DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are still pending
Claims 1-6, 9, 13, 14, 16-19 have been amended
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 12-20, filed 4/29/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly found prior art.
Applicant's arguments filed 4/29/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under U.S.C. 101, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the applicant argues that the claimed invention is not a mental process (Remarks, page 7-8). However, according to MPEP 2106.04(a)(2), determining whether a remote memory is unavailable, calculating or obtaining a performance coefficient of a tire to further determines a tire performance characteristic based on the values and the performance coefficient are interpreted under the mental processes of the abstract idea groupings. The determination steps are viewed as mental processes because they include observations, evaluations, judgments, and opinions (2106.04(a)(2) Abstract Idea Groupings - III Mental processes). Applicant further argues the claim is directed to a practical application that integrates the additional elements of the tire monitoring device with local memory and a logical model for information stored in the local memory (Remarks page 8-11). However, MPEP 2106.05(a), clarifies what is considered an improvement to computer functionality; mere automation of manual processes (in this case, process that are mental or can be done with pen and paper) and the gathering and analyzing information using conventional techniques are not enough to be considered an improvement to computer functionality. Merely adding generic computer components to perform the method is not enough. Accordingly, applicant’s arguments regarding the claims not directed to an abstract idea and improving the computer functionality of the remote device are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites
A method of determining a tire performance characteristic of a tire on a vehicle, the method comprising a remote device that automatically:
determines that a remote memory, is unavailable, wherein the remote memory stores a performance coefficient of the tire representing values of a tire parameter of the tire sensed by a tire monitoring device at various times during a first time period and the remote memory is remote from the vehicle and from the remote device; and
where the remote memory is unavailable, the remote device further automatically:
either calculates the performance coefficient or, obtains the performance coefficient from a local memory of the tire monitoring device;
obtains from the tire monitoring device, a plurality of values indicative of the tire parameter of the tire at various times during a second time period wherein the second time period is after the first time period; and
determines based on the plurality of values obtained during the second time period and the performance coefficient, the tire performance characteristic.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a method; therefore, it is a process
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitation of determining that a remote memory, is unavailable. This limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind; for example, determining that a remote memory, is unavailable can be done by a human or pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitation of calculating the performance coefficient or, obtaining, the performance coefficient. These limitations, as drafted, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind; for example, calculating a performance coefficient or, obtaining a performance coefficient can be done by a human or pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitation of obtaining, a plurality of values indicative of a tire parameter of the tire during a second time period. This limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind; for example, obtaining, a plurality of values indicative of a tire parameter can be done by a human or with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitation of determining, based on the plurality of values and the performance coefficient, the tire performance characteristic. This limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind; for example, determining, based on the plurality of values and the performance coefficient, the tire performance characteristic can be done by a human with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitation of determining that a remote memory, remote from a tire monitoring device associated with the tire, is unavailable. This limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind; for example, determining that a remote memory is unavailable can be done by a human with pen and paper.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No.
the following additional elements merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the abstract idea, or merely includes instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea:
tire monitoring device; a remote device that automatically; wherein the remote memory stores a performance coefficient of the tire representing values of a tire parameter of the tire sensed by a tire monitoring device at various times during a first time period and the remote memory is remote from the vehicle and from the remote device; a remote memory; a local memory
The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of determining a tire performance characteristic in a computer environment. The claimed computer components are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform calculations of performance coefficients and determinations of a tire performance characteristic. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. As noted previously, the claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of determining a tire performance characteristic in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 2 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 2 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the remote device is configured to communicate with the tire monitoring device over a range of no more than 100 meters, and the method further comprises positioning the remote device within 100 meters of the tire monitoring device to obtain from the tire monitoring device the plurality of values indicative of the tire parameter.”, which is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 2 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because this limitation(s) is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 3 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 3 is further recites the element(s) “… the performance coefficient is calculated by at-the remote device the plurality of values of the tire parameter obtained at the various times during the first time period.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 3 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 4 depends on claim 3, which depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 4 is further recites the element(s) “… comprising obtaining the further plurality of values of the tire parameter during the first time period using the tire monitoring device, storing the plurality of values of the tire parameter during the first time period in the local memory, and obtaining, using the remote device, the plurality of values of the tire parameter during the first time period from the local memory.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 4 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 5 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 5 is further recites the element(s) “… further comprising: obtaining and storing the plurality of values of the tire parameter during the first time period in the local memory using the tire monitoring device, obtaining, using the remote device, the plurality of values of the tire parameter during the first time period from the local memory to determine the tire performance characteristic, and deleting from the local memory the plurality of values of the tire parameter during the first time period after the plurality of values of the tire parameter during the first time period are obtained using the remote device.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 5 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 6 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 6 is further recites the element(s) “… further comprising calculating the performance coefficient at the remote device, and storing the calculated performance coefficient in the local memory.