Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument: On page 2 of Remarks, applicant argues that Liu does not teach the amended limitation of claim 1 as recited “a UE assistance information message that includes an indication of a network preference for a second network based on at least an application at the UE, wherein the indication further indicates a time duration for the network preference by the UE, and wherein the time duration is a duration during which the UE will operate the application on which the network preference is based” because Liu teaches “the indication of preference” as “a first indication that that the terminal is switched to a second network to process a service transmission” instead of teaching of the terminal device “will switch” to the second transmission. And, the indication in Liu is not in a “UE assistance information message” in which the UE indicates the “preference.” Instead Liu teaches the indication of “switch.”
Additionally, the “first indication” in Liu does not teach indicate the amended limitation of “time duration during which the UE will operate the application on which the network preference is based” because the limitation is different than Liu’s teaching of “ a duration when the terminal device performs the service transmission in the second network.”
Examiner’s argument: Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Liu teaches the information “is switched to the second network” when explains that “information of a service transmitted by the terminal device when switched to the second network” (See Liu [0053]). This line of explanation shows that the information is transmitted when there is a switch to the second network. Thus, the switch is done when the information is transmitted (See Liu [0053]).
Also, similar to the Specification [0143] explaining the UE assistance information is the information that indicates the preference for the second network with the highest signal strength (See Specification [0143]), Liu teaches the indication signal to prefer switching to the second network because the second network having the highest signal strength ( See Liu [0005] and [0053]). However, Liu does not explicitly teach “UE assistance information.” The reference Min, explicitly teaches “UE assistance information.” Thus, the combination of Liu in view of Min (Liu in view of Min) teaches the amended claim 1. Therefore, this argument is moot because the new ground of rejection is used as presented below.
Additionally, “time duration during which the UE will operate the application on which the network preference is based” because the first indication comprises information of a duration when the terminal device performs the service transmission in the second network which can be the same as the indication showing the duration when the operate at the application at the second device (See Liu [0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11, 13, 15-20, 23-26, and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (US 2022/0116910 A1) (hereafter “Liu”) in view of Min (WO 2024/018572 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Liu, Figure 1: terminal device 120), comprising: memory (Liu, Fig. 10, Ref. 620) ; and one or more processors (Liu, Fig. 10, Ref. 610) coupled to the memory and, configured to cause the UE to:
(Liu, [0350] Optionally, the communication device 600 may specifically be the mobile terminal/terminal device of an embodiment of the present application)
transmit, to a first network connected to the UE, an indication of a network preference for a second network based on at least an application at the UE (Liu [0005], [0053], the terminal device transmits to the first network a first indication that the terminal will switch to a second network to process a service transmission; the service can be a voice service or high-priority service, emergency service, low-latency service ( Liu [0054]-[0055]); this represent the preference, i.e. preference to process the service in the second network; e.g the second network has a higher priority than the first network, Liu [0106] ) wherein the indication further indicates a time duration for the network preference by the UE (Liu [0053], the first indication comprises information of a duration when the terminal device performs the service transmission in the second network);
and wherein the time duration is a duration during which the UE will operate the application on which the network preference is based;
Liu [0053]; information of a service transmitted by the terminal device when switched to the second network; information of a duration when the terminal device performs service transmission in the second network;
and communicate with the first network or the second network after sending the indication (Liu [0051]-[0052], the terminal stops using the first network and starts using the second network).
While Liu teaches the indication of a network preference, it does not explicitly teach a UE assistant message.
Min teaches a UE assistance message.
Min, Fig. 9 [0086];The transmitter of the UE 200 may transmit UEAsistanceInfo
including preference (first indication) to the network (NTN (first network) or TN) at the time of
RRC_CONNECTED (step S2).
In view of Min , Liu is modified such the first indication comprise the UE assistance information.
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to include the UE assistance information in the first indication to allow the switching to the second network to ensure the continuation of connection of UE to the second the network (Min [0007]).
Regarding claim 2, The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver (Liu, Fig. 10, Ref. 630) coupled to the at least one or more processors (Liu, Fig. 10, Ref. 610).
