Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3,5-24,26-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the dedicated UE-to-UE resource" in limitation. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Similarly, claims 21,29-30 recite similar limitation(s) as claim 1 and therefore rejected for same reasoning as claim 1.
Claims 2-3,5-20,23-24,26-28,31-32, are also rejected as they fail to cure the deficiency of their respective independent claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,5-24,26-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US 12108267 B2) hereinafter as Park in view of Kim et al (US 11968641 B2) hereinafter as Kim.
Regarding claim(s) 1,21,29-30, Park discloses apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (See Fig(s). 20) to cause the apparatus to:
receive a channel state information (CSI) report configuration that indicates a dedicated UE-to-UE cross-link interference (CLI) resource as an additional interference measurement resource (IMR) (See Fig(s). 8 step S810, See Fig(s). 9, See ¶ 23, The operations may include transmitting, to a first user equipment (UE), channel state information (CSI)-related first configuration information… The first configuration information may include information related to the cross-link interference, and the second configuration information may include a configuration for a reference signal related to cross-link interference measurement of the first UE…. See ¶ 233, The victim UE may measure the CLI based on information/using IMR (e.g., ZP/NZP CSI-RS)-related information received from the base station).
wherein the CSI report configuration indicates measurement resources of: a non-zero-power (NZP) channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource (See ¶ 127, The CSI resource configuration-related information defines a group including at least one of a non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resource set,) or resource set for channel measurement;
a CSI-RS resource or resource set for interference measurement (See ¶ 127, CSI-RS resource set,;
an NZP CSI-RS resource or resource set for interference management (See ¶ 127, the CSI-RS resource set list may include at least one of a NZP CSI-RS resource set); and
a CLI resource or resource set for UE-to-UE CLI measurement (See Fig(s). 16, See ¶ 297, an example signaling procedure between a base station and a UE to report CSI including a report for CLI ).
Park fails to disclose - transmit, based at least in part on the CSI report configuration, a CSI report that implicitly captures CLI in a CSI report quantity of the CSI report, CLI by capturing interference from the dedicated UE-to-UE CLI resource in one or more CSI metrics associated with the CSI report quantity.
Kim discloses - transmit, based at least in part on the CSI report configuration, a CSI report that implicitly captures CLI in a CSI report quantity of the CSI report (See ¶ 307, In terms of measurement reporting, there is a tradeoff between reporting overhead (i.e., periodicity and/or quantity and/or quality) and system performance Similar to current RSRP/RSRQ reports, some event driven reports may be considered for UE-to-UE CLI measurement reporting with low complexity.),
CLI by capturing interference from the dedicated UE-to-UE CLI resource in one or more CSI metrics associated with the CSI report quantity (See ¶ 200, a method of receiving an SRS by a Base Station (BS) may include receiving a Channel State Information (CSI) report including a Channel Quality Indicator (CQI) from a User Equipment (UE), CQI is one type of channel metric.).
Quantity reporting helps to identify quantities of the RSSI, RSRP, or RSRQ measurements to be included in the CLI report.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Kim within Park, so as to have quantity reporting to identify quantities of the RSSI, RSRP, or RSRQ measurements to be included in the CLI report.
Further with regards to claim 21, Park discloses a network node that performs the mirrored steps of claim 1 (See Fig(s). 9, 20).
Regarding claim(s) 2,23,31, Park discloses wherein one or more of: interference from one or more IMRs to measure intra-cell cross beam interference, inter cell downlink interference (See ¶ 234, As another example, the victim UE may also perform interference measurement/calculation with, e.g., reference signal received power (RSRP). ) , or interference from the dedicated UE-to-UE CLI resource is captured in one or more CSI metrics associated with the CSI report quantity of the CSI report.
Regarding claim(s) 3,24, Park discloses wherein the one or more CSI metrics include one or more of: a layer 1 signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (L1-SINR) (See ¶ 238, interference control in a severe CLI scenario. However, precise SINR measurement requires an IMR resource for interference measurement and background noise as well as an IMR resource for CLI-RS.) , a channel quality indicator (CQI), a precoding matrix indicator (PMI), or a rank indicator (RI).
Regarding claim(s) 5,26, Park discloses wherein the CLI resource or resource set is associated with a CLI reference signal received power (RSRP) resource (See ¶ 17, the report on the measured cross-link interference may include a reference signal received power (RSRP) or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) for the cross-link interference.) or a CLI received signal strength indicator (RSSI) resource, and the CLI RSRP is based at least in part on a sounding reference signal (SRS) resource information element (IE) and the CLI RSSI resource is based at least in part on an RSSI resource IE (See Fig(s). 10-11, See ¶ 212-215).
Regarding claim(s) 6,27, Park discloses wherein the CLI resource or resource set is associated with the CSI-RS resource for interference measurement (See ¶ 127) or an NZP CSI-RS resource or resource set for interference management, and a CLI received signal strength indicator (RSSI) resource or a CLI RSSI resource is indicated using an information element (IE) associated with the CSI-RS resource for interference measurement or the NZP CSI-RS resource or resource set for interference management (See Fig(s). 10, interference measurement with resource element).
Regarding claim(s) 7,28, Park discloses wherein the CSI report configuration indicates a CLI sounding reference signal (SRS) resource as a dedicated IMR to measure UE-to-UE CLI to be captured using one or more CSI metrics (See Fig(s). 10, See ¶ 212, perform UL interference measurement, a new IMR pattern matching the pattern of RS (e.g., SRS-sounding reference signal) used for UL interference measurement is needed. In other words, when the SRS is used as the UL RS, it is transmitted as a pattern of comb 2 or comb 4 within a given set bandwidth and, given this, a new IMR pattern for CLI measurement may be configured.)
