Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of the information disclosure statements filed May 11, 2023, which comply with 37 CFR 1.97. As such, the information disclosure statements have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0060], The term “The user device” is labeled as “430” in reference to step 254 in Figure 2. There are no labels of “430” found in Figure 2 or Figures 1-9. Figure 2 has the term “user device” with the label of “230”. The term “The user device” appears to be improperly labeled within the specification and may have been intended to read “230”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claim 1 is a process type claim. Claim 16 is a machine type claim. Claim 20 is a CRM claim. Therefore, claims 1-20 are directed to either a process, machine manufacture, or composition of matter.
As per claim 1.
2A Prong 1:
“obtaining, for each feature in a set of features, a respective noise model” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, creates a noise model for each feature.
“a selection of features from the set of features;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, selects features from a set of features.
“for each entity of a first plurality of entities used for training, obtaining a value for each of the selected features;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, retrieves a data value for every selected feature.
“using a first set of training pairs, each training pair in the first set of training pairs comprising respective entity data paired with corresponding distorted entity data,” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, applies the training pairs of original data and distorted data as input to the machine learning model.
“wherein: the respective entity data comprises values of the selected features for a respective entity in the first plurality of entities, and the corresponding distorted entity data is obtained by distorting a value of at least one of the selected features for the respective entity based on the respective noise model for the at least one of the selected features;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, manipulates data using the developed noise model.
“values of the selected features for a particular entity to obtain a representation of the values of the selected features for that entity;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, creates a representation of the data values from the selected features.
“and determining a similarity between the particular entity and another entity based on the representation for the particular entity.” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, determines a similarity of an entity and another entity using the data representations.
2A Prong 2:
Additional elements:
“receiving, from a user device” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“training a machine-learning model” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of training a machine learning model using a first set of training pairs of the original data and distorted data.)
“and inputting, to the trained machine-learning model, ” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to obtain a representation of values of the selected features.)
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“receiving, from a user device” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely "transmitting or receiving data" is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed receiving steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
“training a machine-learning model” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of training a machine learning model using a first set of training pairs of the original data and distorted data.)
“and inputting, to the trained machine-learning model,” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to obtain a representation of values of the selected features.)
As per claim 2,
2A Prong 1:
“The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of entities includes at least one of the particular entity or the other entity.” Examiner’s note: Rejected under 101 as this limitation further elaborates on the mental process recited in claim 1, “for each entity of a first plurality of entities used for training, obtaining a value for each of the selected features;”. The limitation in claim 2 denotes that the particular or the other entity are included in the first plurality of entities when obtaining a value for each selected features for each entity of a first plurality of entities used for training.
2A Prong 2: The claim does not recite any additional elements beyond the judicial exception.
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As per claim 3,
2A Prong 1:
“values of the selected features for the other entity to obtain a representation of the values of the selected features for the other entity,” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, creates a representation of the data values from the selected features.
“wherein the similarity between the particular entity and the other entity is determined based on the representation for the particular entity and the representation for the other entity” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, determines a similarity of an entity and another entity using the data representations.
2A Prong 2:
Additional elements:
“inputting, to the trained machine-learning model,” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to obtain a representation of values of the selected features.)
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“inputting, to the trained machine-learning model,” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to obtain a representation of values of the selected features.)
As per claim 4,
2A Prong 1:
“wherein determining the similarity between the particular entity and the two or more other entities comprises:” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, determines a similarity of an entity and another entity.
“values of the selected features for the two or more other entities to obtain representations of the values of the selected features for the two or more other entities;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, creates a representation of the data values from the selected features for the two or more other entities.
“and determining similarity scores for the two or more other entities compared to the particular entity based on the representations for the particular entity and the two or more other entities,” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, compares and determines the similarity scores of entities using the data representations.
2A Prong 2:
Additional elements:
“inputting, to the trained machine-learning model,” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to obtain a representation of values of features for entities by inputting the selected features .)
“the method further comprising: identifying a subset of the two or more other entities as similar to the particular entity based on their respective similarity scores.” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“inputting, to the trained machine-learning model,” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to obtain a representation of values of features for entities by inputting the selected features .)
“the method further comprising: identifying a subset of the two or more other entities as similar to the particular entity based on their respective similarity scores.” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely "Identifying undeliverable mail items, decoding data on those mail items and creating output data" is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed receiving steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
As per claim 5,
2A Prong 1: A judicial exception is not recited in the claims as they do not recite an abstract idea (mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, or mental processes, law of nature or natural phenomenon).
2A Prong 2:
Additional elements:
providing information relating to the subset of the two or more other entities for output at a user interface of the user device. (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
providing information relating to the subset of the two or more other entities for output at a user interface of the user device. (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely "transmitting or receiving data over a network" is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed receiving steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
As per claim 6,
2A Prong 1:
“filtering the subset of the two or more other entities to obtain a filtered set of entities;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, groups together similar entities based on the representation of data to get a set of similar entities.
2A Prong 2:
Additional elements:
“receiving, from the user device” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“an indication of one or more filters to be applied;” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“and providing information relating to the filtered set of entities for output at a user interface of the user device.” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“receiving, from the user device” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely "transmitting or receiving data over a network" is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed receiving steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
“an indication of one or more filters to be applied;” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely "transmitting or receiving data over a network" is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed receiving steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
“and providing information relating to the filtered set of entities for output at a user interface of the user device.” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely "transmitting or receiving data over a network" is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed receiving steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
As per claim 7,
2A Prong 1:
“and wherein determining the similarity between the particular entity and the other entity comprises determining the similarity between the particular entity and the other entity…” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, determines the similarity of an entity and another entity.”
2A Prong 2:
Additional elements:
“to cluster the second plurality of entities into one or more groups based on the representations for the second plurality of entities.” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to group entities based on the representations of another group of entities.)
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“to cluster the second plurality of entities into one or more groups based on the representations for the second plurality of entities.” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to group entities based on the representations of another group of entities.)
As per claim 8,
2A Prong 1:
“and selecting the particular entity from a larger group of entities based on the one or more filters.” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, selects or chooses an entity from a group of entities.
