DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17, 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites, “training a machine learning model using the first image data and the second image data as input data”.
Applicant’s specification no where recites “training”. Examiner checked for other words or phrases indicating the process, “training a machine learning model using the first image data and the second image data as input data”.
Applicant’s disclosure is silent regarding the process, “training a machine learning model using the first image data and the second image data as input data”.
This is new matter.
The rest of the claims are rejected for depending on a rejected base claim or for having similar deficiencies as the rejected base claim.
3. Claims 1-17, 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 in the first paragraph recites, “a trained machine learning model…” and then again in the last paragraph claim 1 recites, “training a machine learning model”
It is not clear whether the claimed, “…machine learning model” are the same or not the same units.
Applicant is therefore requested to provide proper antecedent for the recited limitation.
The rest of the clams are rejected for depending on a rejected base claim or for having deficiencies similar to the rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7 Claims 1-17, 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1) as being anticipated by Li (US pub 2023/0297068).
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses an information processing method for obtaining a trained machine learning model (i.e. trained model, training model, training data, teacher data; abstract; sec 0007,0008, 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, etc) configured to output information of a workpiece (citing, “generation of a trained model for specifying the pick-up positions of the workpieces loaded in bulk….,”; sec 0007, 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 00484, etc ), the information processing method comprising:
obtaining first image data (obtaining image data of different types of work pieces; sec 0039, 0040, 0046) including an image corresponding to a first number of workpieces disposed in a container (obtaining first image data of different types of work pieces disposed in a container; figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0039; 0040, 0046; 0050), each of the first number of workpieces being disposed on an inner bottom surface of the container without overlapping with each other workpiece of the first number of workpieces (fig. 6 a-d each shows images of a group of workpieces without overlapping; figs. 6a-d also shows images of a group of work pieces with overlapping; see sec 0087, citing, “……..there is a probability that these position and posture candidates are not exposed in the overlapping state of the plurality of workpieces 50…”, and also citing, “….postures of the plurality of workpieces 50 without the interference with a surrounding obstacle in the overlapping state of the plurality of workpieces 50…”);
obtaining second image data including an image corresponding to a second number of workpieces disposed in the container, each of the second number of the workpieces being disposed in the container and overlapping with at least one other workpiece of the second number of workpieces (sec 0029, 0089-0091); and
training (fig. 7, step S18; sec 0108) a machine learning model using the first image data and the second image data as input data (sec 0096-0098, 0108-0113).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of pieces of the first image data and a plurality of pieces of the second image data are obtained (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154), and
the trained machine learning model is obtained by machine learning using the plurality of pieces of the first image data and the plurality of pieces of the second image data as the input data (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 3, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 2, further comprising determining, on a basis of a predetermined algorithm, the number of pieces of the first image data and the number of pieces of the second image data that are to be obtained (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154),
Regarding claim 4, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the first image data and the second image data each include image data obtained on a basis of an image pickup operation by an image pickup apparatus (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 5, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 4, wherein a plurality of pieces of the first image data are obtained while changing a distance between the image pickup apparatus and an inner bottom surface of the container (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 6, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 1 further comprising:
obtaining third image data (obtaining image data of different types of work pieces; sec 0039, 0040, 0046, 0055-0058) including an image corresponding to a third number of virtual workpieces disposed in a virtual container (obtaining first image data of different types of work pieces disposed in a container; figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0039; 0040, 0046; 0050), each of the third number of virtual workpieces being disposed on an inner bottom surface of the virtual container without overlapping with each other workpiece of the third number of virtual workpieces (fig. 6 a-d each shows images of a group of workpieces without overlapping; figs. 6a-d also shows images of a group of work pieces with overlapping; see sec 0087, citing, “……..there is a probability that these position and posture candidates are not exposed in the overlapping state of the plurality of workpieces 50…”, and also citing, “….postures of the plurality of workpieces 50 without the interference with a surrounding obstacle in the overlapping state of the plurality of workpieces 50…”);
obtaining fourth image data including an image corresponding to a fourth number of virtual workpieces disposed in the virtual container, each of the fourth number of the virtual workpieces being disposed in the virtual container and overlapping with at least one other workpiece of the fourth number of virtual workpieces (sec 0029, 0089-0091); and
training a second machine learning model using the third image data and the fourth image data as input data (sec 0096-0098), 0108-0113),
wherein the third image data and the fourth image data each include image data obtained on a basis of a virtual image pickup operation by a virtual image pickup apparatus (sec 0029, 0089-0091, sec 0096-0098), 0108-0113).
