DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 1/30/2026.
Claims 1-3, 6, and 8-23 are pending.
Claims 1, 8 and 14 have been amended.
Claims 21-23 have been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Claim rejections under 35 USC § 101 is maintaining.
Applicant's argument(s) a and b filed on 1/30/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8-23 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the communication field, applicant argues in substance that:
a. Regarding claim(s) 1, 8 and 14, Applicant argues (Remark page(s)12-14)
“Applicant respectfully disagrees that the claims are obvious over the cited references. However, to expedite prosecution of the present application, Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite "wherein the server platform associates at least one geographic designator with at least one Internet Protocol (IP) address, wherein one or more of the at least one IP address is a unique identifier of the at least one geofence, wherein the at least one geofence defines the real property" and "wherein the at least one prohibition is implemented by the at least one slave key." Claims 8 and 14 have also been amended to recite analogous limitations.
Applicant respectfully submits that none of the prior art, individually or in combination, recite these features.
In response to argument [a], Examiners respectfully disagrees.
Partheesh teaches "wherein the server platform associates at least one geographic designator with at least one Internet Protocol (IP) address, wherein one or more of the at least one IP address is a unique identifier of the at least one geofence, wherein the at least one geofence defines the real property" at [0007], this application discloses a geofence service that enables various remote control and automated operations based a user's current geographic position as determined by the user's mobile device's current geographic location. The geofence service enables the user to define one or more geofences based on particular geographic locations. Such geofences may be used in conjunction with several mobile-based “geofence applications” for remote and automatic control of devices. In one example, the mobile device's volume or power-control settings (e.g., wireless radios, Bluetooth radios) are automatically adjusted based on the user's location inside or outside a geofence. In one example, the temperature setting of a building or house is selectively controlled based on the user's proximity to a geofence defined relative to the building or the house. [0021-0022], Fig.3; 3A, 4A-4C storing the determining geofence and IP address based on the wireless connection profile into geofence server 114 [examiner notes: particular address (or particular geographic point on a map) interprets to be a geographic designator. Device’s location interprets as a slave key.].
Furthermore, Partheesh teaches "wherein the at least one prohibition is implemented by the at least one slave key." at [0020], the geofence server 114 is a server or other computing system capable of hosting a service that is accessible by other computing systems (e.g., the personal computer 104) through the network 110. As will be explained in more detail below, the geofence server 114 offers a geofence service that enables a variety of capabilities to a mobile user. In one example, the user may selectively define a geographic boundary (i.e., geofence) within which certain functionalities (e.g., mobile device ring options, temperature control settings, etc.) are automatically enabled or disabled based on the mobile device's location inside or outside of the defined geofence [examiner notes: device’s location interprets as a slave key.].
Applicant's argument(s) c filed on 1/30/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8-23 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the communication field, applicant argues in substance that:
c. Regarding claim(s) 1, 8 and 14, Applicant argues (Remark page(s) 8-12)
“Rejections under 35 USC 101
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for allegedly being an abstract idea. Applicant respectfully disagrees.
The office action alleges that the claims include:
"(1) Concepts relating to the economy and commerce, such as agreements between people in the form of contracts, legal obligations, and business relations"; and
"(3) Concepts relating to interpersonal and intrapersonal activities, such as managing
relationships or transactions between people, social activities, and human behavior; satisfying or avoiding a legal obligation; advertising, marketing, and sales activities or behaviors; and managing human mental activity."
The claims are directed to managing permissions for geofences. Geofences are virtual boundaries around physical spaces which are inherently technological in nature, given that geofences provide device permissions and/or prohibitions within the geofence, depending on how the geofence is configured.
In the claimed invention, "the server platform is operable to provide at least one
permission for the at least one processor-based device within the at least one geofence based on the unlocking of the at least one virtual master key." Accordingly, the present invention providesPage
a permission for a device within the geofence based on the unlocking of at least one virtual master key using at least one virtual slave key. This is a solution to a problem inherently rooted in computer technology, as permissions for processor-based devices to access content did not exist before the advent of Internet technology.
The office action did not include Step 2A Prong Two or Step 2B analysis of the subject matter eligibility under 35 USC 101. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that if the rejections under 35 USC 101 are maintained, the next action cannot be made final as the office has not produced a prima facie rejection of the claims under 35 USC 101.
Step 2A, Prong Two
The clauses "wherein the server platform associates at least one geographic designator with at least one Internet Protocol (IP) address, wherein one or more of the at least one IP address is a unique identifier of the at least one geofence" and "wherein the at least one prohibition is implemented by the at least one slave key"ground the solution of the present invention in a practical, and inherently technical, application.
The Office Action alleges that the claims are rejected for being an abstract idea. Applicant respectfully disagrees and submits that the claims integrate any alleged judicial exception into a practical application.
As described in the application as filed, "[o]ne problem is that companies or individuals can effectively pirate the virtual real estate and related commerce using software which is currently free code provided by publically-available programs to draw geo-referenced 'fences' on electronic maps (e.g., 'Google Maps'). Using such graphics together with code that is on the processor-based device (e.g., a smartphone or tablet computer), companies in control of the devices are able to create an intrusive connection with their customer while he or she is inside the 'envelope' of the real estate owner's property. This intrusion may be disruptive to the business activities and personal 'space' of the 'owner"' (Para. [0093]). The claimed invention provides for limiting functionality of a phone based on a location of the phone within a geofence. The application as filed discloses "systems and methods for 'locking the (virtual) doors' of homes and commercial real estate" (Para. [0093]); in other words, the claimed invention is a practical solution addressing the technological issue of digital security. Additionally, in order to accurately assess piracy threats in real-time, more compact data storage, and in turn faster data transmission, is needed.
For the above reasons, the claims are integrated into a practical application under Step 2A Prong Two and thus are not directed to an abstract idea. Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits that the claims are allowable under 35 U.S.C. 101. Step 2B
Associating at least one geographic designator with at least one Internet Protocol (IP) address, wherein one or more of the at least one IP address is a unique identifier of the at least one geofence and implementing at least one prohibition by at least one slave key are not well-understood, routine, or conventional.
Applicant does not concede as to the allegation that the claims are directed to an abstract idea. Assuming, arguendo, that it is, the claimed invention includes an inventive concept sufficient to transform any allegedly abstract idea into patent eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Applicant submits that associating at least one geographic designator with at least one Internet Protocol (IP) address, wherein one or more of the at least one IP address is a unique
identifier of the at least one geofence and implementing at least one prohibition by at least one slave key are not well-understood, routine, or conventional.
