Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant’s argument for 101, applicant argues in page 14 “
For at least the reasons indicated by the Examiner during the interview and without
acquiescing in the rejection, the amended independent claims, and the claims that depend
thereon, are patent-eligible under 35 U.S.C. § 101.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner reconsider and withdraw
this rejection.” However it was explained to applicant that the independent claims lack specificity to how the hash table and hash values are generated to allow the system to generate a corresponding resource availability value. Further it was explained to applicant that processing data with a model does not provide a specific method of training. The applicant was explained in the last office action the abstract ideas contained in the independent. The arguments presented by the applicant are not convincing and moot based on the amended limitations that have not been examined.
(Examiner Note: The proposed amendments fail to provide any specificity to how the hash table is generated and how the values are used as categories as explain in the specification paragraph [024] and [025]. Applicant could provide a practical application by providing how the system determines if a user is decline for credit as explain in paragraph 032.)
Regarding applicant’s argument for 103, applicant argues in page 15 “For at least the reasons agreed to during the interview and without acquiescing in the rejection, the cited sections of the applied references, whether taken alone or in any reasonable combination, do not disclose one or more features recited in the amended independent claims. Therefore, the amended independent claims and the claims that depend thereon are patentable over the cited sections of the applied references, whether taken alone or in any reasonable combination.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the Examiner reconsider and withdraw
this rejection.” Applicant argues that during the interview it was mentioned that the limitations in the independent claims in the propose amendments overcome the applied references. However applicant was told that prior art cited would have be further considered and that further specifying the limitations based on the specification could help in overcoming the prior art (See. Interview Summary dated 5/22/2026). Applicant’s arguments are moot and not convincing because they are directed to subject matter not previously examined in the newly amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1,2, 4-10, 11,12, and 14-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) significantly more. The subject matter eligibility test for products and process is describe below for claim 1 and 2 in view of dependent claims.
Regarding claim 1:
Step 1: Is the claim to a process machine manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes – Claim 1 recites a system, and a system falls within the statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes – The claim recites the following:
“using values for the first set of features from the first plurality of user profiles and the corresponding plurality of resource availability values, training a first machine learning model to determine resource availability for a user system,” - The limitations recites a mental process of determining resource availability for user system (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III).
“processing, using one or more filtering criteria, the explainability vector, to select a subset of features, from the first set of features by removing one or more features of the explainability vector based on a threshold;”- The limitation recites a mental process of selecting the processing using a filtering criteria by removing one or more features based on threshold (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III).
“generating a set of categories based on the subset of features, wherein each category in the set of categories corresponds to one or more textual prediction explanations for the output of the first machine learning model;” - The limitation recites a mental process of generating categories of the subset of features (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III).
“generating a hash table, including the set of categories, that is indexable using [[a]] the hash value generated based on values for the subset of features for a user system;” - The limitation recites a mathematical process of generating a hash table with hash values (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III).
Step 2 Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a particular application? No –
The claim includes the additional element(s):
“A system one or more processors; and one or more non-transitory, computer-readable media comprising instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause operations comprising: receiving, for a first plurality of user systems, a first plurality of user profiles and a corresponding plurality of resource availability values, wherein each user profile includes values for a first set of features;”
The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to run the instruction to operate the system. See Mere Instructions to Apply an Exemption (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements fall under Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity as mere data gathering by receiving data from user systems. See MPEP 2106.5(g).
“using values for the first set of features from the first plurality of user profiles and the corresponding plurality of resource availability values, training a first machine learning model to determine resource availability for a user system,”
The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to train a first machine learning model to determine resource availability for a user system. See Mere Instructions to Apply an Exemption (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“processing the first machine learning model to extract an explainability vector, wherein each entry in the explainability vector corresponds to a feature in the first set of features and is indicative of a correlation between the feature and the output of the first machine learning model;”
The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to extract the explainability vector (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“training, on supervised training data from applications of the system or a loss function capturing a distance from a center of a hash value range of a category of the set of categories, an associative model to assign a hash value based on inputting a vector of values for the subset of features, an approximate signature corresponding to a user profile processed using the first machine learning model to generate a corresponding resource availability value, and a measure of similarity between the approximate signature and other approximate signatures;”
The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to train the method using supervised training data (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“for [[a]] user profile ”
The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to use a machine learning model to generate resource availability value and transmit the notification to a user that has the textual prediction using the hash table (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No - The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to a significantly more than the judicial exemption. As an order whole, the claim is directed to collecting information to generate an explanation to a user. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of generating, training, receiving and transmitting fall under using generic computer to apply an exemption and mere data gathering. The method does not improve on the function of a computer, transforms an article into another article, nor is it applied by a particular machine, making the claim not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 2:
Step 1: Is the claim to a process machine manufacture or composition of matter?
Yes – Claim 1 recites a method, and a method falls within one of the of the four categories eligible subject matter.
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes – The claim recites the following:
“by removing one or more features in the explainability vector ”- The limitation recites a mental process of selecting the first set of features a subset of features above a threshold (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III).
“generating a set of categories based on the subset of features, wherein each category in the set of categories corresponds to one or more textual prediction explanations for the output of the first machine learning model;” - The limitation recites a mental process of generating categories of the subset of features (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III).
“generating a hash table including the set of categories, wherein the hash table is indexable using a hash value assigned by an associative model that is trained to correlate the hash value with a category in the set of categories based on values for the subset of features ” - The limitation recites a mathematical process of generating a hash table with hash values by correlating the hash values to a category (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III).
Step 2 Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a particular application? No –
The claim includes the additional element(s):
“A method ”
The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to generate textual prediction explanations. See Mere Instructions to Apply an Exemption (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements fall under Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity as mere data gathering by receiving data from user systems. See MPEP 2106.5(g).
“processing a first machine learning model to extract an explainability vector, wherein the first machine learning model receives as input values for the first set of features and generates as output a corresponding resource availability value;”
The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to extract the explainability vector (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
“and for a user profile processed using the first machine learning model to generate a corresponding resource availability value, transmitting to a user system corresponding to the user profile a notification comprising a textual prediction explanation retrieved from the hash table using a ”
The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to use a machine learning model to generate resource availability value and transmit the a notification to a user that has the textual prediction using the hash table (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Step 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
No - The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to a significantly more than the judicial exemption. As an order whole, the claim is directed to collecting information to generate an explanation to a user. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of generating, receiving and transmitting fall under using generic computer to apply an exemption and mere data gathering. The method does not improve on the function of a computer, transforms an article into another article, nor is it applied by a particular machine, making the claim not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 4:
Step 2A Prong 2, Step 2B: The additional element(s):
“The method of claim [[3]] 2, further comprising: ”
The additional elements fall under Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity as mere data gathering by retrieving the set of categories. See MPEP 2106.5(g).
Regarding claim 5:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes – The claim recites the following:
“selecting an attribution technique based on the first set of parameters and the first plurality of user profiles; and”- The limitation recites a mental process of selecting an attribution technique based on the first set of parameters (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III).
Step 2A Prong 2, Step 2B: The additional element(s):
“The method of claim 2, wherein processing the first machine learning model to extract the explainability vector comprises: retrieving a first set of parameters for the first machine learning model;”
The additional elements fall under Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity as mere data gathering by retrieving data from user systems. See MPEP 2106.5(g).
