DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to amendments and remarks filed 31 March 2026. Claims 1, 3-20, 22, 24-26 and 28-34 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-20, 22, 24-26 and 28-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (WO 2024/164193 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng appears to disclose a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to (Fig. 6, 602, [0105]-[0107]):
receive a signal indicating a first candidate cell of a plurality of candidate cells adopted a dynamic discontinuous transmission/discontinuous reception (DTX/DRX) configuration, wherein a second candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells is not configured with dynamic DTX/DRX ([0016]-[0017] disclosing conditional handover (CHO) techniques related to network energy saving (NES) mode comprising cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) and/or discontinuous reception(DRX); [0031] disclosing “a CHO enhancement solution based on an NES mode of both the source cell and the target cell…UE...may switch to an NES specific CHO condition upon detection of the source cell in an NES mode. Instead of ( or in addition to) explicit UE group common Ll/L2 signaling, other implicit indication(s) of source cell NES mode change (e.g., dynamically changing NES mode to/from DTX/DRX); [0034] disclosing “the normal cell (i.e., a cell not in an NES mode) and the NES cell (i.e., a cell that is in an NES mode) satisfy the NES specific CHO condition, the UE may prioritize the normal cell for HO execution”; [0036] disclosing the gNB configures the UE with an indication of whether the target cell in in the NES mode (i.e., the NES mode of the target cell has not changed when the NES mode of the source cell has changed; Fig. 2, 214, 216, [0043]-[0045] disclosing the source cell sends an RRCReconfiguration message comprising 214 and 216 specifying criteria for triggering measurement reporting; [0051]-[0053] disclosing the source cell enters NES mode comprising cell DTX/DRX (i.e., dynamically switches to DTX/DRX mode) including of two or more candidate target cells);
evaluate a performance effect on the UE corresponding to each of the plurality of candidate cells including the first candidate cell and the second candidate cell based, at least in part, on the signal (Fig. 2, 222, [0019], [0031]-[0033], [0038]-[0039], [0046] disclosing the UE performs CHO measurements 222 to detect A3, A4 and A5 events in the NES specific CHO condition evaluation of NES mode of the source cell and the target cell); and
initiate a handover procedure from a source cell to a target cell of the plurality of candidate cells based, at least in part, on the performance effect ([0031] in the NES specific CHO condition evaluation of NES mode of the source cell and the target cell; [0047] disclosing if the legacy CHO condition is met, the UE starts execution of handoff (e.g., using a legacy CHO procedure, as shown in FIG. IA and FIG. IB); Fig. 2 RACH procedure, [0052] disclosing For example, the UE 202 may perform a random access channel (RACH) procedure with the selected candidate target cell. The CHO handover completion occurs once the UE 202 becomes associated with the new cell on the source cell 204 ( and the UE 202 may send an attendant RRC reconfiguration complete message (RRCReconfigurationComplete) to the selected target cell. In a handover completion phase, the selected target cell sends the source cell 204 a handover success message.).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to evaluate the performance effect, are individually or collectively configured to evaluate a quality of service associated with one or more of the source cell or the target cell ([0019], [0031]-[0033], [0038]-[0039] disclosing use of RSRQ).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to evaluate the performance effect, are individually or collectively configured to evaluate a strength of a signal transmitted by the source cell, the target cell, or both ([0019], [0031]-[0033], [0038]-[0039] disclosing use of RSRP).
Regarding claim 5, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to receive the signal, are individually or collectively configured to receive a layer 1 indication or a layer 2 indication ([0030], [0051]).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the handover procedure includes a conditional handover ([0031]), a lower-layer triggered mobility handover ([0030]), or a layer 3 handover ([0052] RRCReconfiguration).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the signal includes a group-common layer 1 indication ([0030], [0051]).
Regarding claim 8, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors, to evaluate the performance effect, are individually or collectively configured to evaluate local information (Fig. 2, 222, [0046] measurements are local to the UE).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to prioritize two or more candidate cells, wherein the target cell is one of the two or more candidate cells and the source cell is one of the two or more candidate cells ([0051]-[0053], [0055], [0062]).
Regarding claim 10, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors, to prioritize the two or more candidate cells, are individually or collectively configured to evaluate a performance metric associated with each of the two or more candidate cells (Fig. 2, 222, [0019], [0031]-[0033], [0038]-[0039], [0046]).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to receive cell information associated with one or more of the two or more candidate cells ([0043], [0050]).
