DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/05/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/24/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 05/10/2023. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-8, 12, 18, 22-25, 27, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0235725).
As per claim 1, Lim et al. teach an apparatus for wireless communication at a station, comprising:
a processor; and memory coupled to the processor, the processor and memory operable to cause the apparatus [Lim, fig, 1, ¶ 0039, “A first device 100 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and may additionally include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108. A processor 102 may control a memory 104 and/or a transceiver 106 and may be configured to implement description, functions, procedures, proposals, methods and/or operation flow charts disclosed in the present disclosure”, The first device may implement 802.11 as a STA (see also ¶ 0036) and contains a processor (see element 102), a memory (see element 104), and a transceiver (see element 106) to perform the disclosed functions.] to:
activate a duplicate data packet mode [Lim, fig. 14, ¶ 0213, “In step S1410, the STA may receive information related to whether the DUP mode is supported from the AP”, The STA receives information whether a packet duplication (DUP) mode should be activated (see ¶s 0214 and 0215). Enhanced DUP mode (see ¶s 0193 and 0197) supports high reliability transmissions (see ¶ 0206).];
receive a first data frame and a second data frame, the second data frame comprising a duplicate of the first data frame upon activation of a duplicate data packet mode [Lim, ¶ 0216, “In step S1420, the STA may perform PPDU transmission and reception based on whether the DUP mode is supported”, Once DUP mode is enabled, the STAS may receive duplicated EHT PPDU transmissions (see fig. 13, ¶s 0136, 0137). PPDU may be used for transmission of data frames (see ¶ 0177).];
decode, using at least one decoder from among a plurality of decoders of the station in accordance with the duplicate data packet mode, the first data frame and the second data frame [Lim, ¶ 0045, “For example, an example of an operation of generating a transmission/reception signal or performing data processing or calculation in advance for the transmission/reception signal may include 1) Determining/acquiring/configuring/calculating/decoding/encoding bit information of fields (signal (SIG), short training field (STF), long training field (LTF), Data, etc.) included in the PPDU”, The operations of STA include decoding of received transmissions (or PPDUs), where the decoding is performed by a processor (see element 102).]; and
transmit, associated at least in part with the decoding, a feedback message responsive to at least a portion of the first data frame, the second data frame, or both [Lim, ¶ 0045, “5) Operations related to ACK signal determination/acquisition/configuration/calculation/decoding/encoding”, The operations of STA include determining ACK (or feedback signals) based on a received data frame, where the determination is performed by a processor (see element 102). An ACK signal would then be transmitted by the transceiver.].
As per claim 2, Lim et a. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor and memory are further operable to cause the apparatus to: activate a non-high throughput duplicate data packet mode, the first data frame and the second data frame comprising non-high throughput physical layer protocol data units in accordance with the non-high throughput duplicate data packet mode [Lim, ¶ 0195, “This EHT DUP transmission is distinguished from non-HT duplicate transmission”, PPDIs sent under DUP mode are non-high throughput.].
As per claim 6, Lim et a. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor and memory are further operable to cause the apparatus to: exchange, in accordance with a duplicate mode negotiation procedure, one or more frames that are configured to enable or disable the duplicate data packet mode, the one or more frames comprising control frames or management frames [Lim, ¶ 0214, “The information related to whether the DUP mode is supported may be included in the same one frame with puncturing related information for one or more frequency units within the BSS bandwidth. For example, one frame may be a beacon frame. For example, the information related to whether the DUP mode is supported and information related to puncturing may be included in an operation element”, A beacon frame may be used to indicate DUP mode.]; and activate the duplicate data packet mode associated at least in part with the one or more frames [Lim, ¶ 0216, “In step S1420, the STA may perform PPDU transmission and reception based on whether the DUP mode is supported”, Once DUP mode is enabled, the STAS may receive duplicated EHT PPDU transmissions (see fig. 13, ¶s 0136, 0137). PPDU may be used for transmission of data frames (see ¶ 0177).].
As per claim 7, Lim et a. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor and memory are further operable to cause the apparatus to: receive, via a physical layer header included in the second data frame, one or more bits that indicate the second data frame is the duplicate of the first data frame in accordance with the duplicate data packet mode [Lim, ¶ 0159, “U-SIG may be constructed in units of 20 MHz. For example, if an 80 MHz PPDU is constructed, the U-SIG may be duplicated. That is, the same 4 U-SIGs may be included in the 80 MHz PPDU. PPDUs exceeding 80 MHz bandwidth may include different U-SIGs”, The U-SIG field contains duplicated bits to indicate a duplicated PPDU.].
