DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 1-4, 14, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Dong et al. (US 2018/0269512 A1), hereinafter “Dong,” is withdrawn because Applicant amended claim 1 and canceled claim 44.
Claims 1-3, 13, 15, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 2022/0158214 A1), hereinafter “Li.”
Regarding claim 1, Li discloses a process for limiting circulation of precipitates in a redox flow battery system comprising:
providing at least one rechargeable cell comprising a negative electrode (¶ [0050] & [0091], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 102), a positive electrode (¶ [0050] & [0091], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 104), and a separator positioned between the negative and positive electrodes (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 110), a negative electrolyte, in this case the anolyte (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 112), and a negative electrolyte tank, in this case the anolyte tank (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 116), the negative electrolyte in contact with the negative electrode (see Figs. 1 & 12, ref. nos. 102 & 112), and a positive electrolyte, in this case the catholyte (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 114), and a positive electrolyte tank, in this case the catholyte tank (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 118), the positive electrolyte in contact with the positive electrode (see Figs. 1 & 12, ref. nos. 104 & 114);
circulating a flow of the negative electrolyte in a negative electrolyte loop, the negative loop comprising a first negative electrolyte stream from the negative electrolyte tank to the negative electrode and a second negative electrolyte stream from the negative electrode to the negative electrolyte tank, in this case the anolyte pump circulates the anolyte between the negative electrode and the anolyte tank via the anolyte distribution arrangement (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref nos. 120 & 124), and circulating a flow of the positive electrolyte in a positive electrolyte loop, the positive electrolyte loop comprising a first positive electrolyte stream from the positive electrolyte tank to the positive electrode and a second positive electrolyte stream from the positive electrode to the positive electrolyte tank, in this case the catholyte pump circulates the catholyte between the positive electrode and the catholyte tank via the catholyte distribution arrangement (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref nos. 122 & 126); and
filtering the negative electrolyte and the positive electrolyte with at least one filter, in this case filters may be placed upstream or downstream of the positive and negative half-cells and upstream or downstream of the anolyte and catholyte tanks to capture and remove metallic particles or particulates (¶ [0091], Fig. 12, ref. nos. 121, 106, 108, 116, & 118);
wherein the redox flow battery comprises a Fe/Cr redox flow battery (¶ [0064]).
Regarding claim 2, Li further discloses that the at least one filter comprises a filter in the negative electrolyte loop and a filter in the positive electrolyte loop, in this case filters are placed in both the anolyte and catholyte distribution arrangements (¶ [0091]-[0092], Fig. 12, ref. nos. 121, 124, & 126).
Regarding claim 3, Li further discloses that:
the filter in the negative electrolyte loop comprises a filter in the first negative electrolyte stream, in this case the filter may be placed downstream of the anolyte tank and upstream of the negative electrode (¶ [0091], Fig. 12, ref. nos. 121, 116, & 102), and/or the second negative electrolyte stream, in this case the filter may be placed upstream of the anolyte tank and downstream of the negative electrode (¶ [0091], Fig. 12, ref. nos. 121, 116, & 102); and
the filter in the positive electrolyte loop comprises a filter in the first positive electrolyte stream, in this case the filter may be placed downstream of the catholyte tank and upstream of the positive electrode (¶ [0091], Fig. 12, ref. nos. 121, 118, & 104), and/or the second positive electrolyte stream, in this case the filter may be placed upstream of the catholyte tank and downstream of the positive electrode (¶ [0091], Fig. 12, ref. nos. 121, 118, & 104).
Regarding claim 13, the redox active species in one or both of the negative electrolyte and positive electrolyte is Fe, in this case both the anolyte and catholyte may contain an iron-containing compound (¶ [0065]).
Regarding claim 15, Li further discloses:
a first rebalancing system in fluid communication with the negative electrolyte, in this case the reductant tank (¶ [0100], Fig. 5C, ref. no. 562 & 116), and a second rebalancing system in fluid communication with the positive electrolyte, in this case the balance tank is in fluid communication with the catholyte tank f (¶ [0100], Fig. 5A, ref. no. 562 & 118).