2A Prong 2:
Additional elements:
“receiving, from the user device” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“an indication of one or more filters to be applied;” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“receiving, from the user device” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely "transmitting or receiving data over a network" is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed receiving steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
“an indication of one or more filters to be applied;” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely "transmitting or receiving data over a network" is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed receiving steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
As per claim 9,
2A Prong 1:
“the first label indicating that, for each training pair in the first set of training pairs, the entity data and the distorted entity data in that training pair are similar to one another.” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, provides labels for the training data, which indicate if the original data and distorted data are similar.
2A Prong 2:
Additional elements:
“wherein training the machine-learning model using the first set of training pairs comprises:” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a training a machine learning model using a first set of training pairs.)
“training the machine-learning model using the first set of training pairs and a first label” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a training a machine learning model using a first set of training pair and a first label.)
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“wherein training the machine-learning model using the first set of training pairs comprises:” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a training a machine learning model using a first set of training pairs.)
“training the machine-learning model using the first set of training pairs and a first label” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a training a machine learning model using a first set of training pair and a first label.)
As per claim 10,
2A Prong 1:
“the second label indicating that, for each training pair in the second set of training pairs, the entity data for the different entities are dissimilar to one another.” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, provides a second label for the second training data, which indicate if the original data and distorted data are dissimilar.
2A Prong 2:
Additional elements:
“wherein a second set of training pairs and a second label are also used to train the machine-learning model,” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of training a machine learning model using a second set of training pairs and labels.)
“each training pair in the second set of training pairs comprising entity data including values of the selected features for each of two different entities in the first plurality of entities,” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“wherein a second set of training pairs and a second label are also used to train the machine-learning model,” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of training a machine learning model using a second set of training pairs and labels.)
“each training pair in the second set of training pairs comprising entity data including values of the selected features for each of two different entities in the first plurality of entities,” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
As per claim 11,
2A Prong 1:
“wherein obtaining, for each feature in a set of features, the respective noise model comprises obtaining the noise model for a particular feature by performing operations including:” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, creates a noise model for each feature.
“obtaining values of the particular feature for a second plurality of entities;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, retrieves values of features.
“and determining the noise model for the particular feature based on the values of the particular feature for the second plurality of entities.” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, uses data values from features to determine a noise model.
2A Prong 2: The claim does not recite any additional elements beyond the judicial exception.
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As per claim 12,
2A Prong 1:
“wherein the noise model for the particular feature in the set of features is based on a distribution of the values of the particular feature for the second plurality of entities.” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, uses the distribution of feature value data to create a noise model.
2A Prong 2: The claim does not recite any additional elements beyond the judicial exception.
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As per claim 13,
2A Prong 1:
“wherein determining the noise model for the particular feature comprises: encoding, for each entity in the second plurality of entities the value of the particular feature to obtain respective numeric data for that entity;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, converts categorical or non-numeric data of features into numeric data to determine a noise model.
“and determining the noise model for the particular feature based on a distribution of the numeric data for the second plurality of entities.” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, uses the distribution of numeric data to create a noise model.
2A Prong 2: The claim does not recite any additional elements beyond the judicial exception.
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As per claim 14,
2A Prong 1:
“wherein the noise model for the particular feature is based on a Gaussian distribution of the numeric data for the second plurality of entities.”
2A Prong 2: The claim does not recite any additional elements beyond the judicial exception.
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As per claim 15,
2A Prong 1: A judicial exception is not recited in the claims as they do not recite an abstract idea (mathematical concepts, certain methods of organizing human activity, or mental processes, law of nature or natural phenomenon).
2A Prong 2:
Additional elements:
“The computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein the particular feature comprises a category” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“The computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein the particular feature comprises a category” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
As per claim 16,
2A Prong 1:
“obtaining, for each feature in a set of features, a respective noise model” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, creates a noise model for each feature.
“a selection of features from the set of features;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, selects features from a set of features.
“for each entity of a first plurality of entities used for training, obtaining a value for each of the selected features;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, retrieves a data value for every selected feature.
“using a first set of training pairs, each training pair in the first set of training pairs comprising respective entity data paired with corresponding distorted entity data,” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, applies the training pairs of original data and distorted data as input to the machine learning model.
“wherein: the respective entity data comprises values of the selected features for a respective entity in the first plurality of entities, and the corresponding distorted entity data is obtained by distorting a value of at least one of the selected features for the respective entity based on the respective noise model for the at least one of the selected features;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, manipulates data using the developed noise model.
“values of the selected features for a particular entity to obtain a representation of the values of the selected features for that entity;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, creates a representation of the data values from the selected features.
“and determining a similarity between the particular entity and another entity based on the representation for the particular entity.” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, determines a similarity of an entity and another entity using the data representations.
2A Prong 2:
Additional elements:
“a network interface”, “and a processor to:” (mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component).
“receiving, from a user device” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“training a machine-learning model” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of training a machine learning model using a first set of training pairs of the original data and distorted data.)
“and inputting, to the trained machine-learning model,” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to obtain a representation of values of the selected features.)
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“a network interface”, “and a processor to:” (mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component).
“receiving, from a user device” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely "transmitting or receiving data" is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed receiving steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
“training a machine-learning model” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of training a machine learning model using a first set of training pairs of the original data and distorted data.)
“and inputting, to the trained machine-learning model,” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to obtain a representation of values of the selected features.)
As per claim 17,
2A Prong 1:
“The system of claim 16, wherein the first plurality of entities includes at least one of the particular entity or the other entity.” Examiner’s note: Rejected under 101 as this limitation further elaborates on the mental process recited in claim 16, “for each entity of a first plurality of entities used for training, obtaining a value for each of the selected features;”. The limitation in claim 17 denotes that the particular or the other entity are included in the first plurality of entities when obtaining a value for each selected features for each entity of a first plurality of entities used for training.
2A Prong 2: The claim does not recite any additional elements beyond the judicial exception.
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As per claim 18,
2A Prong 1:
“values of the selected features for the other entity to obtain a representation of the values of the selected features for the other entity,” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, creates a representation of the data values from the selected features.
“wherein the similarity between the particular entity and the other entity is determined based on the representation for the particular entity and the representation for the other entity.” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, determines a similarity of an entity and another entity using the data representations.