As per claim 8, Lim et a. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor and memory are further operable to cause the apparatus to: activate, upon activation of the duplicate data packet mode at the station, one or more auxiliary decoders of the plurality of decoders of the station [Lim, ¶ 0045, “For example, an example of an operation of generating a transmission/reception signal or performing data processing or calculation in advance for the transmission/reception signal may include 1) Determining/acquiring/configuring/calculating/decoding/encoding bit information of fields (signal (SIG), short training field (STF), long training field (LTF), Data, etc.) included in the PPDU”, The operations of STA include decoding of received transmissions (or PPDUs), where the decoding is performed by a processor (see element 102). It is readily understood that a terminal device contains multiple decoders that may be used simultaneously, especially if the device supports MIMO (see ¶ 0004).].
As per claim 12, Lim et a. teach the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the processor and memory are further operable to cause the apparatus to: decode the first data frame using a first decoder of the plurality of decoders of the station; and decode the second data frame using a second decoder of the plurality of decoders of the station [Lim, ¶ 0045, “For example, an example of an operation of generating a transmission/reception signal or performing data processing or calculation in advance for the transmission/reception signal may include 1) Determining/acquiring/configuring/calculating/decoding/encoding bit information of fields (signal (SIG), short training field (STF), long training field (LTF), Data, etc.) included in the PPDU”, The operations of STA include decoding of received transmissions (or PPDUs), where the decoding is performed by a processor (see element 102). It is readily understood that a terminal device contains multiple decoders that may be used simultaneously, especially if the device supports MIMO (see ¶ 0004).].
As per claim 18, Lim et al. teach an apparatus for wireless communication at an access point, comprising:
a processor; and memory coupled to the processor, the processor and memory operable to cause [Lim, fig, 1, ¶ 0040, “A second device 200 may include one or more processors 202 and one or more memories 204 and may additionally include one or more transceivers 206 and/or one or more antennas 208”, The second device may implement 802.11 as a AP (see also ¶ 0036) and contains a processor (see element 202), a memory (see element 204), and a transceiver (see element 206) to perform the disclosed functions.] the apparatus to:
receive a request to enable a duplicate data packet mode [Lim, ¶ 0223, “For example, through one management frame (e.g., beacon frame, probe response frame, (re)association response frame, etc.), the punctured frequency unit related information and the information indicating whether to support/apply the DUP mode may be provided together”, The probe request/response process may be used to request and indicate DUP mode enablement.];
transmit, associated at least in part with the request, signaling that enables the duplicate data packet mode [Lim, fig. 14, ¶ 0213, “In step S1410, the STA may receive information related to whether the DUP mode is supported from the AP”, The STA receives information whether a packet duplication (DUP) mode should be activated (see ¶s 0214 and 0215). Enhanced DUP mode (see ¶s 0193 and 0197) supports high reliability transmissions (see ¶ 0206). If the STA receives, the message was sent by the AP.];
transmit at least a first data frame, the first data frame comprising a duplicate of a second data frame in accordance with the duplicate data packet mode [Lim, ¶ 0216, “In step S1420, the STA may perform PPDU transmission and reception based on whether the DUP mode is supported”, Once DUP mode is enabled, the STAS may receive duplicated EHT PPDU transmissions (see fig. 13, ¶s 0136, 0137). PPDU may be used for transmission of data frames (see ¶ 0177). If the STA receives, the message was sent by the AP.]; and
receive a feedback message responsive to at least a portion of the first data frame, the second data frame, or both [Lim, ¶ 0045, “5) Operations related to ACK signal determination/acquisition/configuration/calculation/decoding/encoding”, The operations of STA include determining ACK (or feedback signals) based on a received data frame, where the determination is performed by a processor (see element 102). An ACK signal would then be transmitted by the transceiver. If the STA transmits, then the AP receives.].
As per claim 22, Lim et a. teach the apparatus of claim 18, wherein the processor and memory are further operable to cause the apparatus to: receive a second feedback message comprising a duplicate of the feedback message in accordance with the duplicate data packet mode [Lim, ¶ 0045, “5) Operations related to ACK signal determination/acquisition/configuration/calculation/decoding/encoding”, The operations of STA include determining ACK (or feedback signals) based on a received data frame, where the determination is performed by a processor (see element 102). An ACK signal would then be transmitted by the transceiver. If the STA transmits, then the AP receives.]; decode the feedback message using a first decoder of the access point; and decode the second feedback message using a second decoder of the access point [Lim, ¶ 0045, “For example, an example of an operation of generating a transmission/reception signal or performing data processing or calculation in advance for the transmission/reception signal may include 1) Determining/acquiring/configuring/calculating/decoding/encoding bit information of fields (signal (SIG), short training field (STF), long training field (LTF), Data, etc.) included in the PPDU”, The operations of STA include decoding of received transmissions (including ACKs), where the decoding is performed by a processor (see element 102). It is readily understood that a terminal device contains multiple decoders that may be used simultaneously, especially if the device supports MIMO (see ¶ 0004).].
