DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element T should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63/340,032, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The provisional application discloses the general concept but does not provide the specificity disclosed and claimed in the current application. Claims 1-20 are not supported by the prior application and the effective filing date will be 5/10/23.
Specification/Drawings
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the interior space of claims 1, 13-14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 10, 13-14, 17, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of claims 1, 13, and 14, the abbreviation “POS” should perhaps instead be “point-of-sale” as set forth at [0043] in the specification.
In each of claims 4 and 17, “said ordered items” should be simply “ordered items” as this is the first occurrence of the recitation.
In each of claims 10 and 19, the recitation “said ordered times” should be “said ordered items”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 905.
For claim 1, JP 905 (JP 2018114905) discloses a mobile general store truck for purchasing items, the mobile general store truck comprising:
a variety of goods ([0002,0010]) for purchase by customers at a POS with said mobile general store truck;
wherein said variety of goods are selected from a group consisting of food items ([0002]), beverages, tobacco, and household items;
wherein said variety of goods are accessible at a scheduled location (implicitly) at a scheduled time;
wherein said mobile general store truck (FIG.5) is a mobile shop comprising a drivable truck; and
further wherein said mobile general store truck having an interior space (FIG.6) for physical shopping of said variety of goods by the customers.
For claim 13, further wherein said purchase comprising a POS purchase ([0021]) or a vending purchase at said mobile general store truck.
For claim 2, said mobile general store truck regularly changes geographic locations. “[W]here the Patent Office has reason to believe that a functional limitation asserted to be critical for establishing novelty in the claimed subject matter may, in fact, be an inherent characteristic of the prior art, it possesses the authority to require the applicant to prove that the subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess the characteristic relied on. In re Schrieber 128 F.3d 1478 (quoting In re Swinehart). In this instance, a truck has the inherent feature of being movable and capable to change its geographic location. Claim 2 adds no additional structural limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 905 in view of Faigin et al. (11842414).
For claim 3, Faigin et al. teaches delivery vehicle (300) with integrated vending system having a user interface (330) for allowing customers (30) to interact directly with the vehicle (300). The interface includes an interactive display (332) on an exterior surface of the vehicle, which display allows for showing customers current inventory (322) of products (P).
For claim 14, Faigin et al. further teach the vehicle capable of receiving online purchase orders from users (FIGS.2A-E) with the end user device being a stationary device, such as a personal computer, a smart television, a smart speaker, or other interactive devices.
For claim 15, Faigin et al. discloses a profile database (‘user preferences’ and ‘memory hardware’) configured to save profiles and information (such as times of day, locations) of said purchases of said mobile general store truck.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the truck of JP 905 to be capable of receiving online orders, saving user preferences, and comprising a display all as taught by Faigin et al. in order to inform the shopping customers and allow for easier transactions.
Claims 4-7 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 905, as modified above, and further in view of Borden (10269273).
JP 905, as modified, fails to provide an exterior surface of the truck displaying a website URL Border teaches a mobile system for adverting products and services.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to add to JP 905, as modified, a URL on an exterior of the truck as taught by Borden in order to advertise and secure business.
For claims 5-6 and 17, JP 905 as modified with Faigin et al. as set forth above already provided the recited digital display (330).
For claim 7, Borden already teaches providing advertisement and using a QR code is well known to a PHOSITA as an alternative.
Claims 8-10, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 905, as modified above, and further in view of WO 2017/119016 (WO 016).
For claims 8-9 and 18, JP 905, as modified with Faigin et al. above, discloses a payment processor 340 (Faigin) but fails to disclose a specific slot for debit/credit cards.
WO 016 teaches a POS terminal device (200) including a slot (“payment slot 152lt5) for a credit card.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to add to JP 905, as modified, a payment slot capable of reading credit cards in order to allow this method of payment.
For claims 10 and 19, JP 905, as modified, discloses the exterior surface having a window (FIG.5) for passing ordered items from said interior space to the customer. The window shown in FIG.5 of JP 905, as modified, is opened and capable of passing items therethrough.
Claims 11-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 905, as modified above, and further in view of Faigin et al. (11842414).
JP 905, as modified, is silent on the specific vehicle being autonomous or self-driving, a feature taught again by Faigin et al. (Col 1, lines 15-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable expectation of success to have provided the truck of JP 905, as modified, as an autonomous vehicle as taught by Faigin et al. in order to prevent corporations from having to employ and therefore fairly pay human beings a living wage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dale (2002/0128923) teaches URL(s) on decals that are attached to a user’s vehicle.
/HILARY L GUTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3614