Regarding claim 16, Li further discloses cleaning the at least one filter after filtering one or both of the positive or negative electrolytes, in this case the impurities collected by the filters are removed with a cleaning solution (¶ [0090], Fig. 3, ref. no. 354).
Regarding claim 18, Li discloses a process for limiting circulation of precipitates in a redox flow battery system comprising:
providing at least one rechargeable cell comprising a negative electrode (¶ [0050] & [0091], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 102), a positive electrode (¶ [0050] & [0091], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 104), and a separator positioned between the negative and positive electrodes (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 110), a negative electrolyte, in this case the anolyte (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 112), and a negative electrolyte tank, in this case the anolyte tank (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 116), the negative electrolyte in contact with the negative electrode (see Figs. 1 & 12, ref. nos. 102 & 112), and a positive electrolyte, in this case the catholyte (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 114), and a positive electrolyte tank, in this case the catholyte tank (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref. no. 118), the positive electrolyte in contact with the positive electrode (see Figs. 1 & 12, ref. nos. 104 & 114), wherein the redox active species in one or both of the negative electrolyte and positive electrolyte is Fe, in this case both the anolyte and catholyte may contain an iron-containing compound (¶ [0065]);
circulating a flow of the negative electrolyte in a negative electrolyte loop, the negative loop comprising a first negative electrolyte stream from the negative electrolyte tank to the negative electrode and a second negative electrolyte stream from the negative electrode to the negative electrolyte tank, in this case the anolyte pump circulates the anolyte between the negative electrode and the anolyte tank via the anolyte distribution arrangement (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref nos. 120 & 124), and circulating a flow of the positive electrolyte in a positive electrolyte loop, the positive electrolyte loop comprising a first positive electrolyte stream from the positive electrolyte tank to the positive electrode and a second positive electrolyte stream from the positive electrode to the positive electrolyte tank, in this case the catholyte pump circulates the catholyte between the positive electrode and the catholyte tank via the catholyte distribution arrangement (¶ [0050], Figs. 1 & 12, ref nos. 122 & 126); and
filtering the negative electrolyte and the positive electrolyte with at least one filter, in this case filters may be placed upstream or downstream of the positive and negative half-cells and upstream or downstream of the anolyte and catholyte tanks to capture and remove metallic particles or particulates (¶ [0091], Fig. 12, ref. nos. 121, 106, 108, 116, & 118).
Regarding claim 19, Li further discloses that:
the filter in the negative electrolyte loop comprises a filter in the first negative electrolyte stream, in this case the filter may be placed downstream of the anolyte tank and upstream of the negative electrode (¶ [0091], Fig. 12, ref. nos. 121, 116, & 102), and/or the second negative electrolyte stream, in this case the filter may be placed upstream of the anolyte tank and downstream of the negative electrode (¶ [0091], Fig. 12, ref. nos. 121, 116, & 102); and
the filter in the positive electrolyte loop comprises a filter in the first positive electrolyte stream, in this case the filter may be placed downstream of the catholyte tank and upstream of the positive electrode (¶ [0091], Fig. 12, ref. nos. 121, 118, & 104), and/or the second positive electrolyte stream, in this case the filter may be placed upstream of the catholyte tank and downstream of the positive electrode (¶ [0091], Fig. 12, ref. nos. 121, 118, & 104).
Regarding claim 20, Li further discloses:
a first rebalancing system in fluid communication with the negative electrolyte, in this case the reductant tank (¶ [0100], Fig. 5C, ref. no. 562 & 116), and a second rebalancing system in fluid communication with the positive electrolyte, in this case the balance tank is in fluid communication with the catholyte tank f (¶ [0100], Fig. 5A, ref. no. 562 & 118).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 5-12 and claims 18-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Dong in view of Song et al. (US 2018/0316037 A1), hereinafter “Song,” is withdrawn because Applicant amended claims 1 and 18.