As explained in paragraph [0021] of the application as filed, one problem that exists is
"that companies or individuals can effectively pirate the virtual real estate and related commerce using software which is currently standard free code provided by publically-available programs to draw geo-referenced "fences" on electronic maps (e.g., "Google Maps"). Using such graphics together with code that is on the processor-based device (e.g., a smartphone or tablet computer), companies in control of the devices are able to create an intrusive connection with their customer while he or she is inside the "envelope" of the real estate owner's property. This intrusion may be disruptive to the business activities and personal "space" of the "owner." The present invention provides systems and methods for "locking the (virtual) doors" of homes and commercial real estate."
The claimed invention solves this problem through the use of a server platform which utilizes at least one master key and at least one slave key for implementing prohibitions and permissions for electronic devices on a piece of real property defined by a geofence. This is not well-understood, routine, or conventional. Further, utilizing at least one IP address to define a geofence, with the at least one IP address being unique to the geofence, is not well-understood, routine, or conventional,
As explained by paragraph [0035] of the present application, "[f]undamental to the
present invention is the fact that the owners of real property have the right to control that real estate and the activities of those who venture inside the metes and bounds of these spaces. Different titles and permissions are associated with different aspects of the real estate. By way of example and not limitation, such titles and limitations include surface rights, a real property title,
mineral rights, air rights, internet activity rights, wireless network activity rights (such as 3G, 4G, and other cell phone network rights), advertising rights, water rights, farming rights, rights surrounding the operation of predefined devices or all devices, virtual rights, drone permissions, etc. The present invention provides an efficient way to manage the rights associated with real estate, as well as entitlements derived from those rights."
Accordingly, the claimed invention includes an inventive concept and is not well- understood, routine, or conventional.”
In response to argument [c], Examiners respectfully disagrees.
The claim(s) 1, 8 and 14 limitation such as “wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property;” that comprise concepts relating to the economy and commerce, and concepts relating to interpersonal and intrapersonal activities. Rental, and lease are concepts relating to the commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors, and business relations), economy or commerce. Prevent activity on the real property concepts relating to managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions). See MPEP 2106.04(a). The examiner suggests to remove the limitation to overcome rejections under 35 USC 101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
1. Claim(s) 1-3, 6, and 8-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being an abstract idea. Specifically, the claims are directed to examples (1) and (3) below since the claim(s) 1, 8 and 14 that comprise concepts relating to the economy and commerce, and concepts relating to interpersonal and intrapersonal activities. The limitation is abstract idea “wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property;”.
(1) Concepts relating to the economy and commerce, such as agreements between people in the form of contracts, legal obligations, and business relations;
(2) An idea standing alone such as an uninstantiated concept, plan or scheme, as well as a mental process (thinking) that “can be performed in the human mind, or by a human using a pen and paper”;
(3) Concepts relating to interpersonal and intrapersonal activities, such as managing relationships or transactions between people, social activities, and human behavior; satisfying or avoiding a legal obligation; advertising, marketing, and sales activities or behaviors; and managing human mental activity;
(4) Mathematical concepts such as mathematical algorithms, mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas, and calculations, organizing information through mathematical correlations, or using categories to organize, store, and transmit information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 8, 10-12, 14-17, 19-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partheesh (US 20120172027 A1) in view of Bisikalo (US 20170017936 A1) in view of Gordon (US 20200234386 A1) in view of Hata (US 20110136515 A1).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1, a system for managing geofence permissions, comprising:
Partheesh teaches a server platform comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium providing storage constructed and configured for communication with at least one processor-based device; (Partheesh, FIG.1 shows communication between personal computer 104, mobile device 102, geofence server 114 and web server 120. [0039], FIG. 6 is a high-level block diagram showing an example of the architecture for a computer system 1400 that can be utilized to implement a geofence server, a web server, a computing device, etc., for performing the various operations discussed in this application. In FIG. 6, the computer system 1400 includes one or more processors 1405 and memory 1410 connected via an interconnect 1425.)
wherein the server platform includes at least one virtual master key associated with at least one geographic designator and at least one geofence, (Partheesh, [0021]- [0023], the user may specifically specify the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile in order to activate geofence services only when the mobile device is present within such wireless connection profiles. The user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map). For example, the user may enter an address and specify that the geofence is a 2 mile radius around that particular address. [examiner notes: particular address (or particular geographic point on a map) interprets to be a geographic designator. The name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile associate with the workplace interprets to be the virtual master key.])
wherein the at least one virtual master key is an identifier of real property for a real estate title or a real estate permission; (Partheesh, [0020]- [0022], [0030], the user may specifically specify the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile in order to activate geofence services only when the mobile device is present within such wireless connection profiles. To avoid this inconvenience, the user may enable the geofence vibrate application where he may have set his geofence by either defining a wireless profile his phone connects to automatically when he enters work, or by defining a 1 mile radius around work as the geofence, etc. Accordingly, when the user enters the work based geofence, the geofence service triggers the user's mobile-device to automatically switch to the defined vibrate setting. When the user leaves the geofence location, the geofence service may cause the mobile device to automatically revert to the ring option. [examiner notes: the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile associate with the workplace interprets to be the virtual master key. Geofence services interpret real estate permission.])
wherein the server platform associates at least one geographic designator with at least one Internet Protocol (IP) address, wherein one or more of the at least one IP address is a unique identifier of the at least one geofence, wherein the at least one geofence defines the real property; (Partheesh, [0007], this application discloses a geofence service that enables various remote control and automated operations based a user's current geographic position as determined by the user's mobile device's current geographic location. The geofence service enables the user to define one or more geofences based on particular geographic locations. Such geofences may be used in conjunction with several mobile-based “geofence applications” for remote and automatic control of devices. In one example, the mobile device's volume or power-control settings (e.g., wireless radios, Bluetooth radios) are automatically adjusted based on the user's location inside or outside a geofence. In one example, the temperature setting of a building or house is selectively controlled based on the user's proximity to a geofence defined relative to the building or the house. [0021-0022], Fig.3; 3A, 4A-4C storing the determining geofence and IP address based on the wireless connection profile into geofence server 114 [examiner notes: particular address (or particular geographic point on a map) interprets to be a geographic designator. Device’s location interprets as a slave key.])
wherein the server platform is operable to facilitate a creation, transfer, or division of the real estate permissions; (Partheesh, [0020]- [0023], Fig. 2; the geofence server 114 offers a geofence service that enables a variety of capabilities to a mobile user. In one example, the user may selectively define a geographic boundary (i.e., geofence) within which certain functionalities (e.g., mobile device ring options, temperature control settings, etc.) are automatically enabled or disabled based on the mobile device's location inside or outside of the defined geofence. The user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map). [examiner notes: the variety of capabilities to the mobile user on the defined geofence are rights for devices on a geofence therefore interprets to be the real estate permissions. For example, since the language merely states “…real estate permissions …” the “real estate permissions” can be properly interpreted by the examiner as “real estate permissions/rights/restrictions/ prohibitions/authorizations” because they claims did not clearly define the scope of the “real estate permissions”. Although the claims xrdyware interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).])