Regarding claim 7, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 6, wherein a plurality of pieces of the first image data are obtained while changing a distance between the virtual image pickup apparatus and an inner bottom surface of the virtual container (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 6, wherein the first image data is obtained by performing physical simulation in which the first number of the virtual workpieces are caused to free fall into the virtual container and causing the virtual image pickup apparatus to virtually image the first number of the virtual workpieces randomly piled up in the virtual container (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154), and
the second image data is obtained by performing physical simulation in which the second number of the virtual workpieces are caused to free fall into the virtual container and causing the virtual image pickup apparatus to virtually image the second number of the virtual workpieces randomly piled up in the virtual container (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 6, further comprising displaying, on a display portion, a first input portion capable of receiving input of setting conditions of the virtual image pickup apparatus (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 10, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 6, further comprising displaying, on a display portion, a second input portion capable of receiving input of setting conditions of the virtual workpieces (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 11, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 6, further comprising displaying, on a display portion, a third input portion capable of receiving input of setting conditions of the virtual container (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 12, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 6, wherein the first image data is obtained by virtually lighting up a virtual light source in the virtual image pickup operation by the virtual image pickup apparatus (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 12, further comprising displaying, on a display portion, a fourth input portion capable of receiving input of setting conditions of the virtual light source (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the information of the workpiece includes information of an orientation of the workpiece (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 15, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 14, wherein the information of the orientation of the workpiece includes information about which of a front surface and a back surface of the workpiece faces upward (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 16, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the information of the workpiece includes information of a position of the workpiece (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 17, Li discloses the information processing method according to claim 1, wherein the first number is such a number that a packing ratio of the workpieces in the container or a packing ratio of the virtual workpieces in the virtual container is determined as low, and wherein the second number is such a number that the packing ratio of the workpieces in the container or the packing ratio of the virtual workpieces in the virtual container is determined as high (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 19, Li discloses an image processing method for obtaining a trained machine learning model (i.e. trained model, training model, training data, teacher data; abstract; sec 0007,0008, 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, etc) configured to output information of a workpiece (citing, “generation of a trained model for specifying the pick-up positions of the workpieces loaded in bulk….,”; sec 0007, 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 00484, etc ), the image information processing method comprising:
obtaining first image data (obtaining image data of different types of work pieces; sec 0039, 0040, 0046) including an image corresponding to a first number of workpieces disposed in a container (obtaining first image data of different types of work pieces disposed in a container; figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0039; 0040, 0046; 0050), each of the first number of workpieces being disposed on an inner bottom surface of the container without overlapping with each other workpiece of the first number of workpieces (fig. 6 a-d each shows images of a group of workpieces without overlapping; figs. 6a-d also shows images of a group of work pieces with overlapping; see sec 0087, citing, “……..there is a probability that these position and posture candidates are not exposed in the overlapping state of the plurality of workpieces 50…”, and also citing, “….postures of the plurality of workpieces 50 without the interference with a surrounding obstacle in the overlapping state of the plurality of workpieces 50…”);
obtaining second image data including an image corresponding to a second number of workpieces disposed in the container, each of the second number of the workpieces being disposed in the container and overlapping with at least one other workpiece of the second number of workpieces (sec 0029, 0089-0091); and
training (fig. 7, step S18; sec 0108) a machine learning model using the first image data and the second image data as input data (sec 0096-0098, 0108-0113).