“applying the attribution technique to the first set of parameters to generate the explainability vector corresponding to the first set of features.”
“The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to apply the attribution technique to the first set of parameters to generate the explainability vector (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).”
Regarding claim 6:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes – The claim recites the following:
“calculating a threshold for removing features of the explainability vector;”- The limitation recites a mathematical process of calculating a threshold for removing a feature (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)I).
“applying a mathematical transformation to the explainability vector such that values corresponding to the one or more features are adjusted” - The limitation recites a mathematical process of apply a mathematical transformation (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)I).
Step 2A Prong 2, Step 2B: The additional element(s):
“The method of claim [[5]] 2, wherein selecting [[a]] the subset of features the one or more features are to be removed from consideration or that impact of the one or more features be reduced;”
“The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to receive a user request to remove a feature form consideration or reducing the impact of a features (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).”
Regarding claim 7:
Step 2A Prong 2, Step 2B: The additional element(s):
“The method of claim 5, wherein: the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a matrix of weights for a multivariate regression algorithm; and the attribution technique ”
The additional elements fall under Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity as making the attribution method a Shapley Additive Explanation method. See MPEP 2106.5(g).
Regarding claim 8:
Step 2A Prong 2, Step 2B: The additional element(s):
“The method of claim 5, wherein: the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a matrix of weights for a supervised classifier algorithm; and the attribution technique ”
The additional elements fall under Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity as making the attribution method a Local Interpretable Model-agnostic Explanations method. See MPEP 2106.5(g).
Regarding claim 9:
Step 2A Prong 2, Step 2B: The additional element(s):
“The method of claim 5, wherein: the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a matrix of weights for a convolutional neural network algorithm; and the attribution technique ”
The additional elements fall under Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity as making the attribution method a Gradient Class Activation Mapping method. See MPEP 2106.5(g).
Regarding claim 10:
Step 2A Prong 2, Step 2B: The additional element(s):
“The method of claim 5, wherein: the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a hyperplane matrix for a support vector machine algorithm; and the attribution technique
The additional elements fall under Insignificant Extra-Solution Activity as making the attribution method a counterfactual explanation method. See MPEP 2106.5(g).
Claims 11 and 14-20 recite a computer readable medium product and are analogous to the method of claims 2 and 5-10. Therefore, the rejections of claim 2 and 4-10 above applies to claims 11 and 15-20.
Regarding claim 12:
Step 2A Prong 1: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
Yes – The claim recites the following:
“ removing one or more features in the explainability vector.- The limitation recites a mental process of selecting an attribution technique based on the first set of parameters (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)III).
Step 2A Prong 2, Step 2B: The additional element(s):
“The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 11, wherein the operations further comprise: processing a first machine learning model to extract an explainability vector, wherein the first machine learning model receives as input values for the first set of features and generates as output a corresponding resource availability value; and”
The additional elements fall under “apply it” as using a generic computer to use a machine learning model to tract an explainability vector (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action.
Regarding claim 1, the prior arts cited (US20190378210A1) (“Merrill”) in view of Nagarajan et al. (US11593677B1) “Nagarajan in the previous office action dated 3/06/2026 teaches the previous limitations.
However regarding the limitation training, on supervised training data from applications of the system or a loss function capturing a distance from a center of a hash value range of a category of the set of categories, an associative model to assign a hash value based on inputting a vector of values for the subset of features, an approximate signature corresponding to a user profile processed using the first machine learning model to generate a corresponding resource availability value, and a measure of similarity between the approximate signature and other approximate signatures;
Further Dema et al. (US20220383157A1) (“Dema”) teaches the following (Dema para 0017 line 1-12, The system 100 for interpreting the predictions of the black-box model 102 further includes a learning algorithm 122 that determines the structure and/or adjustable parameters, including in particular feature weights 124, of the surrogate model 104 in a supervised manner based on the training data of input feature vectors 110 and associated black-box predictions 120. This process generally involves iteratively minimizing a cost or loss function that measures the discrepancy between the surrogate predictions 112 generated from the feature vectors 110 by the surrogate model 104 and the black-box predictions 120 for those feature vectors 110, which serve as the labels [training, on supervised training data from applications of the system].
Para 0021 line 1-8, This allows sorting the feature vectors 106 into "buckets" of similar feature vectors 106 based on their hashes. As shown, pairs of feature vectors 106 and their associated black-box predictions 108 are stored in (volatile or non-volatile) computer memory (e.g., in locations 204, 205, 206), bucketized by similarity based on the hash values 202 computed from the feature vectors 106.
Para 0022 line 1-11, With reference to FIG. 2B, when the local neighborhood generator 116 receives a feature vector of interest 118 associated with a black-box prediction 114 for which an interpretation is sought, it passes the feature vector 118 to the fuzzy hash algorithm 200, which computes from the feature vector of interest 118, with the one or more hash functions, a set of one or more hash values 210. The local neighborhood generator 116 then uses the returned hash value(s) 210 to look up feature vectors 106 and predictions 108 that share the hash value(s) 210 with the feature vector of interest 118 [an associative model to assign a hash value based on inputting a vector of values for the subset of features].
Para 0022 line 22-34, The specified minimum number of buckets depends on the desired degree of similarity between the retrieved feature vectors 106 and the feature vector of interest 118. For example, in selecting the set of feature vectors 110 of the training set for the surrogate model 104, the local neighborhood generator may use all features 106 that share at least one hash value 202, 210 with the feature vector of interest 118; or only feature vectors that share at least two hash values 202, 210 with the feature vector of interest 118, reflecting a greater degree of similarity; or feature vectors that share all hash values 202, 210 with the feature vector of interest 118, reflecting the greatest degree of similarity captured in the hashes [and a measure of similarity between the approximate signature and other approximate signatures;].)
However Merrill, Nagarajan, and Dema fail to teach “an approximate signature corresponding to a user profile processed using the first machine learning model to generate a corresponding resource availability value, and a measure of similarity between the approximate signature and other approximate signatures;” as recited in claim 1, in combination with the remaining features and elements of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrill et al. (US20190378210A1) (“Merrill”) in view of Nagarajan et al. (US11593677B1) “Nagarajan”.
Regarding claim 2 and analogous claim 11, Merrill teaches a method
processing a first machine learning model to extract an explainability vector, wherein the first machine learning model receives as input values for the first set of features and generates as output a corresponding resource availability value (Merill para 0030, In some embodiments, the model evaluation and explanation system (e.g., 120 of FIGS. 1A and 1B) uses a non-differentiable model decomposition module (e.g., 121) to decompose scores generated by a model by computing at least one SHAP (SHapley Additive exPlanation) value [processing the first machine learning model]. In some embodiments, decomposing scores includes: for each feature of a test data point, generating a difference value, the difference value for the test data point relative to a corresponding reference data point, the difference value being the decomposition value for the feature. In some embodiments, generating a difference value for a feature includes: computing a SHAP value (as described herein) of the nondifferentiable model for the test data point and computing a SHAP value of the non-differentiable model for the corresponding reference data point, and subtracting the SHAP value for the reference data point from the SHAP value for the test data point to produce the difference value for the feature. In some embodiments, the score decomposition functions as explanation information for the model that explains the score for the test data point (generated by the model, or ensemble) in terms of the score for the reference data point (also generated by the model, or ensemble). In some embodiments, the decomposition is used to generate explanation information for the model. In some embodiments, these decompositions are generated for plural pairs of test data points and corresponding reference data points, and the decompositions are used to explain the model. In this manner, SHAP attributions for a single test data point are transformed into reference-based attributions to the test data point in terms of the reference data point
Para 0086, In some embodiments, each decomposition generated by the method 200 (e.g., at S230, S240, S250) is a vector of decomposition values d, for each feature used by the respective model. In some embodiments, each nondifferentiable decomposition value (generated at S230) is a difference between a SHAP (SHapley Additive exPlanation) value for a test data point ( e.g., a test data point representing a credit applicant, a test data point at a first point in time, etc.) of the test population and a SHAP value for a reference data point of the reference population (e.g., a reference data point representing an accepted credit applicant, a reference data point at a second point in time). [to extract an explainability vector].