wherein the server platform includes at least one prohibition for the real property; (Partheesh, [0020]- [0023], Fig. 2; the geofence server 114 offers a geofence service that enables a variety of capabilities to a mobile user. In one example, the user may selectively define a geographic boundary (i.e., geofence) within which certain functionalities (e.g., mobile device ring options, temperature control settings, etc.) are automatically enabled or disabled based on the mobile device's location inside or outside of the defined geofence. The user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map). [examiner notes: the variety of capabilities to the mobile user on the defined geofence are rights for devices on a geofence therefore interprets to be the real estate permissions. For example, since the language merely states “…prohibition for the real property …” the “prohibition for the real property” can be properly interpreted by the examiner as “permissions/rights/restrictions/ prohibitions/authorizations the real property” because they claims did not clearly define the scope of the “prohibition for the real property”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).])
wherein the at least one prohibition is implemented by the at least one slave key; (Partheesh, [0020], the geofence server 114 is a server or other computing system capable of hosting a service that is accessible by other computing systems (e.g., the personal computer 104) through the network 110. As will be explained in more detail below, the geofence server 114 offers a geofence service that enables a variety of capabilities to a mobile user. In one example, the user may selectively define a geographic boundary (i.e., geofence) within which certain functionalities (e.g., mobile device ring options, temperature control settings, etc.) are automatically enabled or disabled based on the mobile device's location inside or outside of the defined geofence [examiner notes: device’s location interprets as a slave key.])
wherein the server platform is operable to determine that the at least one processor-based device includes the at least one virtual slave key and is further operable to unlock the at least one virtual master key using the at least one virtual slave key; and (Partheesh, [0022], the user may define a geofence based on the mobile device's connection to a particular WiFi or Wireless LAN device. Here, a user may have configured his mobile device such that the device automatically connects to a particular WiFi or Wireless LAN connection when the device’s location is within range of a hub offering such a connection. The user may specifically specify the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile in order to activate geofence services only when the mobile device is present within such wireless connection profiles. [examiner notes: IP address interprets to be virtual maser key. Mobile device's location interprets to be virtual slave key.])
wherein the server platform is operable to provide at least one permission for the at least one processor-based device within the at least one geofence based on the unlocking of the at least one virtual master key. (Partheesh, [0022], the user may define a geofence based on the mobile device's connection to a particular WiFi or Wireless LAN device. Here, a user may have configured his mobile device such that the device automatically connects to a particular WiFi or Wireless LAN connection when the device’s location is within range of a hub offering such a connection. The user may specifically specify the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile in order to activate geofence services only when the mobile device is present within such wireless connection profiles. [examiner notes: IP address interprets to be virtual maser key. Mobile device's location interprets to be virtual slave key. Geofence services interpret to be permissions.])
Partheesh does not teach wherein the server platform is operable to retrieve all real estate permissions associated with the at least one virtual master key; wherein the at least one virtual master key is further associated with a chain of title for the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition further comprises blocking at least one phone from making calls, accessing data, or recording data on the real property;
Bisikalo however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the server platform is operable to retrieve all real estate permissions associated with the at least one virtual master key; (Bisikalo, [0033], [0045], using a P2PTG as a way to store the identities will enable broad access to authorized users and can be implemented in a publicly-available way. Each and every addition or deletion to the ledger of identities will be traceable and viewable within the P2PTG's Blockchain ledger. Through a hotel's use of P2PTG, a client may check in, get a room assignment and receive a virtual key to enter the assigned room. The virtual key may be sent to the client's P2PTG ledger, stored on his smartphone or other portable electronic device, and may be used to open the door when the phone is placed in proximity to the hotel room door lock, for example, where the smartphone or other device is Bluetooth or NFC-enabled and is in communication range of a corresponding reader in the room. [examiner notes: The virtual key is operable to retrieve the hotel permissions, for example, permission to unlock the door, checking, checkout, access devices in the hotel.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Partheesh by incorporating the teachings of Bisikalo. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to track usage of resources can be enabled through the P2PTG (Bisikalo, [0039]).
Partheesh does not teach wherein the at least one virtual master key is further associated with a chain of title for the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition further comprises blocking at least one phone from making calls, accessing data, or recording data on the real property;
Gordon however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the at least one virtual master key is further associated with a chain of title for the real property; (Gordon, [0006], embodiments disclosed herein are directed to systems and methods for using blockchains to record, manage, and transfer ownership rights to land titles. [0042], prior to any buyer-seller interactions, at operation 510 an initial block or next sequential block may be created for a property and distributed to nodes 300. For example, a blockchain may be created for a newly constructed property that has no history. In this embodiment, creation of the blockchain may include creation of a genesis block including property attributes (e.g., year built, original sale price, square footage, address, etc.) and pointers to off-chain systems of nodes 300. Additionally, a unique hash value private key may be issued to the original owner of the property to establish ownership over the asset. [examiner notes: the unique hash value private key is equivalent to the virtual master key. Ownership is equivalent to title.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Partheesh by incorporating the teachings of Gordon. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to using the distributed consensus mechanism of blockchains to manage ownership and rights arising in systems that require legal identities—permissioned nodes, to validate transactions (Gordon, [0039]).
Partheesh does not teach wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition further comprises blocking at least one phone from making calls, accessing data, or recording data on the real property;
Hata however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property; (Hata, [0003], in a case where an administrator, for example, with a company and the like makes employees carry mobile terminal devices, the administrator may impose restrictions on any functions of a mobile terminal device other than an in-house call function such as electronic mail, thereby permitting the employees to make a phone call only within their company. In this manner, the administrator applies a restriction to a specific function, thereby allowing to make an attempt on enhancement of security. [0111] In step ST1, setting of the lock may be performed on the restriction of browsing the WEB site, the use restriction of electronic mail, the restriction of various kinds of functions of the mobile terminal device 10. [0113] After step ST1, an administrator may set a change condition of the lock to restrict browsing of the WEB site during business hours (Step ST2). If it is on business hours (Step ST3), browsing of the WEB site is restricted (Step ST4). [examiner notes: the administrator rents the building has right to impose restrictions on mobile terminal within their company.])
wherein the at least one prohibition further comprises blocking at least one phone from making calls, accessing data, or recording data on the real property; (Hata, [0003], in a case where an administrator, for example, with a company and the like makes employees carry mobile terminal devices, the administrator may impose restrictions on any functions of a mobile terminal device other than an in-house call function such as electronic mail, thereby permitting the employees to make a phone call only within their company. In this manner, the administrator applies a restriction to a specific function, thereby allowing to make an attempt on enhancement of security. [0111] In step ST1, setting of the lock may be performed on the restriction of browsing the WEB site, the use restriction of electronic mail, the restriction of various kinds of functions of the mobile terminal device 10. [0113] After step ST1, an administrator may set a change condition of the lock to restrict browsing of the WEB site during business hours (Step ST2). If it is on business hours (Step ST3), browsing of the WEB site is restricted (Step ST4).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Partheesh by incorporating the teachings of Hata. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to required to provide a mobile terminal device and a method of controlling the same that can easily carry out the setting of a function restriction or the releasing of the setting (Hata, [0039]).
