DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14, 15, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Parpajola (US 20210252654 A1).
Regarding Claim 14, Parpajola discloses:
A linear transfer system for a collaborative robot, comprising:
a linear bearing (8 & 12 & 102 & 105) extending along a linear axis (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 6);
a carriage (10 & 104) supported on the linear bearing (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 6) for movement along the linear axis [0039 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0106 & 0107], the carriage configured to support a collaborative robot (30) (Fig. 1 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 5 & Fig. 6);
a motor configured to generate a motive force causing movement of the carriage along the linear axis [0021 & 0022 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0047 & 0061 & 0063 & 0079 & 0090]; and
a motor control circuit (21) configured to establish a motor position error threshold [0010 & 0011 & 0012 & 0014 & 0020 & 0021 & 0028 & 0037 & 0043 & 0051 & 0060 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0066 & 0067 & 0077 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0081 & 0088 & 0089 & 0090 & 0092 & 0095 & 0098 & 0099 & 0101 & 0114];
compare a difference between an actual motor position and a commanded motor position to the motor position error threshold [0064 & 0067 & 0098 & 0102 & 0114]; and,
generate a first control signal to the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in a first axial direction if the difference between the measured motor position and the commanded motor position meets a predetermined condition relative to the motor position error threshold [abstract & 0079 & 0080 & 0089 & 0090 & 0092 & 0095 & 0098 & 0099].
Regarding Claim 15, Parpajola discloses:
the first control signal is further configured to cause movement of the carriage along the linear axis in a second axial direction, opposite the first axial direction [0010 & 0011 & 0012 & 0014 & 0020 & 0021 & 0028 & 0037 & 0043 & 0051 & 0060 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0066 & 0067 & 0077 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0081 & 0088 & 0089 & 0090 & 0092 & 0095 & 0098 & 0099 & 0101 & 0114].
Regarding Claim 18, Parpajola discloses:
the motor control circuit is further configured, in establishing the motor position error threshold [0064 & 0067 & 0098 & 0102 & 0114], to:
receive a user input through a user interface [0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0098 & 0099] and;
determine the motor position error threshold responsive to the user input [0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0098 & 0099].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanabe et al (US 20160031086 A1) in view of Haski et al. (US 20060104720 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Tanabe teaches:
A linear transfer system for a collaborative robot, comprising:
a linear bearing (40) extending along a linear axis (Fig. 5);
a carriage (1) supported on the linear bearing (Fig. 5) for movement along the linear axis [0042], the carriage configured to support a collaborative robot (2) (Fig. 5);
a motor configured to generate a motive force causing movement of the carriage along the linear axis [0048];
a first load cell (13 & 14) supported on the carriage (Fig. 5) [0017 & 0018 & 0020 & 0021]; and,
a motor control circuit (15) [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044] configured to
receive a first input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044]; and,
generate a first control signal for the motor configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis, the first movement corresponding to the first force applied to the first load cell [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044]
wherein a speed for the first movement corresponds to an amount of the first force [abstract & 0007 & 0024 & 0028 & 0029].
Tanabe does not teach:
the first load cell supported on the carriage proximate a first axial end of the carriage.
Haski teaches:
A system for a collaborative robot (10), comprising:
a carriage (16) supported by support members (12 & 14) for movement along a linear axis (Fig. 5) [0033 & 0035 & 0043];
a motor (36 & 82) configured to generate a motive force causing movement of the carriage along the linear axis [0035 & 0036 & 0043 & 0044];
a first load cell (30) supported on the carriage proximate a first axial end of the carriage (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 12); and,
a motor control circuit (258) configured to
receive a first input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell (Fig. 13) [0057 & 0058]; and,
generate a first control signal for the motor configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis, the first movement corresponding to the first force applied to the first load cell [0055 & 0056 & 0057 & 0058 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the linear transfer system having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell supported on the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a force applied to the first load cell and generate a control signal for the motor configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis taught by Tanabe with the collaborative robot having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell supported on the carriage proximate a first axial end of the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell and generate a control signal for the motor configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis taught by Haski in order to provide a system for sensing unintended engagement of the carriage as the carriage moves along the linear axis, the sensing system local to the ends of the carriage in order to detect the anticipated contact prior impact of the carriage body to stop the carriage to prevent damage to the carriage.
