DETAILED ACTION
a. Claims 1-22 in the present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA :
- claims 1, 10, and 19 are amended
- claims 3, 5-9, 12, 14-18, and 22 are canceled
b. This is a non final action on the merits based on Applicant’s claims submitted on 01/20/2026.
Response to Arguments
Regarding Independent claims 1, 10, and 19 previously rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103, Applicant's arguments, see “Accordingly, Liu fails to provide any teaching on the aforementioned distinguishing features of amended claim 1. In addition, for the remaining references, each of Lee, Jang and Pi also provides no disclosure or suggestion on the aforementioned distinguishing features of amended claim 1. As such, one of ordinary skill would not acquire any teaching from the disclosure of the cited references to obtain the invention as claimed independent claim 1. ” on pages 8-9, filed on 01/20/2026, with respect to Lee et al, US Pub 2021/0051731, claiming foreign application priority 2019-08-16 (hereinafter “Lee”), in view of Jang US Pub 2019/0377894 (hereinafter “Jang”), and further in view of Pi et al. US Pub 2023/0276436, claiming foreign application priority 2020-08-10 (hereinafter “Pi”), have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the previous rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Ohara US Pub 2022/0174749 (hereinafter “Ohara”), in combination with previously applied references Lee, Jang, and Pi. See section Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 below for complete details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 10, 11, 13, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al, US Pub 2021/0051731, claiming foreign application priority 2019-08-16 (hereinafter “Lee”), in view of Jang US Pub 2019/0377894 (hereinafter “Jang”), and further in view of Pi et al. US Pub 2023/0276436, claiming foreign application priority 2020-08-10 (hereinafter “Pi”) and of Ohara US Pub 2022/0174749 (hereinafter “Ohara”).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Lee discloses a wireless communication method (“A method of using a retransmission power counter for Msg A according to each spatial filter or beam based on the method of indicating different maximum allowed transmission numbers for the PRACH and the PUSCH of Msg A.” [0214]), comprising:
obtaining, by a terminal device (i.e. “UE” in Fig. 13), configuration information of random access resources (“Message A (Msg A) including a PRACH and a PUSCH by the UE.” [0143]);
determining, by the terminal device (i.e. “UE” in Fig. 13), a third retransmission number (“A retransmission of Msg A may mean a retransmission of the Msg A PRACH including preamble reselection and a retransmission of the Msg A PUSCH.” [0256]) according to the configuration information and first information (i.e. association between PRACH retransmission and RSRP measurement);
determining, by the terminal device (i.e. “UE” in Fig. 13), a fourth retransmission number (“A retransmission of Msg A may mean a retransmission of the Msg A PRACH including preamble reselection and a retransmission of the Msg A PUSCH.” [0256]) according to the configuration information and second information (i.e. association between PUSCH retransmission and RSRP measurement);
wherein
the third retransmission number is a number of retransmission of physical random access channel (PRACH) of type-1 random access (“A retransmission of Msg A may mean a retransmission of the Msg A PRACH including preamble reselection and a retransmission of the Msg A PUSCH.” [0256]), and the fourth retransmission number is a number of retransmission of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) of the type-1 random access (“A retransmission of Msg A may mean a retransmission of the Msg A PRACH including preamble reselection and a retransmission of the Msg A PUSCH.” [0256]);
Lee does not specifically teach wherein the first information comprises a reference-signal receiving-power (RSRP) measurement result of the terminal device.
In an analogous art, Jang discloses wherein the first information (i.e. association between PRACH retransmission and RSRP measurement) comprises a reference-signal receiving-power (RSRP) measurement result of the terminal device (“An SSB threshold for RACH resource association may be configured by the network, and a RACH preamble transmission (i.e., PRACH transmission) or retransmission is performed based on an SSB in which an RSRP satisfying the threshold has been measured. For example, the UE may select one of SSB(s) satisfying the threshold and transmit or retransmit the RACH preamble in RACH resources associated with the selected SSB.” [0166]);
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee’s method of transmitting and receiving a signal for a random access channel (RACH) procedure by a user equipment, to include Jang’s method of PRACH retransmission based on RSRP measurement, in order to identify best suitable beam for transmission (Jang [0165-0166]).