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 6 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 7 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 7 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the first time period is at least 25 days.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 7 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 8 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 8 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the second time period is no more than 10 days.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 8 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 9 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 9 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the method further comprises the remote device automatically: determining, based on the determined tire performance characteristic, an updated performance coefficient; and storing the updated performance coefficient in the local memory.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 9 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 10 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 10 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the method comprises providing a notification to a user based on the tire performance characteristic.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 10 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 11 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 11 is further recites the element(s) “… further comprising determining, based on the tire performance characteristic, a maintenance action to be performed on the tire.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 11 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 12 depends on claim 11, which depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 12 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the method comprises causing, based on the tire performance characteristic, the maintenance action to be performed on the tire.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 12 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 13 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 13 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the tire parameter comprises one or more of a tire pressure or a tire temperature.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 13 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 14 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 14 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the tire performance characteristic comprises one or more of a rate of deflation of the tire, a predicted future inflation point of the tire, a pressure leakage rate of the tire, or a predicted time for the tire to cool to a predefined temperature.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 14 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 15 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 15 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the tire comprises an aircraft tire.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 15 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 16 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 16 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein, where the remote memory is available, the method further comprises determining the tire performance characteristic using a processing system remote from the remote device and the tire monitoring device, and based on performance coefficient stored in the remote memory and the plurality of values.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 16 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 17 depends on claim 1, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 17 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the determining that the remote memory is unavailable comprises one or more of determining that a network connection to the remote memory is unavailable, or determining that an operator of a vehicle to which the tire belongs does not have permission to access the remote memory.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 17 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites
A tire performance monitoring system comprising:
a tire monitoring device configured to obtain a first plurality of values indicative of a tire parameter of a tire on a vehicle sensed at various times during a first time period and obtain a second plurality of values indicative of the tire parameter sensed at various times during a second time period after the first time period, wherein the tire monitoring device includes a local memory configured to store a performance coefficient representative of the values of the tire parameter obtained during the first time period;
a remote memory configured to store the performance coefficient, wherein the remote memory is remote from the vehicle; and
a remote device, remote from the vehicle and the remote memory, wherein the remote device is configured to automatically:
determine that the remote memory is unavailable, and where the remote memory is unavailable:
perform either of calculating the performance coefficient at the remote device, or obtaining the performance coefficient from the local memory of the tire monitoring device;
obtain, from the tire monitoring device, the second plurality of values; and
determine, based on the second plurality of values and the performance coefficient, the performance characteristic.
Step
Analysis
1: Statutory Category?
Yes. The claim recites a system; therefore, it is a machine.
2A - Prong 1: Judicial Exception Recited?
Yes. The claim recites the limitation of determine that a remote memory, is unavailable. This limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind; for example, determining that a remote memory, is unavailable can be done by a human or pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitation of calculating the performance coefficient, and obtaining, the performance coefficient. This limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind; for example, calculating a performance coefficient, and obtaining a performance coefficient can be done by a human or pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitation of obtain a first plurality of values indicative of a tire parameter of a tire on a vehicle sensed at various times during a first time period and obtain a second plurality of values indicative of the tire parameter sensed at various times during a second time period after the first time period. This limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind; for example, obtaining, a plurality of values indicative of a tire parameter can be done by a human or with pen and paper.
The claim recites the limitation of determining, based on the second plurality of values and the performance coefficient, the performance characteristic. This limitation, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind; for example, determining, based on the plurality of values and the performance coefficient, the tire performance characteristic can be done by a human or with pen and paper.
2A - Prong 2: Integrated into a Practical Application?
No.
the following additional elements merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the abstract idea, or merely includes instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform the abstract idea:
the remote memory configured to store a performance coefficient, wherein the remote memory is remote from the vehicle; a remote device, remote from vehicle and the remote memory, wherein the remote device is configure to automatically; a local memory; the tire monitoring device includes a local memory configured to store a performance coefficient representative of the values of the tire parameter obtained during the first time period; a tire monitoring device configured to
The claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of determining a tire performance characteristic in a computer environment. The claimed computer components are recited at a high level of generality and are merely invoked as tools to perform calculations of performance coefficients and determinations of a tire performance characteristic. Simply implementing the abstract idea on a generic computer is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Looking at the limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually.