Claims 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Song.
Regarding claim 5, Li does not disclose interrupting the positive and negative electrolyte loops and redirecting the positive and negative electrolyte flows. However, Song teaches a redox flow battery operating method comprising:
interrupting the flow of the negative electrolyte in the negative electrolyte loop by redirecting the first negative electrolyte stream to form a second negative electrolyte loop, the second negative electrolyte loop comprising a third negative electrolyte stream from the negative electrolyte tank returning directly back to the negative electrolyte tank, in this case the negative electrolyte pump is deactivated (¶ [0030], [0062], & [0068]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 30) and the positive electrolyte pump is activated (¶ [0062]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 32) which allows negative electrolyte flow from the first or negative electrolyte circuit (¶ [0047], [0062], & [0068]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 280) to the second or positive electrolyte circuit (¶ [0047] & [0062]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 282) via the fluid passage (¶ [0047]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 290) and orifice (¶ [0062]; Fig. 2, reference no. 220) or the second mixing valve (¶ [0068]; Fig. 3, reference no. 310);
interrupting the flow of the positive electrolyte in the positive electrolyte loop by redirecting the first positive electrolyte stream to form a second positive electrolyte loop, the second positive electrolyte loop comprising a third positive electrolyte stream from the positive electrolyte tank to the negative electrode and from the negative electrode to the positive electrolyte tank, in this case the positive electrolyte pump may be deactivated (¶ [0030] & [0072]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 32) and the first mixing valve opened (¶ [0072]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 210) in order to allow the positive electrolyte in the second electrolyte circuit (¶ [0047] & [0072]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 282) to flow to the first electrolyte circuit (¶ [0047] & [0072]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 280) via the fluid passage (¶ [0047]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 292) and first mixing valve (¶ [0072]; Fig. 2, reference no. 210);
redirecting the third positive electrolyte stream to the positive electrode and reforming the positive electrolyte loop, in this case the first mixing valve is closed which prevents the flow of electrolytes between the first and second circuits (¶ [0063]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference nos. 210, 280, & 282); and
redirecting the third negative electrolyte stream to the negative electrode and reforming the first negative electrolyte loop, in this case the first mixing valve is closed which prevents the flow of electrolytes between the first and second circuits (¶ [0063]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference nos. 210, 280, & 282).
One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that operating the redox flow battery in such a manner would have cleansed the redox flow battery, thus facilitating increased number of charge/discharge cycles while avoiding capacity fade (see ¶ [0069]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have performed the flow interrupting steps and electrolyte redirecting steps in order to have facilitated increased number of charge/discharge cycles while avoiding capacity fade in the redox flow battery.
Regarding claim 6, Li does not disclose the rebalancing system step. However, Song teaches providing a portion of the positive electrolyte stream and hydrogen gas to a rebalancing system to form a treated stream followed by passing the treated stream to the positive electrolyte tank, in this case the positive electrolyte with hydrogen gas is returned to the electrolyte rebalancing reactor (¶ [0040] & [0044]; Fig. 1, reference no. 82) before being returned to the positive electrolyte chamber (¶ [0040] & [0044]; Fig. 1, reference no. 52). One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that placing the rebalancing reactor in the electrolyte stream and supplying hydrogen gas to the positive electrolyte would have rebalanced the state of charge of the positive electrolyte active species (¶ [0045]), thereby facilitating improved redox flow battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have rebalanced the positive electrolyte stream and hydrogen gas in order to have facilitated improved redox flow battery operation.