Regarding claim(s) 8, a system for managing geofence permissions, comprising:
Partheesh teaches a server platform comprising a non-transitory computer readable medium providing storage in network communication with at least one processor-based device; (Partheesh, FIG.1 shows communication between personal computer 104, mobile device 102, geofence server 114 and web server 120. [0039], FIG. 6 is a high-level block diagram showing an example of the architecture for a computer system 1400 that can be utilized to implement a geofence server, a web server, a computing device, etc., for performing the various operations discussed in this application. In FIG. 6, the computer system 1400 includes one or more processors 1405 and memory 1410 connected via an interconnect 1425.)
wherein the server platform includes at least one virtual master key associated with at least one geofence, (Partheesh, [0021]- [0022], FIG.3; 3A, 4A-4C storing the determining geofence and IP address based on the wireless connection profile into geofence server 114. [examiner notes: IP address interprets to be virtual maser key.])
wherein the at least one virtual master key is an identifier of real property for a real estate title or a real estate permission; (Partheesh, [0020]- [0022], [0030], the user may specifically specify the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile in order to activate geofence services only when the mobile device is present within such wireless connection profiles. To avoid this inconvenience, the user may enable the geofence vibrate application where he may have set his geofence by either defining a wireless profile his phone connects to automatically when he enters work, or by defining a 1 mile radius around work as the geofence, etc. Accordingly, when the user enters the work based geofence, the geofence service triggers the user's mobile-device to automatically switch to the defined vibrate setting. When the user leaves the geofence location, the geofence service may cause the mobile device to automatically revert to the ring option. [examiner notes: the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile associate with the workplace interprets to be the virtual master key. Geofence services interpret real estate permission.])
wherein the server platform associates at least one geographic designator with at least one Internet Protocol (IP) address, wherein one or more of the at least one IP address is a unique identifier of the at least one geofence, wherein the at least one geofence defines the real property; (Partheesh, [0007], this application discloses a geofence service that enables various remote control and automated operations based a user's current geographic position as determined by the user's mobile device's current geographic location. The geofence service enables the user to define one or more geofences based on particular geographic locations. Such geofences may be used in conjunction with several mobile-based “geofence applications” for remote and automatic control of devices. In one example, the mobile device's volume or power-control settings (e.g., wireless radios, Bluetooth radios) are automatically adjusted based on the user's location inside or outside a geofence. In one example, the temperature setting of a building or house is selectively controlled based on the user's proximity to a geofence defined relative to the building or the house. [0021-0022], Fig.3; 3A, 4A-4C storing the determining geofence and IP address based on the wireless connection profile into geofence server 114 [examiner notes: particular address (or particular geographic point on a map) interprets to be a geographic designator. Device’s location interprets as a slave key.])
wherein the server platform is operable to facilitate a creation, transfer, or division of the real estate permissions; (Partheesh, [0020]- [0023], Fig. 2; the geofence server 114 offers a geofence service that enables a variety of capabilities to a mobile user. In one example, the user may selectively define a geographic boundary (i.e., geofence) within which certain functionalities (e.g., mobile device ring options, temperature control settings, etc.) are automatically enabled or disabled based on the mobile device's location inside or outside of the defined geofence. The user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map). [examiner notes: the variety of capabilities to the mobile user on the defined geofence are rights for devices on a geofence therefore interprets to be the real estate permissions. For example, since the language merely states “…real estate permissions …” the “real estate permissions” can be properly interpreted by the examiner as “real estate permissions/rights/restrictions/ prohibitions/authorizations” because they claims did not clearly define the scope of the “real estate permissions”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).])
wherein the server platform includes at least one prohibition for the real property; (Partheesh, [0020]- [0023], Fig. 2; the geofence server 114 offers a geofence service that enables a variety of capabilities to a mobile user. In one example, the user may selectively define a geographic boundary (i.e., geofence) within which certain functionalities (e.g., mobile device ring options, temperature control settings, etc.) are automatically enabled or disabled based on the mobile device's location inside or outside of the defined geofence. The user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map). [examiner notes: the variety of capabilities to the mobile user on the defined geofence are rights for devices on a geofence therefore interprets to be the real estate permissions. For example, since the language merely states “…prohibition for the real property …” the “prohibition for the real property” can be properly interpreted by the examiner as “permissions/rights/restrictions/ prohibitions/authorizations the real property” because they claims did not clearly define the scope of the “prohibition for the real property”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).])
wherein the at least one prohibition is implemented by the at least one slave key; (Partheesh, [0020], the geofence server 114 is a server or other computing system capable of hosting a service that is accessible by other computing systems (e.g., the personal computer 104) through the network 110. As will be explained in more detail below, the geofence server 114 offers a geofence service that enables a variety of capabilities to a mobile user. In one example, the user may selectively define a geographic boundary (i.e., geofence) within which certain functionalities (e.g., mobile device ring options, temperature control settings, etc.) are automatically enabled or disabled based on the mobile device's location inside or outside of the defined geofence [examiner notes: device’s location interprets as a slave key.])
wherein the server platform is operable to determine that the at least one processor-based device includes the at least one virtual slave key and is further operable to unlock the at least one virtual master key using the at least one virtual slave key; and (Partheesh, [0022], the user may define a geofence based on the mobile device's connection to a particular WiFi or Wireless LAN device. Here, a user may have configured his mobile device such that the device automatically connects to a particular WiFi or Wireless LAN connection when the device’s location is within range of a hub offering such a connection. The user may specifically specify the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile in order to activate geofence services only when the mobile device is present within such wireless connection profiles. [examiner notes: IP address interprets to be virtual maser key. Mobile device's location interprets to be virtual slave key.])
wherein the server platform is operable to provide at least one permission for the at least one processor-based device within the at least one geofence based on the unlocking of the at least one virtual master key. (Partheesh, [0022], the user may define a geofence based on the mobile device's connection to a particular WiFi or Wireless LAN device. Here, a user may have configured his mobile device such that the device automatically connects to a particular WiFi or Wireless LAN connection when the device’s location is within range of a hub offering such a connection. The user may specifically specify the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile in order to activate geofence services only when the mobile device is present within such wireless connection profiles. [examiner notes: IP address interprets to be virtual maser key. Mobile device's location interprets to be virtual slave key. Geofence services interpret to be permissions.])