Lee and Jang do not specifically teach the second information comprises a RSRP measurement result of the terminal device; and the RSRP measurement result is a RSRP measurement result obtained by the terminal device performing RSRP measurement on a synchronization signal block (SSB).
In an analogous art, Pi discloses the second information (i.e. association between PUSCH retransmission and RSRP measurement) comprises a RSRP measurement result of the terminal device (“Scheme B: the first number of repetitions for the first transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH is determined based on the measurement result. That is, the first number of repetitions for the first transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH is determined according to the measurement result of reference signal receiving power (RSRP) of synchronization signal block (SSB) by UE” [0095]); and
the RSRP measurement result is a RSRP measurement result obtained by the terminal device (i.e. “UE”) performing RSRP measurement on a synchronization signal block (SSB) (“the mapping relationship between the measurement result of RSRP of SSB and the number of repetitions is defined in advance or notified to the UE by the base station via broadcast information. That is, the first number of repetitions for the first transmission of the Msg3 PUSCH is determined based on the downlink measurement result and the mapping relationship between the downlink measurement result and the number of repetitions.” [0095]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee’s method of transmitting and receiving a signal for a random access channel (RACH) procedure by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, as modified by Jang, to include Pi’s method for determining a number of repetitions of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), in order to provide a solution for supporting the repetitions of Msg3 PUSCH, solve a critical technical problem of uplink coverage enhancement, and improve the uplink coverage range of the Msg3 PUSCH greatly (Pi [Abstract]).
Lee discloses PRACH type-1 and PUSCH type-1 transmission numbers (“The maximum allowed transmission number of Msg 1 may be limited by a preambleTransMax parameter in the 4-step RACH procedure. In this method, the maximum allowed transmission number of the PRACH and/or the PUSCH of Msg A is also limited by the parameter” [0209]) but Lee, Jang, and Pi do not specifically teach wherein the third retransmission number and the fourth retransmission number are the same or different.
In an analogous art, Ohara discloses wherein the third retransmission number and the fourth retransmission number are the same (“Alternatively, the value of the maximum number of retransmissions for the preamble of the 4-step RACH (i.e. third retransmission number) may be the same as the value of the maximum number of retransmissions for the preamble of the MsgA and for the PUSCH (i.e. fourth retransmission number) of the MsgA of the 2-step RACH.” [0059]) or different (“Alternatively, the value of the maximum number of retransmissions for the preamble of the 4-step RACH (i.e. third retransmission number) may be different from the value of the maximum number of retransmissions for the preamble of the MsgA of the 2-step RACH and also different from the value of the maximum number of retransmissions for the PUSCH (i.e. fourth retransmission number) of the MsgA.” [0060]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Lee’s method of transmitting and receiving a signal for a random access channel (RACH) procedure by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system, as modified by Jang and Pi, to include Ohara’s communication method in a radio communication system, in order to support different types of random access procedures (Ohara [Abstract]). Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated the ability to incorporate Ohara’s communication method in a radio communication system into Lee’s method of transmitting and receiving a signal for a random access channel (RACH) procedure by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Regarding claim 2
Lee, as modified by Jang, Pi, and Ohara, previously discloses the method as claimed in claim 1,
Jang further discloses wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of numbers of the retransmissions of the PRACH; and a corresponding relationship is defined between the first information (i.e. association between PRACH retransmission and RSRP measurement) and the third retransmission number (i.e. numbers of the retransmissions of the PRACH) among the at least one of the numbers of retransmissions (“An SSB threshold for RACE resource association may be configured by the network, and a RACH preamble transmission (i.e., PRACH transmission) or retransmission is performed based on an SSB in which an RSRP satisfying the threshold has been measured. For example, the UE may select one of SSB(s) satisfying the threshold and transmit or retransmit the RACH preamble in RACH resources associated with the selected SSB.” [0166]).
Regarding claim 4
Lee, as modified by Jang, Pi, and Ohara, previously discloses the method as claimed in claim 1,
Lee further discloses wherein the first information further comprises at least one of a type (“different maximum allowed transmission numbers are configured for Msg A and Msg 1, the total number of attempts may be equal for UEs attempting initial access in the same time/frequency resources regardless of RACH procedure types” [0233]), or a capability (“each UE may have a different maximum bandwidth capability.” [0153]) of the terminal device (i.e. “UE”);
the second information further comprises at least one of the type, or the capability of the terminal device (similarly to the afore-mentioned first information above).
