DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim Objections: Applicant has amended 7-10, 12-15, 17-20 and the objections are withdrawn.
Rejections under 35 USC 103
Applicant’s Argument: Applicant argues the cited portion of the prior art fail to teach the signal is a positioning signal.
Examiner’s Response: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended the claim to specify a positioning reference signal, thus changing the scope of the invention. An updated search was conducted and a new grounds of rejection is applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Si et al. (“Si”) (US 20220007354 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Si teaches:
A signal sending method, comprising: generating a first signal based on a reference sequence or an orthogonal cover code (OCC), wherein the first signal is a positioning signal, and [Figure 5a ¶0072-73 shows positioning reference signal resource allocation, ¶0098-100 generation of positioning reference signals based on OCC or generation sequences corresponding to reference sequence],
wherein: the reference sequence is a sequence in a sequence set; and any two sequences in the sequence set are orthogonal to each other [¶0100, reference sequence pertains to c(m) of two sequences across two ports including c(m) and c(m)*occ(m) comprising a sequence set, wherein other sequence is c(m)*occ(m) thus making the two sequences orthogonal];
or the OCC is included in an OCC set; and any two OCCs in the OCC set are orthogonal to each other;
and sending the first signal on M time-frequency resource elements [¶0072-73 shows configuration in Figure 5a of positioning reference signal on M resource elements], wherein: the first signal includes M sub-signals [Figure 5a, each positioning reference signal block is a sub-signal]; the M time-frequency resource elements are in a one-to-one correspondence with the M sub-signals [Figure 5a, each positioning reference signal block is a sub-signal one-to-one with resources]; any two of the M time-frequency resource elements do not overlap in frequency domain or in time domain [Figure 5a, resource blocks for positioning signal do not overlap in time or frequency].
Regarding claim 2, Si teaches:
The method according to claim 1, wherein the first signal is based on the reference sequence [¶0100, generate PRS sequence based on c(m) and occ(m), see M sub-signals in Figure 5a ¶0073, c(m) considered reference sequence, first signal being PRS using c(m)*occ(m)] and the generating the first signal based on the reference sequence comprises: generating M sub-signals in the first signal are generated based on the reference sequence [¶0100, generate PRS sequence based on c(m) and occ(m), see M sub-signals in each RE of Figure 5a ¶0073], wherein the M sub-signals are generated based on a reference sequence that includes M sub-sequences in a one-to-one correspondence with the M sub-signals [¶0100, each element of c(m)*occ(m) mapped to RE corresponds to a sub-sequence for each RE of M REs making up the M sub-signals, “A PRS sequence on a port 2 may be c(m)*occ(m) and then mapped to the same RE positions” and occ(m) comprises sub-sequences 1, -1, 1, -1…].
Regarding claim 3, Si teaches:
The method according to claim 2, wherein each of the M sub-sequences is intercepted from the reference sequence [¶0100, each sub-sequence is intercepted from c(m)*occ(m) thus “intercepted” from c(m) reference sequence].
Regarding claim 4, Si teaches:
The method according to claim 2, wherein the first signal is based on the reference sequence [¶0100, generate PRS sequence based on c(m) and occ(m), see M sub-signals in Figure 5a ¶0073, c(m) considered reference sequence, first signal being PRS using c(m)*occ(m)] the generating the first signal based on the reference sequence comprises:
generating the first signal based on the reference sequence and the OCC [¶0100 “ A PRS sequence on a port 2 may be c(m)*occ(m)” thus based on OCC and sequence c(m)];
and generating the M sub-signals based on the reference sequence and the OCC [[¶0100 “ A PRS sequence on a port 2 may be c(m)*occ(m)” thus based on OCC and sequence c(m) and comprises the M sub-signals as in Figure 5a corresponding to each RE]; wherein:
the OCC includes the M time-frequency resource elements in the one-to-one correspondence with the M sub-signals [¶0100, based on OCC(m) and c(m) and corresponds to M resources Figure 5a one-to-one with M PRS signals occupying each RE ¶0073].
Regarding claim 5, Si teaches:
The method according to claim 4, wherein each of the M sub-signals corresponds to the reference sequence [¶0100, M sub-signals are e.g. each RE of PRS as in Figure 5a for example, and each RE sub-signals corresponds to c(m) reference sequence as in ¶0100]
Regarding claim 6, Si teaches:
A signal receiving method, comprising: determining M time-frequency resource elements [¶0073, Figure 5a, M resources for positioning signal configured by network device]; and obtaining a first signal on the M time-frequency resource elements, wherein the first signal is a positioning reference signal [Figure 5a shows positioning reference signal resource allocation on M time-frequency resources ¶0073, obtaining as in ¶0100], and the first signal is generated based on a reference sequence or an orthogonal cover code (OCC) [¶0100 generation of PRS on REs based on reference sequence c(m)]; the first signal includes M sub-signals [Figure 5a, each positioning reference signal block is a sub-signal]; the M time-frequency resource elements are in a one-to-one correspondence with the M sub-signals [Figure 5a, each positioning reference signal block is a sub-signal one-to-one with resources]; and M is an integer greater than 1 [Figure 5a M is more than 1]; the reference sequence is a sequence in a sequence set; and any two sequences in the sequence set are orthogonal to each other [¶0100, reference sequence pertains to c(m) of two sequences across two ports including c(m) and c(m)*occ(m) comprising a sequence set, wherein other sequence is c(m)*occ(m) thus making the two sequences orthogonal]; or the OCC is included an OCC in an OCC set; and any two OCCs in the OCC set are orthogonal to each other.