2B: Claim provides an Inventive Concept?
No. As noted previously, the claim as a whole merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of determining a tire performance characteristic in a computer environment. Thus, even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claim is ineligible.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 19 depends on claim 18, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 19 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the remote device is configured to communicate with the tire monitoring device over a range of no more than 100m and the remote device is located within 100m of the tire monitoring device.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 19 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 20 depends on claim 18, therefore, it has the abstract idea and also has the routine and conventional structure above said claims.
In addition, claim 20 is further recites the element(s) “… wherein the tire monitoring device is configured to store the second plurality of values in the local memory, and the remote device is configured to obtain the second plurality of values from the local memory to determine the tire performance characteristic.”, which are/is simply more calculations/mental-steps, value numbers, extra solution activities routine and/or conventional structure(s) previously known to the pertinent industry.
Furthermore, Claim 20 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these/this limitation(s) are/is simply routine and conventional structures previously known to the pertinent industry that serve to generate the data to be processed by implementing the idea on a computer, and/or recitation of generic computer structure and also serve to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood routine, and conventional activities previously known to the pertinent industry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BILL; Andrew Raymond (US publication #US 20210101423 A1; Bill; previously cited) in view of Shaw; Mark Layne (US Publication #US 20060082451 A1; hereinafter Shaw; previously cited) further in view of Cibaud; David et al. (US Publication #20170359194 A1; hereinafter Cibaud; newly cited; provided by the applicant).
Regarding claim 1, Bill teaches,
A method of determining a tire performance characteristic of a tire on a vehicle (abstract), the method comprising:
determines that a remote memory (fig.3 #140 par. 14 “The separate electronic device may be provided external to the aircraft. The separate electronic device may be a reader device. The communication between the pressure sensor device and the separate electronic device may be wireless communication, preferably secure wireless communication, for example utilizing encryption of some form. The memory unit may include security key data facilitating such secure communication. The separate electronic device may be a portable device, possibly a hand-held device.” Teaches a remote memory; par. 37 “There may be a step of uploading data from the separate electronic device, which will typically be a portable device, to a further computer, for example a central server, so that data can be collated. Such collated data may then be used for fleet-wide analytics or archived.”), is unavailable (par.56 “Data is wirelessly downloaded from the sensor by means of a handheld device 140 (i.e. not on the aircraft) when the aircraft is on the ground.”, data, which come from the memory, is available only when aircraft is on the ground, thus it implies it is unavailable to the handheld device when in flight), wherein the remote memory stores a performance coefficient of the tire representing values of a tire parameter (par.24 disclose tire parameters as tire pressure sensor data thus making them performance coefficients of the tire) of the tire sensed by a tire monitoring device at various times during a first time period (par.32 “The method may be performed over a period of time of one or more days. Data may be recorded on a rolling basis, such that data older than a certain time are overwritten with new data. There may for example be at least 72 hours of rolling data, and preferably at least 120 hours. It may during performance of the method there are a set number of data sets stored in memory, the set number being greater than 25 (optionally greater than 50) but fewer than 1,000, and possibly fewer than 250. It may be that as a new set of data is stored, the oldest set of data is deleted (effectively overwritten).”) and the remote memory is remote from the vehicle and from the remote device; and
where the remote memory is unavailable,:
either calculates the performance coefficient or, obtains the performance coefficient from a local memory (par.24 “a memory unit local to the tire for storing data”) of the tire monitoring device (par.28 “There may be a step of a control unit causing first measurements to be taken of the tire pressure and, optionally, of an associated temperature. There may be a step of the control unit recording in a memory unit first data including an indication of the time at which the first measurements are taken, an indication of the tire pressure and, optionally, an indication of the temperature as so measured by the first measurements.” The performance coefficient must make up the data acquired);
obtains from the tire monitoring device, a plurality of values indicative of the tire parameter of the tire at various times (fig.5 discloses various time periods) during a second time period (fig.3 smart sensor 122 includes pressure sensor 124, temperature sensor 126, and accelerometer 132; par. 11-12 teaches pressure/temperature readings performed for tire; par.24 teaches device includes controller (e.g., CPU 128 in FIG. 3) that records multiple sensor readings over time; par.28 “There may be a step of the control unit causing second measurements to be taken of the tire pressure” implicitly teaches a second period with second measurements); and
determines based on the plurality of values obtained during the second time period and the performance coefficient, the tire performance characteristic (par.36 “The method may include a step of deciding whether or not to replace the tire, the decision depending on data received by a separate electronic device, for example the above-mentioned portable reader device. The decision may be taken by the separate electronic device and be provided as an output, for example via a visual display unit of the separate electronic device. The decision may be taken taking into account one or more historical measurements, in addition to a more recent measurement (for example the last measurement taken before making the decision). The separate electronic device may for example detect that the tire pressure in the tire had reduced more rapidly than would be expected of a tire in good health. The method may include a step of replacing the tire, if so directed by the separate electronic device.” Determining whether to change a tire is based on the tire performance characteristic which is calculated from the plurality of values and the performance coefficient that make up the data).