2A Prong 2:
Additional elements:
“input, to the trained machine-learning model,” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to obtain a representation of values of the selected features.)
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“input, to the trained machine-learning model,” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to obtain a representation of values of the selected features.)
As per claim 19,
2A Prong 1:
“obtaining values of the particular feature for a second plurality of entities;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, retrieves values of features.
“and determining the noise model for the particular feature based on the values of the particular feature for the second plurality of entities.” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, uses data values from features to determine a noise model.
2A Prong 2: The claim does not recite any additional elements beyond the judicial exception.
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As per claim 20,
2A Prong 1:
“obtaining, for each feature in a set of features, a respective noise model” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, creates a noise model for each feature.
“a selection of features from the set of features;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, selects features from a set of features.
“for each entity of a first plurality of entities used for training, obtaining a value for each of the selected features;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, retrieves a data value for every selected feature.
“using a first set of training pairs, each training pair in the first set of training pairs comprising respective entity data paired with corresponding distorted entity data,” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, applies the training pairs of original data and distorted data as input to the machine learning model.
“wherein: the respective entity data comprises values of the selected features for a respective entity in the first plurality of entities, and the corresponding distorted entity data is obtained by distorting a value of at least one of the selected features for the respective entity based on the respective noise model for the at least one of the selected features;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, manipulates data using the developed noise model.
“values of the selected features for a particular entity to obtain a representation of the values of the selected features for that entity;” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, creates a representation of the data values from the selected features.
“and determining a similarity between the particular entity and another entity based on the representation for the particular entity.” The user, mentally or with pencil and paper, determines a similarity of an entity and another entity using the data representations.
2A Prong 2:
Additional elements:
“A non-transitory computer readable medium” (mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component).
“having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that,” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception - see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform operations comprising:” (mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component).
“receiving, from a user device” (Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception – see MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“training a machine-learning model” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of training a machine learning model using a first set of training pairs of the original data and distorted data.)
“and inputting, to the trained machine-learning model,” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to obtain a representation of values of the selected features.)
2B: The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Additional elements:
“A non-transitory computer readable medium” (mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component).
“having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that,” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely “storing and retrieving information in memory” is a well‐understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed storing step is well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
“when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform operations comprising:” (mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component).
“receiving, from a user device” (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) indicate that merely "transmitting or receiving data" is a well-understood, routine, conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is in the present claim). Thereby, a conclusion that the claimed receiving steps are well-understood, routine, conventional activity is supported under Berkheimer).
“training a machine-learning model” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of training a machine learning model using training pairs of the original data and distorted data.)
“and inputting, to the trained machine-learning model,” (Adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05(f) – Examiner’s note: high level application of a previously trained model to obtain a representation of values of the selected features.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 1 - 6, 8 - 12, 14 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gietema (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US20220351532A1).
As per claim 1,
A computer-implemented method comprising: obtaining, for each feature in a set of features, a respective noise model; ([Paragraph 0023] – “In some embodiments, the noise model may be determined separately for printed features, spacings between printed features and positions of printed features”, Gietema discloses a process of creating noise models using feature value data.)
receiving, from a user device, a selection of features from the set of features; ([Paragraph 0015], Figure 6., - “The next step in the disclosed method is selecting at least one of a plurality of printed features, plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features in the first digital images and plurality of positions of a plurality of printed features in the second digital images… this selection is done by a human and only sharp images are selected at this stage”, The flow chart teaches a user input network interface that allows for selecting a plurality of features.)
for each entity of a first plurality of entities used for training, obtaining a value for each of the selected features; ([Paragraph 0008] - “The printed features can be alphanumeric characters, holograms, watermark, flags, a particular field in a document such as a name or an address field or a signature strip, or any other features that are printed on official documents such as driving licenses and passports. In essence, using the methods of the present disclosure, any printed feature, its position in a document, and its spacing relative to other printed features can be annotated”, This denotes the values that are taken from the features of the documents in Gietema, which describes the obtaining a value process within the limitation.)
training a machine-learning model using a first set of training pairs, each training pair in the first set of training pairs comprising respective entity data paired with corresponding distorted entity data, wherein: ([Paragraph 0073] - “The modified and original reference landmark locations are then used to generate input for the machine learning model and the machine learning model is trained using the input data. The training of the machine learning model can be a supervised training”, Gietema discloses the training of a machine learning model using a first training pair with a manipulated data of a second training pair as inputs to train the machine learning model.)
the respective entity data comprises values of the selected features for a respective entity in the first plurality of entities, ([Paragraph 0007] -
“The first stage of training the machine learning model is annotating a plurality of printed features and/or a plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features in digital images of a first set of genuine documents of one or more classes of documents and/or a plurality of positions of a plurality of printed features in digital images of a second set of genuine documents to obtain “original reference landmark locations” for these printed features, spacings and positions”, This denotes the data values of selected features that corresponds to the respective set of entities where Gietema annotates the features of a first set of documents.)
and the corresponding distorted entity data is obtained by distorting a value of at least one of the selected features for the respective entity based on the respective noise model for the at least one of the selected features; ([Paragraph 0060] - “With reference to FIG. 1A, at step 105, the annotated transformed printed features, spacings and/or positions are further “augmented” by combining them with a noise model. Here, combining with a noise model can, for example, be imitating at least one of geometric transformations and radiometric transformations of the respective annotated transformed printed features, annotated transformed spacings and/or annotated transformed positions. In this way, for each transformed printed feature, spacing and/or position, yet more “genuine” printed features, spacings and/or positions are generated. The geometric transformations can, for example, include imitating perspective transformations or image distortions, while radiometric transformations may include imitating reflected or emitted radiation measured by a sensor during image capture, which leads to distortions on a document due to document capturing conditions. As a result, not only is the number of training data increased, the geometric and radiometric transformations can represent noise in genuine documents, which means that the machine learning model is ultimately trained to account for certain types of noise in genuine documents”, This denotes the process of using the noise model to distort the data value of the selected features to obtain the manipulated training data as corresponding data for an entity.)
