FINAL REJECTION
over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. According to independent claim 1, at least one of the second volatile corrosion inhibitors must comprise an ammonium salt. Dependent claim 8 can be read to be in direct conflict with independent claim 1’s said requirement. Applicant can overcome this issue by inserting the word --further-- after the word “is” in line 2 of the claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
EXAMINATION NOTE:
Please note that Applicant’s independent claim 1 contains the sublimination of: “comprising about 40 wt.% to about 100 wt.% of a first volatile corrosion inhibitor comprising polyacrylamide,” [Emphasis added]. It needs to be pointed out that the wording of said sublimination DOES NOT require that the concentration of polyacrylamide component itself actually falls within about 40 wt.% to about 100 wt.%, because polyacrylamide DOES NOT have to be the sole component within the first volatile corrosion inhibitor due to the use of the phrase “comprising polyacrylamide,”. As way of illustration only, a prior-art composition that comprises anywhere within say: 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 wt.% polyacrylamide would fall within applicant’s claimed polyacrylamide concentration range.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 110482664 A (i.e. CN ‘664) (English language Abstract).
CN ‘664 discloses a composite sedimentation agent comprising 15-35 wt.% polyacrylamide, 5-30 wt.% inorganic salt, 0-26 wt.% polyamine, 0-18 wt.% polyquaternium salts, 0-35 wt.% cationic starch, and 5-15 wt.% polycarboxylate. Preferred Components: The inorganic salt is water-soluble salt whose cations is sodium, magnesium, aluminum, zinc, and copper; the cationic starch is starch tertiary amino alkyl ether and quaternary ammonium starch ether. A more specific composite sedimentation agent comprises 25-26 wt.% polyacrylamide, 19-21 wt.% magnesium nitrate, 15-16 wt.% polyamine, 5-7 wt.% polyquaternary amine salt, 20-21 wt.% cationic starch, 15-16 wt.% polycarboxylate and adding aluminum chloride (see method of making).
The preparation of the composite sedimentation agent comprises (I) crushing the polyacrylamide and magnesium nitrate into fine particles with pulverizer, passing through greater than or equal to 25 mesh sieves, adding 15.4 wt.% aluminum chloride to 100 ml distilled water, stirring and dissolving, adding 33.5 wt.% polyacrylamide to the aluminum chloride solution, stirring for 30 minutes, adding 23.8 wt.% polyamine and 5.7 wt.% polyquaternary ammonium salt to the reaction system, stirring and slowly heating to 55 degrees C, stirring for 1.5 hour to fully dissolve, and cooling to room temperature; and (II) weighing 15.2 wt.% starch tertiary amino alkyl ether, adding to the reaction system of step (i), stirring for 15-20 minutes, adding 6.4 wt.% polycarboxylate to adjust pH to 6.5, performing ultrasonic dispersion, adopting constant speed mechanical stirring for 20 minutes while ultrasonic dispersion, and stopping ultrasonic dispersion; sealing reaction system with plastic film, shaking in incubator for 3 hours (speed is 60 revolutions/minute), adding it in the oven at 60 degrees C, curing for 40 hours, repeatedly washing the product with distilled water, washing to neutrality, washing with anhydrous ethanol, and drying to constant weight to obtain composite sedimentation agent.
Applicant’s claims are deemed to be anticipated over said disclosure.
Please note that it is most common to use cross-linked polyacrylamides in sedimentation treatment systems because their three-dimensional network structure improves their effectiveness for flocculating and coagulating suspended particles, and as such, their use would be at once envisaged in CN ‘664 discloses a composite sedimentation agent. Please note that magnesium nitrate, polyamine, polyquaternary amine salt and the amino/ammonium cationic starch, all read on Applicant’s “one or more second volatile corrosion inhibitors” of dependent claim 8. Also note that magnesium nitrate and aluminum chloride can function as desiccants and also individually read on Applicant’s deliquescing material of dependent claims 12-13.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 12-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KR 2395436 B1.
KR discloses a functional desiccant comprising magnesium chloride (MgCl2) 50 to 90 parts by weight, 5 to 20 parts by weight of a water-soluble polymer, 1 to 10 parts by weight of an acid scavenger, a modified cellulose having a diameter of 10 μm and a length of 150 to 200 μm, a starfish having an average particle size of 30 to 50 μm Containing the derived porous ceramic powder and 3 to 20 parts by weight of a rust inhibitor, the water-soluble polymer is a polyacrylamide-sodium acrylate copolymer, and the rust inhibitor includes sodium benzoate, ammonium benzoate, benzotriazole and hexamethylenetetramine. It is a mixture, and the modified cellulose fiber is immersed in 5 to 20 parts by weight of cellulose fiber in 50 to 500 parts by weight of 10 to 50% sodium hydroxide aqueous solution and then reacted for 1 to 24 hours, and 1 to 10 parts by weight of calcium salt, 1 phosphate A functional desiccant prepared by reacting for 3 to 24 hours with a mixed solution containing 20 to 20 parts by weight and 80 to 100 parts by weight of deionized water. Applicant’s claims are deemed to be anticipated over said disclosure.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018/055240 A1.