Bill doesn’t explicitly teach obtains the performance coefficient from a local memory, but does teach the capability to store and retrieve the performance coefficient from a local memory (par.24 “a memory unit local to the tire for storing data”).
Bill fails to teach a remote device that automatically: the remote device further automatically, wherein the second time period is after the first time period.
Shaw does fully teach obtains the performance coefficient from a local memory (par.11 teaches various types of data collected relating to the performance coefficient, which is stored withing wheel module 11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bill to include the teachings of Shaw; which would provide a method for thermodynamic motion detection of a pneumatic tire without using an internal electromechanical switch or signaling from an external device, with the method of motion detection permitting system to detect under-inflated tires in a timely manner as disclosed by Shaw(par.33).
Bill in view of Shaw fails to teach a remote device that automatically:, wherein the second time period is after the first time period.
Cibaud does teach a remote device that automatically (par.12 teaches device that operates automatically through its autonomy): the remote device further automatically (par.12 teaches device that operates automatically through its autonomy), wherein the second time period is after the first time period (par.16 teaches data measurements over a period of 24 hrs., thus the next/second period of 24 hrs. starts as soon as the first one finishes).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bill in view of Shaw to include the teachings of Cibaud; which would provide a solution that is less intensive in terms of network capacity or memory capacity for the collection and the monitoring, by a server, of data transmitted continuously by a sensor as disclosed by Cibaud (par.1-7).
Regarding claim 2, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 1, Bill further teaches wherein the remote device is configured to communicate with the tire monitoring device over a range of no more than 100 meters (par.34 teaches range of 10-100 meters) and the method further comprises positioning (par.11 teaches a device that is positioned) the remote device within 100 meters of the tire monitoring device to obtain from the tire monitoring device the plurality of values indicative of the tire parameter (par.11 and 34 implicitly teach positioning the remote device within 100 meter to obtain values).
Regarding claim 3, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 1, Bill further teaches wherein the performance coefficient is calculated by the remote device based on the plurality of values of the tire parameter obtained at the various times during the first time period (par.52 teaches calculating/determining performance parameters/coefficients, based on plurality of values indicative of the tire parameter obtained at numerous periods).
Regarding claim 4, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 3, Bill further teaches further comprising obtaining the plurality of values of the tire parameter during the first time period using the tire monitoring device (par.52), storing the plurality of values of the tire parameter during the first time period in the local memory (par.52), and obtaining, using the remote device, the plurality of values of the tire parameter during the first time period from the local memory (par.52 teaches multiple smart sensor devices to obtain values, store and obtain ,using the separate handheld devices, the further plurality of values from the local memory).
Regarding claim 5, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 1, Bill further teaches further comprising:
obtaining and storing the plurality of values in the local memory using the tire monitoring device (par.52 “the sensor takes (step 204) an initial set of readings”), and
obtaining, using the remote device, the plurality of values from the local memory to determine the tire performance characteristic (par.52 “the sensor takes (step 204) an initial set of readings and stores them (step 206) in memory”) and
deleting from the local memory the plurality of values of the tire parameter during the first time period after the plurality of values of the tire parameter during the first time period are obtained using the remote device (par.32 “It may be that as a new set of data is stored, the oldest set of data is deleted (effectively overwritten).”).
.
Regarding claim 6, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 1, Bill further teaches further comprising calculating the performance coefficient at the remote device, and storing the calculated performance coefficient in the local memory (par.52 teaches calculating the performance coefficient, through data collected, during takeoff and landing; subsequently stores them).