Regarding Claim 4, Tanabe teaches:
the motor control circuit is further configured to:
receive a second input signal indicative of a second force applied to the first load cell [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044]; and,
generate a second control signal to the motor configured to cause a second movement of the carriage along the linear axis, the second movement corresponding to the second force applied to the first load cell [abstract & 0007 & 0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0024 & 0028 & 0029 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Regarding Claim 6, Tanabe teaches:
a second load cell (13 & 14) supported on the carriage (Fig. 5) [0017 & 0018 & 0020 & 0021] and wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to:
receive a second input signal indicative of a second force applied to the second load cell [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044]; and,
generate a second control signal to the motor configured to cause a second movement of the carriage along the linear axis, the second movement corresponding to the second force applied to the second load cell [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Tanabe does not teach:
the second load cell supported on the carriage proximate one of the first axial end of the carriage and a second axial end of the carriage.
Haski teaches:
a second load cell (30) supported on the carriage proximate one of the first axial end of the carriage and a second axial end of the carriage (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 12) and wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to:
receive a second input signal indicative of a second force applied to the second load cell (Fig. 13) [0057 & 0058]; and,
generate a second control signal to the motor configured to cause a second movement of the carriage along the linear axis, the second movement corresponding to the second force applied to the second load cell [0055 & 0056 & 0057 & 0058 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the linear transfer system having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell and second load cell supported on the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a force applied to either of the load cells and generate a control signal for the motor configured to cause a movement of the carriage along the linear axis taught by Tanabe with the collaborative robot having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell and a second load cell supported on the carriage proximate one of the first axial end of the carriage and a second axial end of the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a force applied to either of the load cells and generate a control signal for the motor configured to cause a movement of the carriage along the linear axis configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis taught by Haski in order to provide a system for sensing unintended engagement of the carriage as the carriage moves along the linear axis, the sensing system local to the ends of the carriage in order to detect the anticipated contact prior impact of the carriage body to stop the carriage to prevent damage to the carriage.
Regarding Claim 8, Tanabe teaches:
a second load cell (13 & 14) supported on the carriage (Fig. 5) [0017 & 0018 & 0020 & 0021] and wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to:
receive a second input signal indicative of a second force applied to the second load cell [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044]; and,
average the first force and the second force [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044]; and,
generate the first control signal responsive to the average of the first force and the second force, wherein the first movement corresponds to the average of the first force applied to the first load cell and the second force applied to the second load cell [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Tanabe does not teach:
a second load cell supported on the carriage proximate one of the first axial end of the carriage and a second axial end of the carriage.
Haski teaches:
a second load cell (30) supported on the carriage proximate one of the first axial end of the carriage and a second axial end of the carriage (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 12) and wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to:
receive a second input signal indicative of a second force applied to the second load cell (Fig. 13) [0057 & 0058]; and,
receive a second input signal indicative of a second force applied to the second load cell during movement of the carriage in the first axial direction (Fig. 13) [0057 & 0058];
generate the first control signal if the first force or the second force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force [0055 & 0056 & 0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the linear transfer system having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell and second load cell supported on the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a force applied to either of the load cells and generate a control signal for the motor configured to cause a movement of the carriage along the linear axis taught by Tanabe with the collaborative robot having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell and a second load cell supported on the carriage proximate one of the first axial end of the carriage and a second axial end of the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a force applied to either of the load cells and generate a control signal for the motor configured to cause a movement of the carriage along the linear axis configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis taught by Haski in order to provide a system for sensing unintended engagement of the carriage as the carriage moves along the linear axis, the sensing system local to the ends of the carriage in order to detect the anticipated contact prior impact of the carriage body to stop the carriage to prevent damage to the carriage.
Regarding Claim 9, Tanabe teaches:
the motor control circuit is further configured to:
receive a second input signal indicative of a second force applied to the first load cell during movement of the carriage along the linear axis in a first axial direction [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044];
compare the first force to a predetermined threshold force [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044]; and,
generate, a second control signal to the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction if the second force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Regarding Claim 10, Tanabe teaches:
a second load cell (13 & 14) supported on the carriage (Fig. 5) [0017 & 0018 & 0020 & 0021] and wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to:
receive a third input signal indicative of a third force applied to the second load cell during movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044];
average the second force and the third force [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044]; and,
generate the second control signal if the average of the second force and the third force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Tanabe does not teach:
a second load cell supported on the carriage proximate one of the first axial end of the carriage and a second axial end of the carriage.
