DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites in line 2 “the at least lateral-moving set includes two lateral-moving sets”. However, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. Is this “at least lateral-moving set” the same as the at least one lateral-moving set, recited in claim 2? Or not? Further clarification is needed.
Claim 6 recites in lines 6-8 “at least one lateral block mounted to the longitudinal rail and able to…slide…along the lateral rail”. However, the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear. It is unclear how exactly this lateral block, is mounted to the longitudinal rail and at the same time is able to slide along the lateral rail. It is unclear if the lateral block is to be mounted to the lateral rail, so as to be able to slide along the lateral rail, instead of being mounted to the longitudinal rail as claimed. Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 111958267 A (hereafter--CN’267--).
A machine translation of CN’267 will be attached herein for reference. Refer to the machine translation for details.
In regards to claim 1, CN’267 discloses a wheel machining device (see Figure 1) comprising: a base (see annotated Figure 1 below) having two opposite ends and two opposite sides; at least one longitudinal-driving set (see annotated Figure 1 below), each one of the longitudinal driving set mounted to the base and having a longitudinal-driving motor (see annotated Figure 1 below); a longitudinal leadscrew (see annotated Figure 1 below) extending toward the two opposite ends of the base, connected to the longitudinal-driving motor (see annotated Figure 1 below), and able to be driven by the longitudinal-driving motor to rotate in place; a longitudinal nut screwed (see annotated Figure 1 below) on the longitudinal leadscrew and able to repeatedly move toward the two opposite ends of the base along the longitudinal leadscrew (see annotated Figure 1 below); a movable mount (see annotated Figure 1 below) connected to the longitudinal nut of each one of the at least one longitudinal-driving set and able to move with the longitudinal nut; at least one lateral-driving set (see annotated Figure 1 below), each one of the lateral-driving set mounted to the movable mount, able to move with the movable mount, and having a lateral-driving motor (see annotated Figure 1 below); a lateral leadscrew (see annotated Figure 1 below) extending toward the two opposite sides of the base, connected to the lateral-driving motor, and able to be driven by the lateral-driving motor to rotate in place; a lateral nut screwed (see annotated Figure 1 below) on the lateral leadscrew and able to repeatedly move toward the two opposite sides of the base along the lateral leadscrew; a machining set (see annotated Figure 1 below) having an erect mount (see annotated Figure 1 below) connected to the lateral nut of each one of the at least one lateral-driving set and able to move with the lateral nut; and a spindle (see annotated Figure 1 below) connected to the erect mount; and a worktable (8, see annotated Figure 1 below), for fixing a workpiece, disposed adjacent to one of the two opposite ends of the base.
In regards to claim 9, CN’267 discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 1, CN’267 also discloses that the spindle is equipped with a B-axis milling head (in the same way as presented by Applicant).
In regards to claim 10, CN’267 discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 1, CN’267 also discloses that the worktable has a stand (8) disposed adjacent to one of the two opposite ends of the base; a platform (9) having two opposite ends, one of the two opposite ends of the platform pivotally connected to the stand (8) so as to be capable of letting the platform (9) pivot relative to the stand between 0° to 90° degrees (see pivoting directional arrows in Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8, 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 111958267 A (hereafter--CN’267--) in view of either one of Chen US 10,293,442 and/or in the alternative, Chen et al. US 2016/0193669 (hereafter—Chen’669--).
In regards to claim 2, CN’267 discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 1, CN’267 also discloses the wheel machining device has at least one longitudinal-moving set, each one of the at least one longitudinal-moving set has a longitudinal rail (1) connected to the base and extending toward the two opposite ends of the base; and at least one longitudinal mechanism so as to be mounted to the longitudinal rail, able to repeatedly slide toward the two opposite ends of the base along the longitudinal rail, and connected to the movable mount.
Although there is a suggestion in CN’267 that there has to inherently have a longitudinal block mounted to the longitudinal rail so as to move and slide the mount along the longitudinal rail. This is not explicitly disclosed.
Chen teaches in Figure 2, that it is well known in the art to have a longitudinal block mounted to a longitudinal rail (17, 213 or 214) able to repeatedly slide toward two opposite sides along the longitudinal rail, and connected to a movable mount (23 and 51). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that sliding blocks allow for a mount to properly slide along a rail.
Chen’669 also teaches in Figures 6-13 that it is well known in the art to have a longitudinal block (617(614) and 626(624) mounted to a longitudinal rail (51) able to repeatedly slide toward two opposite sides along the longitudinal rail (51), and connected to a movable mount (61, 62). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that sliding blocks allow for a mount to properly slide along a rail.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to provide CN’267 with a longitudinal sliding block as taught by either one of Chen and/or Chen’669 to allow for a mount to properly slide along a rail.