Regarding claim 7, Si teaches:
The method according to claim 6, wherein the first signal is generated based on the reference sequence [¶0100, generate PRS sequence based on c(m) and occ(m), see M sub-signals in Figure 5a ¶0073, c(m) considered reference sequence, first signal being PRS using c(m)*occ(m)] and the M sub-signals in the first signal are generated based on the reference sequence that includes M sub-sequences in a one-to-one correspondence with the M sub-signals [¶0100, each element of c(m)*occ(m) mapped to RE corresponds to a sub-sequence for each RE of M REs making up the M sub-signals, “A PRS sequence on a port 2 may be c(m)*occ(m) and then mapped to the same RE positions” and occ(m) comprises sub-sequences 1, -1, 1, -1…].
Regarding claim 8, Si teaches:
The method according to claim 7, wherein each of the M sub-sequences is intercepted from the reference sequence [¶0100, each sub-sequence is intercepted from c(m)*occ(m) thus “intercepted” from c(m) reference sequence].
Regarding claim 9, Si teaches:
The method according to claim 6, wherein the first signal is generated based on the reference sequence and the OCC [¶0100 “ A PRS sequence on a port 2 may be c(m)*occ(m)” thus based on OCC and sequence c(m)];
and the M sub-signals in the first signal are generated based on the reference sequence and the OCC includes the M time-frequency resource elements in the one-to-one correspondence with the M sub-signals [¶0100, based on OCC(m) and c(m) and corresponds to M resources Figure 5a one-to-one with M PRS signals occupying each RE ¶0073].
Regarding claim 10, Si teaches:
The method according to claim 4, wherein each of the M sub-signals corresponds to the reference sequence [¶0100, M sub-signals are e.g. each RE of PRS as in Figure 5a for example, and each RE sub-signals corresponds to c(m) reference sequence as in ¶0100]
Regarding claim 11, Si teaches:
A communication apparatus, comprises: a non-transitory memory storage that includes instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the non-transitory memory storage, wherein the instructions, in response to being executed by the one or more processors, cause the communication apparatus [Figure 3, 31/32] to: generate a first signal based on a reference sequence or an orthogonal cover code (OCC), wherein the first signal is a positioning signal, and [Figure 5a shows positioning reference signal resource allocation, ¶0098-99 generation of positioning reference signals based on OCC or generation sequences corresponding to reference sequence],
wherein: the reference sequence is a sequence in a sequence set; and any two sequences in the sequence set are orthogonal to each other [¶0100, reference sequence pertains to c(m) of two sequences across two ports including c(m) and c(m)*occ(m) comprising a sequence set, wherein other sequence is c(m)*occ(m) thus making the two sequences orthogonal];
or the OCC is included in an OCC set; and any two OCCs in the OCC set are orthogonal to each other;
and send the first signal on M time-frequency resource elements [¶0072-73 shows configuration in Figure 5a of positioning reference signal on M resource elements], wherein: the first signal includes M sub-signals [Figure 5a, each positioning reference signal block is a sub-signal]; the M time-frequency resource elements are in a one-to-one correspondence with the M sub-signals [Figure 5a, each positioning reference signal block is a sub-signal one-to-one with resources]; any two of the M time-frequency resource elements do not overlap in frequency domain or in time domain [Figure 5a, resource blocks for positioning signal do not overlap in time or frequency].
Regarding claim 12, Si teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the instructions, in response to being executed by the one or more processors, further cause the communication apparatus to: generate the first signal based on the reference sequence [¶0100, generate PRS sequence based on c(m) and occ(m), see M sub-signals in Figure 5a ¶0073, c(m) considered reference sequence, first signal being PRS using c(m)*occ(m)] and generate the M sub-signals in the first signal are generated based on the reference sequence [¶0100, generate PRS sequence based on c(m) and occ(m), see M sub-signals in Figure 5a ¶0073], wherein: the reference sequence includes M sub-sequences in a one-to-one correspondence with the M sub-signals [¶0100, each element of c(m)*occ(m) mapped to RE corresponds to a sub-sequence for each RE of M REs making up the M sub-signals, “A PRS sequence on a port 2 may be c(m)*occ(m) and then mapped to the same RE positions” and occ(m) comprises sub-sequences 1, -1, 1, -1…].