para 0043, In some embodiments, the non-differentiable model decomposition module estimates E[f(x)lxs] by executing machine-executable instructions that implement the procedure (Procedure 1) shown in FIG. 6, wherein vis a vector of node value, which takes the value internal for internal nodes; the vectors a and b represent the left and right node indexed for each internal node; the vector t contains thresholds for each internal node, and dis a vector of indexes of the features used for splitting in internal nodes; the vector r represent the cover of each node (e.g., how many data samples fall in that sub-tree); the weight w measures what proportion of the training samples matching the conditioning set S fall into each leaf.
In some embodiments, each decomposition generated by the method 200 is a vector of decomposition values d, for each feature [wherein each entry in the explainability vector corresponds to a feature in the first set of features].
para 131, In some embodiments, the model evaluation system uses a decomposition generated for a model score ( e.g., at one or more of S230, S240, S250) to generate feature importance information and provide the generated feature importance information to the operator device 171. Feature importance is the application wherein a feature's importance is quantified with respect to a model. A feature may have significant or marginal impact, and it could hurt or harm how a model will score. Features may be colinear and interact and any feature importance application takes into account interactions and colinearities. The present disclosure describes such a method [and is indicative of a correlation between the feature and the output of the first machine learning model;]);
by removing one or more features in the explainability vector (Fig 2 S230,
Para 0181 line 1-12, S271 can include: the model evaluation system generating model score explanation information for the evaluation input data set (test data point selected at S220) based on at least one decomposition generated by the method 200 (e.g, at S230, S240, S250) [processing] [the explainability vector]. In some embodiments, the model evaluation system generating model score explanation information for the evaluation input data set based on the decomposition includes: generating a lookup key by using the decomposition for the ensemble model score, and performing a data lookup by using the lookup key to retrieve the model score explanation information for the evaluation input data set.
para 0190 line 1-3, S272 can include identifying features having decomposition values (in the generated decompositions) above a threshold.
Para 192 line 12-20, In some embodiments an identified feature [from the first set of features] is determined permissible based on leaving the feature out, retraining the model, and determining its impact on the approval rate for a protected class [in by removing one or more features of the explainability vector]. In other embodiments the determination is based on an approval rate difference threshold or other tunable parameters [based on a threshold] [using one or more filtering criteria]. In some embodiments, the method 200 includes displaying partial dependence plots for identified variables, heat maps, and other visualizations on a display device of an operator device (e.g., 171).)
Para 0200, In some embodiments, decomposition-based methods disclosed herein leverage the notion of explainability by reference, e.g., a test data point ( or a group of test data points) ( e.g., representing a person, test, sample, etc.) can be explained in terms of a reference data point ( or group of reference data points). For example, at S230 and S240 of FIG. 2, a decomposition if generated for a test population relative to the reference population, and such a decomposition is an explanation of the test population in terms of the reference population ( e.g., explainability of for the test population by reference to the reference population) [the explainability vector]);
[generating a set of categories based on the subset of features,] wherein each category in the set of categories corresponds to one or more textual prediction explanations for the output of the first machine learning model (Merill para 0080, In some embodiments, S270 includes generating explanation information for a plurality of test data points (represented of a test population, e.g., a protected class) relative to the reference population (e.g., fairness information, Disparate Impact information, as described herein) by using at least one decomposition generated by the method 200, as described herein (S272).
Para 0154 line 6-9, In other embodiments, the union of multiple protected and/or non-protected classes comprises the test and/or reference sets (e.g., all African American and Hispanic applicants comprise the test set). [wherein each category in the set of categories].
Para 272, S272 can include identifying features having decomposition values (in the generated decompositions) above a threshold. In some embodiments, the method 200 includes providing the identified features to an operator device (e.g., 171) via a network. In some embodiments, the method 200 includes displaying the identified features on a display device of an operator device (e.g., 171). In other embodiments, the method 20 includes displaying natural language explanations generated based on the decomposition described above [corresponds to one or more textual prediction explanations for the output of the first machine learning model;].);
generating a hash table including the set of categories, wherein the hash table is indexable using a hash value (Merrill Para 00124, In some embodiments, S230 includes: for each input data set (reference data point) of the reference population, using the non-differentiable model decomposition module to, for each input data set (reference data point) of the reference population, generate a decomposition of the evaluation input data set (x) (test data point) relative to the reference data point; … In some embodiments features with categorical values are encoded as numerics using a suitable method such as one-hot encoding or another mapping specified by the modeler.
Para 0181, S271 can include: the model evaluation system generating model score explanation information for the evaluation input data set (test data point selected at S220) based on at least one decomposition generated by the method 200 (e.g, at S230, S240, S250). In some embodiments, the model evaluation system generating model score explanation information for the evaluation input data set based on the decomposition includes: generating a lookup key by using the decomposition for the ensemble model score, and performing a data lookup by using the lookup key to retrieve the model score explanation information for the evaluation input data set. In some embodiments, the lookup is a database lookup. In some embodiments, the lookup is a hash table lookup [generating a hash table including the set of categories].
Para 0199 line 20-30, S271 can include using the decomposition of test data point relative to the reference population ( or observation that represents the reference population) to generate explanation information that explains how the model generated the score for the test data point. This explanation information can be used to generate an Adverse Action notice, as described herein. S271 can include providing the generated model score explanation information for the test data point to an external system ( e.g., an operator device, a user device, an applicant device, a modeling system, and the like) (Examiner Note: Hash tables are indexable by hash values as such at S271 the explanation includes categories in the lookup.));
[for a user profile processed using the first machine learning model to generate a corresponding resource availability value, transmitting, to a user system corresponding to the user profile,] a notification comprising a textual prediction explanation retrieved from the hash table using [[a]] the hash value (Merrill para 0132, In some embodiments, the model evaluation system uses a decomposition generated for a model score to generate adverse action information (e.g., at S271) (as described herein) and provide the generated adverse action information to the operator device 171.
Para 0181, S271 can include: the model evaluation system generating model score explanation information for the evaluation input data set (test data point selected at S220) based on at least one decomposition generated by the method 200 (e.g, at S230, S240, S250). In some embodiments, the model evaluation system generating model score explanation information for the evaluation input data set based on the decomposition includes: generating a lookup key by using the decomposition for the ensemble model score, and performing a data lookup by using the lookup key to retrieve the model score explanation information for the evaluation input data set [a notification comprising a textual prediction explanation retrieved from the hash table using [[a]] the hash value].
Para 198 Adverse Action
Para 0199, S271 can include functions generating explanation information for a test data point ( e.g., a test data point representing a credit applicant). The explanation information can include score explanation information that provides information that can be used to explain how a score was generated for the test data point.).).
