DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s selection without traverse of invention I (claims 1-10) in the reply filed on 01/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/22/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Trümper et al. (US 20230374932 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Trümper teaches a fluidic coolant system (liquid cooling system) for a fuel cell stack (heat producing device)(¶ 0001 and ¶ 0021). Trumper teaches that the fuel cell stack (52) is coupled to a heat exchanger (50) to make up an arrangement (48) (¶ 0032). Trümper teaches that the cooling system comprises: a fluidic pump (58) and a heat exchanger (56, heat dissipation device) (¶ 0032). Trümper teaches an expansion tank system (2) that includes a deionization filter (¶ 0028 - ¶ 0029). This expansion tank system reads on the ion exchange filter housing assembly. As shown in Fig. 2, Trümper teaches that a fluidic outlet of the heat exchanger is fluidly coupled to the fluidic pump (¶ 0032). Trümper also teaches that a fluidic inlet of the heat exchanger is fluidly coupled to the fuel cell stack (Fig. 2). Trümper teaches that the fluidic pump conveys coolant within the coolant loop (54) (¶ 0032 and Fig.2). In Fig. 2, Trümper shows that the heat exchanger (56) outlet is coupled to the pump which supplies coolant to the fuel cell stack via the heat exchanger (50) coupled to it and to the ion exchange filter housing via the dotted line and the fuel cell stack (¶ 0032). This reads on the pump being arranged to supply coolant from the heat exchanger to the fuel cell stack and the ion exchange filter housing assembly. Fig. 2 is shown below.
With regards to claim 2, Trümper teaches that the coolant is a liquid that may contain air or other gas (¶ 0002 and ¶0013). As discussed earlier, Trümper also teaches that the coolant goes through the heat exchanger (¶ 0002), making the heat exchanger an air/fluid heat exchanger.
With regards to claim 3, Trümper teaches that the ion exchange filter housing assembly (expansion tank system (2)) comprises: a first chamber (4) that reads on the fluidic canister (¶ 0028 and Fig. 1). Trümper goes on to teach that the first chamber comprises a deionization filter that may be provided in a filter cartridge which reads on the filter housing (¶ 0012 and ¶ 0029). Trümper teaches an access flap (18) that comprises a cover (¶ 0029 and Fig. 1). The cap is read as the region above this access flap as shown in the circled region labeled in Fig. 1. The inner portion of the first chamber taught by Trümper reads on the inner chamber. This inner chamber includes a filter chamber which is read as the inner portion of the filter cartridge Trümper discusses in ¶ 0012. The expansion chamber is interpreted as an area above the filter chamber that allows for expansion. In ¶ 0014, Trümper teaches that air is separated from the coolant and is collected in the upper part of the first chamber. This upper part of the first chamber reads on the expansion chamber as it allows for expansion. Trümper teaches an ion exchange filter (16); a fluidic inlet port (8); a fluidic outlet port (6); a first air vent inlet (40); and a second air vent inlet (34) (¶ 0028 - ¶ 0030 and Fig.1). Trümper teaches that the ion exchange filter (16) is disposed within the filter chamber of the inner chamber (¶ 0012, ¶ 0029 and Fig. 1).Trumper also shows, in Fig. 1, that the expansion chamber is formed within the fluidic canister. Trümper goes on to teach that the fluidic inlet port is arranged on the fluidic canister on a first side (12) of the ion exchange filter (¶ 0028 and Fig. 1). Trümper teaches that the fluidic outlet port is arranged on the fluidic canister in the expansion chamber on a second side (10) of the ion exchange filter (¶ 0028 and Fig. 1). In Fig. 1, Trümper shows that the first air vent inlet and the second air vent inlet are arranged on the cap. Trümper teaches that the gas that accumulates in the expansion chamber can be fed to the second chamber which is where the air vent inlets are located (¶ 0013). This means that the first and second air vent inlets are fluidly connected to the expansion chamber. Fig. 1 is shown below.
With regards to claim 4, Trümper teaches that the filter housing (4) and second chamber are formed in separate housings and then attached together to form the filter housing assembly (expansion tank system) (¶ 0019). Trümper teaches that the filter housing assembly may be formed in different shapes to match available space (¶ 0019). Fig. 2 shows an embodiment where the filter housing (4) is formed as a prismatic device.
With regards to claim 7, as shown in Fig. 2 above and discussed in ¶ 0032, Trümper teaches that the filter house assembly (2) is fluidically connected to the fuel stack via the coolant loop (54) and the heat exchanger coupled to the fuel stack. This reads on the first air vent inlet being fluidly connected to the fuel cell stack as the filter housing assembly (2) includes the first air vent inlet (Fig. 1). The coolant loop allows for the fluidic connection as it is connected to the filter housing assembly of the fluidic coolant system.
With regards to claim 8, as discussed earlier, Trümper teaches that the filter house assembly (2) is fluidically connected to the fuel stack via the coolant loop (54) and the heat exchanger coupled to the fuel stack (¶ 0032 and Fig. 2). This reads on the second air vent inlet being fluidly connected to the heat exchanger as the filter housing assembly (2) includes the second air vent inlet (Fig. 1). The coolant loop allows for the fluidic connection as it is connected to the filter housing assembly of the fluidic coolant system.
With regards to claim 9, Trümper teaches that the cap includes a first flange and the filter housing includes a second flange that corresponds to the first flange to be releasably clamped together with the first flange (¶ 0029 and Fig. 1). This reads on the cap being sealably assemblable onto the filter housing. As shown in Fig. 1 and discussed in ¶ 0012 , the ion exchange filter (16) is arranged within the filter chamber of the inner chamber when the cap is sealably assembled onto the filter housing. Trümper also teaches that the ion exchange filter may be provided in the form of a filter cartridge that is placeable into and removeable from the first chamber (¶ 0012). Trümper goes on to teach that the filter housing assembly (2) may include an access flap (18) at the cap (cover,22) which allows for the insertion and removal of the ion exchange filter (¶ 0013 and ¶ 0029). This reads on the ion exchange filter being removable from the inner chamber when the cap is disassembled from the filter housing.
With regards to claim 10, Trümper teaches the fluidic coolant system of claim 3, wherein the fluidic outlet port (6) of the ion exchange filter housing assembly is fluidly connected to a fluidic inlet of the fluidic pump (¶ 0032 and Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trümper et al. (US 20230374932 A1).
With regards to claim 5, as discussed earlier, Trümper teaches that the filter housing may be arranged in different shapes (¶ 0019). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was effectively filed to arrange the filter housing in a shape such as a cylinder as the as the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
With regards to claim 6, Trümper teaches that it is reasonable to include a pressure release valve in either the first or second chambers or both to improve the safety of the filter housing (¶ 0011). As discussed earlier, Trumper teaches the first chamber, which comprises the filter and the expansion chambers, as well as the fluidic inlet and outlet ports (¶ 0028 - ¶ 0029 and Fig. 1). Trumper teaches that this first chamber is provide to receives coolant (fluid) (¶ 0028). Trümper does not specifically teach that the pressure relief valve is arranged in the cap. However, as the first chamber is designed to receive the fluid, it would be more reasonable to arrange the pressure relief valve in the second chamber where the cap is.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to arrange the pressure relief valve taught by Trümper in the cap (second chamber) as the as the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Conclusion
/HUNSUYADOR MUGEESATU YUSIF/Examiner, Art Unit 1743
/ADAM J FRANCIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728