In regards to claim 3, CN’267 as modified discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 2, CN’267 as modified also discloses the wheel machining device has at least one lateral-moving set, each one of the at least one lateral-moving set has a lateral rail (3) connected to the base and extending toward the two opposite ends of the base; and at least one lateral mechanism so as to be mounted to the lateral rail, able to repeatedly slide toward the two opposite ends of the base along the lateral rail, and connected to the erect mount (see annotated Figure 1 above).
Although there is a suggestion in CN’267 that there has to inherently have a lateral block mounted to the lateral rail so as to move and slide the erect mount along the lateral rail. This is not explicitly disclosed.
Chen teaches in Figure 2, that it is well known in the art to have a lateral block mounted to a lateral rail (17, 213 or 214) able to repeatedly slide toward two opposite sides along the lateral rail, and connected to a mount (23 and 51). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that sliding blocks allow for a mount to properly slide along a rail.
Chen’669 also teaches in Figures 6-13 that it is well known in the art to have a block (617(614) and 626(624)) mounted to a rail (51) able to repeatedly slide toward two opposite sides along the rail (51), and connected to a movable mount (61, 62). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that sliding blocks allow for a mount to properly slide along a rail.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to provide CN’267 with a lateral sliding block as taught by either one of Chen and/or Chen’669 to allow for a mount to properly slide along a rail.
In regards to claim 4, CN’267 as modified discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 3, CN’267 as modified also discloses that at least lateral-moving set includes two lateral-moving sets (see annotated Figure 1 of CN’267 above); the movable mount has a receiving recession (see annotated Figure 1 of CN’267 above) disposed between the two lateral-moving sets (see annotated Figure 1 of CN’267 above) and extending toward the two opposite sides of the base; the at least one lateral-driving set includes one lateral-driving set disposed in the receiving recession (see annotated Figure 1 of CN’267 above).
In regards to claim 5, CN’267 discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 1, CN’267 also discloses two longitudinal-moving sets (as in Figure 1 of CN’267, note that there are two longitudinal moving sets, only one which has been annotated for guidance); each one of the two longitudinal-moving sets has a longitudinal rail (1) connected to the base and extending toward the two opposite ends of the base (see annotated Figure 1 of CN’267 above); and at least one longitudinal mechanism mounted to the longitudinal rail and able to repeatedly slide toward the two opposite ends of the base along the longitudinal rail; and the at least one longitudinal-driving set includes two longitudinal driving sets (see the two longitudinal driving sets in annotated Figure 1 above); two rails of the two longitudinal-moving sets are respectively adjacent to two longitudinal leadscrews of the two longitudinal-driving sets (see Figure 1 and note that each of the rails plus longitudinal mechanism mounted to the rail are next to each other).
Although there is a suggestion in CN’267 that there has to inherently have a longitudinal block mounted to the longitudinal rail so as to move and slide the movable mount along the longitudinal rail. This is not explicitly disclosed.
Chen teaches in Figure 2, that it is well known in the art to have a longitudinal block mounted to a longitudinal rail (17, 213 or 214) able to repeatedly slide toward two opposite sides along the longitudinal rail, and connected to a mount (23 and 51). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that sliding blocks allow for a mount to properly slide along a rail.
Chen’669 also teaches in Figures 6-13 that it is well known in the art to have a block (617(614) and 626(624)) mounted to a rail (51) able to repeatedly slide toward two opposite sides along the rail (51), and connected to a movable mount (61, 62). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that sliding blocks allow for a mount to properly slide along a rail.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to provide CN’267 with a longitudinal sliding block as taught by either one of Chen and/or Chen’669 to allow for a mount to properly slide along a rail.
In regards to claim 6, CN’267 discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 1, CN’267 also discloses that the wheel machining device has two lateral-moving sets (as in Figure 1 of CN’267, note that there are two longitudinal moving sets, only one which has been annotated for guidance); each one of the two lateral-moving sets has a lateral rail (as annotated in Figure 1 of CN’267 above) connected to the movable mount and extending toward the two opposite sides of the base; and at least one lateral mechanism mounted to the --lateral rail-- and able to repeatedly slide toward the two opposite sides of the base along the lateral rail.
Although there is a suggestion in CN’267 that there has to inherently have a lateral block mounted to the lateral rail so as to move and slide the mount along the lateral rail. This is not explicitly disclosed.
Chen teaches in Figure 2, that it is well known in the art to have a lateral block mounted to a lateral rail (17, 213 or 214) able to repeatedly slide toward two opposite sides along the lateral rail, and connected to a mount (23 and 51). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that sliding blocks allow for a mount to properly slide along a rail.
Chen’669 also teaches in Figures 6-13 that it is well known in the art to have a block (617(614) and 626(624)) mounted to a rail (51) able to repeatedly slide toward two opposite sides along the rail (51), and connected to a movable mount (61, 62). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that sliding blocks allow for a mount to properly slide along a rail.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to provide CN’267 with a lateral sliding block as taught by either one of Chen and/or Chen’669 to allow for a mount to properly slide along a rail.
