DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Since a new Final Office Action is follows, applicant’s arguments will not be address.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10–11, 13, 16, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abu-Omar et al. (US 2023/0279194 A1).
Abu-Omar teaches a method for depolymerizing hydrocarbon polymers including polyethylene and polypropylene by catalytic hydrogenolysis in the presence of hydrogen to produce lower molecular weight hydrocarbon products. Abu-Omar teaches polyethylene and polypropylene feedstocks (e.g., ¶¶[0021], [0036]), catalytic hydrogenolysis of hydrocarbon polymers (e.g., ¶¶[0112]-[0183]), and depolymerization of polyethylene (Example 2).
Specifically, Abu-Omar teaches:
Claim 1: preparing a catalyst comprising cobalt, nickel, or both (¶¶[0065]-[0087]); combining the catalyst with polyolefins in the presence of hydrogen (¶¶[0021], [0036], [0112]-[0183]); and depolymerizing the polyolefins via hydrogenolysis to lower molecular weight hydrocarbon products (¶¶[0112]-[0183], [0342]).
Claim 2: plastic-derived feedstocks and waste plastic materials (¶¶[0040]-[0058]).
Claim 3: polyethylene and polypropylene feedstocks (¶¶[0021], [0040]-[0058]).
Claim 4: decomposition products derived from polyethylene hydrogenolysis (¶¶[0112]-[0183], [0342]).
Claim 5: decomposition products derived from polypropylene hydrogenolysis (¶¶[0112]-[0183]).
Claim 10: cobalt or nickel catalysts supported on zeolite supports (¶¶[0065]-[0087], [0091]).
Claim 11: cobalt or nickel supported on a pentasil-zeolite carrier because Abu-Omar expressly teaches ZSM-5 (¶[0091]), and ZSM-5 is a pentasil zeolite.
Claim 13: catalyst comprising ZSM-5 (¶[0091]).
Claim 16: reaction temperature of about 250°C (523 K) (e.g., Example 2).
Claim 17: hydrogen pressures encompassing 20–60 bar, including disclosed ranges of 10–60 bar and 20–50 bar (e.g., ¶¶[0118], [0120]).
Claim 20: recovery and separation of reaction products following depolymerization (e.g., ¶¶[0180]-[0183], [0342]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9, 15, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Abu-Omar et al. (US 2023/0279194 A1).
Abu-Omar teaches catalytic hydrogenolysis of polyolefins in the presence of hydrogen using cobalt- and/or nickel-containing catalysts as discussed above.
Regarding claim 6, Abu-Omar does not teach that the decomposition products consist of a high selectivity towards selected light alkanes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Abu-Omar to increase selectivity toward light alkane products because product selectivity is a recognized result-effective variable in catalytic hydrogenolysis processes, and optimization of catalyst composition and reaction conditions to favor desired light alkane products would have been achieved through routine experimentation with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Abu-Omar does not teach that more than 50% of the decomposition products comprise a carbon chain having the structure (CH₂CH₂)m.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Abu-Omar such that more than 50% of the decomposition products comprise a carbon chain having the structure (CH₂CH₂)m because the relative distribution of decomposition products produced from polyethylene hydrogenolysis is a result-effective variable that depends on known operating parameters including catalyst composition, temperature, pressure, and residence time. Optimization of these known variables to increase the proportion of ethylene-derived products would have been within the routine skill of the art.
Regarding claim 8, Abu-Omar does not teach that more than 50% of the decomposition products comprise a carbon chain having the structure (CH₂CH(CH₃))m.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Abu-Omar such that more than 50% of the decomposition products comprise a carbon chain having the structure (CH₂CH(CH₃))m because the relative distribution of decomposition products produced from polypropylene hydrogenolysis is a result-effective variable that depends on known operating parameters including catalyst composition, temperature, pressure, and residence time. Optimization of these known variables to increase the proportion of propylene-derived products would have been within the routine skill of the art.
Regarding claim 9, Abu-Omar does not teach that the decomposition products comprise up to 84% C₃H₈.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the process of Abu-Omar to obtain decomposition products comprising up to 84% propane because propane selectivity represents a result-effective variable of the hydrogenolysis process. Optimization of known process variables, including catalyst composition and reaction conditions, to increase propane production would have been achieved through routine experimentation and would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claims 15, Abu-Omar does not specifically teach a temperature range of 300–600 K.
Abu-Omar teaches hydrogenolysis temperatures encompassing 250°C (523 K) and overlapping portions of the claimed range. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate within the claimed temperature range because reaction temperature is a recognized result-effective variable affecting hydrogenolysis conversion and product selectivity, and optimization of temperature would have been achieved through routine experimentation.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Abu-Omar does not specifically teach a continuous process including continuous feed introduction and continuous product withdrawal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the hydrogenolysis process of Abu-Omar in a continuous mode, including continuously introducing polyolefin feedstock and continuously removing decomposition products, because continuous operation is a well-known alternative to batch operation in catalytic hydrocarbon conversion processes and would have been expected to provide predictable advantages including increased throughput, reduced downtime, improved process efficiency, and facilitation of commercial-scale operation. Continuous feed and product withdrawal represent routine process engineering modifications within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Abu-Omar et al. (US 2023/0279194 A1) in view of Huynh et al., Hydrodeoxygenation of Bio-Oil on Bimetallic Catalysts: From Model Compound to Real Feed, Journal of Sustainable Bioenergy Systems, Vol. 5, pp. 131–145 (2015).
The process of Abu-Omar is as discussed above.
Regarding claim 12, Abu-Omar does not teach that the catalyst comprises greater than 5 wt.% cobalt and greater than 5 wt.% nickel.
Huynh teaches bimetallic Ni-Co catalysts and expressly discloses catalyst 10Ni10Co/HZSM-5, wherein the catalyst contains 10 wt.% Ni and 10 wt.% Co. Huynh states that: “xNiyCo/Z, where x and y are the contents (wt%) of nickel and cobalt, respectively,”
and Table 1 discloses 10Ni10Co/HZSM-5.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the known bimetallic Ni-Co catalyst composition taught by Huynh in the hydrogenolysis process of Abu-Omar because Ni and Co were known hydrogenation and hydrogenolysis metals and Huynh teaches effective hydrogen-processing catalysts containing greater than 5 wt.% Ni and greater than 5 wt.% Co.
Regarding claim 14, Abu-Omar does not teach that the catalyst is Co/ZSM selected from the group consisting of Co/ZSM-5 and 10-Co/ZSM-5, 15-Co/ZSM-5, and 20-Co/ZSM-5.
Abu-Omar teaches cobalt catalysts supported on ZSM-5 (¶¶[0065]-[0087], [0091]), thereby teaching Co/ZSM-5.
Huynh further teaches HZSM-5-supported cobalt-containing catalyst systems including 10Ni10Co/HZSM-5, which contains 10 wt.% cobalt on an HZSM-5 support.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ known cobalt loadings on ZSM-5 supports as a matter of routine optimization because catalyst metal loading is a recognized result-effective variable affecting catalytic activity and selectivity.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771