Haski teaches:
a second load cell (30) supported on the carriage proximate one of the first axial end of the carriage and a second axial end of the carriage (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 12) and wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to:
receive a third input signal indicative of a third force applied to the second load cell during movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction (Fig. 13) [0057 & 0058];
receive a second input signal indicative of a second force applied to the second load cell during movement of the carriage in the first axial direction (Fig. 13) [0057 & 0058];
generate the second control signal if the first force or the second force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force [0055 & 0056 & 0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the linear transfer system having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell and second load cell supported on the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a force applied to either of the load cells and generate a control signal for the motor configured to cause a movement of the carriage along the linear axis taught by Tanabe with the collaborative robot having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell and a second load cell supported on the carriage proximate one of the first axial end of the carriage and a second axial end of the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a force applied to either of the load cells and generate a control signal for the motor configured to cause a movement of the carriage along the linear axis configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis taught by Haski in order to provide a system for sensing unintended engagement of the carriage as the carriage moves along the linear axis, the sensing system local to the ends of the carriage in order to detect the anticipated contact prior impact of the carriage body to stop the carriage to prevent damage to the carriage.
Regarding Claim 11, Tanabe teaches:
A linear transfer system for a collaborative robot, comprising:
a linear bearing (40) extending along a linear axis (Fig. 5);
a carriage (1) supported on the linear bearing (Fig. 5) for movement along the linear axis [0042], the carriage configured to support a collaborative robot (2) (Fig. 5);
a motor configured to generate a motive force causing movement of the carriage along the linear axis [0048];
a first load cell (13 & 14) supported on the carriage (Fig. 5) [0017 & 0018 & 0020 & 0021]; and,
a motor control circuit (15) [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044] configured to
receive a first input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell during movement of the carriage along the linear axis in a first axial direction [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044]; and,
compare the first force to a predetermined threshold force [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044]; and,
generate a first control signal for the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction if the first force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Tanabe does not teach:
the first load cell supported on the carriage proximate a first axial end of the carriage; and,
Haski teaches:
A system for a collaborative robot (10), comprising:
a carriage (16) supported by support members (12 & 14) for movement along a linear axis (Fig. 5) [0033 & 0035 & 0043];
a motor (36 & 82) configured to generate a motive force causing movement of the carriage along the linear axis [0035 & 0036 & 0043 & 0044];
a first load cell (30) supported on the carriage proximate a first axial end of the carriage (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 12); and,
a motor control circuit (258) configured to
receive a first input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell (Fig. 13) [0057 & 0058]; and,
generate, a first control signal to the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction if the first force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force [0057 & 0058].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the linear transfer system having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell supported on the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a force applied to the first load cell and generate a control signal for the motor configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis taught by Tanabe with the collaborative robot having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell supported on the carriage proximate a first axial end of the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell and generate a control signal for the motor configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis taught by Haski in order to provide a system for sensing unintended engagement of the carriage as the carriage moves along the linear axis, the sensing system local to the ends of the carriage in order to detect the anticipated contact prior impact of the carriage body to stop the carriage to prevent damage to the carriage.
Regarding Claim 12, Tanabe teaches:
a second load cell (13 & 14) supported on the carriage (Fig. 5) [0017 & 0018 & 0020 & 0021] and wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to:
receive a second input signal indicative of a second force applied to the second load cell during movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044];
average the first force and the second force [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044]; and,
generate the first control signal if the average of the first force and the second force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Tanabe does not teach:
a second load cell supported on the carriage proximate one of the first axial end of the carriage and a second axial end of the carriage.
Haski teaches:
a second load cell (30) supported on the carriage proximate one of the first axial end of the carriage and a second axial end of the carriage (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 12) and wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to:
receive a second input signal indicative of a second force applied to the second load cell during movement of the carriage in the first axial direction (Fig. 13) [0057 & 0058];
generate the first control signal if the first force or the second force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force [0055 & 0056 & 0057].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the linear transfer system having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell and second load cell supported on the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a force applied to either of the load cells and generate a control signal for the motor configured to cause a movement of the carriage along the linear axis taught by Tanabe with the collaborative robot having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell and a second load cell supported on the carriage proximate one of the first axial end of the carriage and a second axial end of the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a force applied to either of the load cells and generate a control signal for the motor configured to cause a movement of the carriage along the linear axis configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis taught by Haski in order to provide a system for sensing unintended engagement of the carriage as the carriage moves along the linear axis, the sensing system local to the ends of the carriage in order to detect the anticipated contact prior impact of the carriage body to stop the carriage to prevent damage to the carriage.
Regarding Claim 13, Tanabe teaches:
the first control signal is further configured to cause movement of the carriage along the linear axis in a second axial direction, opposite the first axial direction [0048 & 0055 & 0056 & 0057 & 0058 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parpajola (US 20210252654 A1) in view of Tanabe et al (US 20160031086 A1) and Haski et al. (US 20060104720 A1).
