DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed on June 25, 2026 does not comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.121(c) because claim text for claim 4 is still presented despite being parenthetically identified as “(Canceled).” Amendments to the claims filed on or after July 30, 2003 must comply with 37 CFR 1.121(c) which states:
(c) Claims. Amendments to a claim must be made by rewriting the entire claim with all changes (e.g., additions and deletions) as indicated in this subsection, except when the claim is being canceled. Each amendment document that includes a change to an existing claim, cancellation of an existing claim or addition of a new claim, must include a complete listing of all claims ever presented, including the text of all pending and withdrawn claims, in the application. The claim listing, including the text of the claims, in the amendment document will serve to replace all prior versions of the claims, in the application. In the claim listing, the status of every claim must be indicated after its claim number by using one of the following identifiers in a parenthetical expression: (Original), (Currently amended), (Canceled), (Withdrawn), (Previously presented), (New), and (Not entered).
(1) Claim listing. All of the claims presented in a claim listing shall be presented in ascending numerical order. Consecutive claims having the same status of “canceled” or “not entered” may be aggregated into one statement (e.g., Claims 1–5 (canceled)). The claim listing shall commence on a separate sheet of the amendment document and the sheet(s) that contain the text of any part of the claims shall not contain any other part of the amendment.
(2) When claim text with markings is required. All claims being currently amended in an amendment paper shall be presented in the claim listing, indicate a status of “currently amended,” and be submitted with markings to indicate the changes that have been made relative to the immediate prior version of the claims. The text of any added subject matter must be shown by underlining the added text. The text of any deleted matter must be shown by strike-through except that double brackets placed before and after the deleted characters may be used to show deletion of five or fewer consecutive characters. The text of any deleted subject matter must be shown by being placed within double brackets if strike-through cannot be easily perceived. Only claims having the status of “currently amended,” or “withdrawn” if also being amended, shall include markings. If a withdrawn claim is currently amended, its status in the claim listing may be identified as “withdrawn—currently amended.”
(3) When claim text in clean version is required. The text of all pending claims not being currently amended shall be presented in the claim listing in clean version, i.e., without any markings in the presentation of text. The presentation of a clean version of any claim having the status of “original,” “withdrawn” or “previously presented” will constitute an assertion that it has not been changed relative to the immediate prior version, except to omit markings that may have been present in the immediate prior version of the claims of the status of “withdrawn” or “previously presented.” Any claim added by amendment must be indicated with the status of “new” and presented in clean version, i.e., without any underlining.
(4) When claim text shall not be presented; canceling a claim.
(i) No claim text shall be presented for any claim in the claim listing with the status of “canceled” or “not entered.”
(ii) Cancellation of a claim shall be effected by an instruction to cancel a particular claim number. Identifying the status of a claim in the claim listing as “canceled” will constitute an instruction to cancel the claim.
(5) Reinstatement of previously canceled claim. A claim which was previously canceled may be reinstated only by adding the claim as a “new” claim with a new claim number.
Since the reply filed on June 25, 2026 appears to be bona fide, applicant is given a TIME PERIOD of ONE (1) MONTH or THIRTY (30) DAYS from the mailing date of this notice, whichever is longer, within which to submit an amendment in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121 in order to avoid aban-donment. EXTENSIONS OF THIS TIME PERIOD MAY BE GRANTED UNDER 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Double Patenting
Claims 13-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 12-19 of co-pending Application No. 18/065,676 (reference application) in view of Meng ’16 (RSC Advances 2016, 6, 19351-19356).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 13, claim 12 of the reference application teaches the polymerization of isoprene utilizing a method which only differs from instant claim 13 because it is silent with regard to the incorporation of norbornene. However, this difference does not render claim 13 patentably distinct in view of Meng ’16 (RSC Advances 2016, 6, 19351-19356). Meng ’16 teaches copolymers of norbornene with isoprene (Abstract), and teaches that the incorporation of the two monomers together are useful – the norbornene units provide thermal stability and tensile strength, while the isoprene units provide elasticity, solubility, and glass transition characteristics (p. 19351, Introduction section, right column). It therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate norbornene into the polymerization process of claim 12 of the reference application to arrive at the process of claim 13.
