresponding raw data has been verified with a plurality of other detected changed primitives and raw data provided to the cloud-based server from one or more sources other than the node, and (ii) the updated data from the cloud-based server and associated with the changed primitive.”;
Examiner’s Note: the POTHULA-HASSANZADEH-VIRKAR-MATSUGATANI combination now has the controller 12 of POTHULA receive a notification that data has changed (as taught by MATSUGATANI), where such changed data relates to the data relevance statistics of POTHULA)
generating updated conversion logic reflecting the changes to the statistics and abstract information; and (MATSUGATANI, para. 0013: “In some embodiments, the edge computing module is configured to receive (i) a verification notice from the cloud-based server indicating whether the changed primitive and corresponding raw data has been verified with a plurality of other detected changed primitives and raw data provided to the cloud-based server from one or more sources other than the node, and (ii) the updated data from the cloud-based server and associated with the changed primitive.”;
Examiner’s Note: the POTHULA-HASSANZADEH-VIRKAR-MATSUGATANI combination now has the controller 12 of POTHULA receive a notification that data has changed (as taught by MATSUGATANI), where such changed data relates to the data relevance statistics of POTHULA, and based on such changed data, updates the data converter 4 of VIRKAR which is utilized by POTHULA to perform data conversion (as discussed in paras. 0037-0038))
Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of POTHULA with HASSANZADEH, VIRKAR and MATSUGATANI as explained above. As disclosed by MATSUGATANI, one of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so in order to know whether to “update the master database based on the changed” information. (para. 0016). One of ordinary skill would further be motivated to update software to ensure that up-to-date metadata (such as column headers) are used in the data conversion process.
Claim 13 depends from claim 8 and claims a non-transitory computer readable medium that corresponds to the method of claim 6, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained with respect to claims 6 and 8.
Claim 20 depends from claim 15 and claims a system that corresponds to the method of claim 6, and is therefore rejected for the same reasons explained with respect to claims 6 and 15.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12112129 B2 (Santa). “ A decentralized learning architecture is proposed where neural network layers are decoupled between clients and a central server, providing a distributed learning system in which pre-processing of data and the first training layers are deployed in client computing devices (e.g. customers' servers). Subsequent learning steps are performed be in the server once access to the original data is not needed to continue with the learning process. Although not discussed below, it may also be possible to apply at the beginning an encryption algorithm to add an extra layer of security to the architecture and make stronger the anonymity and protection of data.” (col. 3, lines 25-36).
/MICHAEL C. LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2128