CTFR 18/315,500 CTFR 101411 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 03/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments regarding amended claim 1, that Levi (U.S Patent No. 10,973,629) in view of Cooper (US PG Pub No. 2019/0262129 A1) discloses the inflow end has a smaller diameter than the outer diameter of the valve frame, it is the examiner’s position that Levi in view of Cooper does disclose the newly added limitations. Levi discloses wherein an inner diameter of the sealing frame (Fig. 2, ribs 124) at the first axial end (Fig. 2, first end portion 128) is substantially the same as an outer diameter of the valve frame (Fig. 2, 102) at the inflow end (110), and an inner diameter of the sealing frame (Fig. 2, ribs 124) at the second axial end (Fig. 2, second end portion 130) is substantially the same as an outer diameter of the radially-outer surface portion of the valve frame (Fig. 2, 102). See annotated Levi figure 2 below . PNG media_image1.png 508 799 media_image1.png Greyscale In response to applicant’s arguments regarding amended claim 18 that Levi (U.S Patent No. 10,973,629) in view of Cooper (US PG Pub No. 2019/0262129 A1) do not urge the skirt radially outward, it is the examiner’s position that Cooper discloses “The embodiments of FIGS. 18A-20 can have similar or the same features to the other prostheses discussed herein” (Paragraph [0215]). The sealing frame of Levi (ribs 124) and of Cooper (outer frame 1540) both function to reduce the risk of paravalvular leakage (Levi: Col. 5, lines 18-20), Cooper: Paragraph [0002]). Therefore, Cooper teaches wherein at least a portion of the outer skirt (Fig. 18A, outer skirt 1580) is urged radially outward (Fig. 18A) by contact (Paragraph [0227]) with the intermediate portion (Fig. 18A, intermediate region 1542b) as now recited in amended claim 18 . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Levi et al. (U.S Patent No. 10,973,629), herein referred to as Levi, in view of Cooper et al. (US PG Pub No. 2019/0262129 A1), herein referred to as Cooper . Regarding claim 1 , Levi discloses a prosthetic heart valve comprising (Fig. 1, prosthetic heart valve 100): a valve frame (frame 102) that is radially collapsible (Col. 5, lines 49-52, Fig. 3) and expandable (Col. 5, lines 46-55, Fig. 2) between a first compressed configuration (Col. 5, lines 49-52, Fig. 3, frame 102) and a first expanded configuration (Col. 5, lines 46-55, Fig. 2, frame 102), the valve frame (frame 102) having an inflow end (inflow end portion 110) and an outflow end (outflow end portion 112) separated from the inflow end along an axial direction of the valve frame (Col. 5, lines 22- 27, Fig. 2, frame 102); a valvular structure (valve structure 104) coupled to the valve frame (Col. 5, lines 7-11, Figs 1-6, frame 102) and comprising a plurality of leaflets (leaflet assembly 122) within the valve frame (Col. 6, lines 28-31, Fig. 1); a sealing frame (sealing member 108) surrounding a radially-outer surface portion of the valve frame (Col. 5, lines 16-21, Figs. 1 and 2), the sealing frame (ribs 124 (sealing member 108 comprises plurality of ribs 124)) being collapsible and expandable between a second compressed configuration (Fig. 3) corresponding to the first compressed configuration (Fig. 3) of the valve frame (frame 102) and a second expanded configuration (Fig. 2) corresponding to the first expanded configuration (Fig. 2) of the valve frame (Col. 7, lines 47-65), the sealing frame (ribs 124) having a first axial end (first end portion 128) coupled to the valve frame at the inflow end (Col. 7, lines 9-14), Figs. 1-6, inflow end portion 110), a second axial end (second end portions 130) coupled to the valve frame at a location between the inflow and outflow ends (intermediate portion 114) along the axial direction (Col. 7, lines 14-15, Figs. 1-6), and an intermediate portion (intermediate portion 114) between the first (inflow portion 110) and second (outflow portion 112) axial ends along the axial direction (Col. 5, lines 22-25, Figs. 1-6), wherein an inner diameter of the sealing frame (Fig. 2, ribs 124) at the first axial end (Fig. 2, first end portion 128) is substantially the same as an outer diameter of the valve frame (Fig. 2, 102) at the inflow end (110), and an inner diameter of the sealing frame (Fig. 2, ribs 124) at the second axial end (Fig. 2, second end portion 130) is substantially the same as an outer diameter of the radially-outer surface portion of the valve frame (Fig. 2, 102). Levi fails to disclose an outer skirt surrounding the sealing frame; wherein, with the valve frame and the sealing frame in the first and second expanded configurations, respectively, the intermediate portion projects radially outward from the valve frame, thereby displacing at least a portion of the outer skirt radially outward. Cooper also discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Fig. 18A, prosthesis 1500, and Paragraph [0215]: “The embodiments of FIGS. 18A-20 can have similar or the same features to the other prostheses discussed herein”, prosthesis 100) comprising: a valve frame (Fig. 18A, inner frame 1520, inner frame anchoring feature 1524) that is radially collapsible and expandable (Paragraph [0009]) between a first compressed configuration (Paragraph [0009]) and a first expanded configuration (Fig. 18A), and a sealing frame (outer frame 1540, and Paragraph [0215]: “The embodiments of FIGS. 18A-20 can have similar or the same features to the other prostheses discussed herein”, Fig. 6A, outer frame 140) surrounding a radially-outer surface portion of the valve frame (Fig. 18A, 1520). Cooper teaches an outer skirt (Fig. 18A, outer skirt 1580) surrounding (Paragraph [0227]) the sealing frame (1540); wherein, with the valve frame (1520, 1524) and the sealing frame (1540) in the first and second expanded configurations (Fig. 18A), respectively, the intermediate portion (Fig. 18A, intermediate region 1542b) projects radially outward from the valve frame (1520), thereby displacing at least a portion of the outer skirt radially outward (1580). The sealing frame of Levi (ribs 124) and of Cooper (outer frame 1540) both function to reduce the risk of paravalvular leakage (Levi: Col. 5, lines 18-20), Cooper: Paragraph [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Levi’s prosthetic heart valve to have an outer skirt surrounding the sealing frame; wherein, with the valve frame and the sealing frame in the first and second expanded configurations, respectively, the intermediate portion projects radially outward from the valve frame, thereby displacing at least a portion of the outer skirt radially outward, as taught by Cooper, in order to improve the seal with the native valve annulus (Paragraph [0224]). Regarding claim 2 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve (prosthetic heart valve 100) of claim 1, wherein, in transitioning between the second compressed configuration (Fig. 3) and the second expanded configuration (Fig. 4) within an anatomy of a patient (Col. 6, lines 52-59, sealing member 108). Levi as modified fails to disclose the intermediate portion of the sealing frame is constructed to urge the outer skirt into contact with surrounding native tissue. Cooper further teaches the intermediate portion (Fig. 18A, intermediate region 1542b) of the sealing frame (outer frame 1540) is constructed to urge the outer skirt (skirt 1580) into contact with surrounding native tissue (Paragraph [0224]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Levi’s in view of Cooper prosthetic heart valve such that the intermediate portion of the sealing frame is constructed to urge the outer skirt into contact with surrounding native tissue, as further taught by Cooper, in order to improve the seal with the native valve annulus in order to engage the tissue (Paragraph [0224]). Regarding claim 3 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve (prosthetic heart valve 100) of claim 1, wherein, with the valve frame (frame 102) and the sealing frame (ribs 124) in the first and second compressed configurations (Fig. 3), respectively, the first axial end (first end portion 128), the second axial end (second end portion 130), and the intermediate portion (intermediate portion 114) of the sealing frame (ribs 124) are substantially adjacent to the radially-outer surface portion of the valve frame (Col. 7, lines 9-14, Figs. 1-6, sealing member 108, frame 102). Regarding claim 4 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve (prosthetic heart valve 100) of claim 1, wherein, with the valve frame (frame 102) and the sealing frame (ribs 124) in the first and second compressed configurations (Fig. 3), respectively, the first axial end (first end portion 128), the second axial end (second end portion 130), and the intermediate portion (intermediate portion 114) of the sealing frame (ribs 124) are substantially aligned along a direction substantially parallel to the axial direction (Col. 7, lines 9-14 and 25-27, Figs. 1-6). Regarding claim 5 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve (prosthetic heart valve 100) of claim 1, wherein the sealing frame is formed of a shape memory material (Col. 10, lines 4-5, ribs 124). Regarding claim 6 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve (prosthetic heart valve 100) of claim 5, wherein the shape memory material comprises a nickel titanium alloy (Col. 10, lines 4-5, ribs 124). Regarding claim 7 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve(prosthetic heart valve 100) of claim 1, wherein the sealing frame (ribs 124) in the second expanded configuration (Fig. 2) has a first height along the axial direction between the first (first end portion 128) and second axial ends (second end portion 130, Col. 7, lines 47-60), and the sealing frame (ribs 124) in the second compressed configuration (Fig. 3) has a second height along the axial direction between the first (first end portion 128) and second axial ends (second end portion 130) that is greater than the first height (Col. 7, lines 47-60). Regarding claim 8 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve (prosthetic heart valve 100) of claim 7. Levi as modified by Cooper fails to disclose wherein the second height is at least 1.2 times the first height. Cooper further teaches wherein the second height (compressed configuration) is at least 1.2 times the first height (Paragraph [0162]). Cooper discusses the width of the outer frame being greater than the height of the outer frame (sealing frame) when in the expanded configuration which follows the present applications description of the second height is at least 1.2 times