Merrill does not explicitly teach receiving, for a first plurality of user systems, a first plurality of user profiles and a corresponding plurality of resource availability values, wherein each user profile includes values for a first set of features;
generating a set of categories based on the subset of features, [wherein each category in the set of categories corresponds to one or more textual prediction explanations for the output of the first machine learning model];
for a user profile processed using the first machine learning model to generate a corresponding resource availability value, transmitting, to a user system corresponding to the user profile, [a notification comprising a textual prediction explanation retrieved from the hash table using [[a]] the hash value
However Nagarajan teaches receiving, for a first plurality of user systems, a first plurality of user profiles and a corresponding plurality of resource availability values, wherein each user profile includes values for a first set of features (Nagarajan Col 7 line 5-12, FIG. 3 illustrates a swim lane diagram with examples of communications between a client computing device, an asset prediction system, and a user activity profile server, in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present disclosure. In some instances, a user operating client computing device 303 can send a request with personal identifiable or demographic data 307 of the user to the asset prediction system 100.
Col 8 Some examples of the user data that can be inputted to the asset prediction system 100 can include first name 501, last name 503, street address 505, zip code 507, city 509, state 511, identifiable information of a user social security number, for example, the last four digits of the user social security number 513, user total annual income 515, and user nontaxable income 517. In some instances, after a user has entered the information shown on graphical user interface 500, the user can press the button 519 to view preapproved and optimized assets or software objects. It is noted, that the asset prediction system 100 can produce the pre-approved and optimized asset or software object in real-time or near real-time.
Col 9 line 34-45, FIG. 7 depicts a block diagram of an example of the computer-based system 700, in accordance with one or more embodiments of the present disclosure. However, not all these components may be required to practice one or more embodiments, and variations in the arrangement and type of the components may be made without departing from the spirit or scope of various embodiments of the present disclosure. In some embodiments, the computing devices and/or the examples of computing components of the computer-based system 700 may be configured to manage large numbers of members and/or concurrent transactions or electronic activities, as detailed herein.
Col 9 line 52-65, In some embodiments, referring to FIG. 7, members 701, 703, and 705 ( e.g., clients) of the computer-based system 700 may include virtually any computing device capable of receiving and sending a message over a network ( e.g., cloud network), such as network 707, to and from another computing device, such as server implementing the asset prediction system 100, and an activity profile server 303 and the like. In some embodiments a server can implement the asset prediction system 100 discussed above with reference to FIG. 1. In some embodiments asset prediction system 100 can be part of a financial institution system, merchant system, online store system, or other suitable entity capable of registering historical data associated with a user, group of users and/or non-person entity [receiving, for a first plurality of user systems, a first plurality of user profiles and a corresponding plurality of resource availability values,].
Col 10 line 1-4, member devices 701, 703, and 705 can be used to submit (for example by user 711) personal identifiable information to the asset prediction system 100 and select an optimized software object [wherein each user profile includes values for a first set of features;]);
generating a set of categories based on the subset of features, [wherein each category in the set of categories corresponds to one or more textual prediction explanations for the output of the first machine learning model] (Nargrajan Col 4, line 49-62, In some embodiments, the categorization machine learning model can be implemented as a k-nearest neighbor machine learning model that predicts the classification of a first aspect of the user profile. For instance, the output of a k-nearest neighbor machine learning model can be a class membership. In some instances, a user profile or user 55 activity profile represented as data points can be classified by a plurality of votes of the neighboring data points, the activity profile or user profile can be then assigned to a class that has more commonalities among k-nearest neighbors. In some embodiments, the commonalities among k-nearest neighbors can be calculated, for example, by a distance metric such as an Euclidian distance, a Hemming distance, or other suitable type of distance metric [generating a set of categories based on the subset of features]);
for a user profile processed using the first machine learning model to generate a corresponding resource availability value, transmitting, to a user system corresponding to the user profile, [a notification comprising a textual prediction explanation retrieved from the hash table using [[a]] the hash value categorization machine learning model can use the user activity profile to produce a first aspect of a user profile [for a user profile processed using the first machine learning model].
Col 8 line 38-43, Such software objects can be optimized with respect to at least one competitive objective or interest between a user associated with the user profile and an entity associated with the software object. The asset prediction system 100 can then send a signal 409 to for example client computing device 303 discussed with reference to FIG. 3. Such a signal can include information for the user regarding more than one optimized software object developed specifically for the user. The asset prediction system 100 can then send a signal 409 to for example client computing device 303 discussed with reference to FIG. 3. Such a signal can include information for the user regarding more than one optimized software object developed specifically for the user.
Col 61-67, In some instances, after a user has entered the information shown on graphical user interface 500, the user can press the button 519 to view preapproved and optimized assets or software objects. It is noted, that the asset prediction system 100 can produce the pre-approved and optimized asset or software object in real-time or near real-time [to generate a corresponding resource availability value].).
Merrill and Nagarajan are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Merrill to incorporate the teachings of Nagarajan to communicate with a plurality of user system and provided with resource availability value and categorizing users based on features. Doing so would allow the system to classify a user and provide them with a software object that includes credit line approvals from a financial intuition to and other resources (In some embodiments, a classification machine learning model can receive a user activity profile and classify the user activity profile by assigning one or more classes to the user activity profile. In some embodiments, such classes can correspond to one or more features of a software object. In some embodiments, the features of the software objects can include a credit line pre-approved by a financial institution, e.g. 20 airline miles, gift cards, and/or points corresponding to a monetary amount, a pre-approved membership program offered by an organization or institution, a pre-approved health insurance program and other suitable features or features.).
Regarding claim 12, Merrill and Nagarajan teach the method of claim 2 and analogous 11.
Merrill and Nagarajan are combined in the same rationale as in claim 2 and analogous 11.
Merrill teaches wherein the operations further comprise: processing a first machine learning model to extract an explainability vector, wherein the first machine learning model receives as input values for the first set of features and generates as output a corresponding resource availability value (Merill para 0030, In some embodiments, the model evaluation and explanation system (e.g., 120 of FIGS. 1A and 1B) uses a non-differentiable model decomposition module (e.g., 121) to decompose scores generated by a model by computing at least one SHAP (SHapley Additive exPlanation) value [processing the first machine learning model]. In some embodiments, decomposing scores includes: for each feature of a test data point, generating a difference value, the difference value for the test data point relative to a corresponding reference data point, the difference value being the decomposition value for the feature. In some embodiments, generating a difference value for a feature includes: computing a SHAP value (as described herein) of the nondifferentiable model for the test data point and computing a SHAP value of the non-differentiable model for the corresponding reference data point, and subtracting the SHAP value for the reference data point from the SHAP value for the test data point to produce the difference value for the feature. In some embodiments, the score decomposition functions as explanation information for the model that explains the score for the test data point (generated by the model, or ensemble) in terms of the score for the reference data point (also generated by the model, or ensemble). In some embodiments, the decomposition is used to generate explanation information for the model. In some embodiments, these decompositions are generated for plural pairs of test data points and corresponding reference data points, and the decompositions are used to explain the model. In this manner, SHAP attributions for a single test data point are transformed into reference-based attributions to the test data point in terms of the reference data point
Para 0086, In some embodiments, each decomposition generated by the method 200 (e.g., at S230, S240, S250) is a vector of decomposition values d, for each feature used by the respective model. In some embodiments, each nondifferentiable decomposition value (generated at S230) is a difference between a SHAP (SHapley Additive exPlanation) value for a test data point ( e.g., a test data point representing a credit applicant, a test data point at a first point in time, etc.) of the test population and a SHAP value for a reference data point of the reference population (e.g., a reference data point representing an accepted credit applicant, a reference data point at a second point in time). [to extract an explainability vector].
para 0043, In some embodiments, the non-differentiable model decomposition module estimates E[f(x)lxs] by executing machine-executable instructions that implement the procedure (Procedure 1) shown in FIG. 6, wherein vis a vector of node value, which takes the value internal for internal nodes; the vectors a and b represent the left and right node indexe for each internal node; the vector t contains thresholds for each internal node, and dis a vector of indexes of the features used for splitting in internal nodes; the vector r represent the cover of each node (e.g., how many data samples fall in that sub-tree); the weight w measures what proportion of the training samples matching the conditioning set S fall into each leaf.