Regarding Claim 16, Parpajola teaches:
the motor control circuit is further configured to:
receive a first input signal indicative of a spatial position deviation during movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction [0010 & 0011 & 0012 & 0014 & 0020 & 0021 & 0028 & 0037 & 0043 & 0051 & 0060 & 0062 & 0063 & 0064 & 0066 & 0067 & 0077 & 0078 & 0079 & 0080 & 0081 & 0088 & 0089 & 0090 & 0092 & 0095 & 0098 & 0099 & 0101 & 0114];
compare the spatial deviation to a predetermined threshold deviation [0098]; and,
generate, a second control signal to the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction if the deviation meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold deviation [0098].
Parpajola does not teach:
a first load cell supported on the carriage proximate a first axial end of the carriage and wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to:
receive a first input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell during movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction;
compare the first force to a predetermined threshold force; and,
generate, a second control signal to the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction if the second force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force.
Tanabe teaches:
A linear transfer system for a collaborative robot, comprising:
a linear bearing (40) extending along a linear axis (Fig. 5);
a carriage (1) supported on the linear bearing (Fig. 5) for movement along the linear axis [0042], the carriage configured to support a collaborative robot (2) (Fig. 5);
a motor configured to generate a motive force causing movement of the carriage along the linear axis [0048];
a first load cell (13 & 14) supported on the carriage (Fig. 5) [0017 & 0018 & 0020 & 0021]; and,
a motor control circuit (15) [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044] configured to
receive a first input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell during movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044]; and,
compare the first force to a predetermined threshold force [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044]; and,
generate a second control signal for the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction if the second force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force [0017 & 0018 & 0019 & 0021 & 0023 & 0024 & 0025 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0043 & 0044].
Haski teaches:
A system for a collaborative robot (10), comprising:
a carriage (16) supported by support members (12 & 14) for movement along a linear axis (Fig. 5) [0033 & 0035 & 0043];
a motor (36 & 82) configured to generate a motive force causing movement of the carriage along the linear axis [0035 & 0036 & 0043 & 0044];
a first load cell (30) supported on the carriage proximate a first axial end of the carriage (Fig. 1 & Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 & Fig. 4 & Fig. 6 & Fig. 12); and,
a motor control circuit (258) configured to
receive a first input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell (Fig. 13) [0057 & 0058]; and,
generate a second control signal for the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction if the second force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force [0055 & 0056 & 0057 & 0058 & 0059 & 0060 & 0061].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the linear transfer system having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit configured to receive a first input signal indicative of a spatial position deviation during movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction, compare the spatial deviation to a predetermined threshold deviation and generate, a second control signal to the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction if the deviation meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold deviation taught by Parpajola with the linear transfer system having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell supported on the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a force applied to the first load cell, compare the first force to a predetermined threshold force, and generate a second control signal for the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction if the second force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force taught by Tanabe with the collaborative robot having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell supported on the carriage proximate a first axial end of the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell and generate a second control signal for the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction if the second force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force taught by Haski in order to provide a system for sensing unintended engagement of the carriage as the carriage moves along the linear axis, the sensing system local to the ends of the carriage in order to detect the anticipated contact prior impact of the carriage body to stop the carriage to prevent damage to the carriage.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Parpajola (US 20210252654 A1) in view of Haski et al. (US 20060104720 A1).
Regarding Claim 17, Parpajola teaches:
the motor control circuit is further configured to:
control the motor to cause movement of the carriage along the entire length of the linear axis [0021 & 0022 & 0034 & 0035 & 0036 & 0040 & 0041 & 0042 & 0047 & 0061 & 0063 & 0079 & 0090].
Parpajola does not teach:
the motor control circuit is further configured to:
determine an amount of current required by the motor at each of a plurality of different points as the carriage moves along the length of the linear axis;
average the amounts of current required by the motor at each of the plurality of different points to obtain an average current;
establish a maximum current level for the motor responsive to the average current.