and inputting, to the trained machine-learning model, values of the selected features for a particular entity to obtain a representation of the values of the selected features for that entity; ([Paragraph 0030] – “Input data corresponding to the document for the trained machine learning model is generated using at least one of a plurality of printed features, a plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features, and a plurality of positions of the plurality of printed features in this digital image. Once these are inputted to the trained machine learning model, the output of the model is a plurality of annotations on printed features, spacings between the printed features, and/or positions of printed features on the digital image. These annotations indicate respective landmark locations on the respective annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position”, This denotes the application of the training pairs as inputs to the trained machine learning model to generate representations of the selected features for the corresponding entity.)
and determining a similarity between the particular entity and another entity based on the representation for the particular entity. ([Paragraph 0032] - “In order to determine whether or not the document is fraudulent, a geometric score is calculated for each landmark location on the annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position in the digital image of the document based on the distances between the landmark locations on the printed feature, spacing and/or location and the respective original reference landmark locations. A first threshold is defined for each geometric score, above which the respective printed feature, spacing and/or position is identified as “fake.” Thus, if a geometric score is above the associated first threshold, then the document is determined to be fraudulent. In this way, not only are fake features, wrong spacings and mispositions detected, the misorientations of the printed features are also detected since a misorientation leads to annotations on features, spacings and/or positions to be outside the associated thresholds”, This denotes the step of the process in using the obtained feature data representations of the entities for comparison.)
As per claim 2,
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the first plurality of entities includes at least one of the particular entity or the other entity. ([Paragraph 0014] – “The first step in the disclosed method is obtaining digital images of the first and second sets of genuine documents. The first set of genuine documents may comprise one or more documents which may or may not be of the class of documents to which the document to be authenticated belongs, whereas the second set of genuine documents are of the same class to which the document to be authenticated belongs.”, Gietema discloses a grouping, and the images retrieved from the first and second set of documents.)
As per claim 3,
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:inputting, to the trained machine-learning model, values of the selected features for the other entity to obtain a representation of the values of the selected features for the other entity, ([Paragraph 0030] – “Input data corresponding to the document for the trained machine learning model is generated using at least one of a plurality of printed features, a plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features, and a plurality of positions of the plurality of printed features in this digital image. Once these are inputted to the trained machine learning model, the output of the model is a plurality of annotations on printed features, spacings between the printed features, and/or positions of printed features on the digital image. These annotations indicate respective landmark locations on the respective annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position.”, This teaches the process of using the trained model with values of selected features to obtain representations of those feature values.)
wherein the similarity between the particular entity and the other entity is determined based on the representation for the particular entity and the representation for the other entity. ([Paragraph 0032] – “In order to determine whether or not the document is fraudulent, a geometric score is calculated for each landmark location on the annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position in the digital image of the document based on the distances between the landmark locations on the printed feature, spacing and/or location and the respective original reference landmark locations. A first threshold is defined for each geometric score, above which the respective printed feature, spacing and/or position is identified as “fake.” Thus, if a geometric score is above the associated first threshold, then the document is determined to be fraudulent. In this way, not only are fake features, wrong spacings and mispositions detected, the misorientations of the printed features are also detected since a misorientation leads to annotations on features, spacings and/or positions to be outside the associated thresholds.”, This teaches the similarity engine that uses a scoring function of the geometric scoring and thresholds for a process of comparison using data representations.)
As per claim 4,
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the other entity comprises two or more other entities, wherein determining the similarity between the particular entity and the two or more other entities comprises: inputting, to the trained machine-learning model, values of the selected features for the two or more other entities to obtain representations of the values of the selected features for the two or more other entities; ([Paragraph 0030] – “Input data corresponding to the document for the trained machine learning model is generated using at least one of a plurality of printed features, a plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features, and a plurality of positions of the plurality of printed features in this digital image. Once these are inputted to the trained machine learning model, the output of the model is a plurality of annotations on printed features, spacings between the printed features, and/or positions of printed features on the digital image. These annotations indicate respective landmark locations on the respective annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position”, This denotes the application of the training pairs as inputs to the trained machine learning model to generate representations of the selected features for the corresponding entity.)
and determining similarity scores for the two or more other entities compared to the particular entity based on the representations for the particular entity and the two or more other entities, the method further comprising: identifying a subset of the two or more other entities as similar to the particular entity based on their respective similarity scores. ([Paragraph 0081 – “The geometric score may be calculated based on the distance between a particular landmark location and its respective original reference landmark location. If a geometric score is above a defined threshold, then the feature is rejected as fake. For example, one of annotations on one of the letters is outside its associated threshold, rendering it fake. Similarly, the distance between spacing annotations for the numbers is outside its associated threshold, which indicates fraud.”, This teaches that the similarity score uses the data representations for a comparison and identification method.)
As per claim 5,
The computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising:providing information relating to the subset of the two or more other entities for output at a user interface of the user device. ([Paragraph 0098] – “The semantic score, in essence, indicates how closely the input image, here, input character 500, is correlated with the corresponding original image using which the machine learning model was trained.”, Determining the subsets and relations is taught by the geometric and semantic score method disclosed in Gietema,[Paragraph 0102] – “The computing device 600 may further include a network interface device 608.”, This teaches the network interface for the user to access the output of information relating to the images.)
As per claim 6,
The computer-implemented method of claim 4, further comprising:receiving, from the user device, an indication of one or more filters to be applied; ([Paragraph 0034] – “In some embodiments, if the document is not rejected by the font classifier, the digital image of the document is provided to an edge detection filter after the font classifier and before it is inputted to the trained machine learning model in order to determine a respective score for the sharpness of each printed feature, spacing and/or position in the digital image. The document is rejected as “blurry” if the sharpness score for a printed feature, spacing or position is below an associated second threshold. In some embodiments, after the document is determined not to be fraudulent, a respective “semantic score” is determined for each printed feature, spacing and/or position in the at least one of plurality of printed features, spacings and positions in the digital image, where the semantic score is a correlation between the printed feature, spacing and/or position, and the respective selected printed feature, spacing and/or position in the first digital images. The document is rejected as “bad quality” if the semantic score is below a third associated threshold.”, This teaches a filtering method of identifying and grouping similar features.)