In some embodiments, each decomposition generated by the method 200 is a vector of decomposition values d, for each feature [wherein each entry in the explainability vector corresponds to a feature in the first set of features].
para 131, In some embodiments, the model evaluation system uses a decomposition generated for a model score ( e.g., at one or more of S230, S240, S250) to generate feature importance information and provide the generated feature importance information to the operator device 171. Feature importance is the application wherein a feature's importance is quantified with respect to a model. A feature may have significant or marginal impact, and it could hurt or harm how a model will score. Features may be colinear and interact and any feature importance application takes into account interactions and colinearities. The present disclosure describes such a method [and is indicative of a correlation between the feature and the output of the first machine learning model;]);
and removing one or more features in the explainability vector (Fig 2 S230,
Para 0181 line 1-12, S271 can include: the model evaluation system generating model score explanation information for the evaluation input data set (test data point selected at S220) based on at least one decomposition generated by the method 200 (e.g, at S230, S240, S250) [processing] [the explainability vector]. In some embodiments, the model evaluation system generating model score explanation information for the evaluation input data set based on the decomposition includes: generating a lookup key by using the decomposition for the ensemble model score, and performing a data lookup by using the lookup key to retrieve the model score explanation information for the evaluation input data set.
para 0190 line 1-3, S272 can include identifying features having decomposition values (in the generated decompositions) above a threshold.
Para 192 line 12-20, In some embodiments an identified feature [from the first set of features] is determined permissible based on leaving the feature out, retraining the model, and determining its impact on the approval rate for a protected class [in by removing one or more features of the explainability vector]. In other embodiments the determination is based on an approval rate difference threshold or other tunable parameters [based on a threshold] [using one or more filtering criteria]. In some embodiments, the method 200 includes displaying partial dependence plots for identified variables, heat maps, and other visualizations on a display device of an operator device (e.g., 171).).
Claim(s) 3, 4, 13, 14are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrill in view of Nagarajan and further in view of Peetermans, Emile. "Analysis of entity resolution techniques in academic and health data." (2022) (“Peetermans”).
Regarding claim 3 and analogous claim 13, Merrill and Nagarajan teach the method of claim 2 and analogous 11.
Merrill and Nagarajan are combined in the same rationale as in claim 2 and analogous 11.
Merrill does not explicitly teach wherein generating a hash table including the set of categories comprises: generating a transformation algorithm which encodes the subset of features into signatures in a real-valued vector space; using the transformation algorithm to encode feature values of the first plurality of user profiles into a plurality of signatures in the real-valued vector space; performing random permutations on the plurality of signatures to determine a plurality of approximate signatures; generating measures of similarity between approximate signatures for user profiles in the first plurality of user profiles; calculating a threshold for similarity in the real-valued vector space; using a clustering algorithm to identify groups of user profiles with measures of similarity for each pair of user profiles within the groups of user profiles exceeding the threshold for similarity; and assigning each user profile a hash value based on a group of user profiles closest to the user profile.
However Peetermans teaches wherein generating a hash table including the set of categories comprises: generating a transformation algorithm which encodes the subset of features into signatures in a real-valued vector space;
using the transformation algorithm to encode feature values of the first plurality of user profiles into a plurality of signatures in the real-valued vector space (Peetermans
page 7 2.3. Matching,
Fig. 2.3.
Locality Sensitive Hashing (LSH), an algorithmic technique that hashes similar input items into the same “buckets” with high probability, is another technique incorporating global information often used by blocking schemes [RU11]. Given a similarity function Sim : U ×U → [0, 1], an LSH scheme with a set of hashing functions H has the probability Prob h ∈ H[h(A) = h(B)] = Sim(A,B) for two objects A,B ∈ U [Cha02]. This characteristic allows for efficient similarity calculation without using a costly function. LSH for blocking works by first dividing every blocking key, for example, a person’s first name, in a set of shingles or n-grams. The name “Karel” becomes {“kar”, “are”, “rel”} when n = 3. These small fixed-size parts of the string are used to create a vocabulary where each “shingle” represents an index. A string can thus be one-hot encoded into a vector with a length equal to the size of the vocabulary [using the transformation algorithm to encode feature values of the first plurality of user profiles into a plurality of signatures in the real-valued vector space]. The one hot-encoded vector is then hashed into a much smaller size while preserving similarities between pairs. These signatures are placed into b buckets in order to group possible duplicate pairs.
Page 20 Figure 3.7,
[generating a transformation algorithm which encodes the subset of features into signatures in a real-valued vector space]));
performing random permutations on the plurality of signatures to determine a plurality of approximate signatures;
generating measures of similarity between approximate signatures for user profiles in the first plurality of user profiles (Peetermans Page 7 2.3 Matching, 2.3 Matching line 1-5, The goal of matching is to calculate the similarity between all pairs of profiles selected as candidate matches by the blocking step. This similarity score is based on a matching function. A similarity graph is created with edges identifying the probability that the connected profile nodes belong to the same entity. Matching schemes usually rely on the combination of similarity metrics calculated for each corresponding attribute pair [generating measures of similarity between approximate signatures for user profiles in the first plurality of user profiles;].
page 14 Dealing with imbalance para 1 line 1-6,
In order to address the class imbalance caused by the fact that duplicates are very rare in the dataset, over- and undersampling techniques have been explored. Imbalanced learn provides a set of algorithms for these kinds of problems. Oversampling attempts to handle imbalances by producing more samples for the underrepresented classes. This can be done naively by randomly sampling with replacement from the currently available data. More advanced techniques like SMOTE and ADASYN generate new samples by interpolation [Cha+02; He+08] [performing random permutations on the plurality of signatures to determine a plurality of approximate signatures].));
calculating a threshold for similarity in the real-valued vector space;
using a clustering algorithm to identify groups of user profiles with measures of similarity for each pair of user profiles within the groups of user profiles exceeding the threshold for similarity;
assigning each user profile a hash value based on a group of user profiles, of the groups of user profiles, closest to the user profile (Peetermans page 7 2.3. Matching, Locality Sensitive Hashing (LSH), an algorithmic technique that hashes similar input items into the same “buckets” with high probability, is another technique incorporating global information often used by blocking schemes [RU11]. Given a similarity function Sim : U ×U → [0, 1], an LSH scheme with a set of hashing functions H has the probability Prob h ∈ H[h(A) = h(B)] = Sim(A,B) for two objects A,B ∈ U [Cha02]. This characteristic allows for efficient similarity calculation without using a costly function. LSH for blocking works by first dividing every blocking key, for example, a person’s first name, in a set of shingles or n-grams. The name “Karel” becomes {“kar”, “are”, “rel”} when n = 3. These small fixed-size parts of the string are used to create a vocabulary where each “shingle” represents an index. A string can thus be one-hot encoded into a vector with a length equal to the size of the vocabulary. The one hot-encoded vector is then hashed into a much smaller size while preserving similarities between pairs. These signatures are placed into b buckets in order to group possible duplicate pairs and assigning each user profile a hash value based on a group of user profiles closest to the user profile.
