DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-12, 14-16 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection over Greenan et al. US 2007/0244542 in view of Ferrera US 2004/0193246 and in view of Moloney US 2009/0259293. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection over Greenan et al. US 2007/0244542 in view of Moloney US 2009/0259293.
Greenan et al. US 2007/0244542 discloses a lateral side branch 205 of fixed length (paragraph 0005, although expanded initially, after deployment the stent graft is fixed in place, or providing a fixed length once deployed), and wherein said connection section integrally connects the lateral side branch tiltable-moveable relative to the main body (paragraph 0021, figure 3, integrally coupled to the main body at the branch opening aperture, paragraph 0056, flexible and articulatable characteristics of an elephant trunk and to accommodate a degree of misalignment or tiltable movement).
Greenan et al. discloses a connection section comprising only the first segment adjacent the main body, thereby providing an uncorrelated portion (figure 3), and a curved inner surface (at least partially curved inner surface of the connection pleat extending circumferentially around the opening connecting the main body, for example, figure 5D shows circular shape within fluid outlet 210-3, pleat at opposite end will also have this circular or curved inner surface shape).
Moloney further discloses that smooth surfaces of a connection section branch stent allow for less turbulent flow to prevent restenosis at the target bifurcated vessel (figures 1-3, paragraph 0030-0031, connection portion 110 of side branch 100), said connection section comprises a curved inner section shaped and finished to promote smooth blood flow to prevent clot formation (inner surfaces 116, 126, figure 1, paragraph 0030, 0031, resulting in a smooth, curved surface to promote smooth blood flow).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 disclose a “fixed length” in line 2. Claim 7 disclose a “fixed length” in line 2. Claim 13 disclose a “fixed length” in line 2. The language “fixed length” is unclear as the claims 1 and 7 and the specification (for example, paragraph 0039, 0084, 0085; stent is asymmetrical to collapsible in the middle to store in a folded to take up less space). The specification fails to disclose a side branch of a fixed length that is also collapsible.
Claim 1 discloses “the connection section comprises a curved inner surface shaped and finished to promote smooth blood flow to prevent clot formation at said connection section” on lines 6-8. Claim 7 discloses “the connection section comprises a curved inner surface shaped and finished to promote smooth blood flow to prevent clot formation” on lines 7-9. Claim 13 discloses “the connection section comprises a curved inner surface shaped and finished to promote smooth blood flow to prevent clot formation” on lines 7-9.
Examiner agrees the drawings show a curved inner surface. However, the language “shaped and finished to promote smooth flow” is not disclosed within the specification. Applicant points to paragraph [0157] of the present application for support for this amendment. However, paragraph [0157] discloses the covered stent may have more than one side branches and the “connection section 3a providing a degree of movement of branch 3. This improves long term stability and may contribute to prevent clot formation.” Examiner notes the specification does not mention smooth blood flow, but is instead discussing the degree of movement of the branch. Claims 2-4, 6, 8-10, 12, 14-16 and 18 are dependent upon claims 1, 7 or 13.
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 discloses the term “smooth” in line 7. Claim 7 discloses the term “smooth” in line 8. Claim 13 discloses the term “smooth” in line 8. The term “smooth” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “smooth” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The specification does not define what is considered “smooth” blood flow verses “not smooth” blood flow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12, 14-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenan et al. US 2007/0244542 in view of Ferrera US 2004/0193246 and in view of Moloney US 2009/0259293.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Greenan et al. discloses a covered stent (paragraph 0053, stent graft 200, figures 2, 3) comprising a lateral side branch 205 of fixed length (paragraph 0005, after deployment the stent graft is fixed in place or providing a fixed length) extending from a main body of the covered stent (paragraph 0055, figures 2, 3), said lateral side branch comprising a supporting frame (paragraphs 0004, radially expandable reinforcement structure formed from a plurality of annular stent rings), the supporting frame having a frame pattern for improved collapsibility of the stent (paragraph 0056, 0058, flexible and articulatable characteristics of an elephant trunk and to accommodate a degree of misalignment), and two halves such that the lateral side branch is collapsible in a middle region (for example, figures 4B, 4C, paragraph 0061, first half including 2063C, second half including 2063A; similarly, figures 5D-5F, branch shown collapsed throughout the branch including the middle region in figure 5F), and a connection section at least partly in the main body (see annotated figure 3 below, connection section of lateral side branch 205 and main body 200 coupled at aperture 210, paragraph 0021, 0055), configured to provide a degree of movement of said side branch (pleats or corrugations provide flexible, articulable, and axial compression properties to the branch graft, connection section being the first pleat section, figure 3, paragraph 0021, 0056, 0063), wherein said connection section integrally connects the lateral side branch tiltable-moveable relative to the main body (paragraph 0021, see annotated figure 3 below, integrally coupled to the main body at the branch opening aperture, paragraph 0056, flexible and articulatable characteristics of an elephant trunk and to accommodate a degree of misalignment or tiltable movement).
Greenan et al. discloses asymmetrical branches (for example, figure 5D, 5E) and a supporting frame (paragraphs 0004, 0056), but fails to explicitly disclose the supporting frame in the lateral side branch has a supporting frame pattern with an asymmetrical design for improved collapsibility of the stent, or the frame pattern of two halves such that the branch is collapsible in a middle region.
Ferrera teaches a stent having frame pattern with an asymmetrical design for improved collapsibility of the stent and allow for readjustments once positioned (paragraph 0085, figures 9A, 9B, struts are Z-folded, distorted or curved for collapsibility and elongation and to allow for position readjustments), the supporting frame having a frame pattern of two halves such that the branch is collapsible in a middle region (figures 9A, 9B, middle region at the Z-fold, distorted or curved region).
