DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 16-17, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2022/0022214 to Akl et al. (hereinafter Akl).
In regard amended claim 1, Akl teaches or discloses a transmission processing method, performed by an IAB node in a self-backhauled loop (see Fig. 6, paragraph [0093], IAB node 616 communicates with UE 626 and UE 628 via wireless access links 630 and 632, respectively. IAB node 618 communicates with UE 634 via wireless access link 636. IAB node 622 communicates with UE 640 via wireless access link 638. The IAB nodes 616-624 are further interconnected via one or more wireless backhaul links 642, 644, 646, 648, 650, and 652. The wireless backhaul links 642-652 may utilize the same wireless spectrum (e.g., the radio frequency (RF) spectrum) as the wireless access links 630, 632, 636, and 638 to backhaul access traffic to/from the remote network 604. This may be referred to as wireless self-backhauling. Such wireless self-backhauling can enable fast and easy deployment of highly dense small cell networks), the method comprising:
receiving first indication information sent by a donor node in the self-backhauled loop, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a multiplexing mode of the IAB node (see paragraphs [0165], [0166], [0167], the parent IAB node (or a child/descendant IAB node of the parent IAB node) may send to the CU of the IAB-donor node an indication (in addition to or instead of the information sent to the IAB -donor node) that may cause the IAB -donor node (e.g., to the CU circuitry 1342 of the IAB-donor node 1300) to select a scheduling bias. Examples of the indication include, but are not limited to the indication of at least one of: a new child IAB node has connected to or is disconnected from the IAB network, a number of served child IAB nodes, user equipments (UEs), or IAB mobile terminations (MTs) associated with a given RLC CH, [0168] a first setup of the given RLC CH).
In regard amended claim 2, Akl teaches or discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information is further used for indicating scheduling of a distributed unit DU (see paragraph [0211], at block 1604, the IAB node may receive, responsive to send the information, the scheduling bias from the IAB-donor node. The scheduling bias may be received at a distributed unit (DU) of the IAB node from a central unit (CU) of the IAB-donor node. The IAB node may receive the scheduling bias over a signaling connection between the IAB-donor node and the parent IAB node).
In regard amended claim 3, Akl teaches or discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: performing transmission or scheduling in the multiplexing mode (see paragraphs [0036], and [0058], the term downlink may refer to a point-to-multipoint transmission originating at a base station. Devices communicating in the radio access network 200 may utilize one or more multiplexing techniques and multiple access algorithms to enable simultaneous communication of the various devices. Further, multiplexing DL transmissions from the base station 210 to UEs 222 and 224 may be provided utilizing TDM, CDM, FDM, OFDM, SCM, or other suitable multiplexing).
In regard amended claim 4, Akl teaches or discloses the method according to claim 3, wherein the performing scheduling or transmission in the multiplexing mode comprises at least one of the following:
performing periodic transmission or scheduling in the multiplexing mode; and
performing transmission or scheduling in the multiplexing mode in a preset time periodicity (see paragraphs [0058], [0059], and [0065], examples may include mini-slots, sometimes referred to as shortened transmission time intervals (TTIs), having a shorter duration (e.g., one to three OFDM symbols). These mini-slots or shortened transmission time intervals (TTIs) may in some cases be transmitted occupying resources scheduled for ongoing slot transmissions for the same or for different UEs. Any number of resource blocks may be utilized within a subframe or slot.
In regard amended claim 5, Akl teaches or discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: performing, in a case that the first indication information is not received, transmission or scheduling in a default multiplexing mode (see paragraphs [0009], [0029], [0036], [0058], [0059], [0065], [0072], [0074], and [0077], the uplink pilot signal transmitted by a UE (e.g., UE 224) may be concurrently received by two or more cells (e.g., base stations 210 and 214/216) within the RAN 200).
In regard claim 6, Akl teaches or discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first indication information is carried on a physical downlink control channel PDCCH, downlink control information DCI, a medium access control control element MAC CE, radio resource control RRC, or a backhaul access protocol control protocol data unit (see paragraphs [0071], and [0211], examples of system information transmitted in the MIB may include, but are not limited to, a subcarrier spacing (e.g., default downlink numerology), system frame number, a configuration of a PDCCH control resource set (CORESET) (e.g., PDCCH CORESET), a cell barred indicator, a cell reselection indicator, a raster offset, and a search space for SIB1. the signaling connection may be at least one of: a radio resource control (RRC) connection or an F1-C interface connection. The scheduling bias may be based at least in part on the information sent to the IAB-donor node (e.g., at block 1602) and may additionally be based on various indicators and/or indications sent to the IAB-donor node from the IAB node).
In regard amended claim 16, Akl teaches or discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein an indication granularity associated with the multiplexing mode comprises at least one of the following: M time units (see paragraphs [0040]) and N frequency domain units, wherein
both M and N are positive integers, the time unit is a sub-frame, a slot, a symbol, or a periodicity (see paragraphs [0040], the uplink and/or downlink control information and/or traffic information may be transmitted on a waveform that may be time-divided into frames, subframes, slots, and/or symbols. As used herein, a symbol may refer to a unit of time that, in an orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) waveform, carries one resource element (RE) per sub-carrier. A slot may carry 7 or 14 OFDM symbols. A subframe may refer to a duration of 1 ms. Multiple subframes or slots may be grouped together to form a single frame or radio frame), and the frequency domain element comprises a physical resource block PRB, a sub- band, a precoding resource block group PRG, a sub-carrier, or a resource element RE (see paragraphs [0040], [0059], [0061], [0062], [0063], and [0064], an OFDM waveform, carries one resource element (RE) per sub-carrier. Where transmissions in different directions occur within different sub-bands of the carrier bandwidth. A block of REs may be referred to as a physical resource block (PRB) or more simply a resource block (RB) 308, which contains any suitable number of consecutive subcarriers in the frequency domain).