Regarding claim 7, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 1, Bill further teaches wherein the first time period is at least 25 days (par.32 “The method may be performed over a period of time of one or more days. Data may be recorded on a rolling basis, such that data older than a certain time are overwritten with new data.”).
Regarding claim 8, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 1, Bill further teaches wherein the second time period is no more than 10 days (par.32 “The method may be performed over a period of time of one or more days. Data may be recorded on a rolling basis, such that data older than a certain time are overwritten with new data.”).
Regarding claim 9, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method to Claim 1, wherein the method comprises the remote device automatically (Cibaud par.12 teaches device that operates automatically through its autonomy):
determining, at the remote device and based on the determined tire performance characteristic, an updated performance coefficient (Bill par.52 teaches determining updated performance coefficient, based on tire new performance characteristic recorded with new data); and
storing the updated performance coefficient in the local memory (Bill par.52).
Regarding claim 10, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 1, Shaw further teaches wherein the method comprises providing a notification to a user based on the tire performance characteristic (par.13 teaches providing an alarm).
Regarding claim 11, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 1, Bill further teaches further comprising determining, based on the tire performance characteristic, a maintenance action to be performed on the tire (par.35 “The method may include a step of deciding whether or not to add more gas to the tire (e.g. to further inflate the tire)”).
Regarding claim 12, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 11, Bill further teaches wherein the method comprises causing, based on the tire performance characteristic, the maintenance action to be performed on the tire (par.56 “When such a handheld device downloads data from the memory of the smart sensor device, the handheld unit compares the reference pressure with the actual pressure and if the actual pressure (or the trend in pressure reduction over time) is suggestive that the tire is, or soon will be, underinflated a warning message will appear. The tire may then be inflated manually.” Manual inflation is viewed as a maintenance action).
Regarding claim 13, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 11, Bill further teaches wherein the tire parameter comprises one or more of a tire pressure (par.56) or a tire temperature (par.21 teaches bother tire pressure and temperature as the parameters).
Regarding claim 14, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 11, Bill further teaches wherein the tire performance characteristic comprises one or more of a rate of deflation of the tire (par.20 “to indicate whether the actual pressure (or the trend in pressure reduction over time) is suggestive that the tire is, or soon will be, underinflated.”), a predicted future inflation point of the tire (par.35 “whether or not to add more gas to the tire (e.g. to further inflate the tire)”), a pressure leakage rate of the tire, or a predicted time for the tire to cool to a predefined temperature.
Regarding claim 15, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 11, Bill further teaches wherein the tire comprises an aircraft tire (par.15 “The use of a hand-held device to wirelessly obtain pressure readings, as provided in certain embodiments, allows a single ground crew member to check quickly a large number of aircraft tires”).
Regarding claim 16, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 11, Bill further teaches wherein, where the remote memory is available, the method further comprises determining the tire performance characteristic using a processing system remote from the remote device and the tire monitoring device (par.29 “a separate computer device to perform such data processing tasks.” This computer is remote from the separate hand-held device and pressure sensor device), and based on the performance coefficient stored in the remote memory and the plurality of values (par.30-32).
Regarding claim 17, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 11, Bill further teaches wherein the determining that the remote memory is unavailable comprises one or more of determining that a network connection to the remote memory is unavailable (par.56 “Data is wirelessly downloaded from the sensor by means of a handheld device 140 (i.e. not on the aircraft) when the aircraft is on the ground.”, this implicitly teaches network connection to the remote memory is unavailable when aircraft is in flight), or determining that an operator of a vehicle to which the tire belongs does not have permission to access the remote memory (par.20 “Proving details of the aircraft ID or associated reference pressure levels may enable the ground crew member to quickly and reliably check the tire pressures of a fleet containing different aircraft types, using the aforementioned separate electronic device (for example a handheld device).” Teaches the use of IDs to determine that an operator does not have permission to access the remote memory).