Partheesh does not teach wherein the server platform is operable to retrieve all real estate permissions associated with the at least one virtual master key; wherein the at least one virtual master key is further associated with a chain of title for the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition further comprises blocking at least one phone from making calls, accessing data, or recording data on the real property;
Bisikalo however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the server platform is operable to retrieve all real estate permissions associated with the at least one virtual master key; (Bisikalo, [0033], [0045], using a P2PTG as a way to store the identities will enable broad access to authorized users and can be implemented in a publicly-available way. Each and every addition or deletion to the ledger of identities will be traceable and viewable within the P2PTG's Blockchain ledger. Through a hotel's use of P2PTG, a client may check in, get a room assignment and receive a virtual key to enter the assigned room. The virtual key may be sent to the client's P2PTG ledger, stored on his smartphone or other portable electronic device, and may be used to open the door when the phone is placed in proximity to the hotel room door lock, for example, where the smartphone or other device is Bluetooth or NFC-enabled and is in communication range of a corresponding reader in the room. [examiner notes: The virtual key is operable to retrieve the hotel permissions, for example, permission to unlock the door, checking, checkout, access devices in the hotel.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Partheesh by incorporating the teachings of Bisikalo. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to track usage of resources can be enabled through the P2PTG. (Bisikalo, [0039])
Partheesh does not teach wherein the at least one virtual master key is further associated with a chain of title for the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition further comprises blocking at least one phone from making calls, accessing data, or recording data on the real property;
Gordon however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the at least one virtual master key is further associated with a chain of title for the real property; (Gordon, [0006], embodiments disclosed herein are directed to systems and methods for using blockchains to record, manage, and transfer ownership rights to land titles. [0042], prior to any buyer-seller interactions, at operation 510 an initial block or next sequential block may be created for a property and distributed to nodes 300. For example, a blockchain may be created for a newly constructed property that has no history. In this embodiment, creation of the blockchain may include creation of a genesis block including property attributes (e.g., year built, original sale price, square footage, address, etc.) and pointers to off-chain systems of nodes 300. Additionally, a unique hash value private key may be issued to the original owner of the property to establish ownership over the asset. [examiner notes: the unique hash value private key is equivalent to the virtual master key.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Partheesh by incorporating the teachings of Gordon. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to using the distributed consensus mechanism of blockchains to manage ownership and rights arising in systems that require legal identities—permissioned nodes, to validate transactions (Gordon, [0039]).
Partheesh does not teach wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition further comprises blocking at least one phone from making calls, accessing data, or recording data on the real property;
Hata however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property; (Hata, [0003], in a case where an administrator, for example, with a company and the like makes employees carry mobile terminal devices, the administrator may impose restrictions on any functions of a mobile terminal device other than an in-house call function such as electronic mail, thereby permitting the employees to make a phone call only within their company. In this manner, the administrator applies a restriction to a specific function, thereby allowing to make an attempt on enhancement of security. [0111] In step ST1, setting of the lock may be performed on the restriction of browsing the WEB site, the use restriction of electronic mail, the restriction of various kinds of functions of the mobile terminal device 10. [0113] After step ST1, an administrator may set a change condition of the lock to restrict browsing of the WEB site during business hours (Step ST2). If it is on business hours (Step ST3), browsing of the WEB site is restricted (Step ST4). [examiner notes: the administrator rents the building has right to impose restrictions on mobile terminal within their company.])
wherein the at least one prohibition further comprises blocking at least one phone from making calls, accessing data, or recording data on the real property; (Hata, [0003], in a case where an administrator, for example, with a company and the like makes employees carry mobile terminal devices, the administrator may impose restrictions on any functions of a mobile terminal device other than an in-house call function such as electronic mail, thereby permitting the employees to make a phone call only within their company. In this manner, the administrator applies a restriction to a specific function, thereby allowing to make an attempt on enhancement of security. [0111] In step ST1, setting of the lock may be performed on the restriction of browsing the WEB site, the use restriction of electronic mail, the restriction of various kinds of functions of the mobile terminal device 10. [0113] After step ST1, an administrator may set a change condition of the lock to restrict browsing of the WEB site during business hours (Step ST2). If it is on business hours (Step ST3), browsing of the WEB site is restricted (Step ST4).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Partheesh by incorporating the teachings of Hata. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to required to provide a mobile terminal device and a method of controlling the same that can easily carry out the setting of a function restriction or the releasing of the setting (Hata, [0039]).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Partheesh teaches a method for managing geofence permissions, comprising: providing a server platform in network communication with at least one processor-based device; (Partheesh, FIG.1 shows communication between personal computer 104, mobile device 102, geofence server 114 and web server 120. [0039], FIG. 6 is a high-level block diagram showing an example of the architecture for a computer system 1400 that can be utilized to implement a geofence server, a web server, a computing device, etc., for performing the various operations discussed in this application. In FIG. 6, the computer system 1400 includes one or more processors 1405 and memory 1410 connected via an interconnect 1425.)
at least one slave key unlocking at least one master key associated with at least one geofence; (Partheesh, [0022], the user may define a geofence based on the mobile device's connection to a particular WiFi or Wireless LAN device. Here, a user may have configured his mobile device such that the device automatically connects to a particular WiFi or Wireless LAN connection when the device’s location is within range of a hub offering such a connection. The user may specifically specify the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile in order to activate geofence services only when the mobile device is present within such wireless connection profiles. [examiner notes: IP address interprets to be virtual maser key. Mobile device's location interprets to be virtual slave key.])
wherein the server platform associates at least one geographic designator with at least one Internet Protocol (IP) address, wherein one or more of the at least one IP address is a unique identifier of the at least one geofence, wherein the at least one geofence defines the real property; (Partheesh, [0007], this application discloses a geofence service that enables various remote control and automated operations based a user's current geographic position as determined by the user's mobile device's current geographic location. The geofence service enables the user to define one or more geofences based on particular geographic locations. Such geofences may be used in conjunction with several mobile-based “geofence applications” for remote and automatic control of devices. In one example, the mobile device's volume or power-control settings (e.g., wireless radios, Bluetooth radios) are automatically adjusted based on the user's location inside or outside a geofence. In one example, the temperature setting of a building or house is selectively controlled based on the user's proximity to a geofence defined relative to the building or the house. [0021-0022], Fig.3; 3A, 4A-4C storing the determining geofence and IP address based on the wireless connection profile into geofence server 114 [examiner notes: particular address (or particular geographic point on a map) interprets to be a geographic designator. Device’s location interprets as a slave key.])