Regarding claims 14-20, the claims are respectively unpatentable over claims 13-19 of the reference application as modified by Meng ’16, above.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 9-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 12-19 of co-pending Application No. 18/065,676 (reference application) in view of Meng ’16 (RSC Advances 2016, 6, 19351-19356) and Kaita (US 2013/0197157 A1).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the reference application as modified by Meng ’16 teaches many of the claimed limitation as described in the rejection of claim 13 above. This includes the limitation requiring a random molecular architecture, as said architecture will result due to polymerization conditions employed during synthesis. Regarding the newly added limitation requiring less than 30 wt% of norbornene, Shiba as modified by Meng ’16 does not teach this feature.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kaita teaches copolymers of conjugated dienes and non-conjugated olefins (Abstract), comprising greater than 70.5 mol% of cis-1,4 conjugated diene units and 10 mol% or more of the non-conjugated olefin. Kaita specifies the use of Isoprene ([0019]), states that the incorporation of greater than 70.5 mol% of cis-1,4 content provides better crack resistance ([0029]), and states that greater than or equal to 10 mol% of the non-conjugated olefin improves the weather resistance ([0029]). It therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the isoprene and norbornene of Shiba in the amounts taught by Kaita for the purpose of improving both the crack resistance and weather resistance properties of the inventive polymer.
A polymer containing between 70.5 and 90 mol % of isoprene and between 10 and 29.5 mol % of norbornene would also contain between about 63.4 and 86.7 weight % of isoprene and between about 13.3 and 36.6 weight % of norbornene. These norbornene contents overlap the claimed range of norbornene required by claim 1, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Since the claims of the prior art, as modified by Meng ’16 and Kaita, teaches a substantially identical polymerization process, the claimed molecular architecture will inherently be present as claimed.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, the claims are unpatentable over claims 4 and 5 of the reference application as modified by Meng ’16 and Kaita, above.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, the claims are unpatentable over claim 3 of the reference application as modified by Meng ’16 and Kaita, above.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the claims are unpatentable over claim 1 of the reference application as modified by Meng ’16 and Kaita, above.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is unpatentable over claim 1 of the reference application as modified by Meng ’16 and Kaita, above.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is unpatentable over claim 7 of the reference application as modified by Meng ’16 and Kaita, above.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiba (US 2019/0256628 A1) in view of Meng ‘16 (RSC Advances 2016, 6, 19351-19356) and Kaita (US 2013/0197157 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 12-14, Shiba teaches a method for producing a conjugated diene polymer having a high content of cis-1,4 structures (abstract), comprising a ternary catalyst system including a gadolinium catalyst ((A), Abstract), an ionic compound which may be inter alia borate salt complexes such as ammonium tetrakis (pentafluorophenyl)borate ((B), [0068]-[0069]), and an organic metal compound, which may be an organic aluminum compound, and which may be a trialkyl aluminum such as triisobutyl aluminum ((C), [0081]). Shiba teaches that the inventive polymer may comprise a conjugated diene such as 1,3 butadiene and isoprene ([0099]) and an olefin compound such as norbornene ([0101]).
Shiba teaches the incorporation of 1,3 diene components as described above ([0099]), and teaches at least partial incorporation thereof as cis-1,4 repeat units (e.g., [0038]). Further, Shiba teaches copolymers having cis-1,4 structures in excess of 94.5% and provides examples having cis-1,4 structures in excess of 95% (p. 10, [0183], and p. 17, Table 1). Additionally, this characteristic is one which arises as a result of the polymerization method utilized in the production of the inventive polymer (e.g., p. 23, Table 4 of Shiba, which shows a distinct variation of cis/trans ratio with respect to the alkyl aluminum compound utilized in the reaction procedure). Two polymers which are produced using the same procedure, using the same components and ratios, will be structurally identical to one another. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. Therefore, the claimed characteristic regarding cis/trans ratio will inherently be present in the prior art if the prior art polymer is produced by a process which is identical or substantially identical to the process by which the claimed polymer is produced.
As described above, Shiba teaches that the catalyst (A) is a gadolinium catalyst (Abstract), which differs from the catalyst system used in the instant application (c.f. claim 13, which contemplates the use of a titanium catalyst. However, Shiba does teach that conjugated diene polymers having high amounts of cis-1,4 structures are obtainable with titanium catalysts in combination with organic aluminum compounds ([0003]).
In the same field of endeavor, Meng ‘16 teaches a copolymer of Isoprene and norbornene (Abstract), which is produced using a catalyst system containing a bis(phenoxy-imine) titanium complex (Abstract). Meng ‘16 further teaches the use of triisobutyl aluminum within the catalyst system (Abstract), and refers to prior publications indicating that ternary systems comprising a catalyst complex/alkyl aluminum/borate salt complex are useful for the polymerization of norbornene and isoprene (p. 19351, Introduction section, right column). It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known in the art as suitable for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to substitute the bis(phenoxy-imine) titanium catalyst of Meng ‘16 in place of the gadolinium catalyst within the formulation of Shiba, as Meng ‘16 teaches said titanium catalyst as a suitable catalyst for the polymerization of norbornene and isoprene.
