Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Lei US 2006/002686 does not anticipate the claims at issue because a group identifier identifies role traffic policy that is “independent of authorization of individual data requests”. Examiner would argue that the roles and access control based on roles as taught by Lei are also independent of “individual data requests”.
In the interest of advancing prosecution, Examiner has included Voit US 2018/0139240 to be more explicit.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 9, 11, 12, 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei US 2006/0026286 in view of Voit US 2018/0139240.
As per claim 1. Lei teaches A method comprising: intercepting, by a proxy service on a proxy network device, a network access request message pertaining to a client from an access device on a network; forwarding, by the proxy service on the proxy network device, the network access request message to an authentication server; [0024] (teaches requesting access to a server that is forwarded through a proxy)
Lei teaches intercepting, by the proxy service on the proxy network device, a network access response message including role information of the client from the authentication server; Lei teaches obtaining, by the proxy service on the proxy network device, the role information of the client from the network access response message; [0009][0046][0047] (teaches reverse proxy receives data from the origin or security server, including role information of the client)
Lei teaches and in response to receiving network traffic from the client: identifying, by the proxy service on the proxy network device, a group based policy (GBP) corresponding to the role information of the client; and applying, by the proxy service on the proxy network device, the group based policy to the network traffic from the client. [0037][0043][0047][0051][0054] (teaches the proxy enforcing security based on role and access control groups and whether to allow communication based on said group security permissions)
Voit teaches mapping role information to a group identifier wherein the group based policy comprises role derived traffic policy identified by the group ID that defines rules governing treatment of network traffic associated with clients assigned to that role independent of authorization of individual data requests. [0027][0029][0030] (teaches security group tags applied to a network flow, the group applying to a group, and policy enforcement for network traffic based on the security group and role based access control)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the instant application to use the teaching of Voit with the prior art because it improves network security.
As per claim 8. Lei teaches The method of claim 1, wherein intercepting the network access response message comprises intercepting a network access acceptance message from the authentication server. [0009][0031][0046] (teaches intercepting and monitoring traffic, receiving security information from server)
As per claim 9. Lei teaches the method of claim 1, wherein obtaining comprises receiving, by the proxy service on the proxy network device, the GBP from the authentication server. [0009][0033][0037][0043][0047][0051][0054] (teaches the proxy enforcing security based on role and access control groups and whether to allow communication based on said group security permissions)
As per claim 11. Lei teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the GBP corresponding to the role information of the client is present on the proxy network device. [0009][0033][0037][0043][0047][0051][0054] (teaches the proxy enforcing security based on role and access control groups and whether to allow communication based on said group security permissions)
As per claim 12. Lei teaches A proxy network device comprising: a processor; and a non-transitory storage medium storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the proxy network device to: intercept a network access request message pertaining to a client from an access device on a network; [0024] (teaches requesting access to a server that is forwarded through a proxy)
Lei teaches forward the network access request message to an authentication server; intercept a network access response message including role information of the client from the authentication server; obtain the role information of the client from the network access response message; [0009][0046][0047] (teaches reverse proxy receives data from the origin or security server, including role information of the client)
Lei teaches and in response to receiving network traffic from the client: identify a group based policy (GBP) corresponding to the role information of the client; and apply the group based policy to the network traffic from the client. [0037][0043][0047][0051][0054] (teaches the proxy enforcing security based on role and access control groups and whether to allow communication based on said group security permissions)
Voit teaches mapping role information to a group identifier wherein the group based policy comprises role derived traffic policy identified by the group ID that defines rules governing treatment of network traffic associated with clients assigned to that role independent of authorization of individual data requests. [0027][0029][0030] (teaches security group tags applied to a network flow, the group applying to a group, and policy enforcement for network traffic based on the security group and role based access control)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the instant application to use the teaching of Voit with the prior art because it improves network security.
As per claim 13. Lei teaches the proxy network device of claim 12, wherein the proxy network device is further to intercept the network access request message sent from the access device to the authentication server. [0009][0031][0046] (teaches intercepting and monitoring traffic, receiving security information from server)
Claim(s) 3, 4, 5, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei US 2006/0026286 in view of Voit US 2018/0139240 in view of Desai US 20210282069.
As per claim 3. Desai teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the network access response message includes a Media Access Control (MAC) address of the client. [0011]-[0013] [0030] [0037][0054] (teaches mapping a MAC address to a role and using said information at access points to approve or deny communications)
As per claim 4. Desai teaches the method of claim 3, further comprising: obtaining, by the proxy service on the proxy network device, the MAC address of the client from the network access response message; mapping, by the proxy service on the proxy network device, the MAC address of the client to the role information of the client; and storing, by the proxy service on the proxy network device, the mapping between the MAC address with the role information of the client. [0011]-[0013] [0030] [0037][0054] (teaches mapping a MAC address to a role and using said information at access points to approve or deny communications)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Desai with the prior art because it improves security.