Regarding claim 10, A method of wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
Transmitting, to a first network connected to the UE, an indication of a network preference for a second network based on at least an application at the UE (Liu [0005], [0053], the terminal device transmits to the first network a first indication that the terminal will switch to a second network to process a service transmission; the service can be a voice service or high-priority service, emergency service, low-latency service ( Liu [0054]-[0055]); this represent the preference, i.e. preference to process the service in the second network; e.g the second network has a higher priority than the first network, Liu [0106] ) wherein the indication further indicates a time duration for the network preference by the UE (Liu [0053], the first indication comprises information of a duration when the terminal device performs the service transmission in the second network);
and wherein the time duration is a duration during which the UE will operate the application on which the network preference is based;
Liu [0053]; information of a service transmitted by the terminal device when switched to the second network; information of a duration when the terminal device performs service transmission in the second network;
and communicating with the first network or the second network after sending the indication (Liu [0051]-[0052], the terminal stops using the first network and starts using the second network).
While Liu teaches the indication of a network preference, it does not explicitly teach a UE assistant message.
Min teaches a UE assistance message.
Min, Fig. 9 [0086];The transmitter of the UE 200 may transmit UEAsistanceInfo
including preference (first indication) to the network (NTN (first network) or TN) at the time of
RRC_CONNECTED (step S2).
In view of Min , Liu is modified such the first indication comprise the UE assistance information.
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to include the UE assistance information in the first indication to allow the switching to the second network to ensure the continuation of connection of UE to the second the network (Min [0007]).
Regarding claim 3, Liu teaches The apparatus of claim 1 as shown above. Min teaches wherein the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN),
Min [0090]; According to operation example 1, the user can arbitrarily select a network to which connection is given priority, thereby suppressing unnecessary communication with unselected networks while communicating with the selected network. Therefore, when connection to the TN is selected , the connection of the UE 200 to the NTN may be stopped ( first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE) Therefore, consumption of radio resources (frequency bandwidth, transmission power, etc.) in the UE 200 for the UE 200 to continue communicating with the NTN can be suppressed.
Min, Fig. 9 [0086]; When the user of the UE 200 manually selects the network (NTN or TN) to be
connected with priority, the transmitter of the UE 200 changes the connection request to the network
(NTN or TN) to be connected with priority (step S2 ). The transmitter of the UE 200
may transmit UEAsistanceInfo including preference to the network (NTN or TN) at the time of
RRC_CONNECTED (step S2) (an indication of a network preference for a second
network (TN) based on at least an application at the UE)
or wherein the first network is the TN serving the UE, and the indication indicates the preference for the NTN.
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches The apparatus of claim 1 as shown above. Min teaches The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are configured to cause the UE to:
switch to the second network automatically in response to transmission of the indication;
Min [0137]; In the RRC_CONNECTED state, the transmitter of the UE 200
may transmit UEAsistanceInfo to the network, including information (preference) regarding
the network that gives priority to connection to the TN cell (in response to transmission of indicator),
if the distance to the TN cell is shorter than a predetermined distance.
Min [0138]; The network may handover the UE to the TN cell based (switch to second network
automatically) on information indicating the quality of the TN cell, information indicating the location
of the TN cell, etc. included in the measurement report or location report transmitted from the UE.
and measure a signal corresponding to the second network to determine a coverage quality of the second network
Min [0143]; If the quality of the TN (second) cell is higher than a predetermined threshold, the UE 200 may preferentially select the TN cell even if the quality of the TN cell is lower than the quality of the NTN cell (measure a signal correspond to the second network to determine the coverage quality).Thereby, the UE 200 can preferentially communicate with the TN cell and suppress unnecessary communication with the NTN cell.
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 7,Liu teaches the The apparatus of claim 1 as shown above. Min teaches wherein the application at the UE comprises a throughput limitation that is provided by the second network.
Min [0143]; If the quality of the TN (second network) cell is higher than a predetermined threshold, the UE 200 may preferentially select (application at the UE comprises a throughput limitation ) the TN cell even if the quality of the TN cell is lower than the quality of the NTN cell. Thereby, the UE 200 can preferentially communicate with the TN cell and suppress unnecessary communication with the NTN cell.
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches The apparatus of claim 1. Min teaches wherein the indication indicates that the network preference for the second network based on a condition at the UE.