Regarding claim 12, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 9, wherein prioritizing the two or more candidate cells is based, at least in part, on one or more prioritization rules ([0036]-[0037], [0043], [0047]-[0048], [0053], [0055]-[0056] [0062], [0064], [0081] ).
Regarding claim 13, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the handover procedure is based, at least in part, on a layer 3 signaled DTX/DRX configuration or a layer 3 signaled DTX/DRX reconfiguration ([0085]).
Regarding claim 14, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to receive a configuration for a conditional lower-layer triggered mobility handover based, at least in part, on a layer 1 activation indication, a layer 2 activation indication, a layer 3 activation indication, a layer 1 deactivation indication, a layer 2 deactivation indication, or a layer 3 deactivation indication of cell discontinuous transmission/discontinuous reception (Fig. 2, 214, 216, 222, [0019], [0031]-[0033], [0038]-[0039], [0043]-[0046], [0051], [0085]).
Regarding claim 15, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the signal is associated with one of the source cell or one or more candidate cells including the target cell ([0019], [0031]-[0033], [0038]-[0039], [0046]).
Regarding claim 16, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 15, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to receive a triggering signal from one or more of the source cell or the one or more candidate cells ([0030], [0051], [0085]).
Regarding claim 17, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 16, wherein the triggering signal is received via one or more of dedicated signaling, group signaling, broadcast signaling, radio resource control signaling, medium access control (MAC) control element signaling, a paging communication, or a short message communication ([0030], [0051], [0085]).
Regarding claim 18, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 16, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to select the target cell from among the one or more candidate cells ([0037], [0043], [0047]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 19, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 18, wherein selecting the target cell is based, at least in part, on a dynamic discontinuous transmission/discontinuous reception capability of each of the one or more candidate cells ([0047], [0085]).
Regarding claim 20, Cheng appears to disclose a network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to (Fig. 6, 618, [0114]-[0115]):
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) a signal indicating a first candidate cell of a plurality of candidate cells adopted a dynamic discontinuous transmission/discontinuous reception (DTX/DRX) configuration, wherein a second candidate cell of the plurality of candidate cells is not configured with dynamic DTX/DRX ([0016]-[0017] disclosing conditional handover (CHO) techniques related to network energy saving (NES) mode comprising cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) and/or discontinuous reception(DRX); [0031] disclosing “a CHO enhancement solution based on an NES mode of both the source cell and the target cell…UE...may switch to an NES specific CHO condition upon detection of the source cell in an NES mode. Instead of ( or in addition to) explicit UE group common Ll/L2 signaling, other implicit indication(s) of source cell NES mode change (e.g., dynamically changing NES mode to/from DTX/DRX); [0034] disclosing “the normal cell (i.e., a cell not in an NES mode) and the NES cell (i.e., a cell that is in an NES mode) satisfy the NES specific CHO condition, the UE may prioritize the normal cell for HO execution”; [0036] disclosing the gNB configures the UE with an indication of whether the target cell in in the NES mode (i.e., the NES mode of the target cell has not changed when the NES mode of the source cell has changed; Fig. 2, 214, 216, [0043]-[0045] disclosing the source cell sends an RRCReconfiguration message comprising 214 and 216 specifying criteria for triggering measurement reporting; [0051]-[0053] disclosing the source cell enters NES mode comprising cell DTX/DRX (i.e., dynamically switches to DTX/DRX mode) including of two or more candidate target cells);
receive, from the UE, a handover request to initiate a handover procedure for the UE from a source cell to a target cell of the plurality of candidate cells ([0031] in the NES specific CHO condition evaluation of NES mode of the source cell and the target cell; [0047] disclosing if the legacy CHO condition is met, the UE starts execution of handoff (e.g., using a legacy CHO procedure, as shown in FIG. IA and FIG. IB); Fig. 2 RACH procedure, [0052] disclosing For example, the UE 202 may perform a random access channel (RACH) procedure with the selected candidate target cell. The CHO handover completion occurs once the UE 202 becomes associated with the new cell on the source cell 204 ( and the UE 202 may send an attendant RRC reconfiguration complete message (RRCReconfigurationComplete) to the selected target cell. In a handover completion phase, the selected target cell sends the source cell 204 a handover success message.) based, at least in part, on an evaluated performance effect on the UE corresponding to each of the plurality of candidate cells including the first candidate cell and the second candidate cell (Fig. 2, 222, [0019], [0031]-[0033], [0038]-[0039], [0046] disclosing the UE performs CHO measurements 222 to detect A3, A4 and A5 events in the NES specific CHO condition evaluation of NES mode of the source cell and the target cell).