As per claim 23, Lim et al. teach a method for wireless communication at a station, comprising:
activating a duplicate data packet mode [Lim, fig. 14, ¶ 0213, “In step S1410, the STA may receive information related to whether the DUP mode is supported from the AP”, The STA receives information whether a packet duplication (DUP) mode should be activated (see ¶s 0214 and 0215). Enhanced DUP mode (see ¶s 0193 and 0197) supports high reliability transmissions (see ¶ 0206).];
receiving a first data frame and a second data frame, the second data frame comprising a duplicate of the first data frame upon activation of a duplicate data packet mode [Lim, ¶ 0216, “In step S1420, the STA may perform PPDU transmission and reception based on whether the DUP mode is supported”, Once DUP mode is enabled, the STAS may receive duplicated EHT PPDU transmissions (see fig. 13, ¶s 0136, 0137). PPDU may be used for transmission of data frames (see ¶ 0177).];
decoding, using at least one decoder from among a plurality of decoders of the station in accordance with the duplicate data packet mode, the first data frame and the second data frame [Lim, ¶ 0045, “For example, an example of an operation of generating a transmission/reception signal or performing data processing or calculation in advance for the transmission/reception signal may include 1) Determining/acquiring/configuring/calculating/decoding/encoding bit information of fields (signal (SIG), short training field (STF), long training field (LTF), Data, etc.) included in the PPDU”, The operations of STA include decoding of received transmissions (or PPDUs), where the decoding is performed by a processor (see element 102).]; and
transmitting, associated at least in part with the decoding, a feedback message responsive to at least a portion of the first data frame, the second data frame, or both [Lim, ¶ 0045, “5) Operations related to ACK signal determination/acquisition/configuration/calculation/decoding/encoding”, The operations of STA include determining ACK (or feedback signals) based on a received data frame, where the determination is performed by a processor (see element 102). An ACK signal would then be transmitted by the transceiver.].
As per claim 24, Lim et a. teach the method of claim 23, further comprising: exchanging, in accordance with a duplicate mode negotiation procedure, one or more frames that are configured to enable or disable the duplicate data packet mode, the one or more frames comprising control frames or management frames[Lim, ¶ 0214, “The information related to whether the DUP mode is supported may be included in the same one frame with puncturing related information for one or more frequency units within the BSS bandwidth. For example, one frame may be a beacon frame. For example, the information related to whether the DUP mode is supported and information related to puncturing may be included in an operation element”, A beacon frame may be used to indicate DUP mode.]; and activating the duplicate data packet mode associated at least in part with the one or more frames [Lim, ¶ 0216, “In step S1420, the STA may perform PPDU transmission and reception based on whether the DUP mode is supported”, Once DUP mode is enabled, the STAS may receive duplicated EHT PPDU transmissions (see fig. 13, ¶s 0136, 0137). PPDU may be used for transmission of data frames (see ¶ 0177).].
As per claim 25, Lim et a. teach the method of claim 23, further comprising: receiving, via the second data frame, one or more bits that indicate the second data frame is the duplicate of the first data frame in accordance with the duplicate data packet mode [Lim, ¶ 0159, “U-SIG may be constructed in units of 20 MHz. For example, if an 80 MHz PPDU is constructed, the U-SIG may be duplicated. That is, the same 4 U-SIGs may be included in the 80 MHz PPDU. PPDUs exceeding 80 MHz bandwidth may include different U-SIGs”, The U-SIG field contains duplicated bits to indicate a duplicated PPDU.].