Regarding claim 10 (Currently Amended)
Lee discloses wireless communication method, comprising:
sending, by a network device (i.e. “BS” in Fig. 13), configuration information of random access resources to a terminal device;
wherein the configuration information is configured to determine a third retransmission number by configuring first information, and is configured to determine a fourth retransmission number in cooperation with second information; and the third retransmission number is a number of retransmission of physical random access channel (PRACH) of type-1 random access; the fourth retransmission number is a number of retransmission of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) of the type-1 random access;
wherein the first information comprises a reference-signal receiving-power (RSRP) measurement result of the terminal device;
the second information comprises a RSRP measurement result of the terminal device; and
the RSRP measurement result is a RSRP measurement result obtained by the terminal device performing RSRP measurement on a synchronization signal block (SSB);
wherein the third retransmission number and the fourth retransmission number are the same or different.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 10 are reciprocal to the method as claimed in claim 1. Therefore method claim 10 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 11
The method as claimed in claim 10, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of numbers of the retransmissions of the PRACH;
a corresponding relationship is defined between the first information and the third retransmission number among the at least one of the numbers of retransmissions.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 11 are reciprocal to the method as claimed in claim 2. Therefore method claim 11 corresponds to method claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 2 rejection above.
Regarding claim 13
The method as claimed in claim 10, wherein the first information further comprises at least one of a type, or a capability of the terminal device;
the second information further comprises at least one of the type, or the capability of the terminal device.
The scope and subject matter of method claim 13 are reciprocal to the method as claimed in claim 4. Therefore method claim 13 corresponds to method claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 4 rejection above.
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended)
Lee discloses an electronic device, applied in a terminal device (“wireless device 100” in Fig. 25; [0266]) or a network device (“wireless device 200” in Fig. 25; [0266]), comprising a processor (“processor 102” in Fig. 25; [0266]) and a memory (“memory 104” in Fig. 25; [0266]), wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program (“the memory(s) 104 may store software code including commands for performing all or a part of processes controlled by the processor(s) 102 or for performing the descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operational flowcharts disclosed in this document” [0266]), and the processor is configured to call and run computer program stored in the memory, and to execute a wireless communication method;
wherein
in a case that the electronic device is applied in the terminal device, the method comprises:
obtaining, by the terminal device, configuration information of random access resources;
determining, by the terminal device, a third retransmission number according to the configuration information and first information; and
determining, by the terminal device, a fourth retransmission number according to the configuration information and second information; or
wherein the third retransmission number is a number of retransmission of physical random access channel (PRACH) of type-1 random access, and the fourth retransmission number is a number of retransmission of physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) of the type-1 random access; or
in a case that the electronic device is applied in the network device, the method comprises:
sending, by the network device, configuration information of random access resources to a terminal device;
wherein the configuration information is configured to determine a third retransmission number by configuring first information, and is configured to determine the fourth retransmission number in cooperation with second information; and the third retransmission number is a number of retransmission of PRACH of type-1 random access; the fourth retransmission number is a number of retransmission of PUSCH of the type-1 random access;
wherein the first information comprises a reference-signal receiving-power (RSRP} measurement result of the terminal device; the second information comprises a RSRP measurement result of the terminal device; and the RSRP measurement result is a RSRP measurement result obtained by the terminal device performing RSRP measurement on a synchronization signal block (SSB);
wherein the third retransmission number and the fourth retransmission number are the same or different.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 19 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 1. Therefore apparatus claim 19 corresponds to method claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 20
The electronic device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the first information further comprises at least one of a type, or a capability of the terminal device;
the second information comprises at least one of the type, or the capability of the terminal device.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 20 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 4. Therefore apparatus claim 20 corresponds to method claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 4 rejection above.
Regarding claim 21
The electronic device as claimed in claim 19, wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of numbers of the retransmissions of the PRACH; and a corresponding relationship is defined between the first information and the third retransmission number among the at least one of the numbers of retransmissions.
The scope and subject matter of apparatus claim 21 is drawn to the apparatus of using the corresponding method claimed in claim 2. Therefore apparatus claim 21 corresponds to method claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons of obviousness as used in claim 2 rejection above.
Conclusion
/CHUONG M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411