filtering the subset of the two or more other entities to obtain a filtered set of entities; ([Paragraph 0036] – “In some embodiments, where the document whose authenticity is being tested comprises a plurality of regions, the above method for detecting fraud in a document may be repeated for the plurality of regions of the document. In this case, the step of generating input data for the document comprises generating input data—“region input data”—corresponding to each region and then combining the region input data to generate the input data corresponding to the document.”, Gietema discloses a filtering method with generating input data provides identification for the documents and detection filter for similarities and differences, [Paragraph 0097] – “The purpose of an input gate 502 is to measure the sharpness of the input character 500 so that blurry images of characters 500b are not inputted to the trained machine learning model 503. An example of an input gate is an edge detector such as a Laplacian filter as described in Bansal (supra), where an image is first passed through a Laplacian filter to detect the edges of the image. The variance of the filtered output is computed as the “sharpness score”, where a high variance indicates presence of edge information and hence a sharper image and where a low variance indicates a blurry image with the absence of edge information. In this way, an edge detector may be used to determine a “sharpness score” for the input image 500, such that an image below a defined threshold is rejected as blurry and is thus not inputted to the trained machine learning model 504. An advantage of using an input gate 502 is that by filtering blurry images at the outset, the trained machine learning model is only presented with sharp images and is thus able to annotate the images more accurately, which, in turn, increases the accuracy of fraud detection.”, This teaches the filtering method that identifies similarity of entities, which is applied to the entities before training.)
and providing information relating to the filtered set of entities for output at a user interface of the user device. ([Paragraph 102 – “The computing device 600 may further include a network interface device 608.”, This teaches the interface device used to input and transmit through a network interface.)
As per claim 8,
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising:receiving, from the user device, an indication of one or more filters to be applied; and selecting the particular entity from a larger group of entities based on the one or more filters. ([Paragraph 0034] – “In some embodiments, if the document is not rejected by the font classifier, the digital image of the document is provided to an edge detection filter after the font classifier and before it is inputted to the trained machine learning model in order to determine a respective score for the sharpness of each printed feature, spacing and/or position in the digital image. The document is rejected as “blurry” if the sharpness score for a printed feature, spacing or position is below an associated second threshold. In some embodiments, after the document is determined not to be fraudulent, a respective “semantic score” is determined for each printed feature, spacing and/or position in the at least one of plurality of printed features, spacings and positions in the digital image, where the semantic score is a correlation between the printed feature, spacing and/or position, and the respective selected printed feature, spacing and/or position in the first digital images. The document is rejected as “bad quality” if the semantic score is below a third associated threshold.”, This teaches the filtering that is performed for the selection of documents, [Paragraph 102 – “The computing device 600 may further include a network interface device 608.”, This teaches the interface device used to input and transmit through a network interface.)
As per claim 9,
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein training the machine-learning model using the first set of training pairs comprises:training the machine-learning model using the first set of training pairs and a first label, ([Paragraph 0030] – “Input data corresponding to the document for the trained machine learning model is generated using at least one of a plurality of printed features, a plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features, and a plurality of positions of the plurality of printed features in this digital image. Once these are inputted to the trained machine learning model, the output of the model is a plurality of annotations on printed features, spacings between the printed features, and/or positions of printed features on the digital image. These annotations indicate respective landmark locations on the respective annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position.”, This denotes the model training using the original data and distorted data as a first training pair while using the annotations output as landmarks for comparison.)
the first label indicating that, for each training pair in the first set of training pairs, the entity data and the distorted entity data in that training pair are similar to one another. ([Paragraph 0098] – “This is the cross-correlation measure between two images, where a high value indicates that the two images are similar in appearance and texture. Here, the cross-correlation is measured between a printed feature, spacing and/or position and the respective original printed feature, spacing and/or position.”, This denotes the comparison operation that can be applied between the first training pairs using the feature data.)
As per claim 10,
The computer-implemented method of claim 9, wherein a second set of training pairs and a second label are also used to train the machine-learning model, ([Paragraph 0030] – “Input data corresponding to the document for the trained machine learning model is generated using at least one of a plurality of printed features, a plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features, and a plurality of positions of the plurality of printed features in this digital image. Once these are inputted to the trained machine learning model, the output of the model is a plurality of annotations on printed features, spacings between the printed features, and/or positions of printed features on the digital image. These annotations indicate respective landmark locations on the respective annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position.”, This denotes the model training using the original data and distorted data the second training pair while using the annotations output as landmarks for comparison.)
each training pair in the second set of training pairs comprising entity data including values of the selected features for each of two different entities in the first plurality of entities, ([Paragraph 0014] – “The digital images of the first and second sets of genuine documents are denoted the first and second digital images, respectively and each second digital image is an image of a region of the respective document in the second set of genuine documents, where a region can comprise a portion of or the whole respective document. The second set of genuine documents can be the same as, different from, or a subset of the first set of genuine documents.”, This teaches the grouping performed of the second set of training pairs when selecting the features.)
the second label indicating that, for each training pair in the second set of training pairs, the entity data for the different entities are dissimilar to one another. ([Paragraph 0098] – “This is the cross-correlation measure between two images, where a high value indicates that the two images are similar in appearance and texture. Here, the cross-correlation is measured between a printed feature, spacing and/or position and the respective original printed feature, spacing and/or position.”, This denotes the comparison operation that can be applied between the second training pairs using the feature data.)
As per claim 11,
The computer-implemented method of claim 1 wherein obtaining, for each feature in a set of features, the respective noise model comprises obtaining the noise model for a particular feature by performing operations including: obtaining values of the particular feature for a second plurality of entities; and determining the noise model for the particular feature based on the values of the particular feature for the second plurality of entities. ([Paragraph 0061] – “Alternatively or additionally, the noise model can be determined based on actual noise in digital images of a third set of genuine documents. This third set of genuine documents can be the same as the first set and/or second sets of genuine documents whose images were annotated or they can be a different set of documents. For example, the first set of genuine documents can be a subset of the third set of genuine documents or they can be a different set altogether..”, Gietema teaches the operation for obtain a noise model using the feature values of the digital images to create a manipulated set of data, which is applied in the claim limitation when selecting features values of a second plurality of entities to create a noise model.)