wherein the at least one virtual master key is an identifier of real property for a real estate title or a real estate permission; (Partheesh, [0020]- [0022], [0030], the user may specifically specify the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile in order to activate geofence services only when the mobile device is present within such wireless connection profiles. To avoid this inconvenience, the user may enable the geofence vibrate application where he may have set his geofence by either defining a wireless profile his phone connects to automatically when he enters work, or by defining a 1 mile radius around work as the geofence, etc. Accordingly, when the user enters the work based geofence, the geofence service triggers the user's mobile-device to automatically switch to the defined vibrate setting. When the user leaves the geofence location, the geofence service may cause the mobile device to automatically revert to the ring option. [examiner notes: the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile associate with the workplace interprets to be the virtual master key. Geofence services interpret real estate permission.])
wherein the server platform is operable to facilitate a creation, transfer, or division of the real estate permissions; (Partheesh, [0020]- [0023], Fig. 2; the geofence server 114 offers a geofence service that enables a variety of capabilities to a mobile user. In one example, the user may selectively define a geographic boundary (i.e., geofence) within which certain functionalities (e.g., mobile device ring options, temperature control settings, etc.) are automatically enabled or disabled based on the mobile device's location inside or outside of the defined geofence. The user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map). [examiner notes: the variety of capabilities to the mobile user on the defined geofence are rights for devices on a geofence therefore interprets to be the real estate permissions. For example, since the language merely states “…real estate permissions …” the “real estate permissions” can be properly interpreted by the examiner as “real estate permissions/rights/restrictions/ prohibitions/authorizations” because they claims did not clearly define the scope of the “real estate permissions”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).])
wherein the server platform includes at least one prohibition for the real property; (Partheesh, [0020]- [0023], Fig. 2; the geofence server 114 offers a geofence service that enables a variety of capabilities to a mobile user. In one example, the user may selectively define a geographic boundary (i.e., geofence) within which certain functionalities (e.g., mobile device ring options, temperature control settings, etc.) are automatically enabled or disabled based on the mobile device's location inside or outside of the defined geofence. The user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map). [examiner notes: the variety of capabilities to the mobile user on the defined geofence are rights for devices on a geofence therefore interprets to be the real estate permissions. For example, since the language merely states “…prohibition for the real property …” the “prohibition for the real property” can be properly interpreted by the examiner as “permissions/rights/restrictions/ prohibitions/authorizations the real property” because they claims did not clearly define the scope of the “prohibition for the real property”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).])
wherein the at least one prohibition is implemented by the at least one slave key; (Partheesh, [0020], the geofence server 114 is a server or other computing system capable of hosting a service that is accessible by other computing systems (e.g., the personal computer 104) through the network 110. As will be explained in more detail below, the geofence server 114 offers a geofence service that enables a variety of capabilities to a mobile user. In one example, the user may selectively define a geographic boundary (i.e., geofence) within which certain functionalities (e.g., mobile device ring options, temperature control settings, etc.) are automatically enabled or disabled based on the mobile device's location inside or outside of the defined geofence [examiner notes: device’s location interprets as a slave key.])
wherein unlocking the at least one master key implements at least one permission for the at least one processor-based device. (Partheesh, [0022], the user may define a geofence based on the mobile device's connection to a particular WiFi or Wireless LAN device. Here, a user may have configured his mobile device such that the device automatically connects to a particular WiFi or Wireless LAN connection when the device’s location is within range of a hub offering such a connection. The user may specifically specify the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile in order to activate geofence services only when the mobile device is present within such wireless connection profiles. [examiner notes: IP address interprets to be virtual maser key. Mobile device's location interprets to be virtual slave key. Geofence services interpret to be permissions.])
Partheesh does not teach wherein the server platform is operable to retrieve all real estate permissions associated with the at least one virtual master key; wherein the at least one virtual master key is further associated with a chain of title for the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition further comprises blocking at least one phone from making calls, accessing data, or recording data on the real property;
Bisikalo however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the server platform is operable to retrieve all real estate permissions associated with the at least one virtual master key; (Bisikalo, [0033], [0045], using a P2PTG as a way to store the identities will enable broad access to authorized users and can be implemented in a publicly-available way. Each and every addition or deletion to the ledger of identities will be traceable and viewable within the P2PTG's Blockchain ledger. Through a hotel's use of P2PTG, a client may check in, get a room assignment and receive a virtual key to enter the assigned room. The virtual key may be sent to the client's P2PTG ledger, stored on his smartphone or other portable electronic device, and may be used to open the door when the phone is placed in proximity to the hotel room door lock, for example, where the smartphone or other device is Bluetooth or NFC-enabled and is in communication range of a corresponding reader in the room. [examiner notes: The virtual key is operable to retrieve the hotel permissions, for example, permission to unlock the door, checking, checkout, access devices in the hotel.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Partheesh by incorporating the teachings of Bisikalo. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to track usage of resources can be enabled through the P2PTG. (Bisikalo, [0039])
Partheesh does not teach wherein the at least one virtual master key is further associated with a chain of title for the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition further comprises blocking at least one phone from making calls, accessing data, or recording data on the real property;
Gordon however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the at least one virtual master key is further associated with a chain of title for the real property; (Gordon, [0006], embodiments disclosed herein are directed to systems and methods for using blockchains to record, manage, and transfer ownership rights to land titles. [0042], prior to any buyer-seller interactions, at operation 510 an initial block or next sequential block may be created for a property and distributed to nodes 300. For example, a blockchain may be created for a newly constructed property that has no history. In this embodiment, creation of the blockchain may include creation of a genesis block including property attributes (e.g., year built, original sale price, square footage, address, etc.) and pointers to off-chain systems of nodes 300. Additionally, a unique hash value private key may be issued to the original owner of the property to establish ownership over the asset. [examiner notes: the unique hash value private key is equivalent to the virtual master key.])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Partheesh by incorporating the teachings of Gordon. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to using the distributed consensus mechanism of blockchains to manage ownership and rights arising in systems that require legal identities—permissioned nodes, to validate transactions (Gordon, [0039]).