Min [0142]; When the UE 200 is in the RRC_IDLE state and the distance to the TN cell is shorter than a predetermined distance, the UE 200 may preferentially reselect the TN cell(for the second network ) . Thereby, the UE 200 can preferentially communicate with the TN cell and suppress unnecessary communication with the NTN cell (based on a condition at the UE).
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches The apparatus of claim 1. Min teaches wherein the at least one or more processors is configured to cause the UE to receive:
receive a transition indication for the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the indication of the network preference for the second network.
Min [0121]; FIG. 10 is a diagram for explaining a communication sequence example of operation example 5. The NTN cell may broadcast location information of adjacent TN cells and/or adjacent base stations and location information of TN cells and/or base stations within the adjacent NTN cells using SIB (step S11). The receiving unit of the UE 200 may receive the SIB including the location information (a transition indication for the UE). The SIB may be broadcast by the TN cell.
Min [0115]; SIB3 may include an NTN indicator or a TN indicator (see the underlined part in FIG. 13B).
Min [0131]; According to option 1, even if the distance between the UE 200 and the TN cell is long, the UE 200 can preferentially connect to the TN cell (UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network) when the line of sight from the UE 200 to the TN cell is good and the communication quality is high. Therefore, the UE 200 can be prevented from continuing communication with the NTN, and the consumption of radio resources in the UE 200 can be suppressed.
Min [0132]; Note that in the RRC_CONNECTED state, the network may transmit the above location information to the UE 200 using an RRC message.
Min [0137]; In the RRC_CONNECTED state, the transmitter of the UE 200 may transmit UEAsistanceInfo to the network, including information (preference) regarding the network that gives priority to connection to the TN cell, if the distance to the TN cell is shorter than a predetermined distance (In response to the indication of the network preference for the second network).
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches the method of claim 10 as claimed above. Min teaches wherein the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN),
Min [0090]; According to operation example 1, the user can arbitrarily select a network to which connection is given priority, thereby suppressing unnecessary communication with unselected networks while communicating with the selected network. Therefore, when connection to the TN is selected , the connection of the UE 200 to the NTN may be stopped ( first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE) Therefore, consumption of radio resources (frequency bandwidth, transmission power, etc.) in the UE 200 for the UE 200 to continue communicating with the NTN can be suppressed.
Min, Fig. 9 [0086]; When the user of the UE 200 manually selects the network (NTN or TN) to be
connected with priority, the transmitter of the UE 200 changes the connection request to the network
(NTN or TN) to be connected with priority (step S2 ). The transmitter of the UE 200
may transmit UEAsistanceInfo including preference to the network (NTN or TN) at the time of
RRC_CONNECTED (step S2) (an indication of a network preference for a second
network (TN) based on at least an application at the UE)
or wherein the first network is the TN serving the UE, and the indication indicates the preference for the NTN.
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 13, , Liu teaches The method of claim 10. Min teaches further comprising: switching to the second network automatically in response to transmission of the indication;
Min [0137]; In the RRC_CONNECTED state, the transmitter of the UE 200
may transmit UEAsistanceInfo to the network, including information (preference) regarding
the network that gives priority to connection to the TN cell (in response to transmission of indicator),
if the distance to the TN cell is shorter than a predetermined distance.
Min [0138]; The network may handover the UE to the TN cell based (switch to second network
automatically) on information indicating the quality of the TN cell, information indicating the location
of the TN cell, etc. included in the measurement report or location report transmitted from the UE.
and measuring a signal corresponding to the second network to determine a coverage quality of the second network
Min [0143]; If the quality of the TN (second) cell is higher than a predetermined threshold, the UE 200 may preferentially select the TN cell even if the quality of the TN cell is lower than the quality of the NTN cell (measure a signal correspond to the second network to determine the coverage quality).Thereby, the UE 200 can preferentially communicate with the TN cell and suppress unnecessary communication with the NTN cell.
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 15, , Liu teaches The method of claim 10. Min teaches wherein the application at the UE comprises a throughput limitation that is provided by the second network.
Min [0143]; If the quality of the TN (second network) cell is higher than a predetermined threshold, the UE 200 may preferentially select (application at the UE comprises a throughput limitation ) the TN cell even if the quality of the TN cell is lower than the quality of the NTN cell. Thereby, the UE 200 can preferentially communicate with the TN cell and suppress unnecessary communication with the NTN cell.