As per claim 5. Desai teaches the method of claim 4, further comprising: sending, by the proxy service on the proxy network device, the mapping between the MAC address and the role information of the client to a second access device, wherein the GBP corresponding to the role information of the client is applied to the network traffic received on the second access device from the client. [0023] (teaches network discovery protocol which allows access points to share policies and roles, etc)
As per claim 6. Desai teaches the method of claim 5, wherein the access device and the second access device are access points (APs). [0025][0054] (access points)
Claim(s) 2, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei US 2006/0026286 in view of Voit US 2018/0139240 in view of Boutros US 2018/0097734.
As per claim 2. Boutros teaches the method of claim 1, wherein intercepting the network access request message comprises listening to network communication from an Anycast IP address configured on the access device. [0003][0018][0028] (teaches configuring router to use Anycast IP address to further communicate with external networks)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Boutros with the prior art because it simplifies network routing.
As per claim 14. Boutros teaches the proxy network device of claim 12, wherein the proxy network device is further to listen to network communication from an Anycast IP address configured on the access device to intercept the network access request message. [0003][0018][0028] (teaches configuring router to use Anycast IP address to further communicate with external networks)
Claim(s) 7, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei US 2006/0026286 in view of Voit US 2018/0139240 in view of Sethi US 2023/0049341.
As per claim 7. Sethi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein intercepting the network access request message comprises intercepting an Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP) response message of the client. [0015][0017] (teaches interception of EAP from client and forwarding to authentication server)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Sethi with the prior art because it expands the amount of authentication method compatibility and increases security.
As per claim 10. Sethi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the proxy service is a Remote Authentication Dial-In User Service (RADIUS) proxy service and the authentication server is a RADIUS server. [0053][0064] (teaches the authentication server is a RADIUS server)
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei US 2006/0026286 in view of Voit US 2018/0139240 in view of Sivaraj US 2017/0195220.
As per claim 15. Sivaraj teaches the proxy network device of claim 12, wherein the network comprises a Virtual Extensible Local Area Network (VXLAN). [0011]-[0015] (teaches use of VXLAN)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Sivaraj with the prior art because it allows implementation of virtual networks.
As per claim 16. Lei teaches A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that upon execution cause a proxy network device to: intercept, via a proxy service on the proxy network device, forward, via the proxy service on the proxy network device, the network access request message to an authentication server; [0024] (teaches requesting access to a server that is forwarded through a proxy)
Lei teaches intercept, via the proxy service on the proxy network device, a network access response message including role information of the client from the authentication server; [0009][0046][0047] (teaches reverse proxy receives data from the origin or security server, including role information of the client)
Lei teaches obtain, via the proxy service on the proxy network device, the role information of the client from the network access response message; and in response to receiving network traffic from the client: identify, via the proxy service on the proxy network device, a group based policy (GBP) corresponding to the role information of the client; and apply, via the proxy service on the proxy network device, the group based policy to the network traffic from the client. [0037][0043][0047][0051][0054] (teaches the proxy enforcing security based on role and access control groups and whether to allow communication based on said group security permissions)
Voit teaches mapping role information to a group identifier wherein the group based policy comprises role derived traffic policy identified by the group ID that defines rules governing treatment of network traffic associated with clients assigned to that role independent of authorization of individual data requests. [0027][0029][0030] (teaches security group tags applied to a network flow, the group applying to a group, and policy enforcement for network traffic based on the security group and role based access control)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the priority date of the instant application to use the teaching of Voit with the prior art because it improves network security.
Sivaraj teaches a network access request message pertaining to a client from an access device on a VXLAN; [0011]-[0015] (teaches use of VXLAN)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use the teaching of Sivaraj with the prior art because it allows implementation of virtual networks.
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei US 2006/0026286 in view of Voit US 2018/0139240 in view of Sivaraj US 2017/0195220 in view of Desai US 2021/0282069.
As per claim 17. Desai teaches The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 16, further comprising instructions to: obtain, via the proxy service on the proxy network device, a MAC address of the client from the network access response message; map, via the proxy service on the proxy network device, the MAC address of the client with the role information of the client; and store, by the proxy service on the proxy network device, the mapping between the MAC address and the role information of the client. [0011]-[0013] [0030] [0037][0054] (teaches mapping a MAC address to a role and using said information at access points to approve or deny communications)
As per claim 18. Desai teaches The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 17, further comprising instructions to: send the mapping between the MAC address and the role information of the client to a second access device, wherein the GBP corresponding to the role information of the client is applied to the network traffic received on the second access device from the client. [0011]-[0013] [0030] [0037][0054] (teaches mapping a MAC address to a role and using said information at access points to approve or deny communications)
As per claim 19. Sivaraj teaches The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 18, further comprising instructions to send the mapping between the MAC address and the role information of the client via a VXLAN. [0011]-[0015] (teaches use of VXLAN and mapping MAC address of the client)
As per claim 20. Desai teaches The non-transitory machine-readable storage medium of claim 16, further comprising instructions to authenticate the access device through the authentication server prior to forwarding the network access request message to the authentication server. [0011]-[0013] [0030] [0037][0054] (teaches mapping a MAC address to a role and using said information at access points to approve or deny communications)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER J BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439