Regarding claim(s) 8, Kim discloses wherein the CLI SRS resource is a periodic CLI SRS resource, a semi-persistent CLI SRS resource, or an aperiodic CLI SRS resource (See ¶ 186). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 9, Park discloses the CSI report configuration indicates a CLI sounding reference signal (SRS) resource or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) resource as a dedicated IMR to measure UE-to-UE CLI to be captured using one or more CSI metrics (See Fig(s). 10, See ¶ 212, perform UL interference measurement, a new IMR pattern matching the pattern of RS (e.g., SRS-sounding reference signal).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Park discloses wherein the RSSI resource is based at least in part on a CLI RSSI resource information element (IE) to support layer 1 (L1) CLI (See ¶ 17, See Fig(s). 10, interference measurement with resource element).
Regarding claim(s) 11, Kim discloses wherein the CLI SRS resource or the RSSI resource is optional when a channel state information interference management (CSI-IM) resource already captures CLI information based at least in part on a network node to network node coordination signaling (See ¶ 276). Reasons for combining same as claim 1.
Regarding claim(s) 12, Park discloses wherein the CSI report configuration indicates a CLI sounding reference signal (SRS) resource(See Fig(s). 10, See ¶ 212, perform UL interference measurement, a new IMR pattern matching the pattern of RS (e.g., SRS-sounding reference signal). or a received signal strength indicator (RSSI) resource as a dedicated IMR to measure CLI to be captured using one or more CSI metrics, and the dedicated IMR is associated with a channel state information interference management (CSI-IM) resource or a non-zero-power (NZP) channel state information reference signal (CSI-RS) resource .
Regarding claim(s) 13, Park discloses wherein the CSI report captures one or more of the CLI, an inter-cell interference, or a multiple user multiple-input multiple-output (MU-MIMO) interference (See ¶ 160, CSI-IM (or ZP CSI-RS for IMS) is used mainly for inter-cell interference measurement.).
Regarding claim(s) 14, Park discloses wherein transmitting the CSI report comprises transmitting two CSI reports using two CSI report configurations, wherein a first CSI report of the two CSI reports is using one or more CSI metrics capturing the CLI (See ¶ 21-22), and a second CSI report of the two CSI reports is using one or more CSI metrics without capturing the CLI (See ¶ 248, the time domain behavior of the existing CSI reporting that does not consider CLI and the time domain behavior of the CLI reporting that considers CLI may be set to differ from each other.).
Regarding claim(s) 15, Park discloses wherein the instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor further cause the apparatus to: receive, for an aperiodic CLI or a semi-persistent CLI, a triggering downlink control information (DCI) or an activation medium access control element (MAC-CE) that indicates one CSI report or the two CSI reports (See ¶ 146, 165, 182, aperiodic CSI reporting is performed on a PUSCH and triggered by DCI. In this case, information related to the trigger of aperiodic CSI reporting may be transferred/indicated/configured through MAC-CE.).
Regarding claim(s) 16, Park discloses wherein the instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor further cause the apparatus to: transmit the CSI report using one CSI report configuration, wherein the CSI report indicates the CSI report quantity with the CLI and a CSI report quantity without the CLI, and the CSI report is transmitted based at least in part on a radio resource control (RRC) parameter indicated in the CSI report configuration (See ¶ 131, The CSI reporting configuration related information includes the parameter reportConfigType indicative of a time domain behavior and the parameter reportQuantity indicative of a CSI-related quantity to be reported. … See ¶ 176, The periodic CSI presorting is performed on a short PUCCH and a long PUCCH. A periodicity and a slot offset of the periodic CSI reporting may be configured by RRC and refer to CSI-ReportConfig IE.).
Regarding claim(s) 17-18, Park discloses wherein the CSI report quantity of the CSI report indicates CLI-aware channel quality indicator (CQI) (See ¶ 19, based on the parameter, the contents of report regarding at least one of a channel quality indicator, CQI related to the cross-link interference (CLI), an interference to noise ratio (INR) related to the cross-link interference), or signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) metrics.
Regarding claim(s) 19, Park discloses wherein the instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor further cause the apparatus to: receive a CSI aperiodic trigger state list information element (IE) that indicates an aperiodic CLI resource, wherein quasi co-location (QCL) information associated with a CSI channel measurement resource is to be reused for an aperiodic CLI measurement, and the QCL information is associated with a receive beam QCL of a measuring UE (See ¶ 86, 162, When large-scale properties of a channel over which a symbol on one antenna port is conveyed may be inferred from a channel over which a symbol on another antenna port is conveyed, the two antenna ports may be regarded as being in a quasi co-located or quasi co-location (QC/QCL) relation.) .
Regarding claim(s) 20, Park discloses wherein the instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor further cause the apparatus to: receive a medium access control element (MAC-CE) that triggers the CSI report for a semi-persistent CSI capturing CLI as an IMR, wherein a codepoint maps to a report configuration identifier associated with a resource set that includes a CLI resource as an IMR for CLI; or receive a MAC-CE or downlink control information (DCI) for a CLI-aware CSI report. (See ¶ 146, 165, 182, aperiodic CSI reporting is performed on a PUSCH and triggered by DCI. In this case, information related to the trigger of aperiodic CSI reporting may be transferred/indicated/configured through MAC-CE.).
Regarding claim(s) 22,32, Park discloses wherein the instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor further cause the apparatus to: perform a CLI mitigation based at least in part on the CSI report, wherein the CLI mitigation includes one of a beam switching or a time division multiplexing of two UEs having CLI that satisfies a threshold (See Fig(s). 13, See ¶ 256, Here, the IAB-node (relay node) may multiplex access and backhaul links in time, frequency and/or space (e.g., beam-based operation).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3,5-24,26-32 have been considered but are moot based on new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendment.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAJ JAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411