WO discloses a particulate polymer composition comprising an acrylamide polymer, at least one substituted and/or unsubstituted benzotriazole as a stabilizer and optional adjuvants such as a free radical scavenger (preferably ammonium thiocyanate), see page 4, lines 19-24 and claims 1-20. The acrylamide polymer may be cross-linked, see page 7, line 28 to page 8, line 10. The acrylamide polymer is preferably a linear polymer, see page 8, line 12. The acrylamide polymer can be a homopolymer or a copolymer, see claim 11.
Please note to use either cross-linked or non-cross-linked polyacrylamides would be at once envisaged in light of WO’s said disclosure. Also note that the “at least one substituted and/or unsubstituted benzotriazole” stabilizer reads on Applicant’s “one or more second volatile corrosion inhibitors” of dependent claim 8. Also note that the sodium thiocyanate is a free radical scavenger, used in combination with methyl-1-H-benzotriazole (see Table 2), reads on Applicant’s deliquescing material of dependent claims 12-13.
WO has been described above and differs from Applicant’s claim in the following ways: 1) there is no direct disclosure (i.e. by way of a specific example) to where ammonium thiocyanate is used in lieu of sodium thiocyanate in the particulate acrylamide polymer composition set forth in Example 1., and 2) there is no direct disclosure (i.e. by way of a specific example) to where a particulate polymer composition is taught that falls within Applicant’s concentration ranges of dependent claim 9.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use WO’s disclosure that ammonium thiocyanate is the functional equivalent of sodium thiocyanate, as motivation to actually substitute ammonium thiocyanate for sodium thiocyanate in the polyacrylamide composition of Example 1, wherein said composition additionally comprises methyl-1H-bentriazole (another known volatile corrosion inhibitor).
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use WO’s disclosure of page 4, lines 10-17, wherein it is disclosed that: “according to one embodiment the amount of benzotriazole in the polymer composition may be in the range of 0.01-10 weight %”, as strong motivation to actually formulate a particulate polymer composition comprising 90 wt.% of an acrylamide polymer and 10 wt.% of a benzotriazole stabilizer. It is well known in the art that it is not inventive to merely follow the direct disclosure of a prior-art reference.
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2005/047402 A1.
WO discloses a water-based chemical gel composition containing at least one volatile corrosion inhibitor. Said composition is taught to inhibit both corrosion and microbial growth and activity. The thickener/gelling agent can be selected to be a polyacrylamide, wherein the concentration range of the thickener/gelling agent in water is about 1 to about 40 weight percent, see claims 5-6. A specifically disclosed volatile corrosion inhibitor is ammonium benzoate, wherein the concentration range of the volatile corrosion inhibitor is about 50 parts by million to about 40 weight percent, see claim 4 and claim 1.
WO can be said to differ from Applicant’s claimed invention in that there does not seem to be a direct teaching (i.e. by way of a specific example) to where polyacrylamide is used as the thickener/gelling agent, and to where ammonium benzoate is used as the volatile corrosion inhibitor in the water-based chemical gel composition.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use WO’s above said disclosure as strong motivation to actually make water-based chemical gel composition wherein polyacrylamide is used as the thickener/gelling agent, and where ammonium benzoate is used as the volatile corrosion inhibitor. It is well known in the art that it is not inventive to merely follow the direct disclosure of a prior-art reference.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/19/26 with the amendment have been fully considered but are not persuasive to put the application in condition for allowance for the reasons set forth above. Please note that in light of applicant’s new claim 19, new prior-art art rejections have been made individually over KR 2395436 B1 and WO 2005/047402 A1.
The Examiner after reading Applicant’s traversal arguments has come to the conclusion that Applicant has a clear misunderstanding of the actual scope of applicant’s newly amended independent claim 1. The Examiner repeats here the above EXAMINATION NOTE: which clearly address this issue.
“Please note that Applicant’s independent claim 1 contains the sublimination of: “comprising about 40 wt.% to about 100 wt.% of a first volatile corrosion inhibitor comprising polyacrylamide,” [Emphasis added]. It needs to be pointed out that the wording of said sublimination DOES NOT require that the concentration of polyacrylamide component itself actually falls within about 40 wt.% to about 100 wt.%, because polyacrylamide DOES NOT have to be the sole component within the first volatile corrosion inhibitor due to the use of the phrase “comprising polyacrylamide,”. As way of illustration only, a prior-art composition that comprises anywhere within say: 1, 5, 10, 15, 20, 25, 30 and 35 wt.% polyacrylamide would fall within applicant’s claimed polyacrylamide concentration range.”.
As such, Applicant’s traversal arguments in regards to the concentration amounts of the polyacrylamide component used in the applied prior-art references, is deemed to be moot.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH D ANTHONY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764