Page 8 Figure. 2.4,
[calculating a threshold for similarity in the real-valued vector space]
2.4 Clustering ,The output of the matching step can be seen as a similarity graph. A node is created for every profile where each pair of potentially matching profiles are connected by an edge depicting the similarity value or duplicate probability. A profile can have edges with multiple other profiles, indicating a possible entity consisting of three or more profiles. Clustering aims to convert this graph into a set of clusters or final entities. The most suitable clustering technique depends on the type of ER task. For record linkage, the graph is bipartite as there is a one-on-one mapping between the profiles in the two input data sources. An example of a clustering technique for these problems is called Unique Mapping Clustering, where edges are sorted in decreasing weight and iteratively. The profile pairs at the top of the list are considered duplicates if the similarity exceeds a threshold and none of the adjacent nodes has been matched yet [Lac+13] [using a clustering algorithm to identify groups of user profiles with measures of similarity for each pair of user profiles within the groups of user profiles exceeding the threshold for similarity;]).
Merrill and Peetermans are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Merrill to incorporate the teachings of Peetermans to group profiles into similar hashes and determine similarity. Doing so would allow feature engineering and convert vectors into similarity features (Peetermans page 3 Introduction para 5, The same basic process for building the ER application is followed in the record linkage and deduplication chapters. To train a model capable of discerning whether two sets of information share the same object, pairs of possible duplicate profiles need to be converted into vectors of similarity features. These values indicate the similarity of specific values or combinations of values in two profiles. For example, a similarity feature vector might include the result of an edit-distance metric comparing family names of persons. When many different metrics are used and the results are placed together in these vectors, they give a general numerical representation of similarity for a particular pair of profiles. These representations can then be used in typical machine learning models when supplemented with labels indicating the pair is a duplicate or a non-duplicate. In this study, many different kinds of similarity metrics will be explored and analysed in order to find the most potent combination of features for training an ER model. To this extent, any possible source or representation of data will be considered valuable until proven otherwise. This process, called “feature engineering” from this point, is one of the most crucial parts of this project. A sufficiently accurate entity resolution model might not be realised without a sufficiently large and influential set of similarity metrics.).
Regarding claim 4 and analogous claim 14, Merrill and Nagarajan teach the method of claim 2 and analogous 11.
Merrill and Nagarajan are combined in the same rationale as in claim 2 and analogous 11.
Merrill and Peetermans are combined in the same rationale as in claim 3 and analogous 13.
Peetermans further teaches retrieving the set of categories, wherein each category in the set of categories corresponds to one or more textual prediction explanations; (Peetermans (Page 7, A string can thus be one-hot encoded into a vector with a length equal to the size of the vocabulary. The one hot-encoded vector is then hashed into a much smaller size while preserving similarities between pairs. These signatures are placed into b buckets in order to group possible duplicate pairs.
Page 20, Figure 3.7,
[retrieving the set of categories, wherein each category in the set of categories corresponds to one or more textual prediction explanations;])
Page 16 Figure 3.3,
);
Claim(s) 5, 6, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrill in view of Nagarajan and further in view of Cheng et al. (US20220405623A1) (“Cheng”).
Regarding claim 5 and analogous claim 15, Merrill and Nagarajan teach the method of claim 2 and analogous 11.
Merrill and Nagarajan are combined in the same rationale as in claim 2 and analogous 11.
Merrill teaches wherein processing the first machine learning model to extract the explainability vector comprises: retrieving a first set of parameters for the first machine learning model (Merrill Para 0153, In some embodiments, when applied to adverse action, the model evaluation system 120 evaluates a specific denied credit applicant. In this embodiment the specific denied credit applicant comprises the test set ( test data point) (selected at S220), and a representative group comprises the reference set (reference data points) (selected at S210). In some embodiments, the representative group is comprised of applicants who were "barely approved" ( e.g., the bottom 10% of an approved population), according to their credit score. In other embodiments, the representative group will be comprised of those applicants who were "approved" ( e.g., all of the approved population), according to their credit score. In other embodiments, the representative group will be comprised of the "top approved" applicants ( e.g., the best credit applicants), according to their credit score. In some embodiments the credit score is computed by a model. In other embodiments the credit score is computed by a machine learning model [retrieving a first set of parameters for the first machine learning model;]);
and applying the attribution technique to the first set of parameters to generate the explainability vector corresponding to the first set of features (Merrill page 0086, In some embodiments, each decomposition generated by the method 200 (e.g., at S230, S240, S250) is a vector of decomposition values d, for each feature used by the respective model [to generate the explainability vector corresponding to the first set of features]. In some embodiments, each nondifferentiable decomposition value (generated at S230) is a difference between a SHAP (SHapley Additive exPlanation) value for a test data point ( e.g., a test data point representing a credit applicant, a test data point at a first point in time, etc.) of the test population and a SHAP value for a reference data point of the reference population (e.g., a reference data point representing an accepted credit applicant, a reference data point at a second point in time [and applying the attribution technique to the first set of parameters])).
Merrill does not explicitly teach selecting an attribution technique based on the first set of parameters and the first plurality of user profiles;
However Cheng does teach selecting an attribution technique based on the first set of parameters and the first plurality of user profiles (Cheng Para 0042, The explanation engine 130 can be configured to generate different model explanation data based on the type of machine learning model specified by received input, e.g., as one or more query statements. The model explanation data can include feature attributions, which as described herein the explanation engine 130 can generate to different levels of granularity. The explanation engine 130 can generate feature attributions according to a calculated baseline score, which acts as a basis for comparing the effect different features have on a model's output.
Para 0045, The explanation engine 130 can also process input data and machine learning models according to one or more model-agnostic approaches, in which the architecture of the model does not matter to the model explainability approach applied. Example approaches include permutation feature importance, partial dependence plots [based on the first set of parameters and the first plurality of user profiles], Shapley values, SHAP (Shapley Additive Explanations), KemelSHAP, TreeSHAP, and integrated gradients. The explanation engine 130 can be configured to use some approaches over others depending on whether the explanation engine 130 is generating local or global explanations. For example, the explanation engine 130 may use permutation feature importance and partial dependence plots for generating global explanations, and Shapley values, SHAP, and integrated gradients for generating both local and global explanations [selecting an attribution technique]);
Merrill and Cheng are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Merrill to incorporate the teachings of Cheng to select a attribute technique. Doing so to allow the model to provided different levels of granularity (Cheng para 0042, The explanation engine 130 can be configured to generate different model explanation data based on the type of machine learning model specified by received input, e.g., as one or more query statements. The model explanation data can include feature attributions, which as described herein the explanation engine 130 can generate to different levels of granularity. The explanation engine 130 can generate feature attributions according to a calculated baseline score, which acts as a basis for comparing the effect different features have on a model's output.).
