Response to Amendment
The amendment filed September 8th, 2026 does not place the application in condition for allowance.
The rejections over Hildebrandt et al. are maintained.
The rejection based over Periyasamy has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
New rejections follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-7, and 9-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hildebrandt et al. (US 2013/0167930 A1).
In view of Claim 1, Hildebrandt et al. discloses an opto-electronic device (Fig. 4), comprising a first electrode and a second electrode facing the first electrode (Fig. 4, Top Contact & ITO); a photoactive layer between the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 4, organic light-sensitive layer), wherein the organic compound is represented by Formula 1, wherein in Formula 1, Ar1 is a group represented by Formula 2, X-1 is selected from O, S, Se (Paragraph 0032, also see Paragraph 0033-0034 – Y and Z can be a carbon atom), X2 is selected from O, S, Se (Paragraph 0038), L11 and L12 are not present, L2 is a single bond, Ar21-22 are C3-C60 carbocyclic groups, R1 is not present, R2 can be hydrogen or alkyl, aryl or heteroaryl group (Paragraph 0028 – R6), R22 can be a C2-C60 alkynyl group substituted with a C2-C60 substituted with R10a which can represent an alkenyl group substituted with cyano (See Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa, below).
Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa
In view of Claim 2, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Hildebrandt et al. teaches that the photoactive layer comprises the organic compound (Paragraph 0025-0026).
In view of Claim 3, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Hildebrandt et al. teaches a hole transport region between the first electrode and the photoactive layer (Fig. 4, p-layer HTL) and an electron transport region between the photoactive layer and the second electrode (Fig. 4, n-layer ETL).
In view of Claim 4, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 3. Hildebrandt et al. teaches that there is at least one photoactive layer between the first and second electrode, thus this implies that there can be at least two organic light sensitive layers that satisfy the requirements of the organic compound by Formula 1 recited in claim 1 (Paragraph 0082). Therefore, when there are two of these photoactive layers present in Hildebrandt (which he implies these layers can be present by the phrasing, “at least one organic light-sensitive layer”) it satisfies the limitation of the photoactive layer comprises a first layer adjacent to the hole transport region and a second layer adjacent to the electron transport region and the first layer comprises the organic compound.
In view of Claim 6, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Hildebrandt et al. discloses that the photoactive layer comprises electron accepting compounds (Paragraph 0059).
In view of Claim 7, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. The recitation, “An electronic apparatus” has not been given patentable weight because the recitation occurs in the preamble. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See In re Hirao, 535 F.2d 67, 190 USPQ 15 (CCPA 1976) and Kropa v. Robie, 187 F.2d 150, 152, 88 USPQ 478, 481 (CCPA 1951).
In view of Claim 9, Hildebrandt et al. discloses an opto-electronic device (Fig. 4), comprising a first electrode and a second electrode facing the first electrode (Fig. 4, Top Contact & ITO); a photoactive layer between the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 4, organic light-sensitive layer), wherein the organic compound is represented by Formula 1, wherein in Formula 1, Ar1 is a group represented by Formula 2, X-1 is selected from O, S, Se (Paragraph 0032, also see Paragraph 0033-0034 – Y and Z can be a carbon atom), X2 is selected from O, S, Se (Paragraph 0038), L11 and L12 are not present, L2 is a single bond, Ar21-22 are C3-C60 carbocyclic groups, R1 is not present, R2 can be hydrogen or alkyl, aryl or heteroaryl group (Paragraph 0028 – R6), R22 can be a C2-C60 alkynyl group substituted with a C2-C60 substituted with R10a which can represent an alkenyl group substituted with cyano (See Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa, below).
Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa
In view of Claim 10, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Hildebrandt et al. discloses that a carbon atom in Ar21 in Formula 2, could be bonded to L11 in a variation of formula 1 (See Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa, bdp can be present adjacent to Ar2 can represent carbon atoms – Paragraph 0040).
In view of Claim 11, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Hildebrandt et al. teaches that Y1 is C(Z1)(Z2) (Paragraph 0027).
In view of Claim 12, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Hildebrandt et al. teaches that L11 and L12 can each independently be a single bond when bdp and bdq are 0 (Paragraph 0040).
In view of Claim 13, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Hildebrandt et al. teaches that L2 can be a single bond (See Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa, above).
