DETAILED ACTION
inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant's election without traverse of Group I: claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 13 February 2026 is acknowledged.
3. Claim 7 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Status of Claims
4. Claims 1-7 are pending in the current application, claim 7 is withdrawn, and claims 1-6 are under consideration on the merits.
Examiner Note
5. It is noted that all references hereinafter to Applicant’s specification are to the published
application US 2024/0047672 A1, unless stated otherwise. Further, it is noted that italicized text in parentheses recited in any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 indicates the element of the claimed invention to which the preceding prior art element corresponds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakano et al. (US 2014/0030598 A1; “Sakano”).
9. Regarding claim 1, Sakano discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising a positive electrode [0016], of which includes a positive electrode active material (a positive electrode active material) comprising lithium transition metal composite oxide, of which the transition metal is, inter alia nickel (lithium nickel composite oxide powder) [0029, 0035] having two X-ray absorption fine structure (XAFS) spectrum absorbance peaks between 527-533 eV [0010, 0049, FIG. 7], see Annotated Sakano FIG. 7 below. Specifically, the first peak is at 530 eV, and the second peak is at 533-534 eV (based on Annotated Sakano FIG. 7 below and [Sakano, 0049]). Furthermore, Sakano discloses the lithium transition metal composite oxide has a D50 (d) between 1-50 μm [0030], of which is exemplified as 7 μm in Samples 0-3 of Sakano [0063-0070].
10. The aforesaid peak ranges correspond to the claimed ranges 529-530 eV and 533-534 eV. Furthermore, the aforesaid D50 range overlaps with the claimed range, less than or equal to 2.7 μm, thereby rendering the range prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05(I)), and reading on the claimed formula (2).
11. Annotated Sakano FIG. 7 below exemplifies that the Samples 0-3 have the first peak at 530 eV, and the second peak at 533-534 eV, wherein the first peak has an absorbance intensity height of 70-80 a.u. and the second peak has an absorbance intensity height of 25-35 a.u. [0049, FIG. 7, see Annotated Sakano FIG. 7 below]. Through calculation, a ratio (R) between the first and second XAFS spectrum absorbance peak heights, of which is 0.36-0.44, reads on the claimed variable R. This ratio, multiplied by itself, multiplied by the D50 value of 7 μm [Samples 0-3], is 0.91-1.36, of which is outside of the claimed range of 0.1 to 0.4.
12. In view of the foregoing, and as stated above, Sakano discloses that the average particle size may be as low as 1 µm. Through calculation utilizing the average particle size of 1 µm and the foregoing R range of 0.36-0.44 determined from Fig. 7, the value of dR2 would have necessarily been from 0.13-0.19, of which is within the formula (1) range of 0.1 to 0.4 defined in claim 1. As such, it stands to reason and/or there is a reasonable expectation that the lithium nickel composite oxide particles of Sakano, having d of 1 µm and exhibiting the same oxidic composition of Samples 0-3, would have necessarily exhibited a dR2 value within the range of 0.13-0.19, absent a showing of factually supported objective evidence to the contrary. See MPEP 2112(V); MPEP 2112.01(I) and (II); MPEP 2145; and MPEP 2145(I). "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established”. The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Annotated Sakano FIG. 7
13. Regarding claim 2, Sakano discloses the positive electrode active material of claim 1 set forth in the grounds of rejection above. That is, with the first peak at 530 eV, and the second peak at 533-534 eV, wherein the first peak has an absorbance intensity height of 70-80 a.u. and the second peak has an absorbance intensity height of 25-35 a.u. [0049, FIG. 7, see Annotated Sakano FIG. 7 above], and through calculation, the ratio between the first and second XAFS spectrum absorbance peak heights, is 0.36-0.44 [0049, FIG. 7, see Annotated Sakano FIG. 7 above].
14. Regarding claim 3, Sakano discloses the positive electrode active material of claim 1 set forth in the grounds of rejection above. In view thereof, Sakano further discloses that within a preferable embodiment of the lithium transition metal composite oxide, the primary element between Ni, Co, and Mn is Ni, wherein Ni is in an amount 0-0.7 with respect to the total amount of Ni, Co, and Mn
being 1 [0035].
15. The aforesaid Ni amount range of Sakano overlaps with the claimed Ni ratio range, 0.5 or more, thereby rendering the range prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05(I)).
16. Regarding claim 4, Sakano discloses the positive electrode active material of claim 1 set forth in the grounds of rejection above. In view thereof, Sakano further discloses the lithium transition metal composite oxide is represented by the following: Li0.7-1.3Ni0-0.7Co0-0.7Mn0-0.7O2.
17. All aforesaid element ranges of Sakano overlap with the claimed element ranges, Li1-1.7Ni0.5-0.8Co0.1-0.2Mn0-0.4O2, thereby rendering all ranges prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.05(I)), wherein the claimed formula (4) has variables Ma and Cb, both of which can have an amount equal to 0, said alternatively, can be absent, thereby reading on the claimed formula (4).
18. Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 above reads on the positive electrode defined by claim 5.
19. Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 above reads on the lithium ion battery defined by claim 6. The lithium secondary battery of Sakano reads on the claimed lithium ion battery.
Pertinent Prior Art
20. The following constitutes a list of prior art which are not relied upon herein, but are considered pertinent to the claimed invention and/or written description thereof. The prior art are purposely made of record hereinafter to facilitate compact/expedient prosecution, and consideration thereof is respectfully suggested.
21.
I. Sasaki, JP 2005/251700 A; teaches peak tops of 528-531 eV and 531-533 eV [Tech-Solution section of English translated version].
II. Umetsu, WO 2019/156090 A1; teaches an average particle size of the lithium transition metal oxide is preferably 0.1 to 20 μm [Lithium transition metal oxide section of English translated version]
Conclusion
/JENNA X. COLTON/Examiner, Art Unit 1782
/AARON AUSTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1782