Regarding claim 20, Li discloses a robot control method comprising:
obtaining information of a workpiece from captured image data obtained by imaging the workpiece, the information of the workpiece being obtained by using the trained machine learning model obtained by the information processing method according to claim 1; and controlling a robot on a basis of the information of the workpiece (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 21, Li discloses the product manufacturing method comprising: obtaining information of a workpiece from captured image data obtained by imaging the workpiece, the information of the workpiece being obtained by using the trained machine learning model obtained by the information processing method (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154) according to claim 1; and
controlling a robot on a basis of the information of the workpiece to manufacture a product (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 22, Li discloses an information processing apparatus comprising:
one or more processors configured to obtain a trained machine learning model configured to output information of a workpiece (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154), wherein the one or more processors:
obtain first image data (obtaining image data of different types of work pieces; sec 0039, 0040, 0046) including an image corresponding to a first number of workpieces disposed in a container (obtaining first image data of different types of work pieces disposed in a container; figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0039; 0040, 0046; 0050), each of the first number of workpieces being disposed on an inner bottom surface of the container without overlapping with each other workpiece of the first number of workpieces (fig. 6 a-d each shows images of a group of workpieces without overlapping; figs. 6a-d also shows images of a group of work pieces with overlapping; see sec 0087, citing, “……..there is a probability that these position and posture candidates are not exposed in the overlapping state of the plurality of workpieces 50…”, and also citing, “….postures of the plurality of workpieces 50 without the interference with a surrounding obstacle in the overlapping state of the plurality of workpieces 50…”);
obtain second image data including an image corresponding to a second number of workpieces disposed in the container, each of the second number of the workpieces being disposed in the container and overlapping with at least one other workpiece of the second number of workpieces (sec 0029, 0089-0091); and
train (fig. 7, step S18; sec 0108) a machine learning model using the first image data and the second image data as input data (sec 0096-0098, 0108-0113).
Regarding claim 23, Li discloses an image processing apparatus comprising:
one or more processors configured to obtain a trained machine learning model configured to output information of a workpiece (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154), wherein the one or more processors:
obtain first image data (obtaining image data of different types of work pieces; sec 0039, 0040, 0046) including an image corresponding to a first number of workpieces disposed in a container (obtaining first image data of different types of work pieces disposed in a container; figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0039; 0040, 0046; 0050), each of the first number of workpieces being disposed on an inner bottom surface of the container without overlapping with each other workpiece of the first number of workpieces (fig. 6 a-d each shows images of a group of workpieces without overlapping; figs. 6a-d also shows images of a group of work pieces with overlapping; see sec 0087, citing, “……..there is a probability that these position and posture candidates are not exposed in the overlapping state of the plurality of workpieces 50…”, and also citing, “….postures of the plurality of workpieces 50 without the interference with a surrounding obstacle in the overlapping state of the plurality of workpieces 50…”);
obtain second image data including an image corresponding to a second number of workpieces disposed in the container, each of the second number of the workpieces being disposed in the container and overlapping with at least one other workpiece of the second number of workpieces (sec 0029, 0089-0091); and
train (fig. 7, step S18; sec 0108) a machine learning model using the first image data and the second image data as input data (sec 0096-0098, 0108-0113).
Regarding claim 24, Li discloses a robot system comprising:
the information processing apparatus according to claim 22;
a robot (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154); and
a controller configured to control the robot on a basis of the information of the workpiece (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154).
Regarding claim 25, Li discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing one or more programs including instructions for causing a computer to execute the information processing method (figs; 1, 4, 5, 6, 8. 10; sec 0009, 0010, 0028, 0029, 0048, 0072, 0073, 0074-0154) according to claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s argument regarding the 101 rejections are moot in view of the rejection being vacated.
Regarding applicant’s arguments in view of the drawing the abjections thereto have been vacated in view of applicant’s amendments to the claims.
Regarding applicant’s arguments in view of the 112 rejections the 112 rejections of the office action dated 10/29/205 have been vacated in view of applicant’s amendments. However, a new matter 112 rejection have been instated in the present office action.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art, EP 1589483 B1; US 20060104788 A1 each at least teaches or indicates an overlapping state and in addition also indicating a No overlapping state or a state without overlapping of workpieces.
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657