DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the expression “carbo chain” in the claim. The expression should be recited as --carbon chain--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “much less than” on lines 9-10 of claim 1 renders the claim indefinite because the phrase has no objective boundary.
Claim 3 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because claim 3 depends on itself.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the more than 50%" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sánchez-Rivera et al. “Catalytic Hydrogenolysis of Polyolefins into Alkanes” ACS Cent. Sci. 2021, 7, pages 17−19 in view of Garforth et al. (WO 2012/076890 A1) and Tarach et al. “Operando Study Reveals the Superior Cracking Activity and Stability of Hierarchical ZSM-5 Catalyst for the Cracking of Low-Density Polyethylene” ChemSusChem 2019, 12, pages 633 – 638.
Sánchez disclose a method for depolymerizing polyolefins by catalytic hydrogenolysis in the presence of hydrogen gas, wherein polyethylene and polypropylene are contacted with a supported metal catalyst under elevated temperature and hydrogen pressure to cleave C–C bonds and form lower-molecular-weight hydrocarbon products.
Sánchez does not specific identity of cobalt and/or nickel and the specific zeolite carrier.
Garforth discloses hydrocracking and depolymerization of waste plastics, including polyethylene and polypropylene, in the presence of hydrogen, using metal-loaded zeolite catalysts. Garforth explicitly teaches:
use of cobalt and nickel as catalytic metals(Group VIII metals including Co and Ni; ¶[0021]);
supporting the metal on a zeolite carrier(zeolite supports disclosed; ¶¶[0023]–[0026]);
plastic depolymerization in hydrogen atmospheres(hydrocracking processes for plastics; ¶¶[0002]–[0006]);
batch and continuous reactor configurations(¶¶[0034]–[0036]).
Tarach discloses catalytic cracking of polyethylene over ZSM-5, a pentasil-type zeolite, demonstrating that ZSM-5 frameworks are effective at cleaving long polyolefin chains into lighter hydrocarbons.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to:
start from the polyolefin hydrogenolysis process of Sánchez;
select cobalt and/or nickel as alternative transition-metal hydrogenolysis catalysts as taught by Garforth, in view of their known activity in hydrocracking and hydrogenolysis reactions; and
support the metal catalyst on a zeolite carrier, including ZSM-5, as taught by Garforth and exemplified by Tarach, because zeolites were known to promote C–C bond cleavage in polyolefin conversion.
This modification represents a predictable substitution of known catalyst components to perform the same function (polyolefin C–C bond cleavage in hydrogen) and therefore would have been obvious.
Claims 2–5
Plastic materials, including polyethylene and polypropylene, are explicitly disclosed by Sánchez-Rivera et al. and Garforth.
Claim 6
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the process of cited references by producing products having a high selectivity towards light alkanes because achieving a high selectivity toward selected light alkanes represents an expected result of practicing the combined teachings of the cited references.
Claim 7
Formation of light hydrocarbons from polyolefin depolymerization is disclosed by Sánchez-and Tarach ; selecting for light products is an expected outcome of known hydrogenolysis/cracking processes.
Claim 8
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified cited references by having more than 50 % of the decomposition products comprises a carbon chain as claimed because more than 50 % of the products comprise ethylene-derived chains represents an obvious and prediction outcome of the known production distribution and falls within the routine experimentation of result-effective variables.
Claim 9
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified cited references by having more than 50 % of the decomposition products comprises a carbon chain as claimed because more than 50 % of the products comprise propylene-derived chains represents an obvious and prediction outcome of the known production distribution and falls within the routine experimentation of result-effective variables.
Claim 10: Co or Ni supported on a zeolite carrier — taught by Garforth (¶¶[0021]–[0026]).
Claim 11: Pentasil-zeolite carrier — ZSM-5 is a known pentasil zeolite (Tarach).
Claim 12: Metal loadings represent routine optimization of known supported catalysts.
Claim 13: ZSM-5 — explicitly taught by Tarach .
Claim 14: Specific Co/ZSM-5 variants represent obvious variations of known Co-zeolite catalysts.
Claims 15–17
The claimed temperature and hydrogen-pressure ranges overlap or are obvious optimizations of those disclosed in Sánchez and Garforth, representing result-effective variables.
Claims 18–19
Garforth explicitly teaches continuous plastic depolymerization processes with continuous feed and product withdrawal.
Claim 20
Isolating the decomposition products is an inherent and obvious post-reaction step.
Conclusion
/TAM M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771