DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In view of the amendment to the claims the Examiner has withdrawn the previous rejection, updated the search and is making the following new grounds of rejection. As such the arguments filed 7/28/26 are insufficient in establishing patentability for these claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Claims 1 to 3, 7 to 18 and 22 to 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2013 023576, as interpreted by the attached English language translation.
JP teaches a biodegradable resin composition that contains a thermoplastic resin
(meeting the claimed polymer), an inorganic filler that can be calcium carbonate and a biodegradable material that can be casein.
The third page of the translation, starting at (1)(A), teaches these components. Note particularly (6) which teaches calcium carbonate and (7) which teaches casein. From this one having ordinary skill in the art would have found a composition that contains each of these component to have been obvious.
Regarding the claimed amount of calcium carbonate, note that section (1)(A) teaches that the polymer is present in no more than 49 wt% and calcium carbonate and casein are present in a 3/7 to 7/3 ratio. From this the skilled artisan would recognize that the amounts in the JP reference embrace amounts within the 30 to 80 wt% range such that the skilled artisan would have found an amount within the claimed range to have been obvious.
For instance, if 30 wt% of the polymer were present, this would leave 70 wt% for the calcium carbonate and casein. Given a 7/3 ratio, this allows for 49 wt% calcium carbonate. The bottom of page 5 of the translation teaches a preferred ratio of 5/5 such that this allows for 35 wt% calcium carbonate.
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed
in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine
skill in the art.
Regarding the method by which the packaging material is produced, please see the sixth line on page 7 of the translation which teaches thermoforming and injection molding. This meets the claimed product by process language.
In this manner the composition of claim 1 and the method of claim 14 are render-ed obvious.
For claims 2 and 17, please see the various polymers found in page 4 of the translation, under (A) component. This includes many of the claimed polymers such as polystyrene, polyethylene, polypropylene and polyvinyl alcohol.
For claims 3 and 18, note that this limitation only applies when caseinate is present, but the claim does not require caseinate.
For claims 7, 8, 22 and 23, see the (B) component on the fourth page of the translation that teaches that the fillers may be used in combination. This includes many of the same fillers found in claims 7 and 22. Additionally this teaches talc as a preferred filler, in terms of rigidity and cost. As such the skilled artisan would have found the com-bination of calcium carbonate and an addition filler such as talc to have been obvious in an effort to adjust the properties in the JP composition and optimize the results and costs. Adjusting the amount of each filler would have been well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, given the fact that these fillers can only be present in the amounts noted supra (3/7:7/3, based on the total of B and C).
For claims 9 to 11 and 24 to 26, note that under (A) component the JP reference teaches the addition of high impact polystyrene (rubber modified) which is considered a natural rubber impact modifier. This also teaches using the polymers in combination. From this one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a high impact rubber modified polystyrene as an impact modifier in the JP composition in an effort to take advantage and the known benefits and properties thereof, specifically high impact modification. Adjust the amounts, given that the total of all thermoplastic polymers must be 49 wt% or less, would have been well within the skill of the ordinary artisan. In this manner these claims are rendered obvious. And, adjusting the amount of a component which provides improved impact strength would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, in an effort to optimize the properties of the final product while not impairing the desired properties of the final composition.
The Examiner also draws attention to the fourth line on page 3 of the translation which refers to improving and maintaining quality impact strength such that this is a property of interest in the JP reference.
For claims 12, 13, 27 and 28, while this reference does not specifically teach the shelf life, note that the composition therein is used to make microwavable containers. The skilled artisan would recognize that such containers are useful for packaging food. Having a short shelf life would be commercially unacceptable for such a package, as it would not allow time for food to be packaged, travel and be consumed. Adjusting the shelf life time will optimize the packaging material and tailor it to its final utility. In this manner the skilled artisan would have found a shelf life within these claimed ranges to have been obvious.
For claims 15 and 16, the JP reference do not teach this step. Note, though, that such a treatment is very common in the art as a means of improving sterilization. Note the following from a quick search on the internet:
e beam sterilization polypropylene packaging
Ebeam sterilization is a viable option for polypropylene packaging, particularly when the material is designed to withstand the sterilization process. Polypropylene (PP) is known for its strong compatibility with ebeam sterilization, which is crucial for medical devices that require radiation resistance. The follow-ing points highlight the importance of selecting the right materials and understanding the sterilization
process:
This is but one example of many that support the position that such a treatment step is known in the art.
From this one having ordinary skill in the art would have found such an e-beam treatment to have been obvious in an effort to sterilize the final product.
Claims 6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2013 023576 as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Lourido et al. 2012/0273496, cited in the previous office action.
The JP reference does not teach a calcium propionate additive.
Paragraph 63 in Lourido et al. teaches the addition of calcium proprionate as a
preservative. One will recognize that this is a typographical error, as there is no such compound as calcium proprionate. In addition, it is used as a preservative and calcium propionate is a known preservative. Lourido et al. refer to this as a “conventional” addi-tive. From this one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the presence of calcium propionate as a preservative in amounts of up to 3 php in the composition of the JP reference to have been obvious over the teachings in Lourido et al.