Regarding claim 7, Li does not disclose interrupting the negative electrolyte loop and redirecting the negative electrolyte flow. However, Song teaches a redox flow battery operating method comprising:
interrupting the flow of the negative electrolyte in the negative electrolyte loop by redirecting the first negative electrolyte stream to form a second negative electrolyte loop, the second negative electrolyte loop comprising a third negative electrolyte stream from the negative electrolyte tank returning directly back to the negative electrolyte tank, in this case the negative electrolyte pump is deactivated (¶ [0030], [0062], & [0068]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 30) and the positive electrolyte pump is activated (¶ [0062]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 32) which allows negative electrolyte flow from the first or negative electrolyte circuit (¶ [0047], [0062], & [0068]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 280) to the second or positive electrolyte circuit (¶ [0047] & [0062]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 282) via the fluid passage (¶ [0047]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 290) and orifice (¶ [0062]; Fig. 2, reference no. 220) or the second mixing valve (¶ [0068]; Fig. 3, reference no. 310); and
redirecting the second negative electrolyte stream to the negative electrode and reforming the first negative electrolyte loop, in this case the first mixing valve is closed which prevents the flow of electrolytes between the first and second circuits (¶ [0063]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference nos. 210, 280, & 282).
One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that operating the redox flow battery in such a manner would have cleansed the redox flow battery, thus facilitating increased number of charge/discharge cycles while avoiding capacity fade (see ¶ [0069]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have performed the flow interrupting steps and electrolyte redirecting steps in order to have facilitated increased number of charge/discharge cycles while avoiding capacity fade in the redox flow battery.
Regarding claim 8, Li does not disclose the rebalancing system step. However, Song teaches providing a portion of the positive electrolyte stream and hydrogen gas to a rebalancing system to form a treated stream followed by passing the treated stream to the positive electrolyte tank, in this case the positive electrolyte with hydrogen gas is returned to the electrolyte rebalancing reactor (¶ [0040] & [0044]; Fig. 1, reference no. 82) before being returned to the positive electrolyte chamber (¶ [0040] & [0044]; Fig. 1, reference no. 52). One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that placing the rebalancing reactor in the electrolyte stream and supplying hydrogen gas to the positive electrolyte would have rebalanced the state of charge of the positive electrolyte active species (¶ [0045]), thereby facilitating improved redox flow battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have rebalanced the positive electrolyte stream and hydrogen gas in order to have facilitated improved redox flow battery operation.
Regarding claim 9, Li does not disclose interrupting the negative electrolyte loop and redirecting the negative electrolyte flow. However, Song teaches a redox flow battery operating method comprising:
interrupting the flow of the negative electrolyte in the negative electrolyte loop by redirecting the first negative electrolyte stream to form a second negative electrolyte loop, the second negative electrolyte loop comprising a third negative electrolyte stream from the negative electrolyte tank returning directly back to the negative electrolyte tank, in this case the negative electrolyte pump is deactivated (¶ [0030], [0062], & [0068]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 30) and the positive electrolyte pump is activated (¶ [0062]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 32) which allows negative electrolyte flow from the first or negative electrolyte circuit (¶ [0047], [0062], & [0068]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 280) to the second or positive electrolyte circuit (¶ [0047] & [0062]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 282) via the fluid passage (¶ [0047]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 290) and orifice (¶ [0062]; Fig. 2, reference no. 220) or the second mixing valve (¶ [0068]; Fig. 3, reference no. 310); and
redirecting the first negative electrolyte stream to the negative electrode and reforming the first negative electrolyte loop, in this case the first mixing valve is closed which prevents the flow of electrolytes between the first and second circuits (¶ [0063]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference nos. 210, 280, & 282).
One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that operating the redox flow battery in such a manner would have cleansed the redox flow battery, thus facilitating increased number of charge/discharge cycles while avoiding capacity fade (see ¶ [0069]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have performed the flow interrupting steps and electrolyte redirecting steps in order to have facilitated increased number of charge/discharge cycles while avoiding capacity fade in the redox flow battery.