As per claim 12,
The computer-implemented method of claim 11 wherein the noise model for the particular feature in the set of features is based on a distribution of the values of the particular feature for the second plurality of entities ([Paragraph 0066] – “A noise model for printed features can be determined based on noise in printed features in the third digital images. This may be done by measuring the image quality of a plurality of printed features in each third digital image, where image quality may be blur, resolution, glare, contrast and/or occlusion, to obtain image quality metrics for these printed features. The image quality metrics are then calibrated and a signal to noise ratio is measured for printed features in each third digital image based on the calibrated image quality metrics. The calibration of image quality metrics may be done by obtaining empirical distributions of image quality metrics for every image quality metric and mapping every uncalibrated image quality metric to its corresponding percentile in the corresponding empirical distribution. That is, there are separate empirical distributions for resolution, blur, etc. For example, if the uncalibrated image quality metric being calibrated is resolution, then the uncalibrated resolution is mapped to its corresponding percentile in the empirical distribution of resolutions.”, This teaches a method to create noise models for features using a distribution of values of the feature data.)
As per claim 14,
The computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein the noise model for the particular feature is based on a Gaussian distribution of the numeric data for the second plurality of entities. ([Paragraph 0070] – “For example, the noise models for printed features, spacings, and positions may be determined by assuming Gaussian distributions of, respectively, the image quality metrics, spacing and position measurements.”, Gietema discloses the use of a gaussian distribution for features to create noise models.)
As per claim 15,
The computer-implemented method of claim 13, wherein the particular feature comprises a category. ([Paragraph 0070] – “For example, the noise models for printed features, spacings, and positions may be determined by assuming Gaussian distributions of, respectively, the image quality metrics, spacing and position measurements.”, In specification of the client’s case, specifically paragraph 0046, defines the term “category” as categorical features, “The numeric representations may be obtained by encoding the values of the feature. This may be particularly appropriate for categorical features (e.g. features that comprise a category), features that include textual information and/or features that include image data etc.”, Gietema teaches the gaussian distribution that can be applied for image features, which would apply to the claim limitation as Gietema uses categorical feature data from images.)
As per claim 16,
A system comprising:a network interface to receive, from a user device, a selection of features from a set of features; and a processor to: ([Paragraph 0102] – “The computing device 600 may further include a network interface device 608., )
obtaining, for each feature in a set of features, a respective noise model; ([Paragraph 0023] – “In some embodiments, the noise model may be determined separately for printed features, spacings between printed features and positions of printed features”, Gietema discloses a process of creating noise models using feature value data.)
receiving, from a user device, a selection of features from the set of features; ([Paragraph 0015], Figure 6., - “The next step in the disclosed method is selecting at least one of a plurality of printed features, plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features in the first digital images and plurality of positions of a plurality of printed features in the second digital images… this selection is done by a human and only sharp images are selected at this stage”, The flow chart teaches a user input network interface that allows for selecting a plurality of features.)
for each entity of a first plurality of entities used for training, obtaining a value for each of the selected features; ([Paragraph 0008] - “The printed features can be alphanumeric characters, holograms, watermark, flags, a particular field in a document such as a name or an address field or a signature strip, or any other features that are printed on official documents such as driving licenses and passports. In essence, using the methods of the present disclosure, any printed feature, its position in a document, and its spacing relative to other printed features can be annotated”, This denotes the values that are taken from the features of the documents in Gietema, which describes the obtaining a value process within the limitation.)
training a machine-learning model using a first set of training pairs, each training pair in the first set of training pairs comprising respective entity data paired with corresponding distorted entity data, wherein: ([Paragraph 0073] - “The modified and original reference landmark locations are then used to generate input for the machine learning model and the machine learning model is trained using the input data. The training of the machine learning model can be a supervised training”, Gietema discloses the training of a machine learning model using a first training pair with a manipulated data of a second training pair as inputs to train the machine learning model.)
the respective entity data comprises values of the selected features for a respective entity in the first plurality of entities, ([Paragraph 0007] -
“The first stage of training the machine learning model is annotating a plurality of printed features and/or a plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features in digital images of a first set of genuine documents of one or more classes of documents and/or a plurality of positions of a plurality of printed features in digital images of a second set of genuine documents to obtain “original reference landmark locations” for these printed features, spacings and positions”, This denotes the data values of selected features that corresponds to the respective set of entities where Gietema annotates the features of a first set of documents.)
and the corresponding distorted entity data is obtained by distorting a value of at least one of the selected features for the respective entity based on the respective noise model for the at least one of the selected features; ([Paragraph 0060] - “With reference to FIG. 1A, at step 105, the annotated transformed printed features, spacings and/or positions are further “augmented” by combining them with a noise model. Here, combining with a noise model can, for example, be imitating at least one of geometric transformations and radiometric transformations of the respective annotated transformed printed features, annotated transformed spacings and/or annotated transformed positions. In this way, for each transformed printed feature, spacing and/or position, yet more “genuine” printed features, spacings and/or positions are generated. The geometric transformations can, for example, include imitating perspective transformations or image distortions, while radiometric transformations may include imitating reflected or emitted radiation measured by a sensor during image capture, which leads to distortions on a document due to document capturing conditions. As a result, not only is the number of training data increased, the geometric and radiometric transformations can represent noise in genuine documents, which means that the machine learning model is ultimately trained to account for certain types of noise in genuine documents”, This denotes the process of using the noise model to distort the data value of the selected features to obtain the manipulated training data as corresponding data for an entity.)
and inputting, to the trained machine-learning model, values of the selected features for a particular entity to obtain a representation of the values of the selected features for that entity; ([Paragraph 0030] – “Input data corresponding to the document for the trained machine learning model is generated using at least one of a plurality of printed features, a plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features, and a plurality of positions of the plurality of printed features in this digital image. Once these are inputted to the trained machine learning model, the output of the model is a plurality of annotations on printed features, spacings between the printed features, and/or positions of printed features on the digital image. These annotations indicate respective landmark locations on the respective annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position”, This denotes the application of the training pairs as inputs to the trained machine learning model to generate representations of the selected features for the corresponding entity.)
and determining a similarity between the particular entity and another entity based on the representation for the particular entity. ([Paragraph 0032] - “In order to determine whether or not the document is fraudulent, a geometric score is calculated for each landmark location on the annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position in the digital image of the document based on the distances between the landmark locations on the printed feature, spacing and/or location and the respective original reference landmark locations. A first threshold is defined for each geometric score, above which the respective printed feature, spacing and/or position is identified as “fake.” Thus, if a geometric score is above the associated first threshold, then the document is determined to be fraudulent. In this way, not only are fake features, wrong spacings and mispositions detected, the misorientations of the printed features are also detected since a misorientation leads to annotations on features, spacings and/or positions to be outside the associated thresholds”, This denotes the step of the process in using the obtained feature data representations of the entities for comparison.)