Regarding claim 13, Si teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the instructions, in response to being executed by the one or more processors, further cause the communication apparatus to: intercept each of the M sub-sequences from the reference sequence [¶0100, each sub-sequence is intercepted from c(m)*occ(m) thus “intercepted” from c(m) reference sequence].
Regarding claim 14, Si teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 11, wherein the instructions, in response to being executed by the one or more processors, further cause the communication apparatus to: generate the first signal based on the reference sequence and the OCC [¶0100 “ A PRS sequence on a port 2 may be c(m)*occ(m)” thus based on OCC and sequence c(m)];
generate the M sub-signals based on the reference sequence and the OCC [[¶0100 “ A PRS sequence on a port 2 may be c(m)*occ(m)” thus based on OCC and sequence c(m) and comprises the M sub-signals as in Figure 5a corresponding to each RE]; wherein:
the OCC includes the M time-frequency resource elements in the one-to-one correspondence with the M sub-signals [¶0100, based on OCC(m) and c(m) and corresponds to M resources Figure 5a one-to-one with M PRS signals occupying each RE ¶0073].
Regarding claim 15, Si teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 14, wherein each of the M sub-signals corresponds to the reference sequence. [¶0100, M sub-signals are e.g. each RE of PRS as in Figure 5a for example, and each RE sub-signals corresponds to c(m) reference sequence as in ¶0100]
Regarding claim 16, Si teaches:
A communication apparatus, comprises: a non-transitory memory storage that includes instructions; and one or more processors in communication with the non-transitory memory storage, wherein the instructions, in response to being executed by the one or more processors, cause the communication apparatus [Figure 3 shows apparatus for transmitting / receiving] to: determine M time-frequency resource elements [¶0073, Figure 5a, M resources for positioning signal configured by network device]; and obtain a first signal on the M time-frequency resource elements, wherein the first signal is a positioning reference signal [Figure 5a shows positioning reference signal resource allocation on M time-frequency resources ¶0073, obtaining as in ¶0100], and the first signal is generated based on a reference sequence or an orthogonal cover code (OCC) [¶0100 generation of PRS on REs based on reference sequence c(m)]; the first signal includes M sub-signals [Figure 5a, each positioning reference signal block is a sub-signal]; the M time-frequency resource elements are in a one-to-one correspondence with the M sub-signals [Figure 5a, each positioning reference signal block is a sub-signal one-to-one with resources]; and M is an integer greater than 1 [Figure 5a M is more than 1]; the reference sequence is a sequence in a sequence set; and any two sequences in the sequence set are orthogonal to each other [¶0100, reference sequence pertains to c(m) of two sequences across two ports including c(m) and c(m)*occ(m) comprising a sequence set, wherein other sequence is c(m)*occ(m) thus making the two sequences orthogonal]; or the OCC is included an OCC in an OCC set; and any two OCCs in the OCC set are orthogonal to each other.
Regarding claim 17, Si teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 16, wherein: the first signal is generated based on the reference sequence [¶0100, generate PRS sequence based on c(m) and occ(m), see M sub-signals in Figure 5a ¶0073, c(m) considered reference sequence, first signal being PRS using c(m)*occ(m)] and the M sub-signals in the first signal are generated based on the reference sequence that includes M sub-sequences in a one-to-one correspondence with the M sub-signals [¶0100, each element of c(m)*occ(m) mapped to RE corresponds to a sub-sequence for each RE of M REs making up the M sub-signals, “A PRS sequence on a port 2 may be c(m)*occ(m) and then mapped to the same RE positions” and occ(m) comprises sub-sequences 1, -1, 1, -1…].
Regarding claim 18, Si teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 17, wherein each of the M sub- sequences is intercepted from the reference sequence [¶0100, each sub-sequence is intercepted from c(m)*occ(m) thus “intercepted” from c(m) reference sequence].
Regarding claim 19, Si teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 16, wherein: the first signal is generated based on the reference sequence and the OCC, [¶0100 “ A PRS sequence on a port 2 may be c(m)*occ(m)” thus based on OCC and sequence c(m)];
the M sub-signals in the first signal are generated based on the reference sequence and the OCC that includes the M time-frequency resource elements in the one-to-one correspondence with the M sub-signals [¶0100, based on OCC(m) and c(m) and corresponds to M resources Figure 5a one-to-one with M PRS signals occupying each RE ¶0073].
Regarding claim 20, Si teaches:
The apparatus according to claim 19, wherein each of the M sub-signals corresponds to the reference sequence [¶0100, M sub-signals are e.g. each RE of PRS as in Figure 5a for example, and each RE sub-signals corresponds to c(m) reference sequence as in ¶0100]
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAY L VOGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478