DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(d): (d) REFERENCE IN DEPENDENT FORMS.—Subject to subsection (e), a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, fourth paragraph: Subject to the following paragraph [i.e., the fifth paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112], a claim in dependent form shall contain a reference to a claim previously set forth and then specify a further limitation of the subject matter claimed. A claim in dependent form shall be construed to incorporate by reference all the limitations of the claim to which it refers. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends. The recitation in claim 13 “ wherein the tertiary screen comprises wire mesh, profile wire screen, perforate plate, punch plate, or slotted plate ” is already specified in independent claim 11 upon which claim 13 depends . Thus, the claim fails to further limit the catalyst regeneration tower defined in claim 11. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claim s 1, 2, 4 , 5, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sechrist et al. (US 4,859,643) in view of Koves et al. (US 6059,961) . Regarding claim 1, the reference Sechrist et al. discloses a catalyst regeneration tower (1) comprising: a conical section having an outer screen (19) and a tapered inner screen (16) forming a catalyst bed therebetween (see col. 8, lines 14-23; Fig. 2) ; a tertiary screen (32) in the conical section covering an opening defined by the tapered inner screen (16) (see col. 8, lines 54-64; Fig. 2) ; and a housing (1, 28) containing the conical section (see col. 8, lines 32-39; Fig. 2) . The reference Sechrist et al. , however, does not specifically disclose a cylindrical section having an inner screen and an outer screen forming an annular catalyst bed therebetween , arranged above the conical section , as required in claim 1 . The reference Koves et al. teaches a catalyst regeneration tower (10) comprising: a cylindrical section ( 27) having an inner screen (21) and an outer screen (16 , 16’ ) forming an annular catalyst bed therebetween (20 , 20’ ) ( see col. 11, lines 5-48; Fig s . 1 -3) ; a conical section having an outer screen (15) and a tapered inner screen (23) forming a catalyst bed therebetween (20, 20’) , the conical section positioned below the cylindrical section, the annular catalyst bed connected to the catalyst bed in the conical section ( see col. 11, lines 5-48; Figs. 1 -3) ; and a housing (14) containing the cylindrical section and the conical section (see col. 9, lines 47-61; Figs. 1-3) . The reference Koves et al. teaches that the provision of the cylindrical section (E, 27) above the conical section provides for preheating of a relatively cold catalyst as it initially enters the annular catalyst bed, and thereby reducing the temperature extremes of any thermal cycle associated with cyclic addition of cold catalys t (see col. 3, lines 43-61; col. 11, lines 27-54). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catalyst regeneration tower of Sechrist et al. to include the cylindrical section (27) as taught by Koves et al. above the conical section of Sechrist et al. , since the reference Koves et al. teaches that such a modification advantageously provides for preheating of a relatively cold catalyst as it initially enters the annular catalyst bed, and thereby reducing the temperature extremes of any thermal cycle associated with cyclic addition of cold catalyst (see col. 3, lines 43-61; col. 11, lines 27-54). Regarding claim 2, the references Sechrist et al . and Koves et al. disclose the catalyst regeneration tower , wherein the tertiary screen comprises a convex screen (32) ( see Sechrist et al.: col. 8, lines 54-64; Fig. 2) . Regarding claim 4 , the references Sechrist et al. and Koves et al. disclose the catalyst regeneration tower , wherein the cylindrical section (27) has a bed length in a range of 10 to 24 inch ( 25 to 61 cm ) ( see Koves et al.: col. 14, lines 1- 8 ; Fig. 3) . Regarding claim 5, as no structural distinction is seen between the instantly claimed catalyst regeneration tower and that of the catalyst regeneration tower of Sechrist et al. and Koves et al. , the catalyst regeneration tower of Sechrist et al. and Koves et al. is considered capable of accommodating a catalyst volume in the cylindrical section in a range of 2 to 15% of a volumetric catalyst circulation rate on a one hour basis , as recited in claim 5 . Regarding claim 7 , the references Sechrist et al. and Koves et al. disclose the catalyst regeneration tower , wherein a ratio of a length of the inner screen to a width of the annular catalyst bed in the cylindrical section is in a range of at least 1:1 (see Koves et al.: col. 14, lines 1-8; Fig. 3). Regarding claim 8 , the references Sechrist et al. and Koves et al. disclose the catalyst regeneration tower , wherein the inner screen in the conical section comprises profile wire (see Koves et al.: col. 9, lines 23-28). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 3, 6, 9, and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 3 , the claim would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest the feature: wherein the tertiary screen comprises wire mesh, profile wire screen, perforate plate, punch plate, or slotted plate , a s recited in claim 3 . Regarding claim 6, the claim would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest the feature: wherein the inner screen in the cylindrical section comprises punch plate or slotted plate , as recited in claim 6. Regarding claim 9 , the claim would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest the feature: wherein the inner screen has a first side facing the outer screen and a second side facing a center of the cylindrical section, further comprising a secondary screen adjacent to the second side of the inner screen in the cylindrical section and wherein the secondary screen comprises wire mesh , as recited in claim 9. Regarding claim 10 , the claim would be allowable because the prior art of record does not disclose or fairly suggest the feature s : a burn zone comprising the cylindrical section, and a portion of the conical section; a reheat zone comprising the remaining portion of the conical section below the burn zone; a chlorination zone below the reheat zone; a drying zone below the chlorination zone; a cooling zone below the drying zone; and a carbon dioxide sensor or an oxygen sensor or both between the chlorination zone and the burn zone; wherein the tertiary screen is at a bottom of the burn zone or in the reheat zone; and wherein the housing further contains the chlorination zone, the drying zone, and the cooling zone , as recited in claim 10 . Claims 11, 12, and 14-20 are allowed. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT Lessanework T Seifu whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3153 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-T 9:00 am - 6:30 pm; F 9:00 am - 1:00 pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Claire Wang can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-270-1051 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /LESSANEWORK SEIFU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774