Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “optical component” in claim 1, and “determination section” in claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maehara et al. (US 2011/0042362), referred to hereafter as Maehara in view of Johnson et al. (US 2022/0314365), referred to hereafter as Johnson.
With regard to claim 1:
Maehara discloses a laser processing apparatus for processing a workpiece, comprising: a holding table (36) that holds the workpiece (Fig. 1); and a laser beam irradiation unit (5) that applies a laser beam to the workpiece held on the holding table (Fig. 1), wherein the laser beam irradiation unit has a laser oscillator (6, Fig. 2) that emits the laser beam, a condenser (73, Fig. 2) that focuses the laser beam emitted from the laser oscillator, at least one optical component (72, Fig. 2) that guides the laser beam from the laser oscillator to the condenser, a casing (71, Fig. 2) that accommodates the at least one optical component (Fig. 2).
Maehara does not appear to explicitly disclose an ionizer that is disposed inside the casing and captures contaminants that are present inside the casing.
However, Johnson teaches an ionizer that is disposed inside a casing and captures contaminants that are present inside the casing ([0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine prior art elements according to known methods, namely adding an ionizer that is disposed inside the casing and captures contaminants that are present inside the casing to the laser processing apparatus of Maehara, to yield predictable results of capturing contaminants that are present inside the casing.
With regard to claim 2, the combination of Maehara and Johnson further discloses that the ionizer is of a windless type ([0082] describes that the bar 308 is configured to release positive ions or negative ions, the same mechanism described in [0039] of applicant’s specification. Also see [0112] describing emitting ions from bar 308 in the casing 290).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maehara et al. (US 2011/0042362), referred to hereafter as Maehara in view of Johnson et al. (US 2022/0314365), referred to hereafter as Johnson, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takeshi et al. (JPH5146717), referred to hereafter as Takeshi.
With regard to claim 3:
the combination of Maehara and Johnson discloses the laser processing apparatus of claim 1, as set forth above.
the combination of Maehara and Johnson does not appear to explicitly disclose a determination section that determines cleanliness inside the casing on a basis of a quantity of ions produced by the ionizer.
However, Takeshi teaches capturing contaminants by an ionizer, and further teaches a determination section that determines cleanliness inside the casing on a basis of a quantity of ions produced by the ionizer ([0012], [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine prior art elements according to known methods, and add a determination section that determines cleanliness inside the casing on a basis of a quantity of ions produced by the ionizer, to yield predictable results of capturing contaminants that are present inside the casing.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent prior art disclosing similar laser processing apparatus such as US 20210066101.
/BEHNOUSH HAGHIGHIAN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745