The titanium catalyst taught by Meng ‘16 reads on the catalyst required by the polymerization method claim (claim 13), because it is identical to the claimed catalyst when:
The structure falls within the scope of claimed formula (Ia)
M is titanium
X is a halogenide (chloride)
LA and LB are identical to one-another and fall within the scope of claimed formula (II), and wherein, in claimed formula (II),
m is 2
n is 0
R groups are chosen from hydrogen (in the meta-positions, with respect to the oxygen substituent, on the benzene ring directly attached to oxygen and all other positions with respect to the nitrogen substituent on the benzene ring directly attached to nitrogen) and t-butyl groups (in the ortho-position which is not a imine-bearing substituent, and the para-position, with respect to the oxygen substituent on the benzene ring directly attached to oxygen)
This catalyst is recognized as the same catalyst described by claimed formula (IIIa) in claim 14, wherein M is titanium, each X is a chlorine atom, R1-2, R4, and R7 are all hydrogen atoms and R3, R5, R6, and R8 are all t-butyl groups.
In substituting the bis(phenoxy-imine) catalyst of Meng ‘16 in place of the gadolinium catalyst of Shiba, the formulation taught by Shiba in view of Meng ‘16 meets all of the compositional characteristics of the claimed polymer: it comprises the polymerization of norbornene and isoprene, and is catalyzed via the same ternary system as that contemplated by the instant Application (c.f. claims 1, 10, 13, and 15, wherein the polymer is indicated as containing norbornene and isoprene, bis(phenoxy-imine) catalyst described above, a borate ester including ammonium tetrakis (pentafluorophenyl)borate, and triisobutyl aluminum). Furthermore, Shiba teaches the mixing of the borate compound (component (C) of Shiba) with the catalyst (component (A) of Shiba, which is the bis(phenoxy-imine) catalyst of Shiba in view of Meng ‘16, as described above) ([0094]). This reads on the claimed method step “(C) activating the catalyst to obtain an activated catalyst” because the instant Specification states that activating the catalyst entails mixing said catalyst with an activator ([0096]), and indicates that ammonium tetrakis (pentafluorophenyl)borate is a suitable activator ([0027]; also c.f. claim 15). Shiba finally teaches the polymerization of the monomers (e.g., [0100] and [0102]).
Therefore, the polymer of Shiba as modified by Meng ‘16 is produced by a substantially identical process as claimed, and utilizes all of the claimed materials. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed amount of cis 1,4 diene repeat units and the random molecular architecture within the claimed polymer will therefore necessarily be present in the polymer of Shiba as modified by Meng ‘16, and as applied above.
Shiba as modified by Meng ‘16 differs from claims 1 and 12 because it is silent with regard to the claimed compositional ranges within the polymer.
In the same field of endeavor, Kaita teaches copolymers of conjugated dienes and non-conjugated olefins (Abstract), comprising greater than 70.5 mol% of cis-1,4 conjugated diene units and 10 mol% or more of the non-conjugated olefin. Kaita specifies the use of Isoprene ([0019]), states that the incorporation of greater than 70.5 mol% of cis-1,4 content provides better crack resistance ([0029]), and states that greater than or equal to 10 mol% of the non-conjugated olefin improves the weather resistance ([0029]). It therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the isoprene and norbornene of Shiba in the amounts taught by Kaita for the purpose of improving both the crack resistance and weather resistance properties of the inventive polymer.
A polymer containing between 70.5 and 90 mol % of isoprene and between 10 and 29.5 mol % of norbornene would also contain between about 63.4 and 86.7 weight % of isoprene and between about 13.3 and 36.6 weight % of norbornene. These norbornene contents overlap the claimed range of norbornene required by claim 1, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness. Furthermore, these ranges overlap/fall within all of the claimed ranges of norbornene within the listing of claim 12, establishing prima facie cases of obviousness.
Regarding claims 2-3, 5-6, 8-11, and 18, as described above, the polymer of Shiba as modified by Meng ‘16 is produced by a substantially identical process as claimed, and utilizes all of the claimed materials. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed molecular weight, glass transition temperature, and molecular architecture characteristics will therefore necessarily be present in the polymer of Shiba in view of Meng ‘16.
Regarding claim 15, as described above, Shiba teaches the use of triisobutyl aluminum ([0081]) and ammonium tetrakis (pentafluorophenyl)borate ([0068]-[0069]), which read on the claimed lists of “co-catalyst” compounds and “activator” compounds, respectively.