In regards to claim 7, CN’267 as modified discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 1, CN’267 as modified also discloses the spindle equipped with a universal milling head.
Although there is a suggestion, in the Background of the Invention of the attached Machine Translation of CN’267 that the spindle is a computer numerical controlled spindle, this is not explicitly disclosed.
However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time Applicant’s invention was filed, to have the spindle be automatic as a computer numerical controlled spindle, since it has been held that broadly providing an automatic or mechanical means to replace a manual activity which accomplished the same result is not sufficient to distinguish over the prior art as it involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 262 F.2d 91, 95, 120 USPQ 193, 194.
In regards to claim 8, CN’267 as modified discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 7, CN’267 as modified also discloses that the wheel machining device has an ATC (automatic tool changer) tool magazine (22 of CN’267 as in Figure 1) suitable for the spindle.
In regards to claim 11, CN’267 as modified discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 2, CN’267 as modified also discloses that the worktable has a stand (8 of CN’267) disposed adjacent to one of the two opposite ends of the base; a platform (9 of CN’267) having two opposite ends, one of the two opposite ends of the platform pivotally connected to the stand (8 of CN’267) so as to be capable of letting the platform (9 of CN’267) pivot relative to the stand between 0° to 90° degrees (see pivoting directional arrows in Figure 2 of CN’267).
In regards to claim 12, CN’267 as modified discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 3, CN’267 as modified also discloses that the worktable has a stand (8 of CN’267) disposed adjacent to one of the two opposite ends of the base; a platform (9 of CN’267) having two opposite ends, one of the two opposite ends of the platform pivotally connected to the stand (8 of CN’267) so as to be capable of letting the platform (9 of CN’267) pivot relative to the stand between 0° to 90° degrees (see pivoting directional arrows in Figure 2 of CN’267).
In regards to claim 13, CN’267 as modified discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 4, CN’267 as modified also discloses that the worktable has a stand (8 of CN’267) disposed adjacent to one of the two opposite ends of the base; a platform (9 of CN’267) having two opposite ends, one of the two opposite ends of the platform pivotally connected to the stand (8 of CN’267) so as to be capable of letting the platform (9 of CN’267) pivot relative to the stand between 0° to 90° degrees (see pivoting directional arrows in Figure 2 of CN’267).
In regards to claim 14, CN’267 as modified discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 5, CN’267 as modified also discloses that the worktable has a stand (8 of CN’267) disposed adjacent to one of the two opposite ends of the base; a platform (9 of CN’267) having two opposite ends, one of the two opposite ends of the platform pivotally connected to the stand (8 of CN’267) so as to be capable of letting the platform (9 of CN’267) pivot relative to the stand between 0° to 90° degrees (see pivoting directional arrows in Figure 2 of CN’267).
In regards to claim 15, CN’267 as modified discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 6, CN’267 as modified also discloses that the worktable has a stand (8 of CN’267) disposed adjacent to one of the two opposite ends of the base; a platform (9 of CN’267) having two opposite ends, one of the two opposite ends of the platform pivotally connected to the stand (8 of CN’267) so as to be capable of letting the platform (9 of CN’267) pivot relative to the stand between 0° to 90° degrees (see pivoting directional arrows in Figure 2 of CN’267).
In regards to claim 16, CN’267 as modified discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 7, CN’267 as modified also discloses that the worktable has a stand (8 of CN’267) disposed adjacent to one of the two opposite ends of the base; a platform (9 of CN’267) having two opposite ends, one of the two opposite ends of the platform pivotally connected to the stand (8 of CN’267) so as to be capable of letting the platform (9 of CN’267) pivot relative to the stand between 0° to 90° degrees (see pivoting directional arrows in Figure 2 of CN’267).
In regards to claim 17, CN’267 as modified discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 8, CN’267 as modified also discloses that the worktable has a stand (8 of CN’267) disposed adjacent to one of the two opposite ends of the base; a platform (9 of CN’267) having two opposite ends, one of the two opposite ends of the platform pivotally connected to the stand (8 of CN’267) so as to be capable of letting the platform (9 of CN’267) pivot relative to the stand between 0° to 90° degrees (see pivoting directional arrows in Figure 2 of CN’267).
In regards to claim 18, CN’267 as modified discloses the wheel machining device as claimed in claim 9, CN’267 as modified also discloses that the worktable has a stand (8 of CN’267) disposed adjacent to one of the two opposite ends of the base; a platform (9 of CN’267) having two opposite ends, one of the two opposite ends of the platform pivotally connected to the stand (8 of CN’267) so as to be capable of letting the platform (9 of CN’267) pivot relative to the stand between 0° to 90° degrees (see pivoting directional arrows in Figure 2 of CN’267).
Conclusion
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722