Haski teaches:
the motor control circuit is further configured to:
control the motor to cause movement of the carriage along the entire length of the linear axis [0011 & 0012 & 0013 & 0014 & 0015 & 0032 & ;
determine an amount of current required by the motor at each of a plurality of different points as the carriage moves along the length of the linear axis [0014 & 0056];
average the amounts of current required by the motor at each of the plurality of different points to obtain an average current [0014 & 0056];
establish a maximum current level for the motor responsive to the average current [0014 & 0056].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the linear transfer system having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit configured to receive a first input signal indicative of a spatial position deviation during movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction, compare the spatial deviation to a predetermined threshold deviation and generate, a second control signal to the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction if the deviation meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold deviation taught by Parpajola with the collaborative robot having a carriage driving along a linear axis driven by a motor controlled by a motor control circuit having a first load cell supported on the carriage proximate a first axial end of the carriage, the motor control circuit configured to receive an input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell and generate a second control signal for the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in the first axial direction if the second force meets a predetermined condition relative to the predetermined threshold force, the motor control circuit further configured to determine an amount of current required by the motor at each of a plurality of different points as the carriage moves along the length of the linear axis, average the amounts of current required by the motor at each of the plurality of different points to obtain an average current, and establish a maximum current level for the motor responsive to the average current taught by Haski in order to provide a system for sensing unintended engagement of the carriage as the carriage moves along the linear axis, the sensing system local to the ends of the carriage in order to detect the anticipated contact prior impact of the carriage body to stop the carriage to prevent damage to the carriage and provided with a redundant means of detecting faults in the system such as overcurrent to provide a redundant means of preventing damage to the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5, and 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “A linear transfer system for a collaborative robot, comprising: a linear bearing extending along a linear axis; a carriage supported on the linear bearing for movement along the linear axis, the carriage configured to support a collaborative robot; a motor configured to generate a motive force causing movement of the carriage along the linear axis; a first load cell supported on the carriage proximate a first axial end of the carriage; and, a motor control circuit configured to receive a first input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell; and, generate a first control signal for the motor configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis, the first movement corresponding to the first force applied to the first load cell wherein a speed for the first movement corresponds to an amount of the first force; wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to: receive a first motor position signal indicative of a change in position of the motor in response to the first control signal; and, formulate, in response to the first motor position signal, a first instruction for generating the first control signal on a future occasion; and, store in a memory the first instruction for generating the first control signal.”, as recited in Claim 2 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the robot, linear bearing, linear axis, carriage, motor, first load cell, motor control circuit, first input signal, first force, first control signal, first motor position signal, first instruction, and memory. Especially as it relates to the relationship between the robot, linear bearing, linear axis, carriage, motor, first load cell, motor control circuit, first input signal, first force, first control signal, first motor position signal, first instruction, and memory.
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “A linear transfer system for a collaborative robot, comprising: a linear bearing extending along a linear axis; a carriage supported on the linear bearing for movement along the linear axis, the carriage configured to support a collaborative robot; a motor configured to generate a motive force causing movement of the carriage along the linear axis; a first load cell supported on the carriage proximate a first axial end of the carriage; and, a motor control circuit configured to receive a first input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell; and, generate a first control signal for the motor configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis, the first movement corresponding to the first force applied to the first load cell wherein a speed for the first movement corresponds to an amount of the first force; wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to: receive a second input signal indicative of a second force applied to the first load cell; and, generate a second control signal to the motor configured to cause a second movement of the carriage along the linear axis, the second movement corresponding to the second force applied to the first load cell; wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to: receive a first motor position signal indicative of a change in position of the motor in response to the first control signal; and, formulate, in response to the first motor position signal, a first instruction for generating the first control signal on a future occasion; store in a memory the first instruction for generating the first control signal; and, receive a second motor position signal indicative of a change in position of the motor in response to the second control signal: and, formulate, in response to the second motor position signal, a second instruction for generating the second control signal on a future occasion and, store in the memory the second instruction for generating the second control signal.”, as recited in Claim 5 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the robot, linear bearing, linear axis, carriage, motor, first load cell, motor control circuit, first input signal, first force, first control signal, second input signal, second force, second control signal, first motor position signal, and second motor position signal. Especially as it relates to the robot, linear bearing, linear axis, carriage, motor, first load cell, motor control circuit, first input signal, first force, first control signal, second input signal, second force, second control signal, first motor position signal, and second motor position signal.
