Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11, lines 7-8 recite the limitation “wherein rotation of the pivot plate provides rotation to the leg assemblies between an open and a closed state”, rendering the claim generally indefinite and unclear. Via the disclosure it is understood that the platform (100, fig 1) may include two leg assemblies (110, fig 1) which may be rotatably or pivotably coupled to the platform by one or more stationary plates 112. The current claim language suggests that rotation of a single pivot plate can rotate more than one leg assembly. Applicant may consider amending the claim language similar to that in claim 1 (“at least one leg assembly”), or claiming at least one pivot plate per leg assembly, so as to more clearly claim what is actually disclosed by the applicant.
Appropriate correction and clarification are required. Dependent claims not directly named are rejected for being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grebinoski et al. (US 8,042,653).
Grebinoski et al. disclose
1. A portable work platform (200, figure 2, see below) comprising:
a top surface (deck assembly 150, figure 2, see below); and
at least one leg assembly (1a, figure 2, see below) pivotably coupled (@ 45, figure 9A) to the top surface (figure 9A) and including:
an upper leg (3, figure 3), and
a lower leg (2) telescopically couplable to the upper leg (figure 3) at any of a plurality of selectable locations (23, figure 6A).
10. The portable work platform of claim 1, wherein the top surface (150) comprises one or more exterior slats (120, figure 2) and one or more interior slats (120b) slidingly engageable to form the top surface (figure 2).
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-9 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Melton et al. (US 2022/0003008).
Melton et al. disclose:
1. A portable work platform (10, fig 2) comprising:
a top surface (12); and
at least one leg assembly (14, fig 2) pivotably coupled (@ 38, fig 2) to the top surface (fig 2) and including:
an upper leg (see below), and
a lower leg (see below) telescopically couplable to the upper leg at any of a plurality of selectable locations ([0033]; see below)
2. The portable work platform of claim 1, wherein each of the upper and lower legs includes one or more holes for receiving a removable peg for fixing the relative position of the upper and lower legs ([0033], see above).
4. The portable work platform of claim 1, wherein the at least one leg assembly comprises: one or more braces matable (via bolts ) with the upper leg (see below); and
one or more support steps (22) matable (via bolts) with the one or more braces and a plurality of upper legs (figure 1B).
7. The portable work platform of claim 1, wherein the at least one leg assembly (14) includes a bumper (40, 44) mounted to a side thereof (see fig 2 inserted above).
8. The portable work platform of claim 7, wherein the bumper a textured top surface (fig 5D) formed of a grip material ([0025]).
9. The portable work platform of claim 1, further comprising:
a stationary plate coupled to the top surface (see below)
a pivot plate (38, fig 4A) rotatably coupled to the stationary plate (fig 4A); and
an upper peg (61, see below) insertable through the stationary plate and the pivot plate (see below) for securing the pivot plate at a defined angle (see below), wherein the pivot plate (38) is coupled to at least one leg assembly (see below), and wherein rotation of the pivot plate (38) rotates the at least one leg assembly (14) between an open (fig 8, below) and a closed position (fig 7).
11. A portable work platform (10, fig 2, see below) comprising:
a top surface (12, fig 2);
a stationary plate coupled to the top surface (see fig 8 above);
a pivot plate (38) rotatably coupled to the stationary plate (see fig 8 above);
an upper peg (61) insertable through the stationary plate and the pivot plate for securing the pivot plate at a defined angle (see fig 8 above); and
a plurality of leg assemblies (fig 2, see below) coupled to the pivot plate, wherein rotation of the pivot plate provides rotation to the leg assemblies between an open (fig 8) and a closed state (fig 7).
12. The portable work platform of claim 11, wherein the pivot plate (38) comprises a peg notch (66, fig 9) mateable with the upper peg (61) for securing the pivot plate at the defined angle (fig 8).
13. The portable work platform of claim 12, wherein the peg notch (66, fig 9) defines the defined angle between 90° and 105° from the top surface ([0006], [0019]; fig 8).
14. The portable work platform of claim 12, wherein the pivot plate (38) further comprises a raised, rounded portion through which a pin or axel (62, fig 7) is inserted for rotation (fig 7).
15. The portable work platform of claim 11, wherein the plurality of leg assemblies comprise:
an upper leg defining an interior slot (see below);
a lower leg insertable into the interior slot of the lower leg (see below); and
a lower peg insertable through the upper leg and the lower leg for securing the lower leg in place at a set height ([0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melton et al. alone. While Melton et al. does not disclose the spacing of the holes in the legs, examiner notes that this would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art. As noted in MPEP 2144.04 IV, A. Changes in Size/Proportion "mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled." 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.; and In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that spacing the holes too far apart may not provide enough incremental adjustment options, or allow for finite adjustment; and facing the holes too close together could weaken the leg by excess removal of material, or could cause unnecessarily difficult adjustment moving from one hole to the next. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to space the holes in the legs, with whatever spacing allows for easy and adequate adjustment, without drastically altering the strength of the leg.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Melton et al. as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Moreno Moncada (US 2020/0048962).
With respect to claims 5 and 6, Melton et al. disclose wherein the at least one leg assembly comprises one or more feet (19, fig 2) matable (fitted around) with the lower leg (fig 2); but fails to disclose the foot comprising a textured bottom formed of a grip material, specifically neoprene.
However, Moreno Moncada teach: the foot (160, figure 14A) comprising a textured bottom (figure 14A) formed of a grip material, specifically neoprene ([0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the feet of Melton et al. to have a textured bottom, to be formed of a grip material, such as neoprene, as taught by Moreno Moncado, so as to advantageously reduce and/or eliminate any relative slipping and or sliding motion between the leg assemblies and the support surface, improving stability of the apparatus (Moreno Moncado, [0040]).
Re: claim 16, Melton et al. disclose further comprising: one or more feet (19, fig 2) matable (fitted around) with the lower leg (fig 2), and one or more bumpers (40, 44, fig 2) matable (fitted around) with the upper leg (fig 2) comprising a textured top surface (fig 5D) formed of the grip material ([0025, see below).
While Melton does disclose textured surface and grip material for the bumpers, it is not specifically disclosed for the feet.
However, Moreno Moncada teach: the feet (160, figure 14A) comprising a textured bottom (figure 14A) formed of a grip material ([0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to construct the feet of Melton et al. to have a textured bottom and to be formed of a grip material, as taught by Moreno Moncado, so as to advantageously reduce and/or eliminate any relative slipping and or sliding motion between the leg assemblies and the support surface, improving stability of the apparatus (Moreno Moncado, [0040]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
COLLEEN M. CHAVCHAVADZE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3634
/COLLEEN M CHAVCHAVADZE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634