Partheesh does not teach wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property; wherein the at least one prohibition further comprises blocking at least one phone from making calls, accessing data, or recording data on the real property;
Hata however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the at least one prohibition comprises an ownership, rental, or lease right to prevent activity on the real property; (Hata, [0003], in a case where an administrator, for example, with a company and the like makes employees carry mobile terminal devices, the administrator may impose restrictions on any functions of a mobile terminal device other than an in-house call function such as electronic mail, thereby permitting the employees to make a phone call only within their company. In this manner, the administrator applies a restriction to a specific function, thereby allowing to make an attempt on enhancement of security. [0111] In step ST1, setting of the lock may be performed on the restriction of browsing the WEB site, the use restriction of electronic mail, the restriction of various kinds of functions of the mobile terminal device 10. [0113] After step ST1, an administrator may set a change condition of the lock to restrict browsing of the WEB site during business hours (Step ST2). If it is on business hours (Step ST3), browsing of the WEB site is restricted (Step ST4). [examiner notes: the administrator rents the building has right to impose restrictions on mobile terminal within their company.])
wherein the at least one prohibition further comprises blocking at least one phone from making calls, accessing data, or recording data on the real property; (Hata, [0003], in a case where an administrator, for example, with a company and the like makes employees carry mobile terminal devices, the administrator may impose restrictions on any functions of a mobile terminal device other than an in-house call function such as electronic mail, thereby permitting the employees to make a phone call only within their company. In this manner, the administrator applies a restriction to a specific function, thereby allowing to make an attempt on enhancement of security. [0111] In step ST1, setting of the lock may be performed on the restriction of browsing the WEB site, the use restriction of electronic mail, the restriction of various kinds of functions of the mobile terminal device 10. [0113] After step ST1, an administrator may set a change condition of the lock to restrict browsing of the WEB site during business hours (Step ST2). If it is on business hours (Step ST3), browsing of the WEB site is restricted (Step ST4).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Partheesh by incorporating the teachings of Hata. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to require to provide a mobile terminal device and a method of controlling the same that can easily carry out the setting of a function restriction or the releasing of the setting (Hata, [0039]).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2, the system of claim 1,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata teach wherein the at least one geographic designator includes a latitudinal point and a longitudinal point, a set of latitudinal points and longitudinal points, a region of interest (ROI), a county, a municipality, or a neighborhood. (Partheesh, [0020-0023], the user may define the geofence to be a geographic boundary defined by a zip code or a particular city (e.g., 95630 or Folsom, Calif.). Here, the geofence application (e.g., an automated phone-ringer controller) would perform different operations based on the mobile device's presence within or outside of the geofence (i.e., within or outside of Folsom, Calif.). wherein the IP address assigned to each of the at least one geographic designators is a unique identifier of the geofence (the user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map). For example, the user may enter an address and specify that the geofence is a 2 mile radius around that particular address. The user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map).)
Regarding claim(s) 3, the system of claim 1,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata teach wherein the at least one virtual slave key is unique to the at least one permission. (Partheesh, [0024], this particular geofence is normally a fence defined by the user using one of the above examples. However, if an “auto geofence profile” is activated, the geofence service would automatically apply it's own predefined geofences. For example, the geofence service may define a geofence surrounding cinemas, where the user's mobile device automatically goes to vibrate when the user enters that location.)
Regarding claim(s) 6, the system of claim 1,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata teach wherein the at least one virtual slave key is placed on the at least one processor-based device when the at least one processor-based device is located on or within a predetermined proximity of the at least one geofence. (Partheesh, [0039], Fig. 6 is a high-level block diagram showing an example of the architecture for a computer system 1400 that can be utilized to implement a geofence server, a web server, a computing device, etc., for performing the various operations discussed in this application. In FIG. 6, the computer system 1400 includes one or more processors 1405 and memory 1410 connected via an interconnect 1425. [0003], such smart phones typically include geo-positioning capabilities (e.g., GPS locators, etc.), allowing the mobile device to be cognizant of its present geographic location.)
Regarding claim(s) 10, system of claim 8,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata teach wherein the at least one geofence is associated with at least one geographic designator, wherein the at least one geographic designator includes a latitudinal point and a longitudinal point, a set of latitudinal points and longitudinal points, a region of interest (ROI), a county, a municipality, or a neighborhood. (Partheesh, [0020-0023], wherein the IP address assigned to each of the at least one geographic designators is a unique identifier of the geofence (the user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map). For example, the user may enter an address and specify that the geofence is a 2 mile radius around that particular address. The user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map). For example, the user may enter an address and specify that the geofence is a 2 mile radius around that particular address. Here, the geofence server 114 would translate the defined map (i.e., the map drawn by the user) and translate it to geographic coordinates (latitude, longitude and elevation) for use by the geofence service to determine the presence of the user within a given geofence.)
Regarding claim(s) 11, the system of claim 8,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata teach wherein the at least one virtual master key is associated with an Internet Protocol (IP) address, wherein the IP address is associated with at least one geofence. (Partheesh, [0020]- [0022], Fig.1; the geofence server 114 is a server or other computing system capable of hosting a service that is accessible by other computing systems (e.g., the personal computer 104) through the network 110. The geofence server 114 offers a geofence service that enables a variety of capabilities to a mobile user. The user may specifically specify the name of the wireless connection profile (e.g., the SSID) or a particular IP address or any other indicator associated with a particular connection profile in order to activate geofence services only when the mobile device is present within such wireless connection profiles. To sum up, in a first example, the geofence services may be activated when the mobile device is present within the purview of (or connected to) any wireless network (as opposed to a cellular data network). [examiner notes: IP address or SSID interprets to be virtual maser key.])
Regarding claim(s) 12, the system of claim 8,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata teach wherein the at least one virtual slave key is placed on the at least one processor-based device when the at least one processor-based device is located on or within a predetermined proximity of the at least one geofence. (Partheesh, [0039], Fig. 6 is a high-level block diagram showing an example of the architecture for a computer system 1400 that can be utilized to implement a geofence server, a web server, a computing device, etc., for performing the various operations discussed in this application. In FIG. 6, the computer system 1400 includes one or more processors 1405 and memory 1410 connected via an interconnect 1425. [0003], such smart phones typically include geo-positioning capabilities (e.g., GPS locators, etc.), allowing the mobile device to be cognizant of its present geographic location.)
Regarding claim(s) 15, the method of claim 14,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata teach wherein the at least one geofence is associated with at least one piece of real estate. (Partheesh, [0020-0021], Fig. 2; wherein the IP address assigned to each of the at least one geographic designators is a unique identifier of the geofence (the user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map).
Regarding claim(s) 16, Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata teach the method of claim 14, wherein the at least one geofence defines at least one piece of real estate. (Partheesh, [0020-0021], Fig. 2; wherein the IP address assigned to each of the at least one geographic designators is a unique identifier of the geofence (the user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map).