As per claim 17,
The system of claim 16, wherein the first plurality of entities includes at least one of the particular entity or the other entity. ([Paragraph 0014] – “The first step in the disclosed method is obtaining digital images of the first and second sets of genuine documents. The first set of genuine documents may comprise one or more documents which may or may not be of the class of documents to which the document to be authenticated belongs, whereas the second set of genuine documents are of the same class to which the document to be authenticated belongs.”, Gietema discloses a grouping, and the images retrieved from the first and second set of documents.)
As per claim 18,
The system of claim 16, wherein the processor is further to:input, to the trained machine-learning model, values of the selected features for the other entity to obtain a representation of the values of the selected features for the other entity, ([Paragraph 0030] – “Input data corresponding to the document for the trained machine learning model is generated using at least one of a plurality of printed features, a plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features, and a plurality of positions of the plurality of printed features in this digital image. Once these are inputted to the trained machine learning model, the output of the model is a plurality of annotations on printed features, spacings between the printed features, and/or positions of printed features on the digital image. These annotations indicate respective landmark locations on the respective annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position”, This denotes the application of the training pairs as inputs to the trained machine learning model to generate representations of the selected features for the corresponding entity.)
wherein the similarity between the particular entity and the other entity is determined based on the representation for the particular entity and the representation for the other entity. ([Paragraph 0032] - “In order to determine whether or not the document is fraudulent, a geometric score is calculated for each landmark location on the annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position in the digital image of the document based on the distances between the landmark locations on the printed feature, spacing and/or location and the respective original reference landmark locations. A first threshold is defined for each geometric score, above which the respective printed feature, spacing and/or position is identified as “fake.” Thus, if a geometric score is above the associated first threshold, then the document is determined to be fraudulent. In this way, not only are fake features, wrong spacings and mispositions detected, the misorientations of the printed features are also detected since a misorientation leads to annotations on features, spacings and/or positions to be outside the associated thresholds”, This denotes the step of the process in using the obtained feature data representations of the entities for comparison.)
As per claim 19,
The system of claim 16 wherein the processor is to obtain, for each feature in a set of features, the respective noise model by performing operations including obtaining the noise model for a particular feature by: obtaining values of the particular feature for a second plurality of entities; wherein the similarity between the particular entity and the other entity is determined based on the representation for the particular entity and the representation for the other entity. ([Paragraph 0032] - “In order to determine whether or not the document is fraudulent, a geometric score is calculated for each landmark location on the annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position in the digital image of the document based on the distances between the landmark locations on the printed feature, spacing and/or location and the respective original reference landmark locations. A first threshold is defined for each geometric score, above which the respective printed feature, spacing and/or position is identified as “fake.” Thus, if a geometric score is above the associated first threshold, then the document is determined to be fraudulent. In this way, not only are fake features, wrong spacings and mispositions detected, the misorientations of the printed features are also detected since a misorientation leads to annotations on features, spacings and/or positions to be outside the associated thresholds”, This denotes the step of the process in using the obtained feature data representations of the entities for comparison.)
and determining the noise model for the particular feature based on the values of the particular feature for the second plurality of entities. ([Paragraph 0066] – “A noise model for printed features can be determined based on noise in printed features in the third digital images. This may be done by measuring the image quality of a plurality of printed features in each third digital image, where image quality may be blur, resolution, glare, contrast and/or occlusion, to obtain image quality metrics for these printed features. The image quality metrics are then calibrated and a signal to noise ratio is measured for printed features in each third digital image based on the calibrated image quality metrics. The calibration of image quality metrics may be done by obtaining empirical distributions of image quality metrics for every image quality metric and mapping every uncalibrated image quality metric to its corresponding percentile in the corresponding empirical distribution. That is, there are separate empirical distributions for resolution, blur, etc. For example, if the uncalibrated image quality metric being calibrated is resolution, then the uncalibrated resolution is mapped to its corresponding percentile in the empirical distribution of resolutions.”, Gietema teaches a method to create noise models for a specific set of features based on feature data from a set of images that belong in a class of documents.)
As per claim 20,
A non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a computer, cause the computer to perform operations comprising: ([Paragraph 0103] - “The data storage device 618 may include one or more machine-readable storage media (or more specifically one or more non-transitory computer-readable storage media) 628 on which is stored one or more sets of instructions 622 embodying any one or more of the methodologies or functions described herein. The instructions 622 may also reside, completely or at least partially, within the main memory 604 and/or within the processing device 602 during execution thereof by the computer system 600, the main memory 604 and the processing device 602 also constituting computer-readable storage media., Gietema discloses a non-transitory medium that stores instructions and has functionality disclosed with any of the methodologies stated previously.)
obtaining, for each feature in a set of features, a respective noise model; ([Paragraph 0023] – “In some embodiments, the noise model may be determined separately for printed features, spacings between printed features and positions of printed features”, Gietema discloses a process of creating noise models using feature value data.)
receiving, from a user device, a selection of features from the set of features; ([Paragraph 0015], Figure 6., - “The next step in the disclosed method is selecting at least one of a plurality of printed features, plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features in the first digital images and plurality of positions of a plurality of printed features in the second digital images… this selection is done by a human and only sharp images are selected at this stage”, The flow chart teaches a user input network interface that allows for selecting a plurality of features.)
for each entity of a first plurality of entities used for training, obtaining a value for each of the selected features; ([Paragraph 0008] - “The printed features can be alphanumeric characters, holograms, watermark, flags, a particular field in a document such as a name or an address field or a signature strip, or any other features that are printed on official documents such as driving licenses and passports. In essence, using the methods of the present disclosure, any printed feature, its position in a document, and its spacing relative to other printed features can be annotated”, This denotes the values that are taken from the features of the documents in Gietema, which describes the obtaining a value process within the limitation.)