In regard amended claim 17, Akl teaches or discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the receiving first indication information sent by a donor node comprises receiving, based on a second preset periodicity, the first indication information sent by the donor node (see paragraphs [0175], [0186], [0200], and [0211], the scheduling bias, whether selected by the IAB-donor node based on an indicator or indication from the parent IAB node, or whether determined based on information received from the parent IAB node, may be dependent on the information received from a parent IAB node. information received from the parent IAB node that may include, for example, an indication that a new child IAB node or UE is connected/ disconnected).
In regard amended claim 19, Akl teaches or discloses a IAB node in a self-backhauled loop (see Figs. 6 and 15, paragraph [0093], IAB node 616 communicates with UE 626 and UE 628 via wireless access links 630 and 632, respectively. IAB node 618 communicates with UE 634 via wireless access link 636. IAB node 622 communicates with UE 640 via wireless access link 638. The IAB nodes 616-624 are further interconnected via one or more wireless backhaul links 642, 644, 646, 648, 650, and 652. The wireless backhaul links 642-652 may utilize the same wireless spectrum (e.g., the radio frequency (RF) spectrum) as the wireless access links 630, 632, 636, and 638 to backhaul access traffic to/from the remote network 604. This may be referred to as wireless self-backhauling. Such wireless self-backhauling can enable fast and easy deployment of highly dense small cell networks), comprising: a memory, a processor, and a program stored in the memory and runnable on the processor (see Fig. 15), wherein the program is executed by the processor to perform (see Fig. 15, paragraphs [0203], and [0204]):
receiving first indication information sent by a donor node in the self- backhauled loop, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a multiplexing mode of the IAB node (see paragraphs [0165], [0166], and [0167], the parent IAB node (or a child/descendant IAB node of the parent IAB node) may send to the CU of the IAB-donor node an indication (in addition to or instead of the information sent to the IAB -donor node) that may cause the IAB -donor node (e.g., to the CU circuitry 1342 of the IAB-donor node 1300) to select a scheduling bias. Examples of the indication include, but are not limited to the indication of at least one of: a new child IAB node has connected to or is disconnected from the IAB network, a number of served child IAB nodes, user equipments (UEs), or IAB mobile terminations (MTs) associated with a given RLC CH, [0168] a first setup of the given RLC CH).
In regard amended claim 20, Akl teaches or discloses a readable storage medium applied to an IAB node in a self- backhauled loop (see Fig. 15, paragraph [0202], and [0203]), wherein the readable storage medium stores a program or an instruction, the program or the instruction is executed by a processor to perform (see Fig. 15, paragraphs [0203], [0204], and [0205]):
receiving first indication information sent by a donor node in the self- backhauled loop, wherein the first indication information is used for indicating a target multiplexing mode of the IAB node (see paragraphs [0165], [0166], and [0167], the parent IAB node (or a child/ descendant IAB node of the parent IAB node) may send to the CU of the IAB-donor node an indication (in addition to or instead of the information sent to the IAB -donor node) that may cause the IAB -donor node (e.g., to the CU circuitry 1342 of the IAB-donor node 1300) to select a scheduling bias. Examples of the indication include, but are not limited to the indication of at least one of: a new child IAB node has connected to or is disconnected from the IAB network, a number of served child IAB nodes, user equipments (UEs), or IAB mobile terminations (MTs) associated with a given RLC CH, [0168] a first setup of the given RLC CH).
In regard amended claim 21, Akl teaches or discloses the communication device according to claim 19, wherein the program is executed by the processor to further perform a step of:
performing, in a case that the first indication information is not received, transmission or scheduling in a default multiplexing mode (see paragraphs [0039], [0040], [0058], [0059], [0078], and [0106], multiplexing DL transmissions from the base station 210 to UEs 222 and 224 may be provided utilizing TDM, CDM, FDM, OFDM, SCM, or other suitable multiplex schemes. If the radio link permits (e.g., permits transmission of large quantities of data in a single communication) and there is data buffered for multiple logical channels, the DU 708 (e.g., the MAC layer) may multiplex data from the multiple logical channels in a single transmission to the first UE 714. The DU 708 (e.g., the MAC layer) may multiplex the multiple logical channels into transport channels and may insert logical channel IDs (LCIDs) to enable demultiplexing at the receiver).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
As to amended claims 1, 19, and 20, applicants argue Chen fails to disclose a donor node in the self-backhauled loop and the terminal device in Chen is not an IAB node in the self-backhauled loop. The examiner respectfully agrees with the applicants Chen fails to disclose the amendment to the claims. On the other hand, the new discovery reference Akl teaches these discloses just that.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Date: 06/09/206
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476