Greenan et al. discloses a connection section comprising only the first segment adjacent the main body, thereby providing an uncorrelated portion (figure 3), and a curved inner surface (at least partially curved inner surface of the connection pleat extending circumferentially around the opening connecting the main body, for example, figure 5D shows circular shape within fluid outlet 210-3, pleat at opposite end will also have this circular shape), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein said connection section comprises a curved inner section shaped and finished to promote smooth blood flow to prevent clot formation.
Moloney further discloses that smooth surfaces of a connection section branch stent allow for less turbulent flow to prevent restenosis at the target bifurcated vessel (figures 1-3, paragraph 0030-0031, connection portion 110 of side branch 100), said connection section comprises a curved inner section shaped and finished (116, 126, figure 1, paragraph 0030, 0031) to promote smooth blood flow to prevent clot formation (paragraph 0007, 0031), and further a sided branch stent 100 being further coated with a therapeutic agent to prevent stenosis such as an anticoagulant to prevent blood clotting and reduce the probability for undesired side effects such as restenosis (paragraph 0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Greenan et al. said connection section a curved inner section shaped and finished to promote smooth blood flow, as taught by Moloney, to prevent clot formation and reduce the probability for undesired side effects such as restenosis.
Regarding claims 2, 8, and 14, Greenan et al. in combination discloses a covered stent essentially as claimed as discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose the supporting frame being made of nitinol.
Ferrera teaches a supporting frame pattern being made of nitinol to allow for superelastic properties or shape memory (paragraph 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the frame to be made of nitinol, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 3, 9, and 15, Greenan et al. in combination discloses a covered stent essentially as claimed as discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose the supporting frame being a laser cut structure.
Ferrera teaches a supporting frame pattern being laser cut structure (paragraph 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Greenan et al. with a laser cut structure, as taught by Ferrera, as it is known in the art to laser cut stent structures to provide the frame configuration as desired. Examiner additionally notes that “[E]ven though product‑by‑process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product‑by‑process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process”, In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Furthermore, “although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product”, In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir.1983). See MPEP 2113.2.
Regarding claims 4, 10, and 16, Greenan et al. in combination discloses a covered stent (paragraph 0053, stent graft 200, figures 2, 3) comprising a lateral side branch 205 extending from a main body of the stent (paragraph 0055, figures 2, 3), a supporting frame in the lateral side branch (reinforced structure, paragraph 0004) as discussed above, but fails to explicitly disclose the stent or frame pattern has a region without a supporting frame.
Ferrera teaches wherein the pattern or stent has a region without a supporting frame to allow for collapsibility or expansion for readjustments (paragraph 0085, figure 9B, collapsible portion allows for an additional empty space between the rings).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Greenan et al. with a pattern without a supporting frame, as taught by Ferrera, to frame to allow for collapsibility or expansion of that portion of the stent graft as required for adjustability.
Regarding claims 6, 12 and 18, Greenan et al. discloses wherein the lateral side branch comprises a connection point configured to connect a guiding element (paragraph 0022, guiding elements or bare spring elements maybe connected at a connection point to the graft material of the main body or the lateral branch graft).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Greenan et al. US 2007/0244542 in view of Moloney US 2009/0259293.
Regarding claim 13, Greenan et al. discloses a covered stent (paragraph 0053, stent graft 200, figures 2, 3) comprising a lateral side branch 205 of fixed length (paragraph 0005, after deployment the stent graft is fixed in place or providing a fixed length) extending from a main body of the covered stent (paragraph 0055, figures 2, 3), said lateral side branch comprising a supporting frame or a supporting frame in the lateral side branch (paragraphs 0004, radially expandable reinforcement structure formed from a plurality of annular stent rings), the covered stent 200 has a region without the supporting frame (figures 2, 3, paragraph 0055, main body has opening or aperture 210 to receive side branch, aperture does not have a supporting frame within), and a connection section positioned on the main body (see annotated figure 3 below, connection section of lateral side branch 205 and main body 200 coupled at aperture 210, paragraph 0021, 0055), configured to provide a degree of movement of said side branch (pleats or corrugations provide flexible, articulable, and axial compression properties to the branch graft, connection section being the first pleat section, figure 3, paragraph 0021, 0056, 0063), wherein said connection section integrally connects the lateral side branch tiltable-moveable relative to the main body (paragraph 0021, see annotated figure 3 below, integrally coupled to the main body at the branch opening aperture, paragraph 0056, flexible and articulatable characteristics of an elephant trunk and to accommodate a degree of misalignment or tiltable movement).
Greenan et al. discloses a connection section comprising only the first segment adjacent the main body, thereby providing an uncorrelated portion (figure 3), and a curved inner surface (at least partially curved inner surface of the connection pleat extending circumferentially around the opening connecting the main body, for example, figure 5D shows circular shape within fluid outlet 210-3, pleat at opposite end will also have this circular shape), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein said connection section comprises a curved inner section shaped and finished to promote smooth blood flow to prevent clot formation.
Moloney further discloses that smooth surfaces of a connection section branch stent allow for less turbulent flow to prevent restenosis at the target bifurcated vessel (figures 1-3, paragraph 0030-0031, connection portion 110 of side branch 100), said connection section comprises a curved inner section shaped and finished (116, 126, figure 1, paragraph 0030, 0031) to promote smooth blood flow to prevent clot formation (paragraph 0007, 0031), and further a sided branch stent 100 being further coated with a therapeutic agent to prevent stenosis such as an anticoagulant to prevent blood clotting and reduce the probability for undesired side effects such as restenosis (paragraph 0043).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Greenan et al. said connection section a curved inner section shaped and finished to promote smooth blood flow, as taught by Moloney, to prevent clot formation and reduce the probability for undesired side effects such as restenosis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/DARWIN P EREZO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771