Regarding claim 16, Shiba further teaches that the mixing of the catalytic components (A) and (C) with an inert solvent (described as aging these components, which explicitly involves their mixing, see [0091]) may be performed at temperatures ranging from -50 to 120°C ([0091]), which encompasses the claimed range of “1°C to 50°C,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness. Shiba further teaches many orders of addition which include the third component of the tertiary catalyst system (e.g., [0094]-[0098]). Shiba then teaches mixing the catalyst system with the monomers any polymerization of the mixture ([0100] and [0103]), and teaches that the temperature of polymerization may range from -30 to 150°C ([0103]), which encompasses the claimed range of “20°C to 125°C,” establishing a prima facie case of obviousness.
Regarding claim 17, As described above, Shiba teaches a copolymer which may include norbornene and diene components.
Regarding claims 19-20, Shiba teaches example compositions containing 50 parts of inventive polymer, 50 parts of natural rubber, and 50 parts of carbon black (p. 32, Table 10), and teaches that the carbon black is a reinforcing filler for the composition ([0010]). Because the inventive polymer and natural rubber collectively comprise the rubbers within the formulation, the example formulations include 50 phr of the inventive diene-norbornene polymer, 50 phr of natural rubber, and 50 phr of carbon black. In each case, these amounts fall within the claimed ranges of “at least 5 phr” and “5 to 95 phr,” of the claimed “diene-norbornene copolymer,” “at least 20 phr” and “25 phr to 200 phr” of the claimed “filler” and “filler comprising one or more of carbon black and silica,” and “5 to 95 phr” of the claimed “at least one polymer,” respectively, establishing prima facie cases of obviousness.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 25, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant has indicated that a Terminal Disclaimer will be filed upon the withdrawal of all other rejections, said Terminal Disclaimer has not been filed. Therefore, Non-Statutory Double Panting rejections are maintained herein.
The Applicant first states that “a statutory double patenting rejection is based on the claims of a patent or application and not on prior art;” however, the double patenting rejection above is a non-statutory double patenting rejection, and therefore the basis of statutory double patenting rejections is irrelevant to the rejections above. Applicant next argues that a non-statutory double patenting rejection “should not be based on combining the teaching of the patent or application with other prior art;” however, as described above and in the previous office action, a nonstatutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969). Furthermore, it is important to note that nonstatutory double patenting includes rejections based on anticipation, a one way determination of “obviousness,” or a two-way determination of “obviousness,” and the “obviousness” analysis for “obviousness-type” double patenting is similar to that undertaken under 35 U.S.C. 103 (See MPEP 804). Accordingly, non-statutory double patenting rejections may include secondary references (c.f., e.g., MPEP 804.II.B.3. – “any secondary reference used to support an obviousness analysis for a nonstatutory double patenting rejection must be prior art…”).
Regarding rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103, the Applicant states that neither Shiba nor Meng, alone or in combination, teaches the claimed copolymer compositions and catalyst systems; however, the Applicant primarily points out differences between the individual documents and the claims. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant states that Shiba “neither discloses nor suggests norbornene copolymerization;” however, Shiba specifically states that norbornene is a suitable olefinic comonomer for the inventive polymerization ([0101]).
The rejection above, likewise to the rejection of the previous office action, includes a combination of references Shiba and Meng, wherein the combined references provide motivation for polymerizing all of the claimed components in all of the claimed compositional amounts, using a substantially identical catalytic system. Therefore, the claimed random polymer architecture and stereoregularity characteristics will be present in the combined formulation despite neither reference particularly contemplating the claimed characteristics.
Applicant states that “a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation that the proposed combination of references would yield the presently claimed materials and properties;” however, the motivation or reason to combine the prior art references need not be the same as that of the Applicant’s. The reason to or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what is claimed, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by the Applicant. See MPEP 2144(IV).
Applicant argues that Kaita does not disclose norbornene, but only discloses ethylene, propylene, and alpha-olefins such as 1-butene. However, Shiba suggests the use of norbornene as an alternative to ethylene, propylene, and 1-butene ([0101]). It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known in the art as suitable for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). Therefore, assuming arguendo that Kaita does not disclose or suggest the suitability of norbornene, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to apply the teachings of Kaita to a polymer containing norbornene, as Shiba teaches norbornene as an equally suitable equivalent to ethylene, propylene, and 1-butene.
Applicant finally argues that none of the prior art references individually contemplate features of the claimed copolymers; however, as described above, the rejection is based on the combination of these references, which collectively disclose a process which will necessarily result in the claimed features.
Conclusion
/JOSHUA CALEB BLEDSOE/Examiner, Art Unit 1762