Regarding claim 22, Cheng appears to disclose the network node of claim 20, wherein the one or more processors, to configure the UE to evaluate the performance effect, are individually or collectively configured to configure the UE to evaluate local information (Fig. 2, 222, [0046] measurements are local to the UE).
Regarding claim 24, Cheng appears to disclose the network node of claim 20, wherein the one or more processors are further individually or collectively configured to configure the UE to receive a configuration for a conditional lower-layer triggered mobility handover based, at least in part, on a layer 1 activation indication, a layer 2 activation indication, a layer 3 activation indication, a layer 1 deactivation indication, a layer 2 deactivation indication, or a layer 3 deactivation indication of cell discontinuous transmission/discontinuous reception (Fig. 2, 214, 216, 222, [0019], [0031]-[0033], [0038]-[0039], [0043]-[0046], [0051], [0085]).
Regarding claim 25, Cheng appears to disclose the network node of claim 20, wherein the triggering condition is associated with one of the source cell or one or more candidate cells including the target cell ([0019], [0031]-[0033], [0038]-[0039]).
Regarding claim 31, Cheng appears to disclose the UE of claim 1, wherein the signal includes a current DTX/DRX configuration for each of the plurality of candidate cells upon the first candidate cell adopting the dynamic DTX/DRX configuration ([0036] disclosing the gNB configures the UE with an indication of whether the target cell in in the NES mode; [0031] an indication is received that the source node has changed NES mode and performs CHO based on the NES mode of the source cell and NES mode of the target cells (e.g., the indication is an implicit indication that the target cell is in the NES mode previously configured).
Regarding claim 32, Cheng appears to disclose the network node of claim 20, wherein the signal includes a current DTX/DRX configuration for each of the plurality of candidate cells upon the first candidate cell adopting the dynamic DTX/DRX configuration ([0036] disclosing the gNB configures the UE with an indication of whether the target cell in in the NES mode; [0031] an indication is received that the source node has changed NES mode and performs CHO based on the NES mode of the source cell and NES mode of the target cells (e.g., the indication is an implicit indication that the target cell is in the NES mode previously configured).
Regarding claims 26, 28-29 and 33, the claims are directed towards the method of wireless communication performed by the user equipment (UE) of claims 1, 8-9 and 31. Accordingly, claims 26, 28-29 and 33 are rejected on the grounds presented above for claims 1, 8-9 and 31.
Regarding claims 30 and 34, the claims are directed towards the method of wireless communication performed by the network node of claims 20 and 32. Accordingly, claims 30 and 34 are rejected on the grounds presented above for claim 20 and 32.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 31 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant doesn’t concede that the reference of record Cheng “describes cells with the claimed DTX/DRX configuration because cells detailed in CHENG may be in network energy saving (NES) mode or not in NES mode” and argues that Cheng is “silent with respect to a dynamic NES configuration for the candidate cells. Indeed, because CHENG fails to teach a dynamic DTX/DRX configuration, it also cannot disclose that a signal is received indicating a candidate cell adopting a dynamic DTX/DRX configuration.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Cheng provides a prima facie showing of a signal indicating dynamic DTX/DRX. On its face, Cheng appears to disclose conditional handover (CHO) techniques related to network energy saving (NES) mode comprising cell discontinuous transmission (DTX) and/or discontinuous reception(DRX) ([0016]-[0017]). Further, Cheng appears to disclose, dynamically changing the NES mode to/from DTX in the disclosure of, “a CHO enhancement solution based on an NES mode of both the source cell and the target cell…UE...may switch to an NES specific CHO condition upon detection of the source cell in an NES mode. Instead of ( or in addition to) explicit UE group common Ll/L2 signaling, other implicit indication(s) of source cell NES mode change” ([0031]).
Applicant argues Cheng, “describes a handover technique where a target cell is chosen based on whether it is in NES mode or not in NES mode…. [and] does not contemplate choosing from a plurality of cells for handover based on whether the cells have a dynamic DTX/DRX configuration or not.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. Cheng appears to disclose such a scenario in that the UEs are configured by the gNB with the NES mode of the target cells ([0036]) and the NES specific CHO evaluation tales place upon detection of the source cell dynamically changing NES mode against the previously configured NES mode (i.e. unchanged NES mode) of the target cells ([0031] considering the NES mode of the source cell and the NES mode of the target cell upon the change of the source cell’s NES mode).
Accordingly, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Uemera et al. (WO 2024/209611 A1), Jung et al (KR 20240126195 A).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH A BEDNASH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461