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 16, , Liu teaches The method of claim 10. Min teaches wherein the indication indicates the network preference for the second network based on a condition at the UE.
Min [0142]; When the UE 200 is in the RRC_IDLE state and the distance to the TN cell is shorter than a predetermined distance, the UE 200 may preferentially reselect the TN cell(for the second network ) . Thereby, the UE 200 can preferentially communicate with the TN cell and suppress unnecessary communication with the NTN cell (based on a condition at the UE).
view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 17, Liu teaches The method of claim 10. Min teaches further comprising: receiving a transition indication for the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the indication of the network preference for the second network.
Min [0121]; FIG. 10 is a diagram for explaining a communication sequence example of operation example 5. The NTN cell may broadcast location information of adjacent TN cells and/or adjacent base stations and location information of TN cells and/or base stations within the adjacent NTN cells using SIB (step S11). The receiving unit of the UE 200 may receive the SIB including the location information (a transition indication for the UE). The SIB may be broadcast by the TN cell.
Min [0115]; SIB3 may include an NTN indicator or a TN indicator (see the underlined part in FIG. 13B).
Min [0131]; According to option 1, even if the distance between the UE 200 and the TN cell is long, the UE 200 can preferentially connect to the TN cell (UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network) when the line of sight from the UE 200 to the TN cell is good and the communication quality is high. Therefore, the UE 200 can be prevented from continuing communication with the NTN, and the consumption of radio resources in the UE 200 can be suppressed.
Min [0132]; Note that in the RRC_CONNECTED state, the network may transmit the above location information to the UE 200 using an RRC message.
Min [0137]; In the RRC_CONNECTED state, the transmitter of the UE 200 may transmit UEAsistanceInfo to the network, including information (preference) regarding the network that gives priority to connection to the TN cell, if the distance to the TN cell is shorter than a predetermined distance (In response to the indication of the network preference for the second network).
view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 18, An apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity associated with a first network (Liu, Fig. 10), comprising: memory (Liu, Fig. 10, Ref 620);
Liu [0349]; Optionally, the communication device 600 may specifically be the network device of an embodiment of the present application,
Obtain a UE assistance information message that includes a first network connected to the UE, an indication of a network preference for a second network based on at least an application at the UE (Liu [0005], [0053], the terminal device transmits to the first network a first indication (UE assistance information) that the terminal will switch to a second network to process a service transmission; the service can be a voice service or high-priority service, emergency service, low-latency service ( Liu [0054]-[0055]); this represent the preference, i.e. preference to process the service in the second network; e.g the second network has a higher priority than the first network, Liu [0106] ) wherein the indication further indicates a time duration for the network preference by the UE (Liu [0053], the first indication comprises information of a duration when the terminal device performs the service transmission in the second network);
and wherein the time duration is a duration during which the UE will operate the application on which the network preference is based;
Liu [0053]; information of a service transmitted by the terminal device when switched to the second network; information of a duration when the terminal device performs service transmission in the second network;
While Liu teaches the indication of a network preference, it does not explicitly teach a UE assistant message, provide a second indication instructing the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the first indication.
Min teaches a UE assistance message.
Min, Fig. 9 [0086];The transmitter of the UE 200 may transmit UEAsistanceInfo
including preference (first indication) to the network (NTN (first network) or TN) at the time of
RRC_CONNECTED (step S2).
provide a second indication instructing the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the first indication.
Min [0121]; FIG. 10 is a diagram for explaining a communication sequence example of operation example 5. The NTN cell (first network) may broadcast location information of adjacent TN cells and/or adjacent base stations and location information of TN cells and/or base stations within the adjacent NTN cells using SIB (step S11). The receiving unit of the UE 200 may receive the SIB including the location information (a transition indication for the UE). The SIB may be broadcast by the TN cell.
Min [0115]; SIB3 may include an NTN indicator or a TN indicator (see the underlined part in FIG. 13B).
Min [0131]; According to option 1, even if the distance between the UE 200 and the TN cell is long, the UE 200 can preferentially connect to the TN cell (UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network) when the line of sight from the UE 200 to the TN cell is good and the communication quality is high. Therefore, the UE 200 can be prevented from continuing communication with the NTN, and the consumption of radio resources in the UE 200 can be suppressed.