training a machine-learning model using a first set of training pairs, each training pair in the first set of training pairs comprising respective entity data paired with corresponding distorted entity data, wherein: ([Paragraph 0073] - “The modified and original reference landmark locations are then used to generate input for the machine learning model and the machine learning model is trained using the input data. The training of the machine learning model can be a supervised training”, Gietema discloses the training of a machine learning model using a first training pair with a manipulated data of a second training pair as inputs to train the machine learning model.)
the respective entity data comprises values of the selected features for a respective entity in the first plurality of entities, ([Paragraph 0007] -
“The first stage of training the machine learning model is annotating a plurality of printed features and/or a plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features in digital images of a first set of genuine documents of one or more classes of documents and/or a plurality of positions of a plurality of printed features in digital images of a second set of genuine documents to obtain “original reference landmark locations” for these printed features, spacings and positions”, This denotes the data values of selected features that corresponds to the respective set of entities where Gietema annotates the features of a first set of documents.)
and the corresponding distorted entity data is obtained by distorting a value of at least one of the selected features for the respective entity based on the respective noise model for the at least one of the selected features; ([Paragraph 0060] - “With reference to FIG. 1A, at step 105, the annotated transformed printed features, spacings and/or positions are further “augmented” by combining them with a noise model. Here, combining with a noise model can, for example, be imitating at least one of geometric transformations and radiometric transformations of the respective annotated transformed printed features, annotated transformed spacings and/or annotated transformed positions. In this way, for each transformed printed feature, spacing and/or position, yet more “genuine” printed features, spacings and/or positions are generated. The geometric transformations can, for example, include imitating perspective transformations or image distortions, while radiometric transformations may include imitating reflected or emitted radiation measured by a sensor during image capture, which leads to distortions on a document due to document capturing conditions. As a result, not only is the number of training data increased, the geometric and radiometric transformations can represent noise in genuine documents, which means that the machine learning model is ultimately trained to account for certain types of noise in genuine documents”, This denotes the process of using the noise model to distort the data value of the selected features to obtain the manipulated training data as corresponding data for an entity.)
and inputting, to the trained machine-learning model, values of the selected features for a particular entity to obtain a representation of the values of the selected features for that entity; ([Paragraph 0030] – “Input data corresponding to the document for the trained machine learning model is generated using at least one of a plurality of printed features, a plurality of spacings between the plurality of printed features, and a plurality of positions of the plurality of printed features in this digital image. Once these are inputted to the trained machine learning model, the output of the model is a plurality of annotations on printed features, spacings between the printed features, and/or positions of printed features on the digital image. These annotations indicate respective landmark locations on the respective annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position”, This denotes the application of the training pairs as inputs to the trained machine learning model to generate representations of the selected features for the corresponding entity.)
and determining a similarity between the particular entity and another entity based on the representation for the particular entity. ([Paragraph 0032] - “In order to determine whether or not the document is fraudulent, a geometric score is calculated for each landmark location on the annotated printed feature, spacing and/or position in the digital image of the document based on the distances between the landmark locations on the printed feature, spacing and/or location and the respective original reference landmark locations. A first threshold is defined for each geometric score, above which the respective printed feature, spacing and/or position is identified as “fake.” Thus, if a geometric score is above the associated first threshold, then the document is determined to be fraudulent. In this way, not only are fake features, wrong spacings and mispositions detected, the misorientations of the printed features are also detected since a misorientation leads to annotations on features, spacings and/or positions to be outside the associated thresholds”, This denotes the step of the process in using the obtained feature data representations of the entities for comparison.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) [ 7, 13 ] is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gietema et al (US 20220351532 A1) in view of Sweet (US 11373132 B1).
As per claim 7, Gietema fails to explicitly disclose, “The computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the particular entity and the other entity are included in a second plurality of entities and wherein determining the similarity between the particular entity and the other entity comprises determining the similarity between the particular entity and the other entity to cluster the second plurality of entities into one or more groups based on the representations for the second plurality of entities.”.
However, Sweet discloses this limitation, ([Paragraph 37] – “As an example, clusters of clients can be created using k-means and centroid-based clustering. In some cases, a user (eg, a data scientist) may evaluate whether a given correlation identified by the correlation engine is a valid correlation. In some cases, evaluating whether an identified correlation is plausible depends on a minimal random sample of correlations”, this denotes a clustering method that groups entities. When combined with Gietema, this denotes the clustering method to determine similarity of the entities that will be grouped together based on the data representations.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the clustering teachings of Sweet with the data representations and the determining process based on those data representations of Gietema to group similar entities together for the second plurality of entities. One would have been motivated to make a combination using Sweet and Gietema to improve the determining similarity step of the similarity engine through a centroid based clustering to use data representations for similarity analysis between the representations of entities then grouping similar entities to determine the similarity of a particular entity and another entity.
As per claim 13, Gietema fails to explicitly disclose, “The computer-implemented method of claim 11 wherein determining the noise model for the particular feature comprises:encoding, for each entity in the second plurality of entities, the value of the particular feature to obtain respective numeric data for that entity; and determining the noise model for the particular feature based on a distribution of the numeric data for the second plurality of entities.”
However, Sweet discloses this limitation, ([Paragraph 37] – “An encoder can be used to convert the data into a single numeric vector for comparison. In some instances, the system 100 asks for user input via the interface 140 as to whether the client exhibits a particular correlation identified by the correlation engine 190”, this denotes the encoding process that can be applied with Gietema’s feature data processing to convert the feature values into numeric data to develop noise models for the entities.)
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the encoding process of Sweet with the use of features to create noise models of Gietema to transform feature data into numeric data representations to develop noise models for features. One would have been motivated to make a combination using Sweet and Gietema to process categorical data of images or text data that can be transformed into numeric data to obtain numeric representations of the feature values to determine the noise models.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fang et al., US 20180197108 A1
Zhang et al., US 20240161765 A1
Farahmand et al., US 10948312 B2
/JOHN OLIVER T DE GUZMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2123 /ALEXEY SHMATOV/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2123