Regarding claim 10, Li does not disclose the rebalancing system step. However, Song teaches providing a portion of the positive electrolyte stream and hydrogen gas to a rebalancing system to form a treated stream followed by passing the treated stream to the positive electrolyte tank, in this case the positive electrolyte with hydrogen gas is returned to the electrolyte rebalancing reactor (¶ [0040] & [0044]; Fig. 1, reference no. 82) before being returned to the positive electrolyte chamber (¶ [0040] & [0044]; Fig. 1, reference no. 52). One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that placing the rebalancing reactor in the electrolyte stream and supplying hydrogen gas to the positive electrolyte would have rebalanced the state of charge of the positive electrolyte active species (¶ [0045]), thereby facilitating improved redox flow battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have rebalanced the positive electrolyte stream and hydrogen gas in order to have facilitated improved redox flow battery operation.
Regarding claim 11, Li does not disclose interrupting the negative electrolyte loop and redirecting the negative electrolyte flow. However, Song teaches a redox flow battery operating method comprising:
interrupting the flow of the negative electrolyte in the negative electrolyte loop by redirecting the first negative electrolyte stream to form a second negative electrolyte loop, the second negative electrolyte loop comprising a third negative electrolyte stream from the negative electrolyte tank returning directly back to the negative electrolyte tank, in this case the negative electrolyte pump is deactivated (¶ [0030], [0062], & [0068]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 30) and the positive electrolyte pump is activated (¶ [0062]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 32) which allows negative electrolyte flow from the first or negative electrolyte circuit (¶ [0047], [0062], & [0068]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 280) to the second or positive electrolyte circuit (¶ [0047] & [0062]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 282) via the fluid passage (¶ [0047]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference no. 290) and orifice (¶ [0062]; Fig. 2, reference no. 220) or the second mixing valve (¶ [0068]; Fig. 3, reference no. 310); and
redirecting the negative electrolyte stream to the negative electrode and reforming the first negative electrolyte loop, in this case the first mixing valve is closed which prevents the flow of electrolytes between the first and second circuits (¶ [0063]; Figs. 2 & 3, reference nos. 210, 280, & 282).
One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that operating the redox flow battery in such a manner would have cleansed the redox flow battery, thus facilitating increased number of charge/discharge cycles while avoiding capacity fade (see ¶ [0069]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to have performed the flow interrupting steps and electrolyte redirecting steps in order to have facilitated increased number of charge/discharge cycles while avoiding capacity fade in the redox flow battery.
Regarding claim 12, Li does not disclose the rebalancing system step. However, Song teaches providing a portion of the positive electrolyte stream and hydrogen gas to a rebalancing system to form a treated stream followed by passing the treated stream to the positive electrolyte tank, in this case the positive electrolyte with hydrogen gas is returned to the electrolyte rebalancing reactor (¶ [0040] & [0044]; Fig. 1, reference no. 82) before being returned to the positive electrolyte chamber (¶ [0040] & [0044]; Fig. 1, reference no. 52). One having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that placing the rebalancing reactor in the electrolyte stream and supplying hydrogen gas to the positive electrolyte would have rebalanced the state of charge of the positive electrolyte active species (¶ [0045]), thereby facilitating improved redox flow battery operation. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have rebalanced the positive electrolyte stream and hydrogen gas in order to have facilitated improved redox flow battery operation.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Groberg (US 2022/0367898 A1.
Regarding claim 14, Li does not disclose that the negative electrolyte active species is plated on the negative electrode. However, Groberg teaches a redox flow battery in which the ferrous iron is plated on the negative electrode (¶ [0004], [0020], [0026]-[0027], & [0031]). One having ordinary skill in the art would have understood that such plating is the typical operation of a redox flow battery and would have yielded the predictable result of a functional redox flow battery. Therefore, it would have been obvious to have arranged the redox active species to have been plated on the negative electrode in order to have facilitated redox flow battery operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Li discloses filters in the positive and negative electrolyte plumbing of the redox flow battery and separate lines for the reforming steps as discussed in the rejection of claims, above, but does not teach interrupting the flow of the electrolyte streams and redirecting them for filtering and reforming as set forth in claim 17. Furthermore, no other prior art reference could be found that fairly teaches or suggests these limitations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 and 5-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SCOTT J. CHMIELECKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729