Min [0132]; Note that in the RRC_CONNECTED state, the network may transmit the above location information to the UE 200 using an RRC message.
Min [0137]; In the RRC_CONNECTED state, the transmitter of the UE 200 may transmit UEAsistanceInfo to the network, including information (preference) regarding the network that gives priority to connection to the TN cell, if the distance to the TN cell is shorter than a predetermined distance (In response to the indication of the network preference for the second network).
In view of Min , Liu is modified such a second indication is instructing the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the first indication.
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to provide the second indication confirming the switch to the second network to ensure the continuation of connection of UE to the second the network (Min [0007]).
Regarding claim 19, Liu in view of Min teaches The apparatus of claim 18. Liu further teaches comprising a transceiver (Liu, Fig. 10, Ref. 630) coupled to one or more processors (Liu, Fig. 10, Ref. 610).
Regarding claim 20, Liu in view of Min teaches The apparatus of claim 18. Min further teaches The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the first indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN),
Min [0090]; According to operation example 1, the user can arbitrarily select a network to which connection is given priority, thereby suppressing unnecessary communication with unselected networks while communicating with the selected network. Therefore, when connection to the TN is selected , the connection of the UE 200 to the NTN may be stopped ( first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE) Therefore, consumption of radio resources (frequency bandwidth, transmission power, etc.) in the UE 200 for the UE 200 to continue communicating with the NTN can be suppressed.
Min, Fig. 9 [0086]; When the user of the UE 200 manually selects the network (NTN or TN) to be
connected with priority, the transmitter of the UE 200 changes the connection request to the network
(NTN or TN) to be connected with priority (step S2 ). The transmitter of the UE 200
may transmit UEAsistanceInfo including preference to the network (NTN or TN) at the time of
RRC_CONNECTED (step S2) (an indication of a network preference for a second
network (TN) based on at least an application at the UE)
or wherein the first network is the TN serving the UE, and the first indication indicates the preference for the NTN.
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 23, Liu teaches The apparatus of claim 18. Min further teaches wherein the application at the UE comprises a throughput limitation that is provided by the second network.
Min [0143]; If the quality of the TN (second network) cell is higher than a predetermined threshold, the UE 200 may preferentially select (application at the UE comprises a throughput limitation ) the TN cell even if the quality of the TN cell is lower than the quality of the NTN cell. Thereby, the UE 200 can preferentially communicate with the TN cell and suppress unnecessary communication with the NTN cell.
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 24, Liu teaches The apparatus of claim 18. Min teaches wherein the first indication indicates the network preference for the second network based on a condition at the UE.
Min [0142]; When the UE 200 is in the RRC_IDLE state and the distance to the TN cell is shorter than a predetermined distance, the UE 200 may preferentially reselect the TN cell(for the second network ) . Thereby, the UE 200 can preferentially communicate with the TN cell and suppress unnecessary communication with the NTN cell (based on a condition at the UE).
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 25, A method of wireless communication at a network entity associated with a first network, comprising:
obtaining a first indication from a user equipment (UE) connected to the first network, the first indication indicating a network preference for a second network based on at least an application at the UE (Liu [0005], [0053], the terminal device transmits to the first network a first indication that the terminal will switch to a second network to process a service transmission; the service can be a voice service or high-priority service, emergency service, low-latency service ( Liu [0054]-[0055]); this represent the preference, i.e. preference to process the service in the second network; e.g the second network has a higher priority than the first network, Liu [0106] ) wherein the indication further indicates a time duration for the network preference by the UE (Liu [0053], the first indication comprises information of a duration when the terminal device performs the service transmission in the second network);
and wherein the time duration is a duration during which the UE will operate the application on which the network preference is based.
Liu [0053]; information of a service transmitted by the terminal device when switched to the second network; information of a duration when the terminal device performs service transmission in the second network;
While Liu teaches the indication of a network preference, it does not explicitly teach a UE assistant message, providing a second indication instructing the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the first indication.
Min teaches a UE assistance message.
Min, Fig. 9 [0086];The transmitter of the UE 200 may transmit UEAsistanceInfo
including preference (first indication) to the network (NTN (first network) or TN) at the time of
RRC_CONNECTED (step S2).
providing a second indication instructing the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the first indication.