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gord et al. 2004/0166209.
Gord et al. teach an edible film containing cellulose. This film is used to package
foods such that this is a packaging material. It contains cellulose (a polymer), a protein which is preferably casein and a filler. See paragraph 12 to 18. This teaches the calcium carbonate is useful as an inorganic filler, such that this reference teaches each of the three required components.
More specifically, for this rejection, the Examiner refers to Example 8 in which cellulose (wood pulp), casein and a filler are added. The filler amount in this is about 48 wt%.
The only difference between this example and the claims lies in the fact that this teaches an organic filler, wheat bran, while the claims require calcium carbonate. Given the teachings in paragraph 18, though, the skilled artisan would have immediately envisioned using calcium carbonate in place of the wheat bran as a filler, based on the fact that it is specifically disclosed as a useful and contemplated component. Given this specificity, the skilled artisan would have anticipated the composition in claims 1 and 14.
Regarding the production method in claims 1 and 14, note that the process by which the product in Gord et al. is prepared is extrusion through a die (paragraph 24 as well as the working examples) followed by inflation with hot air (blowing). This meets the requirement of extrusion blow molding. Paragraph 5 also makes reference to blow and injection molding as known means of producing edible shaped bodies.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 7 to 13, 15 to 18, 20 and 22 to 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gord et al. 2004/0166209
For claims 2 and 17, the Examiner recognizes that cellulose is not within the
breadth of these claims. Please see paragraph 19 which teaches the addition of hydro-philic additives. This includes polyvinyl alcohol. As such one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to add polyvinyl alcohol to the composition of Gord et al. in an effort to incorporate a hydrophilic additive.
For claims 3 and 18, note that this limitation only applies when caseinate is present, but the claim does not require caseinate.
For claims 5 and 20, note that the casein can be present in an amount of 5 to 50 wt% (paragraph 15) such that the skilled artisan would have found an amount falling between 5 and 6 wt% to have been obvious.
For claims 7, 8, 22 and 23, see paragraph 18 that teaches that the fillers may be used in combination. This includes many of the same fillers found in claims 7 and 22 such as cotton, cellulose, hemp, flax and chitosan. As such the skilled artisan would have found the combination of calcium carbonate and an additional filler, such as an organic filler, to have been obvious in an effort to adjust the properties in the Gord et al. composition and optimize. Adjusting the amount of each filler would have been well within the skill of the ordinary artisan, given the fact that these fillers are present in an amount of from 3 to 60 wt%.
For claims 9 to 11 and 24 to 26, see paragraph 20 which teaches the addition of natural rubbers. This does not specifically refer to such rubbers as impact modifiers, but appears to be the same as the natural rubbers embraced in claim 9 such that the addition of such a natural rubber would have been obvious. Adjusting the amounts in an effort to optimize the properties thereof would have been well within the skill of the ordinary artisan. In this manner these claims are rendered obvious.
Note that a prima facie case of obviousness (for a composition) does not require the solution of the same problem or recognition of the same advantages as the instant invention.
For claims 12, 13, 27 and 28, while this reference does not specifically teach the shelf life, note that the composition therein is used to make food casings or packaging. The skilled artisan would recognize that such products would require a useful and commercially viable shelf. Adjusting the shelf life time will optimize the packaging material and tailor it to its final utility. In this manner the skilled artisan would have found a shelf life within these claimed ranges to have been obvious.
For claims 15 and 16, the JP reference do not teach this step. Note, though, that such a treatment is very common in the art as a means of improving sterilization. Note the following from a quick search on the internet:
e beam sterilization polypropylene packaging
Ebeam sterilization is a viable option for polypropylene packaging, particularly when the material is designed to withstand the sterilization process. Polypropylene (PP) is known for its strong compatibility with ebeam sterilization, which is crucial for medical devices that require radiation resistance. The follow-ing points highlight the importance of selecting the right materials and understanding the sterilization
process:
This is but one example of many that support the position that such a treatment step is known in the art.
From this one having ordinary skill in the art would have found such an e-beam treatment to have been obvious in an effort to sterilize the final product.
Claims 6 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gord et al. as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of Lourido et al. 2012/0273496, cited in the previous office action.
Gord et al. do not teach a calcium propionate additive.
Paragraph 63 in Lourido et al. teaches the addition of calcium proprionate as a
preservative. One will recognize that this is a typographical error, as there is no such compound as calcium proprionate. In addition, it is used as a preservative and calcium propionate is a known preservative. Lourido et al. refer to this as a “conventional” addi-tive. From this one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the presence of calcium propionate as a preservative in amounts of up to 3 php in the composition of Gord et al. to have been obvious over in an effort aid in preserving the packaging material.
Mgm
8/11/26
/MARGARET G MOORE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765