DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (apparatus) and Species N (implant 330 shown in Fig. 14A-G) in the reply filed on 03/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-8, 18-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim 14 is also drawn to non-elected embodiment Species M (Fig. 13A-D) and will be withdrawn from consideration.
Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/18/26.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 11, line 2, “include” should be “includes”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Co-pending Application # 18/315561 was checked for double patenting. No rejection is applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mesiwala et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0268525 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Mesiwala discloses an implant (2500) (Fig. 25A) comprising: an outer cage (2504) and an internal screw (2502+2506) aligned along a central longitudinal axis (see below), the outer cage (2404) having a polygonal outer shape (triangular cross section, [0155]) configured to limit rotational motion, and the internal screw (2502+2506) is sized and dimensioned to fit through the outer cage (shown in Fig. 25A), the internal screw having an enlarged head (2506) and a shaft (2502) with one or more threaded sections (2508) (fig. 25A) [0153], wherein the outer cage is free to rotate relative to the internal screw (“In other embodiments … non-rotation features may be omitted to permit body portion 2504 to rotate relative to shank portion 2502.”, [0154]).
Regarding Claim 10, the outer cage (2504) has a triangular cross-section [0155].
Regarding Claim 11, the outer cage (2504) include three faces and three vertices (see below).
Regarding Claim 12, the shaft of the internal screw includes one or more narrowed shaft portions (see figure below, unthreaded portion is narrower than threaded portion), and the outer cage defines corresponding narrowed sections (openings shown in figure below) configured to mate with the narrowed shaft portions, wherein the narrowed shaft portion is fully capable of acting as stops to prevent the outer cage from translating along the central longitudinal axis (the cage can abut the larger threaded area of the screw to stop further distal translation).
Regarding Claim 13, the narrowed shaft portions are non-threaded and have a reduced diameter relative to the threaded sections (shown in figure below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mesiwala et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0268525 A1) in view of Reiley et al. (US Publication No. 2016/0081810 A1)
Mesiwala discloses the implant of claim 9 as described above, however is silent to one or more prongs extending distally from the outer cage.
Reiley discloses an sacroiliac joint implant in the same field of endeavor wherein a triangular cage which is inserted into the joint has ribs 24 (prongs) which can extend from the distal end of the cage [“In other embodiments, the ribs 24 can extend from the distal ends of the elongate body 12”, 0070] in order to contact the bone in situations where a previous implant is being replaced [0069-0070]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the triangular cage of Mesiwala to include ribs/prongs extending from the distal end thereof in order to engage bone in situations where the implant is being used in revision surgery.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mesiwala et al. (US Publication No. 2020/0268525 A1) in view of Lewis et al. (US Publication No. 2022/0354654 A1).
Mesiwala discloses the implant of claim 9 as described above, however is silent the implant includes a spiral sweep interrupting the threaded sections and the sweep includes a lattice structure.
Lewis discloses a sacroiliac joint fusion implant in the same field of endeavor. Lewis disclose that the threads of the screw portion of the implant have a spiral sweep (spiral cutting flutes 12) interrupting them and the flutes/sweep has windows (14) therein (considered to form a lattice structure) in order to harvest the bone chips as the screw is being advanced [0008, 0047].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the threaded sections of the implant of Mesiwala to have interrupting spiral sweep/cutting flutes with lattice structure/bone harvesting windows therein as taught by Lewis in order to remove the bone chips from interfering with the threads as well as provide an osseointegration medium within the screw to facilitate bone ingrowth.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form PTO-892.
/JACQUELINE T JOHANAS/ Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3773