Min [0121]; FIG. 10 is a diagram for explaining a communication sequence example of operation example 5. The NTN cell (first network) may broadcast location information of adjacent TN cells and/or adjacent base stations and location information of TN cells and/or base stations within the adjacent NTN cells using SIB (step S11). The receiving unit of the UE 200 may receive the SIB including the location information (a transition indication for the UE). The SIB may be broadcast by the TN cell.
Min [0115]; SIB3 may include an NTN indicator or a TN indicator (see the underlined part in FIG. 13B).
Min [0131]; According to option 1, even if the distance between the UE 200 and the TN cell is long, the UE 200 can preferentially connect to the TN cell (UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network) when the line of sight from the UE 200 to the TN cell is good and the communication quality is high. Therefore, the UE 200 can be prevented from continuing communication with the NTN, and the consumption of radio resources in the UE 200 can be suppressed.
Min [0132]; Note that in the RRC_CONNECTED state, the network may transmit the above location information to the UE 200 using an RRC message.
Min [0137]; In the RRC_CONNECTED state, the transmitter of the UE 200 may transmit UEAsistanceInfo to the network, including information (preference) regarding the network that gives priority to connection to the TN cell, if the distance to the TN cell is shorter than a predetermined distance (In response to the indication of the network preference for the second network).
In view of Min , Liu is modified such a second indication is instructing the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the first indication.
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to provide the second indication confirming the switch to the second network to ensure the continuation of connection of UE to the second the network (Min [0007]).
Regarding claim 26, Liu teaches The method of claim 25. Min teaches wherein the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the first indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN),
Min [0090]; According to operation example 1, the user can arbitrarily select a network to which connection is given priority, thereby suppressing unnecessary communication with unselected networks while communicating with the selected network. Therefore, when connection to the TN is selected , the connection of the UE 200 to the NTN may be stopped ( first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE) Therefore, consumption of radio resources (frequency bandwidth, transmission power, etc.) in the UE 200 for the UE 200 to continue communicating with the NTN can be suppressed.
Min, Fig. 9 [0086]; When the user of the UE 200 manually selects the network (NTN or TN) to be
connected with priority, the transmitter of the UE 200 changes the connection request to the network
(NTN or TN) to be connected with priority (step S2 ). The transmitter of the UE 200
may transmit UEAsistanceInfo including preference to the network (NTN or TN) at the time of
RRC_CONNECTED (step S2) (an indication of a network preference for a second
network (TN) based on at least an application at the UE)
or wherein the first network is the TN serving the UE, and the first indication indicates the preference for the NTN.
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 29, The method of claim 25, wherein the application at the UE comprises a throughput limitation that is provided by the second network.
Min [0143]; If the quality of the TN (second network) cell is higher than a predetermined threshold, the UE 200 may preferentially select (application at the UE comprises a throughput limitation ) the TN cell even if the quality of the TN cell is lower than the quality of the NTN cell. Thereby, the UE 200 can preferentially communicate with the TN cell and suppress unnecessary communication with the NTN cell.
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 30, Liu teaches The method of claim 25. Min teaches wherein the first indication indicates the network preference for the second network based on a condition at the UE.
Min [0142]; When the UE 200 is in the RRC_IDLE state and the distance to the TN cell is shorter than a predetermined distance, the UE 200 may preferentially reselect the TN cell(for the second network ) . Thereby, the UE 200 can preferentially communicate with the TN cell and suppress unnecessary communication with the NTN cell (based on a condition at the UE).
In view of Min , Liu is modified such that the first network is a non-terrestrial network (NTN) serving the UE, and the indication indicates a preference for a terrestrial network (TN).
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system of networks with with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to replace the first and second network with TN or NTN network to apply the network preference to the specific networks of TN or NTN.
Regarding claim 31, The method of claim 25, further comprising: the first indication, received from the UE, of the network preference for the second network.
(Liu [0005], [0053], the terminal device transmits to the first network a first indication that the terminal will switch to a second network to process a service transmission; the service can be a voice service or high-priority service, emergency service, low-latency service ( Liu [0054]-[0055]); this represent the preference, i.e. preference to process the service in the second network; e.g the second network has a higher priority than the first network, Liu [0106] )
Liu does not teach transmitting a transition indication for the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the first indication.