Regarding claim 18, Bill teaches
A tire performance monitoring system comprising:
a tire monitoring device configured (tire pressure sensor device (122)) to obtain a first plurality of values indicative of a tire parameter of a tire on a vehicle sensed at various times during a first time period over respective first and obtain a second plurality of (par.28 teaches obtaining tire data with multiple measurements taken at different time periods), first and second pluralities of values indicative of the tire parameter of a tire (par.28 teaches taken 1st and 2nd measurements which include tire parameters such pressure), wherein,
a remote memory configured to store the performance coefficient (par.34 teaches separate electric device, which wirelessly receives data, thus making it remote) coefficient,; and
a remote device (par.34 teaches separate electric device, which wirelessly receives data, thus making it remote), remote from vehicle and the remote memory (fig.3 shows device 140 remote from vehicle 112 and memory 131), wherein the remote device is configured to automatically:
determine that the remote memory is unavailable (par.56 “Data is wirelessly downloaded from the sensor by means of a handheld device 140 (i.e. not on the aircraft) when the aircraft is on the ground.”, data, which come from the memory, is available only when aircraft is on the ground, thus it is unavailable when in flight), and where the remote memory is unavailable:
perform either of calculating the performance coefficient at the remote device, or obtaining the performance coefficient from the local memory of the tire monitoring device (par.28 “There may be a step of a control unit causing first measurements to be taken of the tire pressure and, optionally, of an associated temperature. There may be a step of the control unit recording in a memory unit first data including an indication of the time at which the first measurements are taken, an indication of the tire pressure and, optionally, an indication of the temperature as so measured by the first measurements.” The performance coefficient makes up the data/measurements acquired);
obtain, from the tire monitoring device, the second plurality of values (par.28 “There may be a step of the control unit causing second measurements to be taken of the tire pressure”); and
determine, based on the second plurality of values and the performance coefficient, the performance characteristic (par.36 “The method may include a step of deciding whether or not to replace the tire, the decision depending on data received by a separate electronic device, for example the above-mentioned portable reader device. The decision may be taken by the separate electronic device and be provided as an output, for example via a visual display unit of the separate electronic device. The decision may be taken taking into account one or more historical measurements, in addition to a more recent measurement (for example the last measurement taken before making the decision). The separate electronic device may for example detect that the tire pressure in the tire had reduced more rapidly than would be expected of a tire in good health. The method may include a step of replacing the tire, if so directed by the separate electronic device.” Determining whether to change a tire is based on the tire performance characteristic which is calculated from the plurality of values and the performance coefficient that make up the data).
Bill fails to teach sensed at various times during a second time period after the first time period, the device configured to automatically.
Bill doesn’t fully teach the tire monitoring device includes a local memory configured to store a performance coefficient corresponding to performance of the tire during the first time period; Bill does teach the capability to store a performance coefficient (par.24 “a memory unit local to the tire for storing data”; the performance coefficient is part of the data).
Shaw does fully teach the tire monitoring device comprising a local memory (par.11 teaches wheel module comprising a local memory) configured to store a performance coefficient representative of the values of the tire parameter obtained during the first time period (par.11 teaches various types of data collected relating to the performance coefficient, which is stored withing wheel module 11).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bill to include the teachings of Shaw; which would provide a method for thermodynamic motion detection of a pneumatic tire without using an internal electromechanical switch or signaling from an external device, with the method of motion detection permitting the system to detect under-inflated tires in a timely manner as disclosed by Shaw(par.33).
Bill in view of Shaw fails to teach sensed at various times during a second time period after the first time period, the device configured to automatically.
Cibaud does teach sensed at various times during a second time period after the first time period (par.16 teaches data measurements over a period of 24 hrs, thus the next/second period of 24 hrs starts as soon as the first one finishes); the remote device configured to automatically (par.12 teaches device that operates automatically through its autonomy).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bill in view of Shaw to include the teachings of Cibaud; which would provide a solution that is less intensive in terms of network capacity or memory capacity for the collection and the monitoring, by a server, of data transmitted continuously by a sensor as disclosed by Cibaud (par.1-7).
Regarding claim 19, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 18, Bill further teaches wherein the remote device is configured to communicate with the tire monitoring device over a range of no more than 100m (par.34 teaches range of 10-100 meters) and the remote device is located within 100m of the tire monitoring device (par.11 and 34 implicitly teach positioning the remote device within 100 meters).
Regarding claim 20, Bill in view of Shaw further in view of Cibaud teaches the method according to Claim 18, Bill further teaches wherein the tire monitoring device is configured to store the second plurality of values in the local memory (par.28 teaches taking 2nd measurements and storing them), and the remote device is configured to obtain the second plurality of values from the local memory to determine the tire performance characteristic (par.52 teaches retrieving second plurality of values from the local memory to determine the tire performance characteristic).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
US 20110313614 A1; Hinnant, JR.; Harris O. et al. is an integrated aeroelasticity measurement for vehicle health management.
US 20120041639 A1; Followell; David A. et al. is a System and Method to Assess and Report the Health of Landing Gear Related Components.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARL F.R. TCHATCHOUANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/HUY Q PHAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858