Regarding claim 6 and analogous claim 16, Merrill and Nagarajan teach the method of claim 2 and analogous 11.
Merrill and Nagarajan are combined in the same rationale as in claim 5 and analogous 15.
Merrill further teaches wherein selecting a subset of features from the first set of features further comprises: receiving a user request specifying that the one or more features are to be removed from consideration or that impact of the one or more features is to be reduced;
calculating a threshold for removing features of the explainability vector (Merrill para 192, In some embodiments, the method 200 includes determining whether an identified feature is a permissible feature for generating a score for the protected class, and providing information identifying each impermissible feature that is identified to an operator device (e.g., 171). In some embodiments, identified features are presented to an operator for further review before the identified feature is determined to be a permissible feature for generating a score for the protected class. In other embodiments, identified features are automatically determined based on the impact to protected class approvals and the business impact of including the variable. In some embodiments an identified feature is determined permissible based on leaving the feature out [receiving a user request specifying that one or more features be removed from consideration], retraining the model, and determining its impact on the approval rate for a protected class. In other embodiments the determination is based on an approval rate difference threshold or other tunable parameters [calculating a threshold for removing features of the explainability vector]. In some embodiments, the method 200 includes displaying partial dependence plots for identified variables, heat maps, and other visualizations on a display device of an operator device (e.g., 171).);
Cheng teaches and applying a mathematical transformation to the explainability vector such that values corresponding to the one or more features are adjusted ((Cheng
Page 0049, The explanation engine 130 can aggregate the local attributions for N inputs in the input data, to generate a global attribution for the feature X, for example as follows:
[and applying a mathematical transformation to the explainability vector]
Para 0118, The platform provides output predictions from trained machine learning models and feature attributions corresponding to the output prediction, according to block 540. The platform can generate feature attributions as described herein, with reference to FIGS. 1-3. At least a portion of the generated feature attributions can be stored as metadata corresponding to the model. As described in more detail with reference to FIG. 7, the platform can retrieve previously generated feature attributions and provide the feature attributions to a requesting user device.
Para 0119 line1-5, The platform determines whether it received input to retrain the machine learning model, according to diamond 550. The received input can be provided from a user device, specifying additional training data and/or the same training data selected using the one or more first query statements [such that values corresponding to the one or more features are adjusted]).
Claim(s) 7 and analogues 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrill in view of Nagarajan and Cheng and further in view of Lipovetsky, S., & Conklin, W. M. (2015). Predictor relative importance and matching regression parameters. Journal of Applied Statistics, 42(5), 1017–1031 (“Lipovetsky”).
Regarding claim 7 and analogous claim 17, Merrill and Nagarajan teach the method of claim 5 and analogous 15.
Merrill and Nagarajan are combined in the same rationale as in claim 2 and analogous 11.
Merrill and Cheng are combined in the same rationale as in claim 5 and analogous 15.
Merrill does not explicitly teach wherein: the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a matrix of weights for a multivariate regression algorithm; and the attribution technique
However Lipovetsky teaches wherein:
the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a matrix of weights for a multivariate regression algorithm;
and the attribution technique (Lipovetsky Page 1019, Measures of derived importance, Let us briefly review some relationships of the OLS model. For the standardized variables, the model yi = b1xi1 +· · ·+bnxim + εi in matrix form is y = Xb + ε, (1) where X denotes the matrix of N by mth order with elements xik of ith observations (i = 1, . . . ,N – sample size) by jth predictors (j = 1 ,. . . ,m – number of predictors), yi and εi are the vectors of observations by the dependent variable and deviations from the theoretical model, respectively [the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a matrix of weights for a multivariate regression algorithm].
Page 1022, For numerical comparison, we use data from a real study conducted for a big pharmaceutical company about a cold sore healthcare product. The purchase interest as the dependent variable and 35 attributes as predictors were measured in a 10-point Likert scale, and data were gathered from 1023 respondents. Table 1 presents the names of attributes, together with the paired correlations of y with the x–s, the OLS model and its beta-coefficients, the net effects and their shares, and the Shapley value and their shares. We see that all correlations are positive, but because of multicollinearity more than a third of the predictors (13 out of 35) receive negative signs in the regression and have negative net effects, in spite of their evident usefulness. However, the SV net effects are all positive. S-plus software was used for estimations [and the attribution technique ]).
Merrill and Lipovetsky are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Merrill to incorporate the teachings of Lipovetsky use Shapley values to show importance estimation. Doing to adjust the model to best data fit and to be meaningful and interpretable (Lipovesky Abstract line 4-12, These indices of importance are based on the orthonormal decomposition of the data matrix, and the work shows how to improve this approximation. Using predictor importance, the regression coefficients can also be adjusted to reach the best data fit and to be meaningful and interpretable. The results are compared with the robust to multicollinearity, but computationally difficult, Shapley value regression (SVR). They show that the JJ index is good for importance estimation, but the GJ index outperforms it if both predictor importance and coefficients of regression are needed; hence, this index (GJ) can be used in place of the more computationally intensive estimation by SVR. The results can be easily estimated by the considered approach that is very useful in practical regression modeling and analysis, especially for big data.).
Claim(s) 8 and analogues 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrill in view of Nagarajan and Cheng and further in view of Barberis, E.; Khoso, S.; Sica, A.; Falasca, M.; Gennari, A.; Dondero, F.; Afantitis, A.; Manfredi, M. Precision Medicine Approaches with Metabolomics and Artificial Intelligence. Int. J. Mol. Sci. 2022, 23, 11269 (“Barberis”) and Branka Hadji Misheva, Joerg Osterrieder, Ali Hirsa, Onkar Kulkarni, Stephen Fung Lin EXPLAINABLE AI IN CREDIT RISK MANAGEMENT arXiv:2103.00949v1 [q-fin.RM] 1 Mar 2021 (“Misheva”).
Regarding claim 8 and analogous claim 18, Merrill and Nagarajan teach the method of claim 5 and analogous 15.
Merrill and Nagarajan are combined in the same rationale as in claim 2 and analogous 11.
Merrill and Cheng are combined in the same rationale as in claim 5 and analogous 15.
Merrill does not explicitly teach wherein: the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a matrix of weights for a supervised classifier algorithm; and the attribution technique
However Barberis teaches the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a matrix of weights for a supervised classifier algorithm (Barberis Page 4.2 Support Vector Machine,
4. Application of Machine Learning for the Diagnosis of Diseases
Since the turn of the century, there has been a marked increase in the number of studies on metabolomics that have made use of machine learning techniques. Many studies have shown that machine learning can discriminate between healthy and disease, groups as well as identify important biomarkers for use in clinical decision making in a variety of settings [42,43]. The following sections present the most recent applications of supervised machine learning for the diagnosis of diseases.
4.2. Support Vector Machine
Today, SVM classification is the most frequently used machine learning technique in precision medicine. SVM is a model that uses “support vectors” to construct a decision boundary (hyper-plane) in a high-dimensional feature space. Support vectors are data points that are positioned close to the hyperplane, and hence aid to optimize the hyperplane itself [50].
The objective of hyperplane is to maximize the distance between two classes, while placing as few data points as possible on the incorrect side of the decision boundary [51,52].