Min teaches transmitting a transition indication for the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the first indication.
Min [0121]; FIG. 10 is a diagram for explaining a communication sequence example of operation example 5. The NTN cell (first network) may broadcast location information of adjacent TN cells and/or adjacent base stations and location information of TN cells and/or base stations within the adjacent NTN cells using SIB (step S11). The receiving unit of the UE 200 may receive the SIB including the location information (a transition indication for the UE). The SIB may be broadcast by the TN cell.
Min [0115]; SIB3 may include an NTN indicator or a TN indicator (see the underlined part in FIG. 13B).
Min [0131]; According to option 1, even if the distance between the UE 200 and the TN cell is long, the UE 200 can preferentially connect to the TN cell (UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network) when the line of sight from the UE 200 to the TN cell is good and the communication quality is high. Therefore, the UE 200 can be prevented from continuing communication with the NTN, and the consumption of radio resources in the UE 200 can be suppressed.
Min [0132]; Note that in the RRC_CONNECTED state, the network may transmit the above location information to the UE 200 using an RRC message.
Min [0137]; In the RRC_CONNECTED state, the transmitter of the UE 200 may transmit UEAsistanceInfo to the network, including information (preference) regarding the network that gives priority to connection to the TN cell, if the distance to the TN cell is shorter than a predetermined distance (In response to the indication of the network preference for the second network).
In view of Min , Liu is modified such a second indication is instructing the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the first indication.
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to provide the second indication confirming the switch to the second network to ensure the continuation of connection of UE to the second the network (Min [0007]).
Regarding claim 32, The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the one or more processors (Liu, Fig. 6, Ref. 610) are further configured to cause the network entity to: received from the UE, of the network preference for the second network.
(Liu [0005], [0053], the terminal device transmits to the first network a first indication that the terminal will switch to a second network to process a service transmission; the service can be a voice service or high-priority service, emergency service, low-latency service ( Liu [0054]-[0055]); this represent the preference, i.e. preference to process the service in the second network; e.g the second network has a higher priority than the first network, Liu [0106] )
Liu does not teach transmitting a transition indication for the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the first indication.
Min teaches transmitting a transition indication for the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the first indication.
Min [0121]; FIG. 10 is a diagram for explaining a communication sequence example of operation example 5. The NTN cell (first network) may broadcast location information of adjacent TN cells and/or adjacent base stations and location information of TN cells and/or base stations within the adjacent NTN cells using SIB (step S11). The receiving unit of the UE 200 may receive the SIB including the location information (a transition indication for the UE). The SIB may be broadcast by the TN cell.
Min [0115]; SIB3 may include an NTN indicator or a TN indicator (see the underlined part in FIG. 13B).
Min [0131]; According to option 1, even if the distance between the UE 200 and the TN cell is long, the UE 200 can preferentially connect to the TN cell (UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network) when the line of sight from the UE 200 to the TN cell is good and the communication quality is high. Therefore, the UE 200 can be prevented from continuing communication with the NTN, and the consumption of radio resources in the UE 200 can be suppressed.
Min [0132]; Note that in the RRC_CONNECTED state, the network may transmit the above location information to the UE 200 using an RRC message.
Min [0137]; In the RRC_CONNECTED state, the transmitter of the UE 200 may transmit UEAsistanceInfo to the network, including information (preference) regarding the network that gives priority to connection to the TN cell, if the distance to the TN cell is shorter than a predetermined distance (In response to the indication of the network preference for the second network).
In view of Min , Liu is modified such a second indication is instructing the UE to transition to a cell associated with the second network in response to the first indication.
Liu and Min are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of endeavor,
communication system with indication of network preference.
It would be obvious before the effective filing date of claimed invention, to a person ordinary skill in the
art to modify Liu in the manner above to instruct the UE to provide the second indication confirming the switch to the second network to ensure the continuation of connection of UE to the second the network (Min [0007]).
Conclusion
should be directed to Maryam Emadi whose email is Maryam.emadi1@uspto.gov with
telephone number of 703-756-1834.
Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-3905.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pairdirect.uspto.gov.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478