As per claim 27, Lim et al. teach a method for wireless communication at an access point, comprising:
receiving a request to enable a duplicate data packet mode [Lim, ¶ 0223, “For example, through one management frame (e.g., beacon frame, probe response frame, (re)association response frame, etc.), the punctured frequency unit related information and the information indicating whether to support/apply the DUP mode may be provided together”, The probe request/response process may be used to request and indicate DUP mode enablement.];
transmitting, associated at least in part with the request, signaling that enables the duplicate data packet mode [Lim, fig. 14, ¶ 0213, “In step S1410, the STA may receive information related to whether the DUP mode is supported from the AP”, The STA receives information whether a packet duplication (DUP) mode should be activated (see ¶s 0214 and 0215). Enhanced DUP mode (see ¶s 0193 and 0197) supports high reliability transmissions (see ¶ 0206). If the STA receives, the message was sent by the AP.];
transmitting at least a first data frame, the first data frame comprising a duplicate of a second data frame in accordance with the duplicate data packet mode [Lim, ¶ 0216, “In step S1420, the STA may perform PPDU transmission and reception based on whether the DUP mode is supported”, Once DUP mode is enabled, the STAS may receive duplicated EHT PPDU transmissions (see fig. 13, ¶s 0136, 0137). PPDU may be used for transmission of data frames (see ¶ 0177). If the STA receives, the message was sent by the AP.]; and
receiving a feedback message responsive to at least a portion of the first data frame, the second data frame, or both [Lim, ¶ 0045, “For example, an example of an operation of generating a transmission/reception signal or performing data processing or calculation in advance for the transmission/reception signal may include 1) Determining/acquiring/configuring/calculating/decoding/encoding bit information of fields (signal (SIG), short training field (STF), long training field (LTF), Data, etc.) included in the PPDU”, The operations of STA include decoding of received transmissions (or PPDUs), where the decoding is performed by a processor (see element 102).].
As per claim 28, Lim et a. teach the method of claim 27, wherein transmitting the signaling comprises: transmitting the signaling to enable a non-high throughput duplicate data packet mode, the first data frame and the second data frame comprising non-high throughput physical layer protocol data units in accordance with the non-high throughput duplicate data packet mode [Lim, ¶ 0195, “This EHT DUP transmission is distinguished from non-HT duplicate transmission”, PPDIs sent under DUP mode are non-high throughput.].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US PG Pub 2024/0235725) in view of Li et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0087449).
As per claim 3, Lim et a. teach the apparatus of claim 1. Lim et al. do not explicitly teach wherein the processor and memory are further operable to cause the apparatus to: activate an ultra-high reliability duplicate data packet mode, the first data frame and the second data frame comprising ultra-high reliability physical layer protocol data units in accordance with the duplicate data packet mode.
However, in an analogous art, Li et al. teach activate an ultra-high reliability duplicate data packet mode, the first data frame and the second data frame comprising ultra-high reliability physical layer protocol data units in accordance with the duplicate data packet mode [Li, ¶ 0046, “Referring to FIG. 3, there is shown a ultra-high reliability (UHR) extended range (ER) frame format”, The duplicate transmission method of Fig. 13 (see ¶s 0090-0094) may use the UHR ER PPDUs of fig. 3.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the EHR frame format of Li et al. into Lim et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because interchangeability between IEEE 802.11 formats is well known within the relevant art and modifies functionality with a reasonable expectation of success.
As per claim 29, Lim et a. teach the method of claim 27. Lim et al. do not explicitly teach wherein transmitting the signaling comprises: transmitting the signaling to enable an ultra-high reliability duplicate data packet mode, the first data frame and the second data frame comprising ultra-high reliability physical layer protocol data units in accordance with the duplicate data packet mode.
However, in an analogous art, Li et al. teach transmitting the signaling to enable an ultra-high reliability duplicate data packet mode, the first data frame and the second data frame comprising ultra-high reliability physical layer protocol data units in accordance with the duplicate data packet mode [Li, ¶ 0046, “Referring to FIG. 3, there is shown a ultra-high reliability (UHR) extended range (ER) frame format”, The duplicate transmission method of Fig. 13 (see ¶s 0090-0094) may use the UHR ER PPDUs of fig. 3.].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the EHR frame format of Li et al. into Lim et al. One would have been motivated to do this, because interchangeability between IEEE 802.11 formats is well known within the relevant art and modifies functionality with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 9-11, 13-17, 19-21, 26, and 30 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The reference, Gan et al. (WO 2024/051312), teaches UHR PPDU transmission.
The reference, Lim et al. (WO 2023/167499), teaches non-HT PPDU duplication.
The reference, Li et al. (US PG Pub 2023/0087499), teaches OFM signal duplication.
The reference, Liu et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0150015), teaches EHT duplication.
The reference, Suh et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0060941), teaches PPDU duplication.
The reference, Lim et al. (WO 2022/005166), teaches PPDU duplication.
The reference, Kim et al. (WO 2021/034155), teaches data duplication for reliable transmission.
The reference, Loehr et al. (US PG Pub 2020/0274654), teaches PPDU duplication for high reliability transmission.
/Paul H. Masur/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2417