The art of record fails to render obvious the claimed combination of: “A linear transfer system for a collaborative robot, comprising: a linear bearing extending along a linear axis; a carriage supported on the linear bearing for movement along the linear axis, the carriage configured to support a collaborative robot; a motor configured to generate a motive force causing movement of the carriage along the linear axis; a first load cell supported on the carriage proximate a first axial end of the carriage; and, a motor control circuit configured to receive a first input signal indicative of a first force applied to the first load cell; and, generate a first control signal for the motor configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis, the first movement corresponding to the first force applied to the first load cell wherein a speed for the first movement corresponds to an amount of the first force; comprising a second load cell supported on the carriage proximate one of the first axial end of the carriage and a second axial end of the carriage and wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to: receive a second input signal indicative of a second force applied to the second load cell; and, generate a second control signal to the motor configured to cause a second movement of the carriage along the linear axis, the second movement corresponding to the second force applied to the second load cell; wherein the motor control circuit is further configured to: receive a first motor position signal indicative of a change in position of the motor in response to the first control signal: and, formulate, in response to the first motor position signal, a first instruction for generating the first control signal on a future occasion; store in a memory [[a]] the first instruction for generating the first control signal; and, receive a second motor position signal indicative of a change in position of the motor in response to the second control signal; and, formulate, in response to the second motor position signal, a second instruction for generating the second control signal on a future occasion; and, store in the memory [[a]] the second instruction for generating the second control signal.”, as recited in Claim 7 specifically:
the structural and operative relationship between the robot, linear bearing, linear axis, carriage, motor, first load cell, motor control circuit, first input signal, first force, first control signal, second load cell, second input signal, second force, second control signal, first motor position signal, first instruction, memory, second motor position signal, and second instruction. Especially as it relates to the relationship between the robot, linear bearing, linear axis, carriage, motor, first load cell, motor control circuit, first input signal, first force, first control signal, second load cell, second input signal, second force, second control signal, first motor position signal, first instruction, memory, second motor position signal, and second instruction.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and related arguments, see Response to Non-Final Office Action, filed 2025/09/12, with respect to the Examiner’s Rejection of Claims 2, 5, and 7 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Examiner’s Rejection of Claims 2, 5, and 7 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 2025/09/12 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 1, especially as it relates to the limitation of “generate a first control signal for the motor configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis, the first movement corresponding to the first force applied to the first load cell wherein a speed for the first movement corresponds to an amount of the first force.”:
Applicant’s assertion that Tanabe does not teach a controller which generates a first control signal for the motor configured to cause a first movement of the carriage along the linear axis, the first movement corresponding to the first force applied to the first load cell is not persuasive as it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., there being a mathematical relationship between the first amount of the first force and the speed for the first movement) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The claim simply states that “the first movement corresponding to the first force applied to the first load cell wherein a speed for the first movement corresponds to an amount of the first force”, as Tanabe teaches that the force measured by the load cell has to exceed a certain threshold before movement is initiated by the control system there is a corresponding relationship between the force and movement speed as the force sensed must exceed a set threshold before there is a speed change in the robotic system.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 11, especially as it relates to the limitation of “compare the first force [applied to the first load cell during movement of the carriage along the linear axis] to a predetermined threshold force”:
Applicant’s assertion that Tanabe does not teach the comparison of a first force to a predetermined threshold force is not persuasive as the applicant’s argument that because Tanabe teaches comparing an external force “F” to a calculated external force “Fc” and determines if the difference is above a predetermined threshold value before stopping operation of the system is not persuasive as the Equation “F – Fc ≥ α” can be rewritten as “F ≥ α + Fc” which are the same equation that must be satisfied by the controller of Tanabe in order to halt operation. As the rewritten equation “F ≥ α + Fc” requires the Force be equal to the sum of a calculated force and a threshold value it is reasonable to say that the force must be equal to a calculated threshold value and therefore reads on the limitation.
Regarding Applicant’s argument of the Examiner’s rejection of Claim 14, especially as it relates to the limitation of “a motor control circuit configured to establish a motor position error threshold; compare a difference between an actual motor position and a commanded motor position to the motor position error threshold; and, generate a first control signal to the motor configured to inhibit further movement of the carriage along the linear axis in a first axial direction if the difference between the measured motor position and the commanded motor position meets a predetermined condition relative to the motor position error threshold.”:
Applicant’s assertion that Parpajola does not disclose a control system configured to establish an error threshold and compare a difference between the motor position and commanded position and halting movement if the difference is above the threshold is not persuasive as Parpajola teaches comparing a sensed actual position of a tool held in the tool-holder spindle to the planned position of the tool-holder spindle referred to as a “deviation and/or orientation of the tool currently mounted on the tool-holder spindle with respect to the planned spatial position and/or orientation exceeds a given maximum threshold” as recited in Paragraph 0099 of Parpajola. As the planned position would necessarily be based on the motor command positions as the motor commands would directly relate to the desired position of the tool the invention of Parpajola discloses the limitation as claimed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRENDAN P TIGHE/Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652