Regarding claim(s) 17, the method of claim 14,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata teach wherein the at least one geofence is associated with at least one geographic designator, wherein the at least one geographic designator includes a latitudinal point and a longitudinal point, a set of latitudinal points and longitudinal points, a region of interest (ROI), a county, a municipality, or a neighborhood. (Partheesh, [0020-0023], the user may define the geofence to be a geographic boundary defined by a zip code or a particular city (e.g., 95630 or Folsom, Calif.). Here, the geofence application (e.g., an automated phone-ringer controller) would perform different operations based on the mobile device's presence within or outside of the geofence (i.e., within or outside of Folsom, Calif.). wherein the IP address assigned to each of the at least one geographic designators is a unique identifier of the geofence (the user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map). For example, the user may enter an address and specify that the geofence is a 2 mile radius around that particular address. The user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map).)
Regarding claim(s) 19, the method of claim 14,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata teach further comprising placing the at least one virtual slave key on the at least one processor-based device when the at least one processor-based device is located on or within a predetermined proximity of the at least one geofence. (Partheesh, [0039], Fig6 is a high-level block diagram showing an example of the architecture for a computer system 1400 that can be utilized to implement a geofence server, a web server, a computing device, etc., for performing the various operations discussed in this application. In FIG. 6, the computer system 1400 includes one or more processors 1405 and memory 1410 connected via an interconnect 1425. [0003], such smart phones typically include geo-positioning capabilities (e.g., GPS locators, etc.), allowing the mobile device to be cognizant of its present geographic location.)
Regarding claim(s) 20, the method of claim 14,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata teach further comprising the server platform obtaining boundaries of a piece of real estate and creating or modifying boundaries of the at least one geofence based on the boundaries of the piece of real estate. (Partheesh, [0023], the user may specify a particular address and define a geofence in relation to the particular address (or particular geographic point on a map). For example, the user may enter an address and specify that the geofence is a 2 mile radius around that particular address.)
Regarding claim(s) 22, the system of claim 1,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata teach wherein the at least one IP address corresponds to a point on a boundary of the at least one geofence. (Partheesh, [0025], FIG. 3A illustrates an example of a user interface that allows the user to define various geofence parameters. Here, in some cases, the user may utilize more than one parameter for defining a single geofence and save the definition as a particular geofence in association with the user's profile. In some instances, the user may apply these parameters dynamically when a geofence needs to be established. In the example shown in FIG. 3A, the user defined a specific wireless network profile (or an IP address associated with a wireless profile) as the sole parameter for creating a first geofence (geofence setting 1).)
2. Claim(s) 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partheesh in view of Bisikalo in view of Gordon in view of Hata further in view of Kocher (US 20150178478 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 9, the system of claim 8,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon do not teach wherein the at least one virtual slave key is operable to be duplicated.
Kocher however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the at least one virtual slave key is operable to be duplicated. (Kocher, [0086], Fig. 6 illustrates example key management commands 600 for protecting authorization keys in a media security controller, according to various implementations. Such keys can be used to secure the removal and transfer of authorizations, e.g. if an authorization is to be transferred from one media device to another, the process can consist of: (1) disabling the authorization key on the source device, (2) confirming to an authorization server that the key is disabled, (3) the authorization server issuing a new authorization file and new authorization key for the destination media device.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Partheesh by incorporating the teachings of Kocher. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to protecting media items and, more particularly, to a technique of protecting media items using a media security controller (MSC) (Kocher, [0002]).
Regarding claim(s) 13, the system of claim 8,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata-Kocher teach wherein the at least one virtual slave key is operable to be transferred to another processor-based device. (Kocher, [0086], Fig. 6 illustrates example key management commands 600 for protecting authorization keys in a media security controller, according to various implementations. Such keys can be used to secure the removal and transfer of authorizations, e.g. if an authorization is to be transferred from one media device to another, the process can consist of: (1) disabling the authorization key on the source device, (2) confirming to an authorization server that the key is disabled, (3) the authorization server issuing a new authorization file and new authorization key for the destination media device.)
The same motivation to combine as the dependent claim 9 applies here.
3. Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partheesh in view of Bisikalo in view of Gordon in view of Hata further in view of Farrell (US 20150365787 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 18, the method of claim 14,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata do not teach wherein the at least one permission includes permission to access location-based content.
Farrell however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the at least one permission includes permission to access location-based content. (Farrell, [0112], in step 1125, the computing device may determine whether content access permissions have changed for any of the users at the location or any other users, such as other users in the leaving user's group that are not currently at the location. This step may be similar to step 1045 previously discussed. If content access permissions have changed, the computing device may determine the leaving user's content access permissions in step 1130 and determine the other users' (e.g., users in the user's group) content access permissions in step 1135.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Partheesh by incorporating the teachings of Farrell. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to permitting the user of the device to access the group of content items based on the location (Farrell, [0011]).
4. Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partheesh in view of Bisikalo in view of Gordon in view of Hata further in view of Preston (US 20010015965 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 21, system of claim 1,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata do not teach wherein the at least one IP address is an IPv6 address.
Preston however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the at least one IP address is an IPv6 address. (Preston; [0060], the address requirements from 76 are Ipv6, build an Ipv6 address of 8, 16 bit fields (binary) that include the MIN. The first 3 binary characters of field one will be 000 the remaining 13 will be an encryption key followed by the 7 remaining fields which include encrypted lat, long, time, mobile ID. If the request is for a v4 address, then retrieve from block 80 the Ipv4 as represented in four, 8 bit binary fields. In both cases (Ipv4, 6) make hex and decimal representation of the binary fields.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Partheesh by incorporating the teachings of Preston. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to conversion of latitude and longitude to an addressing scheme that supports current TCP/IP (v4) and future addressing (v6/ng) requirements.
5. Claim(s) 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Partheesh in view of Bisikalo in view of Gordon in view of Hata further in view of Baca (US 20170118590 A1). Regarding claim(s) 23, system of claim 1,
Partheesh-Bisikalo-Gordon-Hata do not teach wherein the at least one geofence includes a three-dimensional
Baca however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the at least one geofence includes a three-dimensional geofence. (Baca, [0049], the mobile geo-fence is a polygonal shape, a circular shape, or a three-dimensional shape. The mobile geo-fence may be any shape definable using one or more geolocations. For example, to define a polygonal shape, a set of geolocations may be used to identify the vertices of the polygon in two-dimensional space. Alternative, vectors (e.g., direction and distance) may be used to define the vertices. Combinations of geolocations and vectors may be used as well. Defining a circular shaped geo-fence may be performed using a single geolocation and a distance as the radius. A three-dimensional spherical geo-fence may be defined similarly. The second geo-fence may be of similar shapes and also be defined in a similar manner.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Partheesh by incorporating the teachings of Baca. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to provide a secure data between in a geo-fence area (Baca, [0002]- [003]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUJI CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449
/VIVEK SRIVASTAVA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2449