the first height (Present application, Specification [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Levi’s prosthetic heart valve wherein the second height is at least 1.2 times the first height, as taught by Cooper, in order to form the radially outward projection shape of the valve (Paragraphs [0161-0162]). Regarding claim 9 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve (prosthetic heart valve 100) of claim 1, except for the projection at least 5% of a diameter of the valve frame. Levi teaches spacing between the frame (frame 102) and the sealing member (Col. 7 lines 66-67, Col. 8, lines 1-18, ribs 124) and shows the valve frame expanded a certain diameter and the sealing member (ribs 124) having a spacing of a certain distance away from the valve frame (Fig. 2). Therefore, the distance can be optimized by changing the length of the ribs 124 which would allow one of ordinary skill to optimize the distance as needed for the intended application. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the projection at least 5% of a diameter of the valve frame as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05-II-A. Regarding claim 10 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve (prosthetic heart valve 100) of claim 9, except for wherein the amount of projection along the radial direction is 6-14% of the diameter of the valve frame. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the amount of projection along the radial direction is 6-14% of the diameter of the valve frame, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05-II-A. Regarding claim 11 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve (prosthetic heart valve 100) of claim 1, except wherein the intermediate portion projects outward from the radially-outer surface portion of the valve frame by amount 2-4 mm along the radial direction. Levi teaches spacing between the frame (frame 102) and the sealing member (Col. 7 lines 66-67, Col. 8, lines 1-18, ribs 124) and shows the valve frame expanded a certain diameter and the sealing member having a spacing of a certain distance away from the valve frame (Fig. 2). Therefore, the distance can be optimized by changing the length of the ribs 124 which would allow one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the distance as needed for the intended application. Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the intermediate portion projects outward from the radially-outer surface portion of the valve frame by amount 2-4 mm along the radial direction as claimed, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP 2144.05-II-A. Regarding claim 12 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve of claim 1 and a sealing frame (ribs 124). Levi as modified by Cooper fails to disclose the valve, wherein the sealing frame comprises a continuous unitary structure that spans an entire outer circumference of the radially-outer surface portion of the valve frame. Cooper further teaches wherein the sealing frame (outer frame 140) comprises a continuous unitary structure (Fig. 18A) that spans an entire outer circumference of the radially-outer surface portion of the valve frame (1520). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Levi’s in view of Cooper prosthetic heart valve wherein the sealing frame comprises a continuous unitary structure that spans an entire outer circumference of the radially-outer surface portion of the valve frame, as further taught by Cooper, in order to engage the tissue (Paragraph [0224]). Regarding claim 13 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve of claim 1, wherein the valve frame comprises a plurality of first struts connected together (interconnected struts 116) at respective junctions (junctions 118) to form an open-cell lattice structure (Col. 5, lines 28-33, Fig. 2), each cell being open along the radial direction of the valve frame (Col. 5, lines 28-33, Fig. 2), junctions (junctions 118) at the inflow end (inflow end portion 110) forming first apices (apices 119), and junctions at the outflow end (outflow end portion 112) forming second apices (Col. 5, lines 28-33, Fig. 2, apices 119). Regarding claim 14 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve of claim 13, wherein the first axial end (first end portion 128) of the sealing frame (ribs 124) comprises a plurality of first coupling apices (Figs. 1-3, apices 119), the second axial end (second end portion 130) of the sealing frame (ribs 124) comprises a plurality of second coupling apices (Figs. 1-3, apices 119), and a plurality of strut portions interconnecting (interconnected struts 116) the first and second coupling apices (Figs. 1-3, apices 119). Regarding claim 15 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve of claim 14 and the sealing frame (ribs 124). Levi as modified by Cooper fails to disclose wherein the intermediate portion of the sealing frame comprises longitudinally-extending coupling portions between adjacent strut portions. Cooper further teaches wherein the intermediate portion (Fig. 6A, intermediate region 148) of the sealing frame (outer frame 140) comprises longitudinally-extending coupling portions (longitudinally-extending region 146a, tabs 118) between adjacent strut portions (Fig. 6A, struts 156a and 156b). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Levi’s prosthetic heart valve wherein the intermediate portion of the sealing frame comprises longitudinally-extending coupling portions between adjacent strut portions, as further taught by Cooper, in order to help couple the outer frame to the inner frame (Paragraph [0174]). Regarding claim 16 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve of claim 13, wherein the sealing frame (ribs 124) extends along the axial direction (Col. 7, lines 19-27, Fig. 2) over at least part of a circumferential row of cells of the lattice structure of the valve frame (Col. 5, lines 28-33, Fig. 2). Regarding claim 17 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses the prosthetic heart valve of claim 13, wherein the sealing frame (ribs 124) extends along the axial direction (Col. 7, lines 19-27, Fig. 2) over one or more circumferential rows of cells of the lattice structure of the valve frame (Col. 5, lines 28-33, Fig. 2). Regarding claim 18 , Levi discloses the prosthetic heart valve (Fig. 1, prosthetic heart valve 100) comprising a valve frame (frame 102) in a compressed configuration (Col. 5, lines 49-52, Fig. 3, frame 102) for delivery into a patient's body, the valve frame being radially collapsible (Col. 5, lines 49-52, Fig. 3) and expandable (Col. 5, lines 46-55, Fig. 2) between the first compressed configuration (Col. 5, lines 49-52, Fig. 3, frame 102) and a first expanded configuration (Col. 5, lines 46-55, Fig. 2, frame 102), the valve frame (102) having an inflow end (inflow end portion 110) and an outflow end (outflow end portion 112) separated from the inflow end along an axial direction of the valve frame (Col. 5, lines 22- 27, Fig. 2, frame 102), the valve frame (102), the prosthetic heart valve (100) further comprising a valvular structure (valve structure 104) coupled to the valve frame (Col. 5, lines 7-11, Figs 1-6, frame 102) and comprising a plurality of leaflets (leaflet assembly 122) within the valve frame (Col. 6, lines 28-31, Fig. 1);a sealing frame (sealing member 108) surrounding a radially-outer surface portion of the valve frame (Col. 5, lines 16-21, Figs. 1 and 2), the sealing frame (ribs 124 (sealing member 108 comprises plurality of ribs)), the sealing frame being collapsible and expandable between a second compressed configuration (Fig. 3) corresponding to the first compressed configuration (Fig. 3) of the valve frame (102) and a second expanded configuration (Fig. 2) corresponding to the second expanded configuration (Fig. 2) of the valve frame (Col. 7, lines 47-65), the sealing frame (124) having a first axial end (first end portion 128) coupled to the valve frame at the inflow end (Col. 7, lines 9-14), Figs. 1-6, inflow end portion 110), a second axial end (second end portions 130) coupled to the valve frame at a location between the inflow and outflow ends (intermediate portion 114) along the axial direction (Col. 7, lines 14-15, Figs. 1-6), and an intermediate portion (intermediate portion 114) between the first (inflow portion 110) and second (outflow portion 112) axial ends along the axial direction (Col. 5, lines 22-25, Figs. 1-6). and While Levi discloses that the valve can be coupled to a delivery apparatus, Levi fails to disclose the structure of such delivery apparatus or an outer skirt surrounding the sealing frame; wherein, with the valve frame and the sealing frame in the first and second expanded configurations, respectively, the intermediate portion projects radially outward from the valve frame, wherein at least a portion of the outer skirt is urged radially outward by contact with the intermediate portion. Cooper also discloses a prosthetic heart valve (Fig. 18A, prosthesis 1500, and Paragraph [0215]: “The embodiments of FIGS. 18A-20 can have similar or the same features to the other prostheses discussed herein”, prosthesis 100) comprising: a valve frame (Fig. 18A, inner frame 1520, inner frame anchoring feature 1524) that is radially collapsible and expandable (Paragraph [0009]) between a first compressed configuration (Paragraph [0009]) and a first expanded configuration (Fig. 18A), and a sealing frame (outer frame 1540, and Paragraph [0215]: “The embodiments of FIGS. 18A-20 can have similar or the same features to the other prostheses discussed herein”, Fig. 6A, outer frame 140) surrounding a radially-outer surface portion of the valve frame (Fig. 18A, 1520). Cooper teaches a delivery apparatus (delivery system 10) comprising an elongated shaft (Paragraph [0270], Fig. 35) upon which the prosthetic heart valve (prosthesis 100) is mounted in a compressed configuration (Paragraph [0270], Fig. 35). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Levi’s prosthetic heart valve to include the delivery apparatus of Cooper in order to provide a means for delivery (Levi: Background, Col. 10, lines 7-18). Cooper further teaches an outer skirt (Fig. 18A, outer skirt 1580) surrounding (Paragraph [0227]) the sealing frame (1540); wherein, with the valve frame (1520, 1524) and the sealing frame (1540) in the first and second expanded configurations (Fig. 18A), respectively, the intermediate portion (Fig. 18A, intermediate region 1542b) projects radially outward from the valve frame (1520), wherein at least a portion of the outer skirt (Fig. 18A, outer skirt 1580) is urged radially outward (Fig. 8A) by contact (Paragraph [0227]) with the intermediate portion (Fig. 18A, intermediate region 1542b). The sealing frame of Levi (ribs 124) and of Cooper (outer frame 1540) both function to reduce the risk of paravalvular leakage (Levi: Col. 5, lines 18-20), Cooper: Paragraph [0002]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Levi’s prosthetic heart valve to have an outer skirt surrounding the sealing frame; wherein, with the valve frame and the sealing frame in the first and second expanded configurations, respectively, the intermediate portion projects radially outward from the valve frame, wherein at least a portion of the outer skirt is urged radially outward by contact with the intermediate portion, as taught by Cooper, in order to improve the seal with the native valve annulus (Paragraph [0224]). Regarding claim 19 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses all of the claimed features of the prosthetic heart valve (see above in regards to claim 1). While Levi discloses that the valve can be coupled to a delivery apparatus, Levi as modified by Cooper fails to disclose the method of implanting. Cooper further teaches a method of implanting a prosthetic heart valve (prosthesis 100) in a patient’s body (Col. 46, lines 56-64, Fig. 35), the method comprising: inserting an end of a delivery apparatus (shaft assembly 12) into vasculature of a patient (Col. 47, lines 33-35, Fig. 35), the delivery apparatus (delivery system 10) comprising an elongated shaft (shaft assembly 12) and the prosthetic heart valve (prosthesis 100) of claim 1 releasably mounted on the elongated shaft (Col. 49, lines 44-52 and 58-61) with the valve frame in the compressed configuration (Col. 47, lines 43-46, Fig. 35, shaft assembly 12, prosthesis 100); advancing the prosthetic heart valve (prosthesis 100) to an implantation site; and deploying the prosthetic heart valve (prosthesis 100) at the implantation site (Col. 47, lines 43-48, Fig. 35). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to perform the method of implanting further taught by Cooper with Levi’s in view of Cooper prosthetic heart valve in order to properly implant the valve as intended (Levi: Background, Col. 1, lines 13-15). Regarding claim 20 , Levi as modified by Cooper discloses the method of claim 19, wherein deploying the prosthetic heart valve (Fig. 18A, prosthesis 1500, and Paragraph [0215]: “The embodiments of FIGS. 18A-20 can have similar or the same features to the other prostheses discussed herein”, prosthesis 100) comprises expanding the valve frame using the delivery apparatus (Paragraph [0270], Fig. 35, shaft assembly 12). Regarding claim 21 , Levi in view of Cooper discloses wherein the sealing frame (124) is coupled to the valve frame (102) with sutures (Col. 7, lines 5-8) between the first coupling apices (Col. 5, lines 28-33, Fig. 2, apices 119) of the sealing frame and the first apices (Col. 5, lines 28-33, Fig. 2, apices 119) of the valve frame (102) and between the second coupling apices (second end portions 130) of the sealing frame (124) and adjacent portions of the valve frame Figs. 1-3, junctions 118). Regarding claim 22 , Levi in view of Cooper fails to disclose wherein the sealing frame comprises at least one row of closed cells that are closed to both the first axial end and the second axial end. Cooper further teaches wherein the sealing frame (140) comprises at least one row of closed cells (Fig. 6A, cells 154) that are closed to both the first axial end (Fig. 6A, lower region 150) and the second axial end (Fig. 6A, upper region 146). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified Levi’s sealing frame to include at least one row of closed cells that are closed to both the first axial end and the second axial end, as further taught by Cooper, in order to help secure the valve to the tissue (Paragraph [0166]). Conclusion 07-40 AIA Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL . See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KARI L COCHRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-9637. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 7:00-5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Melanie Tyson can be reached at 5712729062. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /K.L.C./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774 /MELANIE R TYSON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 2 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 3 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 4 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 5 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 6 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 7 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 8 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 9 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 10 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 11 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 12 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 13 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 14 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 15 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 16 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 17 Art Unit: 3774 Application/Control Number: 18/315,500 Page 18 Art Unit: 3774