In view of Claim 14, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Hildebrandt et al. teaches that Ar21 does not comprise N (See Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa, above).
In view of Claim 15, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Hildebrandt et al. teaches that Ar21 and Ar22 are each benzene (See Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa, above).
In view of Claim 16, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Hildebrandt et al. teaches that Ar1 in formula 1 is one selected from groups represented by Formula 3-1 to 3-4 (See Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa, above).
In view of Claim 17, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. Hildebrandt et al. teaches that the organic compound odes not comprise a carbazole group (See Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa, above).
In view of Claim 18, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. In regards to the limitation that, “a maximum absorption wavelength of the organic compound is in a range of about 480-570 nm”. Hildebrandt et al. teaches the same structure as recited, and therefore it will, inherently, display the recited properties, namely allowing for “a maximum absorption wavelength of the organic compound is in a range of about 480-570 nm”. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
In view of Claim 19, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 9. In regards to the limitation that, “an oscillator strength (OSC) of the organic compound is in a range of about 0.77 to about 1.0”. Hildebrandt et al. teaches the same structure as recited, and therefore it will, inherently, display the recited properties, namely allowing for “an oscillator strength (OSC) of the organic compound is in a range of about 0.77 to about 1.0”. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)91) as being anticipated by Tao et al. “Tuning aggregation-induced emission properties with the number of cyano and ester groups in the same dibenzo[b,d]thiophene skeleton for effective detection of explosives”.
In view of Claim 20, Tao et al. discloses compound 12 (Fig. 8c, see compound).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hildebrandt et al. (US 2013/0167930 A1) in view of Cho et al. (US 2016/0343956 A1).
In view of Claim 5, Hildebrandt et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above in addressing Claim 1. Hildebrandt et al. does not explicitly disclose that the photoactive layer further comprises a third layer between the first layer and the second layer and the third layer comprises the organic compound.
Cho et al. teaches a photoactive layer can include three or more layers all including the same compound and that this is an exemplary configuration for a photoactive layer (Paragraph 0127). Cho et al. teaches that the organic solar cell may exhibit characteristics which are excellent in driving voltage, current and service life (Paragraph 0022). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have the photoactive layer of Hildebrandt et al. further comprises a third layer between the first layer and the second layer and the third layer comprises the organic compound for the advantages of having a photoactive layer configured to exhibit characteristics which are excellent in driving voltage, current and service life.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi (US 2011/0019042 A1) in view of Hildebrandt et al. (US 2013/0167930 A1).
In view of Claims 7-8, Yamaguchi discloses an electronic apparatus comprising a thin film transistor electrically connected to a first electrode and a color filter (Fig. 1 & Paragraph 0208) but not that the organic solar cell is formed according to the conditions of claim 1.
Hildebrandt et al. discloses an opto-electronic device (Fig. 4), comprising a first electrode and a second electrode facing the first electrode (Fig. 4, Top Contact & ITO); a photoactive layer between the first electrode and the second electrode (Fig. 4, organic light-sensitive layer), wherein the organic compound is represented by Formula 1, wherein in Formula 1, Ar1 is a group represented by Formula 2, X-1 is selected from O, S, Se (Paragraph 0032, also see Paragraph 0033-0034 – Y and Z can be a carbon atom), X2 is selected from O, S, Se (Paragraph 0038), L11 and L12 are not present, L2 is a single bond, Ar21-22 are C3-C60 carbocyclic groups, R1 is not present, R2 can be hydrogen or alkyl, aryl or heteroaryl group (Paragraph 0028 – R6), R22 can be a cyano group, alkyl group at least (Paragraph 0027) (See Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa, below). Hildebrandt et a. teaches that this organic soar cell results in low loss recombination (Paragraph 0089). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use Hildebrandt et al. solar cell as Yamaguchi’s solar cell for the advantage of utilizing a solar cell with low-loss recombination.
Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that Hildebrandt does not disclose that R22 is a cyano group. The Examiner respectfully points out to Applicant that Hildebrandt et al. discloses R22 can be a C2-C60 alkynyl group substituted with a C2-C60 substituted with R10a which can represent an alkenyl group substituted with cyano (See Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa, below).
Annotated Hildebrandt general formula IIIa
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL P MALLEY JR./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726