For a given training samples, a hyperplane is generated to maximize the distance,
which can be mathematically defined as:
where W is the weight matrix, X represents the dataset and b is constant term [a matrix of weights for a supervised classifier algorithm].);
Merrill and Barberis are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Merrill to incorporate the teachings of Barberis to use a supervised learning method. Doing to be able to classify non-linear data using SVM (Barberis page 7 4.2 Support Vector Machine para3, SVM can also be used to classify non-linear data through process called kernel trick. There are several types of kernel trick used for different problems such as the polynomial kernel, Gaussian kernel, Gaussian radial basis function (RBF), Laplace RBF, sigmoid kernel, hyperbolic tangent kernel, linear splines kernel in one dimension. Nonetheless, radial basis function (RBF) is the first choice among other kernels and it is also widely used for non-linear task in metabolomics.).
Misheva teaches and the attribution technique (Misheva page 3, 2.1 LIME Locally Interpretable Model Agnostic Explanations is a post-hoc model-agnostic explanation technique which aims to approximate any black box machine learning model with a local, interpretable model to explain each individual prediction [1]. By model agnostic explanations, the authors suggest that it can be used for explaining any classifier, irrespective of the algorithm used for predictions as LIME is independent of the original classifier. Finally, LIME works locally which in essence means that it is observation specific and similarly as SHAP, will give explanations for every specific observation it has.
Page 8 4.2 LIME on SVM According to Vapnik et al.[7] the way a support-vector classifier works is, it constructs a hyperplane or set of hyperplanes in a high-dimensional space, which can be used for classification. Intuitively, a good separation is achieved by the hyperplane that has the largest distance to the nearest training-data point of any class, since in general the larger the margin, the lower the generalization error of the classifier. An SVM training algorithm builds a model that assigns new examples to one category or the other, making it a non-probabilistic binary linear classifier[8]. [a Local Interpretable Model-agnostic Explanations method]”)).
Merrill and Misheva are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Merrill to incorporate the teachings of Misheva to use a Locally Interpretable Model Agnostic Explanation. Doing so to interpret the model and explain each prediction (Misheva page 3, Locally Interpretable Model Agnostic Explanations is a post-hoc model-agnostic explanation technique which aims to approximate any black box machine learning model with a local, interpretable model to explain each individual prediction).
Claim(s) 9 and analogues 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrill in view of Nagarajan and Cheng and further in view of M. B. Muhammad and M. Yeasin, "Eigen-CAM: Class Activation Map using Principal Components," 2020 International Joint Conference on Neural Networks (IJCNN), Glasgow, UK, 2020, pp. 1-7 (“Muhammad”).
Regarding claim 9 and analogous claim 19, Merrill and Nagarajan teach the method of claim 5 and analogous 15.
Merrill and Nagarajan are combined in the same rationale as in claim 2 and analogous 11.
Merrill and Cheng are combined in the same rationale as in claim 5 and analogous 15.
Merrill does not explicitly teach wherein: the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a matrix of weights for a convolutional neural network algorithm; and the attribution technique
However Muhammad teaches wherein: the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a matrix of weights for a convolutional neural network algorithm; and the attribution technique (Muhammad page 1 I. Introduction para 5, The proposed Eigen-CAM uses the principal components of the learned representations from the convolutional layers to create the visual explanations. The major contributions are:
We present a simple, intuitive method to obtain CAM based on convolutional layers output, and the process is independent of class relevance score.
We demonstrate that the proposed Eigen-CAM can robustly and reliably localize objects without the need to modify CNN architecture or even to backpropagate any computations, and at the same time, achieves higher performance compared to all previously reported methods such as Grad-CAM, CNN fixations [and the attribution technique ].
Page 3 III. Proposed Approach, Observation 2: CAM uses the last weight matrix between GAP and SoftMax to weight different feature maps. Similarly, in Grad-CAM and Grad-CAM++ derives the weights of the linear combination of different feature maps, based on backpropagated class relevance score. Radiant values determine the weight of each feature map to produce the class activation map [the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a matrix of weights for a convolutional neural network algorithm;].).
Merrill and Muhammad are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Merrill to incorporate the teachings of Muhammad to use Gradient Class Activation Mapping method on CNN. Doing so to provide a visual explanation for a CNN (Muhammad page 1 I. Introduction para 5, The proposed Eigen-CAM uses the principal components of the learned representations from the convolutional layers to create the visual explanations. The major contributions are:
We present a simple, intuitive method to obtain CAM based on convolutional layers output, and the process is independent of class relevance score.
We demonstrate that the proposed Eigen-CAM can robustly and reliably localize objects without the need to modify CNN architecture or even to backpropagate any computations, and at the same time, achieves higher performance compared to all previously reported methods such as Grad-CAM, CNN fixations).
Claim(s) 10 and analogues 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Merrill in view of Nagarajan and Cheng and further in view of Salazar, Sebastian, Samuel Denton, and Ansaf Salleb-Aouissi. "Counterfactual explanations for support vector machine models." arXiv preprint arXiv:2212.07432 (2022) (“Salazar”).
Regarding claim 10 and analogous claim 20, Merrill and Nagarajan teach the method of claim 5 and analogous 15.
Merrill and Nagarajan are combined in the same rationale as in claim 2 and analogous 11.
Merrill and Cheng are combined in the same rationale as in claim 5 and analogous 15.
Merrill does not explicitly teach wherein: the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a hyperplane matrix for a support vector machine algorithm; and the attribution technique
However Salazar teaches wherein: the first machine learning model is defined by a set of parameters comprising a hyperplane matrix for a support vector machine algorithm; and the attribution technique ((Salazar page 3, 3 Actionability with SVMs,
Page 6 5.1 Toy example, To demonstrate our approach we simulate a separable 2-D dataset consisting of a mixture of two Gaussians. We run three simulations to qualitatively asses the effects of enforcing the plausibility and correlation constraints discussed in Sections 3 and 4. The results of these experiments are shown in Figures 1 and ??.
Figure 1,
[and the attribution technique ]).
Merrill and Salazar are considered to be analogous to the claim invention because they are in the same field of machine learning. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified Merrill to incorporate the teachings of Salazar to user a counterfactual method with an SVM. Doing so to provide explanations for an SVM and give feedback on what features are most revel event (Salazar page 1 1 Introduction While there is extensive theoretical research on Support
Vector machines [4, 30], there is little to no information on how to use the wide-margin property to change the labels of instances with undesirable predictions and how this can be used to enhance interpretability. As an example, consider an instance with a predicted undesirable outcome (e.g., mortgage application rejected), how do we minimally change the features to flip the prediction of the original data? Explanations of this form give the decisionmaker feedback on what features are most relevant to the model in the decision-making process and are known as counterfactual explanations. Providing explanations of this form has become increasingly important, especially in cases where automated decision-making has the potential to drastically impact human lives [32]. Furthermore, legal regulations —like the European Union’s General Data Protection Regulations— are demanding responsible deployment of machine learning models. As such, it is important to ensure that these models are used responsibly and ethically in practice.).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang, Jingdong, et al. "A Survey on Learning to Hash." arXiv preprint arXiv:1606.00185v2 (2017) (“Wang”) – teaches hashing methods used to create hash tables that consist of similar items placed in buckets represented by hashes values for lookup as shown in FIG. 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALFREDO CAMPOS/Examiner, Art Unit 2129
/SCHYLER S SANKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2129